Bourne Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
28 Reviews

Write A Review

Could be a great place.

3.4 on August 07, 2014

B&B is beautiful inside. Charlie's a nice guy, but all of the "house rules" did not make for a relaxing stay. There are numerous signs posted to remove your shoes before going into the house. There's a barricade into the DR/LR area that warns additional fees may be applied should you wear shoes in the house. Coffee is available at 0800 and there are places within walking distance if you want coffee before that. There's a sign on the coffee makers saying you can't start the coffee before 0800. There's a little fridge with Cremora available. I bought half and half that all the guests enjoyed using. Previous ratings describe omelets and warm croissants - we had a small custard cup with some yogurt and berries, a 2x2 inch baked egg dish (quite tasty), a 2-bite piece of banana bread and a clementine. Lots of sugary items. A comment was made about charging people who throw their plastic cups away in their room instead of carrying them into the barricaded dining room for recycling. Oh, and keep the front door locked. Even if you're on the porch. Even though the office is right in the front foyer. "For insurance reasons". But the day after the couple left that Charlie didn't like, he was leaving the door open all the time. And why would I take my shoes off and leave them on the front porch after being made to feel we weren't in a safe area? It's a little creepy to have your host talk about your personal items in your room. My suggestions: Accommodate your guest rather than make them feel they're accommodating you. Get a Keurig so people can have coffee when they want it. Splurge on half and half. Resign yourself that rooms need to be vacuumed daily. Take down threatening notes. Don't trash your guests. And try to spruce up breakfast. And a dresser that could actually hold a week's worth of clothing would be nice. That way you'd have to rummage through the drawers to see what we have......


A New Favorite Weekend Getaway Spot

5 on November 24, 2013

What a fantastic experience! I will definitely be a repeat guest at Bourne Bed & Breakfast. The room was clean, comfortable and had wonderful natural light. The breakfast was wonderful with a variety of choices and homemade pumpkin bread as a delicious added bonus. The host was extremely helpful in pointing out local eateries and attractions and took the time to show us on a map. I have had some not-so-great experiences with some B&Bs in Maine and am happy to say that this one is a cut above. I would definitely recommend a stay here and will be back again.


Another great stay at the Bourne B&B Ogunquit

4.6 on October 14, 2013

My wife & I just returned home from another very nice stay at the Bourne B&B. We have been staying at the Bourne since it was the Morning Dove when Jane was the Innkeeper. maybe 10 years ago. Clean, comfortable with a touch of home already booked 2 more visits. Thanks again Charlie!


WE LOVE THE BOURNE B&B

5 on August 13, 2013

We booked the Bourne purely by chance and will never stay anywhere else in Ogunquit but there. Charlie is a great host, personable and has a great sense of humor. B3 is situated out of the way on a side street yet still close enough to walk to beach, Perkins Cove, Marginal Way and downtown shops and restaurants. The rooms are great, large , clean and very comfortable. We loved B3 and we will be back, maybe in the fall!


A New Favorit

4.6 on October 01, 2012

As driving enthusiasts, our little group has visited many delightful B & B's in many different corners of many different states. We just found a new favorite! Meeting Charlie and Ross and experiencing their hospitality was such a treat! The house is charming, the rooms clean and comfortable and the feeling of being genuinely welcome came across loud and clear. Ogunquik is a gem of a city and the Bourne is perfectly located for walkers, bikers and even for those with limited mobility...the Trolley rolls right past the house. Breakfast was delicious as were the recommendations and suggestions we received on places to eat and sights to see. We all would drive out of our way to return here!


Great location, outstanding hospitality

4.2 on July 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently enjoyed 2 nights at Bourne and had a fantastic trip. Charlie and Ross were warm, welcoming and friendly and took care of any and all needs we had. The inn is lovely and well-kept - rooms were bright, clean and quiet. Great backyard and gardens, too. The location is great - centrally located between the Ogunquit town center and Perkins Cove, so we walked everywhere. Close to the beaches, restaurants and all the main attractions. Highly recommended!


Nice place, attention to detail

4.0 on March 10, 2012

Enjoyed the nice atmosphere, the great location, and superb breakfast.


The Morning Dove

4.0 on November 04, 2011

It was very quiet and relaxing. Everything was comfortable for us. Our food was delicious. A host was entertaining.


Best ever!

5 on October 24, 2011

After a less than stellar experience at a B&B earlier in my trip, I wasn't sure what to expect. But everything was amazing. They put me in a larger room on the second floor so that I wouldn't have to walk up two flights of stairs with my luggage. The bed was comfortable, the room was quiet, and the breakfast the next morning was a fabulous omelette and warm croissants. I will definitely return!


Gorgeous ideal location, amazing breakfast

4.8 on September 07, 2011

Such a perfect location, literally in between the Cove and the Beach/Restaurant area and an easy walk to both. Beautiful inn with a phenomenal home cooked breakfast that will make us want to return again next year!


Wonderful Bed & Breakfast

4.6 on August 31, 2011

We have been staying at this B&B for a number of years now! We always have a wonderful and relaxing experience. It is quite, very clean and the breakfast's that are served are amazing. We look forward to our next stay!! Chris & Glen


Weekend in Maine

3.8 on August 21, 2011

Stayed at this lovely B&B while attending a wedding. The room was great...clean and spacious! Breakfast was yummy and the availability of waters and soft drinks whenever you wanted was perfect during the summer heat!


Great location

3.0 on July 22, 2011

We had a nice relaxing stay at the B&B. The location is perfect for this very walkable community, situated just off the main road that leads to Perkins Point to the right or the village center to the left. We were not there for the beaches. They are located a bit further away, but they were easily accessible via the trolly which circled the town. A trolly stop is just steps from the Inn. We had never been to Ogunquit before and we researched other hotels, inns and B&Bs, on Trip Advisor before making this booking. I must admit that our selection was made in part because there was limited availablilty at the higher rated locations. And that was a lucky thing for us. While driving around town, we discovered that many of those places were not as well situated as the B&B. Our room was large comfortable and very clean, with a nice size bathroom. The innkeeper provided important information about the area and how to get around easily. In addition to the standard cereals, juices, muffins and fruit offered at most B&Bs, there were two "entre" offerings each morning. Some people might be disappointed in this, but the offerings were just right for me.


Review

4.0 on July 21, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the B&B recently. The inn is very quaint and comfortable. The innkeepers was very accommodating and made sure that we had everything we needed. I liked that there was a supply of water and soft drinks in the refrigerator for us to use. The breakfasts and the home made baked goods were delicious! We are already looking forward to our next stay!


Our favorite B&B in Ogunquit

5 on June 27, 2011

We've stayed here for years (over 10) and love every room and every stay. This stay last week was only one night as we were on our way to a family reunion but we generally stay at least three nights. We always enjoy the very comfortable rooms, the wifi throughout the house, the varied and healthy breakfasts with conversations with the owner. We look forward to our next stay at this bed and breakfast!


A great stay!

3.8 on June 15, 2011

The distinguishing feature of this B&B is the warm reception and hospitality from the owner. He was a great host and made us feel really at home. The location of the bed and breakfast is right between the downtown and Perkin's Cove so you can enjoy all of what Ogunquit offers. The breakfasts are nice, all freshly made, with the Innkeeper seamlessly customizing the menu to fit my family's two allergy requirements. The room was very comfortable, but got pretty hot one evening and the A/C couldn't catch up. Otherwise very nice and a good value compared to hotels and other B&Bs. We were very happy with our stay and recommend it to those who want a laid back and relaxing stay in a home away from home in Ogunquit!


wonderful B&B

4.2 on May 15, 2011

We had a great time at the Inn. The owners were very accommodating and friendly. Our room looked even nicer in person.


Perfect Little Getaway to Jump Start Spring!

5 on March 27, 2011

Had an amazing time during my weekend stay at B&B. Because it is so early in the season, both my sister and I had the entire inn to ourselves. Owner's hospitality was impeccable and his breakfast is DELICIOUS! The inn is within walking distance of everything I wanted to partake in while in Ogunquit- The Marginal Way and downtown- making the location perfect for my needs. I originally found the property on BringFido.com in search of places in Ogunquit that were pet friendly for my young little pup. The owner was completely open to Beau staying with me and even put a water bowl out for him along with our tea water and coffee. This will definitely be my new "must" place to stay when visiting Ogunquit. Thank you!


M0st relaxing getaway!

4.8 on November 26, 2010

Be sure to eat at Katies on Shore Rd. Excellent food ,service and ambience.


We Could Not Have Been Happier

5 on November 19, 2010

I surprised my wife with a weekend away for her birthday. The bed and breakfast was absolutely great. We both had a wonderful time. When I checked in she was getting a massage & I told the owner what my plans were. He helped me set things up in the room, wine, flowers, etc. He told me we were the only ones staying this weekend & that we would have whole place to ourselves. He was staying at his other B&B. He brought in extra firewood for the fireplace & set up the fireplace for us, showed me where the dvd's & CD's were, etc. I didn't see him again until breakfast. The breakfast was delicious & he had fresh fruit both mornings. My wife & I can't wait to go back to the B&B. The location was great & the room description was right on.


October stay

4.6 on November 18, 2010

A beautiful time to visit Ogunquit and the B&B was a lovely part of that stay. The quaint (but not antiquated) feeling of the Inn added nicely to the slow leisurely pace of an autumn stay - after the bulk of the crowds have gone, but without feeling like the town was deserted. Innkeeper was very helpful during my stay and the Inn's connected restaurant, Katie's Cafe on Shore Road, provided a wonderful dining experience.


Great trip to Ogunquit

4.8 on November 04, 2010

Hightly reccomended! Would stay again. SOOO totally top notch.


Great location - walk to everything.

4.4 on October 21, 2010

A great place to stay on a quiet side street in busy Ogunquit. We could walk to everything: Perkins cove, downtown, the beach and even the Ogunquit playhouse. The inn keepers are very nice and the breakfasts were great. The room was bright and sunny and clean. I would definitely stay there again.


Had a great stay.

4.4 on October 20, 2010

Would stay here again. The host was great, room was nice and the breakfast was delicious. Make you reservations. Worth the stay.


Great time & atmosphere!

4.6 on October 18, 2010

The innkeeper is a great cook, breakfast was delicous and we enjoyed it on the lovely porch. Our room was lovely and very clean. The B&B is a small walk to Perkins Cove.


Excellent Stay...Above Expectations !

4.8 on September 21, 2010

The owner gives attention to detail and is an excellent cook. We were very pleased with our stay at The bed and breakfast and hope to return one day.


Perfect!

4.6 on August 16, 2010

The Inn Keepers were able to accommodate a last minute, late night getaway. So close to Perkins Cove! They also let us park all day to get our 24 hr stay to the max. The hot breakfast was a wonderful surprise. Will stay again. Kathy and Kevin 8/13/10


A Wonderful Stay

5 on November 02, 2009

We enjoyed our stay especially because we took our 2 Golden Retrievers. We were suppose to have a room off the front entrance but when we arrived they gave us the Garden Suite so we could have the rear deck to let the dogs out. This was a pleasant surprise! This B&B is wonderful because we could walk the dogs to Perkins Cove, the Marginal Way and downtown Ogunquit. The breafasts were great! We enjoyed our 5 days and can't wait to return next years with the dogs. Thanks for your kindness and hospitality.


Bourne Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $229
  • Reviews (28) 4.5
  • Rooms 7

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2076463891

Visit Website »

View details

Top