The Painted Turtle Inn Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness5
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
20 Reviews

Write A Review

Great B&B

5 on April 16, 2014

The Painted Turtle Inn was a great experience. It was clean, comfy and very well maintained. I would suggest it to anyone looking for a great getaway!


Wonderful romantic getaway

4.4 on April 09, 2014

We stayed at The Painted Turtle Inn for an anniversary celebration, and our weekend could not have been better! The innkeeper was very helpful, the room was perfect for us (very spacious, comfortable bed and robes, wonderful views) and the breakfast so delicious. This was our first time to Michigan, visiting wineries in the area, and it was just all wonderful. Definitely would recommend this B&B to anyone, and hope to come back again soon!


All its made out to be.

5 on April 02, 2014

Stayed at the Painted Turtle March 27, 2014 to the 29th. Even though it still was winter outside this getaway was awesome. Everything others have said is right on. Will make sure next stay will be when weather is better, to really enjoy all that this area has to offer. We were definitely spoiled. Thank You, Christine and Joel


Great hospitality

4.8 on March 24, 2014

This place was great and breakfast was delicious. Would highly recommend if you like to have a quiet and relaxing place to stay, with gourmet food. Can't wait to make it back hopefully sooner than later. Hospitality was great and place was very clean.


the BEST in SW MI!

5 on December 11, 2013

We found this great place for a quick one night get-away and are so thankful we did. The Painted Turtle is comfy and beautiful and clean and I recommend it to everyone I know. We loved it so much we are considering making it an annual trip, I won't even bother looking for somewhere else to stay in the area - this place is perfection!


Wonderful place to stay in SW Michigan

5 on November 04, 2013

We are repeat guests -- one of the first to stay at the Turtle. Suffice it to say, we will be back. Christine and Joel run a great place. It can be a little hard to find on a GPS. Make certain to use "St. Joseph" as the location city as the street numbers will restart at the municipal boundary with Benton Harbor. The rooms are nicely done and the bathrooms are lovely and efficiently laid out. The setting may seem a little busy but its along a coastal highway. Traffic is not heavy and its still very quiet.


Great Stay

4.8 on October 24, 2013

My mother and I had a great shopping weekend. This was my mother's second stay at the Painted Turtle and just had to take me there because she loved it so much. It is a beautiful house and grounds.


Wonderful B&B

5 on September 30, 2013

Everything about the Painted Turtle is a reflection of Christine and Joel; warm, welcoming and every detail just right. We altered our reservation a few times and Christine was very happy to help us. I also have special dietary needs and she delisously accomindated me. She even got up early to fix breakfast so we could get on the road. However, we were having such a great time visiting with Christine and Joel time got away from us and we didn't leave early.


Absolutely Wonderful

5 on September 22, 2013

The Painted Turtle Inn was outstanding! The owners are very hospitable and have done an excellent job in renovating this home and turning it into a spectacular B & B. The breakfast was exquisite and having the green space in the back of the house allows you to enjoy a cup of coffee in a country setting feel, although you are only 10 minutes (or less) from town. The park across the street allows you to enjoy the beautiful Michigan sunsets and views of the lake. We were thoroughly impressed with the inn and had a great first experience at a B & B. Joel and Christine have set the bar high. There was no detail left unattended to and the turtle soap was adorable!


Friends Get Together

4.4 on September 17, 2013

My longtime girlfriends & I had such a wonderful time staying at "Painted Turtle Inn" recently. The atmosphere was very welcoming and cozy; the rooms are decorated so tastefully (each room has its own theme & design), the whole place is beautiful, clean and very well kept. It is a great location with scenic views and the lake right across the street (we walked there to watch the sunset). We felt very comfortable hanging out in the common area at night, as if it was one of our homes. And the breakfast next morning... delicious!


Awesome start to lighthouse vacation.

5 on August 07, 2013

Loved the decor. It fit my lighthouse trip theme perfectly. It was wonderful to arrive and smell things baking. The breakfast was grand. The room was very clean. Plenty of room to park a pick up with a camper on it. All the folks involved were very friendly. I enjoyed my stay.


My daughter and I had a terrific stay and I would highly recommend this to anyone.

4.8 on August 05, 2013

the food was the best I had ever had at a bed and breakfast. It was very quiet. The grounds were very nice and there was easy access to the downtown area. Chris was a wonderful hostess and we wish them well!


This place is FANTASTIC!

5 on July 29, 2013

Not your run of the mill B&B. Although the house is from the fifties, it has been completely gutted and everything is NEW! The bathrooms are top notch and the whole house in general has charming décor perfect for a beach town. Breakfast was wonderful both days we stayed. Christine and Joel are very accommodating hosts. All the rooms are plenty large enough. All the charm of the usual B&B scene, plus all the amenities of a nicer hotel.... TV, Cable , free WI-FI And the fridge is always stocked with Pops, Iced Tea and Water , a nice touch. Highly recommend this establishment. I personally would come back, which is not something I say all the time


A very comfortable inn

4.6 on July 18, 2013

The newly opened and renovated inn was very comfortable and well decorated. We had a spacious room with television, chairs with an ottoman for relaxing, and a large tile shower with rain shower head, hand-held sprayer, and body spray. The mattress was a high quality mattress and very comfortable. Too often when we have rented in St. Joe the mattresses have been older and neglected. My husband has back issues but he felt great when he woke up in this room. The paint colors, bed linens, and wall decorations were wonderful. The room had so many little touches that made our stay relaxing. There was an afghan on the chairs, an ipod speaker system, the ability to control our room temperature, a remote control ceiling fan, and wonderful soaps and shampoos by Gilchrest and Soames. We love visiting St. Joe and can't wait to come again to spend time on Silver Beach, eat fudge and ice cream, take a wine tour, and buy blueberries. We will definitely stay at The Painted Turtle Inn again!


Perfect romantic getaway!

4.8 on July 12, 2013

My husband and I needed a few days to get away before our baby is born, and the Painted Turtle Inn exceeded our expectations for a three-day romantic rendezvous!!! While it's not exactly on the lake (and you could hardly see the lake at all from our room on the main floor), all you have to do to drink in your fill of beautiful lake view is cross the street and relax in a swing. We loved the Jacuzzi tub, the fluffy bathrobes, the modern décor (definitely NOT your typical so-much-floral-I'm-dizzy), the pre-dinner wine & snack (don't worry; no wine for the pregnant lady), and the amazing four-course breakfasts accompanied by local coffee or tea brewed in your own teapot. Plus, Christine and Joel were a wealth of information about local attractions and were able to secure us a great table at the Grande Mere Inn for a sunset dinner. The garden is still being planned but looks to be a marvel in a year or so. And did we mention that the breakfasts were beyond amazing? Ask for the fruity baked oatmeal if you get the chance. It's a little delicious wonder baked in a ramekin, topped with Michigan berries.


Romantic Getaway

4.6 on July 08, 2013

My husband and I went to the Painted Turtle Inn for a night away alone. It is a gorgeous B&B! The rooms are fabulous, the common areas cozy and inviting, and the innkeepers friendly and accommodating. The grounds are beautiful and the location is perfect, close to the main attractions of the area but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. We quite enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Painted Turtle without hesitation!


one of the best

4.6 on July 06, 2013

B&B we've ever stayed at - was wandering around the net looking for a place to stay when this popped up - always an adventure to try some place new & a great choice it turned out to be, very private yet convenient with all the amenities from the comfy bed & spacious bathroom to the afternoon wine/snacks & the hearty breakfasts - you won't be disappointed - the innkeepers have done an excellent job of restoring this home to what it once was - very nice!!


Best B&B I have visited

4.6 on June 25, 2013

The Painted Turtle Inn is wonderful. The common areas are rustic and very comfortable. The rooms are relaxing, charming and re-invigorating. The bathrooms for each room are from HGTV - stylish, with the very best showers and tubs, classy sinks and nice fluffy towels. The breakfasts are perfect - variety without being too much and made when you are ready. They also have wine tasting and snacks in the afternoon. Across the street is a wonderful little park to watch the sun rise or set over the lake. If you are going to St. Joesph, stay at the Painted Turtle Inn.


Hidden Gem

5 on June 24, 2013

We decided to visit the area at the last minute for our anniversary. I was able to find a room on the Internet for the weekend. I requested a bottle of wine and fresh flowers for the occasion and they were perfect. The rooms were beautiful, the breakfast was excellent, and the location is close to downtown St. Joe. The owners Joel and Christine were excellent hosts and we really enjoyed meeting visitors at the wine reception every night. I highly recommend this B & B and look forward to returning soon.


Put the pleasure in a business trip

4.8 on June 10, 2013

I had not planned to stay at a bed and breakfast inn on this 4 night/5 day business trip. After checking the selection, prices and value of a few hotels in the area, I saw The Painted Turtle Inn and decided to give them a call. I told Christine I was looking for some place quiet to do some work. I thought about renting the least expensive room, but Christine gave me a discount on a more expensive one since I would be staying for 4 nights. The amenities, comforts and service were seamless. Christine and Joel have done a beautiful job renovating and decorating the home. I stayed in the Dragonfly room which is cheery and warm and very comfortable. The room had it's own thermostat and windows that could be opened. The bed was VERY comfortable, and all the linens are lovely and brand new, of course. The bathroom while having a "rustic" theme didn't feel rustic at all. The shower had all the modern amenities and the bathroom was stocked with plenty of fluffy towels and nice conveniences like sample sized shampoo and a hair dryer. Other very nice amenities included cable tv, comfy robes, a good sized closet, and two comfortable chairs. The breakfast room looks out on the gardens and meadow behind the house and is nicely furnished. Christine prints out a daily card with the breakfast menu noting her use of and support for local businesses. The breakfasts were fabulous. As for location, this was my first time in St. Joseph. The house is situated on Lakeshore Drive and just south of the B&B (a 3 minute walk) is Lookout Park with a gorgeous view of Lake Michigan from a steep, wild flower-covered bluff. A 5 minute drive north takes you into downtown St. Joseph which is a very cute little town which is bursting with a robust economy. A perfect spot for strolling, shopping and dining. I really look forward to returning to The Painted Turtle very soon for a strictly pleasure trip!


The Painted Turtle Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $150 - $275
  • Reviews (20) 4.8
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 269-982-9463

Visit Website »

View details

Top