The Painted Turtle Inn Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness5.0
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
41 Reviews

Write A Review

A Diamond in the rut

4.6 on July 28, 2014

We stayed here last week and were so impressed with the rooms, service, and grounds that we are determined to make it back soon. Knowing after a long day out on the beach, sightseeing, winetasting, and shopping that we had this place to come back to that felt like home, made our stay relaxing. Christine and Joel were wonderful and down to earth people who are working hard raising a family to fulfill their lifelong dream. The homemade breakfasts was primo!!


Perfect Get-away

5 on July 25, 2014

The breakfast was amazing, everything was very clean. Great attention to detail throughout our entire stay.


A fantastic stay at The Painted Turtle Inn!

4.4 on July 22, 2014

Thank you to our host, hostess and staff for a wonderful getaway! We would love to visit again!


Wonderful experience!

5 on July 21, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful weekend at The Painted Turtle Inn. Christine and Joel are very pleasant and attentive without being intrusive. We were welcomed with wine and snacks during the afternoon and an amazing gourmet breakfast each morning. We enjoyed a nice stroll on their lovely property. We stayed in the Dunegrass which is very tastefully decorated and the bathroom is luxurious! We can't wait to return! It is the best B&B experience we've ever had.


First Class B&B - Don't Miss Out!

5 on July 20, 2014

We enjoyed our first visit to the Painted Turtle Inn on a brief getaway last week and were overwhelmed by the warmth and hospitality of Christine and Joel, the innkeepers of this charming and incredibly comfortable B&B. We loved the luxury of the furnishings in the Dragonfly Room and quickly unwound after check in with a glass of local wine in the calm surroundings of the back terrace. Christine and Joel recommended an outstanding local restaurant for dinner and we went to bed happy, well fed and utterly relaxed. The next morning (after enjoying a wonderful spa shower with multiple jets and an oversized rainfall showerhead) we were treated to a lovely view of the back of the property during breakfast, which was a treat in and of itself. The food was extraordinary - we enjoyed every bite of the homemade meal and had our pick of snacks and beverages during our stay. Onsite parking is very convenient and Christine and Joel went out of their way to provide us with maps, directions, and recommendations for local events, dining, and shopping both in St. Joseph and Benton Harbor. Our time at the Painted Turtle was fantastic and we anxiously await to our next visit!


Perfect getaway !!!

5 on July 19, 2014

Everything was wonderful from the rooms to the wonderful breakfast in the morning , could not have asked for a better night , lovely and wonderful staff as well!


Amazing Bed & Breakfast!!!!

4.6 on July 18, 2014

This was B&B was amazing from the rooms to the breakfast!


Highly Recommended: Painted Turtle Inn

4.8 on July 16, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed two nights at the Painted Turtle Inn following our recent wedding. The service was exceptional and the room was incredible. Christine provided breakfast in bed for us as well as a complementary bottle of champagne. We would most certainly return and recommend the Painted Turtle Inn.


read this if you are hesitant about b&b's

5 on July 13, 2014

I heard all of the horor stories of b&bs - common bathrooms, eating with other guests at a single table, dirty rooms, etc. My wife was watching reviews of the painted turtle for almost a year when I reluctantly agreed to go. It was unbelievable. Private, updated bathrooms - check. Five tables for two in the dining room - check. Delicious food - check. And cleanliness - double check. Without writing a novel - it was one of the best places I have stayed anywhere. We're looking forward to our next stay.


Delightful!

4.8 on July 05, 2014

Our room was beautifully decorated, and the bathroom was huge. Everything was very clean and comfortable. Christine was very gracious and accommodating. The wine and snacks in the afternoon were excellent and the breakfasts were homemade, varied and awesome! Our 2-day stay was delightful.


Loved our stay

5 on July 04, 2014

This is an outstanding B&B, great food, great hospitality, great rooms! Cannot say enough how delicious breakfast was each morning, amazing! I finished all my food both days... And I NEVER finish my food! And the portions are decent size too. Definitely try this Inn if you stay in St Joseph


Great Retreat

5 on July 01, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at The Painted Turtle Inn. Christine was great host. Our room was awesome! Very comfortable and so clean. I even had to comment to her how immaculate the inn was. The afternoon wine reception was a very nice touch and breakfast was so delicious. Christine recommended a place for us to go for dinner and I have to say it was one of the best meals I have ever had. My only regret is that we were only able to stay for one night. I hope to get back to St Joseph again, and I will be staying at The Painted Turtle Inn.


Highly recommend the Painted Turtle Inn!

5 on June 28, 2014

Perfect place for a get-a-way! The Painted Turtle Inn is one of the best B & B's we have stayed out. The Innkeepers and their staff were wonderful! The breakfast each morning was outstanding! Great to have real sheets and towels! We will definately go back to The Painted Turtle Inn!


First visit to Painted Turtle

4.4 on June 25, 2014

The Dunegrass room was beautiful and comfortable. Breakfast was amazing and the service was good! We enjoyed exploring the area.Thank you for the wonderful weekend visit!


Worth the trip!

5 on June 21, 2014

I was impressed by the decor and cleanliness of the Painted Turtle Inn. The breakfast was wonderful too. The innkeepers have thought of ever detail. Very relaxing place to stay.


Wonderful B&B

4.2 on June 17, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Painted Turtle Inn and enjoyed every minute. Our room was lovely and the bathroom was amazing. Each morning Christine made an scrumptious breakfast and each afternoon a lovely snack. We felt very much at home! We will definitely be repeat customers!


Family stay at The Painted Turtle

5 on June 09, 2014

This is not your typical B&B. It is amazingly comfortable and fresh with every amenity you can think of. The bathrooms are amazing! The beds are the best. You will want to buy their mattresses. (I inquired where I could get one). The breakfast is wonderful. Fresh and inventive food. Coffee, tea, cold drinks are available all day. The owner is wonderful. We will definitely visit again!


XXX

4.6 on June 03, 2014

Great stay. Clean rooms and showers. Very cozy beds.


Great place to get away in Michigan!

4.8 on May 29, 2014

We stayed only one night but wish we were able to stay longer, this place is wonderful. Christine met us at check in and was gracious, she caters to anything you might need while staying with them...they also provide many small "details" that you won't find at a hotel. Breakfast in the morning was AWESOME! We'll definitely be back. This is a two-story home, we stayed in one of the ground level rooms, the room itself was great (the bathroom is unreal!), the only complaint is that you can hear the guests in the room above walking back and forth...so next time we'll be sure to reserve an upstairs room! Thanks for an overall memorable experience Painted Turtle!


Top Notch

5 on May 05, 2014

Hello my name is Chris... My girlfriend and I spent 2 days at this amazing place. It's beautifully decorated, secure, spotless and quiet. All the amenities of a luxury hotel, but with a personal touch. Gourmet food: Fresh fruits, handmade form scratch dishes. Romantic atmosphere with the soft music, wine and snacks for afternoon meet & greets or cozy couples only time. The owners made us feel like royalty. Thanks. Next time we're in Michigan, we wouldn't imagine staying anywhere else. 5 Star (Top Notch)!!!


Plan to be back

5 on April 23, 2014

Painted Turtle Inn has a great location just south of downtown St. Joe and not far from SW Michigan wineries and beweries. The breakfast was one of the best we've had. We could see Lake Michigan from our window. The rooms are all nicely appointed and gave my wife more decorating ideas. We'd like to return with friends in the fall or next spring.


Great B&B

5 on April 16, 2014

The Painted Turtle Inn was a great experience. It was clean, comfy and very well maintained. I would suggest it to anyone looking for a great getaway!


Wonderful romantic getaway

4.4 on April 09, 2014

We stayed at The Painted Turtle Inn for an anniversary celebration, and our weekend could not have been better! The innkeeper was very helpful, the room was perfect for us (very spacious, comfortable bed and robes, wonderful views) and the breakfast so delicious. This was our first time to Michigan, visiting wineries in the area, and it was just all wonderful. Definitely would recommend this B&B to anyone, and hope to come back again soon!


All its made out to be.

5 on April 02, 2014

Stayed at the Painted Turtle March 27, 2014 to the 29th. Even though it still was winter outside this getaway was awesome. Everything others have said is right on. Will make sure next stay will be when weather is better, to really enjoy all that this area has to offer. We were definitely spoiled. Thank You, Christine and Joel


Great hospitality

4.8 on March 24, 2014

This place was great and breakfast was delicious. Would highly recommend if you like to have a quiet and relaxing place to stay, with gourmet food. Can't wait to make it back hopefully sooner than later. Hospitality was great and place was very clean.


the BEST in SW MI!

5 on December 11, 2013

We found this great place for a quick one night get-away and are so thankful we did. The Painted Turtle is comfy and beautiful and clean and I recommend it to everyone I know. We loved it so much we are considering making it an annual trip, I won't even bother looking for somewhere else to stay in the area - this place is perfection!


Wonderful place to stay in SW Michigan

5 on November 04, 2013

We are repeat guests -- one of the first to stay at the Turtle. Suffice it to say, we will be back. Christine and Joel run a great place. It can be a little hard to find on a GPS. Make certain to use "St. Joseph" as the location city as the street numbers will restart at the municipal boundary with Benton Harbor. The rooms are nicely done and the bathrooms are lovely and efficiently laid out. The setting may seem a little busy but its along a coastal highway. Traffic is not heavy and its still very quiet.


Great Stay

4.8 on October 24, 2013

My mother and I had a great shopping weekend. This was my mother's second stay at the Painted Turtle and just had to take me there because she loved it so much. It is a beautiful house and grounds.


Wonderful B&B

5 on September 30, 2013

Everything about the Painted Turtle is a reflection of Christine and Joel; warm, welcoming and every detail just right. We altered our reservation a few times and Christine was very happy to help us. I also have special dietary needs and she delisously accomindated me. She even got up early to fix breakfast so we could get on the road. However, we were having such a great time visiting with Christine and Joel time got away from us and we didn't leave early.


Absolutely Wonderful

5 on September 22, 2013

The Painted Turtle Inn was outstanding! The owners are very hospitable and have done an excellent job in renovating this home and turning it into a spectacular B & B. The breakfast was exquisite and having the green space in the back of the house allows you to enjoy a cup of coffee in a country setting feel, although you are only 10 minutes (or less) from town. The park across the street allows you to enjoy the beautiful Michigan sunsets and views of the lake. We were thoroughly impressed with the inn and had a great first experience at a B & B. Joel and Christine have set the bar high. There was no detail left unattended to and the turtle soap was adorable!


Friends Get Together

4.4 on September 17, 2013

My longtime girlfriends & I had such a wonderful time staying at "Painted Turtle Inn" recently. The atmosphere was very welcoming and cozy; the rooms are decorated so tastefully (each room has its own theme & design), the whole place is beautiful, clean and very well kept. It is a great location with scenic views and the lake right across the street (we walked there to watch the sunset). We felt very comfortable hanging out in the common area at night, as if it was one of our homes. And the breakfast next morning... delicious!


Awesome start to lighthouse vacation.

5 on August 07, 2013

Loved the decor. It fit my lighthouse trip theme perfectly. It was wonderful to arrive and smell things baking. The breakfast was grand. The room was very clean. Plenty of room to park a pick up with a camper on it. All the folks involved were very friendly. I enjoyed my stay.


My daughter and I had a terrific stay and I would highly recommend this to anyone.

4.8 on August 05, 2013

the food was the best I had ever had at a bed and breakfast. It was very quiet. The grounds were very nice and there was easy access to the downtown area. Chris was a wonderful hostess and we wish them well!


This place is FANTASTIC!

5 on July 29, 2013

Not your run of the mill B&B. Although the house is from the fifties, it has been completely gutted and everything is NEW! The bathrooms are top notch and the whole house in general has charming décor perfect for a beach town. Breakfast was wonderful both days we stayed. Christine and Joel are very accommodating hosts. All the rooms are plenty large enough. All the charm of the usual B&B scene, plus all the amenities of a nicer hotel.... TV, Cable , free WI-FI And the fridge is always stocked with Pops, Iced Tea and Water , a nice touch. Highly recommend this establishment. I personally would come back, which is not something I say all the time


A very comfortable inn

4.6 on July 18, 2013

The newly opened and renovated inn was very comfortable and well decorated. We had a spacious room with television, chairs with an ottoman for relaxing, and a large tile shower with rain shower head, hand-held sprayer, and body spray. The mattress was a high quality mattress and very comfortable. Too often when we have rented in St. Joe the mattresses have been older and neglected. My husband has back issues but he felt great when he woke up in this room. The paint colors, bed linens, and wall decorations were wonderful. The room had so many little touches that made our stay relaxing. There was an afghan on the chairs, an ipod speaker system, the ability to control our room temperature, a remote control ceiling fan, and wonderful soaps and shampoos by Gilchrest and Soames. We love visiting St. Joe and can't wait to come again to spend time on Silver Beach, eat fudge and ice cream, take a wine tour, and buy blueberries. We will definitely stay at The Painted Turtle Inn again!


Perfect romantic getaway!

4.8 on July 12, 2013

My husband and I needed a few days to get away before our baby is born, and the Painted Turtle Inn exceeded our expectations for a three-day romantic rendezvous!!! While it's not exactly on the lake (and you could hardly see the lake at all from our room on the main floor), all you have to do to drink in your fill of beautiful lake view is cross the street and relax in a swing. We loved the Jacuzzi tub, the fluffy bathrobes, the modern décor (definitely NOT your typical so-much-floral-I'm-dizzy), the pre-dinner wine & snack (don't worry; no wine for the pregnant lady), and the amazing four-course breakfasts accompanied by local coffee or tea brewed in your own teapot. Plus, Christine and Joel were a wealth of information about local attractions and were able to secure us a great table at the Grande Mere Inn for a sunset dinner. The garden is still being planned but looks to be a marvel in a year or so. And did we mention that the breakfasts were beyond amazing? Ask for the fruity baked oatmeal if you get the chance. It's a little delicious wonder baked in a ramekin, topped with Michigan berries.


Romantic Getaway

4.6 on July 08, 2013

My husband and I went to the Painted Turtle Inn for a night away alone. It is a gorgeous B&B! The rooms are fabulous, the common areas cozy and inviting, and the innkeepers friendly and accommodating. The grounds are beautiful and the location is perfect, close to the main attractions of the area but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. We quite enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Painted Turtle without hesitation!


one of the best

4.6 on July 06, 2013

B&B we've ever stayed at - was wandering around the net looking for a place to stay when this popped up - always an adventure to try some place new & a great choice it turned out to be, very private yet convenient with all the amenities from the comfy bed & spacious bathroom to the afternoon wine/snacks & the hearty breakfasts - you won't be disappointed - the innkeepers have done an excellent job of restoring this home to what it once was - very nice!!


Best B&B I have visited

4.6 on June 25, 2013

The Painted Turtle Inn is wonderful. The common areas are rustic and very comfortable. The rooms are relaxing, charming and re-invigorating. The bathrooms for each room are from HGTV - stylish, with the very best showers and tubs, classy sinks and nice fluffy towels. The breakfasts are perfect - variety without being too much and made when you are ready. They also have wine tasting and snacks in the afternoon. Across the street is a wonderful little park to watch the sun rise or set over the lake. If you are going to St. Joesph, stay at the Painted Turtle Inn.


Hidden Gem

5 on June 24, 2013

We decided to visit the area at the last minute for our anniversary. I was able to find a room on the Internet for the weekend. I requested a bottle of wine and fresh flowers for the occasion and they were perfect. The rooms were beautiful, the breakfast was excellent, and the location is close to downtown St. Joe. The owners Joel and Christine were excellent hosts and we really enjoyed meeting visitors at the wine reception every night. I highly recommend this B & B and look forward to returning soon.


Put the pleasure in a business trip

4.8 on June 10, 2013

I had not planned to stay at a bed and breakfast inn on this 4 night/5 day business trip. After checking the selection, prices and value of a few hotels in the area, I saw The Painted Turtle Inn and decided to give them a call. I told Christine I was looking for some place quiet to do some work. I thought about renting the least expensive room, but Christine gave me a discount on a more expensive one since I would be staying for 4 nights. The amenities, comforts and service were seamless. Christine and Joel have done a beautiful job renovating and decorating the home. I stayed in the Dragonfly room which is cheery and warm and very comfortable. The room had it's own thermostat and windows that could be opened. The bed was VERY comfortable, and all the linens are lovely and brand new, of course. The bathroom while having a "rustic" theme didn't feel rustic at all. The shower had all the modern amenities and the bathroom was stocked with plenty of fluffy towels and nice conveniences like sample sized shampoo and a hair dryer. Other very nice amenities included cable tv, comfy robes, a good sized closet, and two comfortable chairs. The breakfast room looks out on the gardens and meadow behind the house and is nicely furnished. Christine prints out a daily card with the breakfast menu noting her use of and support for local businesses. The breakfasts were fabulous. As for location, this was my first time in St. Joseph. The house is situated on Lakeshore Drive and just south of the B&B (a 3 minute walk) is Lookout Park with a gorgeous view of Lake Michigan from a steep, wild flower-covered bluff. A 5 minute drive north takes you into downtown St. Joseph which is a very cute little town which is bursting with a robust economy. A perfect spot for strolling, shopping and dining. I really look forward to returning to The Painted Turtle very soon for a strictly pleasure trip!


The Painted Turtle Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $150 - $275
  • Reviews (41) 4.8
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 269-982-9463

Visit Website »

View details

Top