Solglimt Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service5
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness5.0
  • Dining5.0

Score Breakdown based on
21 Reviews

Write A Review

Another wonderful stay

5 on September 01, 2013

This was our second stay at Solglimit. We so enjoy the beautiful property on Lake Superior. The Lake Superior suite was ultra clean and spacious with a fabulous view of the lake. Brian and Mary are gracious hosts and provide superior hospitality. We will be back!


Excellent Rooms - Spectacular View

4.8 on April 29, 2013

We have stayed with Brian and Mary several times and always look forward to our return visits. The breakfasts are always wonderful and very artfully presented, the rooms are very clean and beautifully designed and the hosts very welcoming. We already have reservations for another visit!


Wonderful place

5 on December 05, 2012

Great location, beautiful building, excellent food and service!! We can't wait to go back! Nancy & Lionel


Relaxing and Quiet

5 on June 01, 2012

We had a lovely and relaxing short stay with Brian and Mary at Solglimt! Upon arrival they gave us a tour of their house and showed us the rooms and what they had done to the house in the last few years - wonderful work. The view of Lake Superior from the living room/breakfast room is magnificent. We had booked the Kandinsky Suite and they offered us a free upgrade to the Lake Superior Suite (because it was vacant that night) from which we could watch the big boats and the waves. And the room has a steam shower, which was perfect or the rather cold and rainy day! The house is always stocked with snacks, sodas and ice cream - a very nice bonus. The breakfast was delicious and the presentation of the food very unique (yes, it actually tastes and looks as delicious as on the pictures!!) We also really appreciated the restaurant suggestions by Mary and Brian and both Lake Avenue in Duluth as well as the flamingo themed Maggie's in Bayfield had superb food. This is the best run B&B we have ever been to and we will most definitely recommend Solglimt to all of our friends! Thank you for your hospitality! Heidi (Graz, Austria) & Marin (Chicago, IL)


one of a kind place

5 on July 12, 2011

I've stayed in many bed and breakfasts, and found Solglimt to be exceptional for numerous reasons. The location, steps from the beach, is amazing. The house itself, as well as all the rooms and the common spaces, are extremely comfortable and incredibly unique. The food is artful and delicious. It's really the kind of place you must experience first hand to truly appreciate. Highly recommended!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for your kind words.


Relaxing Haven

5 on November 29, 2010

We recieved a bed and breakfast gift card from our son last Christmas, and finally found a weekend to use it. It was a "first" experience for both my husband and I. I began my search looking for different areas to go to and started touring the Inns that looked interesting. I pulled up Duluth, because we both love the area, and it had been a long time since we had gone even for the day. Well, I came across Soglimt and right away I knew it was just what I was looking for. We decided to come the weekend before Thanksgiving. I thought "a nice get away before all the Holiday hoopla starts! I am so glad we did it. I loved everything about it! Mary and Brian are such gracious hosts. The breakfasts they served were spectacular. The accomodations are awesome. We will definately be back! Thank you for your hospitality! Tom and Mary Jo Bloomington, MN


Want to Return!!

5 on October 09, 2010

I felt like I shouldn't rate every category outstanding because that seems less helpful to those reading the reviews, but when I thought about each category individually I had to. I was blown away by the Solglimt, it was just a top notch b & b. The location, an easy walk to Canal Park and the beach literally out the back door, was fantastic. It would make the place worth it even if it were mediocre, which it isn't. All over the property you can tell that Mary and Brian have paid attention to details and it makes for a wonderful stay. We thought from the pictures that it might end up being to 'modern' for are taste but instead it was fun, inviting, and BEAUTIFUL! In the morning while we ate absolutely delicious food while we watched ships lining up and waiting a little ways off shore to pass under the canal bridge and enter port. By the way the food was the best I've had as of yet. The last evening I took some time to walk out the back onto the beach and listen to the waves and check out the stars, a true vacation. By the way if you stay here, eat at Pizza Luce's atleast once, it's up just a little ways past Canal Park but it's worth the walk!


Amazing!

5 on September 15, 2010

This was the first time that I had been to a B&B and it was amazing. Brian and Mary make you feel at home, but still give you your space. The view is gorgeous and the food is delicious! I would highly recommend Solglimt.


Lake Superior Riveria

4.6 on August 23, 2010

Striking setting, beautiful furnishings, tasty breakfast, excellent in every respect


Fabulous get away

4.4 on March 03, 2010

Mary and Brian are amazing at running this B&B! The food is exceptional! It is a wonderful place to relax and be pampered.


A Perfect Getaway

5 on August 31, 2009

Solglimt was our first bed and breakfast experience and we could not have chosen a better place to stay. Brian and Mary are exceptional hosts -- nice, helpful and warm, but not intrusive. The B&B is very close to the lift bridge, which we could see out of our skylight. We stayed in Kandinsky's Loft and found it to be a nice and cozy room. I especially enjoyed the skylights and hearing the waves crash against the beach. We did find, however, that we would prefer a room with a separate bathroom next time. They have five rooms to choose from, all very private and well appointed. Any of the rooms would be a good choice. The breakfast was amazing. It was 3 courses and each one demonstrated the care and talent Mary and Brian have for this business. They also have snacks and sodas/teas available all day and night, and movies you can bring back to your room. I am hoping to return to Solglimt in the future and highly recommend it to anyone interested in staying in Duluth.


WOW!

5 on June 24, 2009

Mary and Brian are the epitome of hospitality. The amenities, decor, accommodations and food were outstanding. Mary and Brian have worked hard and their efforts have certainly paid off for everyone that visit Solglimt. This is a real treat!


Wonderful weekend

5 on April 26, 2009

Solglimt is beautiful and highlights the appeal of Duluth on the water - but the most amazing aspect of our stay at Solglimt was the personality and care of Brian and Mary, the innkeepers. They are keenly interested in the guests' stories, keeping note of meals, anniversaries and birthdays. In additional, the inn is beautiful, the rooms are immaculate and have excellent views of Duluth and Lake Superior. Solglimt is located right on the shore, and a vacation on Park Point is almost another world from the rest of Duluth.


Our January getaway

4.8 on January 27, 2009

Our two stays at Solglimt have been excellent. Brian & Mary are outstanding hosts. The food is excellent. The location is beautiful and close to Canal Park. They made our stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Innkeeper Response
We received this email from our guest that posted this review. Hi Mary & Brian, I have a review on the B&B sight which I just read. I found that I must have pushed a wrong button and did not give you guys a perfect score. I don't know how to correct it. If you know, I will do it. I feel bad that I wasn't more careful. I just want you to know that it is a mistake. Our stay was 5 stars in every way. I will be watching the web cam to see the progress of your building project. Jan


Solglimt

5 on August 25, 2008

A unique, one of a kind, B&B on the Lake Superior shore with a restful view and delicious gourmet breakfast served by congenial hosts.


A Magical Place

5 on July 29, 2008

My husband and I celebrated our 10th Anniversary with a stay at Solglimt. We decided to travel to Lake Superior and began to search for B&Bs to stay in. In our planning we decided to stay at maybe a couple of places over the course of a week. When we saw Solglimt's website, however, we decided to make Duluth "home" and we are so happy that we did. Solglimt is exceptional in every way. Mary and Brian are welcoming, knowledgeable, artistic, generous people who are clearly passionate about running an inn. We were delighted with the Harbor View Suite. While we had a private deck, we spent most of our time on the patios overlooking Lake Superior. We watched 1,000 foot ships arrive and sailboat races from the beach while eating smoked lake trout and sipping wine. Our weather was great, so we ate breakfast outside surrounded by Mary and Brian's garden which is magnificent. Their eye for design extends to each of three courses at breakfast. The table is set by Brian with napkins that are carefully folded with a different origami shape each day. The food is plated delicately and sometimes whimsically (loved the fruit salad arranged as a chicken!). Mary's cooking and baking is amazing. I was thankful that she always set out goodies in the afternoon and that coffee could flow at all hours of the day. When my husband and I travel, we like to make connections with people along the way. We feel so fortunate for having stayed at Solglimt because we felt as if we were welcomed into the home of friends. Thank you Brian and Mary for making our trip magical.


1st time staying at B&B

5 on July 18, 2008

My husband and I just stayed at Solglimt last weekend. It was our first time staying at a B&B and we had no idea what to expect. We were a little worried that we wouldn't have any privacy, or certainly not as much privacy as we would have enjoyed at a regular hotel. Mary and Brian were extremely friendly, helpful, and not the least bit intrusive. The views of the lake/harbor were great, the B&B was maybe a block away from the lift bridge, you could hear them announcing all of the boats from the deck and could run out to watch them go under the bridge. The food was phenominal, really phenominal. They also have a cookbook, which I purchased and look forward to trying. (I already warned my husband that my cooking wouldn't be as good as Mary/Brian's.) We stayed in the loft. The bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed the modern decor. The only negative was the open floor plan - the bathroom was open to the rest of the room, there was no door and thus no privacy. I hear that this isn't uncommon in B&Bs but we didn't particularly care for it. We do, however, plan to stay at Solglimt again in the near future. We'll just stay in another room!


The Very Best B&B!!!

5 on July 06, 2008

We have stayed at Solglimt 4 times. We so look forward to each visit. It started with one night, then two, then three, then four, and now it will be five nights our next time. That shows how much we enjoy everything about Solglimt! We especially love the 4th of July fireworks as an added bonus. Brian & Mary are the greatest hosts. They are just plain wonderful!!!!!!


You need to stay here

5 on May 02, 2008

Solglimt is a unique B&B in unique place. As you sit in the Lake Superior suite, the only room we've stayed in, and look out over the lake, you'd never guess you're in Duluth, MN. Big water, sometimes big waves, ships from all over the world and huge Great Lakes freighters, expansive sandy beach and seaside landscaping makes you feel like you're on the ocean somewhere. Brian and Mary are great. You'd be hard pressed to find hosts as friendly, instinctive and accommodating to your needs. They make you feel at home...whether it's in the fridge for ice for a nightcap or a movie from the armoire, everything you need seems at your fingertips. Their breakfasts are to die for. You'll want to take a picture before you eat each course. And we haven't even touched on the decor, location and what the area has to offer. We could go and on. We've been there twice and can't wait to go back.


Our first choice B&B!!!

5 on March 15, 2008

Solglimt is the only place we will stay in Duluth now! Mary and Brian are absolutely the greatest hosts. Their comfortable home and surroundings are elegant, restful and in harmony with nature, both summer and winter. The view of Lake Superior is breathtaking. Breakfasts are incomparable, in both taste and presentation. We have stayed in all three suites and at the Sands in Solglimt too. Each suite has it's own special charm. Everyone should treat themselves to at least one weekend at Solglimt! We will certainly be back!


Awesome Inn

5 on January 22, 2008

I have stayed there twice and have found it to be the most comfortable and nicest place I have been to in that area. I plan to stay there again this spring.


Solglimt

Details

  • Nightly Rate $130 - $285
  • Reviews (21) 4.9
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2187270596
  • Toll free 1-8777270596

Visit Website »

View details

Top