Water Street Inn Reviews

Overall
4.0

View details

  • Guest room3.9
  • Service4.1
  • Value3.8
  • Cleanliness4.0
  • Dining4.0

Score Breakdown based on
142 Reviews

Write A Review

Perfect Romantic Getaway

5 on November 26, 2013

From the time we walked into the hotel until the time we left everyone was delightfully pleasant and clearly committed to making our stay "one of a kind." First stay and will definitely be back. The room faced the St. Croix River and Lift Bridge. Absolutely breathtaking display of lights sparkling off the water as night fell. Room was pleasant with fireplace and tub. Bed was very comfortable. All around, clean and interestingly decorated. Dinner was exquisite and brunch was the best as it had so many healthy options-generally not the case. Thank you for a memorable experience.


Just OK...

2.6 on October 15, 2013

We stayed street side which was fine, but the wallpaper was peeling, the chairs were uncomfortable and the TV was ancient. I did not come to Stillwater to sit or watch TV, but for the price we paid it should have been nicer. Also, the free cup of coffee just isn't enough. We could have stayed in a nice B&B for less money and gotten way more. We did love the location.


A Nice Night Get Away

4.0 on September 05, 2013

Passing through the area and took in this delightful bed-n-breakfast. Had great Irish musicians on the patio! Charming room close the city shops. Enjoyed the patio too. Thank you for a refreshing experience!


bit overprived for quality

3.0 on August 06, 2013

I love Stillwater and all it has to offer. Was very disappointed in quality of room. While the 2 room suite was very spacious and main bed fairly cushy, the Murphy bed was about as comfortable as sleeping on the floor. The bathroom was lacking a floor mat, wallpaper peeling and bathtub/shower needing desperately to be re-caulked. For the weekend rate paid for 1 night, I expected top notch quality. That being said, the location is IDEAL for an evening out on the town and the staff very accommodating.


NIce stay in historic setting with stunning location

4.2 on July 11, 2013

We had a wonderful stay for 2 nights in the Lovely Water Street Inn. We had a room to the street (not riverside) which was quite fine. Lovely bed and bathroom, attentive service and a stuning location. We followed the Scandinavian heritage trail to St Croix, Taylor Falls, Lindstrom etc and Stillwater was the perfect place to do this from. Nice small-Town size but service and aray of restos as a much bigger city. European feel to some of the restaurants but as Always in US greater service! Birgitta & Sven from Sweden


Friday night getaway

4.0 on June 03, 2013

Had a great night . Dinner was excellent service great. Popped extra for a balcony room . Glad we did. Will come back again. Breakfast was wonderful. Got to eat outside.


A great break from reality.

5 on May 03, 2013

We so enjoyed our one night with the Inn. very comfortable and quiet staff was very good and our dinner was excellent Couldn't ask for more. THANKS


Weekend stay in Stillwater

3.6 on April 23, 2013

I had a great time in Stillwater over the weekend. Thanks for everything. Brunch was fantastic.


Historic Rooms

4.4 on April 20, 2013

My room was amazing with high ceilings, fireplace, balcony and comfy bed. Room service delivered two dinners which were outstanding. I was very pleased with my 3 day stay!!


Enjoyed my stay

3.2 on April 04, 2013

First time visiting Stillwater and had a wonderful time! My stay at Water Street Inn was great. I received good customer service, loved my room and the view that came along with it. The staff was efficient, nice and friendly.


Lovely Weekend

4.2 on April 02, 2013

We came for a one night stay over Easter weekend, on a vacation "package" through TravelZoo. The value of the package was exceptional! Food at dinner and Easter brunch was exceptional. Easter brunch was a bit difficult to maneuver just because of the sheer number of guests, I'm sure a "normal" weekend Sunday brunch would be wonderful. We loved the charm and beauty of this historic site, the decor of the rooms definiately fit the time period that the hotel was built - and they were beautiful. The bed was older, and a bit creaky. Otherwise no trouble with the room at all. The view of the river and bridge is outstanding, I look forward to returning when the hillside is green and the river is flowing.


A Great Getaway

4.0 on March 29, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at Water Street Inn. This time our stay included dinner, brunch and drinks for 2. The suite was beautiful with antique/reproduction Victorian furnishings, fireplace and a jacuzzi. Our dinner and brunch were delicious with just enough choices on the menu. Your staff was very helpful, friendly and enjoyable to talk with. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to return.


Water Street Inn Bed & Breakfast

4.4 on March 05, 2013

We loved our stay. The Victorian Room was so beautiful! Excellent food both for Dinner Saturday night and Sunday Brunch! We very much enjoyed our stay. Staff was very friendly.


Step back in time....

4.0 on February 03, 2013

Being an "old soul," one who loves the Victorian age, and whose home is all late 1800s antique, a two-night getaway to Water Street Inn fit me perfectly! The hotel and our room were beautiful, the reproduction furniture so lovely; the fireplace was so cozy for our sub-zero January stay; the wallpaper, wall lamps, and sitting area so reminiscent of that step back in time. The bathroom was built into what was once a vault, and was huge, with lovely arced ceiling--the only thing modern being the large jacuzzi! Of course the setting in old town Stillwater with all its antique shops is fitting to the whole back in time experience. We intend to make this our twice a year romantic getaway!


Great

5 on December 18, 2012

We loved our stay! The hotel staff was very nice and the food was delightful!


Excellent Stay!

3.8 on December 13, 2012

We had a great stay, room was clean and very nice. And we had a very nice breakfast the next morning with a very good server!


What a great getaway!

4.8 on November 28, 2012

This was our second one-night getaway to this lovely old hotel and we hope to return. We love the quiet charm and decor that reminds us of what we imagine were less-hurried days--but with rooms updated to include a hot tub and fireplace. The restaurant and Irish pub make it possible to "settle in and stay put." While an entire weekend would be better (more time to explore the many shops and stops in historic Stillwater!), even a single night allows us to return to the hustle-bustle of our lives with a fresher, more relaxed perspective.


Special Birthday

5 on November 26, 2012

While this Inn is only 15 miles from our home is one of the best we have ever stayed at!!


Our Favorite Hotel In Minnesota!!!!

5 on November 20, 2012

The Waterstreet Inn is officially our FAVORITE hotel in Minnesota. It's terribly romantic and friendly. The rooms are always elegant, clean and comfortable. The staff is some of the friendliest I have ever seen. The food in the restaurant is superb. We can't wait for our next visit!


Veteran's stay

4.6 on November 15, 2012

Thank you so very much for honoring the Veteran's with accomodations on Veteran's Day. We had a wonderful stay and our room was beautiful. We had a great relaxing night and just can't thank you enough!!!


Nice Get Away

4.8 on October 29, 2012

Very nice. Loved the fireplace and the large living area. Close to shopping, restaurants etc... Bed was a little hard but enjoyed the stay.


Charming but lacking

3.6 on October 25, 2012

Nice room and view, good service and food, but the bed was terrible. Even a nice mattress pad would help greatly. Room could use some TLC!


Anniversary Getaway

3.6 on October 04, 2012

My husband and I had our wedding reception at the Water Street Inn 9 years ago (different name and owners at the time) so when we saw a nice Groupon come up a few weeks before our anniversary we were pretty excited to return. Our experience was good, not amazing. It was nice to sit on the patio by the river and have a drink when we arrived however the tables and seating outside were very beat up. I had to change chairs as the one I was sitting in was cracked and was pinching me. I saw several others that were cracked in the same way. Our dinner in the restaurant was wonderful. We had great service with a fun server and the food was really good. Most of the place, especially what we saw of the guest rooms, need a lot of TLC. The rooms are cute and cozy on first look and the beds and bathrooms seemed clean. We saw stains on the ceiling and a piece of ceiling actually falling down. The area around the soaking tub looked like it had suffered some water damage and repaired poorly. Other than the bed, which was not particularly comfortable, there was no other comfortable seating in the room- only four small upright chairs. Our breakfast was fine but nothing great-both the service and the food was mediocre.


Fake, not clean, expensive historic hotel !!!!

1.4 on September 03, 2012

Every thing is fake !!!, bad quality copy!! second bed was coach bed full of dust, pillow dirty.... main bed frame broken, smell dirty we tried to speak with manager it was not possible , he was supposed re call us ...never happend .... $ 349 for 3 adultes for a night !!! They are lot of other hotel in Stillwater so make the goog choice ....


Anniversary Getaway

4.6 on August 05, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderfully relaxing and elegant stay in a Vault room. The food was served so well and the staff was very attentive. We loved our room - history and charm, with a modern comfy bed and a great soaking tub. The view and lighting by the river were magical and romantic. Thanks for the lovely getaway.


awesome. multiple stays

5 on July 01, 2012

My wife and I have stayed numerous times and will be back much more this summer. Staff is great, rooms are large, views are awesome, and the food is by far the best in stillwater.


Great Birthday Gift

4.8 on June 13, 2012

I took my wife here for her birthday and we had a wonderful time. The staff was eceptional and everyone made as feel welcome. The room was fantastic with a great view of the river and the Stillwater lift bridge. Literally right in the downtown area, all the shops and restaurants were easily accessible. The service and food at Charlies Pub was outstanding and the almond crusted walleye is highly recommended. Breakfast in the morning was also a real treat. We highly recommend the Water Street Inn if you're looking to getaway and recharge. A great value.


Only so-so. Not worth the cost...

1.8 on June 13, 2012

I think the management there is making serious efforts to improve,and I give them points for trying... BUT... overall, this is a very over-priced, somewhat dingy and unimpressive place to stay. I would not recommend it and we will not be back.


Wonderful weekend getaway

4.8 on June 05, 2012

My only complaint was that the bed was slightly lumpy. It is a lovely hotel with great dining options and an incredibly beautiful setting on the river. We had a perfect weekend away.


Living Social

4.8 on May 15, 2012

It was perfect! The food, the room, everything! We would go back again and pay full price!! And, that is saying something for me!


Water Street Inn, Stilllwater, MN - Feb 2012

3.4 on February 28, 2012

We used a Living Social coupon, so this was a great value. We have stayed here in the past and have loved the place. After this visit, we decided that we will not stay here again because of the room. We were in a Vault suite, #218. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and the door did not hang properly so lots of light came in from both the top and bottom of the door which also allowed us to hear the noise from other guests and the traffice outside, even though we had a fan running. Terrible night's sleep! The TV is incredibly small for being so far across the room. Also a coffee maker in the room would be nice, since we had to wait until 9:00 to get breakfast. The room was clean though and the lilac scented soap was the best I have ever smelled! We ate dinner in the restaurant and both had the steak, which was amazing! Great service and great wine too! We had breakfast the next morning, which was excellent as well. The only thing I didn't understand was that the website listed the bed, breakfast and dinner package as including an order off the menu breakfast, which included a beverage with your breakfast. We were given a different menu with fewer choices and we had to pay for our beverage. Not what I was expecting. We would come back for the restaurant and pub, but we won't be staying ovenight again.


What a wonderful surprises!

4.0 on February 22, 2012

Last weekends stay at Water Street Inn was more then we had anticipated. Checking in was the fastest we have every experienced. The suite was large and beautiful. We enjoyed being in walking distance to shops, restaurants. The food was amazing. Our server in the pub was a delight and she sealed the weekend as one of our best weekends away. We were gifted a living social experience through a friend of the family however now we are planning on making a weekend in Stillwater MN a semi annual event. Truly Danielle and Brian


Valentine's getaway

5 on February 21, 2012

Great Inn for a Valentine's weekend. Food is excellent. Will go back for another visit.


Nights Stay

4.0 on February 21, 2012

My husband and I received the living social deal as an Anniversary gift. Unfortunately, all rooms and dates available through the social deal were booked therefore, we had to upgrade for an additional fee and stay in one of the suites. The room was clean and very pretty, the view outstanding however, if we paid the normal cost of $300 for this room, we would have been very disappointed -- way over priced!! The food and service were very good and the Irish pub was fun. Overall, we had a great time.


Warning: classy inn turns into sleazy motel at 1:30 a.m.

3.0 on February 13, 2012

Water Street Inn gave us a nice, clean room with a beautiful view of the river. At about 1:30 a.m. we woke up to a man and woman screaming obscenities at each other. It sounded like one of them was going to get hurt, so we called the front desk to see if they could help and no one answered. We called again a few minutes later and still no answer. Then at 1:38 a.m. the bar rush came home and there were more yelling adults in the hallway. We tried to call the front desk again and still, no one answered! Everything calmed down close to 2 a.m. We talked to the person at the front desk the following morning and told her all about it. She told us that at the time we called, there were fights breaking out all over the hotel and the one person who was at the front desk was trying to stop one of them. She apologized for our discomfort and said they would be e-mailing us with a voucher for a discounted future stay. It has been a month now and we still haven't received anything. Even with the Living Social deal, that was a lot of money to spend to feel like we were staying in a sleazy motel. We are truly disappointed. If you still decide to book after reading this, our advice is: make sure there are no weddings or birthday parties being hosted by the inn at the time of your stay.


A great romantic getaway

4.8 on February 07, 2012

Had a great night there. Beautiful room, great staff, good food. I would definitely recommend it.


Best Stay We've Had!

5 on January 31, 2012

We got the Living Social coupon and stayed in the Vault Suite. It was fantastic! The room was clean, beautiful and staff were all friendly. The food was delicious! Best steak I've had in years! We didn't want to leave. Highly recommended.


Best place for a date night!

5 on January 11, 2012

My husband and I have been here numerous times. This is our favorite place for a night out. The location is awesome! Within walking distance of everything you could ever want. We love the pub and Irish music! Their bloody mary's are great, made with house infused vodka! I think the value for the rooms is wonderful considering the location and that you get a fireplace and hot tub! I completely understand that it is tough to keep up an historic building and to keep good help in such a seasonal location so I can look past a few bumps along the way. It is not a giant corporate downtown big city hotel chain...that is what we love! I also love the freedom, privacy, and intimacy it offers versus a B&B. I know we will be back again and again!


Overall great - except for a couple of things

3.6 on January 10, 2012

My husband and i stayed there in January. Our room faced the water, which was lovely. Overall, it's a really cute place. I was surprised at how good the 3 course dinner was. We skipped breakfast because they didn't start serving until 9am. Charlie's Pub was AWESOME! There was a live Irish band, it's a small bar, but was totally packed. My two biggest complaints were about our room. We had a 2 room suite with the bedroom in one and the hottub and fireplace in the other, which is the side that faced the water. There was no couch in this room, even though there was a TV over the fireplace. There was a small table with 2 chairs. It was an odd layout. The bigger complaint of the two was the bed, which was so terribly uncomfortable i didn't get any sleep. I really am not that picky about beds, but I can't remember the last time i slept in a bed that was that horrible. It's enough for me to not to want to go back there. It was a really special date night without kids, but not getting any sleep because of the bed made it not worth the work and expense.


Great 30th Birthday Getaway!!

4.0 on January 07, 2012

The Inn itself was amazing. The beautiful decor and historic architecture was a nice change from the more modern contemporary hotels that we had stayed in the past. Kelly, whom I believe was a manager was great. She made the stay that much more appealing. The 3 course dinner was Ok, but the breakfast was aboslutely delicious. If I made another trek to Stillwater I would for sure stay at the WaterFront Inn.


No

5 on January 02, 2012

No Complaints!


Great Location....could be much better

2.6 on December 22, 2011

Stayed for a special event in Stillwater and for a little shopping. The location is fantastic. Perhaps it's a better stay in the summer and not in December as you can't enjoy the river and the outside seating. We had a room facing Water street which is facing away from the river. Not so bad except you can hear the traffic noise. The room was very large and nicely appointed but I felt it need a bit of TLC. I felt the price at $189.00 was too high for what you get but then again you are paying for location. The breakfast food was not the best and I felt it was high priced. The service was very good but I think they do not cook to order but take it off the buffet in the next room that we were not allowed into. I would stay there again but I would be looking for a coupon and I would not eat there.


Beautiful Hotel!!

4.6 on November 28, 2011

The Waterstreet Inn is absolutely beautiful; the period furniture added so much charm, and the comfort of the whirlpool tub and gas fireplace made the experience even more perfect!


Excellen

4.8 on November 28, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. The accomodations were outstanding!


Thanksgiving 2011 Stay/Brunch

4.0 on November 26, 2011

My wife and I spent the night before Thanksgiving at the Water Street Inn. Then we enjoyed an excellent buffet on Thanksgiving day. The room was a large and set in a Victorian style with elegant furniture, beautiful wallpaper, a jacuzzi tub and a gas fireplace. The room service was excellent. The night before Thanksgiving we had an enjoyable time eating lite snacks with various flavors of Guinness in Charlie’s Irish Pub. On Thanksgiving day we had the buffet which was outstanding and once again the service was excellent. Our time at the inn was wonderful and I would recommend it to anyone who would like to step back in time for a brief moment. The only minor issue I had is that I am partially disable and it was a bit difficult to get around.


Weekend getaway

2.6 on November 22, 2011

The hotel was very clean and the people were nice. Unfortunately My husband and myself were dissapointed with the bed. It was not comfortable and neither of us had a good night sleep. The hotel is located in a great area. It is one block from Main Street in Stillwater. We were able to walk everywhere!


They made up for what was lacking

3.2 on November 03, 2011

We stayed here for the first time this fall. I was looking forward to the romance of the "Historic" hotel, and when we got there we were very disappointed in the room, a Waterstreet room. The wood around the tub was awful - needed some serious paint and repair. The armoir was missing the door, and had a huge chunk of wood missing, the TV was the smallest thing I've ever seen, the wallpaper was damaged in serveral places, the blinds were broken and had to be seriously messed with to provide ANY privacy, the bed did not fit in the bedframe, quite silly looking, and the straw that broke the camel's back was the mold in the bathroom. When my husband called the manager to complain after staying one night, they offered us any room in the place, and we took a two room suite facing the water that was MUCH better; cleaner, new paint in the bathroom (still needs a little work on the tub, but it was still better), a much more comfortable and pleasant looking bed, blinds that worked and a flat screen TV. The Manager was very apologetic and sent us a fruit/cheese & cracker basket, and even took something off our bill to make up for the trouble. I am very happy we stayed as we had a very nice time, but that first room was awful, and had they not fixed it, we would never consider coming back. They should not put people in rooms with damaged walls and mold! They also need to fix up the lobby area. It's just lacking some real historic details, the wallpaper is tacky looking, and the front desk area needs some tlc to make it look historic rather than cheap. The staff was very nice and friendly.


Fall Get Away

4.4 on November 03, 2011

I am really interested in the pillows that you have on your beds, For the first time ever my husband did not snore, I remember briefly reading something on them but i forgot the information. I was wondering if you could email me the information, so i could possibly order some. It was a very peace full night of sleep for the two of us. Your staff was amazing and they cared very much about us from the moment we checked in. Thank you . We will defiantly be back in the near future.


Wedding Night

4.0 on October 17, 2011

We truly enjoyed our stay. We only stayed 1 night, if we did it again we would stay for a minumum of 2 nights!!


Absolutely amazing

5 on October 12, 2011

After a long day in stillwater, our room was amazing. Quiet and peaceful. It was beyond what I had expected:)


Okay.

2.6 on October 10, 2011

Room was nice. Bed comfortable, but I wouldnt say any of it was above and beyond average. Can stay in a much more comfortable, more luxurious room in Mpls for the price. Location is nice though. Worst part of stay was the hot water out and we could not enjoy the jacuzzi in our room.


brewer fan

4.2 on October 10, 2011

location was great too...


Water Street Inn

4.0 on September 28, 2011

The hotel was beautiful and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Great place to stay!


Great place

3.0 on September 21, 2011

The whirlpool was unbelievably relaxing! The breakfast was also really good and filling. Having wine, cheese and crackers and fruit waiting for us was a great touch...


Good Time

4.2 on September 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Water Street Inn for a quick, near-impromptu getaway. The staff was attentive, friendly and more than willing to help. The room was was huge and extremely clean. We had an awesome view of the river and historic lift bridge. Charlie's Pub was also a good experience. We sat patio having drinks on the river front on a beautiful August evening. I'm not sure what it was but the Guiness just tasted better here! Had a great breakfast at Charlie's the next morning too. I would definitely recommend the Water Street Inn to anyone. Great location, staff, and accomodations. Cost could be a deterrent for those on a tighter budget.


Disappointed

1.4 on September 08, 2011

My husband and I spent one night at the Water Street Inn. We were very disappointed. The lobby smelled moldy/musty. The room was well below my expectation for the price point ($200). The hot tub was stained and paint was peeling from the trim. The ceiling in the bathroom was falling down from a water leak and/or mold. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean, but that is the extent of goodness during our stay.


Great place to stay--eat elsewhere

3.2 on September 06, 2011

The Water Street Inn is a great place to stay in Stillwater--right in the heart of the city and right on the water. The rooms are quaint and nice. The food and dining service is only okay. There are many better options--like breakfast at Savories, drinks on the patio at Dock Cafe and dinner at Marx.


water street inn

4.0 on August 31, 2011

the stay was wonderful - everything was great - the bed needs to be updated though


Quiet stay

3.4 on August 31, 2011

We stayed 1 night at Water Street Inn. We live and work in the area so am familiar with the hotel but had never stayed. I booked online but called when the reservation asked me to pick a room number. The clerk was very clear on picking a certain room. However at check-in, we were given a different room without explanation. It was very nice as well but also VERY dark and without a balcony which was disappointing considering that's what I was expecting. I had emailed ahead of time to confirm if breakfast was included in the room rate- it was- until we checked in. We were given a $4 off breakfast coupon. I relayed the information I had been given, showed my smart phone and then were given the free coupons. Breakfast was good the next morning, excellent quantity of food. Overall it's a nice facility although definitely hiccups in the service. Better communication might be warranted.


Great Stay at Water Street Inn

4.0 on August 29, 2011

We stayed in the Vault Room 322. It was a beautiful, quaint room with a great view of the river. The only caution is that it can be noisy with traffic crossing the bridge and party goers on Fri/Sat night, but that didn't bother us. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Charlie's Pub has great food and fun music! I'd stay there again.


Awesome times

5 on August 23, 2011

Everything was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and we even received a free upgrade to our room. Not sure why, but it doesn't matter. We purchased the romance package. It was great to get to our room with a cold bottle of champagne waiting for us!! The dinner was spectacular (I had the best salmon) and breakfast was wonderful. I don't think we'll stay anywhere else when we come to Stillwater again!


Water Street Inn Stillwater MN

2.6 on August 23, 2011

The lobby/restaurant area smelled of mold/mildew. The room did not. They need to air out the place and strip the moldy wallpaper off the area behind the fountain in the hallway. It really triggered my allergies. I would not stay there again until that was dealt with. It is a good location, however. We didn't eat in the dining room because of the smell.


Eclectic B&B

3.8 on August 16, 2011

The room was very nice. Eclectic lobby. Adequate parking - it's easier to enter the back of the building, rather than the main front lobby entrance. Excellent breakfast!


Wedding Time

3.0 on August 12, 2011

All services were good and my stay was pleasant. Whenever I contacted the hotel in regards to my reservation they were prompt in replying.


Dining service was marginal

4.4 on July 15, 2011

The room was awesome, the bar was great but the dining room service was a bit below average- especially since it wasn't all that busy when we were there. Have been before, and will totally go again.


Our 50th anniversary weekend stay

3.2 on July 13, 2011

Location is great and its a lovely old, restored inn in a beautiful rivertown.


Wonderful respite!

5 on July 13, 2011

We stayed in room 321. I forgot to mention at check out, but the tub did not have a stopper in it, so was unusable. Other than that, the stay was wonderful. Dinner and breakfast were fabulous! We will come back again! Jo Jeska


Great place to stay!!

4.2 on July 13, 2011

Water Street Inn has exceptional staff and service. They were very accommidating. The rooms were very nice, the one rooms bathroom needed some repair in the bathtub area, but besides that, they were really nice. I highly recommend the Water Street Inn. I will definately stay there again.


A Pleasant Stay

3.4 on July 13, 2011

We escaped from Minneapolis for a day and spent the night at the Water Street Inn. It's in a wonderful location overlooking the river and bridge, and only a block from shopping and dining. A little bit of old charm. The staff was friendly and helpful.


Beautiful B&B

4.0 on July 10, 2011

We stayed here on July 2, 2011 for our one year anniversary. We stayed in room 202 which was a suite overlooking the St. Croix River. The room was gorgeous and had all the amenities we needed. Very romantic place to stay!


Such a pleasant surprise!

5 on June 30, 2011

This was our first experience with a bed and breakfast and we were thrilled with our experience! The room was lovely, the location was great, and the food and hospitality were wonderful. We were met with a nice meat and cheese tray along with a bottle of wine. The breakfast was so yummy. I highly recommend this b & b!!


Pleasantly Surprised

5 on June 28, 2011

I've stayed in Stillwater B&Bs on a number of occasions over the years and, while almost always a pleasant experience, often the rooms are small, very dated and sometimes less than clean. I've also run into more than a few Inn Keepers that act like they are doing you a favor by allowing you to stay. That was not at all the case here! Room was HUGE and service was fantastic! It is a historic hotel so (of course) decor was dated but everything was very clean and our bathroom, TV and other ammenities were very new. Everyone was friendly and treated us like it was their pleasure to accommodate us during our stay. We will definitely be back!


WaterStreet Inn stay in June 2011

3.4 on June 27, 2011

The wait staff at the outdoor grill & bar was wonderful. We enjoyed breakfast on the patio. The rooms could have been more stocked with towels, towel bars, bathroom could have more storage for customer toiletries & towels, etc.


COMPLETELY UNSATIFACTORY - DO NOT STAY HERE!

1.0 on June 22, 2011

When we got there they had our reservation all messed up and tried to put us in a room with one bed rather than the suite with 2 beds as there were 3 of us staying there. They were unorganized and unfriendly. The rooms were dirty and creepy as well as the rest of the place. Rooms were WAY overpriced and we felt very cheated for spending $300.00 to stay in one room for one night. It was a complete waste of money. Again, please do not stay here. Only after this experience have I heard from others who had the exact same experience.


Anniversary stay

4.2 on June 16, 2011

Large rooms, comfortable beds, quiet place to stay. Front desk was helpful in our questions and of the local area. Definetely would stay again.


Great hotel, bad food

4.0 on June 15, 2011

We had a great time at the Water Street Inn. There were only a couple things that were a little disappointing. 1) The food at the restaurant was not very good. My husband and I each had a different type of pasta and neither was very good. The chicken was obviously old and very rubbery. 2) The price of the food was ridiculous. The pasta I ordered was not worth the $17 we paid for it. 3) While sitting on the patio we were served by a waitress who was very slow. She was not the only waitress and it looked like she was only helping 2 or 3 tables. Also, when we paid for our drinks she never came back with our change; she just assumed it was her tip. We ended up not tipping as much as we would have because of that. Other than those three things our stay was delightful and I will definitely go back - but I can guarantee I won't be eating at the hotel.


Weekend getaway with the girls

3.6 on June 15, 2011

The hotel has a perfect location in Stillwater. Our room was very nice. For the price of the room, I was disappointed that they did not provide a coffee maker in the room. And the bathroom ammenities were a unsatisfactory...1 shampoo and 1 bar of soap.


Met my expectations

3.0 on June 13, 2011

Our stay was overall really great! There was a mishap when we first checked in. I had called to make sure our room was ready for when we got there and the person who answered the phone said yes. When we arrived, our room was not ready, but we were upgraded to a bigger room and not charged the full price (which we really appreciated). The person at the front desk was very knowledgable and helpful. The room was looking at the River and bridge and it was amazing, since our room we were supposed to have was going to be looking at the road. The only downfall was breakfast the next morning. We had to wait over an hour to get our food and had to fill our own coffee, until we finally asked if we could just keep a pot at our table. Overall, we enjoyed our visit. It's a unique town and enjoyed walking around!


Waterstreet inn

3.2 on June 10, 2011

Beautiful place and rooms but the hardest most uncomfortable mattress we have ever slept on. All chairs and sofa in room looked nice but padding ansd straps worn out. Romantic room if you ignore the lack of comfort. Hotel staff was very friendly and caring. The Irish pub had great food and was allot of fun to hang out in.


weekend fun

3.6 on June 08, 2011

Breakfast was delicious and reasonable with the coupons offered. Next time I would like lunch and or dinner. Location was the best in town. the staff was very friendly and very helpful. Definitly would stay there again. Rooms were victorian not my style but it was not an issue.


thank you for an enjoyable trip

4.2 on June 01, 2011

the rooms were outstanding, and the view of the water was wonderful. thanks for everything


Water St Inn

3.6 on May 16, 2011

The room was cute. We were on the street side and it was a little noisy outside and from the outdoor restaurant. Otherwise nice stay.


Not all that its cracked up to be

2.8 on April 26, 2011

Breakfast you get a choice of 3 entree's or $4 off the regular meal. For the price we paid for the room. Breakfast should have been totally free. Rooms are ok, nothing great! called down to get a menu and ice. They were very prompt and ran it right up. We were told about the irish band and laughed when we saw the stage. Boy, it can't be that good....we heard the music (after going somewhere else) on our way back to the room. Very good! I would not stay here again for that price. However, we only chose it because of the location. Did not try their bloddy mary concoction. Looked great though.


Great Way to Spend an Evening

3.6 on April 19, 2011

We had a great time, the service staff was very friendly, we ate both dinner and breakfast at the inn and both were great. The Irish bar was soooo much fun. It was a great and relaxing way to spend and evening with my husband. I read some harsh review and am really glad we did not listen to them. Stillwater is a great town to visit, but don't expect the Ritz Carlton in Minneapolis, and you will be extremely happy.


Outatanding

5 on April 14, 2011

Everything was outstanding,I had just been married and wanted to go somewhere and get a room.I've always thought of Stillwater being a romantic little town because of it's history and what a perfect place to stay,it was like traveling back into time,my bride was very impressed with the stay also,thanks for all the brownie points. Yours truly, Greg Elledge


Water Street Inn April 8, 2011

4.6 on April 12, 2011

Our plan was to have a relaxing day, a good dinner and a quiet evening alone. Our expectations were met :-) We stayed at the Water Strret Inn one night after going to Just For Me Spa for massages. The only issue is how noisy main street in Stillwater is. this is true no matter where you stay and we were aware of this prior to booking.


Historic Inn

3.8 on April 03, 2011

The room was cute, but some of the decor seemed to be falling apart - mostly peeling wallpaper and missing tiles. None of the essential things in the room (bed, tub, fireplace) had any issues. We had a lovely weekend and especially enjoyed the tub, but if you want something pristine, you might prefer something less historic.


Amazing

4.8 on March 23, 2011

Everything from the moment we checked in til the sad day we checked out was beyond our expectations. The people were friendly, helpful, and willing to go above and beyond to make you satisfied. The charm of the building took my breath away. Wonderful time, at a beautiful inn.


2 nights in Stillwater

4.6 on March 23, 2011

Great location to everything downtown. Rooms were spacious and clean. Very friendly help from the staff. We had a great time thanks Ron


The good, the bad but no ugly

3.0 on March 16, 2011

The room was nice and we loved the surrounding businesses, but there were some issues. The lights across the street kept us up all night (you need room darkening blinds) and the couple above us kept the bed squeaking. It was loud and distracting. Bring eye covers and ear plugs and you'll do fine. Otherwise, the bar and music was great, and the hotel was worth seeing. There was a wedding going on, and it would be the perfect place for a wedding. It had a great banquet room and the chefs at the restaurant were willing to help with special dietary concerns.


Amazing Get Away

5 on March 15, 2011

We were thoroughly impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. And the food was off the charts delicious!


Simply Delightful

4.0 on March 02, 2011

My husband spent a very romantic evening here to celebrate our one year anniversary. Everything - the Inn as a whole, the staff, the food, the room - was great. We opted for the St. Croix Suite with the Romance package - completely worth it. We will be back!


Suites are pretty sweet.

3.4 on February 16, 2011

The suite we stayed in was outstanding, multiple rooms, whirlpool tub, fireplace, and a great view of the St. Croix. The attached pub is fun for a late night drink but skip the restaurant. Stillwater has many outstanding eating establishments within walking distance that leave the mediocre brunch in the dust.


February Stay

4.8 on February 11, 2011

Great stay. It was absolutely wonderful...it was great being there in the winter with the fireplace and hot tub.


Overnight Getaway

4.4 on February 02, 2011

We spent the day in Stillwater, and the great day turned in to a great night when we stayed at the Water Street Inn. We LOVED our beautiful room and hung out in Charlie's the whole night. There was great entertainment, fun people, both tourists and locals, and wonderful food and drinks. The best part was, after all of the fun at Charlie's, all we had to do was walk upstairs to our room. We both slept great in the bed, and when we woke up in the morning, did some reading with the fireplace on. We took advantage of the Sunday morning brunch, too, which was spectacular. I would recommend the Water Street Inn to anyone visiting Stillwater. My husband and I can't wait to go back!


Great Stay

4.8 on January 23, 2011

The staff at the Water Street Inn was all very helpful and friendly to us. They were able to meet all of our needs. We loved out romance package, it was a great deal for us and was just what we needed. It was the perfect getaway for a couple that needed some alone time! The food was wonderful too and we loved the pub.


Lovely Winter Getaway

4.6 on January 05, 2011

The Water Street Inn is a charming spot located on the St. Croix. I stayed there over New Year's enjoying the whirlpool, gas fireplace and view of the frozen river in a spotless, quiet and comfortable suite. The Innkeeper was courteous and helpful as were staff members. Good food. Definitely recommend the Water Street Inn to relax. Great value.


Nice

4.0 on December 21, 2010

Excellent room, great bar, and good service. They burnt my asparagus and it ruined my dinner. And breakfast was average.


Our Stay at the Water Street

2.6 on December 18, 2010

We stayed in the William Sauntry room and it had a strange layout. We joked about moving the bed to the room with the fireplace. The bar staff was wonderful. The room did not have a coffee maker so we went to the restaurant on saturday am. We got there at 7:45am not realizing that breakfast did not start until 8am. Instead of offering us a cup of coffee, the waitress was really rude and we decided to just check out. The bar staff is wonderful. Nice and cozy in the pub. I would stay there again for the location as it is in walking distance to all the shops.


Thanksgiving Weekend in Stillwater

3.8 on December 05, 2010

I enjoyed the convenience of the location in downtown Stillwater. The 3-course breakfast was outstanding.


Great Veterans' Week Special

3.2 on November 27, 2010

Thank you to a very generous manager who gave us a great deal on any suite in the house, dinner, & breafast. My Vietnam Vet hubby never gets any special recognition, so this was really appreciated. The large & beautiful St Croix Suite overlooked the river & we delighted in the year's first snowfall/blizzard. It was a comfy & fun room with just a few maintenance issues. What really bothered me was that the maid had clearly not wiped down anything - there were fresh wine glass rings, stains, & crumbs on several tables - ewwww! The floor also could have used a good, thorough vacuuming. Other than that, it was great; and we will be back!


Another Enjoyable Stay~

4.6 on November 23, 2010

The only disappointment with this stay was that we decided to go with the 'vault room'. It was a lovely room, but we would have rather had a room with the hot-tub situated directly in the room/ nearer to the fireplace (rather than within the walls of the bathroom). It also states that the room has a 'river view'. It's quite an angle to view the river, and it is alongside a rather busy road just below. I stayed previously with family - and the room alongside the river was more to our liking - pertaining to the above mentioned details. However - we enjoyed our stay greatly - and the service (both hotel staff and restaurant staff) was excellent. The food was fantastic in the restaurant as well. We love this location! We'll stick with the preferred room set-up next time.


Water Street Inn

4.8 on November 18, 2010

The Water Street Inn is a fantastic getaway. I would recommend staying there to anyone who is looking for some time away in a historic building. The rooms were big, the ceilings were high, the view of the river was fantastic and to be within blocks of all of the shops of downtown Stillwater making it an ideal place to stay. The restaurant was much greater then expected. For being priced as it is, it had a much greater quality of food then expected. All in all, the Water Street Inn was a fantastic place and one of the best places I have stayed in the past year.


A great stay at the Water Street Inn

4.6 on November 16, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Water Street Inn, where we enjoyed and excellent dinner, a large and wonderfully-appointed suite (the St. Croix #320) and a delicious breakfast the following morning. The package offering made the stay affordable as well. So nice to go walking/shopping in downtown Stillwater and go back to a huge 2-room suite with a view of the bridge and river. The new chef's offerings are excellent. We'll be back!


Water Street Inn Stillwater Minnesota

2.8 on November 09, 2010

Our stay at the Water Street Inn was just okay. The location along the river is ideal, the weather was perfect, and we were given comp tickets for the pumpkinfest including beer and wine tasting, and a chili cook-off which we really enjoyed. While the hotel itself has maintained its history and provides a nice vintage feel, we found our room and a few other areas of the inn to be in need of some repairs and/or remodeling. The hallways felt claustrophobic and "maze-ish", and the overall layout of the hotel doesn't flow well. Still, we enjoyed a sunny afternoon with cocktails and appetizers on the deck of the outdoor bar, and breakfast included some scrumptious pastries. All in all, the inn almost met our expectations though we don't feel the rates were in line with what you get in general. With some renovations and rearranging, there is potential to provide guests an awesome stay.


Wonderful Stay

4.8 on November 09, 2010

The Inn was far above our expectations. We had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend it to others.


Loved Our Stay

3.0 on November 03, 2010

Romantic room with spectactuar views


Water Street Anniversary Trip

3.0 on October 30, 2010

Loose tile in the bathroom, loud room with a constant hum (we were right off the elevator, third floor?) Strawberries were maybe not fresh? Tasted funny...We had great service though and the food at Charlies was wonderful.


Water Street Inn

3.6 on October 26, 2010

Great location, interesting historic building, nice room (bigger than expected). Staff let us stand around more than expected and despite being polite weren't overly helpful with questions. Restaurant staff were excellent.


Great stay, but overpriced.

3.4 on October 26, 2010

Bought the "romantic getaway" package which included a bottle of champagne in the room, dinner, and breakfast. The room was beautiful and had a gorgeous view of the river, with a nice gas fireplace and huge whirlpool tub. Everything was clean and the bed was comfortable. The stay was great. The only disappointing part was we spent $380 for the entire package, and still ended up spending over $50 on food- even though the meals were "complimentary," gratuity and beverages were not included, and we only received a small discount off of breakfast, when we expected it to be included in the price. The food was great, however. Service was great and the stay was lovely, we just thought the everything wasn't quite worth the amount of money we spent on it. If you like the victorian theme and old feel, it was romantic.


Millberg wedding

3.4 on October 19, 2010

wedding, I booked 2 rooms. It was lovely, thea room we had was gorgeous, but there was a mix up when we arrived anad we had called ahead to make the change and recieived confirmations of the change but they did not have it


Wonderful atmosphere

4.2 on October 19, 2010

Stayed here for a few days following our wedding. The rooms wereclean and spacious and a great waterfront view. Everything was in walking distance and the restaurant patio at the hotel was so much fun! Only downfall was the bed in one of te two rooms we stayed in was not the most comfortable.


Water Street Inn

4.0 on October 14, 2010

Great Hotel right on the river in Downtown Stillwater. My wife and I stayed for our anniversary and were very pleased with the hotel and dining experience.


Excellent

4.4 on October 12, 2010

We purchased a room/dinner/breakfast package and couldn't be happier. Dining is fantastic.


great place to stay

4.8 on October 11, 2010

Room was very comfortable and roomy. Jaccuzzie tub was awesome.


Excellent getaway

4.0 on October 10, 2010

We just got back from Stillwater and a stay at the Waterstreet Inn. Since we had never been there, we had no idea what to excpect. What a wonderful surprise! The Inn was beautiful, the food was great and everyone was friendly and helpful. The location was perfect and there was alot to do and see within walking distance. Harvest Fest was going on and we were given complimentary tickets for the wine/beer tasting and chilli tasting right across the street. We would definately reccomend this Inn, and are already planning another stay, next fall!


Location, Location, Location!

2.6 on October 06, 2010

When you stay at the Water Street Inn, it is for the location. Our room was just okay and somewhat disappointing. But the view of the river was fabulous.


Water Street Inn Stay Sept. 17 2010

3.6 on October 02, 2010

The weekend we stayed the tavern was celebrating " half way to Saint Pattys Day" We enjoyed the bands both in the tavern and on the deck. What a fun night.


Perfect Anniversary Evening

4.4 on September 27, 2010

The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. The food in the restaurant was unbelievably superb - much better than I've had in the past at 5-Star restaurants. I will definitely stay there again and can't wait to go back!


Wonderful stay, as always!

5 on September 25, 2010

The room and view were exceptional! Entertainment in the pub was great, and the breakfast buffet was delicious!


Anniversary Stay

2.8 on September 22, 2010

My wife and I stay at the Water Street Inn every year for our anniversary and always have a very good time. This year I decided to have the champagne and strawberries delivered as a surprise for my wife. It is kind of expensive, but it's a special occasion and I wanted to do something fun. The champagne was great, but every strawberry was over-ripe with bruises on them. I can see one slipping through, but every one of them were not in good condition so it was definitely not a good deal. Otherwise, the rooms, food and bar were great as usual.


Beautiful Rooms and Great Location

4.4 on September 09, 2010

I was blown away with the rooms at the Water Street Inn. We stayed in a Parlor Suite with 4 people and enjoyed having the 2 rooms for extra space. The location is perfect and within walking distance of everything in Downtown Stillwater. We were close to the river, close to shopping and close the restaurants. The breakfast was also good, not exceptional but good for being included in the price of the room. I would highly recommend the Water Street Inn for anyone looking for a great place to stay in Stillwater


wonderful old inn

4.2 on September 07, 2010

views from room outstanding pleasant staff


Water Street Inn, Stillwater

5 on August 30, 2010

What a beautiful hotel! We will definitely be back.


Beautiful weekend at the Water Street Inn

4.2 on August 23, 2010

I really enjoyed spending the weekend at the Water Street Inn- beautiful Victorian decor, great food, and the double jacuzzi was great!!!


Adorable!

4.4 on August 22, 2010

My boyfriend and I just stayed at the water street inn for our anniversary and we will definitely be returning. I was a little disappointed when I saw the outside, it didn't look romantic or quaint at all. Once we stepped inside though, it was like going to another era. The room was just amazing. We staying in the st croix suite and the view from our personal balcony was just gorgeous. The bed, furniture, and jacuzzi were also great. We were pleasantly surprised by how modern and large the bathroom was. During our stay there was even a little farmers market and movie in the park in front of our balcony. Both of which we greatly enjoyed. The only negative thing I can think of is the breakfast wasn't very good. We will definitely reccomend this b and b to our friends, and come back when possible.


If you had a suggestion box....

3.0 on August 13, 2010

If you had a suggestion box I would suggest that you have more room in your bathroom for toiletries such as a counter or small table, etc. I had to keep all the toiletries in the bag outside the room on the luggage holder and in the morning, the ironing board did a good job holding those things in the hallway. We have stayed in several B&B's and overall, the room we had was not what we expected for our $. Good experience, not a bad one but just some nice suggestions. The bartender was excellent and the waitress in the dining room very good, as well as check-in.


Hidden Gem

5 on December 24, 2009

My wife and I were amazed by the food and the service, I don't like to write reviews........all I'll say is my wife and I will be going back, I can't believe I didn't know of Charlie's beforehand.......I can't stop telling my friends about this place!!! Truly notable beverage menu with hand crafted cocktails featuring artisan liqueurs and house-infused spirits. Try something from their extensive whiskey list (over 40) or the huge wine list. Wines are priced only $15 over cost and many of these wines are less than you can get at a liquor store. Atmosphere is very relaxing and the live music in the pub was a great after dinner treat. Staff is spot on and I can tell they have had some serious training.


No Breakfast

2.0 on October 19, 2009

One of the highlights of our stays at B&Bs is the breakfast that typically is provided as part of the room package. We were extremely disappointed that there was no breakfast provided on Sunday morning. Instead, there was a $4 off coupon provided for an overpriced breakfast buffet. This was despite the promise of a "wonderful breakfast" with the room.

Innkeeper Response
I'm sorry for the missunderstanding. We are a Historic Inn, we do include a order off the menu breakfast for stays Sunday - Friday night on Saturday nights we offer a $4.00 off our award winning Champagne Brunch with our chef run build your own omelet & waffle station. There is also over twenty different breakfast & dinner items.


St. Croix Pleasure

4.2 on September 02, 2009

We really enjoyed the amenities at the Water Street inn, conveniently located in our room! The view of the St. Croix river was awesome. Food was great!


Relaxing Getaway

5 on September 01, 2009

We were very impressed with the place, the service was outstanding and the room was very clean. We will be back for sure.


Great Romantic Getaway

5 on May 06, 2009

My wife and I came to Stillwater to celebrate her 31st birthday. We had been to Stillwater before just to walk around and grab a quick bite but our stay last weekend hit the spot. We had great service from the second we walked in. They recommended several places on the town to visit after our romantic dinner for two in Charley's Pub. We kind of wished we stayed and listed to the live music but we had to get up and enjoy the beautiful view of the river. All in all the only thing that staying at the Waterstreet left us wanting was another night. Thanks!


Great Change of Pace for a Business Traveler

4.2 on April 27, 2009

I stayed at the Water Street Inn for a business trip last December. It was so nice to stay at a unique and historic hotel instead of the typical chains. The place has tons of character, and was a great value. It's located in a beautiful setting on the river also. I want to take my wife back there for a romantic getaway.


One enchanted evening

5 on April 23, 2009

My husband and I live in Stillwater, so we've seldom stayed in any local hotel. The Water Street Inn happens to be one of our favorite restaurants--especially Charlie's Irish bar where we enjoy stopping in for a pint of Guinness and appetizers on the weekends when they have live music--so we're on their email list. Last week the WSI sent out an email with a special "today only" room rate that we just couldn't resist. So we packed our bags and drove down right after work. Our lovely 2 room suite had a Victorian feel with a four poster bed, electric fireplace, private balcony, marvelous views of the river, Lowell Park and the historic bridge, a double whirlpool bath, a separate shower and a TV. We relaxed with a glass of wine on the balcony while we watched boats on the river, pedestrians in the park, and traffic on the bridge. As it started getting dark, we went down to the nearly full dining room and were immediately seated. We ordered the Wednesday night special 4-course wine dinner for $30 per person. Our dinner was delicious, with portions that were just right and wines that were perfectly paired with each course. Our server was knowledgeable and observant, and gave us time to enjoy each course without being rushed. That Wednesday dinner special is a VERY good value that we will take advantage of again! Our room was spotless and I like that they have glass tumblers in the hotel rooms, electrical plug-ins in the bathroom (I always bring a nightlight), lots of parking, they're within about 100 feet of the St Croix River and right in the middle of downtown Stillwater so you can walk around and enjoy the river, people watching, or shopping in the interesting and varied stores. We had a lovely evening that we won't soon forget.


Poor

2.6 on October 14, 2008

Our Dinner Package was worse than awful. We waited 45 minutes just to get our salad. Our dinner took 2.5 hours and the food was terrible. We would never eat there again.


Satisfactory

2.8 on October 07, 2008

The service and the food was wonderful. The room we got was the most expensive room for $229.00 and it was very worn down, the bed was missing posts and all the wallpaper was torn and falling off.


Weekend Getaway

5 on October 01, 2008

Close to everything in downtown Stillwater. The weather was beautiful. the room cozy, comfortable, with a view of the river. The included breakfast was delicious. Had a great weekend. Would do it again.


Water Street Inn

5 on July 21, 2008

Very nice! Excellent food, everyone friendly. We thought a good price. Located in a good spot, walk to everything. Enjoyed Robert the bartenders company.


No sleep/no vault

2.6 on July 01, 2008

We visited the Inn for our 1st anniversary. The room had no vault for it to be the Vault room. It was not well kept or cleaned with detais. We had to leave early in the morning because we were on the side that had the main road out of Stillwater to the lift bridge. The noise was awful and non-stop. The area was beautiful and we enjoyed the Stillwater tour. If you go here, check your room before you settle in and if you hear the traffic- change rooms!


Birthday Stay

5 on May 30, 2008

Spent my birthday at the inn and it was great--very nice room, great food and good service. The bed was a little hard though.


Great Place in Stillwater

5 on May 06, 2008

We had a great weekend at the Water Street Inn, The view of the River, the staff of the both the hotel and restaurant went out of their way for us.


A great place to stay!

5 on April 20, 2008

I had a conference at the Water Street Inn and it was the perfect place for a business meeting. The location is right in the heart of Stillwater overlooking the river. I hope to return with my husband for a romatic weekend next time we are in MN.


Water Street Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $189 - $309
  • Reviews (142) 4.0
  • Rooms 41
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6514396000

Visit Website »

View details

Top