Spicer Castle Reviews

Overall
3.8

View details

  • Guest room3.5
  • Services4.0
  • Value3.5
  • Cleanliness3.8
  • Dining4.0

Score Breakdown based on
110 Reviews

Write A Review

Weekend Oasis

5 on October 14, 2013

The service was great and the history shared at breakfast by the Innkeeper was fascinating. Our guests from Sweden felt welcome and at home with the casual and warm surroundings looking out at beautiful Green Lake in central MN.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. I really enjoyed talking with your guests from Sweden. It was fascinating to learn more about their culture.


Great get away

5 on October 07, 2013

2nd time we have stayed here. Love the tranquility, history and charm. Food is great especially since dining options in the area are at a minimum. Enjoyed a little happy hour over looking the lake. Great to have everything right there that you need. Will go back again.


Friday Get-A-Way

3.6 on September 09, 2013

My wife and I had a very good time visting Spicer Castle. We stayed in Eunice's room. The decor was a bit different from the website picture, but was prett comfortable. The food was fantastic and worthy of any 4 or even 5 star dining experience. The mystery dinner was very fun, although we did not get our "script" until we arrived which did not give us much time to prepare. The staff were very friendly. We only had a few negatives. First, it was very hot in the B&B at the time we stated. While there are window A/C units and fans in the rooms ans other areas, it was very uncomfortable for some Also, it may be time to take a power washer or broom to some areas to clear off spider webs outside. There are also a few cracked windowpanes. So, a little TLC is needed on the grounds. In spite of the few negatives, it was overall a very enjoyable experience and we would go back for another stay.


Raymond's Cabin

4.6 on August 03, 2013

Stayed 2 nights - Great Breakfast, Terrific view out of cabin Picture window, Great place to get away and just relax


Honeymoon trip

5 on July 25, 2013

Me and my husband decided to stay for a few nights for our honeymoon and it was amazing! The atmosphere was very relaxing and romantic. The food and service was outstanding as well. Would stay again!


Average Nights Stay

3.2 on June 02, 2013

We stayed at this Bed & Breakfast for only one night and were satisfied with our stay, although there was nothing outstanding to us. For the area, it was a nice stay.


Murder Mystery at Spicer Castle

4.4 on May 13, 2013

We stayed in John's Cabin and participated in the Murder Mystery. Our entire group at dinner were great! The dinner and breakfast were delicious. Had alot of fun dressing up as our characters. Would recommend to anyone looking for something different to do.


My stay and experience was just what I needed

3.0 on May 13, 2013

My first bed and breakfast experience. First I arrived late 10:30p. I was traveling alone on a much needed 'get away.' No one was around when I arrived so it was kinda creepy at first but soon I heard the sounds of water hitting the shore... that was very calming, very peaceful. Then when I opened the door to the cottage I was staying in I was like "OMG- what am I doing?!" It was cold in there, it was smaller than I had imagined, and no one was around!! But soon, heck, I climbed into a VERY comfortable bed, read about Spicer Castles history (this info was on the desk) and fell asleep listening to an owl and the waves. I slept the best I had in a long long time. In the morning I went to the main INN for breakfast and met a wonderful mother and daughter also staying there - had great conversation while overlooking a beautiful lake. Breakfast was ok - looked VERY fancy and pleasing to the eye. Afterwards I sat outside the cottage and read a little bit - again very relaxing. Then took a nice bath in the Jacuzzi tub, and headed out! I would stay there again without a doubt. It was just what I needed and ultimately what I was looking for.


Weekend April 19, 2013

3.4 on May 09, 2013

Intriguing history, excellent food, perfect distance for a weekend getaway from the Twin Cities. Was a bit disappointed that we were "outsourced" to a building other than the main castle unexpectedly due to a reported doublebook error, but we did reserve at the last minute, so probably our fault. Will definitely return and enjoy the murder mystery experience next time!


April Stay at Spicer

3.8 on May 07, 2013

Cool place to visit. My wife didn't want to leave! Had to enter a score for dining although we never did eat dinner there.


Fun time

3.4 on May 01, 2013

The food was good, the rooms were nice. The murder mystery dinner took too long and was too confusing. We had a great group of people who really got into the murder mystery so that made it fun. Glad I did it - yes: would I do it again - No

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the food and the room. Your comments regarding your experience in the Murder Mystery Dinner are of great value to us so we can improve the event for future guests.


Nice Choice for a One Night Stay

3.2 on May 01, 2013

We stayed here for one night and participated in the murder mystery dinner as a belated christmas gift for my boyfriend. Overall we had a fun time. After reading reviews, I felt like I knew what to expect and felt like the inn delivered on those expectations. The rooms are older and the walls thin, but knowing this ahead of time made it easy to not focus on it and instead enjoy the cozy surroundings. My boyfriend actually loved the room and said it was one of his favorites. The murder mystery dinner was a fun way to spend the evening and an interesting way to meet people. While at times it did seem slightly disorganized, we still managed to have a great time. I would also like to commend the staff on their flexibility with my gluten-free diet. While I was worried they would forget, they catered the tea snacks, dinner and breakfast to my diet. And all that with only one mention of needing a gluten-free meal at dinner (I didn't expect them to make all the other concessions). Overall, we had a fun time and are glad we went.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review.


Wonderful Winter Adventure

5 on April 05, 2013

We went on a Sunday and Monday. The rates are lower, probably for 2 reasons: day of the week and it was early April. It was a great deal. The food was fantastic! It was exactly what we needed for our anniversary. I think we will be going every year!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review.


Delightful and Different Experience

3.4 on April 01, 2013

My experience at Spicer Castle was delightful. The staff and service were accessable, warm and very informative regarding the history of the "castle" and the surrounding area. The grandson of the original owners was charming and provided us with the personal history of the family that lived there. The mystery dinner was delicious and the guests were delightfully dressed up as their characters and into playing their roles which made for a fun evening. The castle was not handicapped accessable which made it difficult to get up and down the stairs for some people in the main house. The parking lot was muddy and hard to drag suitcases through. It would have helped to have some sort of service to handle the arriving guests at the entrance to the castle.


Splendid Stay at Spicer Castle

5 on March 19, 2013

Lovely atmosphere. Loved Eunice's room. Amazing windows and the swing bed added quite the touch. The murder mystery dinner was extremely entertaining. the staff was very delightful especially Allen!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.


Fantastic

5 on March 09, 2013

We went to Las Vegas on break last year, but staying at the Spicer Castle was far more relaxing and fun for both of us. The food, staff and property were wonderful. We cross country skied, saw a movie and found an antique mall all within minutes of the Castle. It will be our destination for spring break from now on.


Spicer Castle

4.4 on February 27, 2013

Food was delicious, grounds were beautiful, staff was friendly.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review of our Inn. We are happy that your stay was pleasant.


Great Service, Great Room, Great Fun!

5 on February 07, 2013

We had an amazing experience staying at Spicer Castle. The staff was friendly, outgoing, and willing to assist however they could. The food was fantastic! We stayed in Eunice's room and the swinging bed was unique and fun, yet super comfortable at the same time. We participated in the murder mystery dinner and would recommend it highly. Tons of fun!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review. I am going to share your comments with our wonderful staff. I have participated in the Murder Mystery Dinners too, and have had lots of fun. Again, thank you for your great review.


1/19/13

4.4 on January 28, 2013

My stay at the castle was wonderful. I read reviews that almost kept me away, but I am glad we went. The dinner started later and it was very cold in the common areas and dining room, but all in all we had a wonderful time with the murder mystery and will stay again (when its warmer out). One poor review I did read was the water heater in the main house not able to fill the tub. That was true and a bit disappointing, but wont keep us away.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the very cold common area and dining room; along with the hot water. I have had our maintenance staff check the hot water. We are planning on installing additional heating units for the main floor. I agree, that it was cold on the main floor of the Inn. We look forward to welcoming you on your return visit. Thank you for your review, it will assist us in improving our services.


Great weekend getaway

4.6 on October 18, 2012

My husband and I attended the Murder Mystery Dinner and stayed overnight. We had so much fun, and the five course dinner was incredible! We will be recommending Spicer Castle to our friends.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review. I will share your comments with our staff.


Great potential

3.6 on October 17, 2012

Overall we had a nice stay at the castle. The breakfast food and service was excellent! One in our party had dietary restrictions and they were very good about catering to her needs. Breakfast each morning was filling, healthy and tasty! The staff were gracious, kind and very knowledgeable. The grandson of the original owners shared stories of the history of the area and the house each morning. It was very interesting. Our room was comfortable and clean. We were disappointed however with the upkeep of the castle and the overall appearance inside and outside. The possibilities with this place are endless. The views of the lake from our room and other spots around the castle are amazing. The inside could be gorgeous, but hasn't been kept in the best shape. The grounds could be beautiful, but instead there was a lot of unused random junk lying around and many things were in ill-repair. We couldn't help but think that with a couple of people putting in a couple of days worth of work, the grounds could have been hugely improved.


a nice discovery

3.6 on September 15, 2012

tried to walk around the lake. big mistake ! too far ! appearance and speech at breakfast by great grandson relative with personal history a nice touch.


raymond's cabin

3.8 on September 08, 2012

Would have been better but they forgot to include our name in on the dinner cruise around green lake.


Murder Mystery Dinner overnight

3.8 on September 03, 2012

We loved every minute! From the time we arrived, we were able to relax and visit and the murder mystery dinner was great - good food, enjoyed the episode - would do it again


Spicer Castle old world charm

3.8 on August 29, 2012

We stayed in Johns cottage for our wedding anniversary. It was very quaint and clean. The bathroom is quite small, but we totally managed. The grounds definitely needed some help, like a landscaper. We ate dinner at the castle and it was beyond amazing! Totally gourmet! Well worth the money. Do note that gratuity is included. We were ready to leave a tip but there wasn't a space for it on the receipt. Also note, no tv in any of the rooms. My husband was disappointed but I certainly wasn't! I would go back again.


A Step Back in Time

5 on August 28, 2012

Since my last visit some five years ago, the inn has updated its technology (wifi) and added dinner service Tues.-Sat. And I have to say, the dinner was outstanding--loved the Walleye! Breakfast was great, but more charbs then I like to have. It really is a step back in time to spend a few days here so I would call it both romantic and restful.


charming old home

4.0 on August 27, 2012

This old house is owned and managed by a descendant of the founder; he is charming and conveys the history of the area with a twinkle in his eye. His strong handshake lets you know that he has worked very hard in his life and that honesty is at the core of every decision he makes. Go for the food & the old world charm - the rooms and the main building have that shabby chic look that many consider charming.


Quirky, but worth while

3.4 on August 23, 2012

We stayed here while traveling through, as an alternative to the usual "highway motels" in the general area. It was a quirky cross between an (almost) elegant home, and a summer camp. Nearly everything is the same as it was in the 1920's and 30's, when the original Spicer family built this very interesting dwelling to accommodate their many children and (for the era) well-to-do lifestyle. This is both charming, and disarming--e.g., an upholstered chair with worn arms--disarming. Many books, games and pictures from the original family (several artists in the bunch)--charming. It was clean, relaxing, and the staff was accommodating to all requests (tho' some, like a cup of coffee at 7:30 am, seemed like they should be anticipated). The breakfast was excellent, a gourmet treat, and the evening meal served on the pontoon boat was good, though less gourmet. This is a family business, run with affection for days gone by, and is a pleasant diversion if you accept it for what it is, and expect no more. We would stay there again.


A charming place

3.0 on August 18, 2012

Historical? Yes. Charming? Yes. However a bit of a "Run down" air about it.


Anniversary Getaway

3.2 on August 08, 2012

When we first arrived at the Castle, we were placed in a room that we did not request because the room we originally asked for had maintenance issues. They placed us in a room exactly like the one we requested - so we were satisfied. We decided to go to the Spicer Castle Inn in the first placed because they offer the Murder Mystery Dinners. However, our dinner was cancelled due to the number of people who signed up, and we were never made aware. They had to comp our bill for the dinner because we decided to go elsewhere to eat. Needless to say, we were disappointed in the lack of communication. I don't think it helped that there was a wedding the weekend we went, so we sort of felt like we were imposing on their wedding when we stayed there. All in all, it is a very quaint B&B, very nice staff, and had delicious food -- however, I think we ended up going on a bad weekend where things just didn't go as planned. Unfortunately, we will not return to the Spicer Castle Inn.


Unsung gem of the region!

4.4 on July 31, 2012

My wife and I recently shared an absolutely delightful stay at the Spicer Castle, which is truly an undiscovered treasure in the area! The house itself is one of the great architectural gems of southwestern Minnesota, and has a terrific history. Going inside the B&B, you feel like you have stepped back 100 years -- the original old wood floors, hardware, sinks, etc. still grace the rooms -- all meticulously kept and clean. The room, aside from the hot water, AC, and electricity, felt like it was frozen in time. However, there is nothing "musty" about this place. Everything is fresh, crisply painted, and delightfully decorated. There were delightful surprises at every turn...the beautiful grounds...the crystal clear, warm lake where I went for a morning swim...stunning lake views...delicious, homestyle food...and the house itself provided delightful exploration as I discovered its nooks and crannies, the old stone pier steps, the tower, the lookout over the lake...a handful of these things would have satisfied me, but I had them all! To top it all off, there was a delightful, personal feel about the whole thing. Staff was extremely personable and smiley, and at dinner and breakfast we were graced by the presence of the owner of the house -- himself a descendent of the founder of the home -- who regaled us with stories of the house's and his family's history. This is an incredible find, full of beauty and personality. Don't mis it!


Wedding

5 on July 25, 2012

My husband and I had our wedding there on the dinner boat it was an experience we will never forget, our tour guide was very knowledgable. Our room was nice and cozy and clean, the ladies were very helpful, everyone was polite, and attentive. we will most definitely stay there again and recommend our friends to the Spicer Castle.


Lots of Fun

3.6 on July 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Spicer Castle Inn and participated in the Murder Mystery Dinner. The food was great and there was plenty of it and the staff were all very polite and helpful. The only complaint I have is that I booked one of the cabins 5 months in advance of our stay and received a call only the day before our arrival to let us know that we had to be moved to a different room due to re-roofing not being complete on the cabin after a storm. I know that they cannot control the weather but they could have called sooner to warn us about the switch or at least offered something to us for the disappointment of not getting the cabin we had planned on.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were not able to stay in Raymond's Cabin due to extensive roof damage from the storm. I was in contact with the construction crew and was hoping the job would have been completed by the Thursday before your arrival. Unfortunately the construction crew was not able to complete the job due to weather related issues. I apologize for the short notice that the Cabin would not be available. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the meals and our wonderful staff. I will pass your email on for others to read your nice comments. Again, I regret that Rayomnd's Cabin was not available for your stay. Mary Swanson


Anniversary get-away

3.4 on July 16, 2012

Were looking for something different for our anniversary and this provided it. Different setting and atmosphere, but was pleasamtly surprised with everything. The dinner cruise was exceptional. The sights were great. Overall a good experience

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you were pleasantly surprised with your stay at our historic Inn. Our goal is to provide a plesantly memorable experience for our guests in our one-of-a-kind setting. We are glad that we accomplished this for your anniversary celebration. Again, thank you for your kind review. I will pass your email on for our wonderful staff to read. Mary Swanson


Wonderful Stay at Spicer Castle

4.8 on July 08, 2012

Spicer Castle is an historic edifice on the shores of a spring-fed lake - and an amazing bed-and-breakfast. The accommodations were very comfortable for us, the staff is very polite and professional, and the food is excellent! We look forward to staying there again and soaking up some more of the extensive knowledge of history of the area from the owner, Mr. Latham.

Innkeeper Response
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit at our historic Inn. I am going to share your wonderful email with our great staff. We are looking forward to your return visit. Thank you.


Fourth of July mini Vaca

2.8 on July 06, 2012

Arrived on the 4th of July and ended up in Christophers room. Which is not attached to the main cabin but yet a glorified shed. Walked in the room and literally thought it was for children. Had two floors but the stairs a.k.a ladder to the 2x4 bedroom (0h and I THINK there was a bathroom but not sure cause I didn't have my glasses on) Thought about staying and "toughing it out" but WHY? I'm on VACATION! So I said, um, "is this place sold out for the week since it's the 4th? She said no, so they lady was very nice and showed us THREE other rooms we could choose from! We choose Unice's Room! The bed was literally on hooks and swang back and forth like a HAMMOCK... until my boyfriend barfed for hours then we mounted it back to dry land. The double hot tub was awesome! And the 14 windows in the room were very nice. NEGATIVES: there was a "mandatory construction problem" on the property and was woken BOTH nights to trucks, saws and pounding at 7:00AM!! The "FOUR COURSE BREAKFAST" is not a four course breakfast. If they think a yogurt and granola in a wine glass is a "course?" Then that's sad. Left hungry. Boat cruise was nice although unless I didn't check ourselves in in the lobby saying "when does the boat leave?" "Oh what is your name?" "_______" Then they were like "Oh, you are on this list but not this list" SO the whole boat cruise passengers had to wait for the staff to bring us our food (literally waitresses running on the dock" Thank GOD you could bring your own wine on the cruise... The boat ride was nice and the Captain was very knowledgeable about the lake. Visit the Glacial Ridge Winery! Very fun and lots of cute gifts and good wine! We bought the Spicer Castle Inn red wine and the Lake Whisper Riesling. Overall it was a nice experience. Note to self: Bring a fan, bring your own wine, bring earplugs in case of construction and the toilets are tiny... Had a good time tho! :)

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Inn. I apologize for the construction project waking you up early in the morning and for the confusion with your dinner cruise. Your review allows us the opportunity to improve our services and again, we thank you for your review.


Spicer Castle, Spicer MN

2.8 on July 02, 2012

Wonderful and quiet getaway for our anniversary. Staff is friendly and helpful. Our cabin was showing it's age and had a ceiling fan that was filthy and could not be turned on as it required an extension cord that wasn't there. Dinner cruise was informative and fun.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the ceiling fan, we will definately put cleaning the fan and plugging into the wall on the top of our "to do List." We are also in the process of refreshing the cottage and hope you will have the opportunity to stop by and view the redecorating of John's Cottage. Again, thank you for your review and allowing us the opportunity to improve our services.


Castle Fixer-Upper

3.8 on June 28, 2012

The castle makes a nice get away for a weekend stay. The service and food were excellent. The physical structure though is in need of repair and it appeared run down from the outside. Make sure to take part in the Mystery Dinner!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review. We are currently in the process of renovating the outside structure along with moving the main entrance. I am excited about the changes and hope that you will have the opportunity to stop by and see our improvements. Again, thank you for your review of our Inn.


Fun!

3.0 on June 28, 2012

The murder mystery dinner was fun and the food was good. It was nice sitting out by the firepit after dinner. We had a great time and would go back again.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review of our Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed the murder mystery dinner and your time by the firepit.


Over night at Spicer Castle

3.0 on June 27, 2012

We stayed in Mary's room which is upstairs in one of the outer buildings. Our trip was brief but the estate is beautiful and has a wonderful view of the lake. The bed was comfortable with beautiful bedding. The carpeting could be replaced to something less worn. But, it was a cool visit and during breakfast Mr. Spicer gave us a wonderful history of the house, family and area.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at our B&B.


Relaxing getaway

4.8 on June 23, 2012

My sister and I visited the castle and took part in the murder mystery dinner. We had a very relaxing stay. We are already planning our trip again for next year. The only thing I would have liked was more explanation on the dinner theater, we had no idea what to expect or direction of how it was done. Now I know for next time, but first timers it would have been nice to have a little more instruction, especially while we were all waiting for the dinner to begin. The castle is still in its original structure with the interior rooms still that of years gone by, but that really added to the charm. If you want something brand new with no history, then you go to the local motel. But if you want great friendly service with some history in a quiet environment, this is the place to stay.


perfecdt relaxation

5 on June 17, 2012

This is a great weekend get away for relaxation, It takes you back to the good old days of sitting on the porch in the evenings and enjoying the sounds of nature


Did the murder mystery dinner and it was a fantastic time!

3.8 on May 29, 2012

Murder Mystery was fun, room was great, service was friendly, food was tasty. Can't wait to go back!


Spicer Castle

3.0 on May 29, 2012

We stayed in the Garden House. It was cute but very small. The bathroom is so small you can't turn around in it. The ladder to the loft sleeping area was steep. The murder mystery dinner was fun and the best part of the stay.


Spicer Castle

3.4 on May 15, 2012

We arrived later in the evening at the location because we were visiting family in the area. We really didn't allow ourselves enough time to truly enjoy the Spicer Castle. We stayed in the Mason room, which is typical of a bedroom in an old house. Breakfast was the only meal we had at the Castle. The food was good and the wait staff did an excellent job. During breakfast a history presentation of the Castle was given by a family member! We both found it very interesting and felt it was the highlight of our visit. We hope to return and stay in one of the cabins.


Anniversary Visit

3.0 on May 08, 2012

Enjoyed our visit there - great location on the lake, our room was very comfortable and all of the employees we encountered were very pleasant and helpful. Would definitely go again.


wife surprised me for my 60th birthday

4.6 on April 14, 2012

Reservations were easily made; we enjoyed tea and cribbage upon arrival; my wife and I enjoyed the murder mystery supper. We had Mason's room, enjoyed the history of the Spicer Castle. it is an older building with ambiance. After our visit we enjoyed the drive around Green Lake, and visiting local antique stores.


Spicer Castle Murder Mystery Review

4.6 on February 29, 2012

This was a very nice bed & breakfast experience! The cuisine was excellent and it clearly showed the chef and staff take pride in their craft. I enjoyed the murder mystery, it was my first experience but easy to follow along and people really enjoyed their parts. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was nice to meet Mr. Latham, the grandson of the Spicer family, who helps bring the history alive to the home. My one concern is the snow/ice on the grounds. If you're dressed up, it's easy to go for a ride.


Mid-Winter Getaway

3.6 on February 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay and the friendly staff. We appreciated hearing the history of the house. With a mild winter, our hopes for skiing and snowmobiling were not possible. For breakfast, we enjoyed sharing our table and conversation with another couple.


Charming room, fantastic food

3.8 on February 11, 2012

I booked a long weekend for my husband and me to celebrate his birthday, and we enjoyed our stay very much. The room was slightly shabbier than I expected from seeing the website, but it was clean, everything worked, and there was an abundance of hot water. The food was the star, though. In addition to the ample and elegant breakfasts, we also ate dinner there one night and our meals were superb. Overall, we had a lovely, romantic time and would go back again.


weekend getaway

3.8 on January 25, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the castle! we had the "swinging" bed of eunice's room. Other than the heater was a little funky when we got there, Allen helped get it going!! The murder mystery dinner sounded like a blast and we can't wait to come back this summer and take a dinner cruise and stay in another room!!


hidden treasure!

3.8 on January 15, 2012

WONDERFUL food, and learned interesting info about the house, family, and area of Spicer!


Spicer Castle

5 on January 15, 2012

Everything was very beautiful! The staff was very friendly and helpful.


Spicer Castle was woderful!

4.0 on January 09, 2012

My husband and I had never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast before so we weren't sure what to expect. It turned out to be wonderful! My husband travels for work and can be gone for months at a time and this was the perfect romantic get away for us. Everthing was taken care of. The rooms are small (the bathrom had us in fits and giggles)and the stairs for the loft bedroom are steep, but it made it that much more fun and romantic. The staff was very friendly and anything we asked for they were able to provide extra rolls, butter, soap, you name it! Their lemon and verbena soap was so delicious smelling I washed my hands more than any normal person ever should. The food was scrumptiouos and there was more than enough for both myself and my husband. We had afternoon tea, candlelit dinner for two, and breakfast. By the time we came for breakfast we couldn't imagine how we could possibly eat another bite. I came across a package deal and we were there mid week of December . If you get a chance to do it that way I recommend it. We cuddled up in Christopher's room, ate too much, laughed a lot, enjoyed each others company and I look forward to doing it again.


Not as good as our first visit

2.6 on January 04, 2012

The room was okay but the dinner was ruined because the ribs were not cooked correctly.


Interesting and fun place

3.2 on December 14, 2011

Stayed in "John's Cabin" - a delightful and fun place. No it is not fancy - no it is not full of modern amenities - but if that is what you are looking for then you are probably not a B&B type person. Most all comments are positive - the room, the breakfast, the grounds and the location are very nice. This is a family run business and the breakfast crew were terrific! and fun!. The rest of the staff are helpful but not overbearing - a good thing to me. AVOID the evening meal if they are having a large group in that night - that was a bad experience and completely turned us off from taking the evening meals there or attending the murder mystery offering - didn't want ANYTHING to do with that group again! The food was decent (nothing to brag about for sure) and the service was shockingly bad and rude - we were an inconvience to them that night at best, and they made it clear they wanted us out of the way to make room for their large party.... not fun! Bottom line - enjoy the location, don't miss breakfast, expect to be "on your own", avoid the place for dinner. We had planned on attending the murder mystery offering but the evening staff was so rude we chose to skip that event - might have been a great show don't know - Only regret is having dinner there....


Quaint Room

2.8 on December 06, 2011

We stayed here with a living social deal. We were put up in one of the out buildings. It was a nice little room, with a queen bed, over-sized double tub, and a sink. Not thinking about it, I opened the little door by the entrance expecting to see a spot to hang a coat. Instead, I found the toilet. The wall in front of the toilet was a mere 6" or less away. My wife lay on the bed laughing hysterically at me, while I grumbled about my business. When her turn came, she realized I wasn't over-exaggerating. She's 5'2" and about 130, Not a large woman. Even she couldn't sit facing front, but had to sit sideways. We had an appointment in the morning, so couldn't stay for breakfast, but one of the attendants put together a delicious muffin and fruit bowl for us. I generally am forthcoming to management about things that could be improved, but with the toilet, I figure this is a no brainer and didn't say anything. If planning on a visit, ensure you get a room with a usable toilet!


spicer castle stay

2.8 on November 20, 2011

Food was good, the cabin could have been a bit cleaner.


Murder Mystery Birthday Celebration

3.4 on November 16, 2011

I took my mother to Spicer Castle for the murder mystery dinner in honor of her 60th birthday. We stayed in Frances' room and it was lovely. Very cozy and clean. The staff was friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The murder mystery- while a bit disorganized due to the fact that 14 strangers were attempting to act out an improv skit while trying to solve the game- was a good time. I do wish there had been a type of intermission during the dinner seeing as though it was over 3 hours long and I felt unable to leave to use the restroom because I was constantly part of the action (as were all the characters). The dinner served wasn't very impressive and I was disappointed in that; however, the breakfast the following morning was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed listening to Allen, the great-grandson of John Spicer, tell stories from his childhood.


Murder Mystery Dinner was fun!

2.8 on November 01, 2011

The Murder Mystery Dinner was a lot of fun. We would recommend this to anyone that wants some fun entertainment. The B&B itself was ok.


Fun and Relaxing evening

3.8 on October 25, 2011

We had a good time with the Murder mystery and the room was fun (Swinging bed). Bathroom was very petite. They do a good job trying to balance the maintenance of the house keeping in mind the house is historic.


Should be called a Bed & Every Meal You Want to Eat

4.2 on October 19, 2011

The food at the Spicer Castle was the best tasting food that I have ever had while on a vacation. Each meal not only tasted phenomenal but it was pleasing to the eyes as well.


murder mystery and stay

4.0 on October 05, 2011

we stayed in Johns cottage and it was cute and charming and the food was excellent and the servers were great - they really made us feel welcomed:)


A great little getaway

4.2 on September 19, 2011

This was a great little getaway. Saw a last minute deal for over the Labor Day holiday, and we took advantage of the special. We even arrived later than we anticipated, and they saved our dinner reservation for us. The service was fabulous! The food was great. Everyone was very helpful and accommodating. The only drawback was that the fireplace in our room didn't work. Definitely will go back, but will select a different room next time.


A unique B & B

4.2 on September 08, 2011

Very unique B & B, nice location and story to the property. Food was outstanding, as they also serve dinner. Wide variety of "types' of rooms, cabins, themes to choose from. Enjoyed our stay.


Gorgeous setting and

1.8 on September 07, 2011

Spicer Inn is nestled among beautiful trees and the lake setting is gorgeous. But it goes downhill from there as it appears that little has been done to maintain this Inn for quite some time. We stayed in the Raymond Cottage. The sheets appeared to be clean. But that was about it. The windows were covered with cobwebs, the tablecloth was dirty, part of the ceiling was falling down, the couch had holes and the stuffing was coming out. The bathroom was almost unusable. Breakfast was passable but took over an hour to be completed. Regrettably, the picture perfect setting, does not trump its other problems and I don't recommend it. Spicer Castle is grossly overpriced and in woeful disrepair.


spicer castle but not quite a castle

2.8 on September 06, 2011

The room was small and they had forgot to empty the coffee maker which had mold in it. they were pleasant but a bit unorganized at the Inn.


Murder Mystery was lots of fun!!!!!

3.6 on August 31, 2011

I am in the hospitality industry. The food at the Spicer Castle was FABULOUS!!!


Short, sorry stay at Spicer

1.8 on August 23, 2011

Pictures on website looked really nice, but was sadly disappointed when we walked into Raymonds cabin. Innkeeper had to force door open because of poor maintainence. Couch was worn out and threadbare, bathroom was TINY and looked unchanged from the 1950's, not to mention dirty, full of cobwebs and had rust in the painted steel shower surround. The second floor loft had less than five feet of headroom at the peak and the bed was just a mattress on a low plywood frame. We wound up staying in Johns cottage instead, but cut our stay there very short... The staff was polite, friendly and accomidating, but could not make up for the sub par lodging.


Mystery Dinner & Overnight Stay

4.2 on August 12, 2011

The Mystery dinner was excellent & The room was great:) Would visit again for a romantic evening!!


Fun getaway weekend

2.6 on August 08, 2011

My husband & I, as well as, another couple stayed at Spicer Castle in order to get away for the w/e & see a local band we enjoy at a fun lakeside bar. I had heard about Spicer Castle on a local TV news spot & a coworker. We did not do a dinner cruise or murder mystery for this trip.


Weekend fun for two!

5 on August 06, 2011

Spent the night and participated in the Murder Mystery Diner. Loads of fun especially if all involved get into their character. Lots of inuendo do dont recommend it for teens. Had a blast! Bed was comfy, rooms are cozy small- good for a coules getaway! Food was fantastic!


Relaxation, relaxation, relaxation!

4.8 on August 03, 2011

We stayed in John's Cottage the weekend of July 30, 2011. It was a very humid day, we were so pleased when we got to the cottage and the air was on for us! We quickly unpacked and then walked around the grounds and spent time relaxing by the lake. We enjoyed a wonderful supper in the dining room, and after supper we walked through the house, taking time to look at the many books in the living room and walking upstairs. After that we enjoyed sitting in front of Johns Cottage taking in a gorgeous sunset on Green Lake. We set out for a relaxing weekend away from the hustle and bustle of the city life and thats exactly what we found at Spicer Castle!! My husband and I will definately be back-thank you so much for the wonderful service!


Beautiful Lake

3.4 on August 02, 2011

This was my first experience at a Bed and Breakfast. We were looking for more things to do on the lake. The dinner cruise was wonderful!


I liked our stay

3.0 on July 06, 2011

I thought it was a nice place for an overnight. We stayed in the Jessie room which has a lovely view over the lake and a pretty seating area with a table which we enjoyed. We liked learning about the history of the building and the family and enjoyed the propietor who is a descendent of Mr Spicer. The food was also good. Although nice, the wait staff could improve their menu knowledge and service when respoding to customers' requests.


Our First B&B

4.0 on July 04, 2011

Our first B&B was a great one. We had a gift certificate and did not know what to expect. The service was great, very friendly staff and residents. Great restaurant near by and beautiful scenery. Room was clean and tidy. Quiet and nice just to get away from all the hustle and bustle. Our favorite was the four course breakfast. Healthy and delicious!


Perfect way to spend my 30th Birthday!

4.0 on June 25, 2011

We stayed in John's Cabin and participated in the Murder Mystery Dinner. It was wonderful! The cottage was the perfect setting for a romantic evening with my husband, the fireplace and whirlpool tub were such a nice bonus! The Murder Mystery Dinner was so much fun, we had a wonderful group of people that made the evening so great!!! Met some great people who've become friends! Food was very good, and setting was perfect. Breakfast the next day was also very nice. Friendly staff, beautiful and peaceful setting. Would love to go back again!! Thank you again for the best birthday ever!! Leah and Josh Waterman, Apple Valley, MN


Un-Kept

2.8 on June 24, 2011

Built in early 1900's and not touched since. Very poorly maintained building. We enjoyed the mystery theatre and the dinner was delightful as was the morning breakfast.


Anniversary Weekend

4.4 on June 23, 2011

Used a Groupon for a night at the inn and was greatly impressed. Food was awesome and the service was impeccable. Rooms were all gorgeous. The room that we were in (Russel's Room) was a little small, but that is to be expected based on the layout of the house and the time period that the house was built in. Had no issues with hot water being available. Window A/C was available in all units which was nice. The grounds of the estate were clean and well-kept. Firepits were available outside as well as a fireplace inside in the common area. Had a great view of Green Lake from the dining room. The entire lake has a very well kept walking/biking trail around it that is immediately accessible from the road outside the grounds. All-in-all the entire weeked was quite nice, it was a very good experience.


A Step Back into History!

3.4 on June 14, 2011

We just returned from our stay at your lovely "Castle", and I must say the main house and dining room are truly a memory. My husband and I have stayed at a number of Inns, and have also dined in many fine establishments, and I have to say I enjoyed the ambience of your lake surroundings, the historic furnishings of your inn and dining area, but there is room for improvement in the areas of the meals and service. The room we stayed in was lovely and quite clean, but the coffee maker was not cleaned and there were some ants crawling on the wall by the microwave. A more thorough check by the cleaners will rectify this: the waitress we had for our evening meal was the only one working, and she needed some help. She was quite terse and I can understand why. Also, the food we ate for dinner was only "average", although your menu selections were fine, you need exquisite attention paid to how your food is prepared and served. I would suggest mentioning this to your chef. Again, we would love to come and stay with you again, and offer these suggestions solely to improve the quality of your establishment. PS The lady who led us to our room was very pleasant and took time to welcome us. It only took a moment of her time, but left a lasting impression with us:)


Murder Mystery Delight

3.8 on June 13, 2011

I had a wonderful time at Spicer Castle. I wish I could have spent more time there. It was wonderful to meet new people during the social tea and coffee hours. The beautiful scenery that surrounded you was breathtaking. The lake was clear enough to see the fish. The murder mystery dinner was fantastic. All of us in costume and ready to play our roles. The food that was served during the stay was delicious. The owner taking time to give us the history was also pleasant. I was sad to leave.


June visit

2.8 on June 09, 2011

atmosphere & food was very good, the staff was friendly & helpful, and the weather was very nice. stayed in the Curry Room. Tried to use the bathtub once, but there was not enough hot water to fill it (did not shower or fill the tub prior to using it). Did not try again the next day. The bed had a thick layer of foam on top of the mattress that was not comfortable. It was much too soft and seemed to make the bed feel warm (on a hot day).


Potential is there, but this place needs some TLC, and more attentive management

1.8 on June 06, 2011

From the moment we entered the driveway, it was pretty much disappointment after disappointment. Everything appeared to be in a state of disrepair. Driveway was rutted. Grounds were uninviting. The mansion itself seemed ok (we stayed in one of the private cottages), but there were flies in the dining room when we went for afternoon tea. Had to leave after 5 minutes! Ants in the cottage. Calcium deposits in the bathtub. Smoke smell in the room (no one had bothered to clean out the fireplace). What really convinced us that we would never come back is the lack of attention we received. Bed and breakfasts should be warm, inviting, cheery places. Spicer Castle offered none of this. Instead, the demeanor of management was along the lines of: oh, you're here, here's your room key. No special treatment or polite conversation. We were just another number. It's a shame. This place has a ton of potential. I wonder if it will ever be realized.


Spicer Castle Mary's room

3.4 on June 03, 2011

The room was smaller than we thought it would be but, it was clean and nice. The food was real good. We had prime rib, very tasty.


Nice place, but needs work

3.0 on June 02, 2011

We stayed in Amy's room and the place was nice, but the rooms were very small and they needed work. They have a clawfoot tub in the room and the faucet of the tub had a constant drip which pretty much kept me awake all night. When we went to take a shower the next day, there was absolutely no water pressure. It was just a slow flow and it barely came out of the shower. We didn't get to stay for many of the activities because of our schedule, but they seemed to be nice. The lady at the counter the day we checked in was nice, but the day after a different lady was working and wasn't very friendly. We had to ask for a receipt since she didn't want to give one. All in all, the place was nice but I don't think we would go back. I think we're going to stick to our usual hotels.


Not worth it - even at 50% off

1.4 on May 21, 2011

Stayed in one of the "cottages" which are glorified sheds. First look at the place as we drove in was dominated by two giant dumpsters overflowing onto the ground. Ugly and SMELLY and the smell wafted down to our room. I can't believe they weren't mortified by the situation. No effort to correct it even after we asked about removal. The closet that housed the toilet was so small that my knees hit the wall - and I'm 5'7"! The stairs to the bedroom aren't stairs - it's a ladder. Overall, it's shabby and expensive. Don't go.


Spicer is fun!

5 on May 12, 2011

I have food allergies and they were wonderful at accomodating them. Would happily go here again!


Fun Time at the castle

2.6 on April 20, 2011

Our room was very small. The bathroom was so small that I almost had to back in. Bathing in our tub caused water to run to the next floor below and I did not spill water over the side so it must come from leaking in the piping system. The place is very old and in need of lots of repair. Most of the staff were very helpful. Staff can see what needs to be done but I'm not sure the owner can afford doing it. This place was very elegant in its day. The lake is beautiful.


Best vacation ever for me and my husband!

5 on March 24, 2011

The staff was so friendly and made our stay so enjoyable. The food was amazing, the best I had in a while. Needless to say we are planning a return trip as soon as we find some free time again.


total let down

1.4 on March 16, 2011

We had a group of 8 and stayed at the four rooms at the cottage house. Rooms were so small, and could not fit in the toilet (you seriously have 6 inches of leg room) and no heat in the toilet area at all. at 12:30 the upstairs tub started draining into our room. The inn keeper came out and offered to move us (in the middle of the night when is 10 degrees out) no thanks, The walkways to the house were barely shoveled, and totally ice covered, and two of the guest in our group fell on the way to dinner in the pitch dark. The 'snacks' were served in a room with buckets catching the drips from the roof, the dinner was bland, the main house was FREEZING and many guest complained of that. The bathroom in the house also had buckets to catch leaks. The mystery dinner was hard to follow without a guide (especially with a couple of drunk guest who did not follow at all) Not one person in our group of 8 liked the breakfast (very dry)then at checkout, you get slammed with a mandatory tip??? never before at a B&B... the dining room tables that are shoved together, leave no room for the staff to serve you, so you constantly have to 'scoot' your chair in so they can get by. It was a HUGE waste of money. Thankfully our kids and their spouses had never been to a B&B, so they didn't know how much of a let down this place was in comparison to most.


Good and Okay

3.2 on February 16, 2011

Our room did not quite meet my expectations, but that is because we went with my fiance's choice. The room was not bad at all, but it was not everything I wanted. I would love to go back, but next time I choose the room. Also, we did not have wireless internet access in Raymond's cabin, so we just listened to music. We had planned to watch a movie on the laptop. Breakfast was good, but it was not quite as good as I have had at the many other B&B's I have stayed at. Dinner on the otherhand was excellent.


Nice setting but not a great experience

3.0 on February 15, 2011

We enjoyed our stay for the most part. However, the dinner was not great. I had the pasta and it was so salty, I had to keep refilling my water glass. The servers seemed harried and like they didn't enjoy their jobs. Breakfast was average for a bed and breakfast--lots of courses, but none of them spectacular. The Mystery dinner ended up being fun, but it was a LOT of work and I wasn't aware that it was really only the guests creating the experience. There were no actors. There was a host, but he did not stay in his "character" and kept making references to previous groups and experiences. I did not appreciate the continual sexual references he kept directing toward the guest who was playing "Randy" that were clearly making her uncomfortable. It was awkward. The Inn was interesting, but the room we were in was very small, the bathroom was teeny. I liked the claw foot tub in the bedroom and it was nice to have HOT water, which can be hard to get at some older inns.


Murder Mystery Dinner Exceeded my expectations

4.4 on February 12, 2011

as a DIWEXS (double income, kids with Exs) couple this was a surprise getaway for the weekend between kids stays. I wanted to get way out of Minneapolis, and turn off the Cell phones for 24 hours. this charming little bed and breakfast was like walking into another century. The Murder Mystery dinner was a lot of fun, as well as having breakfast again the next morning, with the seven other culprit couples. I highly recommend this B&B for a perfect get away weekend.


saturday in january

4.2 on January 19, 2011

very nice, murder mystery was fun, except for the drunk guy near me. nice people , very nice staff. perhaps another water heater would be good as none of us had hot water...


Deranleau stay in Masons room

5 on January 19, 2011

Hi my wife and i had a great time at Spicer Castle it was a Christmas presant from my mother. We chated with other quest until 2am in the morning it was wonderful and so relaxing. The meal in the evening was great and the breakfast in the morning just kept coming. Great great time we had. Thank you so much for your hospitality.


Happy with Spicer Castle

4.6 on November 18, 2010

We stayed at the Spicer Castle in John's Cottage for a night. We were very pleased with the whole experience. When we arrived our room was quite cold, but it warmed up quickly once we adjusted the thermostat. There were also flies in the room that became quite a nuisance. There was not a lot of kindling to start the fire, and we needed to go gather our own. Some of the blinds were also either missing or malfunctioning. Other than that our room was fantastic! None of the above listed things would stop us from going back. We participated in the Murder Mystery dinner, which was a blast! And the food was fantastic!


Martha room at Spicer Castle

5 on October 27, 2010

Room was clean and cozy. Hospitality was super, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was delightful and delicious.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind email. I am gald that you had a great time at our Inn.


Murder Mystery Stay

2.4 on April 29, 2010

We stayed at Spicer Castle for a Murder Mystery event. The first impressions of the "Castle" left us thinking we had the wrong address. A lot of credit should go to the creative marketing photography that hides the dirt road and undeveloped look of the building and grounds. The staff, while pleasant, seemed more concerned about making sure they captured every nickle of your money than making sure you were enjoying your stay. For instance, the complimentary happy hour consisted of a shot glass sized taste of wine delivered with the message that there is only one free drink and only until 6:00pm. Beyond the annoyance of the penny pinching. The food was great and the rooms were clean. The house was old and charming inside. We enjoyed our stay, but will choose to spend our money elsewhere next time. I would recommend them for a meal or the breakfast buffet.


Our Mason Room Experience

2.6 on March 07, 2010

ROOM: During our visit, we were in the Mason Room. After checking out the other rooms, we decided that the Mason Room was our favorite. It had a nice view of the lake, a whirlpool, and decent space. However, there were some issues. First, the bathroom sink was in need of repair. The hot water line did not work and the faucet dripped constantly. Second, the floors were filthy. Third, the whirlpool was tricky to use. The signs posted on the wall warned of potential leaking to the main floor if water surpassed the tub rim. As a result, we monitored the water level and never filled it past half full. Unfortunately, we still received a knock on the door stating that our tub was leaking to the main floor. We believe that the overflow drain is actually the issue, so be careful not to let the water reach the overflow drain. Additionally, like other individuals stated, we also ran out of hot water quickly. We were able to fill the tub a 1/3 full with warm to lukewarm water. We sat in the tub and thought we'd wait it out for more hot water. After a half hour, we tried again for hot water - it was lukewarm at best. After another 15 minutes, we tried again and finally were able to infuse more hot water into the tub. Fourth, the room was lacking in typical supplies we've found at other bed and breakfasts. They do not provide shampoo, so remember to bring your own. Also, if you plan on drinking wine in your room, we'd recommend bringing along a corkscrew and wine glasses. SERVICE: Service can be summed up by saying we felt more like customers than guests. It seemed a bit impersonal. FOOD: We were there during their Sunday brunch buffet. The selection was nice - the group favorite seemed to be the wild race strata. However, when we asked for more juice, we found out you could only have one glass. (We were just surprised since we have always been offered more at other bed and breakfasts.) Also, the snack food at happy hour was extremely stale.

Innkeeper Response
Maintenance was underway and room should have been closed. Guest selected room after arrival and staff member that checked them in was unaware that room was undergoing maintenance. During evening, staff noted whirlpool tub pump was on for extended period during which there was no water leaking to main floor. Late in evening, perhaps 10:30 pm, a leak was noticed and this was called to attention of guests and the leak stopped shortly there after. On some occassions we experience shortage of hot water. The water heater has capacity to recover in short time. As we serve wine, we open wine bottles and there is no reason to have wine openers in rooms. If a guests brings wine to drink in their room they may obtain wine bottle openers and wine glasses upon request. Any amenities normally available in lodging and not in room are available on request. A new wait staff apparently told guest incorrectly that she could not have second glass of orange juice. On occassion guests prefer to enjoy the privacy of their room and accordingly staff are carfeul to avoid interrupting their privacy. Staff do not recall Mason Room guests on March 6 except at check-in and check-out. Apparently, they came to breakfast after it had been underway for some time as they referred to it as brunch. We appreciate suggestions from our guests and have a comment card in each room that is picked up after guest departure. We did not receive a comment card from the guests in Mason Room on March 6. They did comment at check-out that faucet leaked and they thought tub drain was leaking. We thanked them for their visit and comments.


House with a history

3.4 on October 20, 2009

We used this spot as a pivotal point for visiting some of the area state parks. The B&B itself was very interesting with a great deal of history in the area. The other rooms in the inn looked much more comfortable thanthe one we had (Russells Room). So I think the inn may deserve a better rating than we would give. Our room was drafty and had inadequate bathing facilities.


Spicer Castle

3.6 on August 26, 2009

The packages they offer are an exciting addition to a comfortable and pleasant stay.


Spicer Castle

3.6 on August 13, 2009

Thrilled to have supper and $99 special. When arrivedm no welcome or information given until we asked questions. We had to ask all the questions to get all the information. meals served very late. Everything else great: later staff friendly, rooms & food good.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review.


Fun, Romantic weekend

4.4 on January 31, 2009

My fiance got me two nights at the castle with the murder mystery dinner for my birthday. The murder mystery dinner wasn't exactly what I was expecting, but it a lot of fun, and the food was very good. The first night we stayed in Eunice's room, which was neat, I liked the swinging bed and big jacuzzi tub. The second night, we stayed in john's cottage, which was amazing. I loved the real wood-burning fireplace in the cabin, and the jacuzzi tub was very nice. It also had a nice view of the lake out front. Breakfasts were good, plenty of food for sure! The talk about the history of the castle the second morning with the current owner of the property was a little long, dry, and boring for my fiance and I. We would have preferred to have that lecture be something optional to attend, and not given at breakfast when we would rather be talking with the other guests. The common areas are nice, we spent one evening sitting on the 4-season porch playing games and drinking wine. It was a very relaxing weekend, I would definately go back here again.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review.


What a fun and relaxing place!

4.0 on January 14, 2009

The mystery dinner was a hoot! The castle was clean - decorated for Christmas - filled with unique old things and period furniture - the food was fabulous and the staff warm and welcoming. I'd go back in a heartbeat!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review.


Unique and historic lake experience

4.4 on December 09, 2008

We spent 2 nights for a birthday and get-away. Although our first room was a disappointment (mainly due to a tiny closet bathroom which wouldn't fit little ol' me, let alone my 6'2'' husband), the staff was very accommodating in finding us a roomier room with a lovely lake view, fireplace and jacuzzi. We spent one night inside the house, and one in John's cabin. The historic aspect (it's still owned and operated by the original family) and the lake location made it unique and very worthwhile, in spite of the chilly November weather.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review.


A delightful time at Spicer Castle

4.4 on October 10, 2008

My wife and I spend an overnight at Spicer Castle to celebrate our 34th anniversary. Our room was a 2-level with a very comfortable large bet upstairs, but a small toilette closet a floor below. The stairs were more like a ladder so we had our challenges. (Christopher room) The lodge was unique and historic. The meals were great and we enjoyed them very much. I have diabetes, and they made adjustments to the meals to help me. I highly recommendSpicer Castle, but try to register early to get a room in the main house.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review


To solve a mystery

4.2 on July 08, 2008

What a great time to start out as strangers and end up as friends as we solve a crime together - Great food!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind email. Our greatest pleasure is receiving wonderful compliments from our guests.


A peaceful getaway

4.4 on June 25, 2008

My husband and I just spent a very relaxing weekend at Spicer Castle. The location on the lake was beautiful and the castle is lovingly cared for. This peaceful setting was just what we needed! Our room was very comfortable and homey. We would highly recommend the dinner cruise. The food was superb!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind email. The dinner cruise is a fun and relaxing evening. We enjoy reading comments from our guests.


John's Cottage Retreat

4.0 on June 04, 2008

I took my husband to the Spicer Castle for his Birthday in late November, 2007. We also took part in the Mystery Dinner that Saturday evening-- It was so much fun. Our room was wonderful- We plan on returning this summer to enjoy the boat cruise on Green Lake.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind email. We look forward to welcoming you to our Inn for your return visit.


My dream wedding on water

5 on May 15, 2008

Hello on June 17th 2006 I was married onbord the spicer castle's own belle our dream was to be married on water not only was it the perfect place the castle was the most romantic place to send our first night as man and wife the staff was there to help me every step of the way they also had a back up plan in case it rained on our wedding day.Thanks so very much shelly walker paynesville.mn

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind email. Weddings are special for us and yours was most memorable.


Spicer Castle

Details

  • Nightly Rate $52 - $187
  • Reviews (110) 3.8
  • Rooms 17
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3207965870
  • Fax 1-3207964076
  • Toll free 1-8008216675

Visit Website »

View details

Top