Inn at Torch Lake Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room5
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness5.0
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
36 Reviews

Write A Review

Honeymoon Get Away

5 on June 03, 2014

The Torch Lake Inn is a great place to stay. We were told by a friend to spend our honeymoon at the Torch lake Inn. I was glad that we did. We stayed in the Torch Lake room, which was very large and relaxing. The entire Inn was very clean and peaceful. Harvey made an amazing breakfast everyday. His Ginger bread and stuffed french toast were to die for. We had cookies left in our room on our first night. I would recommend the Inn to anyone. The location is great!


Winter Getaway

5 on March 07, 2014

What an absolutely delightful Inn to chase away the COLD winter blues. The Inn at Torch Lake has the most beautiful, warm rooms, great host and delicious breakfast. We have stayed here in the summer, and now the winter. Both have been beyond terrific. Thank you from Huffington


Best B & B

5 on September 29, 2013

For the past four years we along with three other couples have stayed at The Inn at Torch Lake during our annual golf outing. Each year our stay gets better and better. Harvey keeps adding new decorations and updating the rooms so they are consistently fresh and new. The breakfasts are different with each new stay and seem more fabulous than the time before (if that were possible). What I like most is it can be a very private quiet experience in your room, or it can be a fun interactive experience with other guests in the common area where coffee, tea and snacks are always available to assist in great conversations. Harvey is there to recommend great restaurants and places to visit, along with the great golf courses. I guarantee you will not find a nicer bread and breakfast. Each and every experience has been fantastic!! Thank you Harvey!!!


Peaceful retreat

5 on September 06, 2013

My husband and I just returned home from a wonderfully relaxing trip in Northern Michigan. We have been up north many times, yet have never stayed in the Torch Lake area. In researching Bed and Breakfasts I came across the Inn at Torch Lake and was immediately attracted to the more modern look and feel I got just from viewing the photos online. The atmosphere is just that in person as well! This bed and breakfast has the privacy of a hotel and yet the hospitality of a bed and breakfast. It was amazing! All rooms are equipped with everything you need for a private stay (mini fridge/wet bar, to small deck off room for outdoor relaxation, to private bathroom in all rooms) or a social stay (tables around breakfast area to eat/socialize, to some outside seating around the Inn as well.) It is a short walk to beautiful Torch Lake and right in the middle of the downtown area of Alden. The Inn is located just about 25 minutes out of Traverse City and about an hour from Petoskey - great location for those looking to do day trip travels around northern Michigan! We will most definitely be back to see Harvey and to stay at his beautiful Inn at Torch Lake!


A very relaxing place for a very relaxing weekend.

5 on July 13, 2013

We planned our stay at the Inn at Torch lake with the recommendation of a friend, and we just can't believe how amazing this B&B is. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. Our room was one of the lower-priced rooms (read less expensive, not cheap) at the Inn, but it was still perfect. The Inn is quiet, and the surrounding town is very peaceful yet there is a lot to do. It is only half an hour from Traverse City and only an hour from Sleeping Bear Dunes. The Inn served as a great "home base" for adventures last week. The Inn Keeper, Harvey, was great. He provided anything we needed, and made the most excellent breakfasts.He is even accommodating of special dietary needs, such as Gluten Free or an allergies. All you have to do is ask. There is also a nice little gift shop that he runs on the ground floor of the Inn, and any guests get 20% off purchases, which is really nice. Overall, it was an amazing place to stay, and my wife is begging me to come back every year for the rest of, well, forever... Definitely a great place to stay.


Our favorite stay in the north!

5 on June 28, 2013

We have stayed at the Inn three years in a row and will make reservations for our fourth! Our host Harvey Bartel has always made sure that our stay is memorable and each year he outdoes himself with the gourmet breakfast. If I could afford it, I would live there!!!! Excellent location as well. Just a short walk to the most beautiful lake in North America! Wonderful shops and botiques in Alden as well as the Alden Bar that serves great food in a relaxing atmosphere.


Simply Amazing

5 on June 27, 2013

After visiting Harvey on our honeymoon last year, we decided to make the trip up for our anniversary. Harvey was more than hospitable. He was great. The room was spotless, the breakfast was amazing as usual. Harvey treated us like family on our stay, and that is why we returned and will continue to return. Alden is a charming little town. But the real reason we come to the inn is because of Harvey. Thank you so much for everything and can't wait to come and stay again! -David and Radmila


Awesome B&B

5 on June 08, 2013

This bed and breakfast is amazing. I really can't think of anything negative to say about it or our experience there. I did a ton of research before booking a b&b and couldn't have felt more fortunate to have found the Inn at Torch Lake. We were traveling with two children, ages 1 & 4. Harvey always make us feel welcome and never once did I feel out of place with the kids there. The town of Alden is charming and even had a playground for the children. The breakfasts were fantastic. The room was top notch: super comfortable beds, beautifully decorated, very clean and the towels were super soft (yes, I do pay attention to everything) Thanks Harvey & Merlin for a fabulous stay!!


Great weekend at the Inn at Torch Lake

5 on November 05, 2012

We recently returned from our first trip to Torch Lake. We can not say enough about our experience staying at the Inn at Torch Lake. Harvey was so accommodating. We had our 20 month old son with us and he never made us worry about him being there. He was very helpful in pointing us in a great direction for our day - where to visit and/or where to eat. We look forward to visiting again soon!


Torch Lake B&B is the BEST!

5 on August 06, 2012

We just returned from another AMAZING weekend on Torch Lake thanks to Harvey and the staff at the Inn at Torch Lake. This is the absolute best spot to stay if you are visiting the lake. Our group of 14 rented the entire B&B and were treated wonderfully! We will return year after year for the amazing breakfasts, gorgeous rooms, and hospitality that Harvey provides! #1 in our book!! Thanks Harvey :) Ranelle & The Torch Lake 2012 group


Beautiful Experience

4.2 on July 25, 2012

We were blown away by our experience here. Truly the nicest B&B we have ever stayed at. We will be back!


Comfortable and Delicious

5 on June 12, 2012

We just got back from a long weekend at the Inn at Torch Lake. It was delightful in every way. Harvey catered to our every need. And the food was nothing short of delicious. The peanut butter cookies as a bedtime treat were over the top.


Wonderful stay at Torch Lake

5 on June 09, 2012

We had an absolutely great experience at The Inn. Our room had all of the warmth and charm and cleanliness of a five star inn and more. Harvey went the extra mile by offering to clean Kathy's soiled white sweater that accidentally fell out of our car before we arrived in Alden. Harvey also went the extra mile preparing a special omelet for Kathy. The breakfast was fabulous! We look forward to our next get away visit at The Inn! Frank and Kathy


Outstanding is an understatement!

5 on June 08, 2012

My wife and I came up for our honeymoon and we were blown away. Harvey was a delightful person to talk with on the phone and was very attentive to our wants and needs. Once we arrived, Harvey greeted us with freshly baked cookies, and a glass of wine. Talk about world class service. Gourmet breakfast each morning, and the whole Inn was pristine. The room was spotless, the furniture was comfortable. This was our first time at Torch Lake, and it most certainly won't be the last. We cannot wait to bring friends and family our next time up. Harvey, THANK YOU for making our trip so memorable, we appreciate your professionalism and care for your guests. -David and Radmila Oxford MI


May visit

5 on May 20, 2012

My husband and I, along with our 2 and 1/2 year old son, just spent a wonderful 2 nights at this inn and already, we can't wait to return. Harvey has done a perfect job with this place -- rooms are lovely, beds are comfortable, linens are luxurious, walls are soundproof (we checked with our neighbors to make sure our early-rising son hadn't disturbed anyone and they hadn't even been aware that he was with us), decor is simple and refreshingly free of the lace and teddy bears so often found in B&Bs, and the food is fantastic. Harvey is a wonderful, gracious host who somehow made us feel both pampered and at home. We can't recommend this spot enough.


see ya soon Harvey

5 on February 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Torch Lake Inn for our honey moon in May 2011,it was the best place we could have picked,the room we stayed in was very much so wonderful it was such a quite peaceful romantic stay.the breakfast that Harvey cooked himself for us was such a wonderful and enjoyable way to start each morning. he made the stay there even more so enjoyable.he gave great advice on things to do well we were there and the store he has was a joy to shop at also.thank you Harvey for making our stay and our honey moon one to remember.we will forsure be coming back!!!


Nothing better on Torch

5 on August 02, 2011

Hands down the best B&B we've ever stayed in. Harvey and his accommodations are top notch in more ways than can be explained. From the amazing, downtown Alden location to the ease of the lake just steps away this really is the best Torch Lake experience one could hope for! We'll be back in the winter to visit again and do some wonderful Michigan activities just to return here! Thanks again Harvey!


The Best !!

5 on July 30, 2011

We have gone to a lot of bed and breakfast over the years. This was the best ! Harvey and his small dog " Mirlin ", make your stay very special ! Curtis & Gayle Watkins


Impressive

5 on June 18, 2011

This property is superior in every way. The decor is beautiful, very warm & inviting. Loved the walk in shower and granite counters, a welcome change from older outdated B & B's with small bathroom facilities. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful (didn't need lunch!) and Harvey was a delightful host! We enjoyed everything about our stay at the Inn at Torch Lake. We stayed at 5 different B & B's on this trip and this property by far exceeded all the others. Loved it and can't wait to return!


Heavenly Escape

5 on June 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed here this last weekend for our 3 year wedding anniversary, and honestly it couldn't have been better! We had the Lake Bellaire room, which was extremely comfortable and roomy (the pictures on the website do not illustrate how big the room actually is!). The Inn itself is picturesque and provides a laid back atmosphere. Although this was our first time, Harvey made us feel at home! Harvey's breakfast cooking is superb! Both mornings, I found myself the urge to go for third helpings. Before check-out, my husband and I were talking about our next stay here. We can't wait to return!


We'll be back!

4.8 on June 07, 2011

We stayed the weekend at the Inn in the beginning of June and had a fabulous time! The Inn is gorgeous and very clean. Harvey is a kind, helpful Inn Keeper and chef! The food was delicious and there was plenty of it! We were very pleasantly surprised when Harvey delivered freshly baked, warm cookies to our room in the evening. Also, Alden is a quaint little town on the most beautiful lake we've ever seen! The water is so clean and beautiful. We will definitely be back soon!


Great place for a weekend getaway.

5 on May 01, 2011

Room was beautifully decorated and the bed was very cozy. The breakfast was very tasty and the warm cookies at bedtime was a welcome extra special treat. Can't wait for our return visit. Ken and Kathy


HIGHLY recommended

4.8 on January 20, 2011

My wife and stayed at the Inn at Torch Lake in midwinter, for a quiet getaway. We were incredibly impressed. The rooms are spacious, the bedding very comfortable, and amenities outstanding. The rooms all have fireplaces with soft chairs (ours had a love seat) great for relaxing. The breakfasts were delicious -- pecan encrusted French toast one morning. Harvey went out of his way to make sure we had what we wanted; then he left us alone to enjoy the quiet (though he was always available if you needed him). We delayed our trip home so we could stay an extra night.


A highlight of our trip to Michigan

5 on January 03, 2011

We discovered The Inn at Torch Lake online while planning our loop driving tour of Michigan. I am so very glad we did! Mother nature left us with an itinerary centered on snow sports and very little snow! Our stay at the Inn turned out to be one of the most fantastic parts of the trip. This place was wonderful. I have traveled to many locations in and out of the states, and have stayed in numerous bed and breakfasts. The Inn at Torch Lake has a combination of comfort and elegance that surpasses all of the B&B's I've visited, as well as some 5 star hotels. The lines and bed were so comfortable, I didn't want to get out of bed!! The host, Harvey, was an absolute dream. He made us feel so welcome and even brought warm Christmas sugar cookies for us in the evening. Breakfast was fabulous, as well. He was very patient and kind to my 6 year old son, and showed him around the great little shop he operates downstairs. He was very accommodating and engaging without being intrusive. Though we were traveling with a little one, I would highly recommend this place for a romantic getaway. :-) The area is scenic and has a quaint feel. Really low key and layed back. Thanks to Harvey for a memorable visit.


Recent Stay 11/13/10

5 on November 15, 2010

My wife and I and another couple recently stayed on a Saturday night. We expected it to be nice but didn't know it would exceed in every way. Harvey is a great innkeeper. His morning breakfast served just outside our rooms was excellent. Jim & Carol Newaygo, Mi


GREAT GREAT WEEKEND

5 on October 27, 2010

This is the best B&B I have ever stayed at. Harvey is extremely nice and a FANTASTIC cook! The room was immaculate and was extremely clean and comfortable. My wife and I will be back again in and the future and would recommend this with a perfect 10 to ANYONE!! Harvey is a special person with a fantastic B&B. Footsteps from the Lake!!


We didn't want to leave

5 on October 08, 2010

We were here for a few days in early October, 2010. How surprising it is to find a place like this. The rooms really are the way they look on the website - only bigger. The bed and the bedding were heavenly, the fireplace made things cosy, the tv was large, there were big comfy chairs, a deck to sit outside on, a good bathroom with nice toiletries. Much attention is paid to detail here. The coffee machine made wonderful espresso - and was always available, a huge plus if you're an early riser and coffee is important to you. The breakfasts were truly gourmet, and we looked forward to them each morning. It really was hard to say good-bye.


Amazing Place to Rest Your Head & Fill Your Stomach

5 on May 26, 2010

My husband surprised me for my birthday and our anniversary with a trip out of town to Torch Lake. We have spent lots of time staying at B&Bs and this is by far one of our favorites! The breakfast was amazing and loved the heavenly bedding....keep up the great work Harvey!


Exceptional in every way!

5 on May 25, 2010

If you’re searching for the best bed and breakfast in northern Michigan, stop now. The Inn at Torch Lake is by far the best choice you can make, bar none. The accommodations are so beautifully designed you’ll feel like you just stepped into a home decor magazine. Pictures on the website are great, but can’t really do the rooms justice. They are spectacular – pristinely clean and new, beautiful furnishings, premium linens, large flat screen TVs, private eating area, refrigerators, and Jacuzzis and mini kitchens (in some rooms) all atop the quaint little village of Alden. We loved that every room had a table and chairs at which to dine, if you wish to have your breakfast privately, and the fact that each room boasts a lovely little balcony that overlooks the activities of downtown Alden. Harvey, the innkeeper, is a gracious and wonderful host and full of any info you might wish to know about the surrounding area for activities, shopping, and dining. His warm welcome, wonderful food and gracious care of us made our stay at the Inn absolutely outstanding. There is even a stunning one bedroom apartment with an additional sleeping loft that is complete with a full kitchen with stainless steel appliances and granite counter tops, beautiful wood floors, 2 flat screen TVs, stereo, dining area, and of course, a deck overlooking the back yard with a view of Torch Lake. The inn is a one minute walk to a public access “park” on Torch Lake, so bring along a couple of lawn chairs and catch the beautiful sunsets. Book this now, you will not find a better choice!


Alden's best kept secret!

5 on January 31, 2010

This is our second time around staying at the Torch Lake Inn. Our first stay here was during the holidays with our family and we took advantage of what Northern Michigan has to offer- snowmobiling and skiing. We found that Harvey Bartel Innkeeper of Torch Lake Inn has much to offer as well! First class accommodations, great location, wonderful breakfast and down home hospitality. We've just returned from a quick getaway of skiing this past weekend and stayed with Harvey again. We can't get enough of this charming place! Thanks again Harvey! Walt and Amy


One of my favorite inns!

5 on November 15, 2009

Everything about this place is top notch. The rooms are amazingly beautiful and careful attention paid to all details involved. I can't recommend this place enough. Can't wait to go back!


Inn at Torch Lake

5 on November 05, 2009

We were guests at the Inn the weekend of October 9-12. In his review, our nephew, Jules Riley expressed out experience so well. All I can add is that I am pleased we "found" the Inn. We wish you continued success Harvey. Helen and Bob Hayes


Outstanding B&B!

5 on October 19, 2009

We had a fantastic stay at the Inn. Harvey the Inn Keeper was incredible. I would recommend the Inn to anyone who want to see Northern Michigan at its best and experience wonderful hospitality. Kathy


A Wonderful Place

5 on October 15, 2009

We just returned from a three night stay with family. We occupied three suites, all of which were delightful, clean and well appointed. The innkeeper, Harvey Bartel was absolutey gracious and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Any special request or assistance that we had was taken care of quickly and cheerfully. He made us all feel at home. The morning breakfast was delicious and well presented. We were even treated to a pot of his special chili one afternoon. Harvey is a wealth of information on area attractions, restaurants and shopping. We enjoyed a great golf outing, excellent dining in Alden and nearby Elk Rapids and Bellaire - all are a short drive from the Inn. The women also took delight in the available shopping This is by far one the best Bed and Breakfast Inn's I have experienced !! I, and my family, give it our highest recommendation. Jules Riley


Woderful experience

4.4 on September 08, 2009

We stayed Labor Day weekend and had an excellent experience. Harvey is a great host, there when you need him but not at all intrusive. Breakfast was great, the room clean and comfortable. We will definately be back.


Fabulous place

4.4 on July 01, 2009

Stayed there in June 2009, VERY nice room, clean, quiet. Harvey (the owner) goes out of his way to make certain his guests are well cared for. Will definitely stay there again!


Inn at Torch Lake

Details

  • Nightly Rate $135 - $250
  • Reviews (36) 4.9
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2313314845
  • Mobile 1-2316451251

Visit Website »

View details

Top