The Pillar Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
34 Reviews

Write A Review

Relaxing weekend away

3.8 on February 14, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Pillar Inn. The room was comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was wonderful each morning. The upstairs hospitality room was a nice surprise with drinks including coffee and cookies. Would go there again.


An Excellent Place to Stay

4.8 on November 17, 2012

The service we received from The Pillar Inn was fantastic and the rooms (we saw the Casablanca suite but actually stayed in the Grand suite) were beautiful and extremely comfortable. The breakfast served on Sunday was delicious (although the continental breakfast served on Monday was standard). The town itself has some cute shops but with CSB/SJU, Waite Park and St. Cloud so close, there are plenty of options for activities. We would definitely recommend this B&B!!!


We would go again.

4.6 on July 02, 2012

Lovely, inviting rooms and a warm reception by the hostess. We had the mid-week continental breakfast which included a nice variety of options. Snacks of soda, cookies, popcorn were available in the evening. The grounds were a bit unkempt. Pond was empty and the front yard had a large dead tree. Perennials needed attention. Porch had rotting wood. Front steps had unsightly and loose carpet.


More than a weekend

3.2 on June 24, 2012

It was good to see that wi fi is available. Breakfast left in the refrigerator on weekdays not a hot one as in the past.


Beautiful place!

4.6 on May 25, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Victorian room. Everything except the bathroom was antiques and looked true to the time even the cd played was hidden. There was a TV in the room for who wanted to use it and a few romance dvd's. The bathroom was very small and the shower head came from the ceiling making it hard to get all the soap out of long hair as the water spread out so much by the time it got to you. I'm guessing the bathroom used to be a closet. Over all the room was amazing and beautiful! The rest of the house was beautiful and the host was very nice. The second night we were the only people staying in the house so it gave and empty feeling but neat experience. The porch could use some work but was still beautiful. The gardens were not ready yet and the pond was not filled but we it was early in the year for the gardens. (Middle May). Breakfast was AMAZING!! I do recommend this B and B to everyone! It will take you back in time!


The Casablanca

5 on January 15, 2012

Very nice B&B, great hosts and a filling breakfast to top it off!


Don't Miss This One!

4.8 on April 16, 2011

Awesome place. Very, very, friendly Hostess. Room comfortable, quiet, private. Superb breakfast. Home is filled with so many things to look at and talk about. Excellent deal. We'll be back, for sure.


Awesome time

4.0 on February 26, 2011

I surprised my husband with a night off and we stayed in the lovely Victorian Suite which was just beautiful. We had a great relaxig time just laying around and relaxing. Pat was a great host and her breakfast was outstanding absolutely delicious!!! The whole house is very nice, I would recommend it to anyone.


A great place for a getaway

4.0 on July 29, 2010

Our stay at The Pillar Inn was great. The room was wonderful. I loved the wraparound porch and the beautiful flower gardens. Breakfast was fantastic. It was a work of art. We would definitely go back again.


Wonderful and Relaxing

5 on June 03, 2010

My husband and I were celebrating our 4th anniversary and we loved everything about The Pillar Inn! Pat is an amazing cook and the tour of the Brewery was a bonus!


What a wonderful get-a-way!

4.6 on November 29, 2009

The Inn was clean, decorated beautifully and comfy. The food was gourmet and delicious. The jucuzzi tub was so relaxing and our privacy was respected. Thanks for the lovely weekend.


A Minnesota Casablanca

5 on November 03, 2009

beautiful Victoria home in a small quiet town, delicious & bountiful breakfasts, outstanding hospitality, great hiking on nearby Lake Woebegon Trail, a touch of the tropical in the Casablanca Suite -- the perfect Minnesota getaway any time of year.


Fun getaway

5 on August 18, 2009

Nice, pleasant, economic getaway in an elegant environment with lots of fun decorative accessories to enjoy.


Our 27 Ann. stay at the B & B

4.0 on August 06, 2009

We arrived and truely enjoyed the house & our room. Jill was friendly as she greeted us at the door and Pat is a great inkeeper. We enjoyed our first breakfast in our room with all the trimmings and the second in the formal dinning room. Fresh summer morning with the birds and beautiful gardens. The food was wonderful and presented well! Coffee was great and it was nice to have beverages etc. available down the hall from our room. The Inn is decorated inside & out so beautifully. We also enjoyed the private covered deck outside our room.(Grand Suite) We truely enjoyed our stay and would gladly stay again.


The Pillar Inn is a delightful treasure!

5 on July 23, 2009

After a day of bicycling the Wobegon Trail, The Pillar Inn was perfect! We stepped back in time into the relaxed atmosphere of an era gone by. The polished banisters, chandeliers, airy porches, waterfall garden and even the resident duck protecting its' young under cover in the flower bed created a charming setting. My husband isn't keen on B&B's, but quickly became a fan of The Pillar Inn. The decor in the Casa Blanca Room was totally fun. We felt like we were in the movie. After a day of biking, a soak in the tub with their bath salts was soothing. Pat, the innkeeper, and Jill, the owner, were such gracious hosts. They were attentive to our every need, but never in the way. The morning breakfast was a culinary feast! Our stay at The Pillar Inn was a delightful experience!


very nice!

5 on July 15, 2009

We enjoy their breakfast served on the porch. Beautiful sunny day, beautiful flower garden, birds, singing...all the things we enjoyed while we ate our very delicious breakfast!


"A Blessing"

4.2 on July 02, 2009

We needed this weekend away after my diagnosis and treatment for ovarian cancer. The Pillar Inn gave us a chance to be papmered as a couple and get away from it all. We came home relaxed and renewed. Thanks for all the TLC


Exquisite Step Back In Time

5 on May 28, 2009

The moment we passed the front door threshold, we knew that we were stepping back into a quieter, more gracious place in time. The inn is beautifully decorated with antiques, fresh flowers, and delightful touches. The grand suite was elegant, beautifully appointed from rich tapestries, to luxury linens. Our breakfast began with entering an exquisitely decorated sun-filled dining room, with soothing classical background music that set the stage for a culinary masterpiece. The innkeeper, Pat, was truly a delight. She made us feel like royalty, and yet quite at home. By the way, we stayed two weeks.


I won the B & B Lottery!

5 on May 28, 2009

Not a gambler by nature, I booked The Pillar Inn on a whim and boy was I rewarded! The Pillar Inn is a top notch B & B, from the sheets right on up to the gourmet, mouth-watering breakfast. I stayed in the Grand Suite and from my conversations with the other guests, all the rooms are "grand," and mine was aptly named! The only thing you will lose by hesitating to book a room at The Pillar Inn is the opportunity. The rooms go fast! Dawn V. Shoreview, MN


a treasure

5 on May 27, 2009

Sumptuous amenities, historical ambiance abound in this lovely home! We felt welcome, were given peace to enjoy ourselves and were fed handsomely! A joy to spend an evening here!


Wholeheartedly Recommend Pillar Inn of Cold Spring!

5 on May 05, 2009

Terrific getaway-well done experience. From the moment we arrived our every need was taken care of! Great breakfast in a lovely setting too.


Best B&B close to our home

5 on April 09, 2009

House is beautiful. Well decorated, easy access to town. Breakfast food was superb. Pat, our hospitable hostess, was knowledgeable and very eager and willing to share stories.


a rare and outstanding inn

5 on December 03, 2008

A wonderful personable inn with attention to every detail.


Fabulous!

5 on November 20, 2008

Everything was so very lovely! The rooms, bed, and breakfast!


Lovely weekend

5 on November 17, 2008

We especially enjoyed the Casa Blanca Room we stayed in. Beautifully decorated and accented with pieces reminding one of the movie. The host was very friendly and excited about sharing house history. The house was decorated lovely for Christmas.


Honeymoon Retreat

4.6 on October 31, 2008

What a wonderful time in Minnesota. Beautiful scenery, very comfortable room, excellent breakfasts. A swell feeling of relaxation!


some enchanted evening

4.4 on October 29, 2008

My husband and I could not have picked a better location for our 16th wedding anniversary! our grand suite was finely decorated, our bed comfy, the jacuzzi was relaxing and the food and service outstanding!


Business Trip

5 on September 02, 2008

I had to schedule a business trip in the area. While not typically a b&b person, I considered one so I could be more comfortable than the basic hotel. The stay was peaceful and worth the extra drive. They even had some Big Band CDs to play which helped me recall how much I enjoy that music. From the greeting upon my arrival until I left after breakfast the next morning, everything was warm and first rate. I would certainly stay again when in the area. It proved to me that a b&b is not only for couples.


"Weekend Wonderful"

5 on August 14, 2008

Breakfast was wounderful, The house is so wonderful and the Innkeeper was so wonderful and conversational. We've booked another weekend!


"One of the Best"

4.8 on July 31, 2008

Having stayed at B&B's from Quebec to San Miguesl, I have to rate this one near the top. Pat "whips" up a great breakfast and the room comfortably slept three adults.


ALMOST PERFECT

4.2 on July 03, 2008

The hostess, Pat, was great. She cooked an awesome breakfast. The house is gorgeous, really well-done. Unfortunately, the bed in our room (full size) was too small. Husband had to sleep on floor for 3 nights. I enjoyed the breakfast but not the bed.

Innkeeper Response
The guests that stayed in this room were truly wonderful guests. So wonderful, in fact, that they didn't tell us there was a problem with the bed when asked how they slept each night! While one of the 3 nights they stayed we were completely booked, we most certainly would have brought in a cot or moved them to a different room on the available nights, had we known they were uncomfortable. Our guests comfort is always of utmost concern. As a separate note, plans were already in the works to upgrade the full sized mattress (which is the typical size for the beautiful antique bedframe that is in this room), to a queen size mattress. The frame is currently in the shop being resized and will have a queen sized mattress by July 12th.


Annual Mother/Daughter Getaway

5 on July 02, 2008

My daughter and I go on the bike trail ride each summer and then stay at a selected B&B. The Casablanca Suite's decor was unique! Gracias. The front porch was a delight


The Pillar

5 on May 29, 2008

The staff was so friendly and gracious. We were very late and she remained so welcoming and kind.


May 2008

3.8 on May 29, 2008

How lovely the whole house was. Rooms were decorated beautifully. The bed was so wonderful and comfortable.


The Pillar Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $79 - $159
  • Reviews (34) 4.7
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3206853828

Visit Website »

View details

Top