Maplewood Hotel Reviews

Overall
3.9

View details

  • Guest room3.7
  • Service4.1
  • Value3.5
  • Cleanliness4.3
  • Dining3.6

Score Breakdown based on
108 Reviews

Write A Review

Vintage Bed and Breakfast

3.6 on October 20, 2014

1860 building with lots of charm. Excellent Breakfast and very pleasant and helpful staff. Walking distance to all the shops. Very enjoyable experience.


At The Edge of Main Street

3.8 on October 18, 2014

Old world feel and atmosphere. Beautiful sun porch. Massive furniture, small TV screens. Perfect setting for walks around town.


Maplewood B&B

2.2 on October 17, 2014

We were disappointed with our stay at Maplewood B&B in Saugatuck, MI. The bathroom was very small and needed to be gutted. Breakfast was OK but was below average for all the B&Bs that we have stayed in.


Small but charming room...

3.4 on October 15, 2014

We were pleased with the Maplewood. Our room was smaller than we'd like, but we enjoyed our stay. There's a beautiful porch or dining room for breakfast, plentiful & comfy sitting rooms, and friendly staff. They even have a sizable DVD library in case you get stuck inside or just want to unwind with a good movie in your room. Descent WiFi, too.


great getaway

3.4 on October 14, 2014

loved it


Very nice place to stay.

4.0 on September 24, 2014

Maplewood is a very nice B & B. Very clean and the rooms and all of the décor had a great nostalgic feel, but yet was very comfortable. Great location in town for all of shops and restaurants.


Great place to stay!

4.0 on August 07, 2014

Our first time at Maplewood. Excellent location, wonderful staff. Will be back!


Enjoyed our stay in Saugatuck

3.2 on July 28, 2014

The best thing about the Maplewood Hotel is the location, right in the heart of shopping and restaurant areas and just a block from the river. We stayed three nights in a standard room. It wasn't very big, but it was well kept, clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel itself was beautiful and charming. We were surprised to find an outdoor sunning area and lap pool. As bed and breakfasts go, the food was pretty ordinary and the same every morning. It's buffet style, which is understandable with 15 rooms to take care of. Overall, we were well treated and had a very nice time.


Would only recommend if nothing else was available

2.0 on July 28, 2014

The B&B has the perfect location. If it wasn't for that, they would be out of business. The hospitality was very poor. Never even asked if we enjoyed our stay when we were checking out. I understand that the building is old, but the rooms can still be maintained. Our bed had a book under one leg and the bed was still leaning. The breakfast was served off of a 3' buffet. It included HB eggs, 2 or 3 fruits(they ran out of blueberries, how do you run out of blueberries in Michigan) asparagus and some dollar store muffins. Breakfast was only available from 9 to 10. Dont look for coffee outside of breakfast time, it wont be available!!! The impression I received was that they were in business to make every dollar possible, at the expense of their customers comfort.


Perfectly situated in downtown Saugatuck

3.0 on July 18, 2014

The Maplewood Hotel has the perfect location in downtown Saugatuck. Perfect for walking to all the shops, restaurants, chain ferry and dock. Plenty of parking around the area. If you have children, it is situated right next to a park where the kids can play and you can watch from a lovely screened in porch. Friendly inn keeper happy to provide recommendations.


Great stay

2.8 on July 14, 2014

Overall good experence and very clean. I would recommend this to someone else and/or stay here again.


Nice place for a few nights

3.6 on July 05, 2014

A little overpriced during the summer season. The room was clean and quiet. Skip the included breakfast; Saugatuck has plenty to offer.


Great little hotel

4.4 on June 27, 2014

Love the location and the atmosphere. Very friendly staff and nice rooms.


Saugatuck weekend

3.4 on June 26, 2014

Stayed for two night. Beautiful we'll kept historic hotel. Was a cross between hotel and b&b, Checking and out amazingly simple and quick. Great lounge area for visiting with others.


Anniversary weekend

4.0 on June 25, 2014

My wife and I were married in Saugatuck and spend our anniversary there every year. This year we chose to stay at the Maplewood Hotel. The staff was wonderful and the room met our expectations. Being in the heart of Saugatuck made our weekend even more enjoyable. I would highly recommend the Maplewood to anyone visiting Saugatuck. Russ C. Midland, Mi.


Maplewood Hotel, Saugatuck, MI

4.4 on June 23, 2014

The rooms were very nice, although ours was a little smaller than I expected, and the beds were a little too hard. ad The staff was wonderful, very friendly, and the hotel was quiet. I was a little disappointed in the breakfast. Saturday it was a cold breakfast and Sunday was just pancakes and sausage. But overall the stay was good, and I would stay there again.


Great Stay at the Maplewood

5 on May 14, 2014

Had another great stay at the Maplewood hotel, so many different and unique rooms to choose from. Awesome location for any activities in Saugatuck or for visiting any other lakeshore communities.


Felt like home...

5 on March 31, 2014

My husband, myself, my sister and brother in-law enjoyed a relaxing weekend at the Maplewood Hotel in March 2014. You have a wide choice of room sizes and they are all decorated beautifully. The common areas are inviting and the staff is warm and friendly. We ordered our dinner meal in and played board games one evening and dined out at the amazing restaurants available in the area.


The comforts of home...

5 on March 19, 2014

Meeting family and relaxing over the weekend prompted our search for a B&B. Maplewood Inn was perfect for our stay. We were warmly welcomed and encouraged to use the common rooms in a variety of places within Maplewood Inn. Breakfast was wonderful and everything was fresh in the dining area. We decided to order dinner in and play games one evening. The staff was delightful and continued to check with us to see if we needed anything at all. I highly recommend the Maplewood Inn.


Warm atmosphere!

4.4 on January 22, 2014

Our stay was wonderful! We would return for sure. The place certainly doesn't lack charm and we appreciated the furniture time pieces used in the room. Cynthia is a gem and a great asset to the hotel! Thank you for a lovely place to stay.


New Year's Eve 2013

4.2 on January 06, 2014

We booked a last minute trip to Saugatuck over New Year's. The Maplewood Hotel is a GREAT downtown location. Weather was quite snowy; it was so nice to be able to walk everywhere if desired. Terrific "special" of 50% off the second night! The staff was helpful and friendly.We stayed in a king bed room; comfortable bed. Very small but clean bathroom. The suites (unavailable) appeared to have much larger bathrooms. Rather thin walls; but it is an old hotel. Breakfasts were very nice. A lovely surprise of free champagne & appetizers on New Year's Eve. All in all a lovely time. We would definitely stay here again.


Maplewood

4.8 on December 23, 2013

Had a great time. All services exceeded my expectation


Quaint and Cozy B&B

3.6 on December 23, 2013

It waa a very nice warm and cozy room and stay. The beds were VERY comfortable :)


Maplewood Hotel, Saugatuck

3.8 on November 13, 2013

Very nice, good location. Quiet and comfortable. I liked having snack cakes and candy available trhoughout the day. The main drawback is a crowded bathroom.


A wonderful Fall visit to the Maplewood

5 on October 28, 2013

I had a chance to get away for the long Columbus Day weekend recently and decided to head to Saugatuck and a stay at the Maplewood Hotel. I had a room facing onto the street where there was a wonderful tree turned brilliant orange right outside my window, soft evening lights coming from the neighboring commercial buildings, and the quiet sounds of people walking and talking on the street below. One evening after going out to dinner with friends, I had them "over" to the Maplewood for a late-night glass of wine and more conversation. We had the back living room to ourselves, used the glasses set out by our host, and enjoyed greeting other late-returning guests as they came in. I was busy every day having breakfasts and lunches with friends, shopping, and sitting by the water. The proximity of the Maplewood was great because I could stop in throughout the day. My last morning I had to myself and I took advantage of the full breakfast offered. How enjoyable it was to talk with other guests, drink coffee, and read the paper! It was so hard to leave!


weekend get away

3.2 on October 23, 2013

We come to Saugatuck yearly, and stay at different B&B's in the area. The Maplewood was very historic, which we enjoyed very much. It's close location to downtown was a plus. The rooms were cozy and comfortable. I would like to stay there in the warmer months to enjoy the out door pool.


Wonderful Weekend

4.4 on October 23, 2013

At my age the stairs were difficult


The Best Bed and Breakfast in Saugatuck

5 on October 02, 2013

Stayed overnight in three separate rooms. What a wonderful place! Impeccably clean. Cozy and so much history the friendly staff shares. Quiche for breakfast along with fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins, even pumpkin pie slices. Convenient to everything in town and don't miss the short ride to the beautiful beach. It should be on everyone's bucket list.


Good place to stay. Basic breakfast.

3.0 on September 25, 2013

The room is good. But the breakfast is basic. We ate in the hotel and went to an another coffee in a place nearby the hotel. Breakfast on Sundays starts at 9am. It's so late.


excellent

4.0 on September 24, 2013

unique setting


You can't beat this B&B experience

4.8 on September 16, 2013

Fantastic staff, nicely appointed rooms, delicious breakfast served on the sun porch next to a park. It was all lovely. Located at one end of the main shopping district. We could not have picked a better spot.


outstanding time away for my wife and I

4.8 on September 07, 2013

Came to Saugatuck to relax, shop and just enjoy the area, we accomplished all three, we loved our stay at the Maplewood, very convenient and accomodating.


Michigan Bed and Breakfast Crawl

4.6 on August 29, 2013

We started our vacation on Beaver Island, sauntering our way down the coast and enjoyed accommodations at multiple bed and breakfasts. Maplewood did not let us down on the final leg of our journey. We will recommend this location and hope to take in its beauty again!


Great place to stay

4.6 on August 26, 2013

Great place with an outstanding location.


Mini honeymoon

3.2 on August 24, 2013

We probably should have opted for a larger room, so the room expectations were kind of my fault. Go with a king sized bed, I'm guessing the rooms are much larger! Lindsey Taggart


Good location

2.8 on August 21, 2013

Overall, the Maplewood Hotel is a nice place to stay. Great location to the shops in downtown Saugatuck. Breakfast was good. Free wi-fi. Didn't use the pool, but looked refreshing. The room was comfortable, but a bit pricey for its size. I couldn't get in to the B&B I like staying at in the area, so this was a good alternative, although I'll be back at the B&B if that option is available first.


Great location

5 on August 04, 2013

The breakfast was fantastic and our hosts were gracious


Outstanding B&B in Saugatuck

5 on July 31, 2013

Awesome place!


Last Minute Reservation

4.2 on July 29, 2013

I decided to visit Saugatuck a day earlier than I originally planned. I literally made a reservation from my car in route to Saugatuck. The person I spoke to was wonderful. The room was great. The location was great. I will certainly be staying again.


Great time at the Maplewood!

3.8 on July 25, 2013

Nice place to stay, great location downtown, close to everything. Breakfast in the morning was included on a beautiful screened in patio near the garden. Would definately stay here again!


A Relaxing Stay in the Country

4.6 on July 25, 2013

The staff at the Maplewood Hotel makes you feel truly at home. Every request is met with a smile. The room was clean and comfortable and we loved the little pool area. Walking distance to town. A wonderful find, highly recommended.


Excellent accomodation

5 on July 18, 2013

We had never been to Saugatuck, and loved the town. Maplewood was right at the edge of town, and perfect location. The room was nice and sevice was great. We will definitely stay there again next year.


Loved our stay

3.8 on July 12, 2013

Great location, very convenient. Awesome breakfast room. Nice pool. Only issue was parking, but that's typical in saugatuck.


cozy and close to shops

4.2 on June 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Maplewood Hotel. The staff was friendly, breakfast was tasty, everything was very clean. We loved the fact that all the shops and restaurants were just down the block, so we didn't really need to drive anywhere or even need to take the little chain ferry. There were quite a few movies to pick from in the lobby, but we didn't see any DVD player in the room which was a little confusing. Really though, we have no complaints. Thanks for a lovely stay!


Maplewood Memorial Day Weekend

4.0 on June 10, 2013

It was our first time in Saugatuk, MI and the Maplewood was great. We only saw it on line, but were spot on with it being close enough to everything for easy access yet not that close for a little peacefulness as well. The room we had overlooked the playground, with the windows down it wasn't so bad, but not a huge bother for us. We had a full bed with our own separate bath (toilet & shower), vanity was in the room, but really not a big deal. The were two sitting rooms, a large dining room and a very large sunroom to have breakfast, which was great. The cold buffet had cereal, fruit, yogurt, OJ, milk and muffins. There was a separate coffee and tea buffet as well. The breakfasts were hot: cinnamon raisin French toast with bacon, goat cheese and spinach omelet with bacon from what I remember. It was all good and filing. For the price, the friendly employees, location, breakfast and price, we think it was well worth it to be in town without being all the way in town---if that makes sense.


Recent Get Away Stay

3.6 on May 30, 2013

Amazing little get away for us. Shopping, food & artisan works for sale in Saugatuck, all within a few blocks of walk from Maplewood made for a great time. New mattresses also a plus at Maplewood. The breakfast....well it was a little thin consideing the price of a room. Need more options like made to order omelets, scrambled mixes, more bacon (not burned). Its a B&B right?


A Lovely Weekend

3.6 on May 26, 2013

We got a sweet room overlooking a park. The Maplewood is perfectly located for walking and bicycling around town. It reminded us of the Chelsea house in Key West, without the trouble of traveling to We got a sweet room overlooking a park. The Maplewood is perfectly located for walking around or bicycling around town. It reminded me alot of the Chelsea House in Key West without the bother of getting to Florida or having to drive 1,400 miles home when they cancel the ferry. (Don't ever take the ferry!) Rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was petite but delicious. Can't wait to get back to Saugatuck!


Pleasant stay in Saugatuck

4.0 on April 24, 2013

My husband and I spent the weekend here (a baby getaway) and we had a lovely time. We stayed in room 215 which is one of the suites. It has a very large 2 (2.5?) person jacuzzi tub, and separate shower, a sitting room with gas fireplace and a separate area for the bed, as well as lots of windows which was nice on this gray weekend. Our only complaint, and this is really more my husband's complaint, is with the breakfast. There was a continental portion with fresh fruits, cereal, yogurts, yummy muffins etc, as well as coffee, tea and orange juice. The hot, served portion of the breakfast on one of the days was pancakes and sausages. They served two large delicious pancakes and two sausages. My husband asked for a few more sausages (he usually eats a lot more than 2 at our weekend breakfasts) and they were unable to provide any additional as they have a set amount each day, so that would be his only complaint, but I thought it the breakfast was ample. Oh and the location - really great!!! Overall it is a lovely hotel.


A wonderful getaway!

4.0 on April 10, 2013

I had never been to Saguatuck before, and the Maplewood Hotel and the whole area was a great place to unwind for the weekend.


Great weekend!

4.0 on February 20, 2013

Thank you for a great weekend! We arrived Friday evening and were greeted with a warm welcome and and a tour of the hotel. Our room was lovely, with lots of room to move around, unpack and get comfortable. We were delighted to find some CDs in the room and listened to Melissa Manchester, a favorite from long ago! Maplewood is located in easy walking distance to shopping, galleries and dining! We also enjoyed the cozy gathering rooms throughout the inn to sit and talk or read the paper, and enjoy some fresh baked cookies and a cup of tea! We would have made use of more counter space or a table or even a shelf in the bathroom. We just didn't have any place to put our toiletries. All in all we had a great stay and would love to come back anytime during the year, but especially in the summer!


New Years Eve at Maplewood

3.0 on January 04, 2013

We stayed for New Years Eve. The Hotel was beautiful but it was hard to control the temperature in the room. We were hoping breakfast was going to be served past 10:00 after spending the night out in Saugatuck.


Very pleased!

3.6 on November 05, 2012

Staff was very friendly and welcoming. Location was nice. Room was wonderful. Absolutely nothing to complain about!


Maplewood is quaint but a little impractical-

3.0 on October 17, 2012

The Maplewood is in a beautiful building in downtown Saugatuck. The location to downtown is quite good. However, it is directly adjacent to a public park and in summer could get quite loud. The room was nicely decorated, but had one huge draw back. The sink, shower, and toilet were not behind a door. That's right, no door to separate you from your beloved if you need to relieve yourself. It is around a corner, but definitely within listening distance. The jacuzzi tub was very nice and the other parts of the bathroom were perfectly serviceable. The bed was big, but the pillows were a little flat. The doors to the hallway was quite thin, so sound travels. Something that couples should be aware of if you are here for a romantic get away:) All in all, staff was pretty good and the vibe was nice. However, the price was a little high in my opinion. Might stay again, but definitely would shop around.


Door Needed

3.2 on September 26, 2012

Although our stay was pleasant, I would expect to have a door to the bathroom area in all rooms. We stayed in the suite and could not believe there was no door/closure/separation to the bath.


Anniversary stay in August

2.4 on September 17, 2012

There were a few things that did not meet my expectations during our stay. The room was in desperate need of a new mattress. There were blinds with no draperies, and the jets in the tub were rusty. The pool had not been swept the day we used it. The breakfast was average. I enjoyed breakfast in town more. We had put on our reservation that it was our anniversary. There was not one mention of it by the staff during our stay. I think when you stay at a B&B, the small personal details are part of the package. They were overlooked in this instance.


A nice place; great location.

3.8 on September 06, 2012

Our rooms as spacious with a private bath. The lavatory was dated and shower small but clean. This Is historic property so you expect some unique aspects. The headboard and footboard were antique so the box spring and mattress did not lineup. And the bed squeaked. The food was tasty; not fancy which was fine Great location.


Wonderful stay

3.6 on August 31, 2012

Would highly recommend this property. Great location and the staff was extremely friendly. Will definately return.


Weekend stay at Maplewood Hotel

4.0 on August 29, 2012

Location was fantastic and staff was helpful and friendly. It was a bit pricey and the breakfast selections were somewhat limited but overall, we had a very pleasant stay.


Saugatuck BnB

4.0 on August 29, 2012

Right in the middle of everything you want in Saugatuck. Quiet street, charming BnB. Deluxe rooms are worth the extra fees, especially if staying for more than one nite. Comfortably furnished rooms. Lite afternoon snacks. Wonderful and quiet pool setting. Breakfast hot plate was wonderful and changed daily. Staff was so pleasant and helpful, including the on-site owner innkeeper. Park and stroll the remainder of your stay


Center of Saugatuck

3.8 on August 28, 2012

Very clean. Breakfast was very good. Unfortunately, no hot water readily available for hot tea.


Home Away from Home

3.8 on August 27, 2012

Maplewood Hotel is the perfect place to stay to enjoy downtown Saugutuck's shopping, wine tasting rooms and shopping. The breakfast was delicious and the staff was welcoming and friendly.


Fantastic saugatuck B&B

4.0 on August 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our 1 year anniversary in July. The location of the Maplewood Hotel is excellent! You can walk to everything. The staff is friendly and the hotel is very well kept. Would definitely stay here again!


Great location, great experience!

3.2 on August 22, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our first experience with a bed and breakfast establishment. We normally seek out chain hotels, but Saugatuck was the perfect place to try a bed and breakfast. The Maplewood Hotel did not disappoint. It is a charming B&B with a very frinedly staff. Undoubtedly, we will return.


Small hotel with B&B charm

3.0 on August 21, 2012

Quaint and comfortable. Our room was a bit small and tight to get around. I guess that would be expected in a renovated house. Breakfast service didn't start until 9 am. We are early risers and that was late for us. All in all we enjoyed our stay and the location is perfect. Right downtown.


Quaint Hotel with a Great Location!!

3.2 on August 19, 2012

We have stayed at the Maplewood several times, we always come back for the location, everything in Saugatuck is within walking distance. While quaint the rooms could use a little bit of maintenance. The latch on the pocket-door on our bathroom was missing and the door would not stay closed. The included breakfast is only available between 9 and 10 am. I am not a "big eater" but I will still hungry after the single serving hot breakfast. Fortunately there was cereal and yogurt available.


Quaint B&B

3.4 on August 17, 2012

Delightlfully suprised by the B&B, and all shops/dining within walking distance which we loved. Our standard room was very basic, and perhaps a bit overpriced, but many of the other rooms/suites were beautiful. The sitting room was comfortable to sit and read in, and dining area on the porch was lovely. Breakfast was light for a B&B which is why I rated "dining" low. The staff was very pleasant and friendly. Would recommend this B&B.


Way overpriced for value!

1.8 on August 17, 2012

$200 room was cramped, no chairs to relax, luggage had to be in bathroom. Small outdated TV had to be watched from bed at an angle. Floors slanted so bed slanted, too, causing my husband to slide my way all night. Hard to even wash hands under dated faucet in sink, toilet made loud gurgling sounds, shower water pressure minimum. Uninsulated walls caused voices from other rooms and kids running down the halls to be clearly heard. Thus no privacy. Just a week before we stayed at another B & B (old, rennovated victorian home) for $125 which was 10 times better. Also, read the fine print! They are NOT flexible with cancellation or changing dates, no matter what the reason!


Maplewood Hotel

3.6 on August 01, 2012

Overall, very pleasant. Bathrooms a bit on the small side Great location. Staff is very helpful and friendly. We would stay there again.


B&B

3.4 on July 27, 2012

The staff was wonderful, courteous, and very friendly. The breakfast the next morning was quite tasty. Our only issue was the bed mattress. Quite uncomfortable. Don't think either of us got a full nights sleep. It was a queen bed that when two persons were laying on it, the person on the right always rolled to the center, and the opposite of bed mattress was saggy when attempting to rise out of bed. I did make the suggestion to front desk staff (when we checked out) that they consider replacing the bed spring and mattress. Would we go back....yes........beds can be changed out.


Good Location

2.6 on July 22, 2012

The location of the hotel is fantastic. It is right in the center of Saugatuck and very close to everything. However, our room was very small and a little outdated. We had a hard time getting the bathroom door to close properly. I thought the price was a bit high for such a room. The house itself very cute and the downstairs common areas are nice. The breakfast that was served was good.


Disappointed

1.6 on July 11, 2012

The room we had was small. We were there in the middle of the week and there were plenty of vacancies not sure why they chose to give us such a small room when several others, much larger than ours remained empty. Bathroom door was 3 feet from end of bed and would not stay closed. We asked them for a room with A/C and they told us our room had central air and that it was running. I told them that this seemed strange since the room was around 80 degrees and the windows were open. We wanted to shower when we discovered there were no towels in the room. We spoke to Mgt. and asked for an upgraded room and they complied. Breakfast was limited, small and swerved late. At $180 per nite (2 nite min) this is was not a wise use of our vacation $$$. Much nicer, less expensive options in town.


Maplewood Hotel

4.0 on July 09, 2012

Second tme we stayed at the Maplewood Hotel. Very nice accomadations. Room very small and very hot. Air conditioner didn't seem to be working well. Think rooms could use some updating.


Great stay and trip.

4.4 on July 05, 2012

Very nice place to stay. In the heart of Saugatuk, convenient to EVERYTHING!!!!! Rooms a little pricey, but location is everything. Nice, clean rooms. Food was excellent, however apparently one morning the help didn't show and breakfast was very late. 9 - 10 for breakfast is too late when you are an early bird and want to get out and going. Overall an excellent trip would definately recommend to others.


Pleasant Surprise

3.8 on June 20, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised that they have an in-ground swimming pool along with a nice seating area around the pool. It was very nice to be able to hit the pool during the extremely hot days that we were staying at the hotel for. The room was clean and comfortable with a nice 3 piece bathroom (a little tight in the bathroom, but its a B&B). The character was evident throughout the hotel, breakfast was simple and pleasant, and the hotel was clean and neat.


150 years old house has her charm

3.6 on June 17, 2012

Lacated very conveniently to many gift shops and art galleries, this 150 years house has her great charm. Breakfast is good and thoughtfully prepared! It was a great experience for our anniversary. As far as ammennities, I'd like to see the tv sets to be updated With larger LCD tv.


Disappointed

2.2 on June 05, 2012

Our long anticipated trip to Saugatuck was met with disappointment with the Maplewood. I should have listened to the reviewer who stated the beds were "firm" and the breakfast was lacking. The three best parts of our stay was the location (although few parking places), the energy, and the employee who made up the rooms. However, the beds weren't necessarily "firm" -- they were just poor quality. (I've stayed in hostels with better beds. My back hurt every morning to the extent I had to have it adjusted when I returned home.) As for breakfast, the breakfast was fair the first day and poor the second. (I didn't eat mine on the second day and my friend got food poisoning.) Third, there was no place open that you could sit outside and read. There was a porch but it was closed, as was the pool. (I expeat the pool to be open on Memorial Day.) --- We check out the second day because my friend was so sick. I have been calling the Inn to discuss these matters, but after three calls the owner has not returned my calls. This is not a romantic inn due to its lack of privacy, small rooms, and poor beds. To say the least, I will stay elsewhere in the future.


Peaceful stay

4.0 on May 26, 2012

We spent last night at the hotel and found the hotel charming. The room was clean, staff was courteous, the hotel had character and the breakfast was perfect. The bed could be improved- it was tilted and did not fit the frame. Overall great stay.


Very nice stay

4.4 on May 25, 2012

Great location, friendly staff. Would stay here again.


overnight

3.6 on May 24, 2012

it was great and we had a peaceful sleep . the only thing was that when we got to breakfast they had run out of bagles and it was at 10 am .


Maplewood Hotel

2.8 on May 17, 2012

Quite expensive, rooms were clean and charming although the window sills were dirty when opened and our wine glasses were dusty. The bed was very hard. Disappointed that the breakfast was commercial and not homemade. We chose a B&B for a home cooked dining experience to start our day. It tasted fine but we could have purchased the same things from Costco and heated it up ourselves. Great location and the service was nice.


Wonderful New Years Weekend

5 on January 04, 2012

Warm annd friendly hospitality Delicious food and treats Delightful atmosphere True Saugatuck charm


Exceptionally Friendly

4.0 on December 14, 2011

A very warm and friendly place for friends to meet for an enjoyable, restful weekend. Half way between Detroit and Chicago. Hope to come back every Holiday Season and enjoy a chat by the fireplace.


Awesome stay!

4.8 on November 11, 2011

I can't wait to go back! The friendly professional staff make you feel right at home. The daily breakfast was fabulous.


Our first stay

4.0 on November 04, 2011

We loved our 1 night stay at the Maplewood Bed and Breakfast. I had stayed there about 30 years ago because it was the only place available for the weekend. It needed help back then, and the owner has done a wonderful job bringing it back to life. We were greeted immediatly by our last name by the wonderful woman at the desk, wish I could remember her name. She told us we had been upgraded to a suite with a fireplace, and a larger room as well. This was very nice. The breakfast was wonderful, we felt very welcome and will return to this nice place soon.


Will definately stay here again!

4.2 on October 26, 2011

This is a Hotel with a Bed and Breakfast feel to it! The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. The building is older so there are a few things you'd have to 'put up with' like incredibly uneven floors and weak shower pressure, but all in all we were fine with that. It's also close to everything...we will definately stay here again.


Warm Home

3.2 on October 25, 2011

Very good location and close to everything. Quiet and peaceful


Center of It All

4.0 on September 30, 2011

A great place to stay. Restaurants, shops and parks are a short walk away. Nice public areas to read the newspaper or watch TV. An easy drive to area attractions. Breakfast is varied and is always a pleasant surprise. Cost a little more than a typical B&B, but is well worth it.


Saugatuck's quiet beauty

5 on September 25, 2011

We have stayed at the Maplewood Hotel in the past and this visit was equally gratifying. We love the area and the hotel's close proximity to shopping and restaurants. Very relaxing.


Lovely, Courteous, Good Location

4.0 on September 08, 2011

We just spent several days at the Maplewood Hotel in Saugatuck, MI. What a wonderful stay! It is a jewel with traditional style and charm. The staff was extremely attentive and kind. The rooms were extremely clean (something I value most of all) and the breakfast was wonderful each morning. It is a historical hotel - not a cookie cutter, commercial hotel. Therefore, it is very unique and charming. The owner has created a home inwhich you feel welcome and very free to come and go and enjoy all the decor around you. When comparing the rates in the area, the Maplewood was a good value (even less than some). We have found our home away from home at the Maplewood!!!


too much fun

4.0 on August 31, 2011

I came out for the weekend to enjoy all the Saugatuck has to offer and was not dissappointed. The hotel was quite charming, and the staff acommodating. Breakfasts were deliciously perfect. I really enjoyed the tea and cookies (or pie) offered throughout the day and also enjoyed relaxing by the pool. Very nice and fun place to stay. Thank you!


Summer stay at Mapelwood

3.0 on August 22, 2011

We enjoyed our stay and we feel the hotel is conveniently located and a fair price. We did ask to be moved from an upstairs room to a downstairs room & in the future have noted a few rooms to request.


Terrific

4.8 on August 16, 2011

Friendly attentive staff, beautiful antique furniture, perfect location for seeing Saugatuck


Nice area

2.8 on July 15, 2011

Great location, in the heart of it all, very charming building. Very limited parking. Bathroom amenities(soap, shampoo) minimal. Well kept property.


WARRENS REVIEW

4.4 on July 09, 2011

Location very good -- Breakfast great -- Parking good -- For some reason keep removing partially used soap.


A Nice Place To Stay

3.8 on May 18, 2011

We were looking for something a little different than the usual hotel. Cynthia was very helpful and friendly. She made us feel at home. Out only complaint was the mattress was way too hard. I had difficulty sleeping on it. If we don't return that would be the only reason. If you are comfortable on a firm mattress, I highly recommend the Maplewood Hotel.


March girl's getaway

4.0 on March 29, 2011

My daughter and I spent 2 nights at the Maplewood Hotel. The decor was beautiful. The breakfasts were great. We plan to stay again when the weather is better. We had a very enjoyable time in Saugatuck.


Worth it!

3.8 on March 13, 2011

The Maplewood Hotel is a beautiful facility. I liked that it is within walking distance to all the shops, etc. The staff were very gracious and accomodating. Breakfast was delicious. Well worth it!


Ah....... Saugatuck.

4.8 on March 02, 2011

One of the great joys of Saugatuck will always be the relaxed, classic and restful character of the town. Shopping, exploring, dining and just walking about, one experiences the simple life in a spectacular waterfront setting. Time doesn't stand still here, but it certainly seems to move at a more restful pace. And the residents embody Midwestern friendliness. The Maplewood Hotel is true to all this... comfortable and elegant without being glitzy, and personal service one experiences all too infrequently these days. Just charming!


A perfect winter "cabin fever" getaway.

5 on February 19, 2011

An old-style, gracious Saugatick hotel with a personal touch and excellent amenities made for a perfect getaway. The owner herself greeted us and took us to our fireplace suite. She gave us a dinner recommendation at a nearby restaurant which proved to be outstanding. The night's accommodations were comfortable, especially the big bed. Good conversation made the next morning's breakfast of multi-grain blueberry pancakes and fresh fruit a delight.


Great winter weekend get-away!

4.0 on January 12, 2011

We had a great 2-night stay at the Maplewood. Our room (suite with fireplace and whirlpool tub) was spacious and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and they had GREAT recommendations for restaurants. The location is excellent; we walked through downtown Saugatuck which is just a block or two away.


Our trip back

4.6 on December 01, 2010

We have been going to Saugatuck for over 30 years. We haven't been back for a while so to kindle good memories we went back to the Maplewood. We are so glad that we did. It was an awesome weekend for us. The staff was so kind and right on top of everything. We will stay here again next time.


Very nice stay

3.6 on October 28, 2010

Had a very nice stay, great location. Very friendly, good food and clean. Perfect for a getaway. Rooms were small but expected and perfectly suited for someone looking for a clean, nice, convenient, quiet place to stay. Only negative was that the bed was very hard. Staff was great and very helpful.


20th Anniversary

4.2 on September 24, 2010

We've stayed at numerous places in downtown Saugatuck and the Maplewood was very nice. The room was spacious, well decorated and very clean. The dining area is large and very nice. The sitting area and deck is also very nice. We would definitely stay at the Maplewood again.


Anniversary Weekend

4.0 on September 22, 2010

My wife and I loved the Maplewood. The room was nice, private bath was a bonus. Excellent location in downtown Saugatuck. Would definitely return to the Maplewood anytime we are in Saugatuck.


A wonderful visit

5 on January 13, 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Maplewood Hotel in December. We loved the charm and warmth of this Bed and Breakfast! The Inn was decorated for Christmas and was beautiful. The location was wonderful, walking distance to downtown and all it has to offer. We felt very welcomed when we arrived, with homemade cookies and coffee and the friendly innkeeper! The room was quaint and the fireplace was wonderful! We can't wait to visit again!


Our stay was a pleasure!

4.0 on January 09, 2009

Thank you for making our last stay at the Maplewood Hotel such a pleasure! Your staff and the comfortable feel of your hotel make it our favorite.


Lovely accomodations

4.6 on September 04, 2008

A very lovely hotel and location next to a park. The room & bath were a bit small but very nice, clean, our mattress was fine. Perfect location to shops. Overall really great.


Great B&B

3.8 on September 01, 2008

Very nice staff, great location, great breakfast. Only problem was a poor mattress.


Maplewood Hotel

Details

  • Nightly Rate $150 - $285
  • Reviews (108) 3.9
  • Rooms 15
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (269) 857-1771
Top