Insel Haus - A Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
43 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful Get-Away!

5 on August 10, 2014

We LOVED our stay at the Insel Haus. Wonderful hosts, beautiful setting, gorgeous details throughout the home. Christa helped us with transportation to and from the Insel House as well as lent us bikes to explore the Island. We are looking forward to more visits to the Island! I'd recommend the Insel Haus to anyone!


Wonderful!

4.6 on August 02, 2014

My family stayed here for a weekend while visiting BBI. The hosts made everything feel and seem like home. Couldn't ask for a better vacation spot! We will definitely be back!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for a great review! Glad you enjoyed your weekend visit to Bois Blanc Island. Shelby and I hope to see you in the near future. Best to you and yours.


We will be back!

4.8 on June 25, 2014

We had a wonderful time! Christa and Shelby are delightful hosts. They welcome their guests with open arms and are able to make everyone feel at home and at ease immediately. The first morning we awoke to the sound of gobbling from a large wild turkey with his tail feathers open. We lost count of how many deer we saw on the island and in our back yard. We enjoyed a fire by the lake both evenings and the sunsets were beautiful. The entire experience (except for the mosquitoes!) was a great way to end our vacation to Michigan. I encourage anyone who has not visited Bois Blanc Island to schedule a stay at the Insel Haus. Thank you Christa and Shelby!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for coming to Insel Haus B&B! The mosquitoes are gone! Yesterday we saw a doe with two fawns. The bambies still had their spots!!! Wish you could have been here to see them. We hope they will grow strong before the next winter. Best to you and yours!


AWESOME!

5 on June 01, 2014

Christa and Shelby could not have been better hosts! Had a great time and will be back guaranteed! I have no suggestions for the place as everything greatly exceeded expectations!


Relaxed and Cozy!

4.6 on October 20, 2013

When visiting Bois Blanc we always stay with our relatives. This time we were there to celebrate their son's wedding, so we needed housing. Wow! Was this a delight! Such a well designed large, with a quaint and small cozy feel, Bed and Breakfast. We enjoyed our hosts Mr. and Mrs. Newhouse so much, such friendly and interesting people. We also enjoyed sitting in the main living/dining room and visiting with all guests while looking out a large window opening to a view of field and woods. The food....yes, can't forget the delicious breakfasts. Homemade and delicious!! Thank you for creating this warm, inviting home, for people to enjoy.


Far from holiday crowds... love it!!!

4.6 on July 08, 2013

If you're looking for an out-of-the-way place to relax and enjoy the wilderness -- this is it! Christa and Shelby are wonderful hosts, and the Insel Haus is an amazing structure with enough history and antiques to keep you occupied for day or two.


0 miles to paradise

5 on October 31, 2012

That is the place to dream of. Will miss it the moment I stepp on the ferry. I will be back...............for Thanksgiving. That is sure!! 21 days to go!


A place of solitude embudded with creative luxury

4.6 on August 17, 2012

Dear Christa & Shelby, We could not resume the rhythm of our daily lives without a note expressing our gratitude for the magical visit to Insel Haus. You have built not only a lovely retreat center but you have imbued it with your creative energy and spirit. Every aspect; the interior design, the glowing fireplace, the abundance of towels, a bowel of brownies on the counter, the lively discussion among visitors over breakfast. Finally your encouragement to slow the pace of life, walk, swing in the hammock, read on the porch or simply just “be” gave us the opportunity to recharge our batteries and feel healthier and more at peace with our lives. We wish you both good health, and continued success.


Insel Haus -- More than a retreat

4.8 on August 12, 2012

The highlight of our Michigan vacation was our stay on Bois Blanc Island, a ferry's ride away from Cheboygan. Christa and Shelby Newhouse's Insel Haus provides an amazing opportunity to regenerate and recharge. I would call the experience a retreat but now that it's over, our stay at Insel House really feels more like an advancement. Highly recommended.


Wedding get away

4.8 on August 03, 2012

When I first found out about this place, it was just to get away from the madness of work 23 of 26 days while trying to finish things for the wedding and completing all the projects around the house for the big move. I wasn't classifying this as a honeymoon because I wanted more. Well I talked with Christa about all that was going on and how I wanted to make things special for my future wife. Needless to say this is a woman that knows how to pay attention to detail. Oh my God did she do an amazing job on the room for us with roses and candles. Then there was the priceless stories and history from both Christa and Shelby. The charm of this place can only be measured by the two host. It was like going back in time only in an enjoyable way. The island was just what we needed, peaceful, quite and beautiful. We both loved our time on the island and will cherish it forever. I am ever so great full for all that Christa and Shelby did to make this a great experience for us. Your second to none..


Great place to stay

5 on June 28, 2011

Great hospitality, food and lodging. Always stay at Insel Haus when visiting Maccomb


Babymoon Getaway

4.0 on October 12, 2010

This was a Fall babymoon getaway. We wanted a location that provided both views and direct access to the water. The Insel Haus provided a perfect getaway weekend and truly unique experience that exceeded our expectations. The charm and character of the Insel Haus, including its proprietors, added to our enjoyable experience. We brought our bikes along and enjoyed riding around this unique island. We definitely look forward to going back, perhaps during summer months where we could take advantage of kayaking and other water activities.


Grace and Elegance

5 on September 23, 2010

Insel Haus is a wonderful escape from the hustle and bustle. The beautiful home and charming hosts of Insel Haus offer the quiet and solitude of Northern Michigan with the luxury and beauty of any European villa.


60 Year Island Reunion

4.8 on June 28, 2010

We vacationed on the island in the 1950's each summer. My two (2) sisters and I returned to visit the island after our 100 year old mother just passed away. Our host's Christa and Shelby were wonderful. They treated my very old yellow lab dog with unbelievable kindness and even upgraded our room so my dog "Charlie" could sleep with me. The home is beautiful and we definitely plan to return again. Thank you Shelby for your toast to us regarding our mom. We also met lots of old friends whom still reside on the island.


Excellent all around.

5 on August 31, 2009

Highly recommended for exceptional service & great stay. We brought the kids & had 3 rooms. Would stay here every time.


Cozy island getaway

5 on August 14, 2009

Every room was unique and elegant. You could spend a whole day just exploring the house. Shelby and Christa went above and beyond to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I highly recommend this inn, and hope to bee returning in the near future!


Relaxing Get away!

4.0 on August 05, 2009

Insel Haus is located on what surely is one of the best kept secrets in the Northern Hemisphere --Bois Blanc Island, Michigan. Biking, hiking, kayaking and great views of Lake Huron are within a minute of the front door of this lovely inn. Proprietors Christa and Shelby are warm and friendly hosts. Our stay was so relaxing that we didn't want to leave!


Awesome getaway

5 on August 03, 2009

Taking the ferry from Cheboygan, MI, to this quaint little island was the beginning of our adventure. We left our car in Cheboygan, took our bikes & backpacks, were picked up by lovely & lively Christa, owner, biked to the only cafe, had wonderful "continental " (full course, European-style) breakfasts, were treated royally by Christa & husband, shelby, peaceful days & nights in this rambling, homey B&B -- I can't wait to return!


Untitled

5 on July 30, 2009

Mr. & Mrs. Newhouse have built and service a very wonderful get-away where you can be isolated from all your troubles. Beautiful views from B&B, amid beautiful surroundings. Great conversation & wit!


5 days of TOTAL relaxation

5 on July 20, 2009

My wife and I run a business together and the Insel Haus was the perfect getaway for "forced relaxation". Christa and Shelby are the perfect hosts. We would recommend this to anyone that is looking for a remote area to escape to.


A Hidden Treasure

4.0 on July 12, 2009

Insel Haus is a jewel -- a haven on an island which doesn't encourage tourism. It is full of treasures lovingly displayed by Christa and Shelby, who are a warm, energetic, stimulating pair. The island itself offers solitude and natural beauty.


Insel Haus

5 on June 18, 2009

Shelby and Christa are outstanding hosts! Insel Haus, for all its luxury accommodations, feel more like a home away from home. This atmosphere is made possible by it's hosts!


Insel Haus

5 on June 18, 2009

I have been to 24 countries and Shelby and Christa managed to make this one of the very richest stays of my life. A world class B&B! Thank you Christa and Shelby!


Wonderful experience!

5 on December 18, 2008

For my first time staying in a B&B, it was an exceptional experience. Shelby and Crista were exceptional and worldly people. It was something I will always remember and I will be back!


Absolutely special

5 on November 21, 2008

My wife has frequented Insel Haus with her knitting, spinning, weaving group. Finally, I had a chance to visit also. If you want to get away from it all, this is it. No traffic, no traffic lights, no street lights, just mother nature. A beautiful setting, nice rooms, no pressure. Christa and Shelby are wonderful hosts and I am looking forward to watch some of the films Shelby made. We'll be back.


Great expectations

4.6 on October 30, 2008

1st B&B experience! The Insel Haus on BBI was the best! Wonderful hosts, and Teddy Bear, the dog. Definitely a stress-free time. Would love to make this a yearly adventure. "God shone down on us"


Good-Looking and Great Personality

5 on October 28, 2008

There are many reasons that we enjoyed our recent trip to Insel Haus. The perfect fall colors. The European-style breakfast. The cozy sitting areas. The reason that we will be back though is the kindness of the owners, Christa and Shelby. They entertained us with stories of the island and their previous lives back on the mainland. We look forward to hearing more.


Honeymoon Retreat

5 on September 30, 2008

Ferry ride through Straits of Machinac to secluded get-away island. The island is unique & laid-back. Insel Haus was in a lovely setting, very well appointed with very hospitable owners! Wonderful spot!


A wonderful two days

5 on September 04, 2008

Having known about Bois Blanc all my life, but never having been there I didn't know what to expect. The island is beautiful and the people so welcoming and friendly. But the best part was the wonderful B&B and our hosts Christa and Shelby. They are such interesting people and so willing to spend time with you and share experiences. Christa spent time with me explaining and showing us her knitting which is the most beautiful I have ever seen. We truly feel like we made wonderful new friends and will indeed return - hopefully in the fall when the color must be spectacular. Peggy and Ray Campbell


Extraordinary solitude and beauty

4.6 on August 06, 2008

Christa and Shelby go out of their way to make your stay memorable. They cater to general aviation, don't hesitate. The knowledge of fabrics and knitting, etc. very impressive; Christa's inventory amazing. Roomy home, very comfortable. We were there in August, but would be equally comfortable in January. (Jim & Linda)


Thank you.

5 on August 04, 2008

We had a wonderful time. Service was great. The owner and staff members were fantastic. Food was great. Very nice and clean. Thank you.


Very nice

4.2 on July 25, 2008

Everything was excellent. Highly recommended.


"WOW"

5 on July 14, 2008

The best hostess in the USA, possibly, the world! Hope to stay here again someday.


Beautiful home! Great company

4.2 on July 14, 2008

Enjoyed our stay. The house is beautiful! Shelby was a great host, loved to talk with him and hear his stories.


this home was wonderful

5 on June 16, 2008

the hospitality accommodations and meals were outstanding. the hosts were most interesting and entertaining


perfect

5 on June 13, 2008

everything was a gold star. hospitality, accommodations, meals and surroundings.


Insel Haus

5 on June 10, 2008

Our host/hostess were remarkable-gracious-told us points of interest on the island. Great meals, etc,


Awesome Place

5 on June 09, 2008

our host and hostess were tops. the best i have ever stayed with.


Beautiful gem

5 on September 15, 2007

We had an amazing time during our short visit. We can't wait go back again next summer to spend more time. Krista and Shelby were such great hosts and lead very interesting lives. We felt like part of their family. The house is beautifully decorated with antiques and stain glass. The rooms are comfortable and uniquely decorated. If you want to spend time away from all the hustle and bustle of city life but still have comfort of an indoors stay in the middle of the woods and the shore of Lake Huron, this is great place to relax. Only two restaurants on the island about 2 miles walk from the Inn. You will see wild turkeys in the backyard, deer and if you lucky maybe a bald eagle. Make sure you know the Plaunt Transport ferry times so you can get to the island before the last ferry leaves Cheboygan. If you want to take your car to the island you must make reservations a few days ahead of time.


Precious Artistic Couple

4.8 on July 31, 2007

This couple make and awesome team. They are highly creative and have expressed their talents in their home. The house is 7800 square feet of resting pleasure. Loved our master bath. We had a beautiful stay. Note about the island: leave your sports car at home. This island is a natural beauty of lush woods, pristine waters, and dirt roads. Bring your 4 wheel drive and any dirt play toys, a canoe or kayak, sunscreen and watershoes. The beach is beautiful at the end of the island and worth the drive. Transport over with Plaunt Transport is prompt and efficient. The house is clean, lovely and filled with exquisite antiques. I will visit again.


Good company and great adventure

5 on July 21, 2007

We loved our stay at the Insel Haus. Our hosts were very sensitive to our needs and available to help us meet them. Christa and Shelby are uniquely creative people and the bed and breakfast reflects this beautifully. In an elegant and relaxing venue, one is able to enjoy the wilderness by day. We rode mountain bikes and went on two track roads with our jeep (the wildlife was plenty),went swiming, played our guitar, went rock collecting, and read. Some other guests took their kayaks to the inland lakes and said it was alot of fun. The meals at Hawks Landing Restaurent a couple miles away were all good. In the evening we enjoyed the company of our hosts and other guests. If you wanted it there was stimulating conversation and lots of laughter. If not there was plenty of comfortable furniture and a great deck and outdoor room where one could relax and read, write or just be. In summary Insel Haus is a great place to stay if you are looking for elegant comfort and wilderness adventure or just a place to relax and reflect in nature.


Excellent

4.8 on July 21, 2007

We enjoyed our stay very much - our hosts made us feel right at home and we enjoyed visiting with them and the other guests. We had a wonderful breakfast - the house is so interesting - a beautiful home and they made you feel like it was your home.


Delightful Time

5 on June 27, 2007

Christa and Shelby are wonderful hosts and can provide both entertaining conversation and quiet privacy, depending on your desires. The house is comfortable and fascinating. Bois Blanc Island is not for everybody, but if you are looking for a retreat to slow down and appreciate the quiet beauty of the wooded island, this is for you. Give yourself time to visit the secluded gems on the island and appreciate the hidden views. Bring the bug spray, mountain bikes, and camera, get a map/guide at Hawks, the only store on the island, and leave the worries of the mainland behind.


Insel Haus - A Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $105 - $185
  • Reviews (43) 4.8
  • Rooms 9
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Mobile 1-2489212890
  • Toll free 1-8886347393

Visit Website »

View details

Top