Hawthorn B&B Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
165 Reviews

Write A Review

Close to home

4.8 on August 06, 2014

A quick jaunt from home in a luxurious stay.


A MUST for B&B lovers!!

5 on August 01, 2014

My two friends & I (69 year old ladies) go to a B&B once a year & this was one of the best. In fact it only matched the one in Lindsborg which is now closed. A beautiful, comfortable, & friendly place which was even better than we thought it would be. In fact, we're going back in December to see all the Christmas trees & lights in it & the Independence mansions.


Delightful Bed and Breakfast

5 on July 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the B&B for our one year anniversary. We had such a wonderful time! Jim and Wendy were wonderful hosts. The breakfasts we had each morning were DELICIOUS!!! The rooms were very comfy and very comparable prices to hotels in the area. The B&B was also conveniently located, being within 15 minutes of the plaza and power and light. I would definitely recommend this place and plan to go back in the future!


Great business stay

5 on July 26, 2014

Jim and Wendy were gracious hosts. The Hawthorn is a beautiful home and the atmosphere was light and pleasant. Jim's breakfast is world class. Thank you Jim and Wendy for a great first B&B stay. Would definitely stay again. Best wishes Perry and Roz.


Superior experience at Hawthorn B&B

5 on July 25, 2014

From the first personal greeting at the front door to the gracious send off at check out, my husband and I were served with a perfect balance of attention and privacy in beautiful, immaculate surroundings. Comfort, care, and attention to details are the standards in this lovely facility.


Perfect for a Family Reunion!

4.8 on July 10, 2014

We five sisters try to hold a family reunion at Hawthorn B&B at least every other year. Jim and Wendy go above and beyond in taking care of us!


A delightful stay!

5 on July 05, 2014

Deb and I enjoyed thoroughly our short but delightful stay at the Hawthorn. It was our 5th anniversary and we had never stayed here before but it was so worth the trip. We were in KC for the weekend and we love bed and breakfasts so much more than any hotel. Hawthorn is simply gorgeous. What a house! Breakfast was amazing and Jim and Wendy are so delightful to chat with. that had to be our favorite thing, talking with them and hearing details of their home and lives. Try that with a hotel clerk.....all in all it was a short stay as one nighters go but well worth the money to have home away from home like that.


Beautiful mansion and grounds.

4.2 on July 04, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Hawthorne Mansion. The inn keeper stayed past check in time to accommodate our late arrival. The Breakfast was so beautiful and scrumptious. We especially loved the potatoes cooked with a hint of maple syrup. The bed and pillows were exceptionally comfortable. The whole mansion was impeccably clean. We were the only guest for the night and all the rooms were locked. I would have liked to see the other rooms. I will definitely recommend this B&B to friends and family.


Fabulous!!

5 on June 19, 2014

I highly recommend Hawthorn B&B. We stayed with Jim and Amy Friday and Saturday night. They were both so warm and friendly and made us feel right at home. Their home is lovely! It's full of antiques and had a romantic cozy feel throughout. Jim made breakfast each morning and it was delicious. On Saturday we didn't eat again until dinnertime because the meal was so hearty. Both mornings we had fresh fruit to begin. The first morning we had omelets, potatoes and fresh from the oven raspberry muffins. The second day was homemade pancakes. I can't say enough about the comfort and hospitality of Hawthorn B&B!


Very Nice Stay at Hawthorn B&B

3.8 on June 19, 2014

The Hawthorn B&B was lovely. We enjoyed our stay. It is convenient to many Independence & KC sites, the breakfasts were excellent, the hosts very pleasant & helpful, the rooms were very nice & the common areas (enclosed porch, living room, etc) were very inviting.


Why we keep coming back

5 on June 11, 2014

We keep coming back to Hawthorn because the beautiful and spacious home is clean, wonderfully decorated and cozy, as well as because Jim and Wendy always make us feel welcome and at home. The breakfasts are always fabulous, too, and the location is excellent for Royals baseball fans. We highly recommend staying at Hawthorn. John and Rosemary


Love the Hawthorne!!

5 on June 09, 2014

This was my second stay, and can't wait to return! Owners Wendy and Jim Allen are phenomenal hosts, and the rooms, the food, all top notch! If you are in the KC area, make this your place to stay!!


Our Stay at Hawthorne

5 on June 09, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at many B & B's. While we have had many great experiences, we both have to say that the Hawthorne was the very best; even better than others much more expensive. The hospitality was unmatched. The room was great as was the breakfast. We really recommend this B&B.


Flawless!

5 on June 04, 2014

Beautiful location, delicious breakfast, and fantastic hosts! I would certainly recommend this site for anyone planning a trip to the Kansas City area.


A wonderful experience in a charming home with equally charming hosts

5 on May 28, 2014

I stayed at the Westminster unit on a beautiful April weekend. Jim and Wendy were very welcoming hosts and made our bed and breakfast experience one to always remember. The rooms were very tastefully arranged and extremely clean. Breakfast was also a delicious, home-cooked meal that helped soften the sting of having to leave this wonderful place. Would highly recommend.


Breakfast was excellent

4.6 on April 12, 2014

Enjoyed our stay very much. The breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed eating it in the sun room. The hosts are very attentive to your needs.


Relaxing Getaway

4.4 on April 09, 2014

Great breakfast and wonderful service. Enjoyed wine in the Florida room with friends prior to heading downtown for dinner. Stayed in the Bibler room this time with the King bed, but liked the Westminster room better.


Hawthorn KC stay

4.8 on April 02, 2014

Lovely home, very clean, very friendly proprietors! Everything without a hitch. A very smooth stay! We'll be back.


Our Favorite B&B

4.8 on March 21, 2014

We have stayed at about 4 B&B's now in different cities. This is our favorite. The breakfast is huge and delicious. The owners are friendly and helpful. The biggest drawback is that it is not in exactly the nicest part of time, but overall, we are always happy to stay at the Hawthorn when we go to Kansas City.


I love staying here - its a wonderful romantic getaway!!!

5 on February 28, 2014

The Hawthorne house is by far my favorite bed and breakfast to stay at - we have visited several times - the home is immaculately kept, the food is awesome, and this bed and breakfast provides a very relaxing environment for just being! Thank you again! - Annette


We had a Great Time!!

5 on February 16, 2014

My Wife and I were there for our 30th wedding Anniversary and it met with all our expectations. The room was so nice and very comfortable. The House was gorgeous and rehabilitated to its original 1900 state but with all the modern amenities. The Owners were delightful and very accommodating to our questions and needs. I highly recommend this B&B. We have stayed at many B&B's and this ranks in the very top.


Thanks.

4.6 on December 23, 2013

Jim & Wendy were wonderful hosts. Even though there was a holiday party going on the night of our check-in/stay, Jim & Wendy provided us with all the hospitality we were expecting. They helped make our 9th wedding anniversary a wonderful experience. Thanks - chad & Hope spear


Great B&B

4.2 on November 13, 2013

We stayed at the Hawthorn for my birthday and it was such a nice surprise. We were in the Gillmor room on the second floor and it was a great size room, very spacious. I thought the makeup towel in the bathroom and stocked fridge with snacks were very thoughtful and nice touches. The breakfast was very good, especially the maple syrup potatoes, and the owner said next time we come to be sure and request his biscuits and gravy! There were three other couples there and we never heard anything, very quiet rooms. My only negative was the mattress in the Gillmor room seemed to be getting a little old and was slopping a bit in the middle. The house and grounds are beautiful. The innkeepers are very nice and do a great job keeping up the house. We would definitely visit again.


Best B&B breakfast ever!

5 on October 30, 2013

Wonderful experience. The rooms, house and grounds are beautiful. The breakfast was the best we've ever had at a B&B. Loved the raspberry muffins. Thanks for such a wonderful stay.


Hawthorn Bed & Breakfast

4.6 on October 28, 2013

I went to the church which was once affiliated with this building so was an opportunity to go back in and see all the changes made since the church sold the property. Enjoyed meeting Jim and getting a chance to talk with him about the history of the building. Warmed my heart that he loves the building as much as I do! Both Jim and his wife were vey hospitable and made us feel welcome. The breakfast was exceptional - very good and very filling. Accommodations were good as well. All in all, a good night and a good place to stay!


Very nice, except the bathroom

4.6 on October 27, 2013

lovely place, excellent breakfast. Room was very nice and roomy. Only complaint is the bathroom was so small. Shower stall only, and so small you could barely get in.


Enjoyed our stay

5 on October 17, 2013

We stayed one night at Hawthorn B&B. We had been on a road trip, family reunion type trip and arrived later in the day after a Chiefs game. We arrived tired and hungry and the owner directed us to a great barbeque restaurant. We enjoyed a nice dinner, then returned to the B&B to rest up for the next leg of our trip. We were able to relax and watch tv on the flat screen in the room. The bed was heavenly, with the most comfortable mattress and linens imaginable. We slept like a rock! The whole house was very, very clean. They asked us to let them know when we wanted to have breakfast and then had everything ready for us. We had breakfast in a cute little room that was surrounded with windows with a view of the outdoors. They served fresh fruit, homemade raspberry muffins, eggs, potatoes and sausage. Everything was great. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone that was looking for a nice clean, relaxing get-away. Treat yourself!


Wonderful Gem

5 on October 11, 2013

This was a beautiful bed and breakfast! The hosts were excellent and very accommodating. Breakfast was exceptional. We stayed two nights and each morning was different meal...first morning was an omelette with potatoes and sausage. They even had a wonderful fruit parfait. Next morning short stack of blueberry pancakes, bacon and potatoes with fruit. The rooms were clean and outside the room was snacks and soda and a coffee maker to use at any time. This place is also located only 9 miles outside the heart of Kansas City, which is only a short 15 minutes to most of the cities attractions. For us this was a plus to be outside the busy city and still get a good nights sleep.


Hawthorne B & B is awesome

5 on October 07, 2013

Quiet, spacious, beautiful grounds. WONDERFUL breakfasts, had coffee ready early by your room; we got to pick our breakfast time; hosts accommodating, helpful, had maps and coupons to local attractions, just could not have been better. We'll stay there again in a heartbeat!!


Vacation Stay

5 on October 05, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at Hawthorn Bed and Breakfast. The house is beautiful and the rooms are very clean and comfy. It is conveniently located to all major attractions. The staff is very friendly and offered tips and directions for visiting places. The food is excellent and the best that we have had at any B&B. We would definitely stay at Hawthorn again. It is a true gem.


Magnificent restoration of a beautiful old home

5 on September 16, 2013

Our recent stay at the Hawthorn B&B is the third time our family has held the family reunion there. We love the accommodations and Jim and Wendy are always wonderful hosts. We could choose when we wanted breakfast served, but coffee and hot tea were always ready at 7:00 a.m. and located just outside our rooms. A small refrigerator in the hallway outside our rooms was always stocked with soft drinks & bottled water, and there were even packaged snacks available. Each room had its own thermostat to control heat and air and they also had ceiling fans for added comfort. All in all, the Hawthorn B&B is a wonderfully luxurious place to spend some time. There's only one problem. You may never want to leave!


Anniversary at Hawthorn's Bibler Suite

4.8 on September 12, 2013

Hawthorn is a beautiful home, and immaculately kept. We stayed in the 3rd floor Bibler Suite for our 4th anniversary. The suite had a plethora of places to sit and relax. Its kitchen had everything we could think to need, from a mini-fridge to creamer for morning coffee to a wine opener to dish soap. The king sized bed was surprisingly comfortable (I don't typically sleep well away from our pillow top mattress, and I don't really expect to enjoy an overnight stay). We loved the small door across from ours, labeled "Cousin It." We were hoping to catch a sighting of him at some point during our stay, or maybe invite him in for some coffee or a glass of wine... That never happened. I suppose that would be my only complaint! ;) We only stayed one night, so one breakfast was all we were able to enjoy there. It was fantastic! Jim did an amazing job. The fruit parfait was fresh, the fried potatoes were a delicious surprise (Sweet fried potatoes? That's a first!), and that raspberry muffin! A party on my taste buds. Both my husband and I really appreciate Jim and Wendy taking the time to make us feel welcome and at home. Thanks for helping us celebrate four years of marriage. We'll be back!


Very nice B&B withing minutes to everything in KC

4.4 on September 05, 2013

Very charming B&B. You wont be dissapointed!


Hawthorne Inn - Fabulous!

5 on August 13, 2013

Jim and Wendy are fabulous hosts. The facility is beautiful, clean, tastefully decorated, and incredibly peaceful. Our breakfast as usual was simply delicious. Each time we have stayed there, we have felt so pampered! Our plan now is to check in at 4:00 and not leave until the next morning at 11 o'clock. We eat a big dinner beforehand, and then have a few treats in our room while we watch a movie. We read a lot as well, using both our own books and Jim's. We will continue to go to Hawthorne for many years to come!


Wonderful stay in Independence, MO

4.8 on August 08, 2013

Loved the Bibler Suite on the 3rd floor of this B&B. Exceeded our expectations. The graciousness of the host was superb and the breakfasts were creatively presented and deliciously prepared. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the B&B and the interaction with our host.


Heaven at Hawthorn

5 on July 29, 2013

What a gem of a B&B ! The hosts are absolute angels. All details are attended to. The rooms beautiful and comfortable. Breakfast was out of this world delicious. Thought we had died and gone to heaven! Really appreciated the tour package and tickets we could get there. We will definitely be back.


Great "girls get-away" spot!!

5 on July 29, 2013

This was the perfect place for our "girls weekend get away"! Lovely accommodations -- loved the decor & history of the house. Jim's a great cook and loved the conversation he and Wendy shared with us. Will definitely return and recommend this bed & breakfast!


Wonderful Stay at Hawthorn the B&B!

4.8 on July 28, 2013

We had arranged to check in at a specific time but then the day before our arrival we were asked to come later. Even after we arrived at the later time we still had to wait for the check in but I think that is highly unusual. Once checked in we enjoyed each and every moment at this lovely B&B. Our room was beautiful and exceptionally clean. The house is just gorgeous and the food, well, the food was also just delicious. Wendy and Jim are outgoing and very friendly hosts. Our stay couldn't have been more lovely. A restaurant they recommended for our first night was also just the best! The only problem I found was not with the B&B itself but the town it is located in, Independence. I was hoping for a quiet, historical, quaint downtown for shopping and stopping for pie at the local cafe. Independence was nothing like that at all, we ended up spending our days in Kansas City, which fortunately is only about 10 minutes away. All in all, a wonderful stay and I highly recommend Hawthorn if you are looking for a relaxing time in a gorgeous home and aren't planning on enjoying the sites around the local town.


Hawthorne B&B - Independence Missouri

5 on July 14, 2013

The Hawthorne was a very beautifully restored old mansion.. The hosts were very pleasant, the rooms were large and clean, and the breakfast was very good. This was a good value and a great experience. We had a good time there.


Gracious B & B

5 on July 11, 2013

Hawthorn is a lovely, beautifully decorated home with a wonderful sun room. We enjoyed one of our delicious breakfasts there served by our helpful and friendly hosts, Jim and Wendy. Highly recommended! KS from Illinois


Wonderful and Relaxing

4.8 on June 26, 2013

We stayed two nights at Hawthorn. Unlike many other B&B's that we find Hawthorn was tastefully decorated and not crammed with antiques and other clutter. The inn was very well kept, clean and the inn keepers are very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was made fresh for us each morning and was absolutely wonderful (The raspberry muffins are to die for)! I would recommend this inn to anyone!


Wonderful stay!

5 on June 25, 2013

Room was exactly as advertised and the breakfast was fantastic! Wish we could have stayed more than one night but that was all our plans allowed. We will definitely go back if we're in the Kansas City area again.


I tip my hat to you... A most excellent B&B!

5 on June 23, 2013

If you are ever in the Independence, Mo. area, Hawthorn is the place to stay. From the time we were greeted at the front door to the time we reluctantly left, we were made to feel welcome. Every aspect of our short stay was outstanding. We enjoyed our stay and were privileged to tour your beautiful home. Our deepest appreciation and thanks to Jim and Wendy for being such gracious hosts.


Warm and enjoyment

4.6 on June 13, 2013

Beautiful rooms ,well kept property.breakfast was very good! Jim and Wendy Allen made us feel right at home. Easy to get to and close to local attractions.Would definitely go back!!!


Lovely home, great breakfast

4.8 on June 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Hawthorn Bed & Breakfast. The Evans room was spacious and beautiful. You can tell that Jim and Wendy take the needed time and effort to keep this home lovely and inviting. the breakfast was wonderful...we didn't need lunch that day. Even with the rain, we enjoyed sitting in the sunroom for our meal. When it was time to leave, and still raining, Jim walked us out with his umbrella. Thanks so much! Apley's from Lincoln, NE


Wonderful Experience!

5 on June 03, 2013

We absolutely love our stay there. My Dad had gotten my husband and I a night for my birthday so we could have a night away from the kids. It was just what we needed and the innkeepers were so nice. The breakfast was probably the best one I've had in years.


Very Nice Bed & Breakfast

5 on June 03, 2013

This was our second stay at the Hawthorn and we always enjoy our stay. Jim and Wendy are always very friendly and eager to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The breakfast is wonderful! The rooms are always clean and the beds very comfortable. We also enjoy how close it is to Kaufman Stadium so we can attend Royals games. It is an easy drive to the parking lot at the stadium. We will definitely be back again.


Delightful, Relaxing, and Very Enjoyable

3.8 on June 02, 2013

We appreciated being able to check in early. The couple was very friendly. Breakfast was very good. The bed was very comfortable. We had a great time and really enjoyed our stay. This is a very good B&B. With just a little bit more attention to detail, they will be outstanding. For some I expect they already are.


Incredible Hospitality

5 on May 22, 2013

Jim and Wendy were born to run a b and b. Hawthorn B and B was absolutely lovely.The setting is beautiful and convenient, the mansion is clean and well-maintained, and Jim and Wendy do everything to make you feel right at home. It was so reasonably priced for all that you get. Breakfast is delicious and kept us full for most of the day! I can't wait for our next stay at Hawthorn.


Hawthorn

4.8 on April 29, 2013

very nice b n b, good location for visiting Kc and the Truman sites


What a Great Weekend!

5 on April 24, 2013

We had the best weekend! The atmosphere was lovely, the food delicious, and Jim and Wendy were so helpful and kind. Totally worth it.


Great stay at a great price!

5 on April 21, 2013

I sent my parents to the Hawthorn for a night to celebrate their birthdays. Mom raved for three days about everything from the decor to the grounds to the breakfast. Jim went out of his way to make them feel pampered and special. Mom and dad have decided to make staying at the Hawthorn a tradition one night every time they're in town!


Wonderful experience!!!

5 on March 30, 2013

Treated my grandmother to a girls weekend and our stay at Hawthorne B&B far exceeded our expectations. We were given a warm welcome, stayed in a beautiful and comfortable room, and It is evident that Jim and Wendy put their heart and soul (and hard work) in providing guests with an experience they won't soon forget. Will definitely be back someday.


Wonderful!

4.2 on March 29, 2013

We enjoyed our visit tremendously. The owners are great.


An Ideal B&B

5 on March 19, 2013

It should fulfill anyones expectations of the ideal B&B. Beautifully kept, friendly and minutes away from the Truman library and KC. attractions. Sumptuous breakfasts!


Belated Valentines getway

5 on February 20, 2013

The hosts were great, rooms amazing, and breakfast was killer. Much attention to detail in the whole mansion.


Absolutely Amazing

5 on February 18, 2013

I must admit, I bumped into this place by accident. After a shortage at my usual chains, I decided to try a Bed & Breakfast for my first time. Being a corporate traveler, I wasn't certain if it would fit my business travel needs, as I surely wasn't looking for a romantic getaway. Being new to a Bed & Breakfast stay, I did not know what to expect but I was truly amazed with all the comforts and the amenities it offered. Gorgeously decorated rooms and house, a super comfortable bed, amazing breakfasts and soft & fresh smelling towels and linens made my stay a home away from home. This place truly exceeded my expectations in every area. Now I look for B&B's in every city I travel too, forgot about the points!


There's no place like Hawthorn for the Holidays

4.8 on December 27, 2012

I can only echo the praise of the other reviewers. Jim and Wendy truly made us feel at home, and were as welcoming as can be. My wife and I stayed in the Westminster Suite over Christmas, and it was a perfect getaway. We got married the weekend before, and needed to get away and clear our heads. This was our first B&B experience, and I can't imagine anything better than our experience at Hawthorn. We have their number on our refrigerator, and will always be on the lookout for an excuse to call up an make a reservation for a weekend getaway. The mansion was decorated magnificently for Christmas. The only thing I could say when we first arrived was that it looked like it was straight out of a movie. It felt like we had been transported back in time, with all the comforts and amenities of our modern day. The room was enormous, and the sheets... Oh my goodness, the sheets. Softest sheets I've ever felt in my life. The mansion was meticulously well kept, and absolutely quiet and peaceful. Breakfast was, of course, absolutely incredible. Jim even made biscuits and gravy for my bride as a special request. If you are looking for peace, tranquility, hospitality, and the best breakfast of your life, look no further than Hawthorn.


Our stay weekend of 11/30/12

3.6 on December 07, 2012

We enjoyed our stay- Jim and Wendy were excellent hosts. The mansion was beautifully decorated for Christmas and our room was spacious , clean and comfortable. The food was delicious though a bit " heavy" . The breakfast could be improved by adding more interesting items.


Neat property--close to several KC destinations

3.0 on November 22, 2012

Very interesting old house. Jim and Wendy were very friendly. They gave us a dinner recommendation which was wonderful! We stayed in the Bibler Suite. It was nice to have the extra room.


Wonderful place!

5 on November 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed a night here on our honeymoon. We loved it! The room was clean and decorated nicely. The breakfast was AMAZING! Prepare to be filled with some absolutely incredible food. We loved it, and would definitely stay here again, as well as recommend it to a friend!


The Best Bed and Breakfast Experience Ever

5 on November 21, 2012

From the time we arrived until the time we left, we felt at home. Jim, the owner/innkeeper was very congenial, as was his wife Wendy. Breakfast always came with pleasant music and conversation. We stayed in the Evans room which was spacious and inviting. There isn't a thing I would change. We will be back. Gary and Jeannie Tow


Catastrophe

2.6 on November 03, 2012

The day of our stay, I got sick and we tried to cancel. We understood we'd be charged for the room and the cancellation fee so my husband requested that Jim call us so we could try to make the reservation if no one called to take it. He agreed so we waited. 20 minutes before check-in time, we called and he said no one had taken the room and we would be charged. He was nice enough to allow us to check-in late so we sped to check-in by 8. We arrived to discover that even though we had requested a more expensive room, he had given it to someone else. He told my husband he would refund the difference. The next morning was chaotic. We told them we would have breakfast at 9 so we woke up around 8 to shower. We had NO water pressure for the better part of an hour and ended up showering under a tiny trickle of water. My husband asked Jim what was going on and he told us this was a COMMON PROBLEM around this time in the morning. Why he wouldn't alert us the night before is beyond me. We made it downstairs for breakfast and I have to say the food was delicious. We ate our breakfast out on the sun porch and it seemed like a great way to end a not so great stay. We checked out with the understanding that we'd be refunded the difference in the room and went home. A week and a half later, we still had not received a refund so I called to find out if there was a problem. Jim accused me of ambushing him and told me he would have the refund processed ASAP. He also told me that he did not have a conversation with my husband about the refund and that was a misstatement. Fast forward to a month and a half after our stay and we still had NOT received our refund. My husband called and Jim tried to tell him that he had sorted things out with me over the phone. What we had sorted out was him processing our refund ASAP and he failed to do that. A check was sent out immediately and we were but you will never catch us here B&B again.


B&B in KC

5 on October 30, 2012

Great place!! Thanks for the hospitality!


Weekend away

5 on October 28, 2012

Had a wonderful time at Hawthorne. Jim and Wendy have created a wonderful place to just get away. Breakfast is wonderful and the house is Georgia's. Thanks!


Beautifully decorated inn

4.6 on October 14, 2012

We just stayed one night on the way to our destination, but this was one of the better B&Bs we have stayed in (and we have stayed in many across the country). Real efforts had been made to make arrangements convenient as well as attractive (something not all the B&Bs we have experienced have done). The breakfast was attractively presented as well as tasty, and Jim was a most cordial host.


Magical! Aperfect setting for a perfect wedding!

5 on August 17, 2012

The Hawthorn B&B was the perfect setting for a wedding. The home and grounds are beautiful. The atmosphere is peaceful. The breakfast was delicious. The owners are incredibly hospitable and gracious. The rooms were elegant and made you feel like royalty! The wedding pictures were awesome do the incredible backdrop. Our family was truly blessed.


Fantastic B&B!!

5 on August 15, 2012

This B&B is fantastic! The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. The innkeepers were superb and breakfast was great. We had a wonderful time and will definitely stay here again if we come back to Kansas City.


wonderful place to stay highly recommend

5 on August 15, 2012

Our stay at hawthorne was wonderful the rooms were exquisitely clean and fresh The staff was cordial and helpful The common areas were magnificent the dining room sitting room music room all just as lovely as pictures on the website the breakfast was absolutely the best you can have we highly recommended and wish their businesses thrive I could not get the rating to take. I rate everything a 5


Recent stay at Hawthorn B&B

4.6 on August 14, 2012

We had a good experience overall at this B&B. The rooms were wonderful and the breakfast was good. Even though the house was full, it was relatively quiet. We were asked for dietary restrictions, which was nice because I have a few. However, they forgot about them during one course of the breakfast meal, which was a little frustrating. But, I worked around it. Otherwise, we had an enjoyable stay.


Perfect getaway!

4.6 on August 08, 2012

great location for sightseeing and getting to sports venues; delicious and beautiful breakfasts; very friendly and helpful innkeepers;


Very Nice B&B

4.6 on August 02, 2012

The house is decorated very well. The owners were very friendly and the breakfast was delicious!


10 year wedding anniversary memories

5 on July 29, 2012

The stay was wonderful! My wife and I celebrated our 10 year anniversary here and also took in a royals baseball game(we're both big fans). Being from lincoln the drive was'nt bad, three hours. The hawthorne was a wonderful choice as it was quiet, very beautiful and very well kept. Jim and wendy are gracious hosts and very willing to accomadate any of your needs. Breakfast was top notch and jim proved himself as a breakfast chef. Breakfast is served at different times(of your choosing) and your seated at your own personal table(ours was in the sun porch~ very delightful) so your experience is special to you without sitting at a community style setting. You receive your own set of keys to the place and your room, so your free to come and go as you please without disturbing anyone. Jim made getting to kaufmann stadium a breeze with directions from mapquest~ 10 mins max! Overall a very clean, historic well run b&b with great hosts. It made our 10yr one we will never forget!


Incredible overnight get-away!

4.8 on June 13, 2012

Exceptional accommodations, service, and hospitality. We were thoroughly impressed and pleased to spend our 39th anniversary at the Hawthorne.


Outstanding

5 on May 31, 2012

My wife and I have stayed in about 50 B&B's over the years and have never stayed on any better. We have never stayed in anywhere cleaner. Jim is quite the cook and Wendy a very gracious host. It's the little things here. Wendy remembered after the first morning that I did not like my coffee extremely hot and made sure to let it set before serving it to me the following mornings. WHAT SERVICE. We will be back. Randy and Patti B.


Beautiful house, lovely stay

5 on May 25, 2012

We were very impressed with the rooms, the house, and the hosts. Here are the things I enjoyed about Hawthorn in particular compared with other bed and breakfasts: - Dining is spacious in three separate rooms, so you can sit with just your party for breakfast and not feel the need to converse with other guests (unless you want to). I found this much more relaxing. - Rooms are very quiet. You don't hear anyone else come and go in the house because it is so large and well-built. - The recommendation we were given for dinner was fantastic. Thanks so much Jim and Wendy!!!


Hawthorne -- Away From It All

4.8 on May 16, 2012

We had a great time here in early May; the owner is a great cook and everything was perfect. The only word of caution might be that rooms are on 2nd floor,so don't bring that 90 pound roll on bag... unless you can carry it. Quiet, nicley furnished, and a great value for the money!


A great alternative to downtown Kansas City

3.8 on May 12, 2012

A charming B & B providing excellent value and a very pleasant experience. It's a quick and easy drive to downtown.


Can't Wait To Stay There Again!

4.8 on May 08, 2012

The pictures do not do it justice ~ Charming hosts ~ Comfy rooms ~ Yummy breakfast ~ Simply perfect in everyway ~ Put this one on your short list to visit next time you're in town for dinner or a game, but hurry because we're telling all our friends too! Jesyca & Howard


A wonderful getaway

5 on May 08, 2012

My wife and I always look forward to our stays at Hawthorn. This was our third or fourth stay, and there are many reasons why we choose Hawthorn as our home base when we are in the Kansas City area. Jim and Wendy are gracious and very helpful hosts, the mansion is absolutely beautiful, and the breakfasts we have enjoyed there have been delicious. It is also just a few minutes from several attractions, such as the baseball stadium, the Truman Library, etc.


wonderful

5 on April 30, 2012

Wonderful, delightful, relaxing, reasonable. Enjoyed our stay so much and plan to return on our next trip.


Girls Weekend Away

5 on April 10, 2012

We were stressed out by our jobs so we took a day off and drove to Hawthorne Place. We brought a bottle of wine and learned the history of the mansion. Then Jim recommended a great restaurant for dinner. Since their were 3 of us sharing a room we needed an extra roll away bed and even that bed was comfortable! Breakfast the next day was fabulous including homemade raspberry muffins. We split the tab and it was very reasonable and so much more fun (and cleaner) than a hotel room for that price.


The Hawthorn Great stay

4.6 on March 01, 2012

I had a great time at the Hawthorn Jim & Wendy were super nice - the place was amazing - high ceilings - beautiful woodwork - fancy curtins - super clean it was very evident that we were in a mansion. The breakfast now there is a real winner. Pancakes, sausage, eggs, parfait great - but the rasberry muffins and pototes are the best I have ever had and I consider myself a conosur on the breakfast food. Girlfirend was very impressed - Jim set us up with a nice italian restaurant - when we got there guy asked us if we were from the Hawthorn - right this way sir back in the corner of the restaurant with no one around great food there also. I will most certainly stay there again. The hard part of the deal was leaving.


Hawthorn Review

4.2 on January 23, 2012

Very nice Bed and Breakfast. Excellent service and food provided by the innkeepers. Would definitely stay here again.


Wonderful B&B

4.0 on January 16, 2012

We stayed here with another couple on New Year's Eve. Jim and Wendy were the ideal hosts. The food was excellent. The house was so beautifully decorated we hated to leave. We will be back.


A Wonderful New Year's Eve 2011

4.0 on January 04, 2012

My husband and I spent New Year's Eve, 2011, at the Hawthorn with some friends of ours. We had stayed at the Hawthorn before but the other couple had not. Our stay was very pleasant, our room was cozy and comfortable, and as always our hosts, Jim and Wendy Allen made us feel welcome and relaxed. The breakfast we were served on New Year's day was delicious. The Hawthorn is definitely a 'keeper' in our book.


Beautiful Historic Home!

4.6 on January 04, 2012

This is a beatiful home with wonderful hosts. We had a fabulous breakfast and enjoyed meeting some other guests and discussing travel destinations with them. The only con was that the room we requested was connected to another and not soundproof. Will be more careful in making room reservations in the future. We would definetly recommend this B & B to others!


A Great Getaway!

5 on December 16, 2011

Very pretty house and rooms. Very friendly innkeepers. Wonderful, filling breakfast!


Hawthorne B&B

4.6 on December 01, 2011

The breakfast was outstanding! Very hospitable! Decorated completely in Christmas decor, was beautiful!


Fantastic Innkeepers, Beds a little squeaky though!

4.8 on November 18, 2011

The mansion was BEAUTIFUL, the owners were incredibly friendly and loved to talk but respected our privacy and were not overbearing with conversation at all. The breakfast was fantastic. It was just 20 minutes from the Plaza in Kansas City, too! The room was beautiful, though for a honeymoon, the bed was a bit squeaky, haha! All in all a fantastic stay and my new wife and I will be returning soon!


Wow! All this and Harry Truman, too!

5 on November 08, 2011

Beautiful, cozy and delicious. Comfortable, traditional furnishings that did not overdo the Victorian, meaning there were many places to sit and read and relax. Lots of windows so we could view their estate. Our hosts were friendly without hovering. They recommended a restaurant that will be one of our favorites. We feasted on a wonderful Hawthorne breakfast. I only wish we could have stayed more than one day. Our home is 4 hours away and yet we look forward to another trip.


It was a lovely evening away from home.

4.2 on October 25, 2011

The fresh raspberry muffins for breakfast were outstanding! Overall the experience was very comfortable and relaxing.


restful and relaxing

5 on October 23, 2011

The room was beautiful and the amenities over and above what we've experienced before. We enjoyed the house so much we look forward to scheduling a longer stay. Thank you for a wonderful stay for us to celebrate our anniversary. Much obliged, Daryl Thomas


Hawthorn Review

4.0 on October 23, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Hawthorn. Home and grounds are beautiful. Owners are very nice. Breakfast was great. We appreciated the private breakfast service.


Enjoyed out stay at Hawthorn

4.4 on October 22, 2011

A beautiful, clean establishment. The breakfast was excellent, especially Jim's 3-berry pancakes. We would like to stay there again.


Simply Perfection

5 on October 19, 2011

Absolutely gorgeous property, wonderful accommodations, Jim and Wendy Allen are amazingly helpful and most delightful hosts! We chose the Evans room for the weekend and were simply blown away with the attention to detail and sheer comfort and beauty of this room. Luxurious and Picturesque, this historic home has it all. Topping it all off is a scrumptious breakfast fit for a king! I cannot than Jim and Wendy enough for such a marvelous time. Steve & Rhonda McDonough, GA


Great lace to Stay

4.8 on October 12, 2011

This a-is a great place. Jim and Wendy are superb hosts. It isn't cheap, but you get what you pay for. It is less than an upscale hotel, but just as good and you won't get a breakfast like this anywhere else!


A Wonderful Getaway for a Night

4.8 on October 10, 2011

This one weeknight stay was just the thing during our week long staycation to get away from the kids and recharge. The suite of rooms was cozy and the private bath was a blend of modern convenience with period style. The suite and common rooms were well appointed. The hosts were most accommodating with our breakfast time, and the breakfast was delicious. We spent an enjoyable morning talking with other guests and the host.


Very nice B&B

4.4 on September 26, 2011

Hawthorn is a meticulously maintained bed and breakfast. The accommodations were excellent. We especially appreciated that the hosts accommodated our late arrival (came by train). There were two drawbacks. One is that it is a $75 cab ride to the airport. The other is that Hawthorn has a $25 cancellation fee. We changed from three nights to two nights with over three weeks notice but were still charged the fee. We haven't encountered that kind of cancellation policy in our many years of travel.


Hawthorn Review

4.2 on September 23, 2011

The Hawthorn is absolutely lovely and we had a wonderful stay. The facility is exceptionally clean and the attention to detail is second to none. We will stay there again when we are in the area. Very, very nice.


A Lovely B&B Near KC and The Truman Home and Library.

5 on September 22, 2011

This was truly a wonderful B&B and Jim and Wendy were gracious hosts. My only complaint was that we had made reservations for three nghts and one month before check in canceled just one of the nights and had a $25 cancelation fee.


We loved it!

4.0 on September 08, 2011

Property was beautiful and the genuine hospitality was exceptional. Made our second whole day together as man and wife even more wonderful.


Wonderful Experience

5 on September 08, 2011

Our stay at Hawthorn was a wonderful experience. Both Jim and Wendy were very personable and went out of their way to make our stay a good one. Breakfast was not only delicious, but was very visually appealing, served on the sun porch. We were very impressed with the room, and the house. The restored turn of the century house was extremely nicely done. We truly enjoyed our stay, and have already recommended the Hawthorn to our friends and others.


Weekend getaway

4.4 on September 05, 2011

Thank you for the hospitality and help with the baseball tickets. We always enjoy our time with you. Can't wait to stay again and eat more of Jim's cooking.


Nice old building

4.2 on August 27, 2011

Very nice old building and grounds. TV next door heard almost as if it was in our room (not to mention the couple's conversation.) Food well presented.


Simply The Best

5 on August 09, 2011

My husband and I recently attended a family reunion in the area and stayed the weekend at Hawthorne. We loved everything about this inn. The house and grounds are lovely. Our room was nicely decorated and felt very much like we were at home. We were impressed with the amenities like coffee in the room, water, soda, and snacks on the the second floor landing, and private dining for breakfast. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. We will return. Hawthorn is in a class of it's own.


2 day get away!

4.4 on July 24, 2011

The house is beautiful! And the room was outstanding! Breakfast was very good also!


Relaxing, quiet and close to KC and Starlight

4.2 on July 22, 2011

Wonderful breakfasts and quiet, tastefully decorated room.


A Wonderful Place to stay for a KC Royals game!

4.8 on July 21, 2011

This is by far the best bed and breakfast my husband and I have been to. The accomendations are wonderful. We had coffee waiting right next to our room, waiting for us in the morning. The grounds are kept beautifully and great for pictures. The KC Royals stadium is only 5 mins from this property and we lucked out on getting tickets and a parking pass from the Innkeeper, who had them available for the weekend we were going! We were able to bypass all the lines. The Innkeepers were perfect, they helped you when you needed it, but let you be otherwise. The breakfast had the BEST fruit parfait we've ever eaten! Not to mention the value of the room, you'll pay the same if you get a room right accross from the stadium and they didn't even have a continental breakfast! We would definitely come back! It's perfect!


9.5 on a scale of 1-10

4.4 on July 18, 2011

One of the very best B&B's I've ever stayed in. If visiting Independence MO, this is the place to stay. Bob Hill


Evans room 05. - 06.07.2011

5 on July 13, 2011

A very, very pleasant location to stay and to rest. The rooms are unbelievable cute and comfortable. The service is overwhelming and personal.


Wonderful stay

5 on July 12, 2011

A friend and I ended our 4 day tour of the KC area and Flint Hills at the Hawthorne. It was a great way to end our trip. The Hawthorne is a beautiful B & B and our hosts cover all details! the house is beautiful and calming, the rooms are spacious and relaxing and the breakfast - ours was in the sunroom - are delicious. I would recommend the Hawthorne to anyone who enjoys going to bed and breakfasts.


weekend get away

4.6 on July 01, 2011

We really enjoyed our visit to the Hawthorn B&B. The house is decorated beautifully and it gives a person a little walk back in time. Jim and Wendy do a great job of answering questions about the area and things to do. The breakfast was delicious with the choice of three different rooms to eat in. Wendy gave us printed copies with directions and maps of things to do. If you are looking for a relaxing get away in Independence, MO the Hawthorn certainly is worth a try. Oh, yes it is also close to the ballpark!


Relaxing and comfortable surroundings

5 on June 30, 2011

The Hawthorn is a beautiful old home, decorated in the time period but not too fussy. Very relaxing and inviting atmosphere. The hosts were so welcoming and accomodating to every need and want. They even helped us with our local travels by getting us to the ballpark via the easy route. The breakfast was great! Definitely a place we would stay again and tell friends about.


Highly recommended

4.6 on June 22, 2011

Welcoming, quiet, restful stay. Outstanding breakfast. The owners are extravagant hosts!


A Charming, Delightful Stay In A Historical Mansion

4.6 on June 17, 2011

We were graciously greeted at the door by innkeeper Jim Allen and given a personable tour of the mansion upon arrival for a one night stay in celebration of our 25th wedding celebration. The accomodations were explicit and we were impressed with the home's decore and charm. In one 24 hour period we evolved from simply having a friendly "innkeeper/guests" relationship to leaving feeling as if we were "family." Truly a 5 star experience!!!


Enjoyable weekend

4.8 on June 15, 2011

Very comfortable and relaxing. Was close to kansas City and was easy to get to where we were going. Breakfast was fabulous, it even made me go off my diet!


Our stay at the Hawthorne was amazing

5 on June 02, 2011

Our experience at the Hawthorne was everything we hoped it would be. The photos on the website are so beautiful, and the property was just as beautiful if not more so. Jim and Wendy were the most gracious hosts. They were so helpful with suggestions about things to see in Kansas City - and the breakfasts were divine. We are telling everyone we know if they ever travel to Kansas City, this is the place to stay. We will definitely return if we are in the area again. Thanks for the delightful experience.


Great weekend stay

5 on May 30, 2011

The house is grand! It's what a bnb should be. The hosts were both great and gracious. breakft was very nice, with a table in a room to ourselves both days. Downtown is fun, had a great weekend and have already recommended it to friends.


Mom and daughter's weekend

5 on May 16, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Hawthorn. The innkeepers were so welcoming and the food was fantastic. The adjoining rooms were perfect for us.


April 2011 two day stay.

5 on April 17, 2011

My wife and I recently spent two days and could not have been happier with the stay. The breakfast was excellent both days. The location could not have been better for our visits to both Steamboat Arabia in Kansas City and the visit to the Harry Truman home in Independence. We would most definitely stay again.


great birthday weekend

4.8 on April 13, 2011

The room was great. Enjoyed the TV in the room. Have stayed at some with no TV. The hospitality was also great. Loved the breakfast! Delicious raspberry muffins. Highly recommend!


We Were Married At Hawthorne

4.6 on March 07, 2011

This is actually our second stay. We were married here on April 17,2010. I personally have stayed at many B&B's during my life and Hawthorne has become my all time favorite. My wife agrees with me. It is old (built 1900) so there are a few things like any old house that need attention but it is very well maintained. It is very tastefully decorated. We really like the landscaping with a wide variety of plants, flowers and trees. Here is an IMPORTANT TIP for people who like Springtime at a B&B. Mid April is a good time to catch the dogwoods, lilacs and redbuds in full bloom. Our wedding was on April 17, 2010 and we caught the dogwoods and redbuds at their absolute best. Each year can vary, though, depending on the local weather. Jim and Wendy are people who are dedicated to making your experience as pleasant as possible. My wife and I really like their attitude. They even suggested a local Italian restaurant that is their favorite. It is one of the best we have experienced. If you like Italian food please ask for directions. You won't be disappointed.


Wonderful!

4.6 on March 04, 2011

Jim and Wendy are incredible hosts. We truly enjoyed our stay at Hawthorn. The room was big and nicely decorated. I can't say enough about the breakfasts we had. From the fresh fruit to the omlettes to the pancakes it was delicious and beautifully presented! This was my husband and my first trip to KC and I'm so glad we selected Hawthorn as our place to stay. I highly recommend Hawthorn and have told my friends about it in hopes they'll chose to stay if they travel to KC.


Great place to stay

4.0 on February 23, 2011

The owers we so kind and helpful for any and all needs that we had. Wonderful breakfast. Will refer others.


Restful Haven

4.8 on February 16, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my time here, from being greeted by the very helpful Jim and Wendy, the beautiful room and comfortable bed, my walk around the grounds, the delicious food and great service! I will stay here again!


First time at a bed & breakfast

4.6 on February 09, 2011

I reserved a room at the Hawthorn bed & breakfast for my boyfriend's birthday. It was the first bed & breakfast experience for the both of us so we weren't not sure what to expect... well, our expectations were by far exeeded! Jim & Wendy were lovely people who were very helpful and the breakfast was simply amazing! The house was beautiful. This is definitely something we will be doing again in the future.


Perfect New Years Getaway

4.0 on January 05, 2011

Very clean, friendly B & B with close proximity to Kansas City but yet makes you feel you are in a private setting.


Hawthorn- A wonderful getaway for two!

4.8 on January 04, 2011

My wife and I decided to stay at the Hawthorn house during our stay in Kansas City. We were really impressed with the quality of our room and the service we received. First off, if you want a comfortable bed to sleep in, then you picked the right place! The bed was amazing and we slept soundly. Our room was very large and comfortable. The free WiFi access was a definite plus since we wanted to watch a live conference on the internet. The hosts, Jim and Wendy, are some of the sweetest people that you will ever meet. They certainly love what they do and you can tell by the way they care over every detail. The breakfast was very delicious and was more than enough to fill us up. We highly recommend that anyone would stay at Hawthorn, especially if you want a quiet, romantic getaway for two.


Would like to have been there more

3.2 on December 12, 2010

Was on the run this trip and did not spend much time at the Inn - I'm sure we could have experienced more if we took the time.


Wonderful B&B. Highly recommend!

5 on November 14, 2010

Guest rooms, and common areas, are extremely clean and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was well-prepared. The innkeepers are also friendly and helpful with recommending area restaurants. This is definitely a must-stay place when in Kansas City.


Great stay for a fair price.

5 on October 24, 2010

We were blown away by the great service and the wonderful breakfasts we received. We wouldn't have to think twice about staying there again. Jim and Wendy took excellent care of us and helped us find our way around Independence with good directions to places we wanted to see and suggestions for resturaunts. Look forward to our next stay at the Hawthorn!


Great First Anniversary

5 on October 19, 2010

I took my wife there for our anniversary. We couldn't have asked for anything more.


Absolutely Charming!

5 on October 14, 2010

Away on business, I had never stayed at a B&B before and to my great fortune Hawthorne was my first. Hawthorne happened to be close to my destination and because I like to give new experiences a go, I thought "what the Hey". I had no idea such a place existed. Greeted by Jim upon my arrival I felt like a friend coming to visit. He showed me around the place, told me of some good restaurants for dinner, of which he had directions and maps preprinted. Then he showed me to my very comfortable and clean room, which was a lot like how I remember my Grandmother's house. In the morning, right on time and served out in the sunroom, he had prepared a wonderful three course breakfast. For starters, in depression glass, a dish of fresh fruit cut up under a dollop of yogurt and covered with granola. Served with a glass of fresh orange juice. Then, a huge, fresh baked, raspberry muffin with a perfectly crusted top. After that, the main service. I had a two egg, three cheese omelet expertly folded over and toped with more cheese (and a great seasoning that I was unfamiliar with) three strips of ( I choose turkey) bacon and the most awesome tender, lightly fried, potatoes that had been infused with a just right glaze of maple syrup. So, so very tasty. All this great service Jim provided hand and foot, and with a manner that made the entire stay very easy enjoy. Thanks Jim! R. Carpenter


Great spot in Independence, MO!

4.0 on October 06, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Hawthorn- a B & B. Jim and Wendy are gracious hosts, in a home that was spotless and very clean smelling (not musty). Jim is an excellent cook and his pumpkin muffin with cream cheese was to die for! I especially liked the mini fridge with colds beverages and snacks available any time. Also really liked the lush bath towels.


Great place to stay. Wonderful treatment of us as guests.

5 on September 22, 2010

We had a great time. Visited Truman home and museum. Our hosts were most helpful and even arranged for a Royals game.


A Presidential Bed and Breakfast

4.4 on September 19, 2010

We had a very nice and personal time. The room was a bit small but very comfortable and the breakfast and company of the owners during and after the breakfast was wonderful. I would definitely come back again.


A great introduction to B&Bs

4.6 on August 22, 2010

My husband and I went up to Kansas City for a long weekend and wanted to stay someplace "non-traditional". We are SO lucky to have found this little gem. With a car we were only 15-20 minutes away from downtown KC but had the pleasure of staying in this lovely home with wonderful hosts. Our room was great - the sheets were AMAZING, the bed was super comfy, the decor matched the house perfectly. I highly recommend a visit to Hawthorn for anyone who is visiting Kansas City.


Great first anniversary getaway

4.6 on August 12, 2010

What I liked about it is that I could get away from the world, yet not go very far. It's located right in the middle of a busy neighborhood, yet peaceful and quite. Breakfast was the best! One challenge for a light sleeper was that the old-style bedroom doors have a small window above them, which lets in the light (which is always on for safety) from the common area.


Great weekend

5 on August 08, 2010

What a wonderful find. Great innkeepers! A great get-away!!


30th Anniversary

5 on June 03, 2010

This is a wonderful place to stay. Jim and Wendy are such nice people and the breakfast is more than you can eat!! Get for a weekend get away or special event. The house is so beautiful inside and out. I would recommand this place to all my friends and family. Thank you for a wonderful stay.


Perfect for our 25th anniversary celebration!

5 on April 05, 2010

My wife and I wanted to find something special to do in Kansas City as we celebrated our 25th anniversary. I checked various hotels via the internet and then stumbled across The Hawthorn Bed & Breakfast. We are so glad that we did! This place is so stately and beautiful, yet has a very comfortable feel to it. The innkeepers, Jim and Wendy are so friendly and helpful that they make you feel like family. The breakfast was delicious and we felt like royalty. We would love to go back and highly recommend this place to our friends and family. I think it would be a great place to have a wedding or to celebrate a special occassion. It is easy to access from the Interstate and is close to other Kansas City attractions.


Luxurious weekend getaway for two!

4.8 on March 15, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful weekend getaway at the Hawthorn. It was exceptionally clean, beautifully decorated in period furnishings and more personal touches than can be metioned. We loved staying in a "piece of history" and were very pampered from a wonderful, beautifully prepared breakfast to midnight snacks waiting in the hall whenever we wanted. We stayed in the Westminster suite which was huge. We had our very own 1900's "apartment" complete with a beautiful bathroom with it's original sink and wall tile. Jim and Wendy were very friendly and made wonderful hosts for our weekend. They have a very fine home to share, and since the Hawthorn is so close to home for us, I'd love to go back and stay in all of their beautiful rooms over the next few years.


Outstanding!!

5 on December 15, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay! Everything was wonderful, the rooms, breakfasts and our friendly hosts Jim and Wendy! Will go back!


Best B&B Ever!!!

5 on December 09, 2009

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Hawthorn and can not rave enough about it. Jim & Wendy are the most gracious hosts and made us feel right at home. The breakfasts were superb - I especially liked how we had our own private seating. The cleanliness of the entire house was impeccable, especially since there were so many Christmas dinners and luncheons at the same time as our visit. The house was beautifully decorated and created a wonderful holiday atmosphere. We will definitely return. I highly recommend the Hawthorn.


Friendlly and elegant

5 on November 25, 2009

My wife and I have stayed at several B&Bs, mostly in New England. When we entered the Hawthorn Inn we were met by Jim who gave us a tour and helped to bring our luggage to our room. We were placed in the "Gallagher", a spacious bedroom with plenty of natural light coming through the windows and a sitting room. We had our own bathroom, as all the rooms at the Hawthorne do. Other amenities include individual heating/ac in all rooms, in the landing area a refrigerater stocked with soft drinks and water, a table had coffee and plenty of cups. We spent 10 day's at the Inn and held my youngest daughters' -- birthday there. Jim and Wendy went out of thier way to make it a huge success, dispite some odd requests. Jims' cooking, both for the birthday and the breakfast was fantastic; in 10 days he made a different muffin for each morning. The food, the presentation and the atmosphere were all fantastic. Not to belabor the point, the only request that Jim and Wendy refused was when I got on my knees and begged them to adopt us!! Well, I guess you can't have everything. Charles and Crea Dyer


You won't want to leave!

4.8 on August 02, 2009

We just spent a memorable 2 nights at Hawthorn. What a place to reconnect and recharge! The photos on the website are excellent, but wait 'til you see it in person. It is breathtaking! We especially loved: the innkeepers (Jim & Wendy), the porch and swing (lovely at night with a bottle of wine), the private bathroom, the savory breakfast (plentiful and gourmet), the great restaurant recs from Jim (complete with directions), and the sun porch in the morning. We have visited 7 B&B's across the country, and this one is tops in our book. Don't hesitate to book your stay. We can't wait to go back. We miss it already.


A Wonderful Place to Stay

5 on July 26, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a delightful, three night stay at the Hawthorn. We were very impressed with the decor and charm of the Hawthorn, the attention to detail, the cleanliness of the entire mansion, and the relaxing atmosphere. Most of all, we loved how friendly Jim and Wendy were. They were so welcoming, and made us feel that we were staying with friends. Jim is an exceptional chef, and every meal we had there was more than delicious. We will be recommending the Hawthorn to our friends and family, and we plan to be regular guests ourselves. -Jeff and Christy Kleffman


What a "great" B&B..

5 on July 24, 2009

This is one of the best bed and breakfast inns my husband and I have ever visited. We have been staying at B&B's for over 20 years, therefore, feel we can say this. Breakfast was different each of the three mornings we were there. We were served on the sun porch all three mornings. It was wonderful. The entire house was spotless and our hosts were there whenever we needed them. This was a great and relaxing experience. Thank you Wendy and Jim for creating such a lovely place for travelers.


Gorgeous House, Excellent People

4.6 on June 11, 2009

My wife and I stopped by Hawthorn on our honeymoon and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the Evans Room, which was lovely. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the decor was elegant. Jim and Wendy were very hospitable, and we had a great time talking with them. The food was absolutely amazing, but anyone with heart problems or on a diet should definitely make a request for an alternate dish. After eating, about the only thing I was functional enough to do was take a nap... at 9am! We really had a great time, and hope to go back someday. I would highly recommend Hawthorn.


great place!

4.6 on June 08, 2009

This is a wonderful B&B. We truly enjoyed our stay. Wonderful hospitality and delicious food. We would definitely recommend this B&B!


Idyllic

5 on June 04, 2009

We love old, historic homes. We love the Hawthron B&B . We sat on the spacious porch in the evening. The breakfast was superior to any we have had at other B&B's. The innkeepers were 'down-to-earth' folks.


Wonderful Stay!

5 on April 25, 2009

We arrived at this inn for a 'week-day' getaway, and just fell in love with this place! In the middle of town, this inn feels secluded and special. The grounds were lovely to wander, the public rooms were charming, the sunporch was perfect, and our room was excellent. Great conversation and hosting by Jim. We can't wait to go back!


The best in the USA!

5 on December 18, 2008

We have stayed in a B&B over the USA and Hawthorn is by far the very best. It is elegant- the decor, rooms, and gourmet food! WOW! The owners are very friendly and take excellent care of us!


Historic, beautiful, warm & inviting Inn

4.4 on December 07, 2008

The pictures on the Inn's website provided an accurate depiction of the Inn and the Evans Room where we stayed. We visited the weekend before Thanksgiving and while we anticipated holiday lights & greenery, we were pleasantly surprised by all the owners' extra little touches that make this Inn feel so homey and comfortable. We even had a Christmas tree, snowmen and a snow village in our room. The Inn is clean, well maintained, and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was a little small but, I'll take a small private bath over sharing a bathroom any day! The bed was very comfortable but we were in a room that had a door adjoining to the next room so we could hear their conversations and the television and I'm sure they heard my husband's snoring. It is evident that the hosts care about their guests and go the extra mile to ensure their comfort with a bowl of mints, extra blankets, and reading materials in every room and hot chocolate, coffee, tea, cold beverages and snacks in the hall right outside your room. We loved that we were asked what time we wanted breakfast served and amazed that everything was made fresh (not just kept warm until we arrived) and served hot at 9:00am. We sat at a private table in the sunroom and, the food was tremendous! While the cost was comparable to other B&Bs and nicer hotels in the area, we gave it an "outstanding" on value just because of that wonderful breakfast which consisted of a fresh fruit and granola parfait, juice, hot pumpkin cream cheese muffins, cheese omlette, thick strips of bacon and Jim's family recipe for home fried potatoes. The Inn is also very close to the Truman Museum and centrally located to the many historical sites we were there to see. We will definitely visit again and, hopefully, will do so more than once a year. Thanks to Jim and Wendy for such a wonderful stay!!!


Best place to stay

5 on December 01, 2008

My wife and I have stayed here on a couple occassions and highly recommend to stay here. You won't find better food anywhere, the whole is place is spotless and the service is great, they make you feel like your on home. Hoffman's Des Moines,Iowa


excellent b & b

5 on November 20, 2008

We loved our stay at hawthorn. Jim and Wendy where great host and served us wonderful breakfast. Our room was very clean and nicely done. We would recommend to anyone. We have stayed in a lot of bed and breakfast and it was one of the best.


wow!

5 on October 27, 2008

Best B&B I've ever stayed at. Cleanliness was an extra plus and rooms were big and lovely. Breakfast was delicious and owners wouldn't do enough for us!


Great getaway

4.4 on October 24, 2008

The Hawthorne place gave us just what we needed-a getaway! The B&B was beautiful, immaculate, and very comfortable. Jim and Wendy, our hosts, were so friendly, yet professional. Truly a night we'll always remember!


A place of enchantment

5 on October 14, 2008

My husband and I spent a wonderful time there. Wendy and Jim are very personable. The breakfast is SUPERB! We live in Kansas City and will consider making the Hawthorn our weekend get away! Upon entering the palce, one is instantaneoulsy transported back in time. Waking up in the morning to the smell of magic in the kitchen is an experience all you who read this should experience.


Anniversary Present

4.4 on September 24, 2008

We booked this room for my parents for their anniversary. They said the room was nice, bathroom was incredibly clean, hosts were great, and the food was outstanding.


Beautiful Stay

4.8 on May 06, 2008

We were pleasantly surprised at how beautiful and immaculate the home was. It is just how I imagined it from the pictures on this site. The Inn keepers Jim and Wendy were wonderful and catered to any needs. They cooked and served a full breakfast each morning which was devine. It was a great place to relax as it is quiet and nestled among many beautiful trees. The charm and character of this home built in 1900 was unequivocal compared to anywhere we have stayed before. My husband and I highly recommend Hawthorn and look forward to returning for another stay.


More than we hoped for

5 on August 06, 2007

What a delightful anniversary gift this weekend turned out to be. Hawthorn is elegantly comfortable. Jim and Wendy Allen are hospitable, helpful and also respectful of your needs. The environment is lovely, dining exquisitely delicious, and the innkeepers are wonderful hosts. We want to send our family and friends to spend a weekend here.


Excellent bed and breakfast

5 on May 06, 2007

We loved this B&B. The home has been beautifully restored but the real treasure here are Jim and Wendy Allen, the owners. They go way out of their way to make one comfortable and offer extra services and the breakfast is truly a gourmet delight. We will return to Independence again primarily to stay at the Hawthorn.


Our Great Escape Weekend

5 on April 17, 2007

Jim and Wendy were outstanding. Really did make you feel AT HOME. Food was superb and since we stayed at Christmas time, Wendy did an outstanding job on decorating. Truly a time for remembering and hoping to return someday soon. This was a gift from our children and what a gift it was. Sad to see it end so quickly.


Hawthorn B&B

Details

  • Nightly Rate $119 - $189
  • Reviews (165) 4.7
  • Rooms 6
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (816) 252-2607

Visit Website »

View details

Top