Get a free $100 with a gift card purchase of $350

Recent Reviews in Mentone, Alabama

Historical home, Super nice people at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

2.8 reviewed on August 16, 2014

The home is beautiful but unfortunately could use some upkeep and a deep cleaning. When we arrived, the house smelled unpleasant, but it wasn't from age. A Scentsy would really help. It's important to know, also, that a train runs just outside the front yard TWICE during the night. Breakfast is adequate but not very well cooked in the stunningly lovely dining room. There were scrambled eggs, bacon, and an oven baked French toast with juice and coffee served on beautiful dishes. This was my favorite room of the house. The double verandas were amazing to sit out on and several rooms had their own door to the balcony. The house is very interesting to see if you like history as much of it is original, but remember this house is nearly 200 years old. Floors shake, and doors closed downstairs make the beds upstairs tremble. I am glad I went because the house is beautiful and so is the area just a few miles outside Ft. Payne and right below the famous Lookout Mountain, but I would not stay again. The photos make it look better than it is. I have to say the owners are some of the nicest people you will ever meet.

View more reviews for this inn


Raven Haven is one of the best B&B's ever! at Raven Haven Bed & Breakfast (Mentone, Alabama)

5 reviewed on July 24, 2014

Eleanor and Tony have such a beautiful home and they generously welcomed me for a weekend visit. Their gardens and every detail were immaculately done. Tony handled the reservation and all communications quickly and made sure I had just what I wanted. Eleanor even cooked delicious gluten-free food to accommodate my dietary needs. I felt like I was at home with 'mom' - she even left me a yummy apple crumble on the sideboard when i came in late one night. Every bite of breakfast was perfect. Both of them were kind and generous, with delightful humor and graciousness. I look forward to staying at Raven Haven again soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Getaway at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

5 reviewed on June 20, 2014

Winston Place is a wonderful place to get away for a time to just relax. The house is beautiful and we enjoyed learning about its interesting history. The breakfasts were outstanding. We would love to visit again.

View more reviews for this inn


A delight at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

5 reviewed on June 13, 2014

Gem of a property hosted by one of the nicest guys you'll ever meet. Great full breakfast too.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Experience at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

4.8 reviewed on May 27, 2014

We stayed at Winston Place while visiting the area. It was wonderful location for visiting Ft. Payne, Mentone, DeSoto Falls, and Little River Canyon National Preserve. Jim, Leslie, and Jean made us feel very welcome and special. We have stayed in numerous B&B's and loved this one enough to return if we are ever in NE Alabama again. Our room was large except for a very small bathroom. We loved sitting on the veranda outside of our room. Jim's breakfasts were wonderful with more than you could eat of eggs, French toast, bacon, biscuits, fruit, and that southern tradition of grits. The only negative that we experienced was the passing of several trains during the night on our first night. the second night only one passed by. As I said, we would return if we are ever in the area again.

View more reviews for this inn


My stay at Winston Place at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

5 reviewed on May 19, 2014

The breakfast was outstanding and the stay was wonderfully relaxing. Janet

View more reviews for this inn


A romantic getaway at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

4.8 reviewed on April 16, 2014

We loved the house and the grounds, especially the beautiful old trees. The place is steeped in history, and breakfast was amazing! It's conveniently located near Mentone, and DeSoto state park.

View more reviews for this inn


birthday getaway at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

4.6 reviewed on March 09, 2014

interesting history of the place beautiful setting jim is very entertaining with his alabama football stories

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful! at Raven Haven Bed & Breakfast (Mentone, Alabama)

5 reviewed on March 04, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Raven Haven. The hosts were very friendly and put us at ease, the home was spotless and the breakfasts were absolutely delicious! Very relaxing weekend!

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful Getaway at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

5 reviewed on February 23, 2014

My husband and I just got back from the Winston Place to celebrate our anniversary, and we couldn't be happier with our decision to stay there. The hospitality and food were wonderful. The breakfast was so filling that we didn't eat anything until dinner that night. The house was beautiful with an abundance of history throughout the entire house. We are already looking at the calendar to see when we can visit again. Mark and Stephanie Bria

View more reviews for this inn


R&R at Raven Haven Bed & Breakfast (Mentone, Alabama)

5 reviewed on February 20, 2014

We have stayed with Tony and Eleanor for many years and will continue to return "home". Their home/property is very pretty and everything is spotless! The breakfasts rival any top restaurant. They have spoiled us for any other B&B!

View more reviews for this inn


Valentine's Getaway at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

5 reviewed on February 18, 2014

We enjoyed our night at the Bed and Breakfast, we got the full history of the house which was enjoyable as well as great recommendations of places to eat and things to do in the area. It was our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast, and we definitely have high standards from now on. We hope to return in the fall when the trees are so colorful! Definitely a neat place to stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Best Bed and Breakfast Experience at Raven Haven Bed & Breakfast (Mentone, Alabama)

5 reviewed on February 17, 2014

Tony and Eleanor were the absolute best! We enjoyed getting to know them and especially enjoyed the wonderful home cooked food. After a great dinner in Mentone, we arrived back at Raven Haven to wonderful homemade dessert! The beautiful accommodations were the perfect match for a weekend in the mountains. Getting to know the sweet hosts was the icing on the cake!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Weekend! at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

5 reviewed on January 23, 2014

We had an amazing weekend. Leslie and Ms. Faye made our stay so enjoyable and the food was fantastic. When we left my wife made the remark that it felt like we were leaving family. We have stayed in many Bed and Breakfast places across the Southeast and Winston Place is by far the best we have ever seen!

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous! at Raven Haven Bed & Breakfast (Mentone, Alabama)

4.4 reviewed on December 17, 2013

Excellent weekend away. Hostesses were very friendly & accommodating. Food/Service was wonderful. We would definitely stay again!

View more reviews for this inn


awesome place at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

5 reviewed on October 29, 2013

So peaceful and relaxing. Booked again to celebrate our 20th anniversary next month. Fun innkeepers/owners share theur home and its history...Ann

View more reviews for this inn


Sheer Awesomeness at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

4.8 reviewed on October 26, 2013

You will love the Winston if you are a history buff....then again you will still love it if history is not your thing. Jim Bunch is a wonderful host and a fabulous cook. Best stuffed french toast ever!! His tour of the home along with its history is a must.....I enjoyed casual coffee in the kitchen with Leslie, the other guests, and an endless plate of cookies. If the opportunity arises I will definitely stay again. Debbie F.

View more reviews for this inn


Enchantment at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

5 reviewed on September 06, 2013

My wife and I spent 2.5 days at the Winston Place and boy did we hit the jackpot. The scenery is second to none if you love Northern Alabama as we do. Nestled in a valley Winston Place offers charm, elegance and outstanding hospitality. The owners, Jim and Leslie Bunch, along with their sweet sidekicks, Faye and Earnest Ross bend over backwards to make you feel like you are their family. The evening spent on the spacious front porch make all worthwhile. BTW, Jim makes a mean cup of coffee, not to mention Faye's killer blackberry cobbler. As far points of interest, Valley Head has it all, including it's own history which Leslie will gladly tell you about. All in all, we have some new friends and will be back later this fall when the maples are in full strut. Thanks Jim, Leslie, Faye and Earnest for making my wife's birthday "the best birthday I have ever had." Not much need to add any more.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic get away! at Raven Haven Bed & Breakfast (Mentone, Alabama)

5 reviewed on August 24, 2013

Oh, wow!!!!! What a joy it was to spend 3 nights at Raven Haven! Tony and Eleanor are so precious and have a real gift for hospitality! Their home and yards are beautiful . We thoroughly enjoyed every minute with them! They're so thoughtful and do so many things to make you feel totally welcome and at home. You'll feel as if you've known them forever and feel like family. The breakfasts are absolutely fantastic! They greet you when you arrive with hugs and homemade snack breads. There's always a delicious dessert waiting for you after you get back from supper. It was so restful to sit or walk around their yards and enjoy all the flowers and butterflies and goldfish pond. We even saw 3 deer! What a wonderful joy it was to be there with them ! We're definitely planning to come back!!!!!

View more reviews for this inn


A very unique place, a diamond, well preserved from another century at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

5 reviewed on August 23, 2013

A real romantic place in perfect conditions, run by overwhelmig friendly people!

View more reviews for this inn


Very enjoyable at Raven Haven Bed & Breakfast (Mentone, Alabama)

4.2 reviewed on August 21, 2013

The innkeepers treated us like we had been friend forever! The food was wonderful and plentiful! Comfortable accommodations!

View more reviews for this inn


Treat yourself to this Southern Bed and Breakfast at Raven Haven Bed & Breakfast (Mentone, Alabama)

5 reviewed on August 18, 2013

"Raven Haven" of Mentone, Alabama offers its fortunate guests a beautiful and quiet setting, exquisite gardens, gorgeous decor, gracious and attentive hosts, as well as outstanding preparation and presentation of cuisine. We highly recommend this wonderful Bed and Breakfast to anyone visiting in this part of Alabama or as a final destination. We look forward to staying with Tony and Eleanor Teverino in their lovely home, again, in the future. Thank you, Kathy and Keath Bordeaux, Stone Mt. Georgia

View more reviews for this inn


a remote place at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

3.2 reviewed on August 15, 2013

The place is a little remote. Dining choices are limited. Great state park closeby. Close to the railway tracks, will wak you up at least once a night.

View more reviews for this inn


Comments on experience at Raven Haven Bed & Breakfast (Mentone, Alabama)

4.8 reviewed on August 12, 2013

This was, by far, the best B&B experience we have had. Very friendly and accommodating hosts. Very clean rooms. Great food. Great setting.

View more reviews for this inn


127 yardsale trip at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

5 reviewed on August 06, 2013

We totally enjoyed our stay at the Winston Place. Our hosts were very accommodating and the breakfast was fantastic. If we are ever back in NW Alabama definitely we will be staying at the Winston Place again.

View more reviews for this inn


Breath Taking at The Secret - Bed & Breakfast Lodge (Leesburg, Alabama)

5 reviewed on August 05, 2013

Our expierence at The Secret - Bed & Breakfast Lodge was amazing, breath taking, relaxing, fun! The food was amazing as was the wine. The host was very friendly, funny, kind, informative, and gracious. We enjoyed our selfs and will return with our family friends.

View more reviews for this inn


Winston Place at Winston Place Bed & Breakfast (Valley Head, Alabama)

5 reviewed on July 31, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Winston Place. The atmosphere and company were both great! Not to mention the excellent breakfast.I would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

View more reviews for this inn


The best private get away ever at The Secret - Bed & Breakfast Lodge (Leesburg, Alabama)

4.6 reviewed on July 29, 2013

My wife and I are from Michigan and were looking for a place to stay before checking out Little River Canyon Federal Park. We passed the Secret Bed and Breakfast and I wondered what it could be like. We then stopped to get some gas and asked where a good place to stay over night. The attended pointed out other placed to stay. He did not mention "The Secret" so I asked about it. I was told it was pricey. We checked it out anyway and the attendant was way off. It was very affordable, private and the best service ever. We are planning on a longer stay in the future and have been raving about the great memories there. Charles was running the Inn all by himself while his wife was away on other business. He was extremely hospitable and treated us like old friends. The breakfast he prepared for us was amazing and the evening wine was great, per my wife Dianne. We swam in the beautiful pool overlooking the valley and lake Weiss. What a wonderful place to get away from the every day rat race. Eric Common

View more reviews for this inn


Well worth the trip! at Raven Haven Bed & Breakfast (Mentone, Alabama)

5 reviewed on July 29, 2013

My husband and I journeyed to Mentone over the weekend and had the very pleasant opportunity to stay at Raven Haven. We were immediately made welcome, even though we arrived early. The inn is located in a beautiful, peaceful setting just outside town. It is exceptionally clean and inviting--you feel "at home" from the minute you arrive. The beds are comfortable, the fellowship wonderful and the food is absolutely extraordinary. Each room is themed and the Casablanca room is very romantic and handicap accessible. From the evenings special dessert to the wonderful gourmet breakfast our stay was wonderful, If you are looking for some R&R or just a chance to reconnect with nature, spirit or that special someone, Raven Haven is well worth the trip! You will NOT be disappointed.

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful Experience! at Raven Haven Bed & Breakfast (Mentone, Alabama)

5 reviewed on July 24, 2013

My husband and I have been to Raven Haven twice now, and even sent my parents there for their anniversary. We have never met a sweeter couple than Tony and Eleanor. It truly feels like we are coming home. They go above and beyond to make your stay unforgettable. There is a homemade dessert waiting for you each evening when you return from dinner that is out of this world good. I haven't had anything that compares with the breakfasts. There is something new every morning and it is some of the most delicious food that I have ever eaten. I would recommend this place to anyone! You won't be disappointed.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}