The Inn at English Meadows Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
38 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful get away

4.6 on May 14, 2014

Comfortable and immaculate, our rooms were very nice. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfasts were delicious. Convenient location. All in all a very nice get away.


Anniversary Getaway

5 on July 08, 2012

The Inn at English Meadows was a perfect spot for our anniversary getaway, better than we had even imagined. The room was impeccably clean and the bed was very comfortable (not like your average hotel bed). The added touches of chocolates on the bed and a carafe of ice cold water left each evening were a treat. Breakfast was outstanding and owners Eric and Liz were wonderful hosts. The walk into Kennebunkport was short and we enjoyed not needing to use our car to get there. Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer.


Simply Perfect

5 on June 14, 2012

If you are looking for a quite escape to Kennebunkport, then English Meadows should be high on your list of considerations. It is a charming, recently renovated Inn with great rooms, easy walk to town, and most importantly awesome owners! They are so outgoing and friendly that by the time you are ready to leave you are exchanging numbers so you can keep in touch. And their newest addition, Bailey a 9-month old Golden Doodle, is the best dog in the world! No joke. Finally, if you like breakfast, then you have no other choice...it is outstanding.


The best of the best

5 on April 26, 2012

It doesn't get any better than this! Spacious, clean, impeccably decorated room. Gracious, welcoming innkeepers who ensured I was 100% happy and pampered at all times. Breakfast-oh my-breakfast. I've never been so full in my life, but unable to stop eating. The three course breakfast was worth the trip alone! I will never stop recommending this B&B or wanting to go back- like right NOW!


The perfect getaway!

5 on April 26, 2012

I recently stayed at The Inn at English Meadows and I cannot say enough wonderful things about this place. I loved the updated, contemporary feel of the Inn and tasteful finishes throughout. The innkeepers were extremely accommodating, inviting and friendly. We had a delightful breakfast every morning with out of this world dishes including lemon ricotta pancakes, home baked croissants with whipped orange butter and crepes drizzled with fresh berry sauce. The complimentary fresh baked cookies and Jacques Torres chocolates were a nice added bonus! Our room was beautifully decorated with fine linens, a gas fireplace and cozy sitting area. The inn is conveniently located to cute shops and wonderful restaurants. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway this is the place for you. I will definitely be going back!


Highly Recommended

5 on April 26, 2012

I recently surprised my fiance with a trip to The Inn at English Meadows for her birthday. She was thrilled and we had an amazing time. The owner's Liz and Eric are amazing people and very accommodating. Not to mention Liz's breakfast was top notch. The rooms were beautifully done and the location was convenient to great shopping and dining. We will definitely be going back and highly recommend the Inn to anyone who is looking for relaxing getaway.


Fantastic personalized stay... can't wait to return

5 on March 25, 2012

I was looking for a nice relaxing place to stay in Kennebunkport and came across English Meadows from their website. I am fortunate enough to have stayed in many of the nicest luxury hotels around the world, but was still blown away by the personalized stay, excellent service from the innkeepers (Eric and Liz) and fantastic accommodations. The entire property including all of the accommodations/rooms have been fully renovated (quite recently) with the highest quality beds and linens, new furniture throughout, and updated bathrooms with amenities and details -- down to the tea selection, silverware, digital thermostats and iPod docks)comparable to (or above) any high end hotel (Ritz or Four Seasons. We spent two nights in the Quiet Moments suite and could't have been happier. I rarely feel undersold by descriptions/websites but the room was much better than it looks online -- a full suite with plenty of room to spread out/relax. The bed was extraordinarily comfortable, very high thread count sheets/linens -- the same you'd find in a Four Seasons for sure. Even better was the service --- Liz and Eric were both extremely gracious, wonderful hosts. Breakfast was worthy of the Food Network, yet were still able to accommodate my girlfriend (who is vegetarian) without thinking twice. They provided great recommendations around town, and great conversation as well. I could go on... All around this was a unique, fantastic experience and I certainly did not want to leave. This is the kind of place that truly makes you happy to travel.


Inn at English Meadows- pamper yourself!

4.6 on October 23, 2011

I must admit, I'm not much of a B&B person- had the impression that they were all the same- small, Victorian with heavy furniture, decorating and accessories right out of the 19th century. The Inn at English Meadows was TOTALLY different....not what I expected at all.....clean, contemporary and modern with a European influence! What a memorable experience! The rooms are well appointed and the toiletries were what you would expect at a 5 star hotel. The breakfast was the most impressive highlight....food that was exceptional.....better than many restaurants I've been to around the country. Fresh salmon eggs benedict one day and unbelievable blintzes the next....all home made by the chef/owner- Liz. Great experience that my wife and I will definitely make the trip back again to experience! Bob- Minneapolis, MN


Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else

5 on August 10, 2011

Beautifully decorated, very clean, comfortable rooms. The delicious breakfast was superb. Liz and Eric were extremely kind, warm and welcoming. The walk to town location is perfect. The gardens were gorgeous. The outdoor seating area is beautiful and a nice place to gather. We had an excellent experience and will return as soon as possible.


A lovely B&B that exceeded all our expectations

5 on June 02, 2011

My wife and I recently visited Kennebunkport for the first time and stayed at the English Meadows Bed and Breakfast for four nights. From the time we parked our car until the time we drove away we felt right at home. The owners Eric and Liz were there when you needed them and away when you wanted peace and quiet. The Inn was lovely, the room was well acquainted and tastefully decorated (my wife went on and on about the fancy sheets and nice towels) and breakfast was remarkable. You could tell that the owners had thought through every detail and made extra effort to go out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. We had a wonderful stay - Mark and Liz exceeded our expectations in every way. We will definitely stay there again the next time we visit Southeast Maine.


Modern elegance

5 on May 24, 2011

Had a wonderful stay at English Meadows. Owners were available and friendly and eager to help. They remodeled the entire place Jan-Mar 2011 and did a fantastic job! All details were considered to provide a warm and comfortable environment. Breakfast was also delicious and enjoyed the "family" table atmosphere where we got to meet some great people from across the US. Owners were great with convesation starters to break the ice. Inn is also a short walk to a variety of shops and spas and a short drive or bike ride to the beach. The grounds also had many places to enjoy a beautiful Maine afternoon, (in the meadows, on your own terrace (if you have that room) or their lovely comon patio.) LOVED our stay and will be sure to visit again and again!!


A Great Experience

4.4 on August 25, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the English Meadows Inn while in Kennebunkport, Maine for a wedding, and it was great! Bruce is so friendly and accommodating (for example, fitting in extra people for breakfast who were staying elsewhere, or bringing us a special outlet converter late at night so my boyfriend could plug in his laptop), and you can really tell he enjoys what he does. That's definitely nice. Breakfast was delicious -- a three-course breakfast every morning, usually made with ingredients from their very own garden! I'd never been to a bed and breakfast before this and always thought it'd be a weird after getting used to hotels, but I had a great experience and have definitely been turned on to exploring bed and breakfasts in other areas. But I'd definitely come back to English Meadows Inn if ever went back to Kennebunkport!


A wonderful place

4.4 on June 06, 2010

The English Meadows Inn is a wonderful b&b! We stayed for two nights and enjoyed it very much! Delicious breakfast and a great afternoon tea ceremony. Definitely the place for the next visit to Kennebunkport.


Hospitality is outstanding.

4.0 on April 19, 2010

From the moment we arrived until our departure it was hospitality at it's finest. The room was so clean. The beds were like sleeping on a cloud. The presentation of breakfast & tea were just delightful. The Expresso Cookies were my favorite. Coffee at our door each morning was such a nice treat. The fireplace was perfect for that chilly night. The Innkeeper was very helpful with travel directions for dinner & such. #1 in our book! :)


Best B&B in New England

5 on January 19, 2010

First of all, the inn is located in Kennebunkport, not Kennebunk. BIG difference! From the moment we arrived, our host Bruce treated us like absolute royalty. Our room was spacious, clean, and tastefully decorated. In the corner was a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries, as well as a snifter of sherry with some Hershey's chocoloates. Wow. Totally unexpected. In the morning, we woke up to fresh brewed coffee waiting for us outside our bedroom door, along with the Sunday Boston Globe. The "breakfast" part of the B&B was phenomenal. Bruce could have been a five-star chef with the amazing cuisine he prepared for us. On the day we were leaving, it was typical New England weather - driving snow - so Bruce asked for our keys, went outside to warm up our car and shoveled the driveway to make sure we were able to get out. Add all of this up, plus the reasonable rates, I can't imagine staying anywhere else. We'll 100% be back.


Delightful and charming

5 on January 04, 2010

The English Meadows Inn is the probably the loveliest bed and breakfast that I have ever stayed in. Great attention to detail. The food was superb and the service outstanding. I highly recommend it.


Winter Get-a-Way

4.8 on January 04, 2010

In what has become an annual Holiday tradition for the two of us, we once again sought a quaint, historic and "different" kind of New England setting for a couple of nights away. The English Meadows Inn, in Kennebunkport,ME, met all our criteria and then some. Over several bitterly cold days in the Northeast we found a warm home base away from home. Filled with history throughout the area, and the opportunity for a short day trip to Portland, Freeport, or any number of sites up and down the coast, the Inn and Bruce were hospitable and a wealth of interesting information. Great breakfasts !! Very comfortable, large room & bath, warm parlor and great seasonable decorations.


"Girls' Night Out"

5 on October 15, 2009

Bruce is the quintessential proprietor that anyone would hope for in a true bed and breakfast experience. The English Meadows Inn exudes charm and relaxation. This was our first stay at the Inn and we enjoyed every minute of it. Afternoon Tea was a delightful and tasty experience. Dozing off for a peaceful night rest, gives way to dreams of Bruce’s extraordinary culinary master pieces that await the next morning. We look forward to our next "Girls' Night Out."


Excellent hospitality

4.6 on October 07, 2009

The inn is lovely and the host, Bruce, is very friendly and makes wonderful breakfasts.


We can't wait to return!

5 on September 27, 2009

While traveling around the New England states, my husband and I decided to make a stop in Kennebunkport. To our great pleasure we made a call to Bruce at English Meadows and in his warm friendly voice he offered us a room for the evening. The room was beautiful as was the entire inn but the best part was having the opportunity to meet Bruce and talk with him. He is such a wonderful host and a wealth of knowledge about the history of the town and what it has to offer. He has invited us back and we cannot wait to stop in again. We're hoping we'll have more time on our next visit. Thanks to Bruce and Valerie for a sharing your slice of heaven with us. Sincerely, Jerry and Barb Collins Nescopeck, PA


Fantastic!

5 on July 31, 2009

This is the 2nd year in a row that we have stayed at English Meadows Inn. Definitely the best B&B in Kennebunkport!


heaven in Kennebunkport

5 on July 03, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the English Meadow Inn for 3 nights recently. Bruce, the innkeeper, made our stay, outstanding. We have been to Kennebunkport numerous times and this time was the best. The room was lovely, the Tea Room charming and his company delightful!! I would also like to mention the FOOD...it was outrageous!!! And Bruce went out of his way to make gluten free breakfasts for me. They were fantastic !


English Meadows is exquisite.

5 on June 26, 2009

English Meadows Inn is a rare jewel. My husband and I have stayed in amazing hotels and inns in 47 states and numerous countries, both for leisure and for business, and we both think our visit at the historic English Meadows combined the best of all of them, which is no small feat. We only wish we could have stayed longer. We cannot wait to return and for multidimensional reasons. The Innkeeper, Bruce Jackson, was so welcoming, gracious, attentive, and thoughtful. We stayed in the lovely and charming Mayfair room which had every amenity. There was so much to see and to enjoy throughout the Inn, including the decor, the antiques, the china, the fresh flowers, the candles, the classical music, the fireplace, the art , the books, the linens and lace, the restoration, the delicious breakfast, simply everything! Bruce and his wife Valerie have carefully thought of every exquisite detail to make English Meadows a unique and memorable experience for their guests. We are planning several more stays, and we are recommending it to our family, friends and colleagues.


Carriage House Suite

5 on June 19, 2009

The suite offered an abundance of comforts and amenities. We enjoyed a small convenient kitchen, a gas fireplace, and an outdoor deck overlooking the beautiful gardens. The ever-changing gourmet breakfasts were a daily anticipation- An outstanding escape in a historical seaside village.


A Romantic Surprise!

5 on April 21, 2009

Recently stayed at this charming B&B, where attention is paid in exquisite detail. The room and common area were both lovely (wonderful fireplace!), and Innkeeper Bruce does everything possible to make you feel at home. Breakfast is a true gourmet feast...and more pampering takes place during afternoon tea, with sweets that left us hungry for only a light dinner. This stay was truly an unexpected pleasure, and Kennebunkport is beautiful and uncrowded at this time of year...hoping to get back there soon!


very nice

4.0 on March 27, 2009

could have had better housekeeping services


Can't Think of a Better Place to Ring in the New Year!

4.8 on January 05, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at this inn for two nights, including New Year's Eve. Due to the weather, there were last minute cancellations and we ended up having the inn to ourselves! Bruce, the innkeeper, was very friendly and hospitable, yet unobtrusive. He spent some time mapping out a drive he recommended through Kennebunkport, which we really enjoyed. While relaxing in the living room, he came in and offered us some wine. I have stayed at several inns and felt more comfortable using the common space at this inn than others. There's a fireplace, TV and DVD player in the living room available for guests' use. Our room (Bloomsbury) was very comfortable, cozy, and nicely decorated (and did have a TV). We were able to adjust the thermostat, which I appreciated since it was bitterly cold out and I get cold easily! Breakfast was filling, gourmet and delicious. The tea and juice that were set up outside our room an hour before breakfast were a great touch. The innkeepers have a fabulous collection of tea pots and tea cups from their travels, which are on display in the dining room and are used for breakfast. The inn was decorated for the holidays, both inside and out. If you're looking for a relaxing, rejuvenating and romantic getaway, I would highly recommend this inn (and have already done so to several friends)!


Super stay in Maine

4.2 on November 21, 2008

Excellent service in this delightful B&B within walking of dock sq in Kennebunkport. Beautiful rooms, great service- missed TV in room, though.


relaxing getaway

4.4 on October 29, 2008

Excellent breakfast and friendly and helpful staff. Thought not having a TV in the room would be a problem but it turned out to be a nice change of pace. Having coffee/tea and paper outside our room each morning was very nice. The room was bright and airy. It all added up to a very relaxing, long weekend.


English Meadows

3.8 on October 27, 2008

The inn was lovely, quiet, and a wonderful bed. Enjoyed ourselves.


Fall Break

4.6 on October 15, 2008

An excellent B&B. Superb, warm, welcome room was typical. Mid 20th Cent. England warm and comfortable. Sherry was a nice touch. Breakfast was an experience not to be missed home continental cooking : Service beyond reproach totally.


Wow!

5 on October 13, 2008

The English Meadows Inn is an idyllic, English-themed B&B that lies just a few minutes stroll from the quaint little hamlet of Kennebunkport. With 10 beautifully appointed rooms; a “make yourself at home” atmosphere and the consummate hospitality of innkeepers Bruce and Vivian Jackson – you can’t go wrong. The Jackson’s offer exceptionally attentive service. Whether it is directions, maps, advice, or recommendations, Vivian and Bruce are there to help you. Their intimate knowledge of the area and the attractions helped us make the most of our 3-day get-a-way. The restaurants they recommended suited us perfectly – Nunan’s - a home town lobster shack - is a renowned favorite of the locals, while Pier 77 offered a more upscale dining experience on our last evening. Imagine gazing out over a beautiful bay while enjoying apple martinis, live piano music and an outstanding dinner. Lasting memories are made of this. Breakfast meals clearly reflected the innkeeper’s culinary passion. Our first breakfast consisted of baked Courtland apples filled with a sweetened mixture of nuts and spices; a homemade bread pudding drizzled with sweetened sour cream and a crustless, 3-cheese quiche. Equally tantalizing, the second day’s offering included poached Anjou pears served in a delightfully light orange sauce; an equally delicious slow-cooked “Pane Con Formaggio E Sucre” (This is an Italian version of French toast prepared with crusty, ricotta-filled bread; several spices, confectioner’s sugar and lots of Maine maple syrup). A side dish of locally produced breakfast sausage was definitely a cut above. And, in case you’re wondering, the hospitality does extend to providing you with all the wonderful recipes as well! All in all, a wonderful experience we would gladly repeat.


We will return.

5 on October 02, 2008

We stayed at the Bufflehead Cove Inn last May and were absolutely stunned. the Inn was SO peaceful, relaxing, and the Innkeepers Bruce and Madison were so welcoming and friendly. The service was top notch and the food was VERY good. I'd live there year round if we could! We will most definitely return.


Charming B&B

4.8 on October 02, 2008

This B&B was full of "olde world charm" - more British than British. Bruce is a wonderful host who took time to offer suggestions on places to drive and a scenic drive, even though we were there 1 night.


Beautiful B & B

4.0 on September 29, 2008

Both my husband and I would highly recommend this Old English Inn. The inn and guest rooms are so beautifully decorated. The dining area and tea room are a picture postcard from England, with beautiful linens, teapots and teacups. The breakfasts and afternoon tea were divine. Bruce, the innkeeper, was more than helpful in pointing out the tourist attractions and restaurants in the area. He was also most accommodating in serving gluten-free breakfasts to my husband. This B & B is the answer for a relaxing or romantic getaway, with lounges and certain rooms equipped with fireplaces for those cool Maine evenings. The Kennebunkport area is a beautiful area to visit. This B & B made our visit more memorable. We truly hope and would not hesitate to visit the Inn in the future.


My Favorite Place

5 on August 25, 2008

I have been staying at the English Meadows Inn since 1985. It has become my favorite place in the world!I have consistently and enjoyably been the guest of the English Meadows Inn in every season I have stayed there. The experience is a treasure in every way. The location of the inn is ideal. It is close enough to be within walking distance of Kennebunkport and its many attractions: beach, shops, restaurants, boat rides and good old fashioned walks! The hospitality is genuine and warm. The efforts and energies expended to accomodate my stay have always been remarkable. The inn keepers Bruce and Valorie comfortably engage in conversations and helpful tips about the area and its events. The rooms which I have had are each unique and charming. They are clean, comfortable and safe. It is so nice to have such a room to relax, return to after a busy day or a long ride. A good night's sleep has always been a guarantee. There is not enough time to take in all of the charming touches. It is always a treat to think about returning to such a treasure. The breakfasts are simply scrumptuous! The guests are served with such authentic old English style and the surprise of something different each morning. The table settings are beautiful. Breakfast is a memorable event from one stay to the next. Arriving and departing practically feel like home. It is a bed and breakfast to count on and look forward to each time. After 23 years of staying at the English Meadows Inn and traveling far and wide domestically and internationally I can easily say that it is my favorite place in the world.


Average Stay

3.0 on July 31, 2008

The house is very nice, most of the furniture fits into the period of the house. Room was spacious. They advertise wireless but the rooms upstairs won’t pick up the signal..The bathroom is a nice size, another shelf would be great though. Everything seemed to be fairly clean, except on the first night when I went to wash my face I found hairs along the baseboard behind the door, and hairs in the bathtub, a little icky, but at midnight what are you going to do?? Breakfast the first morning was a small scone (not sure if it was cranberry, or cherry), but I think it was whole wheat and it didn’t taste too great, a spiced poached pear in syrup and then the main dish was a puffed pancake, tasty but I think it would have tasted better with some warm maple syrup drizzled over the top, not too filling of a breakfast. We were offered coffee or tea but no juice . We left hungry and ended up having an early lunch. One of the things that we were really disappointed in was that they didn’t offer any thing to drink other than some sherry in the rooms. We had 2 bottles of water in our room when we checked in which we thought was nice, but when the room was cleaned the following day the water was not replaced. We were never offered anything to drink during our stay except for our breakfast coffee/tea. I didn’t remember reading this on their website at the time but saw it when I returned home, but it’s under “rooms” down toward the bottom of the page: “Guest refrigerator, pantry, and portable DVD players are available”, were not told about any of those….I guess the ast. Innkeeper was to busy to tell us?? The next brkfst we had a small piece of Blueberry Buckle (small being about 3" square) , Cinnamon Apples and a Crustless Cheese & Zucchini Quich and Tea (2 of us drinking and we only got 1 small pot of tea, never offered a refill) We were not offered water or juice. The Blueberry Buckle was yummy, we would have liked more. Would I stay here again, probably not.

Innkeeper Response
Our objective is to make every guest’s stay at the English Meadows an exceptional experience. We were so disappointed to learn from this review that guests of ours were dissatisfied with their stay. We value and appreciate constructive criticism which allows us to “keep on our toes” and improve the quality of our guests’ experience. Our regret is that these complaints and unsatisfied needs were never mentioned during the stay. If they had been brought to our attention, we would have rectified the situation immediately and ensured that their needs were met. We sincerely wish that the guests had talked with us about their dissatisfaction. We take great pride in the English Meadows Inn and we think that the more than 120 positive reviews on this site and others, demonstrates that we are committed to providing each of our guests with a wonderful memory of their stay with us.


Excellent stay!!

4.8 on November 30, 2007

We were here for just one night at the end of June 07 - and the service and breakfast were excellent!! The room was nice and cozy and very clean - I would definetly recommend this wonderful place to anyone!


The Inn at English Meadows

Details

  • Nightly Rate $179 - $425
  • Reviews (38) 4.7
  • Rooms 11
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2079675766
  • Toll free 1-8002720698

Visit Website »

View details

Top