Waverland Beach Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
20 Reviews

Write A Review

Relaxing Getaway

5 on May 19, 2014

I desperately needed a little R&R, so I booked a room last minute here last August - having only gone off the reviews on this site. It was wonderful! I had never stayed at a B&B before and would do it again in a heartbeat. I assume most people who stay at B&B's are couples, but it was just me and Nancy made me feel very welcome. I stayed in the Sand Dune, and it was lovely. There were room darkening shades for a little sleeping in. I love the beach and they have their own 100' of beach right on Lake MI. I spent my days reading by the beach and ran up an exit or two to grab dinner and bring it back to watch the sunset over the Lake. It was truly relaxing and exactly what I needed. This is close enough to things that you can quickly get to stores (10-15 minutes), yet feels miles away from the rush of life. If the weather isn't the greatest, they even have a small little room (cottage?) part of the way down the stairs with double doors, so you can appreciate the view without having to go down to the beach or be exposed to the rain.


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast!

5 on September 11, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights in the Twin Harbor room in August. We could not have been happier with the accommodations . Nancy does a lovely job as hostess of this beautiful home. The setting, view from the bluff, and the beach are perfect. Sweet Heidi is a nice addition too, especially for dog lovers. We hope to return!


STL Couple

5 on June 27, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in the large room and just loved it. Wish we could have stayed longer. Nancy is a great hostess and a wonderful cook. She also has great restaurant recommendations and provides great directions. We loved every minute. The dog, Heidi, was an added feature and we also fell in love with her--so sweet. We will return.


A Birthday To Remember...

5 on May 08, 2013

Amazing hospitality, Beautiful atmosphere, Cherishable moments. Nancy's place has the ABC's down solid for anyone looking to just...be. This was the 1st B&B ever, and will always have a place within our hearts. From the soft sounds of waves, just a few steps away, to the awesome sunset visible at a glance, its an A+ all around. Recommend to anyone, of any/all age groups, don't miss this spirit filled home.


So Peaceful!

5 on March 22, 2013

We went to the BNB in October - sort of off season time, but it was absolutely so wonderful and peaceful that time of year. When we pulled in, we were greated by their massive and sweet dog, Heidi. Heidi gave it a homey feel and we loved her. Our room was decked out with very luxurious bedding and linnens. The hot tub and sauna gave the perfect extra touch to make our stay relaxing. In the morning, I would wake up and go for a run on the beach, search for beach glass, which we found a ton of, and then get ready for a breakfast made by Nancy that just knocked our socks off. Fresh ingredients, hand made, and served to you like you're the queen and king of England. The bluff overlooking the the lake and their beachhouse made for some of the most beautiful sunset views I've ever seen. The area is full of vineyards and even if you don't like wine, visiting them is surely a site worth seeing and many of them have other things of interest on site. Three words to describe this experience, Peaceful, Relaxing, Amazing. If you've ever experienced a bad bed and breakfast, I urge you to give this one a chance to change your mind about them.


Beauty and Rest on Lake Michigan

5 on October 15, 2012

What a slice of heaven! We stayed at the Patterson's B & B this past weekend and loved it! Our room, Sand Dune, has a comfy bed with wonderful sheets and a terrific bathroom. The entire setting is welcoming, clean and cozy. Then there is Nancy's breakfast - amazing! Her table setting is out of a magazine and the food is gourmet. Their home sits overlooking Lake Michigan and the view is breathtaking from their patios and beach. We live in NY and worth the trip. Mark and Nancy are the most gracious hosts and made our weekend extra special. We were there for the Notre Dame game and it is a great way to spend the weekend - football and a fantastic two night getaway. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!! We will be back again for sure.


Our Honeymoon

5 on September 18, 2012

They have four very nice rooms, and the cottage that we stayed in. Nancy and Mark gave us the tour and absolutely opened up their entire property to us. The Hot Tub is nicely secluded and the overall feel is unlike any other Bed and Breakfast I have been to. The best part, for me, was that I did not feel like I was in someone else's home...a feeling I get in many other B&B's. They were available, but really gave us our space, and we really did not feel their presence when we did not want to. In our trip we visited two other B&B's and when we arrived we only planned to stay for one night. After seeing the view, the private beach front, the absolute seclusion from the outside world...we pushed our schedule an extra day which is very unusual for us! (It was without a thought) Since we have been back I find myself continuing to tell many others about this place! (And only a pssing reference to the other two we stayed at) This is truly a place to check out and be prepared to completely enjoy your trip! Steven Laureys


Dream Honeymoon

5 on September 17, 2012

We spent the last two days of our honeymoon here and could not have dreamed up a better place to stay. The owner's, Nancy & Mark, were so sweet and accommodating. The cottage was absolutely adorable and the view was the most amazing sight ever. The beach was secluded and it was like having our own private beach on Lake Michigan for the weekend. Even the neighbors walking their dogs were so sociable and kind. There is also plenty to do and see in the surrounding area including Silver Beach. We will absolutely be back and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet beach vacation.


Perfect Getaway Weekend!

5 on September 10, 2012

I surprised my fiancé for her 30th birthday this past weekend and Waverland B&B could not have impressed us more! We were the first to arrive for the weekend and were welcomed by Mark, who gave us a tour of the entire property to see all of the rooms they offered (we stayed in Beach Glass). Every last corner of the house was kept up beautifully and ach room has its own updated bathroom inside the room. The rest of the property continued to impress us as well. They have an outdoor hot tub and sauna on the deck, a well maintained lawn, a patio with the bird’s eye view of the lake, the charming beach house on the bluff overlooking the lake, and of course the private beach. Nancy and Mark are both incredibly nice people that were very helpful and even took care of our dinner reservations in town which left us one less thing to worry about. On Friday we made the easy 15 minute drive to the nearby wineries for an afternoon of wine tasting and brought a few bottles back with us to enjoy near the lake. It began to rain in the evening, but thanks to the beach house we still have a nice covered area to be by the water and listen to the waves. The breakfast in the mornings are almost worth the trip themselves! Another nice thing about breakfast is that you can pick your serving time, which means you don’t have to eat with anyone else if you don’t want to. Saturday was spent mostly outside enjoying the beach and walking along the shore to the dunes at Grand Mere State Park, and the cherry on top was watching an absolutely amazing sunset on the beach with my fiancé with a bottle of wine. We could not have imagined a more perfect weekend, it was exactly the type of relaxing getaway we were hoping for and Waverland nailed it! We can’t wait to go back again and have already made plans for next year!


Dont Rent the Cottage

1.8 on August 13, 2012

This would have been the perfect vacation if the Landlady, Nancy Patterson hadn’t of ruined our week. We were accused of having more than maximum six persons staying overnight in the cottage on several occasions. The contact clearly states that Day guests are allowed, and Friends or day quests are welcome to visit. At no time were there more than eight adults at the cottage, and only 5 adults, and one child stayed overnight. Nancy also complained to my quests about having beach chairs to close to the water, and storing our chairs overnight at the wrong picnic table (one for the B&B that no one used all week, and another for the cottage). In addition there are several other reasons not to rent this cottage. No dogs are allowed, but Nancy’s dog barks every morning at 7:00am, and craps at the cottage. A shovel is provided to clean up her mess. No fireworks were allowed, but fireworks were set off by the inconsiderate neighbors after 10:00pm, while my granddaughter was trying to sleep. The cottage bathroom was grossly filthy, and I had to fix the shower valve when it fell apart. One of my guests preferred to shower outside because she didn’t feel clean after showing inside. The cottage also has a bug problem. There were spiders, ants, and we found a huge cockroach inside a box of food when we unpacked it at home. There are other maintenance problems as well. The stairs are overgrown with weeds, and the road to the beach was washed out to a point where it was dangerous to walk on.


Simply awesome!

5 on July 16, 2012

This was our first stay at any bed and breakfast. It is hard to imagine any other b&b adding up to this one. The location is quiet and secluded. The beach view is priceless. The hosts were wonderful and friendly. The food was exquisite. The accommodations were superb.And the Heidi the dog even sang to us. :) If you are looking for a place to stay in this area - look no further.


Glorious 3 Days!

5 on July 09, 2012

My husband and I had a delay on the completion of work on our motorhome. I called last minute inquiring about availability and Nancy was very accommodating!! She made it work for us. Waverland is a beautiful house situated above the dunes on the shores of Lake Michigan. Their private sandy beach was spectacular! We swam everyday, walked the beach and kayaked. The views were fabulous and we enjoyed amazing sunsets every night! The rooms are beautifully appointed and very comfortable! Our daily gourmet breakfast was delicious. Our stay was perfect and all the stresses of our motorhome work melted away! I believe all things in life happen for a reason and we were meant to stay at Waverland! Nancy and Mark are very gracious inkeepers and we enjoyed getting to know them. What a gem of a find we will be back!


Pictures do not do it justice...

5 on July 08, 2012

This was our first stay at a B&B and we really set the bar high. EVERYTHING about Waverland Beach B&B was beyond our expectations. Nancy and Mark were amazing. The breakfast was phenominal... the rooms were decorated perfectly... and the views... wow... They didn't skimp on anything anywhere. All of the doors were solid, quality wood... the beds were super comfy and the sheets high quality. They even went so far as to stain the edge of the pocket door to match the door jamb when it was closed... I could go on and on, but you really need to experience it for yourself. We have decided this will be an annual visit now. Mike & Sarah


Amazing

5 on May 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed this weekend in the Sunset Suite for our wedding anniversary, this was our first experience with a bed and breakfast and it was by far more than we ever imagined. Some things that stand out.... The room was beautiful,The amenities offered, the high quality linens, the comfort of the bed, the large shower , the well groomed and maintained property , the awesome breakfast and the best hospitality and small little things Nancy does to make you stay special is amazing! They have set the bar high! I have to say they know what they are doing! We highly recommend Waverland Beach Bed and Breakfast. You will not be disappointed !


Excellent visit

5 on November 13, 2011

My wife and I spent a wonderful weekend away and even though our travel time from home was only 1hr 15min. When we arrived at Waverland Beach B&B it seem we were far away. It was peaceful, relaxing, and very enjoyable. Both host were fantastic and really made us feel at home. Their motto "Come in as Strangers and leave as friends." Anyone looking to get away for a relaxing time. We definitely recommend Waverland Beach B&B. We would like to thank the Patterson's for a most enjoyable visit, and we will be back again.


Repeat guests

5 on August 11, 2011

We have been to this wonderful place 3 times in a year! The hosts are delightful and we plan to visit again. You will not be disappointed. Sit on the patio and watch the sunset, or put your chairs in the lake and enjoy the sunshine on your own secluded beach. Mike and Gail


A Great Vacation

4.8 on April 20, 2011

Nancy and Mark are such sweet people! It is always somewhat awkward for me to stay at a B&B because it feels like I am invading someone’s personal space. However; at Waverland Beach B&B I never once felt that way. The owners are so welcoming and friendly it was easy to relax and enjoy my vacation. Nancy is a stickler for the details and she thought of absolutely everything! This has to be one of the cleanest B&B’s I have ever stayed at; I am a bit of a perfectionist when it comes to keeping things clean and Waverland exceeded my expectations. I truly enjoyed my vacation at Waverland and would certainly recommend this B&B to others!!


Such a wonderful place and great hosts!

4.8 on November 04, 2010

Myy husband and I stayed in their king suite during a weekend in October. We only live 10 minutes away, but felt as though we had totally escaped from our daily life. The house is newer, the king suite exceeded our expectations, as did Nancy's cooking. This is the best bed and breakfast we've ever been to and I hope we can go back soon!


The most relaxing weekend ever!

5 on September 01, 2010

I booked this b&b so my husband and I could have a quick getaway. We wanted to go to a great beach location in Fl., but this was even better! The view from this b&b was outstanding! There's a set of stairs that take you down to the private beach, and was it private! My husband and I brought down a bottle of wine to the beach, which Nancy so kindly gave us glasses for, made a fire in the fire ring on the beach, which again is all provided, and watched the sunset - totally alone! There wasn't anyone else on the beach, which made for a very romantic evening. The hosts, Nancy and Mark are fabulous! They are there for anything you need! By the time we left my husband and I felt like we were part of the family. We staying in the sunset suite, which was fabulous - the pictures on the website doesn't do it justice! It was a cool evening so we slept with the windows open and were able to hear the waves hit the shore - soooooooo relaxing! We are going to stay here again as soon as we get another free weekend!


Five Out of Five Stars!

5 on July 24, 2010

Atop a picturesque sand dune on Lake Michigan’s Waverland Beach sits a hidden treasure: Waverland Beach Bed & Breakfast. A leisurely drive along a winding, wooded private lane brings you to this charming get-away. Individually marked parking spaces, beautiful artwork, an absolutely lovely home, and a welcoming smile from owners Nancy and Mark Patterson will greet you. Waverland Beach B & B radiates with warmth and relaxation. The Patterson’s have done an excellent job of converting their home to the ideal B & B. With their separate living quarters in the back of the residence, the rest of the spacious home is B & B perfection. Each themed room is lavished in ‘up-scale’ comfort. The Patterson’s have thought of every convenience a person could need and their thoughtfulness sets them above the rest. The food is delicious and snacks were always available -- Nancy’s Sunday morning French toast is treat! Besides all the best accommodations, such as the hot tub and private beach, the view of Lake Michigan is extraordinary; Waverland Beach B & B’s separate brick patio overlooking majestic Lake Michigan will inspire you to vacation more! This reasonably priced ‘up-scale’ get-a-way is a must-visit for B & B lovers. Its excellent location to all the best Michigan has to offer will have you talking about the next time you visit. Five out of Five Stars!


Waverland Beach Bed and Breakfast

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 2694655777

Visit Website »

View details

Top