Carriage House at the Harbor Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
115 Reviews

Write A Review

Our second visit in winter

4.8 on February 10, 2014

My wife and I visited again after enjoying our visit the year before. Both times were in February since we were interested in taking advantage of the lake effect snow presented in this area. It is a slower pace than in the summer. We like cross country skiing and snow shoeing and did so on the Kal-Haven trail, which has the trailhead in South Haven. The breakfasts were fabulous before going out for the day and the warm fireplace in our room was inviting when we returned. The house is beautiful with many rooms from which to choose. We stayed in a different room the second trip, but both were great with a view of the harbor. It is very pretty in the winter. There are plenty of cozy corners to sit and read or relax with a glass of wine. On our most recent visit we met the owner, Suzanne, who was very personable and gave us the history of the house. Amy is the Inn Keeper. She is pleasant, provides useful information, and has a good sense of humor. Her fresh baked cookies are delicious. We had a thoroughly good time each visit..


Another awesome stay!

5 on March 04, 2013

We have just returned from our annual "Winter Rendezvous" at the Carriage House. 2013 was the fourth get-together for our safe boating group; and this year we booked the entire house (all 12 rooms)! David, Suzanne, and Amy are the consummate hosts; so accomodating, friendly and fun. Everyone enjoyed their stay; the food was fabulous and the inn is lovely; great rooms and amenities. If you are planning a group get-away; it doesn't get better than here in South Haven at the Carriage House at the Harbor! We loved it!


Beautiful Getaway!

5 on October 02, 2012

We stayed here recently for a couple days to celebrate our anniversary. The house was beautiful and the rooms were great. We had excellent service and the staff were more than welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The location to town, as well as the lake, cannot be beat. They were also accommodating to allow me a vegetarian breakfast which was amazing! We had such a wonderful experience and would recommend this to anybody.


The location, hospitality,food and room were all outstanding

4.8 on August 22, 2012

Outstanding


Easy decision to come back and stay

5 on July 26, 2012

While fairly new to the B&B experience, this is a benchmark others should be judged against in comparison. The rooms were comfortable and quiet with a great view of the marina from our private deck. The location put it in easy walking distance of the historic part of town along with a few easy minutes to the beech. The staff could not have been more helpful and helped us extend our stay an extra day even though it was peak season. Don't miss the breakfast. We were in town for a wedding and will have an easy decision on where to stay for our next visit.


Harbor gem

4.8 on June 30, 2012

The Carriage House is a great place to get away, relax and enjoy the quiet. Our room was comfortable, offered a great view of the harbor and the balcony offered a perfect place to enjoy the scenery. The breakfasts were delicious and offered a nice variety. The afternoon goodies were an added treat.


Great Innkeepers

5 on June 21, 2012

Suzanne and David are wonderful hosts! This is our second stay at the Inn and we can't wait to plan our third. The house itself is beautiful, quite, and well kept. The breakfast is delicious-We love this place!


Excellent Food - Friendly Hosts

4.2 on September 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. The breakfasts were wonderful - among the best of any B&B we have experienced. The hosts, David and Suzanne, are friendly and helpful. They gave us good input for places to dine, things to see and do and directions to where we wanted to go. Our room was smaller than expected, but there are much larger and nicer (and more expensive) rooms available as well. The common areas were cozy and there is a large selection of DVD’s that can be borrowed to view in our room. The location was convenient and the view of the harbor was an added benefit. The room was very clean and well maintained. There is a large Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom and even if you do not use it for that, it makes for a larger than normal shower area.


Awesome

5 on August 26, 2011

We stayed at the Carriage House for 2 nights this week, and can't wait to return. This was our first B&B experience and we loved it. The accommodations were immaculate and beautifully furnished. The views from our private balcony and the dining areas were spectacular, all looking out over the harbor and the beautiful gardens. Our hosts, Dave and Suzanne, were marvelous and so helpful and attentive. The location is perfect and within walking distance to the beach and the main business section of South Haven, with great restaurants and shops. We can't forget about Khaki, their beautiful, gentle dog. What a delight! We give the Carriage House 5 stars PLUS!


A Lovely INN

4.0 on August 20, 2011

My Husband and I celebrated our 20 year Anniversary here and will definetly return. The location is excellent especially for walking to the beach to watch the evening sunset. The inn is very clean and well cared for and the innkeepers are very welcoming. The breakfast is supurb. No guest will be dissappointed.


A beautiful experience

4.8 on August 20, 2011

Having stayed at the Carriage House for 3 nights, we're already looking forward to our next stay. Our room, The White Chapel, has lovely, restful decor, a big bathroom with jacuzzi, and best of all . . . its own porch, with two rocking chairs, overlooking the marina on the Black River. (The only "downside" is the name of the room, which sounds funereal!). Breakfasts are delicious, served in rooms overlooking the marina. And last, but not least, the innkeepers are gracious and accommodating. A truly relaxing, enjoyable getaway.


Relaxation

5 on August 18, 2011

We stayed at the Carriage House for our honeymoon. Yes, it was very romantic and peaceful. Walking distance for most attractions. Loved to sit by the harbor and watch the yachts and sailboats go out to the lake. The house itself was magnificant. So beautiful and warm feeling. No disappointments. Breakfast each morning was delicious. Would definitely visit again.


Excellent Experience

4.6 on August 17, 2011

Cannot beat the location. The harbor is directly behind the house and the beach is 200 yards away. Also, kitty-corner to the park which you can walk through for an easy stroll to the downtown area. Rooms are clean and quiet. Patios and balconies provide excellent views of the harbor and relaxing places to enjoy a book or a glass of wine. Breakfast and snacks are excellent. David and Susanna are nice and helpful.


Fall in South HAven

4.0 on February 09, 2011

I have stayed at The Carriage House for 3 years in a row. The rooms are beautiful. The food is terrific and Suzanne and DAvid are great.


Our Secret Getaway

4.0 on December 18, 2010

We have celebarted our anniversary for many years at the Carriage House. We love this place so much that we also enjoy staying during January and February for a very romantic and peaceful stay. Suzzane and David are great inn keepers and we feel they are like family.


A great experience

4.6 on November 02, 2010

Suzanne really knows how to take care of her guests (David was not there the weekend we spent). A beautiful hose in a great setting, conveniently located. Great breakfast every morning, accompanied by Suzanne's informative (and funny) news of what's happening in the area that day. A large family group of us rented 4 rooms for the weekend, and were not disappointed!


A Wonderful Weekend with Family

4.8 on October 30, 2010

What a wonderful time we had on our visit to Carriage House. Traveling for our sister's 60th birthday, my brothers and sisters and I all gathered at this charming inn and spent four glorious days together. Our rooms were all distinctly different and charming, with working fireplaces and balconies overlooking the harbor. Breakfast each morning was delicious and accompanied by our hostess, Suzanne's, informative and entertaining discussion of the activities available in the area that day. Each evening we and the other guests would gather in the warm, inviting common area for scrumptious appetizers, set out by Suzanne and her capable staff. Everyone brought their own beverages and we all got to know one another and laugh and talk. The hotel is within walking distance to the town of South Haven and a great base for touring the antique stores and wineries of the area, as well as the nearby town of Saugatuck. It was a perfect, perfect weekend.


The Perfect Getaway!

5 on September 10, 2010

The Carriage House has been our destination for our anniversary for two years now. We love it as a restful and romantic getaway. David and Suzanne are incredibly gracious. They make you feel like you're home when you walk in the door. They know the area well, even the excellent restaurants in nearby communities. The atmosphere is especially relaxing as they do not allow children. The private balcony overlooking the harbor was our personal favorite spot to share a glass of wine before dinner each night. Simply perfect!


Fabulous!

4.0 on August 31, 2010

We came to the carriage house for the weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The house is absolutely beautiful and the innkeepers are wonderful people! Our room was very welcoming and relaxing...a true place to get away and relax! Breakfast was delicious right down to the last bite. South Haven is such a fun place to step away from your schedule and busy life and the Carriage House made our experience even better than expected! We can't wait to go back!


Fabulous rooms, view, food, hospitality

5 on August 31, 2010

The inn itself is immaculate and well-cared for. My friends and I had two rooms both of which were very spacious and well-appointed each with its own bathroom. The view to the harbor was spectacular and there was a nice walkway for early morning stroll with coffee. The food was delicious and I especially appreciated that the portion sizes were reasonable. The popcorn snacks and cookies mid-afternoon was a nice touch as well as the 5 PM appetizers. Suzanne and David could not have been more gracious or accommodating. The inn itself is in a quiet area near a park but the downtown area is within easy walking distance. Lots of suggestions were given for things to do as well as directions to get there. I look forward to going back!


Great Inn

5 on August 11, 2010

We loved our stay and planning on returning for years to come


We love the Carriage House! We wouldn't stay anywhere else!

5 on July 28, 2010

We love the Carriage House for it's location to the beach and downtown South Haven. The rooms are beautiful and each unique. We book the whole house for a family reunion every year and have a blast!


A Victorian Romantic's Delight!

4.8 on July 17, 2010

A fabulous place to stay for the Victorian architecture and antique enthusiast! This beautiful home, appointed with charming Victorian furnishings and accents, is enhanced by the gracious innkeepers, Suzanne and David. They have attended to every detail: gourmet breakfasts and great coffee served in a peaceful atmosphere, relaxing porches, sample menus and tips on great local restaurants, a meticulous guidebook on a variety of activities and local venues, and even a comprehensive library of current and classic dvds. Suzanne gave me the scoop on the best local antique shops and even lent me her camera to take photos of the house for my future painting pursuits!


What a great place

5 on July 17, 2010

My wife and I spent a few days in July 2010 and truely loved the inn, the environmment and the small town feel of South Haven. The owners, David and Suzanne and their staff treated us like family and were very nice. The rooms are very romantic in the decor and period feel. My only complaint is that there are televisions in the guest rooms. I would recommend this inn to anyone who wants a few days of relaxation and pampering. I tell you the breakfasts were sensational the accomodations superb. I cannot say enough good things and cannot wait to go back.


Wonderful weekends

5 on June 26, 2010

My husband and I love to visit the Inn to enjoy wonderful, relaxing weekends. The site is lovely with beautiful gardens and comfy rockers to sit it while you look at the flowers. There are lovely walks to take, including to the harbor and the charming downtown. The innkeepers are great, fun to chat with and full of excellent tips on things to do and places to eat.


Great romantic, relaxing venue on the harbor

4.4 on June 23, 2010

Great place to relax, beautiful accomodations. Room was decorated in Victorian style, comfy, big bed, with a deck facing the harbor and a fireplace. Owner, David, was so knowledgeable about the entire area and guided us to everywhere we wanted to go. Home is situated among beautiful gardens and only a block from the beach. We will definitely visit again - Deb from Muncie, Indiana (South Haven was only 4 hrs from Indianapolis)


Two of the nicest people we've ever met and a wonderful b&b.

4.8 on June 20, 2010

Amazing owners. Beautiful house. Great Location. Can't wait to go back.


Wonderful bed and breakfast in every way

5 on June 13, 2010

This was a wonderful weekend away. The innkeepers are helpful and personable as well as hospitable. The cleanliness is impeccable. The gourmet breakfast was delicious. The room and inn as a whole are delightfully decorated with lots of wallpaper and neat woodwork. The room was comfortable with king bed and two chairs. We loved it!


The best B&B in South Haven

4.0 on June 01, 2010

We just returned from our 10th or so trip to South Haven over the past 15+ years. We stayed for the 4th time at the Carriage House at the Harbor. Of the 4 places we have stayed in South Haven, this is the best B&B there. The main reasons we like it better than the other places we stayed in South Haven (and other B&B's in general) are: Cleanliness, hospitality, wonderful appetizers and breakfasts and location, location, location. We always choose a room with a balcony and always enjoy spending time relaxing while overlooking the harbor. The Carriage House at the Harbor is within walking distance to most of South Haven. We love it!


Wonderful time

5 on June 01, 2010

My wife and I spent 2 nights of the memorial weekend at the Carriage House. This was our first B&B experience. The house is amazing, the view from the dinning room is breath taking. Breakfasts were excellent and Suzanne would go over the different events/activities each day to help you plan your day. They also help us make arrangement with local restaurant that normally do not take reservations, we got seated right away. The location is perfect, walking distance to downtown and the beach. We have a wonderful trip, hoping to make it back every year.


Carriage House at the Harbor review

5 on April 21, 2010

The Carriage House at the Harbor is an excellent bed and breakfast. All the rooms are so adorable and very clean. David and Suzanne are wonderful innkeepers. The breakfast is outstanding. I could not ask for a better place to stay. We had the whole place reserved for our Red Hat Group and we had so much fun that we have decided to make it a yearly thing. Can't wait for next year. Neda Brown, Queen of the Red Hot Bodacious Babes


An incredible weekend withnb friends!

5 on April 06, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at The Carriage House with 10 friends. What a magnificent weekend was had by all. Of course, the place is beautiful, and the breakfasts are luscious...but our wonderful hosts went above & beyond to make all feel welcome. We had the porch to ourselves for our cocktail party (other guests joined too)...complete with glasses, ice buckets, etc. The complimentary evening appetizers were fantastic (totally different each night). Local restaurant reservations were totally taken care of by David with great success. The entire group is looking forward to a return next winter (as well as individuals returning as couples this summer). My husband and I are also "regulars" for New Year's, too...another great time to visit. Can't wait to return to this lovely establishment! Each season brings a unique experience!


A wonderful place to getaway from it all

5 on March 30, 2010

My wife and I spent a weekend here and were extremely happy with our room, the atmosphere, Suzanne & David were wonderful hosts, and the food was outstanding!! The view of the harbor from our 3rd floor patio was beautiful and the room was almost too quiet! All the guests were so nice and very interesting to engage in conversation with. We would love to return someday when we can plan another getaway weekend without the kids.


Wonderful Escape!!

5 on November 09, 2009

We stayed at the Carriage House in October and were just in awe it is a beautiful home, with everything you could possibly want . The food was excellent and the atmosphere enchanting. We had planned for shopping and dining but the home was so inviting and realaxing with a private balcony and jacuzzi tub we found ourselves spending most our time in the home. A wonderful relaxing weekend!


You can't go wrong

5 on October 23, 2009

My wife and I spent the past weekend at the Carriage House celebrating our one year anniversary. Earlier this year we chose a B&B through the internet when we traveled to South Carolina. When we got there we were disappointed. Needless to say, we were a little nervous when we found the Carriage House on the internet. So I tell you this - you don't need to be nervous! This place is excellent! It sits right on the South Haven harbor, and is across the street from a nice beach. David gave us tour of the entire place, and there's not a room you'd be disappointed in! The breakfast was great, the service wonderful, and our entire time there was perfect! If you've had bad results trying to find places to stay on the internet, you do not have to worry about this place! You'll love it! South Haven is more of a summer destination, but it's beautiful in the fall!


Perfection!

5 on October 19, 2009

My husband & I just returned from an anniversary weekend at the Carriage House and we couldn't have been more pleased. The house is spectacular in every way, quiet & romantic. David is a fabulous innkeeper, making sure his guests are comfortable in everything they need. Breakfast was incredibly delicious and presented beautifully. We will definitely be returning guests!!!


Thanks a bunch

4.6 on October 12, 2009

My husband and I stayed in May when it was still a little chilly outside. Suzanne was out of town that weekend, but Dave was extremely helpful. It was our first experience staying at an inn and it was wonderful. The food was amazing. Always make sure you are at the inn when food is being served because otherwise you are missing out. My husband and I ended up scheduling out activities around the food. Haha. Thanks again and we WILL be back!


Perfect Getaway!

4.2 on September 03, 2009

David and Suzanne are the perfect hosts for their beautiful, quaint B&B. We stayed four nights for our 35th wedding anniversary. The victorian style was carefully adhered to in every detail. The inn was clean, quiet, and such a special place to come home to each night. We especially enjoyed our private balcony overlooking the harbor where we enjoyed a glass of wine together each night. We love the South Haven beach and town, and now have a new favorite place to stay!


Wonderful

5 on September 02, 2009

We stayd a week and did not want to leave. A wonderful place to stay and the area is great. Best B&B we have stayed at.


Great Getaway

4.0 on August 27, 2009

My husband and I booked a two night stay at the Carriage House after we got married. This was a perfect location to spend our honeymoon! The rooms are cozy and romantic and the view overlooking the harbor is fantastic. Not to mention the service was fabulous and the breakfast was delicious. Furthermore the Carriage House is in a great location. You can walk into town to do some shopping or catch dinner, or walk to the beach to swim or just enjoy the view. We will definitely be returning and look forward to visiting South Haven and the Carriage House again very soon. -David and Lois


Refreshing

4.4 on August 26, 2009

My husband and I stayed for two nights and found it very relaxing, refreshing, and romantic. The walk to the downtown area took around 10 minutes, which was perfect. We ate at some great restaurants, enjoyed running on the beach, and even went to the old-fashioned movie theatre in town. Fun!


perfect

5 on August 07, 2009

This was my first visit to a B&B. the website is beautiful, but I must say the inn was not misrepresented.Was even better than the pictures!!


Awesome weekend!

5 on July 01, 2009

We stayed in the Carriage House in June to celebrate my 50th birthday. The inn totally exceeded our expectations and we were more than pleased with our room accommodations, along with every aspect of our stay. The greatest bonus is the private porches off of several of the rooms. We would sit out there in the morning and have our coffee and also enjoy the peacefulness every night before going to bed. What a beautiful view of the harbor! Suzanne and David were extremely welcoming and helpful, and definitely made us feel comfortable to be there. We can't wait to book our next trip (hopefully this September!)


One stay is not enough...

5 on June 15, 2009

One stay is not enough...and for that matter neither is two! We spent a 3 night stay in June, 2008 and immediately started planning for another the next year. Just finished another 3 night stay in June, 2009...and yes we plan to go back sometime next year as well. The Carriage House is a remarkable place. David and Suzanne (and their four-legged assistant, Khaki) are delightful hosts. The breakfasts are as pleasing to the eye as they are to the taste buds. It's a great home (away from home) base from which to take day trips to the surrounding areas. David and Suzanne seem to know the area well and keep up on what's going on. Or stay close to home in South Haven for shopping or sightseeing. It's only a block from the beach....glorious sunsets! David and Suzanne are very friendly and do it up right. You will feel right at home!


The perfect place to relax!

4.6 on June 15, 2009

My husband and I spent a delightful 2 days in South Haven at the Carriage House Inn and couldn't have had a better time! The breakfasts were almost too pretty to eat (I took pictures!) and tasted even better than they looked. Our accomodations were clean, comfortable and the location/view were superb. We made several trips by foot to the downtown area and found the walk most enjoyable and the dining options plentiful. We definitely won't hesitate to make a return visit.


great stay at this beautiful place

4.8 on June 07, 2009

we spent my birthday here and had a wonderful time. the room was beautiful and the breakfast was terrific. short walk to the beach for a fantastic sunset


what a special experience

5 on June 06, 2009

We would love to keep this gem to ourselves, it is that special! Stayed here while on a trip up the MI coast and it was our favorite night of the trip. David is what every bed and breadfast owner should strive to be- any stay elsewhere after here will always be compared and will be hard to live up to! The home is exquisite with lots of cosy sitting areas. The view over the harbor is calming and it is only a short 2 block walk to the beach. The rooms are cozy and everything you could need for a romantic and relaxing stay. After a short walk around the area we were enjoying the extensive gardens when David called us in for a special lite snack. He is knowledgable about the area obvoiusly enjoys what is he is doing. The breakfast here is something to be experienced- unique and wonderfully delicious. Can't wait til our next excuse for a getaway- it will definitely be here!!!


Everything was Perfect

5 on June 05, 2009

Our stay couldn't have been more wonderful. David and Suzanne's hospitality went above and beyond our expectations. The food and accommodations were exceptional also. It was like stepping back into another era, yet having all of the conveniences of today. Walking down to the beach to see the sunset, or sitting out back to watch the boats in the harbor, gave us a chance to relax and enjoy each other's company in a beautiful, serene setting. Loved Khaki, the "therapy dog" too. It just doesn't get any better than this.


Delightfully Charming B & B

5 on May 22, 2009

My husband and I spent a wonderful 3 nights at Carriage House at the Harbor. Suzanne and David were warm and wonderful innkeepers. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and like we were at the home of dear friends. The brunch served every morning was a delight, and they went out of their way to accomodate my special dietary request. The location is ideal, sitting on the harbor, next to a beautiful park, 1 block from Lake Michigan's beaches, and easy walking distance to downtown. The room was beautifully decorated, spotless, with a jacuzzi, fireplace and balcony. I would highly recommend a stay at Carriage House at the Harbor.


J and J's trip to South Haven

5 on March 08, 2009

We had an excellent weekend at the Carriage House! The service was superb, the inkeepers are sweet as can be, the food was delicious, and the room was perfect. You don't need to bring anything but clothes and toiletries. They have an excellent movie collection, more games than you know what to do with, and a communal fridge filled with more bottled water and refreshments than you can imagine. I wouldn't go anywhere else!


Great experience!!!

5 on February 23, 2009

We had a wonderful time! So thoughtful and kind. Great food- terrific!


mid-week idyll!

5 on February 04, 2009

What a delightful spot and charming owners. The accommodations and amenities are all top notch!


The gold standard

5 on January 27, 2009

My wife and I usally manage to get away to a B&B twice a year. We have been to several and the Carriage House remains our favorite. We have had many good experiences at other B&B's- and a few not so good, but none match the laid-back friendliness, comfort, and amazing breakfast (and afternoon snacks) at the Carriage House. David and Suzanne and staff are very attentive and make you feel right at home. The experience has been great both summer and winter and there is much to do and see in the area. There are several excellent restaurants and bars nearby. South Haven is good for shopping (don't miss the Blueberry Shop) and has a skating rink operating in winter. We also enjoy picking blueberries in season and walking the Lake Michigan beach- summer or winter. Love the room balconies, views, gas freplaces, and spa tubs. Can't say enough about the place- it really is outstanding.


Couple's weekend

5 on January 22, 2009

We enjoyed a wonderful, relaxing winter weekend at the Carriage House. David and Suzanne are top notch proprietors. We are spoiled in every way, in the world it is so nice to be spoiled!


Great Weekend

5 on December 31, 2008

Great room - view, fireplace, and comfortable bed. Lovely common areas. Guest computer and wireless internet access. Delicious breakfasts and hors d'oeuvres. Gracious, well informed hosts.


Girlfriend weekend- 15 years!

5 on December 03, 2008

This is our third year at the Carriage House. Our stay is always awesome! Beautiful rooms, delicious food. Innkeepers, David and Suzanne, are very hospitable. Our group of 24 wonderful women will be back in 2009!


Girls' weekend

5 on November 25, 2008

Outstanding from start to finish. Carriage House is the absolutely best ever! Loved every minute. Suzanne and David were the best!


Bonnie's Girls' B&B weekend

4.8 on November 05, 2008

We always feel so welcome when we arrive. Our rooms are always delightful. The staff are so caring and accommodating. It is truly one of the highlights of the year!


Relaxing and fun

5 on October 28, 2008

25 of us girls rented the house for the weekend. it was great. very clean, and the owners were fabulous!


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast

5 on October 13, 2008

I just wanted to express how wonderful the Carriage House in is. Twenty-five of my friends and I stayed last weekend and what a great experience. The Inn is absolutely beautiful. Each room is decorated in a beautiful victorian style. The cleanliness and beauty remind one of an expensive European vacation. The owners immediately make you feel at home and from the very moment you enter you are greeted with a warm welcome. The rooms are spotless and the view of the harbor is breath taking. Most rooms have their own private balcony with rocking chairs which we took advantage of while drinking our morning coffee. The breakfast is scrumptous and presentation out of this world. In the evening they served us yummy hors-d'oeuvres which we all enjoyed. We were able to sit out on the patio and enjoy a campfire that was all set up for us. The owners even had researched all the things we could take advantage of during our stay all within a short distance. The walk to town is about 10 minutes and the shops are quiant. We have stayed at a number of B&B's, but this one is by far the best. This is our third visit here and plan on visiting in January and also next year for our annual bed and breakfast girl's weekend. Sincerely, Betty Gillam


Fantastic!!

5 on July 25, 2008

Fantastic!!


Top Notch Review my Mom and five sisters!

5 on July 25, 2008

Our rooms were clean, beautiful and charming. the hospitality was above and beyond what could be expected. The location was wonderful. The food was delicious. My mom, sisters and I had a wonderful time together enhanced by our stay at Carrriage House.


We'll be back

5 on July 25, 2008

Charming 1890's house, elegant, well appointed and gracious hosts. We will be back.


Top Notch B&B!

4.2 on July 25, 2008

My four sisters and my mom had a reunion at the Carriage House B&B in July. the house is beautiful, clean and food is fantastic. The best part is the accomodating and personal owners!


Always the Best

4.8 on July 24, 2008

The most relaxing, greatest view, friendly, all things outstanding & comfortable.


The Perfect Weekend!!

4.8 on July 14, 2008

The Carriage House is lovely. The owners have spoiled us completely. Delicious food, beautiful rooms, it felt like family - truly a perfect weekend.


Carriage House

5 on July 14, 2008

Excellent in all respects


A Perfect Getaway

5 on July 08, 2008

The hosts are very warm and hospitable. The rooms are beautiful. The view of the water and boats is spectacular. The breakfasts and snacks are excellent. We plan to return.


July 4th weekend.

5 on July 08, 2008

We have been staying at the Carriage House since it was built every 4th of July weekend and it is the best B&B we have ever stayed in. The new inkeepers Dave and Suzanne are wonderfull and fit this lifestyle perfectly. You cannot go wrong by staying here!!!


Carriage House

5 on July 07, 2008

Excellent Stay


Carriage House

5 on July 03, 2008

Great accommodations - very great host & hostess!! Would love to return!


outstanding service beautiful stay

5 on June 24, 2008

the carriage house is a beautiful, relaxing stay. walking distance to shopping and restaurants. the hospitality was unbelievable!


vacation

5 on June 24, 2008

beautiful b&b.hospitality and food was wonderful. we will go back


great getaway!

5 on June 24, 2008

beautiful b&b with a great view. suzanne & david are excellent and the food is excellent


leisure-vacation

5 on June 23, 2008

the location is great- overlooks the harbor and just minutes from the beach. beautiful place with lots of amenities. this is our favorite place to stay in this area


Great Stay at a Great Lake!

5 on June 19, 2008

The Carriage House is located a short distance from the sandy beach at South Haven, Michigan. We were warmly greeted by the innkeeper who then guided us to our room. Before walking to the nearby beach, we enjoyed delicious hous d'oeurves. Our room was spacious and tastefully furnished with antiques. Breakfast was hot and promptly served and lovingly prepared. We are already planning a return trip/stay at the Carriage House.


Carriage House

5 on June 11, 2008

A very relaxing place, pleasant host and hostess, beautiful room and view, tasty breakfast. Thank you so much.


Carriage House

4.2 on June 10, 2008

-


Who could ask for more?

4.8 on June 09, 2008

Seriously, who could? My daughter took me there for a "surprise" Mother's Day weekend and it was the best!! Suzanne and David were wonderful and the ambiance was superb. I will definitely be returning.


a most memorable week-end

5 on June 09, 2008

if luxury and accommodations had a name they would be called the carriage house


wedding at carriage

5 on June 09, 2008

very nice accommodations, with friendly and helpful staff willing to do everything to make you feel right at home.


great

5 on June 09, 2008

this place was GREAT!!


shanahan wedding

5 on June 09, 2008

way above and beyond! excellent in every way!


wedding at the carriage house

5 on June 09, 2008

the carriage house is the nicest b&b i've stayed at. the food was delicious and the owners were gracious and friendly


Wonderful Weekend.

4.8 on June 06, 2008

What a perfect setting for a small ultimate family wedding. The food, rooms and locale was ideal.


fun place

5 on June 04, 2008

from the moment we arrived, we were mgt by the owners, given a tour of the facilities- all awesome by the way. the room was beautiful, comfortable, and offered everything we could dream of. over a wonderful breakfast, we were offered a review of events. we loved the entire visit and will be back again.


Carriage House

5 on June 04, 2008

Wonderful stay...very relaxing!


Great hosts!

3.6 on June 02, 2008

Beautiful accomodations and great hosts. The view and location are outstanding. Food was delicious. A place to come back to!


wonderful stay

4.8 on May 30, 2008

Wonderful stay


Awesome B and B

5 on May 29, 2008

The owners have thought of everything and you couldn't want more!


Loved the Carriage House!

5 on May 29, 2008

We love coming here. This year we'll stay 2X. Yeah!


Great Place

5 on May 29, 2008

Wonderful stay. The folks were so kind and pleasant. We will definately be back.


Weekend in Paradise

5 on May 29, 2008

Another in a long line of wonderful visits to the Carriage House Harbor. Subtle changes with comfortable sameness.


Our Story

5 on May 29, 2008

Excellent in every way! Our stay at the carriage house exceeded our expectations!


Best Friends

5 on May 29, 2008

Perfect weekend. Come stay here!


Beautiful B&B

4.8 on May 29, 2008

This was the cleanest, prettiest B&B we have stayed in. I would recommend to my friends and hopefully return, the hospitality was second to none.


Great Staff, Wonderful Stay

5 on May 28, 2008

The carriage house was wonderful place to stay! The owners are amazingly friendly, helpful, and ready to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The rooms are clean and the antiques make the place so cute!


Great B&B

5 on May 23, 2008

What a fabulous weekend, The innkeepers are the most gracious hosts and the food is phenominal. Best Bed and Breakfast we've ever been to.


Great Weekend Retreat

5 on May 19, 2008

Had a great time with my friends. Hosts were very welcoming and informative. Food was great, rooms very pleasant and attractive.


5 star!!

5 on May 13, 2008

This place is outstanding!! The food, service, charm and beauty were the best! Never felt so pampered, yet so at home anywhere else.


5 stars-Excellent!

4.0 on May 13, 2008

The Carriage House is outstanding. Friendly, very clean, has everything someone would need on a stay.


We will return!

5 on May 13, 2008

Wonderful hospitality—beautiful harbor views. The food was outstanding and our hosts made us feel very comfortable.


Fabulous! Great! Wonderful!

5 on May 13, 2008

PERFECT getaway! Thanks so much!


Great Stay! Will do it again!

4.6 on May 13, 2008

Key word… relaxing. What we were here for!


Wonderful Place!

5 on May 13, 2008

A perfect getaway… very relaxing!


Exceptional Getaway!

5 on May 13, 2008

Outstanding stay! Will be back often!


Opinion of Carriage House

5 on May 09, 2008

Beautiful-well run by very capable owners.


Great Time

5 on May 09, 2008

This was our first experience at a Bed and Breakfast. My husband and I have love it. I look forward to my next visit.


Heavenly

5 on May 08, 2008

Restful and peaceful weekend, beautiful view- lake Michigan within 2 blocks. Good food here as well as nearby towns. CLEAN-very important to me.


Wonderful B&B

4.2 on May 08, 2008

Wonderful people, great view, rooms are decorated to a T!


pleasantly surprised

5 on May 08, 2008

I have only been to two other Bed and Breakfast establishments which actually, spoiled me for trying it again. Neither of the others pleased me, and I was afraid to try it again. I have thouroughly enjoyed my stay this weekend- what a wonderful B&B! I would love to return.


A wonderful B&B

4.8 on May 07, 2008

David and Suzanne are wonderful hosts. We felt very welcome and the atmosphere was so relaxing and stress FREE. The accommodations were JUST beautiful!


Carriage Harbour.

3.0 on September 21, 2007

This bed and breakfast met my expectations.


The Carriage House.

4.6 on September 21, 2007

This Inn was outstanding!


Carraige House.

5 on September 19, 2007

Rooms beautiful, food great, owners super nice.


Carriage House at the Harbor

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2696392161
  • Fax 1-2696392308

Visit Website »

View details

Top