Serendipity Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
174 Reviews

Write A Review

Charmer!

4.8 on August 19, 2014

Serendipity is charming. David and June made us feel welcome and cared for. They introduced us to the charms of Saugatuck-answered our questions and made great recommendations. And the location is perfect-a convenient stroll to bustling downtown with so much to do. The breakfasts were wonderful and made a great start to the day. We look forward to returning.


Wonderful experience.

4.6 on August 16, 2014

This was our first time in a B&B. Its everything we could have asked for. Our host, David, was superb in telling us about the house, town, and sights to see. We really enjoyed the breakfast. I would stay again.


Best place ever!!!

5 on August 16, 2014

We love Serendipity. Cleanest best place ever; I never want to stay at a hotel again. Felt like home away from home. The breakfast was absolutely fabulous great home made and wonderful food. I would definitely recommend Serendipity!


Great Place & Location

4.8 on August 13, 2014

Friends and I stayed the weekend at Serendipity for a friend's wedding in Saugatuck. The suites were the perfect place for a group all wanting to stay in the same location. David and June gave us plenty of info regarding places to visit in town during our stay. The location of Serendipity could not have been better to all the downtown attractions. The best part was the hot breakfast delivered to our door each morning, which was perfect as we didn't have to leave to find food. It was also delicious. It was a great place and great weekend!


Enjoyable time at Serendipity

5 on August 11, 2014

Serendipity is a lovely bed and breakfast, within an easy walk (2 blocks) to the shops in Saugatuck and close to nearby beaches on Lake Michigan. Stayed in "The Library" suite, which had comfortable bedrooms. Lovely breakfast included.


Great weekend

4.4 on August 04, 2014

Enjoyed the privacy of the separate suite. Breakfast was delivered in a basket, and was hot, fresh and delicious. Location couldn't be more convenient for Saugatuck. Took advantage of the hot tub and loved it.


Unforgettable first visit to Michigan

3.8 on August 03, 2014

Owners were very friendly and helpful with information about the area and highlights of places to see. Breakfast was delicious each morning. We very much enjoyed our stay at their B&B and our first visit to Michigan! We certainly hope to visit again next year.


Charming B&B

5 on July 30, 2014

Wonderful Owners. Had a fabulous time!


Serendipity B&B

4.2 on July 30, 2014

Enjoyed our stay. Found property clean and innkeepers very congenial. Price was about fifty dollars more than we have experienced at a similar inn in this town on the same weekend. Breakfasts were great if you wish to eat at nine am. Coffee and tea outside our room at seven-thirty was a nice touch. Would return again.


Clean, Comfortable, and well situated!

4.4 on July 26, 2014

The location was perfect for walking out the door for a stroll through Saugatuck! Very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Wish we could've stayed longer.


Excellent Weekend!

5 on July 24, 2014

Nine of us stayed at Serendipity over the past weekend in various rooms and suites- it was outstanding, especially the breakfasts whether you ate them in the dining room or they were delivered to your suite. A wonderful location with off street parking and genial and informative hosts. A great find in Saugatuck!


Library Suite Is Perfect

5 on July 23, 2014

The Library room is perfect space for a small group or family. The two bedrooms are perfectly sized for two adults. There is a living room for indoor conversation and a porch for "indoor/outdoor" conversation. There is a spacious private bath for the suite. The breakfast basket was lovely. David was very kind. The proximity to the water and main shopping/dining area is perfect. I highly recommend the Library Room at Serendipity. I am aware that the rooms in the main house share a bathroom - so inquire about that if this is important to you. It is important to me and I won't stay at a B&B with shared bathroom space. However, the Library Suite was absolutely perfect.


Will stay here again!

4.6 on July 16, 2014

I was very happy with our stay. There was plenty of room. The owners were very nice. The rooms and gardens were beautiful.


PERFECT getaway!!!

4.8 on July 09, 2014

What a perfect place to stay. We shared the Library suite with another couple and all 4 of us laughed, ate, drank, shopped, relaxed and enjoyed our annual visit in town. This was a 1st at serendipity and we will be back!!!!


Serendipity exceed our expectations

5 on July 02, 2014

We had no reservations and David, the owner went way out of his way to make sure we had choices for resteraunt a, beaches etc.


Perfect location for a special Saugatuck weekend

4.4 on June 25, 2014

Excellent location in Saugatuck. Lightkeeper's cottage was our own cozy oasis--a separate, private building just for the 2 of us. Bed is in a loft which was no issue...but might be if you are not comfortable climbing a ladder. Tasty breakfast in a picnic basket left at our door each morning. Very helpful and friendly hosts. Private hot tub a nice touch. Only quibble is that the tub was warm, not hot...and water level was a bit low. We would definitely return.


Very Charming B&B

5 on June 15, 2014

You feel that you are at home from the very first minute. The owner couple grave us a very warm welcome and it was so nicke tot have conversation with them. Everything has been done with great love from all the interior up to the great breakfast meal. I wish we could have extended our stay for another few days. We have Great memories and we would like to come back one day. Best Regards the couple from Germany


Nostalgic Bed and Breakfast

4.8 on June 10, 2014

The breakfast was outstanding as well as the hospitality. The owners were so kind and friendly. We felt very comfortable as this was our first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast. We also enjoyed looking at the landscape all around the home and its location made it possible for us to walk to all the shops and restaurants.


Great hosts and location

5 on May 28, 2014

Significant other enjoyed as well. Front porch enticing.


Excellent Stay

4.4 on April 14, 2014

Excellent facility and service. Breakfast could have included some lighter, healthier items. All in all, would recommend it to others.


A perfect getaway!

5 on April 09, 2014

My wife and I wanted to getaway for a few nights from our everyday demands and it was our wedding anniversary too so we stayed here for a few nights! David and June are wonderful, helpful people. Very friendly just like everyone else in this wonderful town. Our only wish is that it was warmer so all of the businesses were open, but we still had a great time! We will be back!


Had a wonderful time

5 on February 26, 2014

Would recommend Serendipity highly


Romantic and relaxing weekend getaway!

4.6 on February 19, 2014

Love the hot tub, the room, the location, very clean, and the staff is very friendly. The portions of the breakfast though were small. I guess were big breakfast eaters but, otherwise no complaints!! I would recommend this to other couples and friends!


Lightkeepers Cottage

5 on January 08, 2014

This was our first time to Saugatuck and staying in a Bread & Breakfast. David and June, owners of Serendipity were wonderful. Breakfast in a basket every morning was one of me favorite things. I will be staying there again this summer.


Our holiday retreat!

5 on January 07, 2014

We had a great stay! The holidays are so busy so we decided to relax December 23-24 by staying at the B&B...just preparing for a busy Xmas and new year! June and David exceeded our expectations!! Their home is so quaint!! We were taken care of every moment we were there!! The breakfast was phenomenal and definitely worth every penny! We will definitely be back!


Great Bed & Breakfast

5 on December 11, 2013

This was the second year in a row that we stayed at Serendipity B & B and I guarantee that there'll be a third! Everything from room quality to cleanliness to service to price exceeded our expectations! The hand delivered breakfast to your door is awesome not to mention the hot tub and sauna! Once you park your vehicle, you won't need i until you leave! Thank you for a great time!


Great Stay, Though Beware Booking Early

3.8 on December 04, 2013

We stayed in the Stableman's suite, which had a fireplace and kitchen with everything you would need on a weekend stay - wine classes, coffee maker with local grounds, silverware, paper towels. My favorite is the picnic basket breakfasts they drop at your door between 9-9:15 am every AM. Ours had 2 zucchini quiches, apple crisp with homemade whipped cream cheesy hash browns and orange juice. My one complaint is that after booking, we received an email from the owners about a winter discount during the time of our stay. When I asked if I could apply that to my existing booking they surprisingly said no. To m,e this penalizes those who book early (not exactly what you want when you're in the B&B business), so my advice would be to wait until a month or two before your stay to book so that you don't miss out on these promotions.

Innkeeper Response
The guest in this review did receive the special discount that was offered at the time the reservation was made. The discount being referred to in this review was a different discount that was offered later in the season. The guest wanted to be granted the additional discount that was offered after the reservation was made. We explained that just as with any purchase the item purchased has a price at the time it is paid for and that is the price paid for that item on the date it is bought. To ask for an additional discount after a purchase is not how it works. If the guest had purchased something at a store and later saw it on sale it is highly unlikely that the store would give an additional refund. The problem arises when a reservation is made in advance of the date of the stay which is almost always the case. What is being purchased in addition to the accommodation is the assurance that the room you want will be there for you because it is removed from the reservation system as soon as the reservation is made. Each room has a cost for each season or special promotion and the price charged is the price at the time the reservation is purchased.


Review

4.0 on November 26, 2013

Wonderful stay!


Super Cute.

4.0 on November 24, 2013

Great location and food, will be back.


Great stay.

5 on November 05, 2013

Perfect Autumn getaway. The rooms were clean and cozy and breakfast was delicious.


Roomy, Relaxing Retreat!

5 on November 01, 2013

1st time visit to Saugatuck 10/2013 (25th anniv). Wanted special trip. Based on some reviews, hesitant to stay at Serendipity. But, cost & idea of breakfast delivered to room won us over. House is adorable & in perfect location (walking distance of everything). Greeted by David (very sweet) who gave us literature about area (he loves Saugatuck) & showed us to Music Room suite in separate house steps away from main house. Suite is huge with full kitchen, living room, bathroom & bedroom (king size bed). Decor not fancy, but inviting. Suite very clean-plenty of towels & toiletries. Kitchen stocked with dishes, wine glasses, cups & a special coffee blend from Uncommon Grounds coffee shop. Bed insanely comfortable & room quiet. Breakfast basket included egg casserole one day & spinach pie another. Yum! Delicious coffee cake, blueberry muffins & fresh fruit also part of feast. Could not eat everything, so popped food in refrigerator for later. Saugatuck is awesome (can't wait to return). Ate at restaurants recommended by David. Every person we met was friendly, welcoming & accommodating. Walked up Mt Baldy 282 steps (everyone should try if able). Oval Beach simply breathtaking. Highly recommend Serendipity for value, accommodations, service & food. Did not tour other local B&B's & have stayed in only one other B&B before, so frame of reference limited. Based on price of some of the local B&B's (one double $$), assumption is others might have fancier decor or offer more amenities. Don't know. Do know -- Serendipity perfect for a weekend getaway.


Helpful and knowledgable B & B owners

4.0 on October 23, 2013

Our location was fantastic and everything in town was within walking distance. Our hosts were very informative about the different restaurants and shops and even had a few coupons to share with us. They went out of their way to share recipes and make sure our stay was a good one. I would recommend to anyone. Rooms are on the smaller side but we were hardly there anyway.


Amazing!

5 on October 17, 2013

Had an amazing time! The experience was very nice and the amendies were great too! I would recommend this place!


A magical place!

5 on October 10, 2013

A very cute, clean and super friendly B and B. The owners were absolutely charming and the breakfast was to die for. I can't wait to return here next year. Thank you David and June.


Wonderfully peaceful and fun experience

4.8 on October 04, 2013

Took a last minute weekend escape to Saugatuck with my sister-in-law, and chose to stay at this inn after reading some good reviews online. The place was wonderful. It was within easy walking distance from downtown and right across the street from one of the best restaurants I've ever eaten at. David and June were incredibly friendly, the rooms were very pleasant, the gardens beautiful, the food delicious, and there was even a hot tub to relax in after a long day. Would definitely stay there again.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much for the nice comments! We are glad that you had such a great time here at Serendipity.


Girlz Weekend

4.6 on September 11, 2013

Everything was great. Our two minor complaints- cheesey egg dishes on both days were disappointing and the very loud music from the White House on both nights was disruptive.


Awesome!

5 on September 10, 2013

What an amazing experience. We had such a relaxing time and felt right at home. The breakfasts were excellent. I would highly recommend them and plan to visit their B&B again....soon, I hope!


Great place to stay in Saugatuck

4.2 on August 28, 2013

We had a great time in Saugatuck last weekend. The Serendipity was the perfect location for a weekend of relaxing. Right in the heart of Saugatuck, everything we wanted was within a short walk. The suite was very nice and cozy with a great front porch for relaxing. We will absolutely stay here the next time we are in Saugatuck.


Serendipity Stay

4.6 on August 28, 2013

This place is great, the owners are wonderful, friendly and keep it very clean. We have stayed there several times now and would highly recommend it! It is close to all the action.


Great stay!

3.8 on August 27, 2013

The stay was great with very hospitable hosts. The room we had was for a family which is the reason it was the price. We had breakfast served each morning and they catered to our special requests. All in all it was a great stay.


Perfect for a week end get away..

4.6 on August 23, 2013

The location of the Serendipity was perfect. It was right in town and you had access to everything.It was a very nice place. David and his wife were there to answer any questions you had and where wonderful cooks. Breakfasts were outstanding. I would definitely go back.


our second stay was better than the first, but both were great!

4.8 on August 22, 2013

Privacy at the light keepers cottage was great along with our own private hot tub which is fenced in with a patio and grill, the breakfast was absolutely amazing (both years), location was perfect only used vehicle once, we love to stay at Serendipity and plan to next year which will be three years in a row. June and David take wonderful care of their guests and would recommend Serendipity to anyone!


Nearly perfect

4.2 on August 14, 2013

The room was clean and very nice and roomy. My only complaint is the quality of the breakfast, just seemed bland and wasn't what I was expecting. Also, it's a bit expensive but I knew that when I booked the room.


Serendipity Music Suite

4.6 on August 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay and our suite. David and June prepared a special meal for me due to allergy restrictions. Serendipity is located steps away from downtown Saugatuck which was wonderfully convenient. The grounds are beautiful as well.


Home away from home

5 on August 13, 2013

What a great place! It my home away from home. Serendipity is a friendly place and a peaceful retreat from our Houston rat race. One of my favorite destinations. The service and accommodation are top notch and just what I ordered.


Serendipity - Private B&B with Class

5 on August 11, 2013

The Library Suite...What a gem of a place - 2 private bedrooms along with an old fashioned porch to kick off your shoes and have some fantastic conversations. A wonderful place in the heart of town. Park your car and walk everywhere you need to go. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, plush towels, delicious breakfasts - I would definitely recommend this place.


Great Weekend Getaway!

4.8 on August 11, 2013

This was a fun place for us to celebrate my husbands and his friends 50th birthday. We loved the room, we stayed in the "Garden Suite". I have recommended this place to others. We are planning on returning next year!


Our first experience in a B&B

4.8 on August 08, 2013

The Serendipity was a wonderful experience. The iris room shares a bathroom with the folks in the rose room; and while we shared the bathroom with wonderfully respectful people ~ mother-daughter, we always were mindful of their needs and kept our bathroom time to the minimum. We'll book one of the rooms with its own bathroom next time---we will just need to book early to do that!


Delightful stay

4.8 on August 07, 2013

It was a lovely get-away. Must comment, however, that the price surprised me. (Higher than I expected.) Also, since there wasn't AC we needed to keep windows open at night, and the White House Bar across the street proved to be incredibly loud (live band...)

Innkeeper Response
We are happy that the guests enjoyed their stay, but we are sorry that the temperature was uncomfortable in the main B & B house where we do have central air conditioning. We are assuming that the guest was staying in the main B & B house, where we have one thermostat on the main floor. The temperature balance can be a bit tricky at times especially when the weather can change quickly on the lakeshore. We depend on guests to let us know if the air conditioning needs to be adjusted. In this case the guest did not let us know the problem and we only realized it when we read the review. When the guest opened the windows with the air conditioning on the temperature balance was disrupted.


Pleasant

3.6 on July 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Serendipity Bed and Breakfast. We liked the convenience of the B&B to downtown Saugatuck.


Amazing

5 on July 23, 2013

We stayed in "The Cottage" and could not be happier with the accommodations! The location of Serendipity was also perfect in relation to everything in town!


2nd Honeymoon

4.8 on July 15, 2013

Came here five years ago for my honeymoon and it was nice. But the new owners are amazing. They were very hospitable and friendly. Also their breakfast was fantastic. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay and hope to come back for our 10 year anniversary.


Comfortable Suites

4.4 on July 13, 2013

We had the best time ever. I would and have recommended Serendipity to my friends. The service was the best and our rooms would very very clean and comfortable. The location is right in the center of town - which helps when shopping.


Great Place

4.8 on July 09, 2013

Great breakfast included. The location is perfect. Property is clean and Dave and June are outstanding people.


Perfect Location

4.0 on July 09, 2013

Serendipity is located in the middle of the very cute downtown area. The main streets are literally 1 minute from the door. The town itself is quiet, so it is not noisy. If you want a place in the heart of it all, Serendipity is great. The rooms are clean and well equipped. We stayed in Lily and it was small, but you don't need a big room when you spend all of your time around town, at the beach, on the water or at the parks. Breakfast was delicious. Each morning they make some sort of egg dish (egg casserole, quiche, etc.), a pastry and delicious fresh fruit. Coffee and juice are also yummy.


Serendipity B & B

4.2 on June 26, 2013

We stayed in the Library Suite and loved it! David and June know how to be hospitable, while allowing their guests privacy. Can't wait to go back and even try out some of their other property options


Mom and daughters extended weekend visit

4.8 on June 14, 2013

My daughters and I made a trip to Saugatuck for a long weekend -- we chose Serendipity based on other reviews that we had read and were not dissappointed in our choice! Serendipity was perfect -- location was awesome, could walk to everything in town, the accomodations were very nice and it was obvious that David and June put a lot of thought into making our stay very comfortable - everything we needed was provided. The breakfasts they served were outstanding and having coffee and the coffee maker was as they say "priceless"! I would definitely recommend Serendipity and plan on making a return visit very soon!


Great first B&B experience

4.4 on June 13, 2013

Great first B&B experience. Friendly, accommodating hosts and delicious, hot breakfast served at the door of our suite every morning. We would definitely recommend Serendipity to anyone visiting Saugatuck.


Darling B&B

4.2 on June 12, 2013

We particularly enjoyed the late night hot tub!


An Outstanding Get-a-way Bed & Breakfast Experience

5 on June 12, 2013

Our gracious hosts, David and June, worked very hard to make our stay at The Serendipity memorable and comfortable. We appreciated their attention to all the fine details that made us feel like royalty: early coffee and tea sevice outside our rooms each morning (and yes, June's homemade biscotti is to die for!), soft music playing each morning in the background during breakfast, and a fantastic breakfast served on David's mother's fine china (one morning we had quiche, the next morning asparagus egg puff with wonderful side dishes (si.e., fresh fruits, sour cream banana bread, rosemary fried potatoes) and specially ground coffee made just for The Serendipity by a Saugatuck Coffee Shop (and it's gooooood coffee). The Serendipity is located at a prime spot, very near the heart of downtown Saugatuck. David and June were very helpful in giving us information on Saugatuck's many restaurants and shops. They "knew" about these restaurants and shops because they had sampled what each place offered. You are able to walk to all the downtown shops and restaurants in minutes from The Serendipity. We reserved the Rose and Iris rooms at The Serendipity on the 2nd floor of this beautiful old home built in the early 20th century. David and June have worked hard to decorate the Serendipity with furniture and accents that enhance the home's beauty and restfulness. We had carefully reviewed the many bed and breakfast options in Saugatuck and were very pleased with our selection and stay at The Serendipity. Dollar for dollar, we got our money's worth and more at The Serendipity because of David and June's fine attention to all the details that make a bed and breakfast experience very very special.


Great Stay

4.4 on June 06, 2013

This was our first time at a B&B and I did not really know what to expect. However, the stay was very nice. Clean room, great food, excellent host! We will definitely stay here again.


A wonderful place to stay

4.8 on May 12, 2013

We loved at Serendipity, so comfortable and nice. It nice to bounce around town late into the night and just walk a few steps and crawl under the sheets.


Great girls weekend!

5 on May 05, 2013

Stayed for a girls weekend in April and we had a great visit. We stayed in the guest house and it was private, quiet, and very clean and comfortable. Breakfast were delivered right to our door and were delicious! We will be back!!


A terrific B&B in our favorite getaway spot

3.8 on May 01, 2013

We've stayed at Serendipity three times in the last three years and never had anything but an excellent experience.


A Real Treat

4.6 on May 01, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in the Garden Suite at Serendipity. The breakfasts were great. We were steps from downtown and the water. Beds were comfortable. Sheets/towels were nice and kitchenette had everything we needed while we were there. Coffee from local coffee house was great as well.


Delightful and inviting B&B

5 on April 24, 2013

Our one night stay at the Serendipity was wonderful. Our room was nicely decorated and featured local art, which was a nice surprise. The bed was very comfortable and the bath towels felt like they were brand new. Enjoying the sun filled front porch was a plus. I rated "dining" 5 stars even though we could not stay for breakfast due to another commitment for brunch. However, when we ventured out in the morning for a walk, David sent us off with a bag of freshly baked scones, which were delicious. We were sorry we could not have had the full breakfast. I think it would have been fantastic! Owners David and June were very hospitable and welcoming. We will definitely stay at the Serendipity again when we are in town.


Late winter stay

4.8 on March 13, 2013

Judy and David were very nice and then B&B was great. We stayed in the Stableman's suite, which was spacious for the 2 of us. The hot tub and sauna was right outside the door and was great because no one else was using it that night.


Great place to stay

4.4 on February 01, 2013

I cannot say enough about the service we received here -- the owners are very warm and hospitable, the meals were excellent and the accommodations clean and homey. What more do you want from a B&B?


Girls weekend getaway

5 on November 09, 2012

We stayed in the Library Suite and enjoyed our stay so much. Plenty of room for the five of us gals to hang out and catch up. Very private. Breakfast was great something for everyone. Close to everthing walked everywhere. Enjoyed the town. Lots to see and do. Good time for all can't wait to come back!


Charming place. Very pleasant experience.

3.6 on October 17, 2012

Serendipity lives up to it's name. A quaint, charming and quiet place to stay. We stayed at the Music Room. Plus points were service, decoration, cleanliness and above all Breakfast. If nothing else, breakfast all by iteself is worth staying there. Egg cassarole, home made biscuits, jellie, Peach cobbler, blueberry muffin and the best was Zucchini Pie. David and June made us feel very welcome. We would however have liked to be allowed to check in just a bit early since were were already there. Place is located right in downtown, walking distance from everything. Would definitely like to go back and experience in summer time. Wish you all the best David and June.


60 th celebration

4.6 on October 13, 2012

Close to downtown and the rooms were great we had a inclosed porch, 2 bedrooms and 2 rooms to hang out fireplace. The breakfast meal was so delightful in a basket, with individual prtions that were warm, the quiches were yummy. Scones just the right size and good homemade. Fresh cut fruit and OJ. Just refix the 2 steps into the cottage, they are wobbly.


Location, Location, Location

3.2 on October 10, 2012

Serendipity was the best place to stay at for us that weekend because of the amazing location. Everything was within a block or two. The rooms were very clean and David and June were very nice and accommodating. We stayed in the Library suite so it was fantastic to have the refrigerator and kitchenette. We had a wonderful time. If I were to critique it a little... the rooms could be updated a bit, and the food was good but not anything out of the ordinary (think blueberry pancakes and fruit, crustless quiche and fruit). Also the portions were a tad small. I don't eat a lot at all and I was just full. My dad and husband were starving. We loved the privacy of having a separate house and the price was great compared to other Saugatuck B&B's.


Had a great time!

5 on October 03, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in Saugatuck and would definitely recommend Serendipity to anyone else!


Disappointed in Saugatuck

3.0 on September 24, 2012

My wife and I just returned from our first visit to Saugatuck. We wanted to avoid the summer crowds. We arrived on a Sunday (Sept. 16) and departed on Wednesday. It would have been nice to know before our arrival that about a third of the shops and restaurants in Saugatuck are closed on Monday and Tuesday. The hand operated "Chain Ferry" which I was looking forward too was also closed for the season. Had we been aware of this we would have changed our arrival date.


Lovely B&B

3.6 on September 23, 2012

My wife and I were trying to find a place to stay last minute for Labor Day Weekend and found a Bed and Breakfast known as Serendipity. Serendipity is right on the outskirts of downtown Saugatuck. It was a very fun place to stay for our weekend trip. Each morning they left a little picnic basket filled with breakfast items for us. Plus there was an outdoor hot tub which is left on all day and night for use. My wife and I would highly recommend staying at the Serendipity.


Good time had by all!!

5 on September 21, 2012

Serendipity is well located. David was most helpful in guiding us to places we wantd to go.Our breakfasts were delicious and nutricious and well-timed. Since our group tries to get together once a year, we might well return to Serendipity in the near future. Sincerely, Nedra Sutter


Highly Recommend

4.4 on September 20, 2012

This was our second stay at Serendipity and we enjoyed it even more than the first time. Very nice rooms, very clean, delicious full breakfast and wonderful owners. The only negative was a slight musty odor which we got used to and didn't notice after a short while but I did have to take my asthma inhaler due to my mold allergy. I appreciate that it was not masked with chemical fragrance sprays or "room fresheners" etc. which would have made it worse. This is our favorite place to stay in Saugatuck. We (group of 4) have stayed in the Library Suite and the Garden Suite and look forward to coming back!


Great place to stay in the center of the city.

4.2 on September 14, 2012

The location is great, right down town. David is a great host. Breakfast was divine.


Good Stay

3.6 on September 04, 2012

Overall this was a good stay at Serendipity. We loved the Library Suite and it worked great for our family of four. And sitting on the porch in the evening listening to the music from down the block was great!


great stay at serendipity

5 on September 01, 2012

We were delighted with our recent stay in the Garden Suite. There was considerable space, with a very large, nicely decorated, living room area. We had two bedrooms. The breakfasts were fantastic; delivered to our door in a picnic basket. The location was perfect, and had a lovely garden setting. Very nice hospitality. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone!


Great choice, amazing location!

3.6 on August 30, 2012

Lovely place to stay, the location is really perfect if you like to be able to stroll around town. Very relaxing, highly recommend!


nice place

4.0 on August 29, 2012

very nice room. excelent food. excelent suggestions on local eateries from host.


Great location, average service and breakfast, uncomfortable bed.

2.8 on August 29, 2012

Great location. Lovely garden. Everything was fine here except we found the bed in the "Rose" uncomfortable - too soft and very creaky. Breakfast was good but not spectacular. Coffee left something to be desired. We appreciated the lower price tag on this room as compared to other places in town.


Wonderful place to stay

5 on August 29, 2012

B&B is in a great location and the owners are very gracious and wonderful hosts. We have stayed there twice and will stay there again. You will not be disapointed.


We recommend Serendipity!

4.6 on August 27, 2012

David and June are excellent hosts who seek to provide every guest with an experience that will exceed all expectations - and they succeed! And they love kids - hard to find in Saugatuck. We'll be back next year!


Library Suite for family

4.0 on August 22, 2012

B and B's don't usually cater to larger groups. Five of us stayed in the Library Suite for two nights. We had plenty of room, and the outside porch was a great place for morning breakfast, delivered by innkeepers. I expected fruit and muffins, but had quiche one morning and belgian waffles another. Each morning also included orange juice and fresh fruit. In-suite coffee maker (with coffee provided) was nice. Kitchenette had full size fridge with freezer; it was easy to have fruit, sandwich fixins, and microwave meals. The library of available books, videos (not DVD), and games was a bonus. Nighttime dip in the shared spa and outdoor sauna followed by Scrabble games was good way to keep teenagers entertained! Could have easily spent more time in Saugatuck.


Clean and Friendly

3.2 on August 22, 2012

If you are looking for a clean and friendly B&B in the heart of Saugatuck, Serendipity is a nice place to stay. The people who own the B&B are helpful and informative, and the space is comfortable. We stayed in one of the suites that is off of the main house. It had a sitting room, kitchenette with microwave and mini-fridge, and two bedrooms. Breakfast was plentiful, but not quite gourmet quality. Egg and cheese seem to be a staple here.


Perfect Girls' Getaway

4.8 on August 18, 2012

The Library Suite at Serendipity was clean and comfortable, and ideally located. David & June were very accommodating and responsive to any requests and concerns. The only limitation to our suite was that for more than two people (we were four), 1 1/2 baths, rather than one, would have been more convenient. That is the only reason we gave the "Rooms" a 4 instead of a 5 rating.


Weekend get away

3.6 on August 15, 2012

We stayed with our teenagers. The facility was like home and the kids were comfortable. There was planty of room. Close enough to town to walk, bust just off the main strip for quiet. We spent most of the time on the porch.


A relaxing and pleasant experience

5 on August 10, 2012

Wonderful stay, nice clean room and a great breakfast every morning. Dave and June were very helpful and offered excellent advice on nearby attractions. Couldn't ask for a better location.


Absolutely Perfect!

5 on August 08, 2012

Our room was SPOTLESS!...and HUGE! We stayed in the Music Suite and it was lovely. Everything you needed was there, including a full kitchen. The breakfast was delicious and delivered right to our door. Bonus hot tub AND sauna only steps away. We would DEFINITELY stay here again! :) Lovely owners too!


Consider this a yearly vacation spot!

4.4 on August 06, 2012

David and June provided a home cooked, delicious breakfast which we did not expect because we were staying in one of their suites. They were always kind, available and extremely helpful. The suite was quaint and comfortable. Everything we needed for our stay was provided. This bed and breakfast also was centrally located to downtown Saugatuck...you could walk everywhere! We hope to travel back next year.


Awesome place to stay in the heart of downtown Saugatuck

4.8 on August 05, 2012

Loved the location of this place. Right in the town. Could walk 1 block to get ice cream, go to dinner, shop and walk along the boardwalk and look at the boats. Innkeepers were very nice and accommodating. Breakfast was very good and home made. Only thing I would change is to have breakfast delivered a little earlier. Breakfast came around 9-9:15am. Was nice to sleep in but we normally like to head out earlier in the day. Stayed in the suites. Had the entire 2nd floor of an older home. Two bedrooms and pull out sofa. Stayed with our family of 4 with 2 teens. Was very well insulated--restaurant next door played music til later in the evening but we never heard it. Also, there was a bad storm and we only heard one loud boom of thunder and didn't realize how bad the storm was til the morning when we headed out. Very quiet! Recommend staying here!


Saugatuck Quaint B&B

4.2 on August 02, 2012

David and June are fantastic hosts. The Music Suite is to die for. Soooo much room right in the heart of Saugatuck. Beautiful place to stay. Breakfast was outstanding. We loved and will return.


Great Summer Stay

5 on July 31, 2012

Had a wonderful time. Exceeded our expectations. Can't wait to go back!


Fantastic Location and Wonderful Room

4.2 on July 23, 2012

This B&B is a fantastic location and centrally located. The room was very comfortable. The only improvement would be the portions for the breakfasts which definitely could have been much larger. Overall, a very nice place.


Our stay at Serendipity

5 on July 22, 2012

Our stay was wonderful as were our hosts David and June.They gave us great recommendations on what to see and restaurants to try.We will come back in the future.


Great bed and breakfast

4.4 on July 18, 2012

Great bed and breakfast, a new experience to us as we normally prefer well known hotels, however, Serendipity has changed our opinions of bed and breakfasts. We would recommend it and definitely plan on returning ourselves. Great location, clean, friendly and quiet.


An excellent B&B experience

4.2 on July 15, 2012

With regard to our recent stay (July 2012) at the Serendipity Bed and Breakfast, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and breakfasts were outstanding. Air-conditioning was available and valued because a few days were very hot. Availability of a grill allowed us to eat in, which was preferable. In addition, the town of Saugatuck was pleasant, and its proximity to a grocery store and to the Lake Michigan beach was very convenient (5-minute drive).


Two connecting suites!

4.4 on July 11, 2012

We've stayed at Serendipity B&B in saugatuck Michigan several times, but this last visit, we rented two connecting suites for two families, and it was the perfect set up for our needs.


Great location, friendly hosts

4.0 on July 11, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here! And Saugatuck was really cute. Pros: Great location in the heart of downtown Saugatuck - short blocks to shops, and restaurants and bars and the harbor. Call interurban for a $1 shuttle to Oval Beach - great deal! Breakfast was yummy! Room was cute, and clean, and the wifi actually worked! (for the most part) Price was VERY reasonable Owners were very friendly Cons: Parking was hard (but doable), we didnt go anywhere outside downtown for fear of losing our spots (not necessarily a bad thing since downtown had so much to offer) Breakfast was small - we were still hungry after! :) although, also not the worst thing either -- we went to a yummy breakfast spot close by. And it was only served AT 9, (not 9-__) so it got cold if you were a little late downstairs. Room was pretty small, "Europe" -small, but fine for our purposes. And I did not love sharing a bathroom. Overall, great value for a nice, cozy room at a cute B&B in a great location and helpful and friendly owners. Random tip: If you want excellent BBQ - check out the Hickory Pit! It is delicious (and I consider myself pretty picky when it comes to BBQ ;) ) If you want to drink a beer with your BBQ, get the BBQ to go, plop down a blanket near the harbor, and grab some beer at a liquor store up on water street (or maybe at coral gables??), or some wine at one of the wine places around town.


Anniversary Couple

4.8 on July 09, 2012

Needed a gluten free diet due to Celiac's Disease so cross-contamination is an issue. David and June not only provided safe foods but also very tasty foods of the same quality and kind the rest of the guests were eating. (Being singled out with unappetizing choices is always less than ideal.) In addition they made some restaurant suggestions in Saugatuck which had a variety of good gluten-free menu choices. Overall the stay was everything we hoped for and more!


4 stars place , makes feel like five stars

4.0 on July 06, 2012

very friendly people, extreemely helpful , and sensitive to your needs, welcoming and peaceful place, greate service , highly recommeded


Central location, lovely outdoor hot tub!

4.2 on July 02, 2012

We loved soaking in the hot tub under the stars after a day of walking around Saugatuck. The food was delicious and more than we could eat (would have liked a lower-calorie option). The hosts were very friendly and flexible. The AC worked well to keep us comfortable. The only drawback was the loud music at the bar across the street, but earplugs solved that problem.


Memorable, superb, outstanding

5 on June 25, 2012

A fantastic short stay (4 days) - we all wish we could have stayed longer, but will come again. Even me (I originally come from Paris, France). Library-Suite ist perfectly furnished. Veranda enjoyable. June and David'breakfasts are wonderful : organic, fresh, home-made. A memorable time shared with them and the picturesque town of Saugatuck. Merci!!!!


Very nice place to call home for the weekend

4.2 on June 24, 2012

The owners are very nice and give a lot of information as well as delicious breakfast. We enjoyed the secluded hot tub on a breezy starry night. When we return to Saugatuck, we would stay again here but opt for a larger room if available.


Great place. Great Stay.

3.4 on June 18, 2012

We really enjoyed our time at Serendipity. We loved the location -- walking around town was so easy. The bed was really comfy, the food was delicious, David and June were so friendly and accomodation. Should we find ourselves back in Saugutuck we would stay here again in a heartbeat.


Great stay!!

4.2 on May 31, 2012

Great long weekend in Saugtuck. Kind and very helpful hosts. Our first time at a B&B and it was absolutely memorable. We will definitely be back.


Great location and very clean & comfortable - Great value!!!

4.8 on May 30, 2012

This place is hard to beat in Saugatuck - it is a short walk to everything and the breakfast is excellent - make sure to try the scones and biscotti! We stayed in the Iris with the shared bathroom - the bathroom was kept spotless and it was never an issue sharing. Another great touch was having a morning beverage center with fresh hot coffee and hot water for tea right outside our room door on the second floor. It was so nice to be able to pour a cup of coffee first thing in the morning - good coffee as well. My only issue is that I wish they had a larger window for breakfast - it starts at 9:00 am sharp and is over by about 9:30 - we felt that was a little tight for being on vacation. But regardless, I cannot imagine a better B&B in Suagatuck for the money, location, quality, and service. David and June are great hosts.


I will never stay anywhere else!

5 on May 14, 2012

We stayed at Serendiity, in The Cottage. We felt like it was the perfect place for us and will not stay anywhere else. I have been to my share of B&B's and this was my best experience, hands down. The private hot tub was delightful, the breakfast was excellent. the location was perfect, and the cottage was the private setting we so needed. I would definitely say it is a great place to go, forget about the daily stresses of life and connect as a couple. David and June also booked our couples massages, told us the great resturants to hit, and jumped our car because it didn't start, lol! We made it back to Chicago, but talked the whole ride of when we could go to Serendiity again!


Great B&B in the center of town.

3.4 on May 02, 2012

We needed a getaway for a night away from children and this met our expectations. Saugatuck is such a great place on the water secluded from the city. Serendipity is a charming bed and breakfast within walking distance from everything you need. David and June were wonderful hosts, knew the area when questions were asked, and the breakfast was wonderful. I would definitely recommend this place to others looking for a getaway.


Serendipity Lilly Room

4.4 on April 25, 2012

We have stayed twice in the Lily Room. It is a lovely home. The hosts are friendly and very accomodating, assisting us with finding a shop that moved and providing gluten free dining options.


Off-season delight!

4.8 on April 14, 2012

We were able to catch the daffodils, azalea, tulips... and so many other spring flowers that are usually later in the spring. Our two night stay in the cottage was wonderful. We enjoyed the hot tub, the yummy basket breakfasts in the morning (Hubby didn't have to get out of his pjs - he isn't a morning person), and it was delightfully cozy. Due to it taking longer at the inlaws to drop off the kiddos, we arrived past a normal dining hour and they called around to see who would be able to serve us - we had pizza at the White House right across the street. Thanks David and June!


Loved it!!

4.0 on March 14, 2012

We just spent a relaxing, quiet weekend in the Carriage Barn Suite at the Serendipity. We couldn't have asked for anything more - a beautiful, clean, perfectly furnished suite; a piping hot, delicious breakfast delivered to our door; and a peaceful, quiet location, easily walkable to everything you could ever want. Oh, and a charming collection of movies and games for sharing! Would we go back again? Absolutely, in a heart beat!! I can't believe with all the trips I've made to Saugatuck that I've never stayed here before. Absolutely delightful!! -Lori & Sean


A wonederful getaway

4.0 on February 13, 2012

We had a great stay. Delicious breakfast, and we felt very pampered.The owners are friendly, helpful, and available if needed.


home away from home

4.0 on January 16, 2012

It was a last minute decision to get away for New Years Eve. The Inn was well appointed and the Inn Keepers were very accomodating for our overnight stay. We were greated with smiles and welcomed to Inn as if we were family. The breakfast provided was second to none and the scones were reminiscent of my grandmothers!


A Great New Year's Eve

4.8 on January 04, 2012

We've stayed in Saugatuck a number of times, but this was our first Serendipity experience. It won't be our last. Conveniently located in downtown, clean and comfortable rooms. Dave and June were fantastic hosts, and the breakfast was superb. This short trip was a last minute decision, and we were so fortunate to have found Serendipity.


A great experience at Serendipity

5 on November 20, 2011

My wife Kerry and I spent one evening at the Serendipity as a weekend getaway. The host and hostess were gracious, the facilities very clean and the food was wonderful. I would certainly stay at Serendipity again and recommend it to anyone contemplating a trip to Saugatuck!


Wonderful retreat from everyday life!

4.6 on November 16, 2011

We had a great time in Saugatuck and David & June were very welcoming. Would definitely stay here again!


Very Private Cottage

4.2 on October 24, 2011

We just had a great stay at Serendipity. We stayed at the lighthouse cottage which was very private, lovely, and so close to all of the fun things to do in Saugatuck. The inkeeper's Dave and June were very welcoming. Loved the breakfast in the picnic basket they brought to the room every morning, the food was really good. The only negative I can think of is that the signs asking guests to wash their own dishes for that price was a little offputting. Sorry Dave and June we just chose not to wash them. Great place loved the location and the privacy of the cottage, we would definately stay again!

Innkeeper Response
Washing dishes has always been a request and not a requirement so the guests in this instance did the right thing for them in not washing them. We began requesting dish washing in response to finding sinks full of dishes that had no relation breakfast ( leftovers from restaurants, parties et.) and felt it was unfair to our housekeeper to have to wash them and for us to bear the expense of her time in doing so. We are a B&B not housekeeping units. Breakfast is served in dishes that can for the most part be enjoyed without the need for additional dishes other than a coffee cup and fork. All dishes from the baskets are returned to us for washing so the only dishes referred to in the note are the ones that stay in the suites. We place dishes in the suites for guests' convenience and only hope that extra dishes used will be washed. Time spent by our housekeeper to do so increases our costs. The rates we charge are in large part informed by our expenses and housekeeping is a big budget item in any B&B.


Serendipity is nearly ideal

4.0 on October 20, 2011

The privacy fence enclosed whirlpool and sauna were amazing. Only the loud music being played across the street from my bedroom window until midnight was disappointing. Grateful for the attention to allergen free breakfast options.


Seredipity was lovely

4.0 on October 12, 2011

David and June are extremely nice people, very hospitable. The room was comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. We had a wonderful stay.


college roomies trip

5 on October 06, 2011

We just loved our stay. We stayed in the Library Suite. The breakfasts were delectable. The hosts were very accommodating. The town of Saugatuck was very quaint and beautiful on the water. The Serindipty was an ideal location, could walk to everything.


Saugatuck Weekend

4.6 on October 06, 2011

Our stay at the Serendipity was fantastic. David and June made us feel right at home and since it was our first visit to Saugatuck, David spent more than enough time with us, highlighting things to do and places to see. The breakfasts were phenominal, ( I don't get those at home!) Would definately go back.


Great stay

4.8 on October 03, 2011

Suite was great. Perfect getaway for our anniversary. Hosts were very helpful and accomodating. Great location for walking the downtown area.


September 2011

3.8 on October 03, 2011

Great location for Saugatuck and Douglas. David and June were great hosts and make good recommendations for dinner and biking.


Fun Weekend

3.6 on September 27, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Garden House the second weekend in September. This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast. The food was great and you couldn't ask for a better location. We had a ball at the bar across the street. The only issue we had was parking. We stayed with another couple and there was only parking for one car. I don't know where one would park during peak season. Besides that issue, we definitely stay again. Nice place!


Great place to stay

4.0 on September 25, 2011

Had a wonderful stay. The in-room breakfasts were great. Staff very helpful and responsive. Will definitely stay again.


Great Place

5 on September 18, 2011

Serendipity was lovely. Clean, comfortable, great food and wonderful conversation. We will make sure to stay here again.


Nick and Carols stay

5 on September 15, 2011

Wonder visit. Within walking distance of all Saugatuck has to offer. Nice perks like the pick nik basket for breakfast. June and David, very accomadating.


Serendipity

5 on September 15, 2011

Our stay in Serendipity was wonderful! The room was clean, the bed was comfy, and the breakfast in the morning was delicious! We had a great time and would go back. We will for sure recommend it to our friends and families!


Our 2yr anniversary

5 on September 06, 2011

We have been to the Serendipity many times and have never been disappointed. This Labor Day weekned was our 2yr together and our first date was to the Serendipity. Dave and June make us feel so wlecome and June bakes the best scones ever. Along with the charm of the whole house they use a local coffee shop to mix there own blend. It's awesome! We will be returning to Saugatuck in December and will be staying at the Serendipity Inn.


Lovely stay in Saugatuck

4.0 on September 02, 2011

Nice bed and breakfast spot in Saugatuck. Close to town and minutes from Douglas. Would recommend to others.


Weekend getaway

3.2 on September 01, 2011

Serendipity Bed and Breakfast was a charming and clean place. Great owners!!!! Cared about us and made us feel very welcome. Good and fresh full breakfast served every morning. Serendipity is located across a bar which was very loud on Friday and Saturday night. Loud music and rowdy people could be heard until 2am. Not sure if it always is the case or it was just that weekend, please speak with the owner. Otherwise the location of the B&B is great!

Innkeeper Response
Serendipity is in close proximity to everything Saugatuck has to offer including the White House Bistro. The White House is a lively place and the typical guest comment is "we had a great time at the White House last night!" We do have rooms and suites that are located further back on our property where the sound of music etc. would be greatly diminished.


Convenience and service

4.8 on August 31, 2011

The Serendipity B&B is located right in the heart of Saugutuk within walking distance to everything. The room was oustanding, breakfast served each day was over the top. We had a superb time and I would recommend this location to anyone.


4 times strong

5 on August 28, 2011

i love the suites and carriage house. I always look forward to a soak in the hot tub, and amazing breakfast delivered to my door!


seridipity stay

3.0 on August 20, 2011

great location! breakfast was very good. had a few issues but were resolved quickly. probbably a bit overpriced, but within walking distance to all shops restaurants,and water


15 year Anniversary Couples' Getaway

3.8 on August 17, 2011

Clean, well appointed suite. My husband prefers a full, social breakfast, typically provided in a bed and breakfast. However, the delivered breakfast was adequate, though not as full and varied as two of our guests would have preferred. Great, convenient location!


Old Friends of Saugatuck

3.8 on August 16, 2011

Serendipity was great. We stayed in the Stableman and Carriage Barn Suites and they were ideal for our purposes - we went with our son and his girlfriend. It had been about 15 years since we had stayed in Saugatuck - we went annually for about 7 years. We were unsure of how much the area would have changed during that time, but our stay at Serendipity made us feel as if we had never missed a year. It was a great vacation and we will not wait 15 years to return.


a nice week with good breakfasts

3.8 on August 14, 2011

Breakfasts were great: delivered to our suite in a basket each day at 9:00 AM. We had to defrost the mini-fridge which had been missed by housekeeping but the rooms were very good otherwise. Host was accommodating with directions, maps, and suggestions for local attractions. We wished our suite had a porch or a deck adjacent.


Wonderful stay

4.6 on August 13, 2011

This is wonderful place to stay. David and June are so nice, and they were a great help if we wanted to know something. It was like being at home. We really enjoy the hot tub. The flower are wonderful on this property. We always waited for Dave to say breakfast is here, as he would bring to our door step. I would always come back here to stay. The only thing I wish the room had is a bigger mirror to see yourself when you get dress. Lorinda Johnson Rankin, Illinois


Venetian & Art Fest in Saugatuk

3.8 on August 10, 2011

We lucked out and got a room at Serendipity B&B since the Venetial Festival was going on that weekend. David & June, the owners were great- very accomodating & friendly! The location is ideal - close walking to everything - shopping, boardwalk, art festival... We will definitely go back & stay! Rooms are extremely quiet, which is rare in a B&B.


Enjoyed our stay

3.6 on August 03, 2011

We stayed at the Lightkeeper's Cottage and it was wonderful -- 1 block from downtown and the patio and hot tub area were very private. You will enjoy this nice little place, but not to be recommended for those who do not wish to climb a ladder into a loft bedroom.


Nice stay

4.0 on July 22, 2011

we stayed in the music room. Old house, but nice room, excellent breakfast, the hosts are very niceand passionate, small jacuzzi in the garden a little outdated but still very nicein summer. 1 mn from main saugatuck street. there is also a bar in front of the house (the white house) which is certainly a + too;). Overall great stay !!!


Serendipity was great

5 on July 21, 2011

Great time and fantastic food! Best waffles I have ever had. David and June really know the area and they had some great ideas on things to do.


Girls Weekend in Saugatuck

4.0 on July 20, 2011

Five of my friends and I recently planned a girls' getaway to Saugatuck and I volunteered to find our accomodations. I feel so fortunate that we found Serendipity!! We stayed in two suites and both were beautiful. We had our breakfast delivered both mornings and the food was absolutely outstanding! We were all amazed at how delicious everything was. The location is great, as well. Only a few blocks to downtown Saugatuck but located on a quieter street away from the noise. I would highly recommend Serendipity and hope to return there again this fall. Make reservations early for the summer months!!


Saugatuck stay

2.8 on July 11, 2011

With all the bad press about Michigan's economy it was wonderful to visit two thriving towns; Douglas and Saugatuck. Highlights of the visit included hiking in the Saugatuck State Park and swimming at Oval Beach. Serendipity provided a comfortable location for all our explorations.


A Saugatuck Gem!

5 on July 08, 2011

My husband and I spent the 4th of July in Saugatuck and stayed at Serendipity. We were extremely pleased with the entire stay and David and June welcomed us like family. The room was spacious and extremely clean. We had friends come up and look at it as well and they were extremely impressed. There is also a hot tub and sauna on site for use as well. The breakfasts were yummy and they provided a variety as I tend to be a slightly picky eater. My husband and I highly recommend this B & B and will probably stay there again when we visit Saugatuck for another long weekend.


A charming place!

4.8 on July 07, 2011

The Serendipity B&B. was a charming and comfortable place to stay. It was close to town and convenient to everything. June & Dave are proud of their place and it shows!


Serendipity Weedend

4.8 on June 30, 2011

We stayed in the lighthouse cottage and had a great weekend. The location is close to down town but yet feels secluded. The breakfasts were excellent.


Not my favorite

2.6 on June 29, 2011

I was fairly disappointed in this B&B experience. I found the hosts to be rigid and less accommodating than other B&Bs I've stayed in. There were a lot of little notes around the room that were instructions on what to do/not to do like "don't use the decorative pillows" and "wash your dishes." It made me feel like I was at my mother's house rather than a guest at a B&B. I was also disappointed in the hot tub as it did not smell clean. And the sauna was full of cobwebs and the door didn't shut, which made the sauna not function properly. I was also very frustrated by the lack of hot water to accommodate a 10 minute shower. I did really enjoy the privacy of my room and the food was wonderful.


Charming Getaway Cottage in Saugatuck

3.6 on June 27, 2011

A lovely place to stay, the lightkeeper's cottage provided a hidden retreat with a loft bed & outdoor jacuzzi in the heart of Saugatuck shops. Welcoming hosts, delicious full breakfasts delivered to our door.


Really great location, wonderful hosts

4.8 on June 23, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Serendipity. It's in an ideal location, only a block from downtown. We could walk everywhere, which was very nice. Our room was cozy and clean. The entire place has a very relaxed, inviting atmosphere. June & David were welcoming & made us feel very comfortable. The breakfast was DELICIOUS! I not only had seconds, I wrapped a scone up for the drive home. I highly recommend Serendipity for anyone looking for a quaint, cozy place to stay in Saugatuck.


We'll be back!

4.4 on June 13, 2011

This was our 3rd stay at Serendipity Bed & Breakfast,and we will be back again. June & David are excellent hosts, and the suite we stay in meets all our needs. Serendipity is within a block or two or three of everything! We easily go for walks in downtown, to the waterfront, or for a show. We love Saugatuck and Serendipity. Highly recommend.


Serendipity Bed & Breakfast in Saugatuck is awesome

4.4 on June 02, 2011

This was our third stay at Serendipity B & B in Saugatuck. We rent a suite so we can prepare our own meals. We love the appointments of the suite and the amazing location. We can walk to anything. Off street parking is a plus. The hosts, June & David, are extremely friendly and work hard to make us comfortable. Highly Recommend!


Serendipity is cozy and charming...

4.8 on May 27, 2011

We stayed at Serendipity the week before Memorial Day and took advantage of the lower rates during weekdays. Serendipity is in a great location, a block from Saugatuck's shops and restaurants, and two blocks from the marina. We enjoyed walking, shopping, and relaxing during our stay here. David and June are pleasant and hospitable, and do a wonderful job with Serendipity. Thank you for a most refreshing few days!


Enjoyable

3.4 on May 25, 2011

My overnight stay at Serendipity was very lovely, accommodations were fine & the host & hostess were very nice.


The Gem of Saugatuck

5 on May 23, 2011

We visited Saugatuck for the first time and were lucky enough to stay at the Serendipity. June and David were great... very friendly and helpful. The Library Suite was warm, cozy, clean, super comfortable, and convenient to EVERYTHING! Our breakfasts were fabulous. I have special needs (gluten sensitivity) and they bent over backwards to provide yummy breakfasts that I could eat. We loved Saugatuck and we'll be back. We will definitely stay at Serendipity!!!


Quiet place in cozy Saugatuck

4.0 on May 23, 2011

We stayed at Serendipity in the Stableman's room for a night a few days ago, while in town planning our wedding. We had a hectic schedule and we asked to check in a bit early, and David and June said no problem at all. The room was quiet, clean, and right off the main street in Saugatuck. David cooked breakfast and our basket of goodies was right on our doorstep at 9am, as they said it would be. And it was really good!! We had the opportunity to speak with David and June on our departure, and found them to be wonderful hosts. I would gladly come back to stay here, and we will be recommending guests to stay at Serendipity for their stay during our wedding. Thanks David and June!


Tulip Time at Serendipity

5 on May 19, 2011

Two girlfriends and I just spent the weekend at Serendipity, and loved it! We stayed in the Library Suite, which was perfect for three people. The rooms were big, clean and cozy, and the breakfasts each morning were amazing. David and June were friendly and welcoming, and I'm looking forward to staying at Serendipity again the next time I'm in the area. Thanks for a great weekend!


Great place to stay

4.0 on May 19, 2011

Everything about this place was great! We stayed in the private cottage and had a blast. Every morning we had a wonderful home cooked breakfast delivered to us and it was delicious. I would definately stay here again.


garden suite

4.2 on May 09, 2011

We stayed in the garden suite for our anniversary weekend The innkeepers were very hospitable the rooms were clean and comfortable, had a great stay at serendipity


Excellent

4.6 on March 21, 2011

Owners went out of their way to make sure we stayed happy. Breakfast and snacks were exceptional.


Serendipity Bed & Breakfast in Saugatuck, MI

3.8 on March 09, 2011

Dave and June were very friendly and the food was great! The Library Suite was beautiful and gave a great, warm, homey feel. The only complaint would be the smell on the front porch. Would have loved to have been able to relax on the porch but the smell prevented it.

Innkeeper Response
The front porch of the Library Suite is a three-season porch, and we are in the process of shampooing the carpet and freshening it.


New Years Eve

3.6 on January 21, 2011

It was our first experience at a bed and breakfast and we chose to stay in a suite. We did enjoy having our own space and bathroom, but we did feel like we missed out on the true bed and breakfast experience of meeting new people and enjoying meals with them. We felt like the meals would have been a bit more substantial. We did enjoy the location and how we could walk to everything in the area. We truly enjoyed our time in Saugatuck and will surely return again.


Serendipity Bed and Breakfast

3.2 on January 04, 2011

Room was very small. The house was very clean. Breakfast was delicious!

Innkeeper Response
The room Rose is the smallest of the three B & B rooms. It is also the least expensive.


Ideal Saugatuk Location

3.8 on December 09, 2010

Very nice B&B. Accommodations were great. Our family of 4 was very comfortable in the Carriage House unit. Updated decor/furnishings and very clean. No complaints. Location is great - very close to main street with dining and shopping. Also close to the water (Lake). We had breakfast two days and both were very good meals. If we make back to Saugatuk, we'll probably stay here again.


We had a good anniversary at the Serendipity

4.4 on November 20, 2010

My wife and I go to a Bed and Breakfast every year around our anniversary. This year we chose the Serendipity. The first reason we chose the Serendipity was because of the reasonable cost of the room. The location was great. We could walk out the door and be downtown Saugatuck. We walked to the Butler for dinner and had a great meal. At around 10pm we went next door and listened to great music at the White House Lounge, and had some drinks. We have three kids at home and it was nice and peaceful at the Serendipity. It should also be noted that David and June are extremely nice and helpful. We had a very nice stay.


Never want to stay at a hotel again!!

5 on November 17, 2010

My boyfriend and I found Serendipity through a search engine and decided to get a suite there for our anniversary. Neither of us had ever stayed at a B&B before so we really had no idea what to expect. But let me tell you, it was AMAZING! It was perfectly located within a few minute walk to everything we wanted to see in Saugatuck. The room was cozy, spotless, and very welcoming. I felt like I was staying at family's...not to mention David and June were incredible! They had all the info we needed (since we'd never been there before), plus were just so nice and accommodating in every way. The breakfast was awesome! Best egg casserole I have ever tasted! Plus it was nice that all we had to do was wake up, open the door, and enjoy! David brought it right to our room, still so hot you had to blow on it first! We are now looking forward to spending every anniversary there from now on and will consider staying no where else! If you're in Saugatuck, don't miss out on the greatness that is the Serendipity Bed and Breakfast!


Recent Stay

4.6 on October 19, 2010

We had a great time, the hosts are always around to help if needed and serve a great breakfast in the main house where we stayed. This is the perfect place to be if you want to walk downtown, just a couple of blocks away. We will be returning the next time we visit Saugatuck.


Girls' get away weekend

5 on October 03, 2010

Quiet, peaceful, restful, cozy - just what we needed. Easy walking distance to town, short drive to State park and the breakfast baskets were exceptional, imaginative, and delicious. We especially enjoyed the spa, whirlpool tub, and fireplace after our trips to the beach. Hosts were most hospitable and helpful. We'll visit again!


Great trip and town!

4.4 on August 24, 2010

I stayed in the Rose room and had a great time! The location of Serendipity was excellent as was the quality! The food was better than I could've ordered at a restaurant and David and June made me feel very comfortable! Thanks so much for a great weekend!


Stayed at Serendipity weekend of 8/13/10

4.6 on August 16, 2010

You could not ask for a better location. It is within walking distance of everything in Saugatuck. The B&B was very clean and had nice extra touches (robes, jacuzzi tub, etc.) The breakfasts were delicious and bountiful. The hosts were wonderful and knew the area very well and made recommndations appropriate to guests' interests. We would definitely recommend it to friends and will stay again.


Great stay at Serendipity

3.6 on August 11, 2010

The rooms are incredibly clean, the breakfast delicious and the hosts offered up lots of tidbits about the area. Especially loved the cute little basket of specially made soaps in the room. Overall, a great experience!


Serendipity Bed and Breakfast

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 2698573400

Visit Website »

View details

Top