Oakenwald Terrace Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
25 Reviews

Write A Review

A wonderful experience!

4.6 on February 18, 2014

I would absolutely stay again and intend to. The atmosphere and service were one of a kind and I would recommend you visit as soon as you're able.


Beautiful stroll back into history

3.6 on January 24, 2014

A wonderful stay! Gorgeous and perfectly preserved by the owners, who kindly provided a tour and shared with us the rich history of this gracious home. We had a lovely time amid their truly bountiful memories.


charming b&b

4.8 on October 16, 2013

beautiful home, wonderful meals and great proprieters!!!


Charming B&B

4.0 on October 15, 2013

What a fine example of the gilded age. My wife and I marveled at the beautiful woodwork and all the antiques that fill every nook and cranny.. Our hosts were warm and welcoming and breakfast was a real treat. We plan to return!


9/11/13 visit

4.4 on September 16, 2013

I enjoyed my visit to Oakenwald Terrace. I am not a person who enjoys rooms cluttered full of antiques, though. I felt that this home would be much better served and enjoyed if there were fewer items and pieces of furniture in each room - it seemed more than the rooms could handle. If you have small children that need to touch everything (like normal children!) this place would be too stressful. The home has been redecorated over the years to make it as Victorian as possible -with patterns on every wall, ceiling, and floor. For me, personally, it was too much, but the other advantages to being there made up for it. The breakfasts were delicious and there was plenty of it. The meal presentation was beautiful and artful, set on lovely antique dishes. You really did feel pampered by Ruth Ann. On the last morning I met Ms. Marion Lund, the owner of the home, and she is a treasure. What stories she could tell me about the house and its occupants! I think that I could sit all day listening to her and asking questions, had I had the time. Adults with an interest in history will really enjoy visiting here.


SURPRISE the last on our list is the first on our list.

5 on July 29, 2013

At the last minute we booked this amazing experience. Only room left in the region of Lansboro. Willing to take what we could get and WOW it was meant to be. The last chance room was the best room in the Lansboro area. Right out of the history books. Could have stayed longer to take it all in.


Great place to stay, museum-like house

4.2 on May 22, 2013

A beautiful place to stay with a wonderful breakfast!


Outstanding & Perfect

5 on November 10, 2012

Absolutely the best Bed & Breakfast in Southern Mn. The Collections were fascinating and exquisite in every way. A huge mansion. Gave a tour threw it ALL. Took hours to go threw. The Hosts were "out of this world". Very Very Warm and Friendly. Treated Guests like family. Hugs and good conversation - from when we came threw the door, to when we regretfully, had to leave. The atmosphere that was in the home was definitely Spirit Filled Experience. Dan & Janet McGovern


Oakenwald Terrace

4.6 on October 18, 2012

Hosts are exceptionally helpful, even to the point of seeking out and finding a mechanic for an urgent problem we had. They are friendly, informative, thoughtful and delightful people. The house is very clean and has a great history.


A Very Special Place!

4.8 on July 15, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 42nd anniversary at Oakenwald Terrace last week. Owners Marion Lunde and her daughter in-law Ruth Ann, were remarkable hosts. We enjoyed the time we spent with them so much! Their stories, humor, and joy, made them more than just innkeepers! We are looking forward to seeing them again soon!


Stay at Oakenwald

4.2 on May 18, 2012

Wonderful stay at Oakenwald! Very interesting home and the owners were fantastic. The breakfast was absolutely outstanding!


A Genuine and Beautiful Experience

5 on October 25, 2011

The Hosts(Ruth Ann,Bob & Marion Lund) were awesome, the stories incredible, the room exciting and memorable, the food to die for(old tried and true recipes)...we will be back... and with others...! Thanks for a wonderful time. We hope to come and visit at Christmas time to see the decorations. Frank and Madaline


A fantastic stay

4.8 on October 12, 2011

The hosts are just the nicest people you'll ever meet. The stories and history of the house and area are wonderful to hear.


Weekend away

4.0 on August 17, 2011

Very cordial owners


Oakenwald June 25th

4.4 on July 11, 2011

I thought the breakfast was fabulous. I liked the banana pancakes and especially the berry dessert. The dessert was out of this world. The only negative with the visit was that the tub in our room didn't drain very quickly. The home is decorated with many, many beautiful and delicate pieces of art.


best b&b we've ever stayed at

5 on July 06, 2011

owners were very warm and gracious, the home was very beautifully decorated in the victorian fashion, rooms were very comfortable, and the multi-course breakfast was superb!


Guest House Nice

3.6 on April 01, 2011

We recently stayed at the guest house for the Oakenwald Terrace. The building is interesting and is a pleasant throw back to the 1950's and 1960's. The house is fully furnished and very comfortable. I would recommend this as a nice place to stay.


A delightful getaway!!

5 on January 31, 2011

What a charming, warm atmosphere which takes you back to another era. The hosts were wonderful and the mansion is spectacular. We had a wonderful time.


spectacular breakfast

3.4 on October 20, 2010

Very nice hosts, many antiques, exceptional breakfast. We didn't eat again until about 7 PM!


A retreat for life

5 on October 16, 2010

This wasn't just a bed and breakfast to stay at, but a relationship that will continue to develop as we will certainly return many more times in the future. My wife and I were tired with the stresses of life, and all it took was one night to refresh our marriage and redirect our steps. The innskeepers were so willing to listen and just be a friend. They gave of their time and service and that is the reason we will return.


Very pleasant experience, and a great breakfast

4.0 on September 20, 2010

We contacted the Oakenwald proprietors on short notice, when we had decided to spend an extra day away, with no vacancy at where we had first stayed near Lanesboro. They were very accomodating, met us graciously, gave us a very interesting tour both that night and the next morning. Our room was at the back of the second floor, with access to a huge deck. Very quiet surroundings, very peaceful evening. The next morning our breakfast was available at 9:00, to my mind much better than 8:30. The food was excellent and very well presented. We rec'd a detailed history of the property, and were amazed at the extent and quality of the antiques present. A very memorable experience, I cannot offer any but the highest compliments.


Very nice place

4.6 on September 19, 2010

This was our first stay at a B&B and was a wonderful stay. Ruth Ann is a wonderful hostess and we will be giving her a call when we stay in the area again.


Awesome!

4.0 on February 01, 2009

My wife and I have been to dozens of B&B's over the years. This one is a must... The home was filled with amazing collections and there seemed to be a great story behind every piece. The rooms were large and beautifully furnished. The beds were very comfortable (some high thread count bedding). The food was excellent... and there was more than we could eat. I would strongly recommend the 7 course dinner option, we were at the table for over 3 hours and truely enjoyed the time. Overall, this is one of the nicest B&B's we have experienced and we can't wait to go back.


Oakenwald review

3.4 on January 22, 2009

It was a wonderful and very memorable experience staying at Oakenwald. It was the perfect setting for a group and I would recommend it heartily for groups to go together - whether for a time of planning or just fellowship. I would say that for a couple to plan on coming for a getaway, it might not be the perfect situation. It would be hard to remain anonymous - but I suppose that couples wanting to remain anonymous would not go to a Bed and Breakfast in the first place. It's too bad there isn't more to do in Chatfield and I guess that's why I say it's the perfect place for a group gathering because the point is to be together rather than to be out and about. But for us personally, it was a very good experience!


Great accomodations and top notch food!

5 on January 29, 2007

We stayed with the Lund's for the first time in December. We heard about the place from a friend in Rochester. The Christmas decorations were perfectly placed we spent hours looking at the antiques and endless collections of memorable items. We can't wait to go to back for Valentines day! Ruth Ann said that they change the decour throughout the year. By far, the best B&B experience in the upper mid-west.


Oakenwald Terrace

Details

  • Nightly Rate $110 - $235
  • Reviews (25) 4.4
  • Rooms 6
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5078673806
  • Mobile 1-5074210189

Visit Website »

View details

Top