The Captain Wohlt Inn Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
141 Reviews

Write A Review

The Captain Wohlt Inn, Oktoberfest

5 on October 07, 2014

This was not our first stay at the Captain Wohlt Inn. We came here last year during the middle of a week in October and had a great time. The Captain Wohlt was quiet, clean, Brant is very accommodating and breakfast was delicious. The grounds are very well kept and tidy. There's always a small contained fire going to sit around in front of the main house where breakfast is held every morning and smores are consumed just after dusk. You can always meet a friendly face and strike up a little conversation on where to go next on your next expedition when meeting by the chiminea. We stayed in the Peters Suite which we had more room than we needed between my wife and I and our Schnauzer last year. This year, we decided to see what Oktoberfest was like in Hermann. We've read ton of reviews and majority are great! We had such a great time at The Captain Wohlt Inn the first time in 2013, we decided to go back and see if our expectations could be re-met. We did book a little late which was at the beginning of September and the only room left was the Wine Cellar. Now, it was a wine cellar and there are no windows except on the front doors to the room. I can see why someone may feel a little claustrophobic in the wine cellar but I thought it was quite cozy. It did have a small shower but it was very clean, comfortable bed, refrigerator, keurig for coffee and tea, television and historical books to read about Hermann. But apparently the house and wine cellar was built by John Siedler in 1858 after the street was chiseled out of the hill and many productive and successful wine growers lived in the house for years to come. Just to think about how many bottles, gallons and barrels of wine moved to and from that room is mind blowing. Just give Brant a call and he will accommodate your every need while staying at The Captain Wohlt Inn. The Winkelmans


Retired Couple Married 40 Years

4.6 on September 30, 2014

We enjoyed our weekend in Hermann and especially the Captain Wohlt Inn very much. Brant is a wonderful innkeeper and did everything he could to help us enjoy our stay. The grounds are beautiful as well as the rooms. We enjoyed the original artwork and attention to decor. A comfortable and safe place to stay.


Riding the Katy Trail

5 on September 01, 2014

We were treated exceptionally well. The food was fabulous! Great location & marvelous cookies!


Come again!

4.8 on August 21, 2014

We loved our stay here, the staff was very friendly, rooms were clean and well appointed and the food was great!


A Wonderful Anniversary Stay

4.8 on August 12, 2014

Very roomy, clean and comfortable rooms! The neighborhood was very quiet and the atmosphere, relaxing. Brant was an exceptional host and detailed in his description of the surrounding area. This was a stay that exceeded our expectations in both hospitality and amenities. We look forward to a return and will not wait until our next anniversary.......


Honeymooners

5 on July 10, 2014

My husband and I decided to stay at The Captain Wohlt Inn for our honeymoon. We were so pleased with the beautiful room and outstanding service. The breakfast was delicious and we loved the fresh baked cookies we received daily. We had private access to our room and we were within walking distance to everything. We would highly recommend this B&B to all of our family and friends and we will definitely be returning in the near future! The Deppes


Outstanding

5 on July 08, 2014

We had a relaxing stay at CW. Staff was committed to customer service, rooms were great, food was beautifully presented, gardens were lovely. Definitely stay there again! CB


Captain Wohlt's Inn sets the bar high for every B&B in Hermann.

5 on July 06, 2014

Brant, the Innkeeper was friendly, informative and very accomodating. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. The courtyard was gorgeous and inviting. We enjoyed a lovely picnic with local wine and beautiful views. The Wohlt's Inn provides many extra special touches like oversized gourmet cookies, bottled water in the rooms and a cozy fire pit to share with new friends. I would be negligent if I didn't talk about the delicious breakfast, in the morning. We had fresh juice and coffee, eggs benedict, local bacon from the Worst Haus, and peach french toast that only their own gourmet chef could prepare. All of my expectations were exceeded. We had such a wonderful time and we look forward to our next stay. I would not even consider another B&B when we travel to Hermann. To Brant and all of the hard working staff at Captain Wohlt's Inn....thank you.


Awesome!

5 on May 20, 2014

This was my first experience with an B & B. My friend and I were very impressed with the room and the food was wonderful. Thanks to Brant and Mary and a special thanks to Brant's Mom.


Katy Trail Riders Rating

3.6 on April 22, 2014

Brant (the inn keeper) was extremely friendly and helpful. He parked our bikes for us in a safe location and spent a good amount of time going over the lay of the land, recommending restaurants, etc. My wife and I are gluten free freaks and he was very accommodating. The breakfast was okay. We chose this place because it was less expensive than the other places near by. It is very centrally located. We enjoyed sitting by the fire they had going on the patio in the evening. I would recommend it to someone who wants to enjoy Hermann on a budget and who is not expecting anything too fancy. It was perfect for us.


Pre Valentine Get-a-Way Overnighter

3.8 on February 17, 2014

Were looking for change of pace week and short trip to Herman was it. We were only guests at Captain Wohlt Inn which made it better. Had whole house to ourselves. Enjoyed a great dinner at Vintage Restaurant where we again were only diners that night. Our breakfast next morning was delicious plus we had the chance to have long talk with Brant the GM of place.


Will definitely visit again!

5 on January 08, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the inn for New Year's Eve--the town was surprisingly quiet, which was very nice because we weren't looking for a big party. The owner of the inn was very helpful with letting us know what restaurants and bars would be open and what they offered. The room was very clean and breakfast was excellent!


Outstanding B&B!

5 on December 02, 2013

We came to the Inn because we were visiting relatives in Hermann. We could not have been more satisfied. Wonderful innkeepers, and best of all--the breakfasts: homemade pastry, fresh-squeezed juices, sausages from local purveyors and delicious quiches and eggs. We would definitely recommend this Inn to anyone!


Sight for sore eyes and legs

5 on November 07, 2013

The Captain Wohlt Inn was the last stop for three tired Katy Trail bike riders and it turned out to be a very comfortable and spacious B&B. The chocolate chip cookies that welcomed us nearly put us to sleep after we unloaded our gear. We had plenty of room to watch the playoffs and not have to get too cozy. We were three guys after all who were friends but not friendly. Breakfast was tasty and filling enough to get us another fifty miles down the trail. I'd highly recommend the Captain Wohlt Inn to non-bikers as well. It was a great overnight stay. It's the best place in Hermann.


Octoberfest in Hermann

5 on October 29, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful weekend with 5 other couples who all stayed at Captain Wohlt Inn. The location, stay, rooms and service are great. This is our second visit and we will definitely be back!


October 2013

4.6 on October 15, 2013

5th year we have stayed here and did not disappoint again this year! Thanks Brant and we are sorry we missed seeing Kent, I hope she is enjoying retirement. We will see you next year too!


Great Time At The Captain Wohlt Inn

5 on October 01, 2013

We spent two days at this B & B and I have already sent a friend the info on staying there for them this fall. Our room was very clean, lots of room with a full bath and shower, refrig, and microwave. You will definately not need the mocrowave the breakfast that they serve is out of this world. We had fresh juice, fantastic pastry, with all the trimming of a breakfast that you won't forget and the cookies left by our door is just one of the little extras that they will do for you.....I would definately stay here again. These Nebraska Cornhuskers were very happy there.


Totally enjoyed our stay

5 on September 29, 2013

Clean, nicely decorated, quiet, nice bed. Would be happy to stay again.


Wonderful place to stay!!!

4.0 on September 23, 2013

My husband and I very much enjoyed the staff, environment the room and breakfast. Everyone was friendly. It was definitely a place we will stay on return anniversary visits. Great little town!!


Great stay

4.8 on September 22, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! Great breakfast, rooms, hospitality, and outdoor area. We give this place an A-1 rating!


Wonderful Stay

5 on September 08, 2013

As an event orgainzer, it is very important to me to work with someoe who has the same high standards. I found such a person in Brant, owner of this great B&B. Rooms are clean, large and well appointed. My group, 27 bicycle riders riding the entire Katy Trail, voted this the best breakfast of the entire week long tour. Do yourself a favor, stay here if ever in Hermann. Remember, you get what you pay for. /Sure, you might find a B&B a few dollars cheaper but certainly it would not be the quality os this. Trust me It's ALL Good!


Fabulous Stay

4.8 on September 04, 2013

We had a wedding and lodged family and friends at the inn-- great stay for all despite100 degree plus weather. We stayed cool and comfort. The breakfasts were stellar, the staff so helpful and accommodating and the rooms were great fun with the antiques and period decor. The staff did a lovely wine/cheese evening for us and helped with plane reservations. We had only good experiences and would stay there anytime we were in the are--- and so reasonable for the super quality!


August 2013

4.8 on August 27, 2013

We randomly selected the Captain Wohlt Inn from an internet search for our recent stay in Hermann. We spent two nights in the Irish Room and could not have been more pleased. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfasts were incredible and the staff was very helpful. We are already anticipating a return visit.


Spectacular

5 on August 19, 2013

We celebrated our 26th wedding anniversary in Hermann. We chose the Captain Wohlt Inn off the internet. No references. We decided to wing it and I am so glad we did. It was our first bed and breakfast experience and we loved it. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The house was walking distance to various restaurants, the Hermannhof winery and many shops. The breakfast was amazing and the staff very gracious.


Great B & B in a great location

5 on August 09, 2013

Came on the train for an overnight stay. Nice walk from the train station and everything downtown. Very clean and well kept place with very friendly staff. Yummy breakfast! It was not your average pancakes or scrambled eggs and bacon breakfast - it was neat food. And this was on a weekend when the normal chef was gone!! They have 3 different buildings to choose from (all in a row). We would definitely come back!


Quaint

4.2 on August 06, 2013

We stayed two nights at Captain Wohlt Inn in July and found it relaxing and quaint. The breakfasts were outstanding and Brent was very hospitable and accommodating.


Needed a place fast

3.8 on August 06, 2013

Had some short notice change of plans and needed to stay in Herman. Captain Wohlt's had an opening at a fair price and we jumped on it. Great experience from breakfast to location and value. We will definitely stay again.


Great Place to Stay...

5 on August 02, 2013

I was very pleased with the Captain's Inn it exceeded my expectations. Room and Food were outstanding. Great place to spend time.


GREAT location for meeting our friends for a couples weekend

4.4 on July 10, 2013

My wife and I have two other couples that are long time friends but we are located at three different corners of the state. We decided to meet in Herman and decided on the Wohlt Inn. We did the winery tours and had a great time. Some of best time spent was enjoying conversation sitting on the brick patio at Wohlts while enjoying the picturesque landscaping. The management and staff were wonderful to talk to. The breakfast was to die for!!!! We stayed in one of the attic rooms. We bumped our head a few times but after the wine of the day, it just added to the character of the experience. We highly recommend Wohlts. We plan to visit again and hope to make it an annual meeting spot to reunite with our old friends.


Great times at The Captain Wohlt Inn

5 on July 07, 2013

This place and the staff are amazing!! It is well maintained, clean, and the breakfast was awesome. Will be going back again. Thanks Brant Wilkins


Great Weekend

5 on July 03, 2013

We stayed at the Captain's Neighbor - in the Irish room - for our 25th anniversary. We had a wonderful stay in this charming B & B. Bed was comfy and the shower wonderful. Authentic decor in our room was very cozy. The breakfasts were delicious and filling. The staff were helpful and friendly. What a great place to rest and relax - wonderful time was had - and we plan on returning.


Biking the Katy Trail

5 on June 29, 2013

Three adults spent the night at Captian Wohlt Inn while biking the Katy Trail. Everything about our stay was outstanding. From the clean and airconditioned room that was very roomy for the three of us, convient bike storage, knowledgeable & friendly staff, easy access to the trail and a remarkable and delicious breakfast to start our day, this is the place to stay while in Herman, MO. Make sure you don't miss the FABULOUS breakfast!


May Be The Best B&B in Hermann

4.6 on June 16, 2013

A very nice and well maintained property with a friendly and personable staff. They serve innovative breakfast using locally produced meats and eggs. The AM coffee is great. Three buildings to choose from with a nice lawn with areas for table and chairs. A great place for couples to unwind , tour wineries or ride the Katy Trail.


Weekend Away

4.4 on June 11, 2013

Spent the weekend in Hermann for a wedding with family & friends. A group of us stayed at Captain Woldt's Inn. Had a great time. The accommodations were great. We enjoyed the fire pits each night. Breakfasts were very good. The only issue was my door did not close & lock securely. Since I am from St Louis, this was a little disconcerting.


Amazing Ending to Our Weekend

5 on June 05, 2013

After our girls’ weekend camping got rained out we decided to head to Hermann for some wine. On our 4th try to find a room we happened upon a vacancy sign & a gentleman driving by, asked if he could help us. Within minutes, he showed us the 1 available room across the road, told of the amenities, where breakfast was served & where we could enjoy the evening by the fire once the wineries closed. He gave us a restroom to get fixed up in & told us our room would be ready in about 1 1/2 hrs. since it had to be cleaned from the previous occupants. We went to Adam Puchta Winery returning to our newly cleaned room to fresh cookies. After dinner, we brought wine by the fire & enjoyed a great conversation w/Kent who owned the B&B. Her son, Brant, was the gentleman who checked us in earlier. We spent the evening chatting with a group of ladies out for their sister's 60th birthday. The room was beautiful, complete w/a refrigerator, microwave, tv, Jacuzzi tub & a very comfortable bed. The next morning, we were pleasantly surprised by the décor of the breakfast space, which was very inviting and homelike, just as the room was. We were served delicious yogurt, granola & fresh cherries to start off with, along w/coffee, water & fresh juice. The main course was a peach stuffed French toast, sausage & eggs that were better than I could have imagined, since I typically only like my own eggs! I will have to say that this one night stay was definitely our pleasure because we thoroughly enjoyed meeting the owner, Kent. She was so kind, very much like a friend we had known but hadn't seen for awhile. We wish her the best, as well as her son, who was most hospitable himself.


First time in Hermann

4.2 on May 28, 2013

Enjoyed our stay and was treated so great. Breakfast was amazing!


Love this place!

5 on May 13, 2013

It is such a beautiful place to stay and amazing breakfast!!! Definitely recommend it. Great service and beautiful place to relax outside as well.


Train Away

3.0 on April 09, 2013

Nice weather, food in Hermann nothing to brag about. Best winery Adam P's. Stay at the Captain, but have nothing to compare it to. But you won't hear the many passing trains (you will if you stay in a downtown inn)


Wonderful B&B

5 on March 26, 2013

We love this B&B. Staff is friendly, rooms are clean and cozy, breakfast is amazing, and the location is perfect.


Above and beyond experience

5 on March 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and it was outstanding. The room was comfortable and cozy - we found it very easy to relax. The breakfast was amazing; a high attention detail was given with every meal. And on top of that, they were all delicious. The staff/ownership was very friendly and did a fantastic job ensuring our stay was a personal experience. I will definitely be recommending this B&B to anyone interested in visiting Hermann, MO and we're already making plans for out next stay at Capt. Wohlt!


Charm, historicity, and excellent food!

5 on March 20, 2013

Hermann is among the best places in the MIdwest where can go to pretend that the stresses and pressures of 21st century life simply don't exist. And The Captain Wohlt Inn and its "neighbor" across the street are the ideal places to stay while exploring this historic treasure on the Missouri River. We stayed on the first floor of The Captain's Neighbor. Everything was outstanding, from the jacuzzi tub that we enjoyed in the evening to the opulent breakfast served the next morning. Our compliments to Kent, Brant, and May for a job very well done!


Girls trip

4.6 on March 12, 2013

It was a girls' weekend. The room was charming and comfortable, the owner very friendly and helpful, the food was great. Will stay there the next time in Hermann.


Wonderful B&B!

5 on February 26, 2013

We stayed in the Irish room at the Captain's Neighbor and absolutey loved it! Kent and Brant made us feel welcome and took such good care of us. Mary's breakfasts are superb! I definitely recommend choosing their B&B for your next stay in Hermann!


Very lovely B&B

4.0 on August 20, 2012

Very nicely located B&B. Historic buildings, great atmosphere. We enjoyed our stay very much. We would definitely stay again, and will recommend to friends and family.


Wonderful Weekend Getaway

5 on August 14, 2012

My husband and I, along with four other couples, spent the weekend in Hermann, MO and had a wonderful time at The Captain Wohlt Inn. Our entire party was able to occupy The Captain's Home and couldn't have picked a better spot. The Innkeeper was very welcoming and accomodating, making sure we had everything we needed and providing us with maps and recommendations for how to get the most out of our one full day to expereince Hermann. The rooms in The Captain's Home were spacious, very clean, beautifully decorated and comfortable. The yard outside this home had pretty landscaping and provided a great spot to hang out as a group and enjoy the weather. We were able to sit on the patio, play with the washers and ladder golf games that were available and, later in the evening, we used the chiminea to keep warm! The breakfast provided at The Captain's House was delicious and I was very excited to find a few of the recipes on their website! The coffee, tea, juice, and food were all perfect and very much appreciated before our drive home. Overall, our group had an incredible weekend and we can't wait to go back. The Captain Wohlt Inn is highly recommended!


Return Visit

5 on August 13, 2012

This was our 2nd stay here. Were in Captain Wohlt's home this time and Captain Wohlt's neighbor last time. Kent is a gracious host who provided a perfect experience. Location is great and rooms wonderful.


Quaint and Comfy

5 on July 30, 2012

This B&B was in the heart of all the Hermann Attractions. Many personal touches, reasonable pricing and a conscientious, dedicated innkeeper make this a place we'll plan to return again.


Hermann, Mo.

3.0 on July 11, 2012

Central location in Hermann, this facility has several houses. Our room was clean and well maintained. We had access to a nice common room with coffees, tea, and a small fridge. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was homemade tasty, if not fancy. Good value.


Girls weekend

4.4 on June 05, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in the Peters and Poeschel suites for a girls weekend. It was so nice to have adjoining suites with our own patio. Kent was so nice and very helpful in helping us get the most out of our stay in Hermann. Kent was also very accomodating for us since we took the train, checking us in early and keeping our bags for the day.


A++ Inn

5 on May 30, 2012

My husband and I LOVED this little B&B!!!! Kent is an amazing inn keeper and her breakfast is fabulous! I wanted seconds EVERY morning we were there. Not only is she a great cook, Kent actually made accommodations for my husband and I to stay in a room that was booked by another couple. She is an amazing and very knowledgeable about the surrounding area. The property is beautiful and peaceful and Kent is amazing!!! We highly recommend The Captain Wohlt Inn!!!


Perfect place

5 on May 07, 2012

Kent was the perfect hostess and the location was close to everything you need in Hermann!


Beautiful Inn

5 on May 07, 2012

Beautiful inn -- enhanced our visit to Hermann for a family wedding.


The Captain Wohlt Inn

5 on April 20, 2012

Excellent Stay.


Outstanding Hospitality

4.6 on March 25, 2012

My daughter and I arrived on bicycles after a 50-mile ride in rain and cold. The innkeeper brought us in, showed us where to store our bikes, recommended a restaurant, did our laundry, and picked us up after dinner. Amazing!


Captain Wohlt Inn

5 on March 05, 2012

We had a wonderful time! Kent, the owner, was so accommodating and nice!


Captain Wohlt Inn

4.6 on February 02, 2012

Amazing hospitality. Our anniversary stay at the Captain Wohlt Inn was great. The room was homey and comfortable, staff was awesome and breakfast amazing. We will return.


Captain Wohlt Inn

4.4 on December 05, 2011

Wonderful getaway to Hermann. Glad we missed the craziness of Oktoberfest's crowds -- although this location is readily accessible to town & to Katy Trail where we went biking. Smallish portions, need better tea options.


Highly recommend for Katy riders

4.8 on October 03, 2011

Owner extremely helpful in helping with problems on a Katy ride. Very friendly, knowledgable about area. Well-done room in historic building. Would absolutely stay again.


A lovely experience all the way around

4.4 on September 18, 2011

My husband and I, along with my parents spent two nights at the Captain Wohlt Inn. We had a delightful stay and as other reviewers have noted, our hostess/proprietor Kent was a perfect hostess. I gave the VALUE only three stars because we stay in lots of B&Bs and this price and dining is what I do expect. The dining room can seat 14, so it was a bit noisy when we were there. We were seated together in a group of four. My husband and I would have preferred to sit at the larger table and be able to interact better with other guests but for many people, seated as we were would have been perfect. I suspect, if I had asked Kent to seat us at the "big" table, she would have graciously accommodated. I'd be happy to go back to the Captain Wohlt Inn at any time. Only an hour from home, it was a world away from my usual hustle-and-bustle life.


Anniversary get away

5 on September 01, 2011

My husband and I went to the Captain Wohlt Inn for our 26th anniversary and it was wonderful. We had privacy and Kent took a map when we first arrived and showed us where everything was located on the map. Breakfast was wonderful and Kent was so nice. Cookies waited in the suite and clean and cozy with the extra little touches. Would recommend to anyone looking for a get away!


We'll be back!

4.2 on August 08, 2011

Great hospitality and breakfast was awesome! Thank you! Location great -- can walk everywhere!


Great Getaway !!

5 on July 25, 2011

The Captain Wohlt Inn is spectacular! The rooms are beautiful, the beds are very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious !! The home made cookies in our room added a very nice homie touch. We will definitely stay at this B & B again in the future.


Great value

4.2 on July 24, 2011

It was a great stay. The workers were very helpful and respectful. They worried about service and did everything in their power to make it one heck of a weekend.


Cute, Quaint, Relaxing, Quiet and Friendly!

5 on June 09, 2011

This inn was the one I picked after a lot of research into both "passability" and the affordability. The Captain Wohlt Inn, and its hostess Kent, were a delightful find...affordable, and much more than passable. We were welcomed, counseled about the city, and all our needs were addressed. Yet at the same time that Kent was friendly and accommodating, she didn't hover either. What a wonderful night in a cute town...I would definitely consider this inn if I were you...perhaps I'd see you there next time, because I'll be going back!


Nice Stay

3.6 on June 04, 2011

My husband and I had a nice one-night impromptu stay at the Captain Wohlt Inn and really enjoyed our stay. The proprietor Kent was very friendly and helpful in suggesting wineries, shops and restaurants. Our room was very nice for the low price we paid. The breakfast was just alright- probably our least favorite out of the B&Bs we've stayed at in the past, but we are foodies. The location was in walking distance to many wineries, shops and restaurants. We would stay here again.


beautiful town, sweet hostess

4.6 on May 30, 2011

This town is a real jewel in the crown of America and the Captain Wohlt Inn is a pleasant retreat. Large rooms, very clean, and quiet.


Great Getaway

4.4 on March 18, 2011

This B&B was clean and well situated in relationship to sights to see in Herman. The Owner was more than accomidating (allowing us to leave our bags in the office after checkout until our train arrived, alowed us to check in early). Great breakfast to boot. Food not too fancy and enough where you wouldn't starve to death eating it. A great place with frendly service. I highly recommend it.


Comfy, Cozy, Welcoming

5 on November 14, 2010

We had a charming attic room, cozy and cute. The owner's hospitality and attention to detail great! Awesome individualized gourmet breakfasts.


Autumn in Hermann

4.6 on October 28, 2010

The Inn sits on a hill overlooking the picturesque town which is wonderful to walk around with the noon whistle, hourly church bells, & train whistles. Quiet during the week, my style, raucous on the weekend, Oktoberfest, but lovely at Bomarito winery.


Captain's Neighbor

5 on August 31, 2010

Wonderful stay; awesome breakfast; very clean; beautiful decorating.


Random Getaway

5 on August 10, 2010

I decided to take my wife and I out on a random little getaway that landed us an evening in Hermann, MO. I've stayed in the finest hotels across the country, yet none are as charming as the B&B experience. The Captain Wohlt Inn goes over and above in their hospitality. The rooms are very comfortable (and VERY clean), breakfast was a filling treat, and conversation with Kent were enjoyable. Treat yourself to real hospitality. Stay here.


Tranquility

5 on August 05, 2010

In today's pace of professional hustle and bustle, what wonderful change occurred to face such a lovely and peaceful setting. Time to relax, talk with my husband and friends and get some well-needed rest - thank you.


A Happy and Relaxing Inn

4.2 on July 20, 2010

A most friendly and helpful innkeeper! Kent treated us as old friends. The facilities far exceeded our expectations. You must visit!


We will go back again

4.6 on July 20, 2010

What a fun place to stay. We stayed in the teacher room, the rooms was decorated very nicely it was a very spacious room and the bed was very comfortable. were very nice, the bath area was also large. Breakfast was yummy. The location was good because you could walk to anything down town. The inn owner was very nice and her recommendations of where to eat and what to do were also good. We did not get to stay long enough and would go back to Hermann and stay at the Captain Wohlt Inn.


Great Getaway!

4.0 on July 16, 2010

We found the Captain Wohlt Inn just what the doctor ordered for a quick day away from hectic St. Louis. We'll go back!


A Lovely Trip With Memories to Share

4.8 on July 05, 2010

When the heat gave us a little break, we decided to visit Hermann which we had never seen. We had also never stayed in a B & B. Hermann was delightful. It is a beautiful little city on the Missouri River with a distinctly European flavor, but our most wonderful surprise was meeting Kent and staying at her charming, historic Bed and Breakfast. We stepped back in time and left worries and the hustle and bustle of modern life behind for a couple of days as we explored and rested. The little getaway was just what we needed and our introduction to the wonders of the B & B life showed us how to travel off the beaten path. It was certainly worthwhile to slow down, meet some new people, and smell the roses and lilies and and lilacs. Well, you get the picture. Thank you, Kent, for a lovely stay.


4TH OF JULY

4.6 on July 05, 2010

We have stayed at the Captain Wohlt many times, this was the first for the 4th. It was a great experience as always, and we stayed in the native Indian room this time. The room was quite, quaint, and Kent the owner was pleasant and charming as always. I would recommend this is the place to stay when visiting Hermann Mo.


Great Stay at Hermann, MO's Captain Wohlt Inn!

5 on June 29, 2010

Great accommodations and friendly staff makes this a wonderful place to stay. Awesome breakfast!


Historic Hermann MO

5 on June 23, 2010

Very accommodating. Fabulous breakfast. Within walking distance to many restaurants and shops in downtown Hermann. Very good directions to the many wineries and the many other attractions in and around the most beautiful town in MO.


Perfect Serenity

5 on June 22, 2010

My wife and I were flying (from Philadelphia) on a Friday evening to attend a wedding Saturday afternoon. Due to bad weather our connecting flight (Chicago) was canceled. When we finally arrived to the Captain Wohlt Inn, Saturday afternoon, we were greeted with a fantastic welcome from the Innkeeper, completely eliminating the travel frustration we experienced the night before. We only stayed two nights at this B&B, but it was a fantastic experience. The attention to care and comfort was superb!


English Suite

4.6 on June 16, 2010

We had the English Suite for our anniversary get away and we had the most perfect weekend ever! Captain Wholt is a very warm and inviting bed and breakfast. We had a warm welcome, and everyone was very accomodating. The B&B was very clean and was perfect for our first B&B experience. The breakfast was AMAZING, very unique!! The first morning there we had a breakfast casserole with fresh fruit and the second morning we had a stuffed french toast casserole with a blueberry drizzle along with Swiss Meat Company apple cinnamon sausage and homemade almond cake and fresh fruit.....absolutely amazing stuff! I would definately recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to experience Hermann with a warm welcome and great place to stay!! Captain Wholt is a great B&B to experience if looking for a B&B!!


Home Away From Home

5 on May 27, 2010

Everything was exceptional, from first meeting the owner until it was time to leave. made us feel welcome, as if a part of the family. Food was the best we had in town all weekend. Highly, highly recommend!!


Friendly Place

4.0 on May 07, 2010

Quaint and friendly. Spacious rooms. Nice grounds. Very accomodating.


Captain Wohlt Inn

4.6 on February 19, 2010

Rooms were nice and cozy and breakfast was delicious. Great value for the money!! Will return


A return to the past.

4.6 on October 15, 2009

Before purchasing our travel trailer we often stayed in B&Bs. Captain Wohlt Inn would tank as one of my favorites. It was a charming "old-fashioned" bedroom and the breakfasts were great!


Home away from home

4.2 on September 22, 2009

Room was huge, very clean & cozy. Jacuzzi tub for 2 was very relaxing. Hosts were wonderful. Breakfast was amazing!


Very nice -- excellent

4.4 on August 26, 2009

The people were very nice and accommodating. Very nice to talk to. Breakfast was very good. Nice room.


outstanding B&B!

5 on July 02, 2009

The inn itself is spectacular. Absolutely beautiful. The staff and service made it even better! I've never enjoyed a B&B more! I can't wait to go back!


Sweetheart Room

5 on May 26, 2009

Great place! Quiet, inviting, and warm! Will definitely return!


Captain Wohlt

4.6 on May 20, 2009

The room was small but very nice and clean. there was a nice spacious common room with TV, movies, books, and coffee/tea. Great breakfasts, friendly management, beautiful central location in Hermann. Bike rentals about 1/2 block away. Can't wait to come back!


Captain's hospitality

4.4 on May 19, 2009

Modest, but nice and clean, accommodations in a fun little rural MO town. The service and hospitality were excellent and our 2 breakfasts were superb! A couple of more comfortable chairs to sit and read in would be a nice addition.


Wurstfest weekend

4.6 on May 05, 2009

We've stayed with Matt and Kent several times and always have everything we need. Knowledgeable and helpful and delightful personality! We'll keep going.


Captain Wohlte

3.4 on May 05, 2009

Pleasant room- great bfast hot shower-doesn't get much better!


Quiet weekend getaway

4.6 on May 04, 2009

This was only our second stay at a bed and breakfast and we had a wonderful time! The rooms were interesting and comfortable and a nice break from staying in a hotel. The breakfast was excellent and our breakfast companions were so much fun to talk with. I would definitely recommend The Captain Wohlt Inn to friends and would return in the future.


Warm Your Heart

5 on April 13, 2009

Hosts are warm, efficient, witty. All needs attended to. Very clean. Very good food. We've visited 4 times and would again come back to visit our 'old friends'


happy easter weekend

4.0 on April 11, 2009

We had a wonderful trip to Herman and our stay was most enjoyable


Captain Wohlt Inn

5 on April 09, 2009

It was a wonderful place to stay!


A Cozy Quiet Retreat

4.0 on April 02, 2009

We stayed in the Sweetheart room at the Inn. This is the wheelchair accessible accomodations Capt Wohlt has. Plenty of Room here. The room is on the main floor with the kitchen & diningroom, wheelchair entrance in back. There were books & games to play, cute little personal notes in the books, nice touch. Pictures on the walls in our room are of the Innkeepers & various others, wedding pictures & such. The bed was incredibly cozy, almost as good as home! Breakfast was fantastic, filling us up before our day of Wineries & Wurstfest. The suggestions of things to do while in Hermann that Mat gave us were very helpful. We survived 2 nights without a TV as the rooms in the INN do NOT have TVs, but it was nice for us to talk to each other. The power went out (all over town) the last night we stayed due to a sneeky little snowstorm, which gave us a good impression of how the house must have felt when it was first built, pre-electricity. Charming, Cozy, Roomy, GREAT Breakfast! My only suggestion: we were told it had a high-seat toilet but found it did not, a high-seat toilet would make things easier & aid in tranfering from a wheelchair.


Relaxing and calm

3.4 on February 27, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay! After a busy year, it was nice to have a few days at a calm B&B with friendly hosts and excellent food!


what a vacation should be!

5 on February 18, 2009

Wake up to the smell of 'Swiss' sausage and coffee. Linger for a few more minutes under the quilt in the comfortable bed in Gloria's Room. Then get ready to descend the polished wooden stairs to breakfast and great recommendations from your innkeeper for the best places to see in beautiful Hermann!


excellent room

4.6 on February 18, 2009

Warm and friendly hosts, very comfortable setting, wonderful getaway


Captain Wohlt

5 on February 18, 2009

Highly recommend to others. A place that we plan to visit again. Breakfast was awesome!


Captain Wohlt

4.4 on February 18, 2009

Friendly owners, great food and great suggestions for what to do in town.


great choice

4.8 on February 18, 2009

Very friendly and food was excellent! I'd stay again!


Highly recommended!

5 on January 28, 2009

The inn was great! We had an excellent time and were treated very well. Kudos to Mat!


My husband's Birthday weekend

4.4 on January 20, 2009

We had a wonderful, relaxing stay at the inn. The suite was clean and cute. Matt himself makes breakfast and it is FABULOUS everytime! Healthy, hearty and you leave happy to start your day. The location is a walking distance to everything in this historical town. To go to Stone Hill Winery, which we recommend, a short car ride is required. We really enjoyed our stay. And we will be back.


Not quite sure what all the Hermann hype is about....

3.4 on January 19, 2009

I must admit that my husband and I were a bit suprised with Hermann. Everyone where we live has made quite a big deal out of it so we were expecting quite a lot. Perhaps that was why it all felt a bit anticlimactic. There are six wineries in total here and seemingly too many B&B's to count. To be fair, it was January when we went and there wasn't much going on. There were only two restaurants open for dinner and at Mat's suggestion we went to the Trapper's Grill. I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone. The service was excellent, wine was good and food was superb (top marks for the steak as well as the game pate). We went to Stone Hill Winery for a tour which, while enjoyable, was a bit rushed. Back to the actual B&B though, we stayed in the English Suite and the major drawback I would say was that it is on the ground floor of the Captain's Neighbour (across the street from the main building) and is the first door on the right upon entering. This is a bit awkward if a romantic getaway is what one has in mind. The rest of the house was taken by one largish group who enjoyed congregating in the lounge, right across from our room. Again, a bit awkward. There weren't really any other faults with the room as it was extremely clean (and I am more than a bit OCD about that type of thing), lovely bed linens, gleaming wood floors, and large jetted tub (which was a wonderfully relaxing way to finish off the day). Breakfast was, while perhaps a bit small, very delicious. The recipe for the Captain's quiche can be found on their website and would definitely be worth trying.

Innkeeper Response
We encourage reviews and learn from them. If you want complete privacy in a suite with a two-person whirlpool, I suggest the Sammons Suite which has its own private door for entry. Only guests who have rented the Sammons suite can enter the suite. This offers complete privacy.


nice stay

4.0 on January 14, 2009

nice stay


review

3.6 on January 14, 2009

Very nice stay. hospitable, good breakfast, very knowledgeable of the community. Our room stay was warm, private, and cozy.


Very welcoming and friendly

4.0 on January 13, 2009

Hosts were accommodating and very helpful. Rooms were neat and clean and invitingly comfortable!


Captain Wohlt

4.2 on January 13, 2009

great host! Wonderful breakfast! Clean room!


Great time!

4.0 on January 13, 2009

Lovely rooms, delicious food. Innkeeper attentive and entertaining. We'll be back!


Excellent stay

5 on January 12, 2009

Our stay exceeded our expectations, everything down to the smallest detail was superb! The innkeepers were personable and made us feel welcome. We enjoyed our stay, we will definitely be back. Thanks for the great breakfast and memorable time!


History lives in Hermann!

4.4 on January 09, 2009

If you like history, stay here! Four historic buildings reflect the keepers' pride in Missouri's colorful past. If you don't like history, stay for the fabulous breakfast and hospitality!!


Wonderful stay!

4.8 on January 04, 2009

We spent a wonderful weekend in the Irish room, at the Captain's Neighbor. The room was immaculate and extremely clean. It was also furnished tastefully, with furniture appropriate for the setting. Very comfortable bed. Breakfast was outstanding, and just part of the excellent value. The breakfast casserole is the best we've ever had; and the inclusion of fresh fruit makes it a multi-course breakfast unsurpassed in our experience. The innkeepers are very friendly and helpful. We plan on a return to one of the suites in the future! We recommend the Captain Wohlt Inn!


Captain Wohlt

5 on December 18, 2008

we have visited several B&B is MO and find we always come back to Hermann because of our perfect stays at Captain Wohlt!


Great Stay

4.0 on December 15, 2008

Me and my wife had a wonderful stay at the Captain Wohlt Inn. The breakfast was wonderful and the service was excellent.


Great room with WONDERFUL food!

4.2 on December 03, 2008

Had a wonderful stay in the Girl's Rom in the attic. The food for breakfast was wonderful! Especially the Almond Pie!- YUM!!


Captain Wohlt

5 on December 03, 2008

comfortable, relaxing, quiet


Captain Wohlt

3.4 on December 03, 2008

Good company, super good breakfast.


fairly quiet room

3.4 on November 21, 2008

enjoyed ceiling fan and cookies in the afternoon. The breakfast were very good.


Relaxing Visit to Hermann, Mo.

4.6 on November 18, 2008

We had a wonderfully relaxing getaway at the Captain Wohlt Inn. We met friends there and enjoyed the experience very much. Our innkeeper was very involved in keeping Hermann 'on the map' The breakfast was wonderful!


great experience

4.2 on November 17, 2008

We came down for a long weekend and the accommodations were excellent. Great rooms, food, and location.


Great Stay

4.8 on November 11, 2008

What a beautiful and quiet place to stay. The owners were very gracious and the food was fantastic.


Attic Getaway

3.4 on November 11, 2008

The boys' room is a cozy attic retreat. Both the furnishing and the colors used are comfortable and relaxing. The Captain Wohlt inn is a wonderful weekend getaway complete with tasty food in a quaint little town.


a wonderful weekend getaway

4.8 on November 10, 2008

We had such a great stay at the Captain Wohlt Inn. The owners were the model of hospitality. Great rooms, great food, great advice for seeing Hermann.


excellent B&B

4.4 on November 10, 2008

The rooms were giant and clean! Cookies to greet you was nice. The breakfasts were outstanding! The owner is helpful in exploring the area!


Good Experience

4.0 on October 01, 2008

Bed and breakfast accommodations in Hermann are quite expensive. We chose the Captain Wohlt Inn as it is not quite as expensive as some of the newer b & b’s. We were quite satisfied, but I really cannot call it luxurious. We stayed in the Captain’s Neighbor in the English Suite – a large room with a king-size bed, electric fireplace, whirlpool for two, shower, microwave, frig, and a kitchen sink in the bathroom, which was unique!! I thought it was going to be quite noisy, as we were right by the front door, and everyone had a terrible time unlocking it and opening and closing it. We were pleasantly surprised that our neighbors were quiet and not “late owls”, so we slept very well. Breakfast was very good – quiche, bacon, fruit, zucchini bread, juice, and coffee. We also enjoyed eating in the common breakfast room and meeting the other people staying there. All in all it was a good experience, but not one of my favorite bed and breakfasts.


Excellent Get-away for Working Retreat

4.6 on July 30, 2008

To get out of the office and do some team-building, my colleagues and I stayed three days at the Capt. Wohlt Inn (we took over The Captain's Neighbor and also had rooms in the Inn). The accommodations were perfect for what we needed - a central location with a table, coffee and water, wireless internet, the works. In addition to the excellent accommodations, though, the service was outstanding. Brant took care of us, made sure we had everything we needed, and gave us lots of space in which to work. The retreat was a big success - very productive and very fun - in large part because we were so comfortable at the Captain Wohlt.


What a great breakfast!

5 on June 24, 2008

5 of us stayed at the Captain Wohlt Inn and had a great time! The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and spacious. The grounds are beautiful and the breakfast was gourmet! We were more than pleasantly surprised! The Innkeepers were lots of fun and very knowledgable about the area. You should stay here.


Wonderful Vacation

5 on June 18, 2008

We stayed 3 nights during the Art and Music Festival in June. Mat & Kent are wonderful hosts and guided us to 3 days of fun. They suggested very good restaurants, wineries and festival activities. The Inn is an exceptional value!


Lovely experience

4.6 on May 06, 2008

Our experience was delightful. Spacious rooms, great guest interaction and very knowledgeable about town and surroundings


young and loved it

4.8 on March 04, 2008

I am young and have never been to a B&B before or to Hermann. It was a great experience - minus the wine caught up to me. Matt and Kent are great, the food was amazing - could not have asked for a better place to stay. The next trip is already being planned.


Welcoming Oasis

4.6 on August 22, 2007

Our suite was a quiet refuge - beautifully appointed. Mat and Kent were gracious hosts who went out of their way to make our stay perfect. The garden was lovely, and breakfast was superb.


Everything was wonderful

5 on August 15, 2007

The breakfast was great. We had double stuffed blueberry pancakes. We witnessed the blooming of the Night Blooming Cirius Plant which only blooms once a year.


One of the Best B and B's I have visited

5 on August 07, 2007

Beyond the superior accommodations and food, a visitor will find the innkeepers to be not only helpful with your stay (offering tips about the area), you will find them to be personable and friendly, as they share interesting historical details about the area and its people. They engaged us in conversation with other guests immediately. I didn't want to leave and I certainly will return.


Perfect spot!

5 on August 04, 2007

Wonderful food! Mat and Kent are as personable as can be. They are real community creators. Rooms were outstanding--clean and furnished with everything you can think of and more! Couldn't be a better B and B to stay at.


Captain Wohlt Inn

5 on July 23, 2007

The Inn is lovely, the innkeepers are outstanding. They give wonderful recommendations; take their advice.


Great Experience

5 on February 27, 2007

My wife and I had a wonderful bed and breakfast experience at the Captain Wohlt Inn. Everything about the place and the service was top notch. Matt was a great host and cook as well. We will be returning. The Thurmers


Experience the Wohlt Inn

5 on February 11, 2007

If you can't stay with family, stay with Matt and Kent.From the brownies & chocolate chip cookies to the Laura Ashley bath towels our visit was just what we needed. Thanks for a new look at Hermann like never before. In fact our visit was better than staying with family.


Relaxing and personable

4.0 on February 07, 2007

This is the second time we have stayed at the Captain Wohlt Inn in the past year. Kent and Matt make you feel like they have known you for years. Our stay was so relaxing and we can't wait to go back. There are many places to stay in Hermann, MO but none that have great innkeepers, beautiful accomodations and a wonderful breakfast like Captain Wohlt Inn.


The Captain Wohlt Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $115 - $300
  • Reviews (141) 4.6
  • Rooms 15
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5734863357

Visit Website »

View details

Top