Southmoreland on the Plaza Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
54 Reviews

Write A Review

Absolutely Loved It!

4.6 on April 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights over our anniversary weekend and we absolutely loved it. The owners are extremely friendly and easy to chat with and were very accommodating! The food far exceeded our expectations! You get to sit indoors or outdoors at your own table, which was very nice. My only actual complaint is our room was rather cold, but that's better than it being hot! The home and grounds are absolutely beautiful and it's very near the Nelson and shopping at the Plaza. We walked most of the time and I'm pregnant, so if it had been far we definitely wouldn't have been able to. We loved it and if we ever decide to do a mini-midwest-vacation again we will return!


Wonderful Weekend

5 on March 27, 2014

We will return! The combination of professionalism (staffed 24/7, help with bags, thorough tour) and the welcoming personal warmth was refreshing. Their attention to details were stellar and the food was delicious.


Back in Time

4.6 on February 26, 2014

Staying at Southmoreland took us back in Time. Was pleasantly greeted by Nichole who have us a tour of this historic Inn. She loves her job and made our first B&B stay one to remember! The inn is 100 h years old and filled with antiques. We stayed in the Thomas Hart Brenton room. There many niceties that make this a great value.


Amazing

5 on October 10, 2013

Simply the best place to stay in KC. I have stayed at several other places and the service here is the best. An amazing value. I have stayed here at least five times.


Felt like arriving home

4.8 on October 07, 2013

My wife and I came here for two nights of our honeymoon. Neither of us had spent much time in this part of KC. The owners of the Inn we wonderful to us. Very amicable and pleasant. They told us of wonderful places we could explore during the day. Breakfasts were unreal! They treated us (and the rest of the guests) like royalty. We left feeling like we were leaving friends. I would recommend to anyone. That part of KC is really fun.


PERFECT

5 on August 21, 2013

Just perfect!


FANTASTIC

5 on August 19, 2013

Friendlist , loveliest B&B in the country - soft sheets, gourmet breakfast.


NEW YEAR'S EVE GETAWAY

5 on August 16, 2013

Beautiful Inn, wonderful owners, friendly and engaging guests to chat with !


Enchanting

4.6 on August 13, 2013

For our first wedding anniversary, my husband & I decided to stay at Southmoreland. We fell instantly in love with Southmoreland & try to visit at least once a year. Mark, Nancy & their staff make us feel right at home. The breakfast is amazing & we love the evening tea & cookies. The rooms are so warm & inviting. We love everything about this place!


The Best Bed and Breakfast

4.8 on June 18, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Southmoreland five times.We love the closeness to the Plaza,the warm and friendly staff and the delicious food. We stay in a different room each time,and have loved them all.Mark and Nancy and their staff are wonderful.


Wonderful B&B in the heart of the city

4.6 on June 12, 2013

Everything at the Southmoreland was elegant, beautiful and comforting. Lots of little touches that were most appreciated. The location near shopping, dining and museums is fantastic. Thanks to the friendly and helpful staff and owners!


Southmoreland on the Plaza

4.0 on January 15, 2013

Very convenient to museums and outstanding shopping, dining, etc. Would return. Great food. Wonderful patios, porch. Walking areas nearby.


Our Favorite KC Retreat

5 on January 12, 2013

The inn is warm and inviting. The innkeepers and staff are friendly and caring. The rooms are lovely with delightful bedding and special touches i.e. fresh flowers, fruit, turn-down service and chocolates on the pillows! The late afternoon wine and appetizers and the evening coffee and fresh-baked cookies are real highlights. Mark creates wonderful gourmet breakfasts, and Nancy gives special table service to all guests.


Southmoreland -- Always a great experience.

4.4 on November 10, 2012

We have stayed at the SOuthmoreland many times over the last 15 years, and always have a wonderful experience. The staff & owners go out of their way to ensure a great time, the food is excellent, and you couldn't find a better location. We'll be back!


20th Wedding Anniversary!

4.2 on October 16, 2012

You gotta try it--we recently celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary in Kansas City and stayed at this fabulous B&B. We were guests for four days and wished we had more time, so plan accordingly. Walking distance to the great Plaza area and short driving distances everywhere else. Don't miss the WWI Museum, Lidia's Italy, Christopher Elbow's chocolates, and be sure to take the Boulevard Brewery Tour (plan ahead and book in advance!). We have an old home and came home with ideas on closet make-overs and porch enclosures. And finally, you will have to have a set of their oh-so-soft sheets, and take with you among many memories, a new tradition - the "hour of charm"! (Please consult your gracious hosts for details on both of those...) :-)


Southmoreland on the Plaza

4.4 on September 10, 2012

Excellent visit, food excellent, friendly efficient staff, clean, well-managed property.


Superb!!!

5 on June 30, 2012

I cannot say enough wonderful things about our experience! We stayed in the tiny but charming Satchel Room. Every member of the staff was helpful, gracious, and informative. The breakfast was like nothing I've ever tasted (in a good, good way). I can't imagine ever choosing to stay at a hotel when for equal or less money could be spent on a charming room, wonderful service and amenities, and an exquisite breakfast. If there could be one tiny downer, it was the cramped parking. But, really, how much time do you spend parking?


For our first B&B experience, a wonderful surprise!

4.8 on June 29, 2012

My wife and I had never been to a B&B, so I thought it would be a nice experience for our 32nd wedding anniversary. The people at Southmoreland made it just wonderful. We felt we went back in time right in the middle of a modern metropolitan city. Each room was unique and the experience was something we will both long remember. The only downside was it happen to be 104 degrees outside the day we stayed so our deck was not really usable. Nevertheless, we're already considering a return trip this fall or early winter. We just need to find an occasion to make our reservation.


Good place in KC

4.4 on April 18, 2012

This is a charming B&B in an excellent location. The Nelson Atkins Museum, The Kemper Museum and Country Club Plaza are within easy walking distance. The innkeepers are lovely folks willing to provide local information and knowledge. The breakfasts are outstanding (come hungry-Mark is an excellent cook). Happy hour wine and cheese plus warm cookies every night mean you need to be doing alot of walking. The public spaces are pleasant and include an outdoor deck.


Jewel in the City

5 on April 02, 2012

Great place to stay, wonderful food, near museums and shopping, friendly owners, and excellent house.


Birthday/Auto Show Weekend Getaway

4.0 on March 14, 2012

What a pleasant surprise from start to finish! Greeting with dip, wine, and a tour by Nancy, the owner. AMAZING hosts; Nancy and husband Mark. What a historic home nestled right by the plaza! The room was so comfortable and tastefully to-period decorated. The grounds were superb and the stay was so peaceful. This HAS become our ONLY place to stay when visiting KC again and again! I could not recommend a better place to stay...oh and JUST wait until you eat Mark's cooking for breakfast the next morning! WOW! 5-star, what?!! :) A MUST stay location!


Elegant, comfortable with superb service

5 on March 13, 2012

Southmoreland is beautifully appointed and decorated (sheets are IRONED daily!). The owners are very friendly and anticipate your every need. Breakfast and snacks were delicious (best cinnamon buns ever!). Would highly recommend a stay here - you will be so pleased!


Consistently wonderful

4.8 on March 11, 2012

Recently my husband and I returned to the Southmoreland Inn for our 4th visit. We have stayed other places in Kansas City but continue to find this lovely bed and breakfast to be our favorite. The location is wonderful. Walking distance to the Plaza, art museum, restaurants and lovely parks. The rooms are cozy and well kept and the staff are welcoming and very helpful. The best breakfast you'll find in KC is included! I highly recommend this wonderful inn.


Exactly what we had hoped for

4.8 on January 25, 2012

Cathy and I selected The Southmoreland for a private Wedding Ceremony and a few quiet days around The Plaza and Downtown KC. Everything was nearly perfect - Mark, Nancy and the Staff made it a pleasant and memorable occasion. The service, the food, EVERYTHING was wonderful. We'll be going back there soon.


Wonderful!

4.8 on October 30, 2011

My husband & I had a great getaway here. The staff was professional, courteous & welcoming. I would recommend this to anyone! The location is perfect for a museum visit or dinner.


Don't miss an opportunity to stay here!

5 on October 21, 2011

This place is fabulous. Friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful food. Great location.


Feel in love at first sight!

5 on October 02, 2011

My stay was beautiful, so much more than I expected. Although it was my first time staying at a B&B. Their rooms were beautiful. The thing that impressed me the most was the owners are available 24/7 and he cooked breakfast.


Southmoreland

5 on July 11, 2011

Beautiful and comfortable. Got there just in time to enjoy hors de vours and white wine. Food was delicious and plentiful. I recommend it to anyone who needs a getaway!


First time B&B

3.4 on June 26, 2011

First time at a B&B. Arrived early and person greeting us was somewhat flustered. Food was excellent. Stayed in the Stover room. Had a balcony, but was not told before hand had to go across the hall to get to the balcony. It was not attached to the room. This was disappointing. B&B was very clean and staff was considerate. Parking was difficutl due to limited space.


A Real Treausure in the City

4.4 on June 24, 2011

This was our first timestaying at a B&B & we are sure it will be hard to beat, but we are definately hooked & will be trying more! However tooting the horn for & about Southmoreland we have done many times sincecoming home. The food was amazing & the service was superb the only bad thing was having to leave! Thank You Mark & Nancy & their wonderful staff for making our stay a perfect weekend to remember forever!!


An Urban Oasis

5 on June 23, 2011

Cozy and elegant with a very professional staff; impressive location within easy walking distance to Country Club Plaza and Nelson-Atkins and Kemper art museums. Tasty breakfasts. Grace notes include late afternoon wine & nibbles; fresh-baked cookies at bedtime; in-room decanter of sherry to sip in antique cordial glasses while enjoying your private balcony; bedtime chocolates. Lovely indoor and outdoor public spaces. Best value in Kansas City.


Anniversary Stay

2.8 on June 21, 2011

We stayed in the Stover Suite for our anniversary in June. The room was very nice; we especially enjoyed the luxury linens and spacious Jacuzzi tub. It was a little too warm to enjoy our private deck though. The assistant who "greeted" us seemed very distraught that we arrived 30 min early. All of the snacks were very nice and we enjoyed an evening on the Plaza. Breakfast was a real let down. Though we had given notice that one of us was a vegetarian the only substitute available for the main course was cereal; not exactly a comparable exchange. After reading other wonderful reviews we were very excited to visit but overall we left disappointed.


weekend getaway

4.6 on May 07, 2011

five star- Enjoyed a very nice weekend at the B&B and the Plaza (in walking distance) Could not have had a nicer place or Innkeepers, very pleasant and most accommdating, food was wonderful.


Tucked Away Treasure

4.6 on April 24, 2011

Southmoreland is tucked away in the heart of the Plaza area. Our experience was a delight from the website booking to checking out. The innkeepers were very friendly and always available if needed. The evening snacks and breakfast were both scrumptious and the innkeepers made accommodations for my husband's dislike of eggs. Overall, Southmoreland was a treasure to celebrate an early anniversary getaway.


A Disconnect from Everyday Life

4.4 on April 20, 2011

Even though Southmoreland on the Plaza is right downtown in the Plaza area, once you enter the Bed and Breakfast you are instantly somewhere completely relaxing. Our room had neither a tv or a clock radio- and while initially we thought that odd, we decided we loved it when we realized that it made it that much more romantic for us. We were able to disconnect from the rest of the world and really focus on one another. It was relaxing, and it was very intimate. When we came back from dinner that night, we grabbed a fresh-baked cookie and a cup of tea, grabbed a board game and spent some real quality time with one another. We are most definitely going to have to come back during the winter to be able to stay in another room and be able to use the fireplace in the room as well! Its like our new home away from home :)


Romantic

4.4 on March 31, 2011

Excellent location! Inn keepers go out of their way to be accomodating. Food and snacks very good. Very relaxing and romantic. Tastfully decorated without being over the top. Would definetly stay here again.


Our First Stay

4.2 on March 21, 2011

We received our stay at the Southmoreland as a gift from dear friends. They had enjoyed their stay so much, they wanted to share the experience with us. As we checked in, we were taken on a tour of the B&B and saw many of the other guests enjoying the welcome reception. We enjoyed some hors d'oeuvres and wine, while sitting outside. Our bedroom was super clean, and welcoming (and rather charming!). Breakfast was delightful and delicious as well. My husband and I both agree that the experience was overall relaxing.


Weekend Getaway

5 on March 06, 2011

We stayed in the Carriage House. It was a fantastic stay, the room was all by itself with its own parking garage. The room was very big and had awesome decor. Free apples, hot beverage delivered, and sherry. Nice and big bathroom with a whirlpool tub and seperate shower. The staff was very nice and courteous. In the morning we had Eggs Florentine, Poached Pears with raspberry and cherries, and poppy seed bread. The food was awesome and tasted great. We had a great stay and will be back for another stay hopefully soon. Thanks Mark and Nancy and Staff!


Comfortable and delicious!

4.2 on March 05, 2011

Our stay at the Southmoreland was very pleasant. The location was convenient, the room was comfortable, and the hosts very accomodating. Breakfast was delicious! I can only mention one negative, and that is the parking. VERY tight, especially in inclement weather!! (in a truck). We ended up parking on the street. But I realize with great location comes some inconveniences!


Wonderful, romantic evening getaway

4.4 on February 19, 2011

What a wonderful surprise.....an upgrade to the suite...the host and hostess thanks for my continuing military service!! The suite was beyond words. Hot cocoa and cookies in front of a wood burning fireplace. Beautiful breeze from the open balcony door while we lay in bed. Wonderful comfy bedding. A paper and hot cocoa (or coffee) was waiting at our door as scheduled. Breakfast was outstanding! Would recommend and can't wait to come back!!!


Great Weekend Stay

4.8 on February 14, 2011

We stayed for one night 2/12/2011, during the weekend before Valentines day. I knew it would be busy and full and expected it to go less smoothly than a less busy weekend, but I was wrong. They exceeded my expectations in all areas and provided my wife and I an excellent romantic getaway. The check in process was nice with wonderful appetizers and wine available. They got us to our room quickly and gave us a great tour of the inn. It was so close to the Plaza and hundreds of great shopping, entertainment and dining options and the morning breakfst was outstanding. Make sure you pick up a cookbook, because you will surely want to try to duplicate the recipes at home. Make sure you stay at Southmoreland if you want a nice, romantic weekend.


Magnificent!

5 on February 13, 2011

My husband and I are new to the bed and breakfast experience. It was such an enjoyable experience, and we look forward to going back!


Great place for a wedding

4.6 on February 05, 2011

We had our wedding there and it was awesome. We filled all the rooms and had the place to ourselves. We stayed in the Carriage House which is behind the Inn. Nancy and Mark were so helpful during our stressful but wonderful day. If you are planning a smaller wedding I would definitely recommend it. Our guests enjoyed having the mall within an easy walking distance.


Birthday Wish Come True!

5 on January 06, 2011

My Husband and I stayed there for my 40 birthday over New Years. The food was exceptional, the service was over my expectations. The owners go out of their way to make you feel as if you are at home and having a wonderful time. I have never felt such peace! We will be back! Thank you!


a perfect anniversary get away

5 on December 23, 2010

We stayed at the Southmoreland to celebrate our 28th anniversary. From check-in to when we said good-bye our stay couldn't have been better. Our room was cozy, the food was absolutely spectacular from the pumpkin pancakes to the fresh banana bread to the fresh cookies and hot cocoa in the evening. Close to the plaza and the art museum which made for an easy walk after filling up on the great breakfast! Great suggestions also for restaurants near-by, and suggestions for things to do in the area. Definitely a must stay for future anniversary get aways!


Southmoreland is the Best!

5 on December 14, 2010

This is an exceptional Inn with exceptional Innkeepers. The location is perfect, next to the Plaza with its Christmas lights and fine restaurants. Mark and Nancy always make us feel like we are at home. We have made it a tradition to stay at the Inn at Christmas time and we look forward to it every year.


Awe-inspiring food!

4.2 on October 03, 2010

This is a wonderful inn with absolutely excellent gourmet food served every morning, and throughout the day and evening. The rooms are a little small, which is fine by us, but we had no where to put our luggage. The staff was fabulous and very helpful from everything to giving us recommendations for restaurants, to just welcoming us and getting to know us - very friendly! They were also keenly aware of diet restrictions and orders (who got half orders, etc). Really, a wonderful experience to a first-timer in the bed & breakfast world and I hope we can stay there again!!


Hidden Gem off the Beaten Plaza

5 on August 24, 2010

The breakfasts were incredible. The rooms are the perfesct size. It's like being in your own bed at home. Inn is quaint, quiet and comfortable and centrally located. Our one and only "complaint" was parking if you have a bigger car the parking spaces can be a very tight fit plus do way to turn around so backing out is a bit tight too.


Elegance and Business Married

4.8 on February 16, 2010

I've stayed at this property approx. 7 times and it has never disappointed. The location...wow...a 5 minute stroll to the elite Country Club Plaza district/mall, across the street from safe and quiet middle class apartments, a 2 minute stroll to the Nelson-Atkins Art Museum and sculpture park (an urban land mass that rivals any in our country for beauty and setting)...the experience is truly an "urban escape". The property owners have exceptional taste and a keen sense of what a business traveler needs; yet, they're able to accomplish this without compromising the soft, hidden away quality that is needed to please their romantically-inspired guests. Food is exceptional, treatment is 'personal' (every guest is treated uniquely), and there are many little subtle touches that enhance the bed and breakfast experience. Even if you have business in the southern Kansas suburbs such as Overland Park/Lenexa, it is more-than-worth the 30 minute commute to plant yourself at the Southmoreland on the Plaza.


Our favorite!

5 on March 23, 2008

We, too, have stayed in B&Bs throughout the US, Canada and Europe. Southmoreland is our very favorite for many reasons: Mark & Nancy, the breakfasts, the rooms, the appetizers, the cookies, the decks, the sunroom. This is a class act!


Our favorite B&B

5 on November 27, 2007

We have stayed at many B&Bs all over the country & some in Europe. This is by far our favorite in the US ranking right up there with ones we have stayed at in Europe.


A Nice B & B

3.8 on November 03, 2007

The inn is very nice, but we definitely would not recommend the room that we had for a couple. It was the Leroy Satchel Paige room. It is a small knotty pine room. We had a free-standing fireplace, but it nearly cooked us in that little room. One great thing is that the breakfast was delicious.


A great get-away in the middle of it all!

5 on July 08, 2007

My wife and I have stayed two times and can't say enough about the inn itself and the owners & staff. What a unique way to spend some leisure days or business travel. Highly recommended!


Our CEO loves it too!

5 on April 12, 2007

I stayed here in May 2006 on a business trip. I told our CEO about it and he loves it there. Actually planned an operating committee meeting there. The place is nice, price reasonable, food great, and owners really nice.


Southmoreland on the Plaza

Details

  • Nightly Rate $110 - $250
  • Reviews (54) 4.7
  • Rooms 13
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8165317979
  • Fax 1-8165312407

Visit Website »

View details

Top