Cairn House Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
72 Reviews

Write A Review

Conveniently located

3.4 on September 12, 2014

My husband and I spent a night here during our trip to see family. Our room was on the first floor and we could hear every conversation going on in the main part of the house. The B&B is certainly conveniently located to Elk Lake, Torch Lake, and downtown Elk Rapids, but I certainly would not classify it as a place for a romantic getaway. Unfortunately it did not meet my expectations for this reason, but if you're not looking for "couple" time and just need a place to stay near the lake then this would be recommended.


Stay was great

4.6 on September 04, 2014

We had never been to Elk Rapids before, the down town is nice and close to the B&B. Our stay here made our trip wonderful!


Cairn House B&B.

4.4 on July 22, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at the Cairn House with my wife. Clean and comfortable rooms and good breakfasts. Helen was a great hostess. Close to Traverse City, Charlevoix and Petoskey.


Casual, homely and relaxing

4.0 on July 15, 2014

We felt right at home in Cairn House with owner Helen's casual welcoming style. Looked forward to our mornings milling around in the kitchen, chatting with other guests over a simple breakfast. Cairn House is conveniently located, just 5-10 minutes drive away from restaurants, supermarket, marina and beaches of Elk Rapids and an easy 25 minute drive away from downtown Traverse city. All other scenic spots, vineyards and breweries around the lake region (Leelenau, Sleeping Bear Dunes, Mission Point, Torch lake etc) are accessible by scenic car journeys ranging from 20 minutes to 90 minutes. Helen will gladly provide you easy maps and excellent suggestions for touring the area, dining etc and she was spot on about everything that our young kids would enjoy. We had the spacious out-house and gardens to ourselves and our own private breakfast area. We shared a room with our 2 kids and didn't feel crowded. The room was simple, extremely neat and clean. The shower area was very tiny but manageable. This B&B is not by the lake and doesn't have lake views. Did not matter to us though. It is probably the only non-self-catering option in the area with no minimum stay requirements. This is what we wanted.


Best place to stay outside of Traverse City

5 on July 07, 2014

Only a 20 minute drive to TC! I would like to say this is a perfect bed and breakfast with families in mind. We stayed in a detached cottage and it was perfect for our family. This cottage sleeps up to five. It is clean, comfortable, and the best part is our host. She told tales of living around the world and was very warm and friendly to our family. We only stayed 3 nights and did not want to leave. Definitely want to stay here again on our next visit.


Comfortable stay at Cairn House

3.6 on September 29, 2013

Clean and pleasant surroundings. Helen, the owner, was friendly and interesting to talk to.


Third Time Staying at Cairn House B & B

5 on September 18, 2013

This is the third time my family has stayed at the Cairn House B & B. That alone should indicate how much we enjoy our stays at the Cairn House. The lovely bedrooms are comfortable and clean. Helen makes a delicious breakfast. Cairn House is close to Elk Rapids and Traverse City downtowns. There are countless of attractions for everyone's interest. Sports (golfing, tennis, biking, swimming,etc), shopping (clothes, art, food) and culture (shows, music).


Carin House- Elk Rapids, MI

4.6 on September 05, 2013

Overall its a superb stay. Great food, great location.


Great place for a weekend get away

5 on August 28, 2013

Everything we hoped for and more


Very quiet and peaceful

4.4 on August 19, 2013

Enjoyed our stay. Very friendly hostess, great breakfast, exceptionally nice home and squeaky clean!


Wonderful and quiet

4.4 on August 09, 2013

Helen has a wonderful, nice and quiet house. She gave us a lot of inforation about the area. Would come again!


Nice Place to Stay in Elk Rapids

3.8 on August 04, 2013

The owner is courteous, thoughtful, and quite interesting. Breakfast are very good.


A Great B&B for the business traveler

5 on August 03, 2013

I'm an independant consultant and found myself in Elk Rapids for business during the high season. When I priced hotels in the area they were more than you would expect for a Hilton Garden Inn or Holiday Inn Express. When I saw the Cairn House for about half the price I decided to go for it and things worked out great. Cairn house is beautiful, clean and comfortable. I worked from my room generally but I could have easily grabbed a table downstairs. The food is delicious and Helen had great recommendations for dinner. I do all the hotel points plans too, but am glad that I didn't do so in this case. My only regret is that my wife wasn't with me. We will have to come back on vacation sometime. Northern Michigan is incredibly beautiful.


Good location

5 on August 01, 2013

We had interesting conversations with Helen and were very impressed with her. Our room was very nice and the breakfast was excellent. We felt very much at home.


An Excellent Place to Stay

5 on July 31, 2013

We stayed two nights, it was very clean, the food was great, the owner was very accommodating to our needs. We would recommend it to our friends. Excellent place to stay.


Comfortable B&B

4.0 on July 30, 2013

Convenient to Elk Lake, Lake Michigan's Traverse Bay, Elk Rapids, and Torch Lake.


Great stay at a fantastic B&B

5 on June 28, 2013

Called ahead to let owner know what time to expect us and when we arrived, she was waiting. Both breakfasts were delicious. We stayed two nights and will be back again. Highly recommend staying here if you have the opportunity.


Great Stay!

5 on June 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here two nights. It was the first weekend that this B&B was open for the season so we got personally served breakfast and had a chance to sit down with the owner and chat with her. She gave us advice on where to go and what to see. It was a wonderful stay and I highly recommend this for everyone! You won't regret it!


First time B&B

4.4 on June 24, 2013

Was hesitant to stay at a B&B but had a marvelous time. Helen knows how to roll out the welcome mat and make you feel at home. We were spoiled by the quality of the bed linens. You certainly didn't want to crawl out they felt SO GOOD! We have told many friends and family and will for sure stay at the Cairn House again.


Nice and quiet weekend

4.6 on June 05, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. Removed from Traverse City but not too far. Lots to see and do in Elk Rapids. Great restaurants. Short distance to Torch Lake.


Highly recommend

4.4 on October 25, 2012

We were very happy with our stay at Cairn House and Helen was great!!!! Would definitely recommend to others.


Second time back

4.6 on October 22, 2012

Had a lovely two night stay with Helen. Felt like coming back and visiting with family.


Outstanding service/value at the Cairns

5 on October 12, 2012

Very friendly innkeeper and delicious breakfast. I would recommend this B&B to all my friends and family.


Hip Hip Hoorah for the Cairn House Stay!!

5 on September 23, 2012

We have stayed at Cairn House the last six years and we love it! We have visited many other Bed & Breakfasts in the Grand Traverse area and Cairn house is our "spot" Helen Perez is a great hostess, her home is spacious, comfortable and impecabbly clean. Great location for our home base as we travel and visit the many beautiful neighboring towns and sights. Helen has traveled the world extensively and has many amazing stories of her adventures! We visit once or twice each year!


Wonderful Four Days

4.2 on September 02, 2012

We had an enjoyable time touring NW Michigan from this Elk Rapids B&B. From the humming birds and wonderful breakfasts to the travel, it was enjoyable. Marvelous recommendations for restaurants in the area and things to see. Very quiet location and an easy drive to all the things we wanted to see.


Charming B & B

5 on August 31, 2012

We spent three nights here and absolutely loved it! Helen is a wonderful person, a fantastic cook (the breakfasts were delicious!), and a gracious hostess. The home is immaculate and very inviting. The location is great, very close to downtown Elk Rapids and the chain of lakes so there's alot to do. We would definitely return!


Perfect for our needs

4.2 on August 27, 2012

We chose this venue because it seemed like it would be quiet place for us to rest between wedding weekend festivities. We stayed in the quarters behing the main house and this was perfect. Our teen boys can be rowdy sometimes and i felt at ease knowing any noise they made would not affect other quests. Breakfast was cheery in the sun room and we enjoyed chatting with the guests and owner before heading off for the day. I thought the room was clean and adequately appointed. Cleanliness is important to me over everything else and I was very happy that it so. Very nice experience.


Highly Recommended B&B.

5 on August 18, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed are stay. Helen, the inn owner, was warm, engaging, helpful, and kind. She also accommodated us with leaving a trailer with a vintage car on the property for a car show we were attending in the area. A delicious breakfast was served on an enclosed porch and deck off the back. The porch had large windows on 3 sides making it very bright and cheery. We enjoyed an evening on the back deck with wine purchased at local wineries and chatting with another couple also staying at the B&B. Felt very much like home on our front porch. Will definitely be repeat customers when attending this car show in the future.


Towels

5 on August 15, 2012

We had a fabulous stay, truley will remember our stay for a long time. The only disappointment was the bathroom towels were thin and didn't smell great.


Home away from home

5 on August 09, 2012

We have stayed at the Cairn House several times over the past 5 years and always enjoyed it The Cairn House is our first call for availability.


A Michigan Gem

5 on August 06, 2012

A truly delightful experience. Helen was very welcoming and made us feel right at home. She provided us with lots of info on the area which made our days easy to plan. The oriental room was spacious and beautifully decorated. Breakfasts were freshly made and not the usual fare - delicious. Thanks - we really enjoyed our stay. Chris & Janet


Great place to stay

5 on August 03, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for three nights last July. The house is beautiful, inside and out, as well as the surroundings. Our room was big and comfortable. Helen made us delicious breakfasts, one different every day and she gave us a lot of tips and information about where to go and what to do. Thank you, we were very pleased.


Wonderful Two Nights

5 on July 25, 2012

We traveled to the Elk Rapids area to visit our son who recently moved there. We stumbled upon the Cairn House Bed and Breakfast while searching for accommodations online, and I am so glad we did. Our days were busy, filled with fun activities, and our evenings were comfortable and relaxing. Thank you, Helen, for the interesting conversations and warm hospitality. The breakfasts were delicious. The rooms were clean and welcoming. We enjoyed our time here very much. Our hope is to return, and we will recommend your bed and breakfast to friends and family.


Our stay in Elk Rapids at Cairn House B & B

4.0 on July 09, 2012

Helen was an incredible host and her home is immaculate! She was extremely accommodating in doing her best to fulfill our every wish. She certainly made us feel as though we were family while in her home and spent a good deal of her time suggesting areas for us to explore, even handing us maps of interesting spots within driving distance. Her recommendation for lunch at one of her favorite spots was tremendous! The breakfasts were good and healthy featuring plenty of fruit.


Wonderful Bed & Breakfast in a great location!

4.8 on July 02, 2012

We had a great time staying at the Crain House. I was looking for a place last minute and something affordable, and was lucky enough to find this place. Everything else around this price was in the middle of a farm or didn't look like a great property, but this B&B had it all - beautiful location, across from a lake and just minutes away from the cute town of Elk Rapids, great restaurants nearby and 30 minutes from Traverse City and 60 minutes from Sleeping Bear Dunes. Helen was great too, a very respectful and lively woman who makes great breakfasts - make sure to ask about her travels overseas!


Wonderful accommodations!

5 on June 28, 2012

What a great place to spend a weekend. The operator of the house was friendly and a very good cook. The first thing we noticed was how clean the whole house was.


A Wonderful Weekend Away

5 on June 27, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Cairn House and we had a great time. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated and breakfast was really good each morning. The common areas of the house were nice also. My husband and I took advantage of the beautiful weather and enjoyed a glass of wine together on the deck. Our hostess was available if we needed anything and was a wealth of knowledge for things to do in the area. I would highly recommend Cairn House - a great place for a weekend away.


Memorial Day 2012

4.8 on June 11, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at Cairn House and would go back every weekend if possible. Helen is GREAT - fascinating, interesting, professional,. and a very good cook!!


Northern Michigan Gem

4.6 on October 24, 2011

Cairn House B & B is a beautiful home in a beautiful location. We came for the fall color tour and was our second stay with host Helen. We have booke our fall stay for 2012 since we so enjoy they location and hospitality. Breakfasts were of a nice variety, tasty and well-prepared. Helen makes the best grape juice from her own grapes grown on the property! Rooms are spotless, well decorated and private. We were never aware of other guests on the premesis once in our room. We have recommended Cairn House to family and friends and hope to return often.


Highly Recommend

3.0 on September 13, 2011

Spent a delightful two nights with Helen and another couple on a golf vacation to the Traverse City area. Excellent location, cleanliness, quality of food and especially our many discussions on her many worldwide travels. We would certainly return to Cairn House and highly recommend it to anyone considering the area. Richard & Susan Carnell, Chatham, Ontario, Canada.


Wonderful Escape!

4.8 on August 14, 2011

The owner is very delightful! We felt like we were at home yet on vacation. I would stay there again!


3 Perfect Days and Nights

4.0 on July 29, 2011

We and another couple spent 3 wonderful mid-week nights at the Cairn House. The accomodations were very clean and comfortable, and we were surrounded by beautiful bits of memorabilia that our hostess, Helen, had collected on her world travels. Each mornings breakfasts were dellicious, varied and well presented in the lovely sun room. Helen was always available and willing to share day trip tips with us, from wineries, scenic drives, local interest places as well as suggestions for dining in the area. Her ideas were right on and helped us have a terrific experience. The grounds surrounding this B&B are very pretty, as are the bedrooms. The rooms were quite comfortable and nicely air conditioned in a week of exceptionally hot weather in northern Michigan. We are planning on making a return visit.


A Great Place to Stay in Elk Rapids!

4.6 on July 28, 2011

A hidden jewel! Helen is very friendly and truly wants to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Her Inn is very clean and it has everything you need! Her stories and adventures are as memorable as her delicious breakfasts! We hope to return next summer!


A Wonderful Stay at Cairn House B&B

4.6 on July 27, 2011

We had a wonderful time and stay at the Cairn House B&B. The room was large and comfortable and the bathroom large and spotless. Helen, our host, was warm, helpful and fun to visit with. I would highly recommend staying here as it is minutes away from many great restaurants in Elk Rapids. The house is niceley decorated, spotless, and very comfortable. We couldn't have been happier with our stay. Thanks Helen!


Returning Customer

4.8 on July 23, 2011

This is our second time staying at Cairn B&B. This time we brought all the children and their spouses. As usual, we were delighted with our clean, beautiful rooms. The breakfast was delious. Helen is an accomdating hostess who went out her way to supply a birthday cake for one of my children. We will be back.


Home made grape juice and so much more

5 on July 13, 2011

Stayed at the B&B for a family wedding held during Cherry Festival so value of stay was outstanding. Pleasant rooms with air-conditioning and in-suite bathroom. Delicious breakfasts with home made juice from the grapes on property. Ample parking. Great location for discovering the Chain of Lakes area and quick trips into Traverse City.


Charming house, great food

4.4 on June 28, 2011

This is a magnificent old home just north of Elk Rapids. Great location if you like to be "in the country" while still a short drive from shopping, dining, etc. Elk Rapids is a beautiful area and the town is cute, with a great park right on Grand Traverse Bay, shops, restaurants and a little movie theater. And you're about half an hour from downtown Traverse. The rooms in this B&B are fun -- cozy and unique with trinkets and treasures Helen has collected. Helen is warm and chatty, and makes a mouthwatering breakfast every morning with home baked muffins and breads, fresh fruit and other treats. Ask for the orange croissant french toast! You will be comfortable and well cared for at Helen's place.


Would definitely visit again

4.2 on June 19, 2011

Stay was great! Breakfast was delicious and accommodating to our diets. Would stay there again.


Great place to stay

4.8 on October 13, 2010

Teh rooms were great and the owner is very nice and has lots of knowledge about the area.


B&B

3.2 on September 24, 2010

Friendly and welcoming host - thank you.


Cairn House Lovely

5 on September 10, 2010

Beautiful house. View of Elk Lake. We liked the Oriental Room. Helen leads and interesting life.


Quiet Location, Lovely Proprietress

4.6 on September 04, 2010

A very relaxing and quiet location away from the main tourist areas yet close enough for convenient access. Nestled between 2 beautiful lakes and near a host of others. Good restaurants close by. Nice clean accommodations, lovely grounds. Helen, the innkeeper, is the best feature of this inn. She is warm and welcoming, offers a tasty breakfast, and spins her tales of her world travels and experiences during her off-season as she volunteers in remote places. It's an extra "bonus" to know that your room charges will be helping her be able to go on another volunteer trip in the winter when the inn is closed for the season. Thank you...


Great Place equals Great Stay

4.8 on August 27, 2010

First time in a B&B and could not be more please. The house and rooms were super clean and Helen was a great host. We had a great time.


Cairin House Bed and Breakfast

4.6 on August 24, 2010

We have been coming to the Cairn House for many years. Helen is a great hostess. The rooms are lovely and very clean. The breakfasts are wonderful. We have sent many friends her way. There is a lot to do and see in Northern Michigan. You will not be disappointed.


Great Place

4.2 on August 08, 2010

great place with a great host! many things to do around the area and Helen knows the area very well. We're looking forward to returning next summer!


It feels like home

5 on August 04, 2010

This was our second visit at the Cairn House Bed and Breakfast. I was so excited to see Helen again. We were welcomed with open arms as if we were family. We stayed in the same room and was as comfortable and inviting as the first time we stayed. I actuallly said the first night while falling asleep "this feels like home." The breakfasts Helen serves are very good and such a treat for me to be served. The sun porch is very relaxing and such an enjoyable place to eat breakfast and hang out to read or relax. Helen goes out of her way to make your stay enjoyable and has a wealth of knowledge of restaurants and events in the area. This bed and breakfast is conveniently located outside of Traverse City, which was an easy drive back and forth for the film festival. Helen is a master story teller and I was so eager to hear of her latest adventures. Thank you Helen for a wonderful stay again and was sad to leave.


Great Stay at Cairn House

4.2 on July 26, 2010

Helen exceeded our expectations in every way, the home is beautifully maintained and very well kept, the food was EXCELLENT and there was always plenty. I would recommend a stay here to anyone wanting to get away and enjoy some peace and quiet, although a short distance from plenty to do. Helen is very well traveled and a joy to talk to about her experiences. I highly recommend a stay here you will not be disappointed.


Lovely place

4.0 on July 23, 2010

We had the opportunity to stay at Cairn House in July 2010 for three nights in a weekend. We felt very comfortable and welcome. A pleasant place to stay. We had an outstanding breakfast every morning which was nice to meet also other guests and talk about their experiences. As visitors from abroad (from the Netherlands) it was no problem to watch the final of the World Cup Soccer on Helen's big screen in her living room. Helen was vey helpful with information and maps and directing us to various destinations and wonderful places. Elk Rapids is a small lovely town and has some wonderful places to see sunset around the harbour. On Sunday we visited the local Presbyterian Church The location of the guesthouse is good for going all the way to Harbor Springs, the Sandy Dunes, Torch and Elk Lakes. Thank you Helen for this wonderful stay.


Great place to stay with wonderful hostess!

5 on July 21, 2010

Neat clean rooms with great hostess.


Another terrific two days at Cairn House B&B

4.8 on July 18, 2010

In '09 we stayed at Cairn House the last week of June. This year we stayed the second weekend of July. We returned because a). We loved the size of the rooms-each time we had a most comfortable king size bed. The rooms are very quiet. Great acoustics. b). We felt so comfortable coming and going and parking is great. c)We liked the breakfast menu and the time of day the breakfast was served (8:30-9:30). The owner's own grape juice each morning is very very good! d) There is a cute gift shop that has items the owner has acquired on her trips around the world. e).We enjoy being able to socialize with the owner. and finally, we just love Elk Lake, Torch Lake, Elk Rapids and can keep some of our fruit purchases in a separate refrigerator. (Fruit season in Michigan: a wonderful experience). There is a great selection of maps and brochures at the B&B for those new to the area.


Had a lovely stay with Helen

4.0 on October 18, 2009

Would recommend this bed and breakfast to any who enjoy the bed and breakfast experience. Helen is a gracious host and wonderful cook. Had two very delicious breakfasts on the sun porch each morning. Bedrooms very comfortable and clean. The rest of the house was available for our use to visit with the other guests in the living room and sunroom as we liked. Helen had good recommendations for places to eat and things to do during our weekend in Elk Rapids. You'll have a great time if you stay at the Cairn House.


Enjoyable Stay

4.0 on July 28, 2009

We stayed for two nights at the Cairn House. The room was clean and comfortable. The grounds are very nice, it is a relaxing environment. The breakfasts were delicious! The only thing I didn't like was the well water. Our host was very friendly and provided interesting and entertaining conversation. I would visit again.


Charming B&B

4.6 on July 17, 2009

I had the opportunity to stay at Cairn House for three nights. I felt very comfortable and welcome. We had a delicious breakfast outside on the deck every morning which was nice because when I'm in Michigan in the summer I want to be outside as much as possible. Helen was vey helpful in organizing our day and directing us to various destinations and wonderful restaurants. Elk Rapids is a small intimate town and has some wonderful art galleries and shopping. The location is good for going all the way to Harbor Springs or Leland. Torch and Elk Lakes are beautiful so if you are up in the area be sure to find a way to get out on one of those lake. We will do it next time we are there.


Helen is Great

4.0 on July 14, 2009

Cairn House was a beautiful place to stay. Very clean, good breakfast and wonderful hospitality. I would go back again. -- Nancy Jansons - Plainwell, MI


Mini vacation

4.6 on June 30, 2009

Cairn House B & B is very clean and well kept. Breakfast was excellent and plenty to eat. It was easy to find. Helen friendly and very helpful.


Loved our Stay

5 on June 17, 2009

My fiance and I had a wonderful stay at Cairn House in early June. Helen was so accommodating and made an excellent breakfast! I would definitely stay with her again!


Welcoming Country Home

4.0 on November 01, 2008

Cairn House is a quiet, 'homey' B & B conveniently located to enjoy northern Michigan's Fall colors, wineries, river trails, shorelines of Grand Traverse Bay area. Hostess Helen greets guests warmly, providing comfortable, clean and private rooms. She served a delicious variety of home-made breakfasts and was ready with suggestions for daily activities. (Memorable - secluded Grass River Nature trail, a rousing tour in The Music House Museum!) At end of day, Cairn House was as welcoming as a country home for refreshing slumber.


A good place to stay

3.6 on October 30, 2008

We were in the area leaf peeping for the weekend. I had booked on-line and took pot luck with Cairn House. Helen the owner communicated efficiently prior to arrival and was very accommodating when we got there. The Room was comfortable with an en suite bathroom and breakfast on our parting day was excellent and very social. We will stay again and maybe longer to get to know our interesting hostess better.


Good place to stay

4.2 on September 24, 2008

We were very pleased with our stay at the Cairn House. Helen was a gracious host, our room was great, and the breakfast was delicious. The cost was much more affordable than a motel in Traverse City. We stayed here 2 nights for about the same price as one night in Traverse. The TV in our room could have been bigger.


A Very Pleasant Place to Stay

3.4 on September 14, 2008

We were a little disappointed by the size of our room but it was very clean and Helen is a wonderful hostess and made you feel at home. The sun room was a wonderful place to sit and enjoy the beautiful yard. We would definitely stay again if we are in the area


We will return to Cairn House next year

4.8 on September 14, 2008

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Cairn House Bed and Breakfast so much that we are planning another visit next year. Our room was decorated nicely, clean, large and comfortable. We had our own bathroom connected to the room. The hostess, Helen Perez, was charming and cooked delicious breakfasts. She added special touches such as greeting us with fresh baked cookies when we arrived. Helen helped us locate the outdoor entertainment that we enjoyed. The house is convenently located near Elk Rapids and Traverse City. So there is entertainment close by.


Recommened

4.4 on May 29, 2008

We had a very pleasant stay, It was our 1st exp in B&B , we really enjoyed it I loved Helen's Hot breakfast Helen is a very warm person She has a unquie collection of things around the world She has set the room with themes My 3 Yrs old boy , loved her company and looks forward to visiting her again Its a very simple house for simple people like us


Cairn House Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $170
  • Reviews (72) 4.5
  • Rooms 4

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2312648994
  • Mobile 1-2313500851

Visit Website »

View details

Top