Hartwell House Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service5.0
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
39 Reviews

Write A Review

Excellent Bed and Breakfast in Ogunquit

4.6 on October 24, 2014

The entire place is absolutely spotless. The rooms are well appointed. Staff is very helpful and friendly and the breakfast is really good. We'll be back


Great value!

4.8 on October 20, 2014

Stayed in early October. Ogunquit is a magical place! Great location- a short, pleasant walk to Perkin's Cove. Room was very comfortable and spotless, overlooked the street, which was surprisingly quiet. Innkeepers were great-all in all, a fabulous time.


Perfect destination

5 on October 18, 2014

Hartwell House Inn met all our expectations. Eric and Charlene go the extra mile to make guests feel welcome and comfortable. Our room was amazing - as were Eric's breakfasts...which are works of art and delicious! Thank you for a lovely stay. Ros & John


Superb

5 on October 12, 2014

Wonderful B&B! I wish we lived closer and could stay there again! We came from California to do a Fall leaf trip and spent only one night at Hartwell House. It went above and beyond our expectations. Beautiful room, spotlessly clean, sumptuous breakfast (waffles with maple syrup grilled peaches and whipped cream). The town of Ogunquit is lovely and you can walk to several places to eat. The Marginal Way trail along the coast was gorgeous with outstanding views and many benches to sit and just absorb the relaxing area. Don't hesitate to stay here.


Great stay!

5 on October 09, 2014

Located within walking distance of Perkin's Cove, the Hartwell House offered sparkling clean, comfortable accommodations at a very fair price. Delicious breakfasts, helpful, thoughtful innkeepers- a great stay in fabulous Ogunquit.


On our way home

4.0 on October 08, 2014

Up scale!


anniversary stay

5 on October 03, 2014

everything about our stay was wonderful. Beautiful room, wonderful owners and staff, and simply outstanding breakfasts


Outstanding Experience!

4.8 on September 18, 2014

Our stay at the Hartwell House Inn in picturesque Ogunquit could not have been better! A beautifully decorated,spotlessly clean room, accompanied by deliciously prepared breakfasts all within walking distance of the Marginal Way, fine restaurants and the Ogunquit Beach made for a wonderful three night visit. Innkeepers Charlene and Eric were exceptional hosts! We have already made reservations for our next visit


Paul and Andrea Riviere 30th Anniversary

5 on September 18, 2014

We have stayed at several Bed & Breakfast Inns for our anniversaries from the Cape to Maine. The Hartwell House Inn exceeded our expectations and rates #1 on our B&B stays. From the location at Perkins Cove to the lavish room accommodations topped off with gracious hospitality and extraordinary breakfast makes this our next B&B visit over and over again. Thank you to Charlene and Eric and their staff for making this a memorable occasion. Heartfelt thanks, Paul and Andrea


My review

4.2 on September 17, 2014

We stayed at the Hartwell Inn for one night on our 10 day Maine vacation. It was the last night of our trip, within easy driving distance of Logan Airport. The Room, Service, State of the Inn were all top notch. However, after staying at Inns and B&B's the previous nine days, there was nothing to wow you. Part of my problem is that the whole Ogunquit area, was, in comparison with the rest of our experience in Bar Harbor, Castine, and Pemaquid, over priced, touristy, and just plain blah. So, for $200 a night it served its purpose, there was no better value near-by, etc. They served a good breakfast, high quality ingredients, etc. just nothing special.


lovely place to stay, fabulous hosts

4.6 on September 17, 2014

We had a lovely stay, the inkeepers were delightful and attentive, and we felt like personal guests. Breakfast was amazing, and we very much enjoyed the afternoon tea and complimentary blueberry brandy. Would definitely return!


Great Place!

4.4 on September 17, 2014

The inn keepers are so friendly. They suggested great dining and activities. The complimentary breakfast is gourmet and the atmosphere very fun. We had a wonderful experience and will be visiting again for sure!


Wonderful stay, definitely will return

4.6 on September 17, 2014

We had a great time at the Hartwell House. The room we had was spacious, clean and comfortable. It was my boyfriend's birthday and they had a cake in the room (that I had ordered) when we opened the door. It was really relaxing. Also, it isn't right in the center of the town....just a few minutes to walk there, which we preferred and it wasn't as crowded.


Relaxing stay

4.4 on September 05, 2014

Hartwell House Inn was the perfect quick getaway we needed. We relaxed, enjoyed the views and the food aplenty. Charlene is the most gracious host. Loved her tea time treats and breakfast. A must repeat next time we're in Ogunquit.


Outstanding Service!

4.6 on August 30, 2014

My fiancé and I had a great stay! We went with several other people and had a wonderful time. I loved the backyard space and it was so close to down town! We will absolutely go again. Thank you!


Ogunquit

4.4 on August 29, 2014

Wonderful room, wonderful bed, delicious breakfast, excellent staff. Told them that our AC needed to be cleaned and they were right on it. Side note, Ogunquit is ridiculously crowded and I recommend going off season. Lots of tourists with a fair share of rude people.


a fantastic experience!

5 on August 29, 2014

It is a fantastic place. It's located right in the middle of Ogunquit, you can walk to all shops & restaurants, and it's only a 15 min walk to the beach. If walking isn't your thing, the trolley stops right in front of the inn. The rooms were incredibly clean and well-maintained. Also, it has a nice backyard which, when one has shopped / beached / imbibed enough, is a lovely and relaxing place to enjoy some shade with friends. The owners were fantastic, the breakfast is fantastic, I cannot praise this place enough. I was only there one night for a social obligation in Ogunquit, but now that I've been there I am planning to return again next summer. I'm hooked!


Friendly and Respectful Service!

4.4 on August 22, 2014

Charlene and Eric were wonderful hosts and were great guides to area dining and attractions. The atmosphere was friendly, but there was plenty of privacy as well (no awkward family-style meals with other guests.) I would definitely return and recommend it without reservation. In addition to the service, the Inn was located right between Perkins Cove and the beach so it proved to be an excellent HQ to explore the whole of Ogunquit.


Excellent stay at the Hartwell House

5 on August 18, 2014

The Inn Keepers are extremely accommodating and hospitable. Their management compliments the beautiful estate, we stayed in as well as the well-kept rooms. We highly recommend the Hartwell House to anyone looking to stay in Ogunquit.


BEST ACCOMMODATIONS IN OGUNQUIT

5 on August 17, 2014

Our stay was wonderful and so relaxing. Breakfast was amazing both mornings! The grounds are kept up beautifully. We can't wait to return soon!


Beautiful area, great service

4.2 on August 16, 2014

Charlene was wonderful! She had our room ready a bit early and was so attentive to everyone at breakfast. She works very hard to ensure a pleasurable experience. The food was carefully prepared and very good. Our room had a small kitchen area which we loved for snacks and lunch. Location was great; a short walking distance to Perkins Cove and used the trolley to go to the beach. Very pleased with our stay.


Wonderful weekend.

4.2 on August 13, 2014

Full breakfast was superb, varied each morning and perfectly presented. We will be sure to return.


August 2014 Ogunquit visit

4.4 on August 13, 2014

Our stay at the Hartwell House Inn was fantastic - the location of the Inn is absolutely perfect and the Innkeepers were exceptionally helpful professional and courteous - We were very pleased with our accommodations and having a kitchenette was a great plus! We are already looking forward to our next visit at the Hartwell House Inn and would definitely recommend the Inn to our friends and family.


Great experience

5 on August 11, 2014

great location to Perkins Cove. The B&B was just perfect for us--clean, convenient, superb service. The breakfast was exceptional!


A wonderful friendly B& B

5 on August 02, 2014

Warm friendly hosts, terrific breakfast and PM snacks, clean spacious room with fantastic view and super location.


My review

4.6 on July 30, 2014

Excellent breakfast, beautiful building and grounds


Getaway weekend

5 on July 23, 2014

The Harwell House Inn is a perfect location for visiting Ogonquit and the surrounding areas. It was easy walking distance to Perkins Cove - where parking can be a nightmare! Charlene and Eric and their staff were very accommodating, professional and friendly. You'd be hard pressed to find another B&B with a better breakfast offering. If you haven't figured it out by now...we really enjoyed our stay.


First time at a B&B

5 on July 22, 2014

Great experience from arrival to departure. Very nice hosts. Would definitely stay again.


Great B and B

5 on July 16, 2014

Marc


Exceptional Service and Relaxing Stay

4.6 on June 16, 2014

My wife and I spend one Saturday night at the Hartwell House just to "get away." It was a little before the normal Summer season and there were only two other couples staying, but that made our stay that much more intimate. Neither Eric or Charlene could have been any nicer and it shows they take pride in their work. How many places have you stayed at where you are escorted to your room by one of the innkeepers?? Great location and walking distance to Perkins Cove, the Marginal Way or downtown Ogunquit. We were both very pleased and will likely stay here again.


Delightful stay

5 on June 12, 2014

Perfect last minute get-away to celebrate our 46th anniversary. Lovely B&B with superior service and delicious breakfasts at the quieter edge of town. Close to Cove, Marginal Walk, at center of town yet away from the bustle of the center of town,.


Wonderful stay at the Hartwell House

4.4 on June 03, 2014

I would stay at the Hartwell House again. The rooms were comfortable and spacious and the location was perfect.


Winter Weekend Away

5 on December 19, 2013

We will be going back next year. Wonderful time, great people, excellent overall.


Great room, location and breakfast!

4.8 on September 06, 2013

We spent two nights at the Hartwell House and found it charming. The location it great - an easy walk to Perkin's Cove. The breakfast was outstanding!


Beautiful place with outstanding service.

4.8 on August 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The place met all out expectations and exceeded some. We highly recommend the Hartwell House.


The Charlene and Eric Show

4.6 on August 17, 2013

Our hosts couldn't have been more gracious: eager to provide information, maps, phone numbers, etc. as we made our way around the area sans car. The Hartwell is lovely with a fabulous location just blocks from the Marginal Way and exquisite Perkins Cove; breakfast was yummy--tho maybe a few more healthy options might be appealing. Room was a little too fussy but that may be owners' tastes. But a lovely stay in a fabulous location: Perkins Cove is surely the most photographed in New England and the Ogunquit Art Museum a must see.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Hartwell House Inn! It was a truly a pleasure having you as our guests - and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit through Ogunquit, Maine! Thanks for expressing your preference for healthier breakfast menu items. Our guests are always excited that we offer the ability to order off of a breakfast menu with multiple choices that change daily with an emphasis on local and seasonal flavors. Many of our guests enjoy some of our more decadent breakfast offerings, such as our famous Blueberry Sundae Pancakes and American as Apple Pie Waffles - but we are always certain to also include options for those who don't have a morning sweet-tooth. Vegetarian omelets, egg white omelets, fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal and a variety of gluten free menu choices are available every single day. We encourage all guests with restrictive diets and/or allergies/sensitivities to give us a call before their stay so we can discuss what their individual needs are - and make certain those needs are accommodated.


Wonderful stay, wonderful innkeepers

5 on July 25, 2013

This was the first time we stayed here and it was amazing! The room was lovely; tastefully decorated and nice and cool! (It was in the high 90's) but the best part if our stay were the gracious innkeepers who couldn't do enough for us as we'll as the other guests. The breakfasts were outstanding and the Inn itself warm and inviting. We would definitely stay there again

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for posting a review! We certainly look forward to seeing you again soon!


Great stay at Hartwell House!

5 on July 10, 2013

We had a wonderful one night stay at Hartwell House. Stayed in the Lady Peperrell room, which is located in a second building, across the street from the main house. The room was much larger than I expected from the pictures and had a cute deck off of the back, perfect for relaxing or a drink. Everything was very clean and the staff, from housekeeping, to the young woman who showed us around, to the innkeeper were all very warm, welcoming, and friendly. It is a short walk to the cove area and there is a trolley within feet of the inn to take you to town. We had a great experience and would definitely return.

Innkeeper Response
Such a pleasure to have had you as our guests at The Hartwell House Inn...and thank you for the kind words about your visit! We always appreciate when someone takes the time to share their experience at our Inn for the benefit of future guests. We look forward to seeing you again! - Charlene & Eric


Great romantic Getaway

4.8 on June 03, 2010

We just got back from celebrating our 10 year Anniversary and all I can say is even though the weather was lousy our room and service we recieved more than made up for it.Carrie the Inn Keeper we dealt with before and during our stay was amazing she saw to every little detail to make our 2 day's as romantic as could be .The breakfast she made each morning were better than some of the 5 star Bed and Breakfast I have been to .We stayed in the Polly Reed Room wich was perfect and the Jaccuzi Tub was amazing .All we can say is thank you to all at the Inn you truly went above and beyond .


Hartwell House Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $129 - $359
  • Reviews (39) 4.7
  • Rooms 16
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2076467210
  • Toll free 1-8002358883

Visit Website »

View details

Top