Holiday Guest House Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service5.0
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
39 Reviews

Write A Review

We are going BACK

5 on June 03, 2014

My husband & I just got back from staying here for 3 nights. We couldn't ask for more. Bill & Michael couldn't do enough for us. They recommened 3 outstnding restaurants, Joshua's and The Clay Hill Farm & for lunch Mikes Clam Bar (they do dinner here also). We enjoyed our time that we booked again in October. That should tell you enough.


Out of a fairytale

4.8 on October 28, 2013

Staying in Ogunquit, in general, is gorgeous and like it is straight out of a storybook, but staying in the Holiday Guest House was magic. The home is refined and well decorated. The proprietors were so kind and helpful, and their breakfast was yummy! We would have liked more meat in the breakfast, but I believe it was the luck of the draw! The establishment is clean and it feels like you are walking in your own family home it is so quaint. The room we stayed in (the West Room) had it's own bathroom, a fireplace, a refrigerator, wine glasses, a television, and optional air conditioner. Furthermore, the location to activities and food really worked for us. I could write a great deal more about how happy we were with our stay, but I'll leave you the joy of being pleasantly surprised. So to sum it up, yes, you should stay here!


Delightful Stay

4.6 on October 07, 2013

We were appreciative of the fact that Holiday Guest House would honor a one night request as we only had one night to spend in the Wells area. Our hosts were warm and welcoming; the chocolate chip cookies were a favorite of my husbands. A flexible breakfast schedule is a nice option, as well. Maybe we shouldn't mention Snickers, but because we had been away from our home and precious pet for over a week, we loved seeing Snickers!


Perfect Place To Stay

4.8 on July 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the B&B for 4 nights. The room, the breakfasts, and the service were all amazing. Absolutely no complaints. Mike and Bill were perfect hosts. Every detail was covered. I don't mind paying this much when everything was so great. We will go back again..


One of the Best!

5 on July 19, 2013

Michael and Bill were wonderful hosts and our stay at Holiday Guest House was one of the best B&B experiences we've ever had! The room was comfortable, quiet and private and the breakfasts were delicious. They were even able to accommodate my gluten-free needs. Michael and Bill were also very helpful in arranging a last-minute dinner reservation for us so we could celebrate our anniversary. We will definitely return to this B&B when we visit the area again.


All's well that ends in Wells

4.6 on July 04, 2013

Our two-night stay in Holliday Guest House could hardly have been better. In fact, it was so good that it made up for the rainy weather on our second day. MIchael and Bill provided exceptionally fine service, detailed excursion advice, congenial hosting, and breakfasts worthy of abandoning diet observance. House and gardens provided a fine New England setting.


Get away weekend

5 on May 24, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend staying at the holiday house. Great are Close to everything. Michael and William were wonderful Hosts. We will definitely return!!!


We wish we were still there

5 on October 28, 2012

This was our first visit to Maine and we are already planning a return visit. The Holiday Guest House was a wondrous experience from the moment we arrived to the moment we hugged the owners upon our exit. The room was beautiful, and the afternoon cookies and morning breakfast were delicious beyond belief. An ideal visit to an idyllic locale,


Adorable! (And I'm just talking about the owners!)

5 on October 07, 2012

Great location, great house, great food, and great company! The owners are two of the most fabulous, funny, and lovable people you'll ever meet. They book months in advance and it's easy to see why.


5 star accomdations!

5 on October 07, 2012

We stayed 5 nights. Perfect New England B&B! Exceptionally clean, great location, hosts Bill & Michael were wonderful! Helpful, not overbearing, fun to chat with and excellent knowledge of the area's restaurants, shops and attractions. Definitely recommend to couples for that perfect weekend in Southern Maine. Excellent breakfast everyday in a lovely sun porch. 5 stars...5 diamonds..whatever you call it, worth every penny!!!!


Lucky Like a Four Leaf Clover

5 on September 23, 2012

This was our first B&B ever -- and we know we were lucky to have had such a tasteful, charming stay. We stayed at 3 more B&Bs through the week due to travel -- but Bill & Mike set the bar so high -- no other B&B came close.


Perfect Getaway

5 on September 11, 2012

We loved this B&B -- stunning decor, warm welcome, spotlessly clean, and great food. Plenty of places outside & in to relax, read, chat. Perfect New England!


Location, Location, Location!

5 on September 04, 2012

We really enjoyed the hospitality, the location, the celebrities and spacious rooms! Michael & Bill are wonderful innkeepers!


Loads of Fun

5 on August 14, 2012

The rooms were great and beautifully decorated. The hosts were happy, energetic, and great to be around. The titanic music was great with morning breakfast. Overall, outstanding and I would recommend it to everyone.


Beautiful Classic Inn

5 on August 14, 2012

Lovely decor and accommodating host. Cooked to order and very clean, spacious rooms. Will definitely stay again.


Holiday Guest House

5 on August 13, 2012

Just fabulous.


Romantic and fun get away!

5 on August 13, 2012

Bill & Michael made us feel right at home. Our room was so beautiful and romantic. We loved it and plan on staying 2 nights next time.


Excellent Experience

5 on August 12, 2012

We enjoyed the very warm and hearty welcome and the great breakfasts; the room was wonderful (Eleanor Roosevelt stayed there).


I loved it, loved it

5 on July 24, 2012

Delicious food, clean, comfortable rooms. The innkeepers, Bill & Mike are so welcoming. I will definitely go back. I give it four stars.


Wonderful -- Highly Recommended

5 on July 07, 2012

Michael and Bill are very gracious hosts. The room was confortable and immaculate. The breakfast was to die for. Definitely would recommend this B&B to everyone. The Dearborns


Holiday Guest House

5 on February 12, 2012

This was our 3rd stay at this B&B. The service, food, cleanliness, comfort exceeded all expectations. We wouldn't stay anywhere but at this guest house when visiting this area. Highly recommended.


Worth making an excuse just to go!!

5 on January 07, 2012

I have been a guest at the house twice now; both in 2010 and 2011 and can I say uberfantastic! Michael and Bill and oh yeah Snickers, are some of the the most friendly, knowledgable and well-seasoned owners/hosts I have ever stayed with. Both times I have visited, I have been traveling with my fiancé and parents so thats four people to please and each time our expectations are exceeded. The location is very convenient. You have Portland to the north and Boston to the south. The house has a little bookcase with all sorts of visitor information and Michael and Bill are more the helpful with their recommendations and cautions. These guys know how to make you feel welcome but aren't peeking over your shoulder everywhere in the house. They provide just the right amount of interaction while still respecting your privacy. The house is spotless and decorated perfectly. They change the decor periodically which makes each time you visit different. The breakfasts are homemade and include so much. Fresh fruit, fresh baked breads, juice, coffee and thats all BEFORE the entree; with cookies in the evening. You can eat in the sunroom at your own private tables if you wish and the landscaping and the wildlife make the meal. No joking, chipmunks and cardinals were running around just outside of the sunroom during breakfast. You definitely get more than your moneys worth at this B&B. Although this year we were visiting a different part of New England, I seriously made up an excuse just to stop over for one night! Just beware though, you will be spoiled by this B&B and it might skew you opinions on any places you stay after. Don, Robyn, Doug and Marina CA


First time at a B&B ever!

4.6 on November 07, 2011

Our first experience at a B&B couldn't have been better! Holiday Guest House is quaint, clean, beautiful, and perfect in every way!


Home Away from Home

5 on November 05, 2011

We spent two lovely nights here in mid-October. Holiday Guest House has been lovingly restored by Innkeepers Michael and Bill. What a cozy and welcoming place this is! We enjoyed our stay and sincerely hope we can visit again. Breakfast was amazing - we felt such warmth in this charming inn. Loved it! Chris and Rich - California Hi to Snickers!


Warm and welcoming !!

3.8 on September 15, 2011

We stayed at the Holiday guest house BB 3 nights on the labor week-end and it was absolutely perfect. The hosts are extremely nice and very friendly and welcoming and the hot breakfast is absolutely amazing !! hats off to the chef. The rooms are nice, comfortable and very charming. The beach is about a 15 min walk and the locations allows you to easily discover the area. We would recommend without hesitation this BB for its charm and the warm welcome that we received from the owners. Lyne and Gilles from Montreal, Canada


Wonderful stay

4.6 on September 13, 2011

It was lovely and charming. Michael and Bill were extraordinary hosts with excellent knowledge of the area. The breakfasts were scrumptious. You must try the fruit french toast!


Feels like home!

4.4 on August 16, 2011

Innkeepers Michael and Bill are SO KIND!!! We were treated like king and queen, and breakfast was outstanding. They were very generous for sharing informations about Wells and Ogunquit, always smiling at us and teasing each other a little, they definitely know how to receive people. Thank you both of you!


An addition to our favorite places!

4.8 on August 15, 2011

My husband, son, & I were guests the weekend of August 12th. Bill & Michael could not have been more charming hosts! Throughout the weekend, they made sure we were more than content, with warm chocolate chip cookies and Saturday night wine & cheese. The breakfasts were outstanding and would surely be tough competition for the hottest local breakfast spots. The house was immaculate and we loved everything about our stay!


Full of Charm

4.6 on August 07, 2011

This B&B is immaculate and the decor is absolutely stunning. The innkeepers are very nice and have impeccable attention to detail. The breakfasts were delicious and there was plenty to eat - and the coffee was great! If you prefer to get away from the traffic and crowds of downtown Ogunquit, this is a great place to stay. It is a bit pricey, but no more than the rest of Ogunquit in the summer - especially compared with what you get for the money.


Best B & B we’ve ever stayed at!

5 on July 30, 2011

We checked in on a Sunday in July and left, very reluctantly, the following Friday. We felt like it was our home, and Bill and Michael our relatives! We stayed in the 1st floor Roosevelt room, which was beautifully appointed with antiques and very spacious, as was the modern bathroom en suite. All of the downstairs rooms were original to the house and kept that way, and we just loved being in them! It was a privilege to stay there. The entire house was spotless no matter the time of day, too. We loved that. The breakfasts were scrumptious and beautifully presented. We were so stuffed each morning we never ate lunch... we had enough to keep going until our nightly lobster meal! Our hosts truly have the gift of hospitality, and great senses of humor! Their knowledge of the area was greatly appreciated, too. Being next door to the trolley stop, where 2 of the main lines meet was a great way to ride around and get to know the area, too. Even though we live way down in Kentucky, we are already figuring out when we might be able to come north again...it is THAT good! We have stayed at at least 20 inns during the past 5 or 6 years, and we have decided, Michael and Bill...yours is the best!


Amazing stay!

4.6 on June 06, 2011

The house was beautiful and very well decorated with antiques of the period in which it was built. I am very picky and I found this place to be exceptionally clean. The hot breakfasts were freshly cooked per couple as you arrive to your table. French toast made w/ Italian bread & fresh berries; eggs benedict(amazing); fresh fruits and pastries... I also liked that there were separate tables for each couple so you weren't sitting and eating with people you never met before, which can sometimes be awkward. The best part of the stay was the friendliness and hospitality of the owners, Bill and Michael. They made us very comfortable from the first second to the last making sure everything was perfect. You couldn't ask for nicer people than them! Gotta love "Snickers" the resident dachshund. Great stay!!!


excellent stay, even better hosts

5 on May 30, 2011

Our stay with Mike and Bill was more than we could have hoped for. You could not ask for better hosts, or better hospitality. The house was immaculately kept, with beautiful rooms, private, modern bathrooms, a nice clean and private pool, steps away from the Trolley stop to Ogunquit or Wells. The food was amazing, from homemade baked goods in the afternoon, to breakfast complete with homemade breads, coffee cakes, fresh fruit, eggs benedict (worth the stay alone) and berry french toast. They also serve wine and cheese in the evenings. Mike and Bill were very knowledgeable about everything in the area, from what places had live music, to the best restaurants. We enjoyed every minute and will definitly be returning.


Lovely New England B&B

5 on May 24, 2011

We just returned from a weekend stay at the Holiday Guest House. It’s a lovely B&B, decorated with antiques. The rooms are beautifully furnished and well thought out with all the amenities you can want while away from home. The innkeepers, Bill and Michael, are gracious hosts and ready to help in any way possible. The breakfasts, served in a charming porch area, are delicious and served with a smile. We had a wonderful few days and would definitely return. Luis and Barbara


We've Found Our Maine Escape!

4.8 on April 20, 2011

Michael and Bill greeted us by name as soon as we arrived and immediately made us feel that we were welcome guests in their home; from the personal greeting, the attention paid to our dietary preferences, and the wealth of local information they shared with us, it was actually more comfortable than going to visit relatives! We were welcomed to their opening weekend this season and introduced to the other guests we met at breakfast daily. Fresh warm cookies in the afternoon, great water pressure in the roomy shower, the beautiful, very comfortable room, and the history of the inn all combined with our hosts great humor and hospitality made our long weekend one we've already decided will become a yearly event. As a frequent visitor to the Wells region of Maine, I can't imagine ever staying anywhere other than with Michael and Bill. If our children travel with us, we were really happy to hear that they also have a cottage available to rent that would allow us the space for family that a B&B does not. Both properties are very convenient to Wells, Oqunquit, and Kennebunk, making the location ideal for beach walking, shopping, great dining and simply relaxing. It was great to meet you both; look for us in the fall!


A wonderful slice of Maine!

5 on April 17, 2011

Hands down, the Holiday Guest House is a wonderful place to stay. Michael and Bill are great hosts. They offer great humor, top notch service, and are reasons to come back time after time. The rooms are all nicely decorated, the beds are soft, and breakfast is so good, you may skip lunch! This is a perfect B&B for couples looking for a quiet and memorable stay.


Can't wait to return!!

5 on July 18, 2010

Just returned from a wonderful stay at Holiday Guest House. From the moment we walked thru the door Bill and Mike made us feel comfortable and at home. The B&B had all the charm you could want and having two gracious and personable hosts just enhanced our stay. They had wine and cheese for us Saturday evening from 5 - 6 ( We actually continued to drink wine to closer to 7 ). They took the time to join us and give us the history of the house and surrounding area. They were also knowlegeable in the shows and activities in the community. The pool area was clean and sunny. We had a great breakfast of French Toast with fresh fruit and bacon. Bill also made a apple cinnimon cake and lemon poppy seed cake. I would encourage anyone visiting or vacationing in the Oqunquit Wells area to make certain they stay at Holiday Guest house. I know Brenda and I will be returning in the near future. Stephen B


Warm welcome and good humor

4.0 on July 10, 2010

After an extended drive in holiday traffic, we were fortunate to be greeted by the Innkeepers with warm welcome and good humor. The inn was clean and efficient with a reservoir of history that we learned throughout our stay. The hospitality of the keepers along with their recommendations on the local area made for a wonderful weekend.


Neat Place!

4.8 on July 09, 2010

We had just a little overnighter at the Holiday Guest House--and loved it. Even Mom never spoiled us as much as Michael and Bill did. Both went far beyond my expectations of accommodation. They both love what they do and genuinely appreciate the visits of their guests. Give them a try--you won't be disappointed. PS--the cinnamon coffee cake is fantastic!


An ultimate experience!

5 on June 03, 2010

This was my first stay in a real B&B, and it was so much more than I could have hoped for. We were greeted with the aroma of freshly baked chocolate chip cookies and shared wine and cheese with our awesome hosts after settling into our gorgeous room. We stayed in the Littlefield Room, but got to look at the other rooms which are all equally beautiful. Michael and Bill are wonderful hosts who made sure every aspect of our visit was perfect. Breakfast was unbelievable - scrumptious Eggs Benedict one morning, yummy blueberry pancakes the other morning - plus fruit, homemade poppy seed bread, quiche, terrific coffee, and more. You do not go away hungry! If you want a B&B experience that will make you want to come back for more, stay at Holiday Guest House. I can't wait to go back!


Holiday Guest House Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $150 - $235
  • Reviews (39) 4.8
  • Rooms 4

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2076465400

Visit Website »

View details

Top