The Bittersweet Inn Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
56 Reviews

Write A Review

Lovely Lady

4.2 on September 24, 2014

Sandy is a wonderful hostess. She had great stories to share and makes you feel at home immediately. Her cooking is amazing. I've never had a crustless quiche that good before! Listening to Cicadas all night long through the windows was the icing on the cake (no Cicadas here in the Pac NW). Will definitely stay again.


1st Timers - We will be back!!

4.4 on November 05, 2013

My husband and I had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before. We go on a couple's trip each year and this was going to be it. It was my husband's birthday weekend so we decided to stay Friday and Saturday night. Our friends were coming Saturday. We were a little apprehensive before we got there not knowing what to expect. There was no reason to be!! Sandy met us at the door and immediately made us feel at ease. She is very friendly and easy to talk to . Our room was a suite so we had our own bathroom. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast on Saturday and Sunday mornings was outstanding. We did not need to eat lunch. We plan on returning to the Bittersweet Inn in the future. I hope all Bed and Breakfasts we go to in the future can compare!!


Perfect girlfriend B & B getaway

5 on September 05, 2013

The innkeeper, Sandy, wrote the book on hospitality. She is a fabulous gourmet cook. She warned us after a several-course breakfast that we probably wouldn't be wanting lunch. True. The Inn is charming, lovely décor, and fun, cozy bedrooms. Plus, Sandy is a hoot. We had a great time visiting with her. We'll definitely be back. Diane/Overland Park, KS


A peaceful, pleasant getaway w/cozy rooms, friendly owner & an abundance of amazing food!

4.4 on July 21, 2013

Sandy was outstanding the minute we walked in the door! Beautifully decorated w/tasteful antique furnishings the Bittersweet is a cozy, quiet Inn that we will visit again. You won't be disappointed!


Impressed beyond my imagination! (5/3-5/5/2013)

5 on May 07, 2013

Words can not describe the level of satisfaction and comfort. Once greeted by Sandy at the door we became fast friends and will look forward in spreading the great news with exceptional accolades affirmed! :) Many blessings to you Sandy! Cassie-St. Peters, MO.


AHHHHH

4.8 on February 08, 2013

What a wonderful getaway. We only stayed one night, but the hospitality, delicious food and of course Sandy made our brief stay seem like a long weekend. We got lots of rest, good company, great food and delightful conversation. Sandy is a gem. Walk, no RUN to the Bittersweet if you are looking for somewhere to stay in St. Charles. P.S. The butter is worth the visit.


Sandy Snyder is an absolute gem!

5 on January 20, 2013

On a very busy day at The Bittersweet Inn Bed and Breakfast (1101 N. 3rd Street in Saint Charles, MO), we met Sandra Snyder, the chef and owner, who is an absolute gem. Sandy is someone who understands that being a good hotelier is as much an art as it is a science. We still have fond memories of our stay at the hotel, thanks to the courteous and professional service of Sandy. She took the time to answer our numerous questions regarding her antique furniture, places to eat near the B&B, but that was not the end of her effort. Then, she cooked for us a huge and delicious breakfast, and then served us herself, as if we were family. During our stay, we were delighted by Sandy’s sense of humor, stories, and in-depth knowledge of all the intricacies of running an outstanding Bed and Breakfast, something of a rarity in this self-serve era. Sandy clearly enjoys working closely with people and building strong bonds with her customers. When we travel back to St Charles, Missouri, again, we will definitely be coming back to The Bittersweet Inn Bed and Breakfast (1101 N. 3rd Street in Saint Charles, MO), again, primarily because of the high-quality service and attention we received from Sandra Snyder there at a very busy time of the year.


Fall Getaway

4.4 on October 21, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bittersweet. Sandy welcomed us and made us feel at home from the beginning of our visit until the end. The food was delicious, homemade, and so tasty! Would definately stay again.


A wonderful visit

4.8 on September 11, 2012

We have never had such a wonderful breakfast in our many stays at B&Bs. Sandy, our hostess, was a fantastic hostess was a fantastic cook and very helpful and congenial. A great experience!


Friendly Innkeeper

4.2 on September 04, 2012

The innkeeper went out of her way to welcome us with cookies. She even gave us a $10 gift card for a restaurant downtown. A very charming historical inn.


Loved It!!!

4.6 on August 30, 2012

This was my first time at a B&B and I picked a goody. The room was comforatble and I felt right at home. The best part of this Inn is the owner. Sandy is a jewel, she makes a huge, tasty breakfast, and her personality is great. Loved her stories and had a great time. I will be back!!


Just like home but better!!!!

4.2 on August 10, 2012

My husband & I stayed there for two restful nights. Sandra was wonderful with info about St. Charles and eateries. It was quiet,spotless, and a breakfast you can't believe! Plus, she sat and talked with all here guests as if they were all good friends. If ever near St. Louis I recommend staying here.


Come with an empty stomach!

4.8 on August 06, 2012

My husband and I were touring the Hannibal and St Charles area, and stayed at the Bittersweet Inn for one evening. Sandra is a wonderful cook, and provided a huge variety of breakfast items. All were delicious, as I tried each one. Our room was beautiful and private. We had our own private bath as well which is important to us. If you want a homey atmosphere with your own personal cook, this is the place for you. We were not disappointed and Sandra, the owner, does everything she can possibly do to make your stay a pleasant experience.


Fabulous stay

4.8 on April 27, 2012

Sandra, a christian women really made our stay wonderful! She is a first clas cook and her hospitality extraordinary! The price however is not the advertised price and you should get a quote first.


Girls Weekend

5 on December 07, 2011

My friend and I meet in between Indiana and Kansas and loved the quality and cleanliness of this bed and breakfast. The owner is friendly and personable and waits on your every need. We will be back soon....


Wonderful B&B

4.0 on November 19, 2011

My daughter and I spent a long weekend at the Bittersweet Inn. We loved the Inn and the Innkeeper. It is a comfy, cozy house and we will return again. The wonderful breakfast carried us right through lunch. Yum!


Bittersweet Inn is Warm & Inviting!!!

4.0 on November 14, 2011

On Friday, November, 11, 2011 we arrived at the Bittersweet Inn, as we entered through the door, we enjoyed the awesome smell of home baked pumpkin bread. I can't say enough about our Innkeeper Sandy, she is a wonderful host and makes a hearty breakfast for her guests! My Mom and I stayed in one of the upstairs rooms, the bed was very comfy and the room was nice. All the rooms are very nicely decorated. The historic main street is within walking distance with numerous unique shops, restaurants and coffee houses. We stayed three nights at the Bittersweet and plan to return in the near future. Annette Stang Monrovia, Maryland


Fabulous Hospitality

5 on August 28, 2011

Sandra really knows how to make you feel at home. The room was great and the food was amazing!. She made the best French Toast ever! We set out to bike the Katy trail and were able to leave our car parked for the week there. The front porch is filled with greenery and the interior is restored beautifully. As an aside, St. Charles is a very nice town with lots of little shops and nice restaurants. Ask Sandra for restaurant recommendations. We'll definitely stay there again when we return to ride the the trail!


Bittersweet Inn is "SWEET INDEED"

5 on May 07, 2011

My husband and I took a shot in the dark making a reservation at for a bed and breakfast in St. Charles and choose The Bittersweet Inn based on their excellent reviews. Everything far exceeded our expections!! From being greeted with warm chocolate chip cookies as well as another yummy chocolate desert and then the most AMAZING breakfast I have ever had. Sandy's desire is to serve her guests....she goes above and beyond. Our room was cozy and comfortable in every way. We will definately pay another visit to Sandy and "The Bittersweet Inn"....looking forward to it!!


Very cozy

5 on March 10, 2011

Thank you Sandy, for being such a great hostess. Hubby was asked to put an evening together away from the kids and works. What a cozy surprise! Beautiful breakfast. Wished we could have stayed the rest of the week. Sometimes it takes getting away, glad we did and he picked a great place. We will be back.


Perfect for a women's reunion

4.4 on August 18, 2010

My friends and I get together about once every 2 years from many different regions of the country. This past July, we stayed at Bittersweet and found it to be a perfect location for our get together. There were 5 of us, and we shared the upstairs suite. We were all comfortable, including myself, who slept on the rollaway bed. The mattress on the rollaway was much better than one would expect. Sandy was a fun hostess, knowing when to be social with us and when to leave us to our own. She served jazmine tea upon arrival, as well as freshly baked chocolate chip cookies. She was kind enough to recommend several restaurants for dinner, and provided us with a gift card for the one we chose. The real highlight of the stay was the breakfast. We were treated with a grand selection of food, ranging from fresh fruit to baked items to a crustless quiche. The evening before, she let us choose our selections and I do believe any and all of it would have been delightful. She was a gracious hostess, and we will return to Bittersweet in the future.


A very memorable stay!

5 on July 27, 2010

We took a "mini" vacation to St. Louis and stayed at the Bittersweet Inn. This B&B is an excellent place to go for a romantic trip with your sweetheart. The house has been beautifully restored and decorated and you feel like you are a guest at a friends house and not just a number at a hotel. Sandy is the most kind woman and is excellent at being a hostess. She really puts her entire heart and soul into her business and makes your stay comfortable and relaxing. Sandy is also an amazing cook! She has put all her favorite recipes into a cookbook and we just had to buy one! If you have special needs for medical reasons she will accomodate you, no problem! We were given a $10 gift card from Sandy for Tony's on Main and it was WONDERFUL (we ate there twice in 3days). Also, she reccomended an italian place called Zias at The Hill and it was to die for! I just cannot praise enough about this B&B and Sandy!! We LOVED it, LOVED it, LOVED it!! Rune and Amy PS.....to the ONE bad review on this site........I think you must have smoked some "funny stuff" that day!


Stop Here!

4.2 on July 22, 2010

Both the inn and owner are unique, gracious and warm. Owner, Sandy, added much to our weekend getaway. Awesome food!


Bittersweet B&B was a great Valentine's Day Present

4.4 on June 13, 2010

My boyfriend surprised me for Valentine's Day this year and took me to bittersweet b&b and it was the best surprise yet!!! I love the cozy feel that it had. The service was awesome, Sandy was so nice and welcomed us with open arms. The rooms were very clean and cozy also. The food was AMAZING, yes Sandy absolutely knows here way around the kitchen!!! We will be back Sandy!!! I loved it!!!


Nothing Bitter about the Bittersweet Inn

4.4 on June 10, 2010

We went on a couples weekend and were all blown away by Sandy's hospitality and great food. We felt welcome and comfortable from the minute we walked in the door. The food was exceptional and plentiful. It was the perfect weekend and we all agreed to make it an annual event!


Great Anniversary Present for my Parents!

5 on May 22, 2010

Me and my sisters wanted to do something special for my parents for their 30th Anniversary, and yet were limited on time, money, and resources. I found the Bittersweet Inn's website and could not have been happier! They LOVED their experience and had a wonderful time talking with the owner there. She was great to work with and I would recommend her Inn (and her baking from what my Mom says : ) ) to anyone!


Bittersweet Inn is Best Yet

4.6 on May 19, 2010

I have stayed at many other B&Bs throughout the country and I can say that Bittersweet Inn ranks at the top! Sandy made my girlfriend and me feel so welcomed. Her breakfasts are so over-the-top is taste and portions. I really appreciated her attention to details. We'll come back.


Great Hospitality

4.6 on April 22, 2010

I don't believe we could have chosen a better place for our class get together. Sandy was the best hostess and the food was great. What a pleasant experience.


Bittersweet B&B

4.8 on April 19, 2010

Amazing and fun. If you like fun, food, shopping and flowers, it's awesome.


Bittersweet Inn

4.6 on April 19, 2010

Very charming inn, superb breakfast and deserts. The owner, Sandy, is personable, fun and a delightful hostess. Highly recommended!


A Dream Getaway

5 on April 14, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at The Bittersweet Inn. Sandy is the ultimate hostess! She did everything possible to make our stay memorable and to make us feel pampered. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with her friendly smile and made to feel like we were not just guests, but friends. She had made cookies for us, offered us beverages and seemed so glad to have us in her home. We enjoyed the nearby shops of St. Charles. Sandy even guided us as to the best place to park our car. The evening was made even more perfect by her recommendation of a wonderful restaurant nearby. She even provided a gift card for us to use! The breakfast the next morning was wonderful. We had so much food that we didn't need any lunch that day. Her creme brulee french toast was very, very good. For anyone looking for a good value for their money as well as a terrific hostess don't miss out on this b-and-b! We have stayed at about 15 b-and-b.s over the past few years and The Bittersweet Inn is at the top of our list.


Shower luncheon

5 on January 10, 2010

WOW!! Great food...exceeded my expectations. Everyone and everything was just perfect. We were able to relax and just visit. We ate a delightful lunch and then waddled(the lunch wasn't heavy but you just had to try everything!) into the living room and opened presents and visited. I DIDN'T HAVE TO DO ANYTHING! I could enjoy it too, even though I was the host. Sandy even took pictures for us. This is the perfect way to do a small shower! Very warm, intimate...and easy! Cannot thank Sandy enough!! All my friends are talking about how nice it was!


Room at the inn

4.0 on December 20, 2009

My husband and I just returned home from a wonderful stay in the Bittersweet Inn. The home was beautifully decorated for Christmas with a Christmas tree in every room. O Holy Night was bouncing off the stereo speakers and the baking aroma from the kitchen caused one's taste buds to dance merrily. This is truly the place to stay as the Innkeeper works very hard to assure the comfort of her guests.


Awesome B & B

4.2 on December 08, 2009

Our first experience at Bittersweet Inn was last summer when my family and I came down to St. Charles for a short vacation. Sandy's welcome and warmth immediately put us at ease and her home was very clean, quaint, and homey, and the flowers were beautiful. I especially appreciate how she was quick to accommodate my elderly Mother, who is unable to climb stairs. We were also going to meet with some family friends the first evening for dinner and she suggested Tony's restaurant downtown and even provided gift cards for us, what an unexpected treat. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful, we could not even eat lunch. Everytime we came in; fresh cookies, muffins, and iced tea were available, she even sent some home with us! Everything advertised on her website was delivered and then some. It made for a great vacation, from the food to the genuine warmth we felt from Sandy, she is truly an awesome hostess and it is obvious that she takes pride in her home and works very hard to make her guests feel special. I have stayed there two other times since then, and have never had a bad experience, she has made me feel at home everytime and has taken special care to make sure she always sends goodies home for my family. I recommend Bittersweet Inn without hesitation, knowing that you too will have a wonderful experience.


Family in St Charles

3.8 on November 03, 2009

Sandy is so warm & friendly, we became family with in minutes -- food was great also. Too expensive for the average person, and too much clutter, though.


"Bitter" Inn is more like it...

1.2 on October 30, 2009

Recently, my husband and I stayed a few days at the Bittersweet Inn, visiting from out of state based on the glowing reviews we came across online. Unfortunately, it only lives up to half its name. We assumed a bathroom would be located within our room, which was NOT the case. Looking for drinks, the community fridge was filled with bottled water only. Not only were sodas, tea, or coffee nowhere to be found, the water bottles had actually been REUSED and filled with tap water. All the water bottles were missing their seals, and there was a note on the refrigerator that this was being done to “be green”. The AC had a sign stating to not change the temp; the TV and lights in the room also did not work when we first went in. A note about the bathroom – we expected to at least find some decent shampoo and soap for us to bathe with, but lo and behold, it was not. For breakfast, we had Sandy’s signature dish of apple pancakes. “Delicious” is not how I would describe them. The muffins were also hard.

Innkeeper Response
I am sorry that you feel that way. It is my goal to provide a comfortable and enjoyable stay for all of my guests. I have only two rooms with private baths and the others have a shared bath, which explains the price difference. This information is on the web site and is reiterated during the booking process. In an effort to be a "Green Inn" I do recycle water bottles. I do leave the option open for my guests for sealed, new bottles. There are always new bottles if you choose not to participate, all of the recycled bottles have labels on them naming them as such. The bottles are cleaned thoroughly and filled with filtered water. I do have a sign on the thermostat stating "Please ask for assistance". This house was built during the civil war, so heating and cooling issues can be complex. The thermostat adjustments affect the whole house and should be handled by someone who is familiar with the system. My guests comfort is always my utmost concern. The lights in the rooms all have wall switches, and can also be controlled with the fan pulls. The shampoo and hand soaps are purchased from the beauty supply house. My guests usually compliment me on them, I am sorry that they did not meet your standards. I serve a huge breakfast with lots of different options. If you do not care for any item there is always another choice. If you had expressed your disappointment, I am sure I could have remedied the situation. I also serve different items every day, to ensure a good variety! Best regards from Bittersweet Inn.


Fun-fun-fun

4.2 on October 22, 2009

When I think of our stay at Bittersweet Inn I think fun. Sandy was the greatest -- everything was great -- wonderful breakfast. Best place in St. Charles.


Friends' annual reunion

4.2 on October 20, 2009

Three military couples who met in Vicenza, Italy (now retired) in 1982, meet annually for a reunion. This inn facilitated & celebrated our meeting. Sandra Snyder (proprietor) made us so welcome and her breakfast brunches were delicious. She also served tea & dessert in the evenings.


The Bittersweet Inn Bed and Breakfast

4.6 on October 01, 2009

Overall outstanding


The Bittersweet Inn Bed and Breakfast

5 on September 24, 2009

Sand went out of her way to make us feel welcome. Her breakfast was over the top and she sent us on our way with fresh baked cookies! A beautiful inn.


The Bittersweet Inn Bed and Breakfast

5 on September 24, 2009

Sandy's inn was the perfect place to end our Katy Trail bike vacation. We slept comfortably with the windows open and woke up to the aroma of coffee and baked apple pancakes.


Outstanding Experience

5 on August 20, 2009

The Bittersweet Inn, St Charles, MO, is run by an incredible woman, Sandy Snyder. She is a great cook, friendly, clean, and has made the Bittersweet a must stay.


Sandi is Exceptional

5 on July 25, 2009

What a sweetheart! We had originally reserved an upstairs room with a shared bathroom. When we arrived, Sandi told us that a family of six was staying upstairs for the night, so she thoughtfully upgraded us to a downstairs room with our own bath (at no extra charge). The Bittersweet Inn is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions. Sandi suggested dinner at Tony's on Main, and even provided us with a $10 gift card - what a treat! (Tony's is yummy, by the way!) We highly recommend staying with Sandi. She truly loves her B&B, and is a great host. Breakfast was incredible: quiche, scones, fresh juice, potatoes, cinnamon french toast, and more. We miss her already!


Best kept secret in town

4.0 on July 21, 2009

I live in Illinois and have stayed in the Bittersweet Inn 27 times within the past 4 years. Each visit is just as wonderful as the previous. Sandy, the hostess, is a jewel. Her food is to die for and her home is luscious and cozy. It is especially nice to stay during the flower growing season as the front of the home is beautifully decorated with hanging baskets and a variety of seasonal plants and flowers. My husband and I just celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at the Bittersweet Inn and we will never stay anywhere but here when we travel to the St. Charles/St. Louis area!! Barb Luick


Wonderful surprise!

4.6 on April 15, 2009

We decided last minute on going the the Bittersweet. The treatment from the inkeeper was like going home to visit an old friend. She can't do enough to accommodate your every wish. Had a wonderful day on the Katy Trail, and enjoyed St. Charles tremendously. The food at Bittersweet was the best breakfast we've ever had ANYWHERE!


fantastic

5 on March 27, 2009

Great place, great food, terrific place and location, location, location!


Hidden Treasure

5 on January 14, 2009

We found a true hidden treasure in the Bittersweet Inn! Never have we found a place who catered to our every need. Exceptional food, accommodations,and hospitality! We loved it!!


Absolutely awesome!

5 on January 09, 2009

Inn was absolutely wonderful! The accommodations, food, and service were outstanding!! We will definitely return!


A special weekend, made better by a special made better by a perfect hostess and a beautiful room and great food.

5 on November 18, 2008

Like another "reviewer" said, when you stay at the Bittersweet, you feel like you are at home. It is a beautiful home and Sandy serves wonderful food. She is the perfect hostess and goes beyond, to make sure that your stay is special. We felt like we had made a friend, by the time that we left. Highly recommended. The Harrigans


GREAT VALUE

4.8 on November 07, 2008

Our stay at The Bittersweet Inn was wonderful. The host Sandra was extremely friendly, welcoming and a great cook. The food was outstanding and the accommodations were awesome. The only downside was the Inn is not very close to Main Street so we weren't within walking distance to the area attractions.


Very Enjoyable Stay

5 on October 23, 2008

My wife and I stayed Bittersweet B&B while in the area to attend a wedding and to celebrate her birthday. We found the beautifully restored facility to be clean, comfortable and very homey thanks to Sandy's industriousness and attention to detail. The food was delicious, abundant, and very well presented. Sandy had fresh-baked goodies waiting for us each evening as we returned after enjoying the day shopping and seeing the sights of St. Charles. This was our first stay at a B&B, and when we checked out after two nights, we felt as if we had known Sandy all our lives. She is a remarkable woman who definitely found her niche when she restored and opened this inn. When we arrived, we met a proprietor, but when we departed, we left a friend.


Awesome B&B

5 on September 30, 2008

The Bittersweet Inn far exceeded our expectations! It is a beautiful home with a wonderful hostess & the food is outstanding!


35th Wedding Anniversary

5 on July 17, 2008

Our stay at the Bittersweet B&B was a delight. Not only were the accommodations and eats superb, Sandy was a most gracious and delightful hostess. We had a wonderful anniversary.


Fantastic

4.6 on July 07, 2008

Fantastic! House and gardens beautifully done. Hostess warm and welcoming. Food delicious & done in timely manner. Very quiet and comfortable neighborhood.


Bittersweet

5 on July 03, 2008

Very cozy. Hostess is fabulous & food is amazing!


WOW!

5 on July 03, 2008

A splendid bed and breakfast with class and style. Very clean and the host makes you feel right at home. A must do in St. Louis, MO. the food was spectacular.


The Bittersweet Inn Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $129
  • Reviews (56) 4.6
  • Rooms 5

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6367247778
  • Mobile 1-6362334207

Visit Website »

View details

Top