Give the gift of a getaway!

Recent Reviews in Mentone, Alabama

Ready to relax and be pampered? at Raven Haven Bed & Breakfast (Mentone, Alabama)

5 reviewed on May 26, 2015

We will return to the Raven Haven Bed & Breakfast at the first opportunity! My husband and I began the Memorial Day weekend there. It was an ideal place to unwind and accept a bit of pampering from hospitable hosts, Tony and Eleanor Teverino. A decadent homemade dessert awaited us upon our evening arrival. The house was spotless and the bed so comfortable. We enjoyed the family-style breakfast with other guests as we sat down to a sumptuous meal. The gardens were beautiful. The hosts were so gracious and welcoming. They provided several "extras" I could mention here, but don't want to spoil the surprises. In addition, the area has a lot to offer. Don't miss out on this one! Joy Jones

View more reviews for this inn


Charming at Raven Haven Bed & Breakfast (Mentone, Alabama)

5 reviewed on May 10, 2015

Charming, quaint, peaceful inviroment with delightful hosts.Best breakfast in town. Oh I all most forgot the best desserts in mentone hands down.i recommend raven haven to anyone near and far.

View more reviews for this inn


Incredible Getaway at Mountain Laurel Inn (Mentone, Alabama)

5 reviewed on May 07, 2015

Went up to Desoto Falls for the weekend with my significant other and luckily found this place nestled on a country back road. We were greeted by Magnolia and Sammie who were very nice, helpful, and accommodating. Loved the 8 min hike to Desoto Falls. Gorgeous views. No complaints. We'll definitely be coming back.

View more reviews for this inn


Quiet Retreat at Raven Haven Bed & Breakfast (Mentone, Alabama)

4.8 reviewed on April 22, 2015

I stayed during the first week in April 2015.Tony & Eleanor were wonderful hosts. I enjoyed my stay and slept well. The breakfasts were delicious. The grounds are beautiful.It is a very peaceful & serene setting. I will definitely go back. Dolores

View more reviews for this inn


I would definitely stay here again. The views are phenomenal! at Mentone Mountain View Inn (Mentone, Alabama)

4.8 reviewed on March 23, 2015

I stayed here for 3 nights in March 2015. I had a hard time choosing between this B&B and another B&B in Mentone which would have had more gourmet-type breakfast food with homemade jams. Well, I chose Mountain View Inn, and do not regret my choice!! The breakfasts were simple but tasty - just fine - and everything else was SPECTACULAR. From the outside, this home doesn't look like much, but on the inside it is gorgeous and everything is extremely high-end. We stayed in the Suite Sweetheart and loved having a private balcony, a massive jacuzzi with breathtaking views, a king size bed, and a fireplace in our room. I peeked in the other 3 suites and they all looked extremely nice as well. On the final night we were the only ones at the B&B and had the whole place to ourselves, which was great! The innkeeper, Joe, shows up every morning to make breakfast and he's hospitable, warm, and helpful. The panoramic views from the home are worth every penny - I have never stayed anywhere so beautiful.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place! at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

5 reviewed on March 18, 2015

Winston Place was pleasant, interesting and the people were extremely welcoming and nice. The breakfast was wonderful. We will plan to go back again!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place / Great View at The Secret - Bed & Breakfast Lodge (Leesburg, Alabama)

5 reviewed on February 16, 2015

We were there for Valentines day and it was wonderful. This is our third time staying at The Secret Bed and Breakfast. Charlie and Kris are great and want your stay to be a memorable one. The breakfast is delicious and the views are wonderful. It's a very peaceful location and a great place to go and unwind. We have already made plans to go back in July.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming, Comfy and relaxing. at Raven Haven Bed & Breakfast (Mentone, Alabama)

5 reviewed on February 02, 2015

Our stay was so wonderful and really exceeded our expectations. We had such a very nice time and enjoyed out hosts so much. They were very informative and interesting. The location was perfect and the breakfast was delicious each morning;and, each evening there was a nice surprise dessert waiting for us when we returned. Eleanor even shared some of her wonderful recipes. We hope to come back soon. Tony and Eleanor, thanks for your kind and warm hospitality. Betty and Tim Mitchell.

View more reviews for this inn


The best B&B stay I've ever had at Raven Haven Bed & Breakfast (Mentone, Alabama)

5 reviewed on January 31, 2015

Raven Haven is stupendous! Eleanor and Tony are superb hosts and anticipate your every need. The rooms are thoughtfully and tastefully decorated, not to mention impeccably clean. I can't wait for a future stay when the gardens are in bloom. Absolutely a lovely stay in every way.

View more reviews for this inn


A hidden gem at Raven Haven Bed & Breakfast (Mentone, Alabama)

5 reviewed on January 22, 2015

Tony and Eleanor were so welcoming, and the room we had was the Casablanca Room. We slept really well in this lovely quiet location, waking to a wonderful breakfast which included a choice of dishes, some being Eleanor's own creations, all of which were delicious. There was a choice of drinks, hot water, coffee and soft drinks, and we felt very at home, and felt valued as guests. We had freedom to come and go as we pleased, and the property is set back from the road, but within an easy drive of Mentone's centre. Thank you for some great memories which we shall take back to England with us.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Historic Retreat at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

4.6 reviewed on January 04, 2015

This is a beautiful historic home turned B&B. The hosts are gracious in sharing their space and making your stay relaxing and comfortable. There are at least two rooms that sleep four - which was a nice benefit for us. We were able to have our family together in one room. Our room was spacious with two queen beds and a lovely sitting area. The common area is very large with multiple group seating arrangements, a pool table, a refrigerator, a snack/beverage table, and a large stone fireplace. The Winston House is located in the western valley of Lookout Mountain, a nice place to get away from it all, but with some local shopping/restaurants in the quaint nearby Mentone Community. We would definitely choose Winston Place again. NOTE: I have seen some reviews that mention the train. Yes, it does run in front of the property, but the rumble and sound of the train was not disturbing in the least.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place! at The Secret - Bed & Breakfast Lodge (Leesburg, Alabama)

4.4 reviewed on December 08, 2014

I recently took my wife here for our 11th wedding anniversary. From the moment we pulled into the parking lot next to the main lodge, I knew I had found something wonderful. The view from The Secret is truly one to behold. The online pictures don't do it justice. Kris & Charlie met us upon our arrival and showed us around the property and made us feel at home. The lodge itself is older but don't let that dissuade you because the property is well taken care of. We stayed in Serenity, which is one of the 4 rooms located inside the lodge itself. The view from the balcony is absolutely breathtaking. My only complaint about the room was the small size of the bathroom but since you shouldn't be planning on spending a lot of time there it's not a deal breaker. Other than that, the room is of good size and has a country feel to it. Being Christmas time, the inside of the lodge is decorated with lots of Christmas decor. Wine, water and coffee are available in the evening time. There is a fire pit outside, also. Breakfast is served at 9am and for our breakfast we were served a breakfast casserole, fruit, grits, orange juice, water & coffee. Before we left the next day Kris and Charlie helped my wife gather some plant clippings to take home with us. All in all we had a great time and we will definitely be going back. The Secret is definitely one worth discovering, and Kris and Charlie are wonderful hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful and restful weekend getaway at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

5 reviewed on November 30, 2014

What a lovely time and Ms. Faye makes the visit extra special!

View more reviews for this inn


Serenity at Raven Haven Bed & Breakfast (Mentone, Alabama)

5 reviewed on November 10, 2014

Tony and Eleanor are greats hosts and wonderful people! I highly recommend it if you are wanting a quiet and serene place to stay. The breakfast and service is wonderful! Each room has a theme and the grounds are nice with little walking trails. We enjoyed every minute of it.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely B&B. at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

4.8 reviewed on November 10, 2014

A lovely B&B with fabulous hosts. We enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was delicious!

View more reviews for this inn


What a gem! at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

5 reviewed on October 29, 2014

Our anniversary stay with the Bunches was unforgettable! Their hospitality was over the top, breakfasts were generous and timed to fit our schedule. Jim is quite a cook. We made new friends and enjoyed the area. Who knew there is an antiquing trail of 7 stores there? We will be going back to address antiques more thoroughly. And we will again be staying at Winston Place. Highly recommended. I can't think of any cons for the trip.

View more reviews for this inn


Classy B&B at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

5 reviewed on October 28, 2014

We greatly appreciated the hospitality and warm hearty welcome from Jim and Leslie. Our wedding was to take place at 4 p.m. so we needed a little extra time to dress and the Winston Place was the perfect setting and an hour early arrival was extended to us. The photographer came and took several shots at this beautiful home prior to departure to the chapel. The room was very well appointed. The bed large and comfortable. Wood shudders allowed us a later than usual wake up time as the light from outside was completely blocked. Breakfast was hot and seasoned perfectly with plenty of coffee and endless refill of OJ from our host. We highly recommend a night or two stay at Winston Place with Jim and Leslie.

View more reviews for this inn


Friendly People, Relaxing Stay at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

4.2 reviewed on October 19, 2014

We had a great one night stay at Winston Place. Jim and Leslie were away, but they left Faye in charge and she was phenomenal! I assume if they hire staff as attentive as she is, then they must be the same way. Upon arrival, she gave us the grand tour, told us some stories about the house, and settled on the morning menu. When she asked my favorite food, I jokingly replied "rice!". It is true, but it was not expected for breakfast. Well....to my surprise she had it ready for me the next morning. The food was great and the bed was really comfortable. I loved that we had access to the porch from our room as well. We enjoyed playing pool downstairs after heading to town for dinner. It is in a peaceful area, but there are train tracks. It did take some getting used to, but the other guest assured me that after the first night, you don't even hear it. I would have to agree as it didn't bother me later in the night. Even so, it's better than staying in some random chain hotel! The service is much better too. Also, it's close to a state park and a national preserve for hiking/swimming as well.

View more reviews for this inn


Arrived as "Guests", left as "Family". (Faye) at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

5 reviewed on October 14, 2014

We hosted a reception following the High School Reunion for Valley Head HS. We felt as if we were hosting at our own antebellum mansion. Faye was wonderful, helped with our setup, allowed our guests to tour the house (without interfering with the other guests) and help, mostly did... our clean up. Great experience. We look forward to making it an annual event.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderfully Relaxing at Raven Haven Bed & Breakfast (Mentone, Alabama)

5 reviewed on October 09, 2014

One of our best B&B experiences. Tony & Eleanor are wonderful host. Delicious breakfast. Our room was clean, roomy, quiet & comfortable. Very relaxing weekend and we hope to retun soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Exactly what we hoped for at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

5 reviewed on September 21, 2014

Beautiful antebellum home full of history! Just what we were expecting! Comfortable accommodations and the hosts were very enjoyable to talk to. Definitely recommend it!

View more reviews for this inn


Best weekend ever! at The Secret - Bed & Breakfast Lodge (Leesburg, Alabama)

5 reviewed on September 17, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed the weekend here. I had stayed in a Bed and Breakfast before but this was my husbands first time. Needless to say he was amazed and understands now why I like them so much. It was so peaceful there that he did not want to leave. Charles and Kris are great host. They make you feel like family from the moment you arrive. The breakfast's that we were served were out of this world! I ask my husband every week when we are going back. Can't wait for our next visit. Chris and Lynne Taylor

View more reviews for this inn


Historical home, Super nice people at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

2.8 reviewed on August 16, 2014

The home is beautiful but unfortunately could use some upkeep and a deep cleaning. When we arrived, the house smelled unpleasant, but it wasn't from age. A Scentsy would really help. It's important to know, also, that a train runs just outside the front yard TWICE during the night. Breakfast is adequate but not very well cooked in the stunningly lovely dining room. There were scrambled eggs, bacon, and an oven baked French toast with juice and coffee served on beautiful dishes. This was my favorite room of the house. The double verandas were amazing to sit out on and several rooms had their own door to the balcony. The house is very interesting to see if you like history as much of it is original, but remember this house is nearly 200 years old. Floors shake, and doors closed downstairs make the beds upstairs tremble. I am glad I went because the house is beautiful and so is the area just a few miles outside Ft. Payne and right below the famous Lookout Mountain, but I would not stay again. The photos make it look better than it is. I have to say the owners are some of the nicest people you will ever meet.

View more reviews for this inn


Raven Haven is one of the best B&B's ever! at Raven Haven Bed & Breakfast (Mentone, Alabama)

5 reviewed on July 24, 2014

Eleanor and Tony have such a beautiful home and they generously welcomed me for a weekend visit. Their gardens and every detail were immaculately done. Tony handled the reservation and all communications quickly and made sure I had just what I wanted. Eleanor even cooked delicious gluten-free food to accommodate my dietary needs. I felt like I was at home with 'mom' - she even left me a yummy apple crumble on the sideboard when i came in late one night. Every bite of breakfast was perfect. Both of them were kind and generous, with delightful humor and graciousness. I look forward to staying at Raven Haven again soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Getaway at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

5 reviewed on June 20, 2014

Winston Place is a wonderful place to get away for a time to just relax. The house is beautiful and we enjoyed learning about its interesting history. The breakfasts were outstanding. We would love to visit again.

View more reviews for this inn


A delight at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

5 reviewed on June 13, 2014

Gem of a property hosted by one of the nicest guys you'll ever meet. Great full breakfast too.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Experience at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

4.8 reviewed on May 27, 2014

We stayed at Winston Place while visiting the area. It was wonderful location for visiting Ft. Payne, Mentone, DeSoto Falls, and Little River Canyon National Preserve. Jim, Leslie, and Jean made us feel very welcome and special. We have stayed in numerous B&B's and loved this one enough to return if we are ever in NE Alabama again. Our room was large except for a very small bathroom. We loved sitting on the veranda outside of our room. Jim's breakfasts were wonderful with more than you could eat of eggs, French toast, bacon, biscuits, fruit, and that southern tradition of grits. The only negative that we experienced was the passing of several trains during the night on our first night. the second night only one passed by. As I said, we would return if we are ever in the area again.

View more reviews for this inn


My stay at Winston Place at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

5 reviewed on May 19, 2014

The breakfast was outstanding and the stay was wonderfully relaxing. Janet

View more reviews for this inn


A romantic getaway at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

4.8 reviewed on April 16, 2014

We loved the house and the grounds, especially the beautiful old trees. The place is steeped in history, and breakfast was amazing! It's conveniently located near Mentone, and DeSoto state park.

View more reviews for this inn


birthday getaway at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

4.6 reviewed on March 09, 2014

interesting history of the place beautiful setting jim is very entertaining with his alabama football stories

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}