Hungry Point Inn Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
61 Reviews

Write A Review

Great Weekend

5 on May 07, 2014

We had such an amazing time at the Hungry Point Inn. Merriam is so welcoming that you feel like part of her family. I can't say enough about the food, it was so good that you want all to have all her recipes.


Great Place for Anniversary Get-Away

5 on March 16, 2014

Husband and I spend a night in the Queen Anne Room...the room was great, wood burning fireplace was really nice, and the bathroom was awesome! Heart shaped hot tub, rain shower...perfect after snowboarding. Meeting Merriam was a delight too, and her breakfast was REALLY good, with her own eggs from the chickens she raised. Way better than the stuff we get in the city. Her dog is super cute too, hope to visit again.


Great night out in the country!

5 on February 04, 2014

We had originally reserved one of the cheaper rooms for a Fri night stay, and were called by the Inn to say there was an issue with that room, and could they offer us another room at the same price? We got the Queen Anne room for 149/night!!! The owner was very nice, showing us all the features of the room, how to make sure we had hot water for showers (since the boiler is in the basement and we are on the 2nd floor). Was a wonderful room to come back to after dinner and a play. The wood burning fire place was great ambiance for a cold winter's night in MN. Breakfast was served at 9am the next morning by candle light in the old style kitchen. We ate off of metal plates. The food was wonderful, plentiful, and the owner was great company after breakfast. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who will be in the area!


Hungry Point Inn

4.2 on January 15, 2014

everything was great, a bit expensive though


New Years Eve

4.2 on January 05, 2014

Awesome 18th century decor. Very nice bathroom facilities. Extremely friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. There are no signs telling you that you are there so it was a little confusing once we arrived. I will go back. Maybe next time try the room with the fireplace.


Wonderful Log Cabin!

4.8 on December 28, 2013

The cabin is very authentic and private. Terrific breakfast! We've been there many times.


Hungry Point Inn is Lovely

5 on November 21, 2013

We loved Merriam's place, very romantic, beautiful and quaint. We had our very own fireplace in our room. LOVE! The hearth in the great room is absolutely amazing. And all the antiques are true to the setting. Breakfast is delightfully delicious. I would return tonight if I could!


Heaven on Earth

5 on November 13, 2013

Hungry Point Inn is the most amazing, peaceful romantic place ever!! Take a step back in time and enjoy the 180's decor; listen to the wind howl outside as a fire crackles in the enormous fireplace, and listen to your hostess stories as she keeps you riveted for hours!! We so enjoyed our stay and cannot wait to go back!! Our angelic hostess was absolutely wonderful and her cooking was phenomenal!!! Trust me--if you want a special quiet place to relax and get away from it all--Hungry Point Inn is the place to go!!!


Totally amazing!!!!

5 on November 11, 2013

Simply theee best!!!! Marian is an amazing host! Massage was a great perk to our stay as well!!


Hungry Point Inn

5 on September 14, 2013

A wonderful place to relax and enjoy a time passed when life was simpler.


The beautiful wedding.

4.4 on September 05, 2013

We had a lovely wedding for our son and his new wife at the Hungry Point Inn. Merriam went out of her way to make it special and help find a minister and caterer. We had a fun time by the fire later on in the night and the morning brunch was fantastic. She accommodated our grandson who is vegetarian which he really appreciated. The wonderful caramel rolls the family is still taking about! For a lovely, bucolic setting with no outside intrusions, this is the place to go and relax.


slice of history

4.0 on September 03, 2013

we so enjoyed our stay in the cottage(coming from a city girl)...............early morning coffee on the outdoor chairs...,feeding the rabbits and horses and the amazing breakfast. Best part was our hostess Merriam............so enjoyed our morning conversations.


Hungry Point Inn

4.8 on August 29, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay that this wonderful B&B just last weekend. We are definitely hoping to come back and spend 2 nights, not just a single night next time. The location is wonderful, as it truly transports you away from all the hustle and bustle of life, and back to a simplier time. The inn itself is an amazing early American style home...absolutely beautiful. The breakfast was delicious and way more than enough food...and the caramel rolls were wonderful!


Great breakfast

4.8 on August 15, 2013

The location is nice and quiet. The host was wonderful and the breakfast was fantastic! Our room door had no latch, but didn't cause us any worry. Would definitely go back.


Unbelievable!

4.8 on July 24, 2013

Loved the place. My wife and I were attending a show at Treasure Island and decided to stay in Welch. This was the only place still available. We just loved it. It was so peaceful and serene. The owner was very friendly and sociable. We will definitely be going back for a romantic getaway!


Our 5th anniversary

4.0 on July 10, 2013

My husband really enjoyed our stay at the Hungry Point Inn. We had been there two years ago and fell in love with the beautiful property and the cozy comfortable room as well. The horses and sheep brought both of us back to our childhood excitement of animals. The quaint room was easy to fall asleep in and the joining bathroom was so luxurious. The Claw foot tub was so inviting I had enjoy it both nights. The Hungry Point Inn is so perfectly located close between the Twin Cities and only 15 minutes from Red Wing, MN, one the cutest tourist cities in Minnesota. What made our second trip so special was the same reason our first time was so special, and that is because the innkeeper, Merriam. Merriam's sweet smile and laid back personality made it very easy to talk with and feel comfortable around. She had a way of striking up a conversation with you that was funny, educational, and encouraging. She also had the perfect timing of when to let you have your space and not intrude on your time there. The rooms were so clean and the attention to detail was great. Breakfast was very filling and tasty. We loved our second time at the Hungry Point Inn just as much or more than our first. We will most likely be coming back in the near future. Sara & Caleb Shipley


Anniversary at Hungry Point

5 on June 03, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay. The only problem is it was for only one evening!


Wonderful

5 on April 15, 2013

Perfect getaway. It will feel as if you traveled back in time. Merriam is the kindest, friendliest, wittiest, intelligent- individual you will meet in a long time. We are definitely going back. Do yourself a favor and enjoy the hospitality and the best caramel rolls.. EVER!!!


Secluded Colonial Get-away

4.4 on April 09, 2013

A B&B with character in the architecture, furnishings and Merriam our host. A very quiet remote-feeling location high on a bluff. The house is furnished with colonial period antiques. Its like visiting George Washington's Mount Vernon in Virginia. George's bedroom was a bit small but has a very comfortable bed. The near-by bath had both a tub and a fancy custom shower. Merriam is warm and friendly making us a wonderful, generous, full traditional bacon and egg breakfast with wonderful fresh baked cinnamon buns. We chose to engage in long conversation with Merriam and plan to visit our new friend again.


A Step Back in Time

5 on March 01, 2013

We loved the real wood fireplace and all the antique decor. A perfect getaway from the busy world that we live in.


Go for the breakfast if nothing else!

3.6 on February 06, 2013

Wonderful setting, peaceful and so close to the Twin Cities! The breakfast in front of the hearth was superb.


Peaceful, Relaxing Weekend

5 on November 14, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in this unique home. Merriam is a warm and delightful host. We can't wait to come back. Garry & Tami


Great place to getaway!

3.4 on October 28, 2012

Hungry Point Inn was a great getaway experience. The property was nestled at the end of a private neighborhood, on 39 acres. Very quiet and beautiful surroundings. We were in the George Washington room in the back of the main house, with an adajent bathroom (not connected). The bed was comfy, however not a room in which to 'hang out' as there was only one 'sitting' chair. The bathroom was spacious with a tub and seperate 'rainfall' shower. We didn't get a chance to use the balcony off of the bathroom as it was too cold, but would have been a nice additional space. Merriam, the innkeeper, was a delight! She is an amazing cook - both mornings, completely different menus and fabulous food. She is full of great stories and suggestions for what to do in the area. She is a very hard worker and benefits from the help she does receive. Her dog and cats are within a seperate area of the main living area but are very friendly/approachable. She also has sheep and chickens which you can visit. Overall, definitely worth the money - great B&B experience and very close to major roads/areas (very close to Red Wing and the casino). Dirt/gravel road for some of the journey up to the house as a FYI. Has WiFi (very good connection).


Wonderful Breakfast!

4.4 on October 24, 2012

My husband and I had a lovely time last weekend at the Hungry Point Inn. We enjoyed the Colonial setting which was so authentic that our host, Merriam, even dressed the part. The room was cozy, the bed extremely comfortable and the shower amazing. The best part was the wonderful breakfast each morning. We stayed two nights and after the first breakfast I couldn't imagine it getting any better, but it did. Merriam is a lovely host who took a little time to sit down and chat after the meal. Its a perfect setting for a weekend away!


Loved the Borning Room!!

4.4 on October 10, 2012

This place is beautiful in October. The wood fire place was quite cozy & the room was enchanting. There were two new baby sheep near the barn, so sweet. Delicious breakfast. Overall, lovely place to escape and recharge.


awesome, unique history b&b

5 on October 10, 2012

Had a great time. Great property secluded in a very quiet area. Owner was wonderful, best homemade breakfast EVER! she wad very friendly and shared many stories about the history around the breakfast table. We also met 3 wonderful families also. Highly recommend.


Log Cabin

2.6 on September 27, 2012

Lovely grounds. Do not expect a kitchen as offered for the log cabin. Expensive.


Cool property, nice hostess, great escape from the city

4.0 on September 17, 2012

My husband and I were a little creeped out driving through the back woods at sundown to find this place in the almost-dark, but once we got our bearings and settled in, the place was very comfortable and homey. It was exactly what we needed--close enough to go into town for dinner, but a bit off-the-beaten path and surrounded by lots and lots of trees. I really felt like I was getting back to nature. The hostess is a sweet, chatty lady who made us feel right at home. Her breakfast was excellent--tasty homemade cinnamon rolls, bacon, and so much more. We'd come again. I think the log cabin would be a fun place to stay with some friends during a ski weekend, or maybe with my sister and her kids. There was plenty of space indoor and out, lots of board games in the cabin, and some fire pits in the yard. I almost feel like we have to come back just because we didn't take advantage of all that!


Interesting

3.4 on August 29, 2012

This was a very unique and interesting location. Breakfast was excellent and the experience was well worth it!


Best B & B around...

5 on July 29, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Hungry Point Inn four times now and we absolutely love it there. There is no greater place to get away and relax than this magical place. I highly recommend to anyone looking for a beautiful, special bed and breakfast. Be prepared to take a step back into time, as this turn of the century cottage is one special place.....The food is INCREDIBLE and Merriam is the kindest, most welcoming host one could ask for. HIGHLY recommended.


The BEST B & B!

5 on July 15, 2012

Hungry Point Inn - relaxing, beautiful country setting, an innkeeper who caters to the individual and most of all a serene atmosphere. The rooms are beautiful, clean and most of all welcoming and inviting. Merriam strives to make everything special for each individual. She is truly one of a kind! I love Hungry Point Inn as a getaway to the country in a charming house full of beautiful antiques and the BEST breakfast in the morning. You will not be disappointed!


Beautiful!

5 on June 20, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed for two nights. It was great. The inn keeper is one in a million. Such a sweet lady. Highly recommend . Breakfast was amazing,you will not leave the table hungry that's for sure. We will definitely return again.


fantastic relaxing atmospere

4.6 on May 09, 2012

Hungry Point Inn is the best B&B we have ever been to. The colonial decor, the fantastic food and the delightful personality of the owner made it our future go to B&B. It truly made us feel as though we were getting to experience early american life at it's best. Thanks Merriam for a memorable weekend. Sincerely, K. Wells


Remarkable Hungry Point Inn

4.6 on April 19, 2012

Merriam Last, the Innkeeper for this establishment is delightful. She is an excellent resource for her guests with regard to visiting points of interests, restaurants, and local shops. Her morning breakfast is fabulous and it is a special treat to learn about the colonial antiques in her home. We stayed in the refurbished 135 year-old log cabin which is a very unique experience, but amazingly comfortable.


Lovely weekend

5 on February 08, 2012

Restful quiet time, great food, very accommodating hostess. Authentic antiques. Close to good restaurants. Hostess is wonderful, very welcoming


Hungry Point Inn

3.4 on November 29, 2011

Real fireplace was very nice, room was very roomy and updated. Great shower and hard wood floors.


Colonial Style Bed and Breakfast

5 on November 26, 2011

This colonial style bed and breakfast will provide a cozy and comfortable stay in both the log cabin and the rooms in the main house. The log cabin has a kitchen that is completely equipped with a stove, refrigerator, and microwave oven. Other amenities include a jacuzzi, bath tub, and at least three beds. Rooms in the main house are beautifully furnished and include private baths, walk in showers, and a jacuzzi bath included with the Queen Anne room. The homemade breakfast is generous and is served in the lovely, spacious dining room in the main house.


Hungry Point Inn Welch MN

4.0 on October 19, 2011

we stayed 10/14-16/2011 and enjoyed our room and the breakfasts were excellent with a lot of food served! merriam (owner) and dawn were very nice and helpful and a joy to visit with. Very interesting.


Beautiful Bed and Breakfast

4.0 on October 17, 2011

Beautiful location, atmosphere. Lovely rooms. Breakfast were delicious. A very pleasant place for some time away.


Great food, fun host, beautiful grounds

3.6 on October 12, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Hungry Point Inn. The Hostess was knowledgable about the area and knows how to pull out all of the stops when she makes breakfast! WOW! It is delicious and filling. All of the antiques make the home feel like you've stepped back in time, but I think a few new chairs or couches (made to look old) would be a good addition for guests to feel comfortable sitting, visiting and enjoying the house.


family pulls together...

5 on July 18, 2011

this was our 4th stay at the hungry point and it was different because he inn keeper was not at the b and b but recovering from a bad and very recent fall. her family and helper all pulled together and helped us to still be able to stay and enjoy our time at the inn. it was as lovely and beautiful as always, but we sure did miss our host. lovely lady, hope she is back to full strength soon!


Wonderful find!

4.6 on May 29, 2011

It's a very comfortable home and the grounds are wonderful. We stayed there May 17th and there were many species of warblers right outside the home. Breakfast was fabulous. Excellent coffee, fresh fruit salad, scrambled eggs, cheesy potatoes, cinnamon rolls to die for!


Awesome!

4.8 on April 02, 2011

I like the place, particularly the quiet rural environment. There are many "outdated" things in the house that people living in city may have never seen. And the owner is outstandingly nice.


Outstanding Stay!

5 on April 01, 2011

4th visit to Hungry Point Inn, never disappointed. Great service. Mark


A wonderful get away!

5 on February 16, 2011

My husband and I spent a lovely weekend at the Hungry Point Inn. It is beautifully decorated, very clean, and full of colonial charm. The room was perfect and had a new bath, a wood burning fireplace and the most comfortable bed we've ever slept on away from home. The breakfast served on both mornings was homemade , ample and delicious. The proprietor was friendly, helpful and a pleasure to work with. Finally, the setting near farms, woods, wildlife and away from the crowds was so peaceful. We will visit again and I highly recommend this B & B.


Fun History

4.0 on February 09, 2011

Great get away weekend and wonderful hostess. The combination of antiques and modern facilities was perfect. The food was very good. The only surprise was having to leave our room to go into our private bathroom, but we were at the end of the house, so no one was ever in our end of the hallway, so it still felt private.


The Perfect Getaway

4.6 on January 28, 2011

My husband and I went to the the Hungry Point Inn for our Anniversary. We were looking for a quiet, peaceful place to getaway from it all. This was the perfect setting to do just that. We rented out the log cabin, which is within walking distance from the main house. The log cabin is over a century old--it has a small kitchen, eating area, sitting room with a gas burning fireplace, another entire sitting room, and a whirlpool room on the main level. Upstairs is a loft type room with 2 beds, (small tv w/ DVD player) a bathroom with a shower/tub, and another bedroom with 2 beds. It surprised me how much room was in the cabin and especially the upstairs. We were very pleased with the decor-- old world anitiques, wood planked floors, and centry style furnishings. We did have quite a few lady bugs visit us, but it wasn't a cleanliness problem--the cabin was very clean and tidy! We were greeted by Merriam and visited with her for a few minutes and invited to breakfast at the main house each morning at 9. Breakfast was amazing, each morning Merriam would serve us a fantastic array of goodies and it was the perfect start to the day!! Merriam is a gem of a host and is easy and wonderful to visit with. The main house where breakfast is served, is also beautifully decorated, with numerous wood burning fireplaces. The keeping room where we ate had a fabulous (HUGE) fireplace. We toured all the rooms and I would be pleased staying in any of them. Hungry Point Inn is very close to Red Wing, and we caught a movie and went antiquing in Red Wing. If you have questions about where to shop or what to do Merriam is a wealth of knowledge. We saw deer tracks right outside the cabin door after a snowy evening. Wild life is around which just makes this place all the more welcoming. We don't normally seek out B&B's, but we are so happy that we did for this stay. It truly was a getaway! This is just what we were seeking, and would do the trip again in a heartbeat!


Wonderful find!

5 on November 09, 2010

This place was amazing. Even the houses around it were made to look like they all came from the same time period. The food was excellent and the lady who ran the place was the sweetest person ever.


Weekend Getaway

4.6 on October 18, 2010

We had a fabulous time at Hungry Point Inn. We were super excited about the fireplace in the room and were even more excited that the weather was cool enough and that we got to use it. The Inn was extremely charming and very relaxing. It was set out in the country so it was out of the way from teh general traffic, but yet near enough to the acitivities and sights so that it was accessible. Our Innkeeper, Merriam, was wonderful and super adorable in her period dress when breakfast was served. The breakfast was absolutely stunning and delightful. The baked goods were some of the best we have ever had. It was a wonderful weekend and we would recommend Hungry Point Inn to anyone looking for a little different take on a Bed and Breakfast.


great get-away

4.8 on September 23, 2010

loved chatting with merriam; wonderful food; fabulous area to explore


Merriam's B&B

3.6 on September 01, 2010

Other than Merriam 'yelling' at us for not being patient when we rang the door bell twice, the stay at Hungry Point was great. It's a little pricey but the breakfast was incredible, the room clean and comfortable and the remodeled bathroom was great. Merriam is a great host and we enjoyed our stay.


Time in New England

4.8 on April 20, 2010

I've stayed at bed and breakfasts before but this one by far was the best. Carmel rolls fresh out of the oven. MMM Room was beautiful and the grounds the house was on was like going to New England. Definitely going back again!.


wonderful experience!

4.8 on May 19, 2009

The accommodations were one of a kind. Her attention to detail and hospitality was tremendous!


Hungry Point Inn

4.0 on March 03, 2009

We had a fabulous stay at the inn after a day of skiing.


take me away

4.4 on February 20, 2009

I titled my review that way because that's exactly how I felt. Transported to a different era, taken care of and spoiled. The lodging is beautiful and full of wonderful antiques and the breakfast is to die for! I would definitely recommend it to my friends!


Amazing

5 on February 20, 2009

Excellent food, very traditional colonial era.


Outstanding

5 on February 20, 2009

Perfect, peaceful, like staying in a Colonial museum.


Peaceful Getaway

5 on July 01, 2008

I felt like I was stepping into history as I entered this beautiful B&B. Wonderful antiques decorate each colonial style room. My fiance and I thought our room was romantic and peaceful, and we loved our large private bath. The innkeeper was delightful to talk to: friendly, funny and informative. We thought her breakfasts were scrumptious from the homemade coffee cake, to the bacon and eggs, and the largest and most gooey cinnamon rolls ever. We'll be back!


Hidden Treasure

4.8 on October 07, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this delightful inn. We loved the stepped-back-in-time feel of this place. The host was a joy to visit with. The food was scrumptious. We have been recommending this to friends and plan to return ourselves.


What a Place!

5 on September 04, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Inn in the Cottage for our 13th Wedding anniversary. We loved it so much we returned three weeks later with our 9 and 7 year old who had so much fun. The Inn keeper is an excellent host, great cook, and wonderful person. It felt like we were on a great visit to Grandma's house. She offers, peace, quiet, and relaxation! We can't wait to return when the snow is on the ground!


Romantic getaway

4.2 on August 20, 2007

This was not what we had expected when we arrived, but it definetly turned into a far more relaxing and peaceful vacation from reality than we would have ever dreamed. It was like a piece of history in the woods--- with an incredibly relaxing whirlpool. The owner was a delight to talk with and learn about all of the wonderful antiques throughout the house. A definite recommendation to anyone that would like to feel the peace and relaxation of a small part of history.


Hungry Point Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $149 - $229
  • Reviews (61) 4.5
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6514373660

Visit Website »

View details

Top