Birks Gasthaus Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.0
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.0
  • Cleanliness4.2
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
113 Reviews

Write A Review

Needs work! (Property now called Herzog Mansion)

2.0 on April 16, 2014

My partner and I stayed one night at Birk's Gasthouse (now Herzog Mansion). The house itself is aging a bit ungracefully - it looks like there are some sort of renovations or repairs being done to one side of the property's exterior, but neglect and decay are apparent throughout the interior of the house. Having stayed in several aging homes converted into B&B's, I realize that there is only so much one can to to make accommodations for modern conveniences, but there were swaths of missing trim along the walls, holes in the floor, peeling, cracked, and stained plaster on the ceilings and floors, etc. This B&B needs some significant TLC and a lot of investment to turn things around. Our bed was the squeakiest bed I have ever slept on and, strangely, there wasn't a mattress pad, only a sheet! (Cheap bedding and terribly sad pillows made the sleeping situation less than comfortable). The breakfast was ho-hum at best. Overall this B&B was a big disappointment - the rate charged for one night's lodging is simply scandalous! I wouldn't recommend this establishment to anyone.


Great stay even as renovations proceed

3.8 on April 16, 2014

Birk's is a beautiful old mansion in a quiet neighborhood of Hermann. Just a short 10 minute walk from downtown or Stone Hill Winery it is a charming location. Although the building is undergoing some renovation work right now and there are a few places where wallpaper is peeling and plaster is cracked, the accommodations are comfortable and appealing. The first floor game room and parlor are pluses and provide opportunities for guests to meet each other and interact. The breakfast is well prepared and the host is attentive and eager to please. If you come in on the train, call ahead and he'll come to the station to get you. We enjoyed our stay.


First Anniversary

4.2 on April 03, 2014

My wife and I spent our first wedding anniversary in Hermann, and had a blast. Birk's is close to Stone Hill winery, and easy to get to by the Hermann Trolley. It's an old house with all the expected creaks and moans, but Room #3 was comfortable, bright and pleasant, right down to the rubber duck in the bathtub. Our host, was friendly and accommodating but never intrusive, and prepared a terrific breakfast.We would definitely go back.


This place was GREAT!

4.6 on December 30, 2013

Went for one night during the Kriskrindl Market in December and this place was the perfect end to a great day. Highly recommend if you are new to B&B's and don't know what to expect. Breakfast was delish and the mansion is spectacular.


Charming bnb! Recommend.

4.2 on November 24, 2013

Breakfast was wonderful. Rooms were clean. Proximity to town was great too.


Superb Breakfast

3.4 on November 13, 2013

French toast with an apple topping anchored a delicious breakfast. Bacon and an egg rounded it out and then a fruit yogurt combo finished it off. Our host was most welcoming as well.


A great place to stay for the vakue!

4.4 on November 03, 2013

We had an incredible stay. The innkeeper was extremely friendly, and breakfast was phenomenal! It was probably the best breakfast I have had at a B&B. We will definitely be returning.


Great B & B

4.2 on October 23, 2013

The food was wonderful, better than the pictures on the website. A lovely historic home well maintained.


Awesome service! He catered to us all weekend.

4.2 on October 16, 2013

We had such a good experience! We rode the train from KC and the owner picked us up right on time.


Don't miss breakfast!

4.4 on October 07, 2013

Everything was very cozy and comfortable, including the beds and pillows. The owner was very knowledgeable of anything going on in or around Hermann, so it made things easy no matter what your interests were. When we checked in, we were told breakfast was at 8:30 in the morning. It was well worth getting out of bed early enough to be downstairs. I would definitely come back.


Wonderful stay in a quaint town in Missouri

3.6 on September 16, 2013

we came to the city of Hermann, MO for a wedding and were pleasantly surprised on the friendliness of the locals and the nice bed and breakfast, Birks Gasthous. The breakfast was outstanding and the owner was so helpful helping us navigate the town. I would definitely recommend Birks Gashous to travelling couples.


Great Weekend in Hermann

4.4 on September 09, 2013

Richard is a very gracious host. He will give you tips on restaurants which were very helpful. He is also a great cook and serves a super breakfast each day. Highly recommend staying at this B&B when you are in Hermann. It's a not super close to the wineries, but they are within walking if you choose to do so (when it's not not hot) distance.


Very pleasant setting, comfortable and clean.

4.8 on September 01, 2013

The host was personable and pleasant, and the breakfast was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


Great value

4.0 on August 15, 2013

The breakfast was amazing! A group of 17 of us stayed here for my bachelorette party and it was a good value. The owner was very nice to us! They are working on renovations so they can sell it.


Great Stay!!!

4.4 on June 23, 2013

Richard, the innkeeper, was very helpful to us during our two stays. He took us to the bike shop twice as our bike wheel needed repairs & he also took us to a great dinner place. He was a delightful & enlightening conversationalist!


Relative Wedding Event

4.8 on June 11, 2013

Have never been to Herman and so we had to pick this place off of the innernet. We had a wedding we were attending so relatives were all at different Bed and Breakfast Inns in the area. Our group had 4 rooms here. After viewing the other locations that our friends and family were at, I believe ours was the best. The character of building,interior furnishings,location was blocks away and walking distance to main street,etc., Hot water for shower is a plus, and the breakfast was pretty good too. They had homemade banana nut muffins that were so good. I am guilty of taking 2.Check in is 3pm, but rooms were available and they let us check in when we got there at 1:00pm so we could get ready for wedding. I would stay here again. I am glad I picked this location without having any referrals to go by. Our group lucked out for sure.


Not a B&B Virgin Anymore

4.6 on June 10, 2013

Sad to say, but we're in our lower 50's, and finally stayed at our first b-n-b ... very happy with our stay, but obviously have no track record to compare for reviews. Richard is an excellent host, made a great breakfast for us, and gave good pointers for some restaurants in the area, which yielded a great meal for us. Beautiful old home, with enough common area to handle several couples lounge-time, nicely decorated & we liked that it was off the 'downtown' beaten path.


Beautiful mansion and great for relaxing

4.0 on June 01, 2013

This is our second stay at Birk's and as usual, it was great. Whenever we go to the Hermann area, we will always try to book our room there. Gorgeous old mansion where you are made to feel right at home. Beautiful wrap around porch with plenty of seating to enjoy the outside. There is a game room with a pool table and gaming table as well as board games and a communal refrigerator to use for any leftovers or beverages. The rooms are clean and the owner really makes you feel at home as well as serving up some of the best scrambled eggs this guest has ever tasted. There are not TVs in the rooms, which I found to be refreshing, but there are communal rooms with TVs. Wi-fi is provided, but it doesn't reach to some of the rooms, so please ask before you book a room. Overall great experience.


The Birks experience.

4.4 on May 31, 2013

Richard is an excellent innkeeper; he is very kind and helpful. The food is outstanding, both in presentation and in flavor. We had a memorable experience.


Great Weekend

4.6 on May 30, 2013

We were rescued by Richard, the owner, after Heavy rains washed out some of the Trail. and the food is great, so a Double value.


Elegance and Comfort in Hermann, MO

4.8 on May 30, 2013

We had the elegant, yet comfortable house to ourselves. After dinner in Hermann we tried out the pool table and then played Scrabble at the poker table. The breakfast was outstanding--even had dessert!


awesome

5 on May 28, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Birks - the hospitatlity was wonderful. This is awesome place to stay - highly recommended!


Great Stay! Our host went out of his way to accommodate and even gave us a ride to dinner.

5 on May 15, 2013

Elizabeth and Steve Orians


Awesome

4.6 on May 15, 2013

I absolutely enjoy my stay and will return. I recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone who need a place to stay and want to have a good time Great hospitality Richard the owner is great!!!


A Nice place to spend the night

4.6 on May 11, 2013

I came in at 9 PM after a long day of bicycling on the Katy Trail. The owner stayed up for me and welcomed me into the bed-and-breakfast. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the shower was warm. The food the next morning was very tasty and there was plenty of it for a hungry bicyclist like myself. Overall a pleasant stay.


Mother Daughter Getaway

4.0 on May 06, 2013

We really enjoyed the stay. The town itself wasn't what we were hoping as far as shopping. But we will be back.


Wonderful As Always

4.6 on April 02, 2013

It's been a few years since we stayed at the Herzog Mansion (formerly Birk's Gasthaus), and I'm pleased to report that it was as wonderful as it has ever been. Richard is a great host, going above and beyond the call in preparing a diabetic friendly breakfast for my husband. We took the train this time and were able to navigate by foot very well as everything is within an easy distance of the Mansion. This place never disappoints!


Fantastic snowcation!

5 on March 31, 2013

My girlfriend and I loved our stay. We got in town during a spring snowstorm and had a great time. The owner made amazing food for us and helped us find things to do even though the snow closed a lot of places. I would highly recommend this B&B. it was a cozy stay at a great price!


Close to everything

4.0 on March 27, 2013

Our first B&B was about what we expected. Other than figuring out how to shut down the heat at 3am the first night, it was comfortable, clean, and friendly.


Birks Gasthaus in Hermann, MO

3.6 on March 23, 2013

We recently enjoyed the Herzog Mansion to ourselves. It's a beautiful, Victorian mansion with beautiful architecture. Our only disappointment was the musty smell throughout the house. The breakfast was simple, but delicious, and just enough without overeating. Overall, we had a pleasant stay.


Enjoyable Stay at this Charming B&B

4.6 on March 02, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this charming B&B. The bed was comfortable and it was nice to have a private bath. The owner was very kind and although we did not have time to stay for breakfast, he sent us on our way with a bag of homemade muffins (Yum!). We may go back when we have more time and visit some of the local wineries. We were there for a special engagement so we had little time.


Great Stay During 'Say Cheese' Wine Trail

5 on December 12, 2012

Richard welcomed my wife and I upon our arrival to the B&B, provided great insights to area restaurants, and then made an excellent breakfast both mornings we were at the B&B. Thank you Richard!


Birks Gasthaus

3.0 on December 05, 2012

The house is beautiful and there is a game room with pool table and large screen TV. Also a TV in the common area on the second floor. We were very disappointed though that during December, there were no Christmas decorations. We always stay at a B&B in December to get into the Christmas spirit. Not going to happen at this place.


Charming!

4.4 on December 03, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at Birks! The mansion is lovely, full of antique furniture. The breakfast had a few unique dishes, which we really enjoyed. The service was outstanding! The caretaker has a big fuzzy moustache and smokes a pipe (outside, of course). He seemed to take a genuine interest in his guests. He was knowledgable about the town and had great recommendations about the local wineries, restaurants, and shops. The minute we left, my boyfriend and I have already decided that we will come back and stay at birk's again!


Very Nice Small Town Guesthouse!

4.8 on November 17, 2012

We definitely enjoyed our stay at Birks Gasthaus. It was so nice and was a lovely start to wonderful weekend in Hermann. We will be back in the future!


Great food and service

4.4 on October 24, 2012

We stayed here for Octoberfest and enjoyed the stay. It's a great place and the service and food were great. It's very close to stone hill winery, and about a 10-15 minute walk to downtown.


Oktoberfest visit

4.2 on October 22, 2012

Had a great time! Richard is an amazing cook - loved every breakfast and looked forward to it. New experience for us in Hermann and at a B&B. He was helpful with information about the area and specifically Hermann. The room was large and clawfoot tub was perfect! My favorite spot: the covered porch with table and chairs. It rained just a bit one day so we snagged our favorite wine and sat outside with friends. No agenda, no schedule. This location fit us very well. The is a shared refrigerator to keep your picnic items and wine (of course) cold and ready to go. Will definitely be back!


not returning

2.4 on October 14, 2012

owner was gruff when we arrived as he finished his lunch. guess we should have left & come back, but we were meeting six others shortly after noon, not realizing there was an official check-in time until we were already there. I did not sleep well. support post right beside the end of the double bed, woke me up every time I kicked it, which happened throughout the night. room was warm. at least we had a small tub with shower in room 6, but perhaps we should have statyed in room 9, even though it can not be locked [fire marshall], to avoid the post & get a bigger tub. I was told the tub in the "red room" was too icky/dirty to use. third floor room made us glad we travel light! quaint seperate gentlemen's & ladies' activity rooms. the breakfast was delicious. but not worth teh $150 paid [11% tax in Hermann], so we will try another place next time.


Excellent stay at Birk's Gasthaus

5 on October 04, 2012

Stayed at Birk's the last weekend of September, 2012. Lovely, charming home. Richard was a gracious host. Would definitely stay here again. And simply the best breakfast I've ever had at a bed and breakfast.


Grand old house but diffently in need of some serious love.

3.0 on September 17, 2012

Great breakfast......room was sort of shabby (holes in chairs, peeling wall paper) but staff was friendly. Overpriced for the condition of the establishment.


Cool old home!

4.8 on August 21, 2012

We had a really nice time in the wonderful old home. The place was homey and comfortable. Thanks Richard for a great breakfast!


Great place to stay in Hermann, MO

5 on August 08, 2012

My stay was a pleasant one. There were many amenities provided. We had access to wine, soda, and a water cooler. There were many entertainment sources availible at this bed and breakfast. The king size bed I had slept very well and the room was very nice.


Great place to stay

4.0 on July 31, 2012

Being a return guest under new ownership I was pleasantly surprised by the added His & Her parlors. My guest had never experienced a Bed & Breakfast, and he was already making future plans before we made it to the car. I loved the breakfast and a glass of wine sitting on the porch.


Recommended B&B

3.4 on July 11, 2012

The owner was nice and easy-going. Location was good sitting in between downtown and Stone Hill Winery. Best part was the breakfast. The food was amazing! My room only had a bath tub without a shower head which I didn't like. Most other bathrooms there had shower heads though.


this will be an annual event for us

5 on July 07, 2012

We felt welcomed from the beginning. He gave us information about the town and made delectable breakfasts! The front porch is a wonderful place to relax or there is a game room that we enjoyed very much as well. The bedroom was comfortable, spacious, and clean. We will return!


Great weekend!

5 on June 27, 2012

We had a great time here. Very friendly and the porch was a great way to spend the evening!


A wonderful B&B in Hermann

4.8 on June 26, 2012

My husband and I and two adult children stayed overnight at this lovely B&B. Richard was helpful and friendly, and made us an outstanding breakfast. The rooms were comfortable and I loved the large wrap-around porch! I would definitly stay here again.


Friendly and Accomodating

5 on June 25, 2012

I felt very welcomed and cared for by the proprietor of Birk's Guesthouse. I highly recommend it.


06/08/2012

3.8 on June 13, 2012

Every thing was great. The only reason for three stars on the room is because our bathroom only had a small tub/no shower.


Great B & B

4.6 on June 04, 2012

The owner and staff were more than accommodating and made it feel like a home away from home. The only downside was not having a shower in our room. Otherwise, a wonderful establishment and would stay there again!


Love the Front Porch and Ladies Lounge!

4.6 on May 29, 2012

This charming little place is laid back and has tons of character. I especially loved the front porch and the breakfast was phenomenal. I would definitely stay again!


Above and Beyond

4.4 on May 12, 2012

We had to leave early in the morning to prep for a wedding and the owner was kind enough to get up early and make breakfast for us to take in the car. He went above and beyond the call of duty and we truly appreciated it!


A great b&b

4.4 on May 07, 2012

A nice relaxing b&b, rooms are nice and vintage, common areas a wonderful and the porch is an incredible area for relaxing. The owner is one of the nicest host we've met. Thanks.


Love This Place!

4.6 on May 02, 2012

This Bed & Breakfast is based on the prime reasons people chose to stay at a Bed & Breakfast...being laid back and relaxation. This might be the only place where they don't take a credit card on booking. The breakfast is AMAZING. The owner was incredible and was very friendly. This was our first time staying here and have already booked our next trip back. We look forward to being able to stay and dine here again!


Very nice stay

4.2 on March 30, 2012

We enjoyed our visit to Birks Gasthaus. The owner was very personable and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. Would definitely stay her again.


Birks Wonderful!

5 on March 29, 2012

Off the beaten path in Hermann, MO, is a charming, comfortable Inn named Birks. We stayed on a festival weekend and it was nice to not be in the thick of all hubbub. We were within walking distance to Stone Hill and downtown. The Inn itself is quaint. We took advantage of the game room and played pool and backgammon. Our room was pretty, bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. Thanks!


We enjoyed our stay. Very nice B&B staff were very friendly. I would reccomend to anyone visiting Hermann.

4.0 on March 14, 2012

The owner and staff were very friendly. We enjoyed our stay and will return.


Great stay at Birkhaus

5 on March 10, 2012

Richard was a lovely host and all accommodations were just what we were looking for. The homemade breakfasts were tasty, there were three lounge areas to choose from, a guest kitchen/fridge, and of course our room was great. The king size bed was comfy and the room was well decorated. Wouldn't change a thing about the stay!


Hermann Winery Visit

4.0 on February 18, 2012

Birk's Gausthaus was wonderful! The breakfast was awesome!


Wonderful Time

5 on December 05, 2011

We had a great time. 4 Couples. The B&B exceeded our expectations. It was great. Very nice and the owner was very nice and helpful.


Birks Gasthaus Stay

4.6 on November 29, 2011

We had a delightful time at Birks Gasthaus. Our host was very accomodating. The breakfasts were excellent! I will definitely book a room there again.


great stay

4.4 on November 28, 2011

We had never stayed at a bed and breakfast and were a little leary, but all our concerns were unfounded as we found this a very enjoyable experience. The house was magnificent, the host was friendly and gave great suggestions for dinner restaurants, the room comfy, the food was great, and we enjoyed meeting the other guests. Would stay here again.


One night stay was delightful.

4.0 on November 17, 2011

Staff was very welcoming. House had extra amenities that we did not exprect, such as pool table and large area for our group to gather. Breakfast was great the next morning. Overall, very pleasant stay!


Family Reunion

4.6 on November 13, 2011

Family get together worked our great. Enjoyed Richard's stories and recommendations for food and entertainment.


Birks Gasthaus- Great stay in everyway!

5 on October 31, 2011

We had a great stay at Birks. The rooms were awesome, the BB owners was friendly, and very informitive on Herman MO. Beds were great house was clean and breakfast was outstading. We will be back!


Birk's & Oktoberfest

3.4 on October 13, 2011

We booked this room as it was the last one available in town for the weekend. Richard was very friendly and cooked a great breakfast. The house it self was cool but every noise made could be heard and the pillows were rock hard.


Great Experience

5 on September 21, 2011

Birks Gasthaus was an amazing find and Richard was an even better host. Would definitely stay here again in the future.


weekend getaway

3.6 on August 30, 2011

We stayed at Birks for 2 days, Thursday and Friday, Awesome Breakfast, very nice place! Not much to do in Hermann in the evenings so the pool table was a plus for evening entertainment and the porch was great also!


First time stay

4.2 on August 09, 2011

It was our first stay at a B&B and we would do it again. It was so different from staying at a hotel. We met some great people and had a good time.


Summer Wine Run

3.0 on July 27, 2011

The Herzog Mansion provided a wonderful place to rest and relax during our recent trip to Hermann. The huge wraparound front porch was wonderful. The hospitality of Richard was unmatched and we thouroughly enjoyed our weekend.


Lovely old mansion!

4.0 on July 17, 2011

We had a great time in Hermann. The Birks Gasthaus was the perfect location for one evening in town, great location and close to everything!


Extreme value and service, standard

5 on July 07, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at Birk's this last holiday weekend (4th of July). Richard was more than courteous, and always quick with a suggestion of places to go or things to do. He cooks an amazing breakfast, and the game room is a great place to unwind.


Review of stay June 10 to June 12

4.0 on June 27, 2011

The Inn Keeper graciously provided us with a lift to a nearby restaurant when our other means of transportation did not work out. Very pleasant stay we are likely to return.


We had an amazing time!!!!

4.6 on June 15, 2011

Birks was an amazing first bed and breakfast experience. Richard made an amazing breakfast which was not expected. It has a great location only a short walk to town and just down hill from Stone Hill Winery. Highly recommend.


Weekend get away

5 on June 13, 2011

My husband and I Had a great time in Herman over Memorial weekend adn Birks Gasthaus was one reason why. Very relazing, clean, friendly, and great food. Will definately go back. Thank you!


Bike Trail Stay

4.0 on June 05, 2011

We appreciated the fact that there was NO penalty for cancelling the reservation as we were riding the Katy Trail and did not know if rain was in the forecast or not. We were greeted and treated with warmness and enjoyed our stay at the Birks Gasthaus.


Great B&B

4.6 on May 26, 2011

Herzog Mansion is a wonderful place to stay! The room was large and the bed was very comfortable. Our host, Richard, was extremely accommodating and friendly. Breakfast was delicious and the whole trip was very relaxing. I definitely recommend Herzog Mansion!


One night getaway

4.6 on May 18, 2011

Spent one night, the room was great, the food was great and Richard made us feel right at home!


A good stay, but could be better.

3.2 on April 21, 2011

The house looks great, within walking distance of downtown attractions (the few that there are), and the men's/women's separate game rooms is a great idea. We found a condom wrapper under our bed, which is funny, if slightly unpleasant, but it betrays a lack of attention to cleanliness. The coffee at breakfast was not very good, tasted like gas station folgers quality. Overall, it was a fun stay and we enjoyed it. The service is great, the food was good, and the house is really cool. Maybe I'm picky and have been spoiled by amazing B&B's in the past, but for us, that's why we choose to stay in a B&B over a hotel when we can afford it. I would recommend it, but with reservations, because there's probably better value for the money in the area.


Birks was fantastic

4.0 on April 17, 2011

The house was beautiful and the owner was accommodating, personable and he strived for a laid back atmosphere. This was a nice change from the hustle and bustle of every day life. The room was neat and clean, and the bed was comfortable. The homemade breakfast both days was delicious and filling. The next time we travel to Hermann, we plan on staying here.


Fabulous Stay At Herzog Mansion

4.4 on April 14, 2011

My husband and I had a fabulous relaxing stay at the mansion in March. Richard is an outstanding cook and his fresh baked apple turnovers and homemade muffins are to die for.....YUMMY! This has been our fourth stay for the year and we are coming back for Octoberfest. The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean and we enjoyed the jetted tub...What a treat that was? Richard is so accommodating. We missed our train and couldn't get there until well past 10pm. He allowed us to check in pretty late, which I thought was very nice of him since this is not a hotel with 24 hour service. I would with no hesitations recommend Herzog Mansion.


Birk's Gasthaus/Herzog Manor

3.8 on April 13, 2011

We had a great weekend anniversary trip. Richard was friendly and informed and had several really great recommendations on which wineries to visit. We would go back.


Great getaway

4.4 on April 11, 2011

This is a very nice old mansion with fantastic breakfast. And Herman is such a great town to visit. It was exactly what we needed.


A relaxing get-away in a quiet town

4.2 on April 07, 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights at Hrezog Mansion, we had lots of time to sight see during the day but by evening time the town was quiet. To our relief Richard, our host was a pleasure to talk to having a vast knowledge on many subjects. There was a game room with a pool table and lots of other games to choose from. When we retired to our room for the night the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The room reminded me of my grandmothers house, so comfortable and cozy. In the mornings we were greeted with a friendly smile, hot coffee and the wonderful smells of a breakfast, I didn't have to make. The food was excellent, the stay was a relaxing one that I and my husband will repeat!!


We had a GREAT weekend!!

4.2 on April 06, 2011

The room was lovely, the mansion was lovely and Richard was really cool.


Hard Times at Birks Gasthaus

1.8 on April 03, 2011

Birks Gasthaus (now known as the Herzog Mansion which should have been a red flag) has fallen on some hard times. At one time a very popular spot in the beautiful town of Hermann, they were known for doing murder mystery dinners. The current owners unfortunately bought the home as an investment never intended to run the business, that didn't work out. They are now running the home and are really unhappy about the way things have unfolded. The one word to describe this B&B is potential. If someone wanted to invest a considerable amount of time and energy this could be the showpiece in Hermann, but as for right now I would avoid it at all costs. The home is in desperate need of major repair. The place is DIRTY and needs a professional cleaning! We stayed in a room with dust and dirt everywhere. There were water stains running down the walls and much of the house had cobwebs and dirt. Richard, the owner, is in way over his head and is so unhappy and surly about his current situation that he makes guests feel uncomfortable rather than welcome. He would often follow me around the house lamenting on his woes about the home and begging someone to take it off his hands. For the $150 a night he charges we felt this was a terrible visit and wanted to have our money refunded (at one point my wife suggested I ask him to pay us for providing an ear for him to bend about his problems). The only time he tried to make our stay enjoyable was at breakfast. He is not a very good cook and his meals were average, but he tried. Although for the price I would expect a restaurant quality breakfast instead we were served a meal my daughter could have made. One of his breakfast attempts included day-old reheated bacon, an egg, and French toast that tasted like it was from a mix. He also served Sam's club brand OJ which is really unacceptable at these prices. Let me say this was, at one time, a jewel in Hermann and it could be again, but right now I would avoid at all costs.

Innkeeper Response
Wow! Where to start to reply? Hard Times NO. It was when we took over three years ago and we've been trying to bring it back since then. The severe hail storm that Hermann had caused everyone some damage and we are waiting for the insurance to correct some water damage. As for the rest of the review, all I can say is that their experience, seems to be very unique compared to all the other reviews we have ever received. If they had mentioned anything to us about their displeasure, we would have gladly given them a refund and found them other accommodations. I once actually gave a couple an unasked for full refund because there was a hot water issue in their room. Most of our guests enjoy our scratch made country style breakfasts and our juice is actually our own blend of various fruit juices. All I can say is to look at all the reviews and then decide.


Charming and Quiet

4.0 on March 18, 2011

My daughter and 2 granddaughters spent one night at Birks on spring break. We knew the town would be somewhat shutdown during this season. It was very quiet and restful. The House is delightfully decorated, or should I say in the process of decoration. the rooms are lovely and there is lots of beautifl furniture pieces. It is old and somewhat musty, which is to be expected, but clean and comfortable. The breakfast is to die for! I want that apple crisp recipe!! I would go back.


Chocolate Weekend

4.6 on March 07, 2011

This was our 2nd time staying here, and Richard the proprieter is awesome. We brought our own dinner, and Richard put it in the oven for us while we were still on the wine trail. The breakfast and service for it were wonderful. The rooms have always been clean and in good condition.


An enjoyable and quiet stay

4.0 on February 27, 2011

We stayed at Birk's for a Valentine's Day getaway and enjoyed the hospitality and comfortable accomodations. Richard prepared a wonderful breakfast that included French toast, eggs, bacon, and fresh fruit.


Average

2.6 on February 15, 2011

Nice bed, but odor from bath tub faucet was bad. Breakfast was fine.


Good time in Hermann

3.2 on February 15, 2011

We recently stayed at the Herzog Mansion (formerly Birk's). We have a very nice time. The breakfast was great. The only negative was that our room was extremely warm. On a cool February night that's not too bad, but we only used the sheet on the bed to cover us. Would have opened the windows a bit, but couldn't. Beyond that, with the pool table and our friends we had a great time.


Great

4.0 on January 23, 2011

Though there wasn't a whole lot to do in Hermann in Jan. Richard was great at making us feel at home.


DESC weekend at Herzog mansion

3.8 on December 09, 2010

Our room was well lit, comfortable and the food was excellent.


Our Stay at the Herzog Mansion

4.6 on November 24, 2010

We had a very lovely time. The Inn Keeper was very helpful and interesting to talk with. Over all, a wonderful weekend. I would recommend the Herzog Mansion to anyone.


Nice stay at Birks (/Herzog Mansion)

3.6 on November 18, 2010

Had a nice quiet weekend. Richard was friendly and made a delicious breakfast. Very cool mansion, I especially liked the pool table and game room. Cozy and nice. Thanks for a good stay.


Great place

4.6 on November 16, 2010

Birks is an amazing place to stay. The atmosphere was so authentic and the food great. The only thing that detracted from the stay was the bathroom in our room - claw tub bath only, no shower. Looks great, but hard to get used to using.


Pleasant Octoberfest Stay

3.6 on October 18, 2010

Beautiful old home, pleasant accommodations.


Oktoberfest in Hermann at Birks Gasthaus

4.0 on October 06, 2010

Birks Gasthaus was a GREAT place to stay! I thought it was pretty pricy... All of the B&Bs raise their prices due to Oktoberfest... so it wound up being $345 for two nights in his smallest bedroom... so that was a drawback. It was very clean and Richard is VERY nice. The service was outstanding. The breakfast was incredible! I would definitely go back just to eat the breakfast! Overall, our stay was great. The room was a little small - but perfect for our needs. The other rooms I looked in were pretty big and some had fireplaces. I would definitely recommend this B&B.


Business Overnight

4.2 on September 17, 2010

This was a preview visit before another visit for business associates. I was very satisfied with everything. Hospitality was excellent.


Great stay!

4.4 on November 16, 2009

We stayed for one night this past weekend for my sister's 30th birthday. The rooms were very nice, and the bed was extremley comfortable. Staff was very nice and friendly, and breakfast the next morning was wonderful. Great little place to stay. Will return!


Octoberfest Visit

5 on October 24, 2009

My wife and I recently spent 2 nights at Birk's. It was great, quiet, and peaceful. Richard is a perfect host, provided just the right amount of suggestions without affecting our privacy. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and his breakfast choices were excellent. Would stay here again and recommend to a friend.


Clean and Quiet

5 on July 06, 2009

My wife and I recently stayed for three nights. This place is off the beaten path in a quiet residential neighborhood away from the main roads and railroad tracks but within easy walking distance of downtown. You won't have any trouble sleeping. The rooms are just as advertised in the web site. What you can't see is how clean they are. We were impressed. Richard, the innkeeper, is a well traveled and intelligent man that can converse on just about any subject. He is also laid back and has a good sense of humor. We spent several hours relaxing with him on the veranda swapping stories. Richard is also a very good cook. Breakfast was fantastic every morning and I know you will not go away hungry. We are planning a return visit this fall.


Extended Stay

5 on May 28, 2009

My company (Home Maintenace & Contracting Inc.) went to herman to do a job for a customer we have in St. Louis. We needed to stay for a week, the rooms were great, the bathrooms were clean and the service was great. I would highly recommend this B&B.


Great Gasthaus

5 on May 27, 2009

My wife and I recently traveled by train to Hermann and decided to stay at Birk's. The inkeeper, Richard, picked us up at the station and gave us a brief overview of Hermann on the way to the house.The house was as expected, high ceilings, transoms, large rooms, and a wonderful porch. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spotless. The bathroom had a big claw foot tub with a shower. Perhaps the best part of the stay was breakfast. Richard fixed a swiss cheese omelet with portabella mushrooms that was to die for and German (French) toast the next. I highly recommend Birk's if you're looking for a B & B in Hermann. We'll definitely be returning, maybe for a "murder mystery weekend".


Birk's was Outstanding!!

5 on November 15, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this fabulous B&B, where we felt so pampered. The bed was very nice and comfortable, the room was cleaned and the whole house was so inviting. Our gourmet breakfast was prepared by a real chef (DELICIOUS!) and you get lots of it. The hostess, Laura was so attentive and pleasant. I would definitely recommend Birk's to everyone!


Birk's is Fabulous!

5 on November 13, 2008

Me, my children, Mother-in-Law and grandmother decided to take a small family rail trip. The plan was to travel to Hermann, stay overnight, then travel on to other locations. The warmth of reception and atmosphere at Birk’s Gasthaus was so wonderful that we cancelled the rest of our travel plans and rearranged the schedule so that we could stay at Birk’s. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and spacious and the common areas welcoming. The best feature of Birk’s, though, is L., the owner/manager. She was all that is pleasant, accommodating and friendly. She made our stay absolutely delightful. As long as L. is there, we’ll be back!


New Year's Eve

4.2 on January 03, 2008

Wow, wasn't sure what to expect going to a b&b murder mystery on New Year's Eve but this was outstanding. We had fun meeting new people, and enjoying outstanding food and service. The house was amazing and the bed was extremely comfortable. Definitely will return.


Better than a home away from home.

4.4 on November 26, 2007

Rick and Diane are fabulous inn keepers. They make you feel at home from the minute you get there. The rooms are simple and comfortable - which I like. I find so many places to just be crammed with stuff and that isn't relaxing to me. The food is great - Rick even makes brownies in the evening and they are to die for. We stayed in room no. 3 and the claw foot tub was pure heaven, and the big bed was way more comfortable than my own. I would highly recommend this place for a visit to Hermann.


Hospitality

4.0 on October 12, 2007

Rick was a great host. We felt very welcome. Clean, comfortable. Recommended.


What More Can be Said???

5 on September 09, 2007

This was our second stay, and Birk's did not disappoint. Rick and Diane are excellent hosts. The room was large and comfortable, and the claw-foot tub an absolute delight! Rick's breakfast talents are awe-inspiring; the last time we had breakfast as good as this was during our last visit with Rick. This is a gem!


Birk's Gesthuas is the best!

5 on April 12, 2007

We just returned from a two-day stay at Birk's--a great B&B. Charming, immaculate rooms with oh-so-comfortable beds, warm and friendly hosts, reasonable pricing and breakfasts the gods would forsake their ambrosia for.


The rest of the story...

5 on March 27, 2007

We had a very comfortable stay with Rick & Dianne & were entertained & educated about Birk's Gasthaus & the surrounding area. It was great to stay in a real B&B; one that had more than 1 or 2 rooms & served a full breakfast instead of a bowl of fruit!


Great Stay

5 on February 18, 2007

Rick was very hospitable, even offering us some Great brownies after our winery tour. The room was great and this old mansion has some terrific charm. Oh and the breakfast was very good too. Thanks!


Birks Gasthaus

Details

  • Nightly Rate $95 - $175
  • Reviews (113) 4.3
  • Rooms 9
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5734862911
  • Fax 1-5734862911
  • Toll free 1-8887012495

Visit Website »

View details

Top