Briar Rose Inn Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
56 Reviews

Write A Review

Just like grandma's house

4.0 on December 16, 2011

I’ve never stayed at a bed and breakfast that made my breakfast to order. It made me feel a little guilty like I was asking too much when I told them what to make me, but it was great. You got to choose a meat, (bacon, sausage, or ham) eggs, (scrambled with anything in them, omelet with anything in it, or fired anyway you wanted it) a bread, (biscuits and gravy, waffles, French toast, or pancakes) and it already came with cinnamon rolls and fresh fruit. It was so good and way too much. The rooms were beautiful, clean, and homey. Just like staying at grandmas with all the drawers to explore. It was nice have a balcony we could smoke on right of the suite also. The owners are kind, understanding, I just wanted to hug them just like grandma too. I liked the East Lake suite for the privacy, size, and furnishings. The Federal suite is nice but the kitchen in that suite is what the owners use to make breakfast in.


Good B&B for Katy riders stopping in Jeff City

3.8 on October 03, 2011

Randy provided great help to us on our Katy ride. Good location near downtown. Large rooms with lots of interesting antiques. Very personable and enjoyable owners.


A comfortable home away from home.

4.6 on April 27, 2011

April 18th, two nights. This is Victorian without being too stuffy or frilly. The beds were very comfortable...lovely breakfast and treats. Would love to vist again.


Close to home getaway

5 on April 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Briar Rose Inn for an early anniversary getaway while we were in town visiting family over Easter. Even though it is so close to "home" we really enjoyed our time there! There were no other guests while we were there, and Jeannette allowed us to roam the house and explore a little bit. We were very impressed with the beautiful suites--all very clean and extremely comfortable! It was so sweet to find cookies in our room twice during our stay. Breakfast was amazing!! There were so many choices it was hard to decide. By far the nicest, friendliest B&B to date in which we have had the privilege to stay!


Just like home

5 on March 02, 2011

we enjoyed our stay enormously! We stayed one night and it felt just like home. All the comforts of home you could possibly think of was included. The owners were very welcoming and kind and made it a wonderful stay.


Fit For A King and Queen!

5 on February 14, 2011

We were welcomed and treated with the upmost respect and treated like a King and Queen ! We celebrated our 12th wedding(valentine wedding) anniversary at thier bed&breakfast with the finest furnished rooms and treated to two awsome breakfast! We have visited several bed & breakfast in the past to celebrate romantic valentine get a ways but never returned to any of them ! We experianced such hospitality and warmth and content atmosphere at the Briar Rose that We are planning to book the Briar Rose again next valentines day. love; Erwin & Mary ellen Kourik!


We were spoiled!!

5 on December 18, 2010

Jeanette and Randy are the ultimate hosts. Breakfasts melted in our mouths. Delicious brownies, coffee & tea awaited our arrival. They were heavenly. We stayed 3 nights in the Eastlake Suite and I had the best sleep I have had in months. We will definately stay there again when we come to Jefferson City. Ann & Bill


Wonderful & Relaxing

5 on November 13, 2010

Everything was very clean and neat. The atmosphere was warm, welcoming and relaxing.


Great Stay

5 on October 15, 2010

We only stayed for one night--but the Rustic Room is about as private and quiet a room as you can get. It allowed me to get up and work in the morning without disturbing my wife as it comes complete with a little sitting/dining room. Breakfast was a little disturbing at first--you had to tell them what you wanted--and they made it for you!! Pretty much anything you wanted!


Wonderful stop on our KATY trek

5 on October 12, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at the Briar Rose B&B while crossing the state by bike on the KATY trail. Randy met us at the trailhead and shuttled us and our bikes across the Missouri River bridge. He was very careful about taking good care of our bikes and gave us a mini-tour of Jeff City on the way, pointing out some outstanding places to eat. We stayed in the downstairs room and loved it! The inclusion of the original stone and brick walls made the setting unique and cozy. The breakfast was delicious and I was impressed with Jeannette and Randy actually asking us what we would like to include in the meal. Because the inn is very close to the wonderful Central Dairy, we were able to walk to it and pick up some incredible ice cream to enjoy with the scrumptious brownies that the hosts had left in our room. Jeannette and Randy are gracious hosts and we will definitely stay here again.


Brick & stone

4.8 on October 11, 2010

Like living in a castle, walls made of brick & stone. Extremely clean and pleasant, friendly owners.


Nice place great owners

5 on October 11, 2010

We had a very nice stay the owners are were quite nice and it was great


Hospitality #1

5 on August 10, 2010

Ramey and Jeanette showed us a very kind and warm welcome at their lovely inn. Their rustic retreat suite was a truly quiet, private, large apartment. Delicious food, too!


nicest people - terrific breakfast

4.6 on June 18, 2010

We stayed here overnight before a trail ride. The owner took us to the KATY trail in his truck so we didn't have to ride through Jefferson City - a huge help. They were the only owners on our whole trip who took our breakfast order the night before so we each got exactly what we wanted. Delightful.


Great stay

5 on May 31, 2010

We had a great stay. Freshly baked brownies awaited us on arrival. Breakfast was made to order. Would definitely stay here again.


Like a retreat

5 on April 30, 2010

My daughter and I stayed in the Eastlake Suite for a week. It was the most peaceful restful experience like a retreat. They certainly have set a high standard for our expections at where we would stay in other areas. The claw foot tub was so relaxing my daughter soaked for two hours. The ice tea and brownies awaiting us were so welcoming. Randy and Jeannette are extremely accomodating. They even prepared a little birthday surprise birthday cake and tea party for us on my daughter's birthday. They are very knowledgable regarding area, after they discerned what we were interested in they made recommendations for places for us to visit. The Cole County Museum had a beautiful collection of bridal gowns from the 19th and 20th century on display and we would have missed it if they hadn't take the time to talk with us. The breakfasts were marvelous. Jeannette's collections of china, glassware, table decor made each meal unique. Our rooms were more beautiful than the pictures online and we did search through the nooks and crannies and were not disappointed in this very hands on environment. The beds were excellent and we slept very well. One day, I spent quietly sitting and reading one of the many volumes of books throughout the parlour - historical, fiction, magazines. I felt I spent somewhere else in time. When we left, it was like leaving my sister's home where family is so excited to see you. We will definitely be coming to stay here again. My daughter has already called me twice to tell me how much she enjoyed Grandma and Grandpa Wilkerson and our stay. The Briar Rose Inn definitely reflects Jeannette and Randy's enjoyment and care of those who stay with them.


Best B&B I have ever been in

5 on April 24, 2010

I stayed there when I had business at the Capitol, which is only a few minutes away by car, but it felt like I was in a different world at the Inn. It is so quiet and peaceful there, it's the perfect place to stay when having stress filled days, because the Eastlake Suite is the entire top floor and as such it was so quiet there was no noise from other quests or neighbors. It's also comfortable, roomy yet cozy at the same time, and very well attenuated. There's plenty of room to prepare at night for whatever you have to do the next day because the suite has wireless internet and a large table in the dining that doubles as a conference table. The bed is amazingly comfortable. Plus the breakfast was awesome, and the innkeepers are two of the warmest, most welcoming people you could ever meet. Awesome place, can't go wrong.


Elegant Suite

4.6 on March 22, 2010

We loved our stay and have no complaints. Our suite was beautiful, the food was absolutely delicious, and our hosts were warm and friendly.


Thanks for rescuing us from the Katy

5 on March 17, 2010

Thanks for rescuing us from the muddy Katy trail in Wilton. Thanks for breakfast, the omelets were wonderful!


Love B&B's

4.6 on February 27, 2010

We stayed at the Briar Rose February 24th, 2010 for the night. We had never before been to Jefferson City and was surprised that the B&B was so close to down town but you would never know it once you step inside. The home is quiet, clean and full of decorations from years past. You feel like you walked into your home away from home. The Inn keepers were so nice. We had a great visit with them after breakfast and will stay there again when we go back to Jefferson City, MO.


Charming and delightful experience!

4.2 on January 02, 2010

My daughter and I had the pleasure of staying in the Rustic Suite at Briar Rose Inn. The accommodations and the hosts were top-notch in our book. We're very glad our travels to Williams Woods University led us to this B and B. I would recommend this inn to anyone staying in, or near, Jefferson City. The area is full of historical information, is close to Amtrak and the Katy trail. All our best to Jeanette and Randy!!


A Gem in Jefferson City, MO

4.6 on November 30, 2009

This place is a little gem in Jefferson City, MO. What makes it special are the owners, especially Jeanette. She was so helpful and eager to share the history of the Inn, Jefferson City, and the surrounding area. Visiting the Briar Rose Inn was like visiting dear friends. The rooms were wonderfully decorated, the meals were delicious and the hospitality was beyond compare. You must stay here when you visit Jeff City!


The best place to stay

5 on November 15, 2009

Randy and Jeanette know what a B&B is about and deliver on every promise made on the website. They were so warm and welcoming when I arrived and seemed to know when I needed space and when to talk with me. I stayed in the walkout basement Rustic suite which was the perfect size for 1 or 2, had a private entrance to the parking pad, It's own kitchen + amenities, and the house is less than a 10 minute walk to the Capital. Breakfast was unbelievably delicious and was worth waking up for. They allowed me to pick the breakfast time as well as what was served. You cannot tell they've only been owners for 4 years, they are naturals. Anything you want to know about the history of Jefferson City they'll know and they have brochures & pamphlets in the rooms. These two cater to you and to making your stay memorable so if you get the opportunity to stay, do so! You will not regret it.


Bike Rider from the Katy Trail

5 on October 23, 2009

My sister and I stayed at your lovely inn after biking the Katy Trail for two days. The comfortable suite upstairs was more than we had anticipated. It was spotless, roomy and offered many ammenities. The brochures were especially helpful in finding a restaurant as well as a nearby spa where we got great massages. The breakfast was excellent and Randy and Jeanette were lovely hosts. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in the Jeff City area.


Bikers from KATY trail

5 on October 05, 2009

The inn was exceptional, Jeanette and Randy were so kind and informative. Their attention to detail was amazing! My sister and I appreciated all that they did to make our stay comfortable.


Small but very Comfortable

5 on August 10, 2009

This small B&B offered outstanding hospitality, as well as comfortable accommodations and privacy. The innkeepers were very helpful in offering tips about the surrounding attractions, and were overall very congenial hosts.


Very enjoyable stay

4.8 on August 10, 2009

Jeanette and Randy, the hosts, made our stay very enjoyable. They were very willing to get us any info for sightseeing and served wonderful breakfast each morning.


Couldn't be any better!

5 on August 05, 2009

Randy & Jeanette picked us up at katy trail with a van and a car for 4 bikes and 4 people. The suites were fabulous, the huge bed great. They provided maps and dinner recommendations that turned out to be excellent. Their breakfast (open menu) was plentiful and excellent. Coffee delivered to each suite. Shuttle to train station.


Outstanding

5 on August 03, 2009

I felt like I was at a place that I was very welcome. The hosts were very friendly and kind. The breakfast was out of this world. Wonderful place.


Untitled

4.8 on July 30, 2009

Lots of space for an affordable price. Each suite has its own sitting room.


excellent

5 on June 04, 2009

Everything was wonderful and very reasonably priced.


Just like staying at grandma's

4.0 on May 27, 2009

Friendly, relaxing, delicious food, wonderful experience. This was our first time in a B&B and we're hooked! I can't imagine how any other place will match the service, cleanliness, and fantastic breakfast. I booked all three floors for myself and 2 sets of grandparents. This was so much better than some stinky hotel. Everyone needs to give a B&B a try---you'll be surprised at the value when you compare a hotel stay and breakfast out to a wonderful experience like this!


Incredible experience!

5 on May 26, 2009

We were biking the Katy Trail and pulled in to Jefferson City trail-tired and sweaty. Jeanette and Randy greeted us with brownies and iced tea - we thought we had died and gone to heaven! They couldn't do enough to meet all our needs. The room was a lovely suite - quiet and private with all the amenitites for a very comfortable stay. Loved the breakfast - and took advantage of Randy's offer to shuttle us back to the trail. We would highly recommend a stay here!!


wonderful hosts

5 on February 20, 2009

The food was great and the best value for a B&B I have ever had. Beautiful, large suites.


best bet in Jeff City

5 on February 20, 2009

Top class, good people, great breakfast, already booked for next year!


Briar Rose

5 on February 04, 2009

excellent service, spacious accommodations


unique experience

5 on February 04, 2009

This is the first B&B where we have had an entire floor/suite. Wonderful stay. Unique experience. Wonderful hosts. Highly recommend!


relaxing

5 on January 07, 2009

Briar Rose Inn was a relaxing getaway. A very charming restored Victorian home with everything you'd expect and then some. The accomocations were clean and comfortable. The food was delicious and the service excellent. I'd definitely go back and reccomend it to all my friends and family.


great stay

5 on December 09, 2008

The house was charming and very clean. Breakfast was delicious and more than the 8 of us could eat.


fantastic hospitality

4.4 on December 03, 2008

Like a home away from home! Fantastic made-to-order breakfasts!


Why have just a bedroom when you can have a 6-room suite?

5 on November 11, 2008

Great to have so much space! Hosts Randy & Jeanette are awesome - very accommodating! Allowed us not only to pick what time we would have breakfast, but also what we wanted to eat!


Outstanding hosts!

4.6 on November 10, 2008

Fabulous stay, the rooms on 2nd floor were spotless and beautiful, our own kitchen. Randy and Jeanette went way beyond our expectations. Great brownies!


Superb Hospitality

4.0 on September 24, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the Briar Rose. Very clean and comfortable, priced right. Breakfast was excellent. Randy and Janette made us feel very welcome. They love what they are doing and it shows.


A restful, sweet home

4.8 on September 17, 2008

We are so glad we found this lovely place.


Briar Rose Inn Stay here

5 on July 15, 2008

Lovely, charming - fascinating Victorian decor. Fainting couch. Great owners - homemade custom breakfast.


Welcome hubby home

5 on July 10, 2008

My husband returned from Iraq and we got away for the weekend. What a wonderful B&B with lots of privacy. Walking distance to downtown too. We'd do it again in a heartbeat...now if only we can convince the grandparents to watch the kids again...


Excelente

5 on July 08, 2008

This was the most excellent B&B we have ever visited. The breakfasts were superb and the Wilkerson's were wonderful hosts.


Excellent place to stay

3.8 on July 02, 2008

We had the recently renovated basement suite and it was just the right size. Jeanette and Randy took very good care of us.


Biking the Katy Trail

5 on June 11, 2008

Beautifully and lovingly decorated in Victorian era style. Spacious accommodations for the two of us and our 14 and 17 year old grandsons. Huge breakfast in elegant setting. Delightful hosts, picked us up and delivered us to the N. Jefferson Trail Head.


A Home Away from Home

4.8 on May 21, 2008

A stay at Briar Rose feels like a trip to Grandma's house. The suite was spacious, but had a cozy feeling. The innkeepers were so gracious and hospitable; we felt as though we had made new friends in the short time we were there. Would highly suggest a visit to this Bed and Breakfast.


Just like going home

5 on May 16, 2008

We have become frequent guests at Briar Rose. The atmosphere is so inviting and very family-friendly. We are always greeted with a warm smile and sweet treats. Words don't even describe the homestyle breakfast. Go as a family or as a couple and be disappointed.


Frendly Warmth on a bleak day

5 on May 15, 2008

We a ( party of six) came out of the cold wind and rain and wind after 40 plus miles cycling on the Katy trail. Anticipation was rampant knowing that a plate of warm brownies waited us at the end of our ordeal. After that treat my wife and I retired to the quaint basement bed room and listened to the rain and wind howl. The experience of Briar Rose Inn was 5 star in accommodations, ambiance and function. The breakfast was in a word sumptuous and plentiful. We would highly recommend it.


Top Notch B&B

5 on May 13, 2008

We were cycling the Katy Trail in Missouri and 3 couples of us stayed at the Briar Rose Inn B&B. Wonderful hosts and very spacious rooms. In fact, we each had our own suite of rooms. And the breakfast the next morning was unbelievable. They fed us a huge breakfast to keep us going all day on the bikes. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in the area. Thanks so much Jeanette and Randy for your hospitality.


Way better than any hotel.

5 on January 05, 2008

My husband and I were in Jefferson City for a wedding and were looking for something different besides the hotel recommended. We ended up staying here and LOVED it. We are in our 20's and it still suited us just fine. We stayed in the new "basement room". When we arrived the innkeepers met us and showed us around. There were homemade sugar cookies waiting for us in our little kitchen. (and they were fantastic!) We felt like we were staying more in a resort. Our bed was a pillow top and we slept great for being away from home. Everything was newly renovated in the room we stayed in and very clean. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a great place to stay. We paid $79 a night...we couldn't beat that with breakfast included. ENJOY!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for all of you kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed yourselves at Briar Rose Inn. We would be very happy to have you come back and visit us again. Thank you again for such a nice review, and may God richly bless you & yours.


Highly Recommened

5 on July 05, 2007

This is one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed at. The owners are friendly, thoughtful, and accommodating. The rooms are beautifully decorated, spacious, and immaculate. Breakfasts are home cooked and delicious. We even got iced tea and cookies every afternoon. I'd love to go back.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your very kind & generous review. We always hope that all of our guests enjoy themselves and can relax when they stay with us at Briar Rose Inn. If you have the chance, we would be more than glad to have you come back again. Thank you again, and may God bless you & yours.


DELIGHTFUL!

5 on May 14, 2007

If you are looking for a place to stay in Jeff City, you absolutely MUST consider the Briar Rose Inn B & B. Clean, comfortable, friendly, beautiful, great breakfast, hospitable hosts...you can't beat a place like this.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your very kind & generous review. We always hope that all of our guests enjoy themselves and can relax when they stay with us at Briar Rose Inn. If you have the chance, we would be more than glad to have you come back again. Thank you again, and may God richly bless you & yours.


Briar Rose Inn Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $119
  • Reviews (56) 4.8
  • Rooms 2

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5733380284
  • Mobile 1-5733380284
Top