Eastlake Inn Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.4
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
25 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful winter getaway

4.8 on September 06, 2013

Great place for a stay-cation! Loved the room and the jacuzzi. The meals were outstanding and tasted great. Will definitely be going back.


Dutch Colonial

4.6 on August 20, 2013

Our host Lori and her four golden retrievers are so welcoming. It's a beautiful home and yard. Great breakfasts and location. Our third visit this year. Will be back. Big, tasty peaches.


"Very Pleasing"

4.4 on August 19, 2013

Loved the Magnolia room. Well worth the price and the breakfast was very pleasing to the tummy!


Perfect Weekend Getaway

5 on August 13, 2012

Cozy, country-esque feel. Excellent amenities and wonderful service. Breakfast to die for! Highly recommend!


Nice B&B

4.0 on July 31, 2012

My boyfriend surprised me with a night's stay in St. Louis at the East Lake Inn. We checked in and left immediately to go to the zoo, dinner, etc. I thought the house and our room was very cute and quaint. Although, we didn't spend much time there. The yard was gorgeous, lots of mature trees and plants. I wish there had been a TV in our room, because when we got home we weren't exactly ready for sleep, and being able to watch a movie in the comfort of our bed (it was VERY comfortable) would have been nice. I don't really like the idea of having to go downstairs to the TV room, exspecially because it was so late. Breakfast was homemade and Lori's peaches are AWESOME. I took one bite and knew they were homegrown. She is very friendly and we talked all throughout breakfast. I would def. stay there again, but next time I think we'll try to book The Magnolia Room, since it has a big bathtub my boyfriend would be able to fit in!


Nice, quiet inn

3.0 on July 23, 2012

Nice weekend escape. Magnolia room is huge! Floor is creaky and no TV in room. had a great time.


Birthday Getaway

5 on March 25, 2012

We were looking for an overnight getaway to celebrate our March birthdays this year. I went to Google to find B&Bs with Jacuzzi rooms. I was surprised to find that one existed "right down the road" in my own town. The Eastlake Inn Magnolia Room provided great accommodations, a wonderful two-person Jacuzzi and a quiet atmosphere. Lori Murray, the owner, was very cordial and provided us with a great breakfast and a wonderful experience. We are looking forward to returning this winter to take advantage of the gas fireplace in the room and to enjoy all of the Christmas decor. Thanks Lori for a wonderful experience. Janet and Denis


Awesome B & B

5 on February 13, 2012

What a wonderful B & B Eastlake Inn is. Cant say enough good things. The room was wonderful. The breakfast was nothing less than a meal to brag about. Not to mention the location. So many other great things to do and see only a short distance from Eastlake Inn. If there is any way you can spend a weekend at the Eastlake Inn is will be a experience you will always cherish.


Priceless

5 on November 21, 2011

This was a special weekend for my husband and I. We celebrated our 28th, not a significant number, but it represented the past ten years for they had been trying ones. They were trying because of health and financial difficulties. Our 25th, we lost our home to foreclosure. These past three years we have been trying to get back on our feet. We finally got to get away. We have always wanted to go to a B&B. We loved the city of Kirkwood, MO and so we search for one online. We came across Eastlake, it caught our attention. We enjoyed our afternoon shopping in Kirkwood, then it was time to check in. We came up into a loving neighborhood and there it was, a vintage home decorated to fit the era. Our stay was delightful and serene. The weather did not permit too much outdoor enjoyment, but there was a nice courtyard and sitting porch if need be. Our room was beautiful and romantic. The jacuzzi was wonderful! The bed was comfortable and the room fitting for the occasion! We enjoyed the wonderful homegrown peach waffles the next morning and enjoyed talking with our host! We will definitely be going back for a longer stay next time! Our stay was priceless, made up for the lost years of celebration. Thank you Lori for being the perfect host and for bringing joy to so many. ~ The Jacobson's


close but great getaway

4.8 on November 11, 2011

We needed a break from reality. Eastlake Inn provided that! We are buying a Tempurpedic mattress when we get home. After sleeping on one at Lori's I don't think I will sleep that well again if I don't. Breakfast was great AND filling. Started us off on the right note.


Week end in St. Louis

5 on November 11, 2011

We stayed Friday and Sat. nights in June 2011. Lori was extremely warm and welcoming. We had never been to St. Louis, Lori gave us many good suggestions of things to do and see. The jacuzzi was wonderful and worked perfectly. The breakfasts were delicious beyond our expectations, in fact we have stayed at many B and B's and these breakfast were the very best. The beds were indeed very comfortable. Sat night, outside temp at 95 degrees plus the AC broke down, Lori had service there instantly and AC up and running in 2 hours. The welcoming committe of four lovely Goldern Retrievers is special, who does not love a Golden giving you kisses and tail wags the first time they have ever seen you. Eastlake is in a very nice neighborhood and has a very private yard and patio. We would stay there again in a heartbeat. Dr. and Mrs. David Love


Magnolia Rooms

3.4 on October 12, 2011

A Victorian charm-I loved the Magolia room. We spent our Honeymoon there. Roomy comfortable bed a double shower big enough for the whole famile. Jacuzzi bath built for two. A gas fireplace that we did not get around to use that added additional charm to the room. Recommended.


Home away from home without the distractions

4.8 on August 01, 2011

This was our first B&B experience. We've been married nearly 14 years and have 4 kids ranging from 12 years to 2 years old. It was a great night out! Not too far from home -- yet wonderful! The jacuzzi was our favorite, along with breakfast & the company.


Wouldn't go back

2.4 on December 20, 2010

The bedroom was very nice (the bathroom was huge); however, the bed was very uncomfortable, the hostess was not very warm, and the dogs were in the dining room just before breakfast. I would not go back.

Innkeeper Response
We clearly post on our website that we have dogs. They live here!! We ALWAYS ask if the guests mind having the dogs around. Some want the dogs nearby, others respectfully request to pet them later. If this guest did not want the dogs nearby, they never said so. We ALWAYS get great comments on our beds. Sorry if it didn't work for you.!


A Beautiful Stay

4.8 on May 15, 2010

I was checking that Eastlake Inn was still open and read some of the reviews. I want to share my experience in Lori's home. In the summer of 2006, my husband, Ron, and I stayed at Eastlake Inn on our way up to Wisconsin. The property and home were beautifully landscaped and decorated. Lori was an excellent hostess and our breakfasts were top notch. The entire atmosphere was very relaxing. I had just suffered a back injury that spring and was grateful that the mattress in the Garden Room was so comfortable. Restaurants were in easy walking distance to the Inn and it is in easy driving distance to many attractions. On our last morning, Ronnie and I enjoyed an extended romp with the Goldens. I have since recommended Eastlake Inn to many people. I am pleased to find that Lori is still there and we hope to return in the future. Jeanne Smith

Innkeeper Response
Thanks Jeanne and Ron. We enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to your return. Everything is really beautiful right now as we have had a ton of rain. We'll have a few really nice days of sun coming then a little more rain. It has been a wet May!


Romantic Getaway

5 on March 23, 2010

This place provides the ultimate getaway for romance. The Magnolia Room will meet your every need. Fireplace, double shower, double jacuzzi, champagne, roses and chocolates!! Don't miss this one!!


great stay

4.0 on March 15, 2010

We stayed at the Eastlake Inn on our wedding night. It was perfect. We had a gas fireplace in the bedroom and a jacuzzi tub. It was very romantic. Breakfast was good too.


Fabulous Breakfast!

4.2 on March 04, 2010

Charming B&B with convenient location. Deluxe sleeping - great mattress and pillows. Breakfast couldn't be better or bigger - fabulous French Toast with banana sauce. Yum.


Warm and Inviting!

5 on February 24, 2010

Very courteous and accomodating! We will try B&B's more often!


Our Wedding Weekend

5 on February 22, 2010

The house is amazingly beautiful and comfortable. Very quiet and relaxing. The service and food could not have been better. We will definitely come back even though we live 15 minutes away.


Great Weekend Getaway

5 on January 25, 2010

what a lovely weekend get away. Lori's home is full of so much charm and lovely antiques. Recent renovations make it even better. The breakfast was wonderful. Lori is so charming and makes you feel welcome. I'll be back many times I'm sure.


A Very Costly Mistake

1.0 on November 17, 2009

We booked a Friday and Saturday night stay at the Eastlake Inn. Arriving on Friday evening, we shared a glass of wine in front of the fireplace and looked forward to our weekend. Returning from dinner we tried out the two person whirlpool. Fun until I noticed how mildewed the jets in the tub were. Rinsing off in the two person should have been fun but the trickle of water from the shower head destroyed that experience. From there we got into the too soft and lumpy bed. The extreme dust on the baseboards and furniture set off my allergies and I had difficulty breathing. Neither my husband nor I could sleep in that environment and spent a night of tossing and turning. Breakfast was a store bought muffin, bland sauted apples, and an undercooked egg dish. I asked Lori, the inn keeper, for a refund of Saturday's deposit, explaining our discomfort. She refused. We walked away from over $ 160.00 and booked a room elsewhere rather than stay in such discomfort.I strongly recommend not staying at the Eastlake Inn.

Innkeeper Response
We strive to ensure that all of our guests have a very comfortable stay. We have been successful at our endeavor for 19 years and are one of the oldest inns in operation in the state of Missouri. There have been a very few times where we were not successful and we apologize that your stay was not to your expectations. Our luxury Serta beds are of the finest quality and in addition we have a gel filled mattress toper to add to the scrumptiousness of our beds. However, if you have a bad back, this may not be the best bed for you, but for the majority they enjoy this luxurious feel. In regards to our jacuzzi, a part of the finish has worn off on some of the jets and may be a different color. It is possible that our guest may have misconstrued this as mold, but we could not find any similarity to mold or mildew. The comment on our shower is warranted! We discovered, after your comment, that a calcium buildup had occurred and the water pressure was not optimum. We have resolved this problem, and appreciate your drawing our attention to this matter. Our breakfasts are the main attraction of our inn, and a soft baked egg was on the menu. We would have gladly overcooked the egg for you if you had simply voiced your displeasure. We thought you enjoyed your meal, because there was nothing left on your plate! We were under the impression that you left early because your plans had changed, which in that case, we do not offer a refund. We were unaware of your total dissatisfaction.


relaxing and private stay

4.8 on July 16, 2009

Pull up to this outdoor oasis and enjoy the outdoor patio/garden or the screened in porch. Enjoy the quaint and quiet sitting rooms or spacious guest rooms with private baths, luxurious comfort, and quaint antique decor. Feel like you're the only guest with privacy and host hospitality. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Spend a relaxing weekend here!


Great Place to Stay

4.2 on May 17, 2009

Room was spotless, pretty and oh so comfy! Lori was a kind, delightful hostess. Breakfast in the screened in porch was spectacular. Loved the town of Kirkwood.The pets were well-behaved and fun. St. Louis Airport was an easy straight shot down Kirkwood Rd/Lindbergh Rd. I hope to return soon!


Girls Great Getaway

5 on March 22, 2009

We booked a girlss getaway weekend and we had a blast. Got to sleep in for a change then wake to an awesome breakfast. We are going to make the Eastlake Inn our girls "go to!" We all have dogs at home so we got our puppy fix playing with the inn's golden retirevers!


Eastlake Inn Bed & Breakfast

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3149650066
  • Fax 1-3149650066

Visit Website »

View details

Top