Highland Hideaway Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
24 Reviews

Write A Review

We loved this place!

5 on July 28, 2014

My daughter and I had a girls overnight at Sunset House. It was wonderful! We enjoyed the setting and the gracious hospitality. Jerry and his staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was pretty and spacious. We took advantage of the outdoor hottub. Snacks and wine were part of the package. Breakfast was lovely. This is a great value and far more special than a hotel. We will definitely return!


Wonderful Wedding

5 on June 11, 2013

Thank you Jerry, for making our wedding so beautiful. Everyone just fell in love with the place. The dove release, is still making my mother cry her eyes out, it was so lovely. The food was terrific, and the wine was even better. We will be back. Ray and Tab, The Jirsas


Beautiful room and deck!

5 on August 19, 2012

This was our third stay at Highland Hideaway. The price for the room is very reasonable. We like the wine they make and drink it on the large deck surrounded by trees. Jane warmly greeted us and Jerry made the best waffles. We hope to stay there this winter because we ski at Boyne Highlands and that is only a half mile down the road.


Michigan wines well represented here, Jerry is a vintner that knows his wines.

5 on June 26, 2012

My wife and I came for the B&B. We fell in love with the wines. What a nice surprise! We expected lovely accommodations, beautiful grounds, exceptional hosting and we got it. We were blown away by the value. We have 3 more nights and we are loving it. I am a photographer and there are photo ops everywhere.


Wonderful Experience

4.8 on September 23, 2011

Such beautiful surroundings and very friendly host! Nice room with TV, refrigerator stocked with free beverages, many snack foods, carafe of great wine & glasses set out in the evening. Breakfast was delicious: Coffee, Juice, Fresh Fruit Bowl, choice of Eggs made to order, Cereals, Muffins, Hash Browns, etc. Free Wine Tasting...Be sure to buy some!


Would go back....

5 on August 02, 2011

Jerry is an awesome innkeeper! We had a delightful stay and his knowledge on wine and his wine was amazing. Very quiet place, did not hear other guests. Enjoyed the 4000 square feet of decking. Rooms were clean and comfortable with air conditioners to keep cool.


Food only drawback

3.8 on May 30, 2011

This B&B was in a lovely, secluded location. The wine tasting, included in the room rate, was lovely. The wine set out for guests in the dining area in the evening, also included, was a unique and very nice touch. It was also nice to have snacks available at all times. But, the food was almost entirely store bought--nothing special. There was one hot breakfast option, but, again, it was nothing special. Other than that, clean and comfortable rooms and friendly host made the stay very nice. For the price, it was a great deal!


Absolutely Perfect!

4.0 on September 03, 2010

Everything about our stay at Highland Hideaways was wonderful. The breakfast were great, Jerry and his wife were friendly and attentive. The location was fantastic. We will be back!


55th Anniversary Celebration

4.8 on June 14, 2010

We enjoyed our overnight at this extraordinary Bed and Breakfast and Winery!


Midweek Retreat

3.8 on May 26, 2010

Beautiful surroundings. Pleasant host & hostess. Nicely decorated and plenty of deck and outdoor seating. Hot tub in and out. Exercise room. Game room with great view of sunset. Good mattress. Private wine tasting.


Anniversary Get-Away

4.0 on February 22, 2010

This was a perfect setting for a romantic anniversary get-away; lovely room, beautiful grounds and so close to a great x-country ski spot. Wine tasting on the grounds and the service of wine late afternoon at the Inn was a definite bonus!


First time

5 on January 10, 2010

It was outstanding. For the first time ever going to a bed and breakfast we were more then pleased. As we were sitting there at the table the last morning and already planning on when we were coming back.


Winter Wonderland

5 on January 04, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Highland Hideaway for three wonderful nights. We arrived in the midst of a blizzard, only to be greeted by a lighted stairway that led up to the main house, a beacon of light, comfort, and shelter from the storm. We pulled in and one of the owners was shoveling the driveway and warmly welcomed us to his home. He helped us with our luggage, loading it into his Jeep, as that was the only means of making it up the steep snowy hill to the main entrance. Upon entering, we were greeted by the other owner, who got us settled and gave us a tour, which included a free wine tasting, or aperitif, that was offered nightly. I have stayed at B&Bs before, but never at one that offered such warmth, clean rooms, delicious, quality breakfasts, and a price that the average person can afford. If you love to ski/snowboard, and enjoy wine and the warmth of a fireplace room, I highly recommend this hidden gem.


Great Hideaway

5 on October 20, 2009

It was a wonderful, cozy place to sta. Host was gracious, accommodations grand, view gorgeous, food served with style.


Less than expected

2.4 on October 12, 2009

Good place to stay but don't expect more. Jerry is a wonderful person, his knowledge is a wisdom. Clean rooms, spacious on the positive, on the negative side: No hot breakfast, expired food, locked thermostat you will not be able to turn the heat or cold on before requesting, very dumb indeed. Hotels offer better services.


Wonderful Visit

5 on August 17, 2009

Enjoyed a wonderful stay at this B & B. Jerry and Sandy were wonderful hosts. The room was excellent, breakfast delicious, and the added extras like snacks, beverages, and wine in the evening were special added touches. This B & B is a must to stay at if you in the area. We will definitely return. Pat and Rick Burlington Ont.


Highland Happiness

4.8 on February 12, 2009

Truly excellent service at an affordable price. Beautiful area and inn.


Unforgettable

5 on December 16, 2008

My wife and I have been going to the Hideaway for the last 11 years. The rooms, the food and the atmosphere are "stupendous!" Sitting thru a session of wine tasting with Jerry is like no other wine tasting experience you have ever had. He know's his stuff! Despite the fact that we only see Jerry and Sandy once a year, comming back is like comming back to family. PS try Jerry's homemade waffles with fresh fruit.


just as good the 2nd time we stayed

5 on September 29, 2008

Delicious food, hosts are very accomodating, room service was excellent, plenty of towels/soap, etc. Love the hot tub too! Beautiful setting.


North Michigan Perfection

5 on August 20, 2008

My husband, mother, and I were all so impressed with Highland Hideaway. Gerry and Sandy were the ideal hosts. Not only did they think of everything to make guest feel wlecome and pampered they were very knowledgable about local events resturants and recreational activities. We hope to return soon !


Beautiful Area

3.8 on July 23, 2008

Owners, very friendly. Nice, large room & bath. Very accommodating with suggestions & reservations. Secluded & quiet. Enjoyed visit.


one of the best B&B

5 on July 08, 2008

better than some hotel rooms I've been to, perfect room arrangement, clean, comfortble, and friendly hosts. this is a true bargain without a doubt.


Weekend Ski Trip

5 on March 01, 2008

We had a group of seven guys who spent a Friday skiing at Boyne Highland, stayed the night at Highland Hideaway, then skied the next day at Nub's Knob. We spent Friday night at the guest house and everyone had a separate bed to sleep in. Jerry was very accomodating in getting us set up and in arranging breakfast the next morning. I'm interested in bringing my wife there in the summer to celebrate our anniversary and to taste test the wines from Jerry's vineyard.


What a Jewel!

5 on February 01, 2007

End of January I booked a one night stay on a whim... Talked to the very helpful innkeepers Sandy & Jerry and told them that I have planed to propose to my girlfriend. They offered me many options to accommodate the special night and was very helpful! The room was perfect and the breakfast was great. I couldn’t ask for anything more! Thanks to such a beautiful B&B and a romantic place… she said yes and we can’t wait to come back next year!


Highland Hideaway

Details

  • Nightly Rate $89 - $99
  • Reviews (24) 4.6
  • Rooms 4

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2315268100

Visit Website »

View details

Top