Hannibal Garden House Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
49 Reviews

Write A Review

great experience!

5 on October 13, 2012

This was our first ever experience with a bed and breakfast and we absolutely enjoyed this. The inn keepers were so nice and helpful. Really enjoyed learning about the history of them home they shared with us. Breakfast was fantastic! We will definately be returning our next trip to Hannibal. Thank you helping make our anniversary so special. Matt and Jenna Noah. Wentzville, MO


Wonderful place to stay

4.6 on August 06, 2012

to clarify the dining experience, if one walks a block down the street to Labinnah Bistro then you will have meals far exceeding your expectations as the two meals we had there were superb.


Perfect Respite

4.6 on May 07, 2012

My wife and I had been on the road two days and needed something "unmotel." So we found a room was a available at the Garden House B & B and booked it easily online. From the moment we were greeted through the farewell, we felt completely at ease and thoroughly enjoyed the quiet house and lovely flower gardens. And after nearly two weeks in New Orleans, we could not believe that we scored our best meal of the whole trip at LaBinnah Bistro, one block from the inn. Amazing.


Special Birthday Getaway

5 on December 05, 2011

I also booked a room at this b&b last minute. I was looking for a romantic birthday getaway. The host, Chris, was very accommodating with my reservation. He gave us a history of the house as well as a tour. He was very helpful in suggesting places for us to see and explore in Hannibal. His restaurant, LaBinnah, was excellent and I would recommend the stuffed chicken breast. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. It would be nice to have had a couple selections for breakfast, the only item I would have changed was the chocolate muffin for a blueberry. I would recommend to my friends stay here. Thanks Chris for the memorable experience!


Hannibal at its best

4.6 on September 20, 2011

The room was beautiful, decked out with period pieces from the Mark Twain era. Each of the rooms is furnished uniquely -- our had a canopy bed. The house itself is on the old "Millionaires' Row" and is high above the river. The owner "Chris" is congenial and has his head full of the history of Hannibal which he is willing to share. His introduction when we checked in provided the lay of the land. His discussions at breakfast (wholesome and tasteful) resulted in another tour of the main floor with insights to the various object d'art of local artists that favored the walls and presentation points. Recommending this one to friends.


Phenomenal!!!

5 on June 01, 2011

I booked a room at this b&b last minute. The host, Chris, was very accomadating with my reservation. He gave me the history of the house as well as the tour. He was very helpful in suggesting places for me to see and explore in Hannibal, Missouri. The room I stayed in was very comfortable and the breakfast was very tasty. I will stay at this bed and breakfast anytime I'm in the area and also recommend my friends stay here. Thanks guys for the wonderful experience!


Weekend in Hannibal

4.6 on May 16, 2011

Our stay at the Garden House Bed & Breakfast was as lovely as it was accomodating. The service was exceptional, the food was delicious, and the location was great. Not much of a view, but all-in-all a very comfortable, affordable, intimate stay.


very accommodating host

4.0 on December 02, 2010

I recommend this place for its terrific breakfast and exceedingly comfortable beds! Those who want private baths may not like shared arrangements here. In one room the TV did not work right, but we weren't there to watch TV! We were very impressed with the restaurant down the block--highly recommended.


Loved our stay!

5 on August 08, 2010

I wish we could've stayed more than just one night there, the place was elegant yet really comfy, full of interesting items but not cluttered. The food was definitely better than at any other B&B we've tried. A bonus was eating dinner at LaBinnah, a restaurant owned by Chris (who is also the amazing chef!), just down the street from Garden House. In the morning we talked with Chris and the other guests during and after breakfast for the longest time, he's so friendly and warm. Definitely a wonderful place to stay and I'd absolutely come back again!


I wish I could have stayed longer.

4.6 on July 16, 2010

The room was beautiful. The bed was oh so comfortable. There were cookies, candy, reading materials, dvds to watch, robes etc. Chris was very welcoming and accomodating. He gave the history of the house which I found very interesting. Breakfast was very good also with yogurt, berries, muffin and a tasty egg dish. Thanks!


A steamy summer night with Mark Twain

3.8 on July 01, 2010

While the front green space has a natural, wildflower, overgrown look and the exterior looks a bit sad, the interior, breakfast, and modern amenities make the Hannibal Garden House memorable. The 3-course breakfast on bone china was delicious and made us feel pampered. The brisk central air was a staple in the sweltering humidity and Hannibal heat. The host was knowledgeable and the hardcopy of Mark Twain quotes gave our stay exactly the local flavor we were looking for in a B&B. While the rooms are filled with an eccentric mix of furniture and loads of old magazines that can leave little room to maneuver, the decor is warm, welcoming and unique. Proximity to the River, historical district and Mark Twain sites make this B&B convenient.


Very Comfortable

4.0 on March 09, 2010

We stayed at the Garden House last night, just driving up from Mississippi on our way to Minnesota. My wife call on our cell phone as we left St. Louis to see about staying there. The gentleman on the phone gave us their website and we looked it up as we were driving. What a lovely place to spend the night! We arrived about 7pm. Our bed room was large and comfortable with a TV and wireless to our surprise. We were greeted at the door and immediately informed of where we were in Hannibal and the history of the area and house. We had a very restful evening and sleep, from our first 700 miles of the trip. Thanks to the internet on my wifes I-phone, we found our nights stay at the Garden House. A great place to visit!


What a treasure we found

5 on August 31, 2009

In our Missouri journeys, we stumbled upon the Hannibal Garden House, and what a treasure we found. We were greeted by the proprietor Chris, along with the aroma of freshly baked cookies …the place had fresh cut garden flowers and roses to make the rooms so alive. The home was spotless yet comfortable to cuddle on the sofa and slip away to a different centuryy! The breakfast was scrumptious… Robust Mediterranean Fraitta, baked muffins, freshly made juices, and all served on beautiful Victorian dishes. Everyone was very informative on the area and brought new ideas of fun things to do while we were there. We absolutely loved our time staying at the Garden House, and it will live forever in our hearts as we relive the wonderful memories for years to come.


Hannibal Garden House B & B

4.6 on August 30, 2009

Chris and Arif are gracious hosts. We used the house as our base during our two days of sightseeing in Hannibal. The food was delicious, the room was very comfortable and affordable, and location is very convenient to all the attractions in downtown Hannibal. We hope to return sometime in the near future.


Very friendly

4.0 on August 23, 2009

The room was lovely, the food excellent, and the people very friendly. What more could one want?


Garden House B & B, Hannibal MO

4.8 on August 23, 2009

Very nice weekend stay, took advantage of last minute booking special, very comforatble room, nice house, with two parlors ffro sitting, front porch, very close to downtown Hannibal, Mark Twain Museum and historic sites, Missippi River Front, river boat dock. Innkeeper was very informative of the history of the house and area, weekend trip from Western MO to Hannibal


Hannibal Garden House Bed and Breakfast

5 on August 20, 2009

Excellent, the food was outstanding, atmosphere wonderful. It made our anniversary very special.


Excellent

5 on July 28, 2009

Everything was excellent. We really enjoyed our stay here along with the history that gave ambiance to our experience.


First but not the last stay

5 on July 18, 2009

Quick and very easy to find on short notice for quick get away and great price and room and Breakfast was great


Good Hannibal Value

3.0 on July 15, 2009

This place is affordable based on B&B rates in Hannibal Area. Book this B&B using short term notice and receive $79 rate. Otherwise, full rate $125.00+ would be very dissapointing. This B&B other than the historic building doesn't offer much more than any average hotel. Close to downtown & shops location 3 small town blocks. For the money, I would have no problem staying here again. Our room did not have have a private bath in the room... it was down the hall past two other rooms.


Garden House

4.2 on April 16, 2009

Owners friendly, helpful, enthusiastic. Appreciated sensible amount and delicious food! Beds outstandingly comfy!


Warm and Hospitable

4.0 on February 10, 2009

My friend and I had a great time in Hannibal and enjoyed the hospitality, conversation and historical info during our stay at the Garden House. The breakfast presentation was absolutely fabulous and the food was excellent! Spent time in the historic district and did some shopping. Great shops! Lots to explore! Can't wait to return. Only disappointment -- we didn't meet Albert, the young man who built the home and often makes surprise appearances in the hallway. C & K


Hannibal Garden house

4.6 on November 11, 2008

interesting and fun!


excellent time

4.6 on November 05, 2008

The owner and his assistant were delightful and very helpful. Breakfast were outstanding. Bathrooms are shared. Location within a few blocks of downtown.


feels like home

5 on November 03, 2008

quiet area, great scenery. would love to come again


hey, hey, hey, great place!

5 on November 03, 2008

I love this place! Will recommend to everyone!


great Victorian

5 on November 03, 2008

rooms are bigger than expected. breakfast was great. hosts are interesting, also.


one of the best B&Bs I've ever been to!

5 on November 03, 2008

great service and hospitality


great place to stay

5 on November 03, 2008

Garden House has a historian feel. lots to learn.


Our wedding

5 on October 31, 2008

Our wedding here was wonderful. Breakfast was great. We plan to return.


Outstanding B&B

5 on October 14, 2008

Outstanding and beautiful B&B.


Beautiful Gardens

5 on October 14, 2008

Excellent bed and breakfast!


Great Victorian B&B

5 on September 12, 2008

Hannibal is a great little weekend getaway, and the Garden House is the perfect spot to set up base. Located in the heart of Hannibal, We were a short walk to main street, The Twain Museum, and most of the other major attractions in town. The Innkeepers Chris and Arif were warm and hospitable, and always willing to share a story or two on the spirit that roams the establishment. We stayed in the East Room that is supposedly one of the most haunted rooms in the house. There's no reason to stay at a crummy motel or hotel in Hannibal.


Garden House Bed and Breakfast

4.6 on September 09, 2008

Nice stay, good food. Great hospitality.


Garden House Bed and Breakfast

4.8 on September 09, 2008

The Garden House is delightful. It is located close to everything in Hannibal.


First Class B&B

4.6 on September 02, 2008

Great old house with friendly staff. Fresh cut flowers everywhere! House has great character. Bed was so comfortable! Easy walking to food, shopping and historic attractions. Highly recommended! We'll be back!


Wow!

4.8 on August 27, 2008

Wonderful two night. Stay here in Hannibal with Chris and Arif, my hosts. French toast was simply delicious!


Great visit

4.0 on August 17, 2008

I had a last minute stay at this B&B on my way to Canada. I was the only one on a weeknight and really enjoyed the visit with the innkeeper. Great breakfast and loved the location. Not a huge fan of sharing bathrooms, but being the only one, it was fine. Would definately stay again.


Vacation

3.6 on August 05, 2008

The stay met and exceeded my expectations.


fabulous atmosphere and hospitality

5 on July 22, 2008

My family (husband, teenage daughter and I) recently stayed a the Garden Inn B&B in Hannibal. It was a wonderful old house, with history and atmosphere, hosted by warm, informed and gracious hosts (Chris and Arif). It was romantic and funky all at the same time and the breakfasts were amazing.


Garden House

4.2 on July 09, 2008

Our hosts were delightful and we enjoyed meeting the other guests.


Great Place

3.8 on June 20, 2008

this is a great place to stay


Beautiful Garden

4.8 on June 20, 2008

Great visit to Hannibal for my boyfriend & I. Their gardens were just fabulous. We stayed 3 nights. Our hosts were hospitable. Plan to return.


A wonderful Get-Away!

5 on June 15, 2008

I had a wonderful stay at this B&B. The Turkish breakfast was outstanding! I did not want to leave.


great

4.6 on June 04, 2008

great service, great food, and great hosts! loved the feather bed!


great hosts

5 on April 09, 2008

My four sisters and I had the good foutune to stay at the Garden House two weekends ago. We had no idea that the Folk Festival was that weekend as well. It was a special treat. Staying both nights we met a few new friends at the breakfast table. both mornings. We are all tea drinkers and our hosts set out interesting teas from around the world, especially the Turkish tea to compliment our breakfasts.. We were pleasantly surprised by their foreign student from Turkey who served us breakfast, Arif. His stories about his homeland and his schooling in the States to become a teacher were intriguing. Our bedrooms were perfect as they ajoined one another so we could visit in private. All of us had the best time visiting and relaxing here. Next time we plan on bringing our husbands along!


great Victorian B&B

5 on April 08, 2008

Our weekend getaway was wonderful and relaxing. We just felt like we were home. Loved the ghost stories and our East Room location, especially the warm feather bed. Would love to come back and will tell all our friends to come to the Garden House. Food was amazing and the conversations even better! We recommend this get away.


Garden House B&B.

3.6 on September 21, 2007

This Inn exceeded my expectations.


Great find

4.6 on September 14, 2007

We traveled home from a 10 day business trip!! Enjoyed the history & ghost stories!


Hannibal Garden House Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $89 - $139
  • Reviews (49) 4.6
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5732217800
  • Fax 1-5732217800
  • Toll free 1-8664237800

Visit Website »

View details

Top