Last Resort B&B Inn Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.1

Score Breakdown based on
36 Reviews

Write A Review

Absolutely Great!

5 on May 26, 2014

Alberto and Mary were absolutely the best host and hostess! The rooms were impeccably clean. Every room has either a view of the lake or the harbor. When you walked out the front door, you saw the lake and only a three minute walk to the beach. I will definitely stay at The Last Resort and am excited to go again to Beautiful South Haven!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will see you again soon to enjoy the beach and all of South Haven, Michigan's offerings!


Oh, la la!

5 on May 25, 2012

Quel havre de paix à South Haven! Nous avons découvert cette auberge au charme du 19 siècle lors d’un voyage à Chicago. Les aubergistes, Mary et Alberto, nous ont reçu avec beaucoup de chaleur dans ce lieu qui rappelle la douceur des grandes plages du nord de la France. Nous espérons pouvoir y retourner bientôt! Louis et Anne


A Place You'll Want to Return To

5 on May 24, 2012

My husband and I have returned again and again to The Last Resort since our first stay in the 1980s. My parents and our children have enjoyed vacations there as well. The Last Resort is the perfect setting for celebrating milestones, enjoying Lake Michigan, and taking exploratory excursions. The accommodations are terrific and Alberto and Mary are a most gracious host and hostess. Five stars to The Last Resort!! Mary W. Daly


Just Lovely!

5 on May 24, 2012

I highly recommend The Last Resort for a peaceful and relaxing getaway. My husband and I first stayed here in 1989, and this B&B just gets better and better. The rooms are impeccably clean and decorated with charm. The innkeepers, Mary and Alberto, provide a delicious and copious breakfast and look after their guests with warmth and discretion.


WONDERFUL!!!

5 on May 16, 2012

We started visiting this B&B approximately 20 years ago and have loved every expreience we have had there. It just gets better every time. The Innkeepers, Mary and Alberto are such gracious hosts. If you have never gone, you should definitely plan a stay there ~ you won't be sorry. Carl and Maureen Otto


Stay if only as a "last" resort.

1.8 on September 25, 2011

This establishment is all business. I have come to expect a certain amount of cordiality from B&Bs. However, the owner of the The Last Resort Inn was very indifferent to our needs as guests. I would never consider staying at this B&B ever again.


Great Getaway

3.6 on July 30, 2010

We enjoyed the accommodations as always with our hosts Mary and Alberto. We recommend others to also visit their B&B.


Great place to stay!

4.0 on June 17, 2010

Our plan was a relaxing weekend getaway, and the Last Resort provided just that. The innkeepers went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable. The house is very relaxing, and we felt right at home there.


Don't wait!Get thee to this Inn!

5 on June 09, 2010

My husband and I stayed here 10 years ago. And I regret letting those 10 years pass without a return visit sooner! We just spent a second weekend there and Alberto and Mary made the visit most memorable! Our room was cozy and decorated very uniquely. We enjoyed Saturday night with Mary singing in her "Delta Blues" voice and she and Alberto led us in an impromptu musical concert with various instruments all to a Latin beat! This B & B is unlike any we have ever stayed in. It indeed feels like a home that has been enjoyed for over a century and the history of the place is palpable. Mary's artwork and the beautiful handmade products from Colombia dot the house. (I bought a beautiful woven scarf, beaded necklace and decorated egg cups while I was there, so take note Ladies - you can shop without having to leave the Inn!) The breakfast was great every morning and we enjoyed our coffee on the deck, inhaling the fresh breeze off Lake Michigan. Thank you, Mary and Alberto -we will NOT wait another 10 years to return!!


The Last Resort is the BEST Resort/B&B

5 on May 31, 2010

We heard about The Last Resort from my hairdresser... and wow were we surprised! We arrived late at night to this quaint B&B and when we arrived we had no idea how amazing our weekend for two would be! Mary and Alberto are great hosts and are there for direction and also know how to let us enjoy the surroundings for ourselves! The breakfast was great, our room was sweet, and bed super comfy! The area has so much to offer! Saturday we visited a winery and stopped by Saugatuck where there was SO much going on. We stopped by a few wine tasting stores, grabbed a piece of amazing coconut cheesecake and decided to had back to The Last Resort for a bit more peace and calmness! We had some wine that we bought from the winery and went to Tello's in downtown South Haven, MI - we highly recommend this spot for fine dining! Sunday morning we started with a great run, some lunch on the front porch and then we hit up the beach! The beach is literally across the street and beautiful! The weather was amazing - hot and a bit of a breeze! We headed into town again and grabbed a light snack and a chilled coffee! The town is super cute and within walking distance to The Last Resort! We ended up going back and wrapping up another bottle of wine with an awesome cheese tray/fruit plate on the front porch, then headed over for margaritas and burritos at the local taco place - they have great rooftop seating and great music! The pier and harbor is right in the backyard of The Last Resort... which is beautiful! Next time we visit we are going to take a boat tour! We really liked that we could pretty much park our car there and walk to dinner and town... My significant other and I had a great weekend together and some awesome one on one time! I definitely recommend visiting The Last Resort soon... we are planning our next weekend getaway within the upcoming weeks!


Relaxing stay by the beach

4.0 on September 11, 2009

I've come to the Last Resort for two summers in a row with my son, the welcome is warm, relaxed but efficient, beach is just across the way, plenty to things to see and places to eat within walking distance, highly recommend


Nice Place

3.8 on August 18, 2009

Nice place to stay. Simple, but very good breakfast. Room all very original.


Great value in an overpriced resort town

3.2 on August 07, 2009

The Last Resort B&B is probably not the place if you want luxory, opulance, lavish breakfasts and pampering. However, the inn keepers were friendly, their dog totally laid back and friendly, rooms clean, location great (right across the street from the Lake) and breakfasts filling and nearly the same as breakfasts I saw at a nearby B&B that was at least double in price. I spent 2 nights here. My room was made up on morning 2, which I never expencted. I had probably the smallest room at the Inn (with a double bed) and for one person it was fine. Two might be tight but not impossible. I was not living in the room all day. My only heads up would be your individual space requirements for comfort, so be sure to inquire as to the size of the living/bath space. I am a small person and the shower even for me was almost too small. A larger person would not have been comfortable in the shower. I will say that the shower pressure and volume itself was on the low side. I don't know if the other rooms are the same but if that is a concern, ask them first. Their request about the A/C was not unreasonable. Any energy concientious person should be happy to conserve power when not "at home". It doesn't take long to cool down a room. There are some people who, when on vacation, think they have a license to be wastful and demanding when the operating costs are not theirs to absorb. True, the house and grounds are not as elegant as some I have seen. And true, the decor is mixed. That said, I found the home and its decor interesting and a refreshing change from cold, stodgy, modernized hotels or hotels that disguise themselves as a B&B. I would stay there again but would just get a bit more information on the room size and baths. Oh - by the way...if you must have a TV - my room did not have one. There is one in the downstairs but if a TV in the room is a show stopper for you, ask first if your room has one.


Last minute at the Last Resort

3.8 on August 07, 2009

Last minute planning lead to needing to find somewhere to stay. Tried the Last Resort. Nice, quiet, comfortable. Clean and friendly. Will stay here again. Mary and Alberto have a nice place!


magical

4.8 on August 06, 2009

We were delighted to find this resort having stayed at another for 10 years. The ambiance, innkeeper, and appointments were spectacular. We will be returning next year. Kudos to Mary and Alberto!


Tranquility by the lake

4.8 on August 04, 2009

the Last Resort Inn is a lovely, cozy, hospitable B&B right on Lake Michigan. Super friendly owners and a tranquil spot for a beach holiday.


A Delightful Place

5 on July 28, 2009

What a surprise! Mu friend and I needed a room with 2 beds and this B&B was recommended. It is lovely. The owners are wonderful and exciting to talk to. Breakfast was superb! Don't miss this delightful place in South Haven.


Review for Last Resort stay

3.8 on July 28, 2009

We loved the location and rooms however the flower beds were the first thing we saw and they were not taken care of. My husband is disabled so the small room around the bed was difficult to manuever and if we stay another time we will ask for a room with more space. It was very quiet and the other guests and innkeepers very friendly.


favorable critique

4.8 on July 22, 2009

Mary Hammer was welcoming and delighted in showing rooms that met our budget, tips on eateries in South Haven, and features and history of the inn. Most enjoyable was the way she and Alberto interacted with guests during the morning breakfast offering a taste of her musical prowess and displays of art. Plus Alberto's wonderful yogurt concoction. Highly recommended!


Great value!

4.4 on July 20, 2009

I've stayed at the LRI on two occasions and both stays have been great! Mary and Alberto are both very friendly and attentive. The Lorraine room is spacious, clean, and has lots of natural light. It's a fun, artsy place and the best value I've found in South Haven! Right across from the North beach and a close walk to downtown, bike rental shop, Kal-Haven Trail, and South Beach.


wonderful stay!

4.4 on July 17, 2009

My husband and I really enjoyed the private cottage. Quiet, peaceful, and great location. We will be back


The Amazing Escape

4.4 on July 15, 2009

My husband and I were having a minication to South Haven before I got back to school and we got back to our 6 month old. W were only able to get one night in this great B&B and I understand why! The room was great with a wonderful view and Mary was so nice! Make sure to check out the water seating by the river, the back porch was a good place to read a book and have some wine in a quiet setting. We will stay here the next time we come to SH.


Romantic getaway

4.0 on July 15, 2009

visiting South Haven on spur-of-the-moment, we arrived without any reservation anywhere. We came across this beautiful B&B. The innkeepers were the greatest! Clean and beautiful!


amazing!

5 on July 01, 2009

Foreboding rainy weather one day, what an amazing time! the B&B was very clean, our hosts were exceptionally hospitable. South Haven is a beautiful town full of wonderful ships. The beaches are clean and pristine. An excellent way to spend our 10 year wedding anniversary! We will definitely be returning!


Fabulous and relaxing!

5 on June 30, 2009

Mary and Alberto just welcomed us like family- they accommodated our last minute reservations! Rooms spectacular and clean! Views breathtaking! Thank you! See you soon!


great place to stay

4.6 on June 18, 2009

I had a wonderful time with innkeepers who made my visit feel better than being with family. Loved South Haven and Saugatuck! Good food and great getaway!


Last Resort

4.6 on November 03, 2008

Mary and Alberto are great hosts. Perfect location, across from the beach and views of the harbor. quaint well-kept rooms and superb service. the art gallery is an added bonus!


Perfect Place

4.6 on October 10, 2008

Perfect location. Close to beach and downtown. A very warm and friendly place to stay. We were treated like family. Very romantic!


Exceptional!

4.8 on September 09, 2008

Exceptional!


Excellent Stay!

4.8 on September 09, 2008

Our hostess and host make the stay at the Last Resort Inn most memorable.


A Comfortable and Interesting Inn

3.6 on September 06, 2008

This is the first time my wife and I have stayed at a bread and breakfast. The inn with 14 bedrooms/suites of varying size were all distinctly decorated. We saw a number of these and found each to be very interesting and comfortable with some having a water view. A good selection of breakfast foods were available including a great yogurt parfait and fresh baked banana bread. A nice large inside area and a walkout deck are available for dining. If you want to listen to music or read a book, a bright cozy room provided just the right setting in a quiet corner of the inn. We'd definitely return to this property for a longer stay in the near future.


Artfully decorated room, great service, beautiful views of harbor

4.6 on September 06, 2008

My husband and I have stayed in South Haven many times and this bed and breakfast is by far the best in town. The rooms are decorated with unique art. It's across the street from the beach and the owners are wonderful. I would recommend this to friends.


The best value ever!

3.8 on September 03, 2008

The B&B and it's owners are cute, unique, and lots of fun! It's really a comfy home away from home. Nothing fancy, no frills, just a great OLD mansion converted into lots of eclectic rooms. The value for your $$$ is the absolute best. My wife and I have been coming here for years and of all of the B&Bs we've stayed at in South Haven this is our favorite! The owners are so friendly and lots of fun. The food is just heat and serve bagels/english muffins etc, and fresh fruit and yogurt. Nothing special, but still good to get you started for the day. The location to the beach is IDEAL. Just walk across the street and there you are.


Our favorite summer getaway B&B!

4.6 on August 29, 2008

We've been coming to this B&B for 10 years, and it's only gotten better and better! First, the location is only a block from Lake Michigan and North Beach...perfect! All it takes is a quick stroll and you are there. We've stayed in several rooms here, but our favorite is The Apartment, which is a very large space that can sleep 6 (we only had 4). We love the two separate bedrooms, large bathroom, full-size refrigerator, private entrance, and full deck with views of the harbor. At night, my favorite thing to do is sit quietly on the porch, look out over the peaceful harbor, and breathe in that cool Michigan night-time air. There is nothing more relaxing! Comfy beds and a good, basic breakfast round out the great amenities found here. Owners Mary and Alberto are always friendly and welcoming, and the Inn is filled with their own works of art, making the decor unique and special. It is very easy to see that they work hard to make The Last Resort a top-notch B&B, which is why we will always come back when visitng South Haven. Thanks for another restful, relaxing week!


good for babies

3.0 on August 27, 2008

one of the few that are willing to host families with babies


A Fantastic B&B!

5 on August 24, 2008

We stayed here last year for our 10th yr anniversary and we decided to come back again this year for our 11th yr anniversary. We love this place! It's got a lot of character since it was built in 1883 and also Mary and Alberto are a great couple who both have a lot of artistic talent. They have done a wonderful job in building this place up to what it is today. Both times we've had a blast with the different people that we've met here. We highly recomend this B&B! Great rooms ,great rates, and a wonderful breakfast!


Last Resort B&B Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $100 - $350
  • Reviews (36) 4.4
  • Rooms 14
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2696378943
  • Fax 1-2696370380
  • Toll free 1-8666378943
Top