The Comstock House Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
37 Reviews

Write A Review

Lovely Historic Home in Big Rapids

4.6 on March 22, 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay. I didn't dine at this location so this part of the review was not completed (although the system forced me to enter something!) but the house is lovely, in a very convenient area of the community (walkable to Ferris State U) and the owners are very friendly. I will stay there again and again, I'm sure, when I'm visiting Big Rapids on business. A plus of booking at a B&B is learning about the community from the owners. This was a huge benefit for me - Jane recommended a restaurant called "The Blue Cow" which was just perfect. Great place to stay and highly recommended.


First B&B Stay

4.6 on February 17, 2014

We stayed at the Comstock House Valentine's Day Weekend and could not have asked for a more romantic setting. We stayed in the Dollie Ann Room and it was absolutely lovely. Furthermore, the hospitality was outstanding and the breakfast was filling AND delicious. For our first stay at a B&B it was everything we expected and more. I would definitely recommend staying at the The Comstock House and I look forward to visiting again!!!!!!


The Comstock House

5 on December 18, 2013

Great bed, food and claw fast tube!


Outstanding in Every Way

5 on October 20, 2013

We stayed at this beautifully restored Victorian home on a weekend getaway and highly recommend it. Jane and John were friendly and accommodating, graciously allowing an early arrival and early breakfast, as well as recommending things to do and places to eat in the area. Our large, comfortable room featured a Keurig coffeemaker, free Wi-Fi and a large screen T.V.. Jane prepared the best breakfasts that we've ever had at a B&B (and we've stayed at many) with fresh ingredients. The location is perfectly situated in the town, within blocks of historic downtown Big Rapids and the White Pine trail.


Beautiful Historic House

5 on August 14, 2013

I love this house. This home is beautifully restored to its original glory. The hospitality was outstanding. We will be back.


A great time

5 on August 13, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Comstock House. The breakfast was great too! Just a great time overall!


Comstock

4.6 on January 20, 2013

What a wonderful place. We really enjoyed our visit.


Our stay at the Comstock House

5 on November 18, 2012

We found The Comstock House in an online search and were extremely happy that we did. We were visiting the area and didn't want to stay in a hotel (I'd stayed at the Holiday Inn in Big Rapids before and wanted a change in accommodations). The Comstock House has been wonderfully restored and the owners, Jane and John, couldn't have been more gracious. The meals prepared by Jane were excellent, as well. When we return to Big Rapids, we'll definitely make reservations at The Comstock House!


Phenomenal

5 on September 11, 2012

Great place -- wonderful people, clean, antique yet so modern! Loved the stay!


Comstock House

5 on September 11, 2012

I grew up in the house next door. it became the mystery house as we rarely saw anyone. This was a special visit and the house is gorgeous.


I will be a regular visitor

5 on September 09, 2012

I stayed at The Comstock House while my daughter moved into the FSU dorms. It was a great decision! The room is comfortable, plenty of hot water, wi-fi, flat screen, satisfying breakfast, great conversations. Also, since the house is just a stone's throw from historic downtown, there's plenty to do. We had rootbeer floats at the old-fashioned ice cream store, bought antiques, and had a 5 star dinner at the Blue Cow Cafe. John and Jane couldn't have been friendlier, but left me to my business as I wanted. It was a great stay. I'll be back any time I need to visit Big Rapids.


Outstanding all the way!

5 on August 17, 2012

THE best rennovated home we've seen! This couple has done it right, keeping the charm and character of the old house and adding updated plumbing, electrical, insulation, period furniture, flatscreen TV, etc. Just gorgeous inside and out! Wonderful, big breakfast with chatty owners (no other guests at the time). Couldn't have been more pleased. Well worth the money!


What an Awesome B&B!

5 on August 13, 2012

Jane & John were awesome hosts. If ever in the area again -- we would definitely come back.


Home away from home.

5 on January 30, 2012

My wife & I recently stayed at the Comstock House after attending a FSU Bulldog hockey game. What a joy to stay at such a nice home. The room was comfortable and relaxing. John & Jane were the kindest people with many great stories. The next mornings breakfast capped off a great stay. We are already making plans to return to Big Rapids just to stay at the Comstock House again.


Wonderful!

5 on January 25, 2012

It was fantastic! Like being in one of those elegant 1800's homes out of a movie! Thank you! We said "hi" to Marion Panepinto from Dr Rogers!


Great weekend

5 on January 01, 2012

We were in Big Rapids for a wedding of a friend, the Comstock House was a great place to stay. It was very clean, the food was great and the innkeepers were very welcoming. If we are ever in or near Big Rapids again, we will be sure to stay at the Comstock House again!


Veterans Day II

5 on November 12, 2011

We returned for a second year Veterans Day stay. That day heavy wet snow and whiteouts on the highway made the trip stressful, but when we arrived on Maple Street we could see the warm and inviting glow welcoming us. Last year it was warm and we walked the river walk and through town. This year after Jane greeted us we relaxed in our room and watched the snow fall. Our breakfast was delightful and we enjoyed the company of another couple and Jane. Then sadly we left The Comstock House with more fond memories. Than you John and Jane. The Millers


Comstock House

5 on October 02, 2011

This inn & innkeeper was outstanding. The room was beautiful & the food was great! It would be our choice to stay at the Comstock House whenever we return to Big Rapids!


Beautiful and pleasant

5 on April 28, 2011

A gorgeous old house with great service. Those who are sensitive to fragrances might have issues with the scents of the strong air fresheners.


Hidden Treasure

5 on January 25, 2011

I grew up in the Big Rapids area and this house was very familiar to me. As I was growing up it was always known as "That Frat House", a place to party and hang out. I grew up though and moved away. Many years later I came back to visit and was surprised to see it had been renovated and restore to is former glory! I of course had to stay there and see if it lived up to a true Bed and Breakfast.........oh my what a hidden treasure! The home had truly been transformed into something spectacular to behold. I love old houses, the character and attention to detail. The owners of The Comstock House have outdone themselves. Not only did they restore the home, they made it better. Each room was more wonderful than the last. Miss Jan was extremely attentive along with her husband and we enjoyed our quiet conversations over food that would literally melt in your mouth. The very first morning Miss Jan made cream cheese stuffed french toast and it was what dreams where made of! Thank you so much for adding to the wonderful memories I have of this extraordinary Historical Home. I would visit again and can't imagine making a trip to this area without staying at The Comstock House


Girls night at The Comstock House

5 on November 22, 2010

We stayed at the Comstock House on 11-5-2010 for a "girls night." We had a blast! Not only did we enjoy spending time with friends & family while we were there, we enjoyed looking at all of the pre-renovaton pictures and learning the history of the house. Jane served us an absolutely delicious breakfast the next morning & we enjoyed talking to her & John. Our one night at The Comstock House was not enough! We also had a baby shower there that afternoon & it was a great place to gather with friends & family with plenty of room. The beauty of this house is unbelievable! Jane & John did an excellent job renovating this house to its original beauty.


Veterans Day

5 on November 15, 2010

We were the first to call for the Veterans Day stay and our host couldn't have been nicer. When we arrived we were greeted at the door and taken on a tour and told of the history of this beautiful home. after we settled in (The Dollie Anne) we took a stroll along the river walk and then downtown for dinner. Our evening was fantastic in that we had an in room air jet tub with flat screen tv and king bed. We slept sound and comfortable to be awaken with a gourmet breakfast. There were two other vets and spouse at the table and enjoyed conversation along with that of Jane and John. Thanks to them and their family for making our first stay at a B&B memorable. Dave & Chris


Great Stay in Big Rapids, MI

5 on May 27, 2010

Superb! Accommodations and customer service were at the top. :)


AWESOME!

5 on January 26, 2010

Great B&B. All the amenities of a hotel, plus more. So much character. Beautiful.


Gorgeous room

5 on November 06, 2009

We loved our king size bed & jacuzzi tub & fireplace with flat screen TV! Very relaxing & romantic atmosphere. Wonderful breakfast & innkeepers. I would definitely recommend to others.


Perfect place to stay while biking the White Pine Trail

4.0 on August 10, 2009

Beautiful rooms, privacy, and comfort, all in a unique setting close to trail.


The Comstock House Stay

4.4 on June 24, 2009

We much enjoyed our time at the Comstock House. The house was beautiful, the history rich and the hospitality warm. We are recommending it to our friends!


What better place to hold a Rehearsal Dinner!

4.8 on June 12, 2009

We would love to reccommend this as a wonderful meeting or celebration location. This turned out to be historically elegant restored place for our 50 guests to meet and dine after the wedding rehearsal outdoors at our new home. The Snyders Barbeque and Catering (syndersbbq.com) brought an excellent meal for the guests and the meeting rooms were comfortably arranged for dining. Jillian was the most accommodating host and wonderful help. I would like to recommend this B&B for your next meeting or celebration! Jackie Bolen


First time

4.6 on February 19, 2009

This was my first experience of staying in a Bed and Breakfast. The Comstock House was beautifully decorated, comfortable and relaxing. I loved the spa bath and I would recommend this location as the perfect getaway for people vacationing in Michigan.


nice stay

5 on February 18, 2009

nice stay


stunning renovation!

4.0 on February 18, 2009

The owners are welcoming and warm. I felt I was visiting family. Well, I was. It was a wedding, but still!


absolutely wonderful experience

5 on February 12, 2009

hospitality was excellent, decor was beautiful, and meals were outstanding...great hosts, too!!


Comstock House

4.8 on October 27, 2008

excellent atmosphere, food great


Wonderful First Night!

5 on July 15, 2008

We loved spending our first night here. The old-fashioned jacuzzi (w/ a remote control) was great - right next to the bed!


Best B&B in BR

5 on July 08, 2008

Unbelievable, over the top, 100+ year old mansion...restored to perfection with outstanding hospitality. 5 stars PLUS!


Stepping Back in Time

5 on June 11, 2008

If you overlook the flatscreen TV and claw foot jacuzzi tub, this beautiful home makes you feel like you've stepped back in time. A real gem!


Wonderful Stay

5 on June 05, 2008

We stayed on our honeymoon night, and Jillian was more than accommodating with our late check-in. The Dollie Mae room was elegant and comfortable, and Jane's famous french toast and pleasant morning conversation made this stay absolutely amazing. Highly recommended, and we'll definitely be back.


The Comstock House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $185
  • Reviews (37) 4.9
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2317964753
  • Fax 1-2317968788
  • Toll free 1-8777964753
Top