Yelton Manor Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
16 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful weekend in South Haven

5 on October 28, 2014

Our children gave us a two night stay at the Yelton Guest House as an anniversary present. From the minute we walked in to register we knew we were going to have a great experience. Elaine and Rob were both extremely gracious hosts and extremely helpful. The room was absolutely beautiful and the amenities were wonderful. Having the continental breakfast of coffee, orange juice, muffins, and breakfast bread waiting outside the door each morning let us plan our day the way we wanted to. We have stayed at a number of B&B's but this one was by far the nicest experience we have had.


Relaxing and Wonderful

4.4 on September 20, 2014

This was our second time staying at the inn and it doesn't disappoint. Every detail is well thought out and executed. It's warm and inviting. The breasfast is healthy fare and very delicious. I love the fact that they share their recipes on line. We are making staying at the inn an annual tradition.


Extra special

5 on August 18, 2012

Our stay at Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast in the Ivy room was a real treat! Lots of them in fact, spread all over the house. The candies and books were everywhere! We greatly appreciated the hospitality of the innkeepers and their suggestions for dinner and activities were spot on. It was so nice to be just across the street from the beach and a short walk to the park, harbor, farmers' market and shops. Afternoon snacks were very welcoming and the breakfast was healthy and hearty. Thanks so much to everyone for making our stay so special that we would very much like to return.


Overrated

2.2 on September 12, 2011

We have stayed at Yelton Manor over the Labor Day weekend. The house is lovely, very neat, with lots of nooks and crannies and many personal touches. We have travelled allover the world and have stayed in different hotels and BBs. For the price of $300.00/night, our expectations were rather high. To our surprise, our room was very small and dark. Breakfast was average, but the snacks were delicious (Thank you Robert). Very annoying part of the stay was too many restrictions posted by the innkeeper who made us feel very uncomfortable and not very welcome (it’s difficult to relax when someone is always watching over your shoulder). However, I have to give a credit to the innkeeper for solving an unruly neighbors issue very quickly. Advise to the innkeeper: “All successful bed and breakfasts have one thing in common: owners who like people! Anyone seriously thinking about opening a bed and breakfast must like people and be able to deal with all types of people. This is a people business! You must also be willing to sacrifice a big part of your personal life since guests will be living with you”

Innkeeper Response
We did, indeed, hover over this group of four boorish guests. We did so to protect our other guests and our facility from damage during their stay. We sincerely hope they never return.


Great getaway!

5 on June 15, 2011

My wife and I just spent another great weekend at the Yelton Manor in South Haven, MI. We had a lovely, relaxing time and enjoyed everything about our stay. Highlights are the serene, quiet environment, great breakfasts, supply of DVDs, and my favorite...the candy and popcorn available around the clock! My wife and I also enjoyed our walks on the nearby beach and exploring the cute South Haven downtown. This is a luxury experience and highly recommended.


Birthday Weekend Celebration

5 on April 08, 2011

Turning 60 can be a traumatic time in any woman's life. Turning 60 at the Yelton Manor, however, makes for a cherished memory. What a magnificent weekend my husband and I just spent at the Yelton Manor for my 60th birthday! The weekend at the Yelton was so wonderful and relaxing that I think it took a good 10 years off my age! I have been enjoying the Yelton Manor for over 20 years and each and every time I stay there, I can't wait to go back! The location of the Yelton Manor on the shores of Lake Michigan make it an idyllic place any time of the year. The charm of South Haven with its beaches, marina, shops, and restaurants is reason enough to travel to southwest Michigan. The Yelton Manor, named International 2011 Inn of the Year by Lanier's Travel Guides, is the siren that keeps calling me back year after year. The moment you step into this beautiful Victorian manor, you are greeted by the gracious innkeepers, Elaine and Robert. They always make me feel welcome. I have been coming to the Yelton Manor so often, I feel like family! The inn itself is exquisite and pristine. Each and every room is quaint and uniquely decorated. Every floor has cozy nooks and crannies filled with comfortable chairs and wonderful books. I love finding a cozy corner to just sit, read, and relax. There are delicous snacks, cookies, and candy to munch on as you walk through the manor. The breakfast is delicious, healthy, and plentiful! I love going to the Yelton Manor website for the recipes. I have made many of the dishes for my family and friends. (They are starting to think I can cook!) I look forward to a summer trip to the Yelton Manor just so I can see the gardens in full bloom. If you are looking for that perfect get-away, you need look no further than the Yelton Manor!


Spectacular inn!

5 on November 05, 2010

My wife and I have never stayed at a better B&B than Yelton Manor! We stay exclusively at B&Bs and have stayed at every inn in South Haven, no comparison to this gem. We loved the fresh delicious food, the deep luxuries of books, music and movies, great beds too. The innkeepers were kind, funny, helpful. My wife became instant friends with Elaine and surprised me by giving her a huge hug and even a tear of regret at having to depart to go home. We felt like The Yelton was our own home away from home, the inn has a loving spirit and joyful feel. We'll be back again and again!!!


Yelton Manor Bed and Breakfast is outstanding!!

5 on October 18, 2010

Just returned from a weekend at Yelton Manor. Not only is the Manor beautiful, spotlessly clean and a wonderfully relaxing place to stay, the staff is just as wonderful. Professional, extremely helpful and knowledgable about the area, things to do and where are the good places to eat dinner and lunch. Breakfast at the Manor is homemade every morning and is a delicious way to start your day. They even share the recipes!! Yum!!


10th Anniversary

4.4 on August 28, 2010

Great stay! I would recommend Yelton Manor B & B to anyone who would like a break from the hassles of everyday. We saw the tall ships, walked the beach to perfect sunsets! Everything is within walking distance-no need for a car which I loved. We've stayed in several B & B's and Yelton was one of the best - we can't wait to go back!


Honey, I'm home!!!

4.4 on August 22, 2010

We were first timers to the Yelton B & B mid August , 2010, and just loved it! The accomodations, location, breakfast and late afternoon hor deurves were top notch. We stayed in the manor, top floor, and that room was beautifully decorated, cozy, and stayed cool on a hot and humid weekend! We enjoyed exploring every nook and cranny in the manor....it almost makes you wish for a rainy day in order to enjoy any one of the hundreds of books tucked away in the manor. Our highest admiration goes to hosts Rob and Elaine for their hospitality and hard work; we always felt like we were 'home' whenever we stepped through the front door...


Relaxed, refreshed and revitalized

5 on August 21, 2010

We unplugged - no computers, no ipods, and limited cell phones. We needed to breathe, to relax, and to find again the quiet within. After two days and two nights at the Yelton, we returned to the city relaxed and refreshed. Our days started with Elaine's warm smile and a scrumptious breakfast (recipes available on their website, too!), and ended with breathtaking sunsets on the small beach across the street. The flower and herb gardens at the inn were in full bloom, and a seat on the sun porch for breakfast was a prized commodity. This was our third stay at the Yelton, and will definitely not be our last -- though we've vowed to try out a room with a jacuzzi tub next time around! A huge thanks to Elaine and Robert for our new home-away-from home!


Wonderful B&B

3.8 on August 10, 2010

Mary greeted us at the door when we arrived, showed us around, and made recommendations for dinner in town! We opted for Clementines for dinner which was worth the wait! The rooms at the Inn are beautiful, appetizers at 5:30 PM were delicious (bring your own wine if you'd like) and breakfast was great! Filling but healthy! The beach is a stone's throw just across the street. Thank you so much for a relaxing respite!


Honeymoon Get-a-way

4.8 on February 07, 2010

This was a perfect setting for our private wedding ceremony and honeymoon. We enjoyed the beautiful flower gardens and quaint Victorian atmosphere. What a blessing to be married at the Manor and enjoy our stroll along the pristine beaches of Lake Michigan! We returned to our room and enjoyed the luxuious L-shaped jacuzzi and champaign on our private balcony before retiring. We enjoyed the basket of home-baked pasteries, juice and coffee left at our door in the mornings and the special surprise of picture prints Elaine had taken at the ceremony. Our stay at the Manor exceeded our expectations. We highly recommend.


The Ultimate B&B Experience

5 on July 21, 2009

I read all the great reviews about Yelton Manor, so I knew it would be nice. Still, we were amazed. It is absolutely magnificent; our room was tremendous, beautiful, and extremely comfortable; and the food was out of this world. The aroma coming from the kitchen in the morning is intoxicating, and will get you down to breakfast in a hurry. The location couldn't be better. The beautiful sandy beach is right across the street, and town is right around the corner and across the drawbridge. You can walk to everything. Most enjoyable was meeting Robert and Elaine, the most warm and welcoming owners you can imagine. We have made new friends in them, and we will be back for sure. Next time, though, we'll stay longer.


Romance, Relaxation, Beauty, Magic.

4.0 on February 25, 2009

My boyfriend and I escaped to South Haven to get out of the city for the weekend. We felt like we had entered a different universe. Quiet, peaceful, romantic, and fun. We played games, walked by the beach, slept in (it's so quiet!), cozied up by the fire, read in each of the reading rooms (there are at least 5 that I counted), explored the nooks and crannies, ate the most delicious breakfast, borrowed DVDs from the most comprehensive movie library I have ever seen, and just enjoyed ourselves immensely. We felt like we had been invited into a dear friend's home. We will return many times to come.


The best B & B I've ever stayed in

4.0 on June 09, 2008

Every detail in this B & B is well thought out, from the lovely gardens, fresh cookies and brownies, bottled water in the room, fantastic book collection (and cozy nooks to read!) to the DVDs on loan. The location is wonderful - across the street from a fantastic stretch of beach on Lake Michigan and within walking distance to downtown. Saugatuck is less than 30 minutes away and wineries abound! What more could you ask for?


Yelton Manor Bed & Breakfast

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2696375220
  • Fax 1-2696374957

Visit Website »

View details

Top