Sunset Acres Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
31 Reviews

Write A Review

Upscale home away from home

5 on October 20, 2014

My boyfriend and I were visiting Powell Gardens and decided to make a "get away" night of it. We found Sunset Acres online and it provided even more than it boated! The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable; the extra amenities (hottub, rec room, gane room) were fun and accessible; the innkeeper Brenda and her husband were friendly and helpful without being smothering; the breakfast Brenda made was simply fabulous! Overall it was like being at home, but without having to do any of the work to make it comfortable! We already have plans for returning and I highly recommend this to everyone.


Overnight stay

3.8 on September 15, 2014

We wanted somewhere quiet and quaint for our anniversary. This is a very nice place to stay. We were lucky though, no one else was there so we had privacy time in the pool and hot tub area. Geese were not liking us in the pool, but they let us alone. Food was very good. My husband had never stayed at a bed and breakfast, the only thing he did not like was the bed was a little too soft for comfort.


Great Stay

5 on July 17, 2014

This place was so relaxing. I was looking for a bed & breakfast to take my wife to on our honeymoon. Well I was so glad I picked Sunset Acres. The property is so pretty and the nights were great. Wonderful country setting that is close enough to the city. The owners are very nice and willing to please you and make sure your stay is great. The breakfast mmmmm it was yummy. The plates of food were prepared perfect and right when you come to the kitchen. The pool and hot tub was also a great touch. Late night swim topped the night off. Large patio for eating out on and enjoying the the outdoors with company. There is a large tv down stairs with lots of movies to enjoy with popcorn out of the kitchen. Or have a few rounds of pool on the pool table. Yes this bed and breakfast has it all and we will be back for sure. Thanks again Brenda for the great stay.


Anniversary Stay

4.8 on July 06, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Sunset Acres!! Who knew a place this amazing was only 45 minutes away from us!! We will be returning!! Brenda and hubby were just the perfect hosts, not too overbearing but perfectly hospitable. Everyone in the Kansas City area should get away here for the weekend! And if you are passing through on I-70, it is worth the little trip south to stay here!!


Hospitality and friendliness superior

4.8 on June 04, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend anniversary getaway. A great place to go and find peace. Brenda and Bill were fabulous hosts and even catered to my complicated dietary restrictions. Breakfast was phenomenal! We enjoyed the beautiful acreage complete with ducks, horses, cats, dogs, pond, pool, and huge deck with hot tub! We enjoyed roasting marshmallows, relaxing in the hot tub and the fishing was great too! Definitely would recommend this B and B to others!


Your partners only next destination

5 on March 11, 2014

What caught my eye on this site was the deck and the hot tub knowing my wife loves beautiful views the pond is just a bonus. Then we arrived and the hospitality is amazing and the rooms are private. Breakfast was overfilling and delicious. If you forget something its probably already there waiting for you! We forgot sandals and first thing she mentions about the hot tub is there are sandals available. I bought contact solution on way down there and to my surprise there was some already there, darn it. Her years in this business shows she cares and know what to prepare for. They are very accomodating as to arrival, breakfast, and even late snack times, but dont always expect random snack. We are forever ruined comparing every b and b to this one at the top of our list.

Innkeeper Response
It's always such a pleasure meeting wonderful people such as yourselves. We very much enjoyed visiting with you and hope we will meet again in the future. Thank you so much for being such good people. I thank you for your kind words. Wishing you all the best in the future ahead. God Bless.


Wonderful Getaway!

4.8 on May 03, 2013

We only got to stay one night , but we had such a wonderful time. We enjoyed the jacuzzi and the little extras like the swimsuits, flip flops, and bathrobes. The King size bed in the Egyptian room was soo comfortable! The view from the balcony overlooking the pond was beautiful as were the grounds around the house. The french toast and quiche were delicious! I definitely have to get some more of the snickerdoodle coffee! Brenda went out of her way to make sure everything was perfect. We came away refreshed and rested.Too bad we couldn't stay longer!

Innkeeper Response
It's always a pleasure getting to know such wonderful people as yourselves. I pray we'll meet again in the future. Till then, best of luck and God Bless.


Awesome Place, Food, Bed, HOT TUB! and the hosts are one of a kind! Loved it, loved it. Can't wait for another stay at Sunset Acres B and B!

5 on August 23, 2012

We had a great time last weekend, Saturday night under the rain and stars in the hot tub! Breakfast was so yummy I can still taste the homemade strawberry jam made by Brenda.


Family weekend

4.8 on July 13, 2012

I have lost track of how many times we have now stayed at Sunset Acres. Our stay in June was for a family reunion in the area. We rented the whole house for 3 nights. In addition, we hosted a catered BBQ lunch (by Brenda and Bill) pool party for approximately 25 people. Brenda and Bill pulled everything off without a single hitch and helped make wonderful family memories for the entire 3 days of our stay. As always, Sunset Acres is highly recommended for whatever your needs may be. Thanks Bill and Brenda!


Girls night out

5 on May 29, 2012

Me and a couple girlfriends came to have a relaxing night away from it all. We had a wonderful and relaxing time. The place is so beautiful and quiet, away from the city. Brenda couldn't be more friendly and helpful. They do have pets, but the house is clean and the pets stay away from guests and are not allowed in the guest rooms. I loved it and we are planning a couples weekend, and we will be here!


Go! You won't be sorry!

5 on March 13, 2012

For those looking for a place to escape to...this is it. Brenda was amazing about taking our last minute reservation. We go to bed and breakfast's for the homey feel and this was it. Don't let the location throw you. Lovely little town with things to do, but for us? There was no reason to leave lol. We plan on coming back a few more times this year. Once to fish, once to swim. But who knows...this might be our new favorite run away from home ...home. Janean


Labor Day Stay

3.8 on September 10, 2011

It was not disclosed on the website that they had 2 indoor cats. My wife is allergic to them. By the time we left on Monday, she was sick. This needs to be disclosed, this would of changed our minds about staying there. Otherwise everything else was great. Enjoyed the food, it was great. Location is pretty. Stay was relaxing except for the sick part.


A relaxing bed and breakfast not too far from our home.

4.2 on July 12, 2011

My wife and I visited this bed and breakfast on her 30th birthday with a morning plan to vist Powell Gardens for the day. When we first arrived just after dusk, the house from the outside was not what we expected to visit as we have been to other bed and breakfasts. After parking and looking around from the car; we decided to proceed to the front door. From this point on, the visit was very enjoyable and relaxing. The hostess quickly greeted us at the front door and offered us ice tea and asked if we had any trouble finding the house (no problems on the country roads, thanks to the Garmin). We first enjoyed a nice relaxing sit outside on the deck looking at the pond and listing to the country setting. The basement of the B&B had a pool table, dart board and family room which was a nice touch and was rare for most bed and breakfasts. We enjoyed playing a single game of pool (since we are not very good ie it took a long time) and we played darts for several hours and enjoyed talking about life since our wedding about a year ago. We enjoyed watching a nice movie on the large screen TV together and relaxing on the reclining sofa to conclude the night. Had we brought our swim suits we would of used the swimming pool. The Egyptian Room has a bed with a 2" memory foam bed topper that may be a future purchase for our bed at home, if I can find one as nice as this one was. The hosts were very nice people that make a very nice breakfast. All and all an enjoyable visit. Oh, Powell Gardens was nice too but it was very hot day.


Extremely behind on writing this review!

5 on June 22, 2011

I am about 2 years late on writing this review, but I'm finally getting around to it. I wanted to make sure I let everyone know how much we loved this place. We chose to get married here in May of '09 and I couldn't be happier with how everything turned out. Brenda was very helpful with everything for the wedding and even made all the food (which was DELICIOUS) for a very reasonable price. They were so friendly and accommodating! I have never had a better weekend!! We are hoping to return for our next anniversary. The grounds are beautiful and it is a dream come true for animal lovers! The room was immaculate and unlike previous reviewers, we felt completely comfortable anywhere we went. The breakfast was unbelievable!!! I know how late I am getting to this, but...Thank you Brenda and Bill for making our special weekend so perfect! We cannot express how much it means to us. -Cassondra and Noah

Innkeeper Response
Hello again. It was my pleasure working with you on Your Special Day. I am tickled to hear from you and pray all has gone well since we last talked. I look forward to seeing you again and hope I can make your next stay even better! Many thanks and best wishes to you both.


Memorial day.

5 on May 31, 2011

My Girlfriend wanted to get out of the house for her birthday. I chose Sunset acres promarily because we did not have time to travel very far. When we arrived we were pleaseantly surprised. Brenda greeted us, showed us around and we got settled in. 110% hospitality!! We took a couple hours in the hot tub, (too cold for the pool) Breakfast was phenominal!! Great coffee, juice, fresh fruit, and the French Toast... Yeah the French Toast!!!! Out of this world!! We will definatly be back! Top notch sevice, food and cleanliness. Thanks again and hope to see you soon!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your kind words. I enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to your next stay here at Sunset Acres. Have a great summer and stay safe. Til we meet again!


Sunset Acres B&B - a Great way to visit KC and stay relaxed!

5 on May 29, 2011

What do you need in a B&B: a comfortable place to sleep and a great breakfast. Make that breakfast amazing, add a hot tub, incredibly friendly/accommodating host, beautiful grounds and fainting goats - throw in a choir of pond frogs and chirping birds. That makes Sunset Acres B&B a most relaxing way to visit Kansas City and still stay relaxed. Horses and other amenities are available - who had time for all that!! Thanks, Sunset Acres!

Innkeeper Response
Many thanks to you for your time and saying such nice things. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit. Have a great summer!


Sunset Acres

3.0 on April 20, 2011

The setting was peaceful, relaxing and beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed the turkeys, peacocks, goats, cats, horses and hottub. We do prefer a bathroom within our guest room, instead of in the hallway. The towels smelled sour -- this was our only complaint.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm terribly sorry about the towels. I don't understand how this could be. I would have been have to replace them right away. Should this situation come again please let the Innkeeper know right away.


Ask a lot of questions before you go there, the owner will not tell you unless you ask

1.0 on March 06, 2011

We called on this place on our way back from St. Louis for a romantic Valentines getaway. The owner described exactly what we saw on the website. Once we took several wrong turns down the dark untraveled 5+ mile journey off I-70, we finally reached the place. We came in unpancked and she gave us a tour. During the tour I asked where the hot tub was, since this was one of the main reasons we wanted to stay here. The owner then said that it was broken. We were already there, so decided to make the best of it. We went downstairs to watch a movie in front of the fireplace, and instead had to watch TV with her and her family. It was totally uncomfortable. After retiring to bed, we had maybe 3 hours of sleep due to 2 cats running around the house and trying to get into our room, which one did in the middle of the night. In the morning, we left as soon as we could and when we mentioned our concerns and the fact that we only really was attracted to this place was because of the hot tub, the owner had a very matter of fact attitude and was not going to offer any discounts or anything. The old "bait and switch" came to mind. Had she told us on the phone on our way there that hot tub was not working, we would not have stayed here. Be very careful, this is a shady place.

Innkeeper Response
During your phone reservation request you made no mention of the hot tub. Had you, I would of informed you of the hot tub being down. We had had a bad cold snap and the power went out earlier in the week; the repairman came out three times that week to work on it but the lines were still frozen; I was in the middle of taking care of dinner guest and was very busy so did not think to mention the hot tub at the time of your call. The hot tub had not been used in months due to the cold weather so it did not occur to me that this would be an issue; I did apologize at the time of check in when you asked if the hot tub was working or not; you didn't say any more about it: with regards to the great room; you rented a guest room not the whole house; any area outside the guest rooms are considered common use rooms for all; we, my husband and self were watching a movie but when you and your wife came down we asked if you would like to join us, you said yes; we stayed there with you two all of about 10 maybe 15 minutes and left you to enjoy the room alone: with regards to the cats, they have never done that before: you came down to breakfast the next morning and never said a word about having any complaints: you said you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast and then left. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay here. Things happen without notice; I can not control the weather; I do my best to make sure everything is as best as possible for my guest and I always try to give 1000% to all. In 8 years of service I have never had anyone so disappointed. For whatever part you feel I am responsible for, I apologize as best I can. I wish you better stays elsewhere in the future then you felt you had here.


anniversary weekend

5 on October 13, 2010

This was our first time at a bed and breakfast and we were very pleased .The hospitality was wonderful as was the food!! excellent place to spend our aniversary we were very pleased . thanks

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for choosing Sunset Acres. It's always a pleasure meeting such wonderful people such as yourselves. I hope we'll see you again sometime. Best, Brenda & Bill


What a lovely place to stay

4.4 on September 22, 2010

The room was fabulous! As soon as we arrived there we candles and petals throughout the room awaiting our speacial night. Everything was very clean and homelike. The food was amazing and the people are very friendly. We will be going back soon.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for joining us at Sunset Acres. It was our pleasure having you stay here! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.


Perfect!

4.8 on December 09, 2009

Great country setting, fantastic food, and the owners are very friendly. An exceptional experience!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for choosing Sunset Acres. We take great pride in knowing you enjoyed your visit! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a sweet review.. Wishing you all the best..


Happy Birthday to ME!

5 on October 27, 2009

We had never stayed at a B&B until we visited Sunset Acres a few years ago. Since then, we've tried a few others in our travels, but none companre to Sunset Acres! The food is beyond amazing, and it's obvious that Brenda has put a lot of time, expense, and effort into furnishing and decorating the rooms. The grounds are beautiful, too, and there have been many additions since we first visited. The gazebo and hot tub are such nice amenities! Bill obviously spends a lot of time working outside, as does Brenda, I'm sure! My husband surprised me a few days ago by telling me that he'd booked a room there for my birthday. He had also ordered a massage for me, and since it rained during most of our stay, the massage was especially nice. What a great way to celebrate my birthday. Thanks, Bill and Brenda, for your part in that!

Innkeeper Response
It's always a pleasure meeting such wonderful, friendly people and making new friends. We really enjoyed your visit and are very happy to know that you had a great time. Can't wait to do your next party!! Have a great year...


THE PERFECT GETAWAY

5 on August 26, 2009

THIS PLACE IS TRUELY AMAZING ITS A PLACE TO GO AND RELAX PEACEFULLY THE ROOMS A LARGE WITH THE MOST UPSCALE BEDS ITS LIKE YOUR IN A DREAM!!WE SHOWED UP AND THEY ROLLED OUT THE RED CARPET!! BILL AND BRENDA ARE AMAZING PEOPLE THEY GO ABOVE AND BEYOND TO MAKE YOUR STAY A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE ..THE SCENERY IS PEACEFUL THE POOL AND HOT TUB A RELAXING AND THE FOOD THAT THEY COOK IS OUT OF THIS WORLD!!DONT FORGET YOUR FISHING POLES EITHER THEY HAVE A GREAT POND FOR FISHING WITH ANYTHING FROM BLUE GILL TO MONSTER BASS!! WE WILL DEFINATELY BE GOING BACK MANY TIMES!! TIM & KAMI :)

Innkeeper Response
What can I say to show how much your words mean to me, my appreciation for such wonderful guests and for leaving such an outstanding review? WOW. You're too kind! Thank you so much. You're really wonderful people and I feel very fortunate for having meet you! God bless you both.


Our vote for best B&B ever

5 on August 19, 2009

We just returned from our second week long stay at Sunset Acres. We have stayed at 3 other B&B's and nothing compares to what Bill and Brenda offer at their home. Not only is Sunset Acres a relaxing, beautiful place to stay, but Bill and Brenda are wonderful people who truly take the time to make your stay comfortable, relaxing and worry-free. They are both very congenial and we always feel like part of the family when we leave. We are looking forward to our next visit to Missouri and of course will be staying at Sunset Acres. Breakfasts are scrumptous. Ask Brenda to make her french toast speciality - you won't be sorry.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to say such sweet things. I always enjoy your stay with us. You're like family and it's always sad to see you go. I wish you folks the best year ever. Please keep in touch. Take care and God Bless. Until next time. Hugs!!


Wow-what a wonderful place!

5 on August 14, 2009

Julie and I stayed only a night-next time we will stay all weekend! Brenda and Bill are so considerate and welcoming! It was perfect-the food is outstanding, the room cozy, the amenities fantastic! It was fun visiting the animals, sitting on the swing by the pond, and simply sitting under the stars! This 'time together away from kids' was heaven sent! Thank you, Brenda and Bill for making it the best weekend ever!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind words. It's always a pleasure serving great people such as yourselves. I enjoyed getting to know you both and hope I will have the chance to serve you again in the future. Wishing you both all the best!


A Fine Birthday Bash.

5 on July 20, 2009

My girlfriend Cindy planned an excellent surprise birthday weekend for me at Sunset Acres. She arranged a romantic birthday dinner for two on the gazebo cooked by Brenda and her staff. We had grilled pork loin with fruit chutney that simply melted in your mouth. For our side we had grilled veggies and the desert was a strawberry parfait. We stayed in the Fleur de Leis room which has access to the pool and hot tub area. Cindy and I would take a dip in the hot tub in the morning before breakfast and often at night before we turned in for bed. Sunset is far enough away from Kansas City that it is possible to see the stars on a clear night. For breakfast we had cherry almond crepes, bacon and quiche, again skillfully prepared by Brenda and her husband Bill. For an extra surprise, my girl ordered some double dipped chocolate covered strawberries. Sunset is a farm as well as a bed and breakfast. Cindy and I enjoyed watching the fainting goats and the peacocks. Ducks and other water fowl populate the pond where there is fishing to be had if you are so inclined. We feel like we're part of the family when we stay at Sunset Acres. It is our top get away from it all location. Thanks Brenda. Respects, S. F. Murphy North Kansas City, Missouri


Best Bed & Breakfast in Missouri

5 on June 24, 2009

I have stayed here several times and have always found the food, service, and ameneties to be outstanding! Bill and Brenda are friendly and goes out of their way to please you. I have been to several other missouri B&B's and had a good time, but they can't top the service and food that you get here!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you soo much for your kind words and for taking the time to leave such a review. I'm always happy to know that guests have enjoyed their stay here with us. I hope I will have the chance to serve you again in the future. Take care..


no place like home

5 on January 29, 2009

There is no place like home. and that is where you feel like you are. This is an amazing place and they make you feel so special. The food is amazing. me and my husband are both farm children, so it's even more like going home. If you want to feel like a queen and king. stay here

Innkeeper Response
Hello. Many thanks to you for your kind words. Happy to know you enjoyed your stay. This really makes my day! I hope I will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Take care.


A little bit of heaven

5 on July 18, 2008

What a place to stay! Brenda and Bill are both very personable. We felt like family, without the expectations that family and friends can put on your vacation. We thoroughly enjoyed everything Sunset Acres had to offer, especially breakfasts in the gazebo. Getting up early and sitting on the deck was awesome, watching the sun come up. Such a peaceful and relaxing home. Highly recommended.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind words. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I know I really enjoyed meeting you both. Until next time.. Take care.


Peaceful

5 on July 07, 2008

This was our first anniversary and our first bed and breakfast experience. This stay went way beyond our expectations. Brenda and Bill go out of their way to be helpful. It was 3 days of living like royalty with nature and animals surrounding. The food was excellent, I couldn't have planned a better vacation.

Innkeeper Response
Many, many thanks. You're such sweet people and I really enjoyed meeting you. I wish you both all the best in the years to come and look forward to your next visit. Take care.


The Best R & R Around

5 on March 28, 2007

WOW!! Absolutly wonderful... We stayed for 3 nights & never left. The place is so peaceful & well cared for; food was amazing; many new movies to see & fishing was good. Brenda is a wonderful chef. She made us the most romantic & delicious dinner we have ever had. We enjoyed our spacious room, the hot tub under the stars, the massages in front of the fireplace and visiting with our friendly host & hostess. Seeing the baby goats & colorful peacocks was a nice treat. Never heard of a fainting goat or seen one till now... Looking forward to going back when the pool is open. The gardens are just coming up. Lots of beautiful colors with the magnolia's blooming.. Such a short drive away to feel like we really went somewhere. Thanks.

Innkeeper Response
Wow. What sweet words. Thank you so much. I enjoyed your visit and getting to know you both. I look forward to your next visit and aim to please even more! Best to you both. Take care. Brenda


Sunset Acres Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $115 - $155
  • Reviews (31) 4.7
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8166822076
  • Mobile 1-8166822076

Visit Website »

View details

Top