Cartier Mansion Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
58 Reviews

Write A Review

Luxurious Pampering

5 on February 26, 2014

A beautifully maintained historic home with period elegance but contemporary comfort. The breakfast was delicious and extra effort was made to ensure a memorable visit. One of my top five bed and breakfasts.


Cartier Mansion Bed & Breakfast

4.0 on December 20, 2013

A very enjoyable stay. Our room was excellent, and the tour of the mansion and history there of was interesting & enlightening.


Perfect!

5 on December 20, 2013

A beautiful property. Sue & Gary were so welcoming & every part of our stay was perfect down to the very smallest detail. Would highly recommend and will be going back.


Wonderful!

5 on December 17, 2013

The property is fabulous, service is extremely good. We very Highly recommend Cartier Mansion!


Amazing!

4.8 on December 13, 2013

This place is a mix of history & relaxation. We loved learning about the Mansion and enjoyed everything! The room was amazing and food was heavenly. We would highly recommend this to anyone!


Everything was fantastic!

5 on December 12, 2013

Gary & Sue Ann were just awesome!


A Wonderful, Peaceful Weekend

4.0 on November 25, 2013

Cartier Mansion is a well restored, relaxing retreat from the busy world. The accommodations have modern comfort w/ historic charm.


Excellent Accommodations

4.6 on October 17, 2013

Excellent food, gracious hospitality!


BRIDAL SHOWER WEEKEND

5 on August 21, 2013

Excellent stay in every way. Accommodations, friendliness, food, service all excellent. The shower was also held here and attention to detail was impressive!


Cozy Christmas Getaway

5 on June 16, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our romantic, quiet stay in a wonderful historic mansion. the twenty one Christmas trees, cozy fireplace and Christmas music carried us back to celebrations of long ago.


Unforgettable

5 on April 05, 2013

Our experience at Cartier Mansion was and forever will be unforgettable. Everything was perfect. Great house, great detail, great food, great hosts. We wanted a unique Christmas experience and found it at the Cartier Mansion


Beautiful Inn

5 on February 24, 2013

The innkeepers, the beauty and history of the mansion, and leading this beauty make this an awesome place to stay. Visit Reed's Photo Gallery or take one of their awesome workshops.


A perfect, romantic getaway

4.6 on November 25, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed the King Suite for two nights over Thanksgiving. The room is quite large, with a sitting room, and one could spend the whole time just taking advantage of the soaking tub, jacuzzi, foot bath and amazing shower from 1905! Gary and Sue Ann made sure we had our privacy but were also readily available to suggest local sites and restaurants and provide a wonderful house tour. The breakfasts were gourmet and took care of any need for lunch. There is a coffee and tea bar, chilled wine for sale, a selection of DVD's and a lending library. If the lakefront and state park weren't so beautiful there would be no need to ever leave the premises!


A B&B to Remember

5 on October 06, 2012

Property is very well maintained. Mansion is over 100 years old with beautiful wood throughout. Owners offer first class service & delicious breakfast.


Beautiful B&B in a Beautiful City

5 on October 06, 2012

Owner, Sue Ann, was so welcoming. She gave us a tour & history of this beautiful home. Breakfast was delicious. We shared the table with two other couples. After eating we had a tour of their rooms. Great fun.


Indulge Yourself in Luxury

5 on September 26, 2012

We have kept a boat in various marinas in Ludington for over 30 years. We have had many of our guests stay at the mansion and always got outstanding reviews. This past weekend we induldged in a stay in the King Suite. I must say that I felt like royality!!! The suite includes a small family, access to your own private upper deck, and a bathroom with a jaccuzi, awesome jetted shower, foot bath, and original tub. From the lovely innkeepers, Sue Ann and Gary, to the amazing well kept mansion with all the leaded glass and wood throughout...you will be in awe. Outside the bedrooms are countless amenities such as snacks, coffee, teas, etc. No detail is missed. I highly recommend a visit...Induge!!!!


Great Stay... Best In Town

5 on September 24, 2012

Great stay, great place, great bites. Hope to come back soon. Best in town!


A Gem!

5 on September 04, 2012

From the warm welcome, to every amenity to the well-appointed rooms and the best breakfast we had on our trip, this is one B&B we'll return to visit!


A delightful choice

4.8 on June 27, 2012

The home is beautiful; the innkeepers most friendly, gracious, and informative; and the breakfast was delicious. The location is great for a stroll or a brisk morning walk to town and the lake. We would definitely recommend Cartier Mansion to anyone staying in or near Ludington.


Our Anniversary Gift

5 on June 22, 2012

We could not have chosen a better gift ourselves! This is the first bed and breakfast we have stayed at. All others will now be measured against this highest of standard. The room was clean and comfortable. The food was delicious. We enjoyed spenting time in each room relaxing and reading. This was a first class stay. I felt like we were staying in an historical museum. Thank you, Sue, for the history and the wonderful stay.


Great place to stay

5 on June 22, 2012

Such a beautiful and welcoming home. So clean and authentic. Great staff…friendly and helpful.


A Must Stay!

5 on May 29, 2012

Absolutely beautiful bed and breakfast that is impeccably maintained. The history, which the owners Sue Ann and Gary, are well-versed in is fascinating. They are both warm, friendly, yet unobtrusive hosts and the condition of rooms and home is spotless. Everything shines! The breakfast Sue Ann Serves every morning is delicious and filling. Stayed for our anniversary and I think it's a given that we will be spending the rest of our anniversaries in Ludington at the Cartier! Photos of the Mansion do not do it justice and believe me, other B & B's in Ludington pale in comparison! Thanks Gary and Sue Ann! Jeff and Lynda


On a Whim

4.6 on December 11, 2011

We were traveling through Michigan for the first time since 1987. Both of us grew up in Michigan and that will always be our home state. We decided to stay in Ludington for the night and came across the Cartier Mansion and the inn across the street. Called for vacancy and prices and decided to stay at cartier, Upon seeing the rooms decided to splurge and take the Master Suite. We were happy, thrilled, love old houses... Received a great reference for a restaurant for dinner. BUT, the piece de resistance was breakfast. Who would ever think that eggs benedict ala Cartier Mansion would be served, along with other delicacies. We felt the warmth and comfort of the hosts and highly recommend anyone staying here. Thanks from the two guys originally from Michigan


Love

5 on October 30, 2011

Well managed -- beautiful room -- so many amenities -- friendly -- delicious breakfast -- excellent location -- wonderful place to spend an anniversary of 48 years!


Great Photography Workshop Weekend

5 on October 24, 2011

We stayed at the Cartier Mansion for a weekend photography workshop and found it to be perfect - definitely will go back. Owners adapted their meal schedule (all inclusive lunch & dinner with the workshop weekend) to meet our location schedule to allow sunrise and sunset photography. The mansion is historic and we especially enjoyed the King Suite that featured a private living room with balcony and an awesome shower in a large bathroom - actually original plumbing from early 1900's. The shower in itself might be worth the room upgrade! All meals were creative and delicious, served to the guests to enjoy at the dining table. Location for the mansion is convenient to downtown, Lake Michigan lighthouses and the Ludington State Park.


Returning soon

5 on October 17, 2011

I found this B&B to be everything I was expecting. The Innkeeper was very friendly and so willing to share details of the history of the house itself. The food was wonderful, the service efficient and friendly. The room was comfortable with everything convenient and clean. The "oddities" were explained-such as the plug for the bath tub was explained as were the light switches-both originals. You will be happy you stayed.


Wonderful!

4.0 on October 16, 2011

We had a wonderful experience at the Cartier Mansion. We were treated wonderfully by the owners, and made to feel very at home throughout our stay. The Mansion was absolutely beautiful and very unique. We never tired of wandering around to check out the different rooms, and admired how much work has gone in to keep it as authentic as possible. We thoroughly enjoyed the food as well. It was a great experience, and we plan to go back next year!


Loved It!

4.0 on October 06, 2011

The Lighthouse room was cozy and comfortable, the amenities were perfect, the food was fresh, homemade, and delicious, and Gary and Sue Ann were just lovely! I highly recommend the Cartier Mansion.


Restful get-a-way

4.6 on September 12, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in beautiful Ludington, Michigan and truly enjoyed every minute at the Cartier Mansion. A beautiful, welcoming home with outstanding amenities! The beach chairs and 24 hour hot beverage buffet were so wonderful for out of towners! Thanks for all you did for us! Valerie & Gary


A wonderful destination

4.6 on August 29, 2011

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this well-preserved historic home. The home is in pristine condition and is a must see for any historic home buffs. We were amazed by how the Inn was ready to accommodate any of the travelers' potential needs. There was wine available to purchase and pay for in the morning (glasses and corkscrews too), beach towels, coffee, ice, snacks, books, DVDs, reading glasses, and ear plugs. The food was great and the staff was very attentive.


wedding gift

4.6 on August 16, 2011

My new husband and I stayed in the King Suite as a wedding gift. The house is beautiful and the service was wonderful and personal. We enjoyed wandering around the mansion. We will return.


Cartier Mansion

4.2 on August 02, 2011

Great parking. Beautiful home. Got a private tour with history of home. Very nice room with everything we wanted. Snacks, tea & coffee just outside our door. Wonderful innkeepers & breakfast.


What a delight!

4.8 on July 30, 2011

We booked this room because we needed a place to stay the night before catching the ferry. What a wonderful place! The entire mansion has a great story and the hostess was most delightful. The breakfast she served in the morning was delicious. We would highly recommend this place.


A Historic Jewel!

5 on July 08, 2011

Happen to stumble upon this beautiful mansion that is not only comfortable but provided all of the amenities my wife and I were looking for. Incredible architecture inside and out will have you looking at this place for hours. We only have one wish, that we could have stayed longer! The staff and owner we so friendly and outgoing but more importantly made you feel comfortable and relaxed. We also met some other amazing couples during our brief stay which added to the experience. Will go back for sure!


Top of the Line

4.6 on June 26, 2011

Luxerious accomodatations in a unique mansion.Try the King Suite with balcony. Great breakfast and generous amenities. Gracious innkeeper.


Rented all the rooms for a cousin reunion

5 on June 13, 2011

Sue Ann worked with us to plan a cousin reunion and a special dinner for 7 women. We rented every room for the weekend and they were spotless. It is an easy walk to downtown, restaurants and Lake Michigan. The group enjoyed talking with Sue Ann and Gary and we looking forward to returning for another reunion. Beautiful home and great owners. Alice Todd


A Perfect Anniversary Stay

5 on June 04, 2011

This was our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast. We got a recommendation from a dear friend, who happens to be a mutual acquaintance of the Schnitkers. I was so blown away by the home, the hospitality, the "little conveniences". All other stays at a Bed and Breakfast will be judged against this one. Thank you, Sue, for our wonderful stay. We will be back. SHP & LKP


Cartier Mansion.

5 on November 27, 2010

Beautiful home. Gary & Sue were very friendly and knew the area well. The location was great. Were able to walk to many of the places. The food was exceptional. Would not hesitate to go again. 5 stars.


Autumn Trip September 2010

5 on October 15, 2010

This bed and breakfast is one ofthe nicest we have ever stayed in. Amazingly, it was no more expensive than some with even higher pricing. Sue Ann was a very gracious hostess and breakfast was WONDERFUL!!!!


wonderful weekend getaway

5 on October 10, 2010

We wanted to get away from it all this weekend and we did. What a nice place to hid. Loved the house and it's history. The breakfast was outstanding and Gary and Sue were great! We will come back.


Outstanding stays

5 on August 10, 2010

My wife and I were looking for a special place to stay in Ludington before and after our sail on the car ferry. We took a chance with the Cartier Mansion B&B. What a wonderful experience that turned out to be. We first stayed in the Lighthouse bed room. Nice and comfortable and quiet though the Inn was full. After our SS Badger return trip, we stayed in the King suite. This too was a wonderful experience. We loved the old eloquent victorian charm. From the unique bathroom to the balcony and sitting room that was off the bedroom, it was truly a memorable experience that we want to relive over and over again. And by the way, the two breakfasts were outstanding and special. Drew's calling must be in culinary. A great chef! Gary, Sue Ann, and Drew made our stay like being with family. Thanks, Bill & Dorothy U.


Cartier Mansion

5 on February 16, 2010

Wow! We'll be back. Best B&B we have ever stayed in 30 years!


Cartier Mansion

5 on January 25, 2010

We had a great time. The hospitality and excellent skills of Gary, Sue Ann and Andrew were apparent throughout our stay. We would return.


Cartier Mansion Bed & Breakfast

4.6 on January 05, 2010

Couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more! Everything was excellent -- great food, wonderful ambiance -- many special details!


Cartier Mansion Bed & Breakfast

5 on October 21, 2009

The stay could not have been any more delightful. the Mansion is true to its name in every wat, including furnishings and service, rooms and food -- excellent!


Cartier Mansion Bed & Breakfast

4.6 on October 15, 2009

B&B is beautiful -- owners very pleasant & hospital & food was excellent. Very comfortable and clean


beautiful house, well appointed 1st class touches

4.8 on July 20, 2009

well appointed 1st class touches (water, coffee, movies, ice, popcorn, tea, shampoo, soaps, linens, etc.). Gourmet breakfast and warm and friendly innkeepers make you want to come back. We will return again!


nice stay

5 on May 11, 2009

nice stay


Great place

5 on April 07, 2009

I plan on a return stay!


Cartier Mansion

5 on March 27, 2009

The weekend stay was a 50th birthday gift from my daughter- it was a wonderful surprise! We had a great time. Everything was outstanding.


Excellent!

5 on March 19, 2009

Rooms were beautiful, comfortable, and very large. Wonderful amenities.


A great stay in every way!

5 on January 09, 2009

House is absolutely stunning! Rooms are beautiful but cozy. Food was outstanding. But visiting with Gary and Sue Ann was tops!


I felt like 'instant family'

5 on November 04, 2008

Friendly, welcoming hosts, delicious, filling meals, comfy/cozy accommodations, and a beautiful building with a fascinating history. Loved it! Determined to go back!


Cartier Mansion

5 on October 29, 2008

A warm and great hospitality. A gorgeous style of furniture.


Cartier Mansion

4.4 on October 23, 2008

we had a fabulous weekend! we learned many historical details about the property. Thank you for getting your supplies from Michigan-owned businesses when possible...


Gourmet Tranquility

5 on October 23, 2008

I have had the opportunity to stay on an anniversary weekend. My husband and I came back for a 'picture perfect weekend' workshop with my niece. outstanding: accommodations, hospitality, food, service in a classy historic home. Already recommended it to family and friends!


Beautiful Architecture

4.8 on October 16, 2008

Upon arriving at the mansion, we were amazed by the wood detail in each of the rooms. Each of the first floor rooms is done in a different wood species--cherry, mahogany, black walnut, and sycamore. The mansion is from a bygone era, perfect for relaxation and socializing with other guests. The innkeepers were very welcoming in their friendliness, knowledge of local attractions, and the quality of the meals. We appreciated the little details such as the chocolates, pistachios, teas, coffees, and DVDs. We will definitely come back and recommend this treasure to our friends and family.


Wondrful Weekend

4.0 on June 08, 2008

We had a great weekend and time with Gary and Sue Ann. The home is amazing and the food was great. The Home is full of Love and Hospitality. Now, the town of Ludignton is also great. Cute little donwtown, very close to lake Michigan! Everyone should experience Cartier Mansion in Ludington, MI!


Cartier Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2318430101

Visit Website »

View details

Top