Maine Stay Inn & Cottages Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
125 Reviews

Write A Review

Best place to stay in Kennebunkport

4.8 on August 17, 2016

This is by far the best place to stay in Kennebunkport. We stayed in cottage #5. It looked just like the picture and very clean. Breakfast was fabulous. This was our second time there and we will be back again.


Warm hospitality / Teutonic attention to detail

5 on August 09, 2016

Just about the perfect B&B experience. The grounds and rooms are impeccably maintained with numerous "extras" throughout. The innkeepers and staff all exude genuine, warm hospitality. Maine Stay has my highest possible recommendation.


Superb B&B

5 on July 29, 2016

Teutonic attention to detail with warm personal hospitality from the innkeepers and staff make Maine Stay the inn of choice in all of New England. Could not be recommended more highly.

Innkeeper Response
So glad this guest noticed our attention to detail and our warm hospitality. We strive had to provide the warm atmosphere and we take pride in the little details. Hope to see you again. Judi


Most comfortable bed ever!

4.0 on June 19, 2016

Innkeepers were kind, although the gentleman was a bit overly quirky. Nonetheless, we found our stay in one of the guest cottages incredibly comfortable. There was ample space, soft towels, and the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in! The inn is located within walking distance to the quaint downtown, and lovely river area, including loads of restaurants and shops. The only real down-side was the underwhelming food - the parmesan-crusted "savory French toast" with asparagus and hollandaise was lacking in flavor and texture, and the afternoon cookies were overcooked and reminiscent of something store-bought.


Cozy and Comfortable

4.8 on June 06, 2016

We had a great weekend at Maine Stay, the grounds were beautiful and the Inn was really nice, and our hosts were very welcoming. Our bathroom was small, but everything else exceeded our expectations. Kennebunkport is a great place to visit!

Innkeeper Response
I wish I knew what room this guest stayed in, as we have some rooms with smallish bathrooms, one is even almost minute, but others are palatial. Hopefully, this guest will return and will call for guidance on bathroom sizes. Thanks for your kind review.


Outstanding!

4.8 on May 28, 2016

This is a wonderful place! The cabins are very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are fabulous. The location is just a few blocks from shops and restaurants.

Innkeeper Response
So glad you were comfortable and happy as we work hard to make things good for everyone. Judi


Great property, great people, great time!!!!

4.8 on April 18, 2016

Rick


No matter what the season a wonderful setting and wonderful hosts.

4.6 on March 14, 2016

The hospitality and caring of the hosts cannot be beat. This is a place that deserves repeat visits.


Valentines weekend

5 on March 02, 2016

We enjoyed our stay for Valentines weekend. The owners were wonderful. The cottages were convenient, private and exceeded expectations. Can't wait to go back.


Wonderful Place

5 on January 28, 2016

Spent a cold, wintry weekend here in cottage #4. Clean, modern, well stocked, cozy warm with a fireplace and top notch facility! Service could not have been better - breakfast delivered to our door promptly at our requested time, excellent food, and friendly, helpful staff! So many things to do within minutes of the Inn. Thank you for a much needed getaway. We will be back!


Such a gem

4.4 on January 14, 2016

A beautiful inn with great food. Rooms are perfect. It's family run, and some family members are friendly and chatty, others not so much, but it's all part of the experience, and we had a wonderful stay. I would certainly recommend it and I would definitely go back!


Outstanding!

5 on December 27, 2015

I highly recommend the Maine Stay Inn! My husband and I have been there twice and are already planning next year's trip!

Innkeeper Response
"Outstanding" from a repeat guest means a great deal to us. Thank you so much for your kind words. See you next time, maybe when the warm weather is back.


Excellent Place

5 on December 24, 2015

Excellent Place


PLEASUREABLE VISIT

5 on December 22, 2015

My wife and I stayed at The Maine Stay recently and we really enjoyed our visit. Our room was exactly what we wanted and was clean as could be. Breakfast was excellent, although I'd prefer to have breakfast earlier than 9PM. Hosts were outstanding, especially Walt, who has a fantastic personality.

Innkeeper Response
We offer 4 seatings for breakfast except during our quiet season. I am not sure what unit this guest stayed in, but in 13 of our 17 rooms we offer a delivery at 9 or 10 and a seating in the dining room at 8:30 or 9:30AM. On a super quiet morning 1 seating seems to be the practical choice and 9:00 seems be the time most of my guests desire. For guests that wish to eat early we always offer a cold self-serve breakfast option. I am sorry if this guest was not aware of that option.


Excellent getaway!

4.8 on December 14, 2015

The perfect weekend getaway! Beautiful rooms and very friendly service. Willing to go above and beyond to make our stay exceptional! Our go-to place from now on!


Nice inn

4.0 on December 09, 2015

The innkeepers, Judy and Walter, are very friendly and make you feel right at home. The breakfast is fantastic. We were there for Christmas Prelude and the inn is within walking distance to town but far enough to not be in the thick of it. Would highly recommend staying here.


Christmas prelude

4.8 on December 09, 2015

This was our first time staying here and first time attending Christmas prelude. We have been coming to kennebunkport for many years. We had a great time and a wonderful stay! Perfect walking distance to town and couldn't have asked for better hosts.


Wonderful weekend

5 on December 03, 2015

The Maine Stay Inn is truly one of the most beautiful places to stay in Kennebunkport. The cottages are beautifully decorated , warm and inviting. Incredible breakfast daily either at he inn or in your cottage. Judi and Walter are so welcoming. We can't wait to return..


A hidden Jem

5 on November 13, 2015

We stayed here on a Veteran's day promotion. It was gorgeous. We stayed in cottage #2 and found it with everything that we needed. It had a King bed, small couch, a gas fire place and a nice sized bathroom with Jacuzzi tub. There was also a breakfast bar in room with a mini-fridge, coffee maker and a table. We were asked at check in if we wanted our breakfast delivered. We chose to eat in the main house but if we wanted to, we really could have been more then comfortable in the cottage. We did not expect so many businesses to be open during off season. The Inn had plenty of suggestions for dining and were more then happy to help us make reservations. This place was nothing short of luxury. The fine details in the room made everything perfect down to the decor and even robes for use.


Bubbles and a Duckie

5 on November 01, 2015

We had seen the Inn on Living Social but I ended up going direct to the website to get the exact room I wanted for our Anniversary. We were greeted by name, our room was immaculate and the extra touch of the rubber Duckie on the soaking tub. They also put Happy Anniversary balloons in our room....the Inn itself was elegant and well maintained and a short enjoyable stroll to Dock Square.


Great stay at Maine Stay.

3.6 on October 29, 2015

We stayed in Suite 16 and had a wonderful time. The innkeepers were helpful and friendly, the breakfast was top notch. The lack of a tub in bathroom was the only shortcoming in the room. Otherwise, the room was gorgeous, clean, and very comfortable.


Lovely weekend get away!

4.8 on October 29, 2015

This is a charming inn situated in a beautiful area of Maine. I only stayed here for one night, and wish I had stayed longer. The rooms are very cozy, the owners are extremely friendly, and the food is delicious. I highly recommend staying here.


Maine Stay Review

3.8 on October 28, 2015

Always enjoy our stay at the Maine Stay. We love the cottages and the privacy that they allow.


Excellent experience

5 on October 17, 2015

Excellent experience. Inn Keepers and staff are very nice and welcoming. They rooms are clean, refreshing and cozy. I loved my stay here.


Whitman visit

5 on September 28, 2015

A wonderful experience -- Judi and Walter and their staff go way above and beyond to be sure your visit is exceptional. The cottages are beautiful, comfy and sparkling clean, the morning breakfasts are delicious and they provide a different menu each morning. And, the staff is simply top-notch. We loved our visit and hope to return soon.


Anniversary Vacation

5 on September 22, 2015

Had a great stay! The B&B was wonderful and I would definitely stay there again. Friendly staff, clean and very comfortable beds. The location is in perfect walking distance to restaurants, shops and the water. Loved our stay!


Best B and B ever!

5 on September 21, 2015

What a wonderful stay we had at the Maine Stay Inn! Our room was elegantly appointed and spacious; the breakfast each morning was superb. Coffee and tea were available throughout the day, and warm cookies served at tea time! The grounds were immaculate and our hosts were very cordial. We will be there again!


Pangburn visit

5 on September 14, 2015

Always a great place to stay, this was our second trip and we plan to stay again


Great stay!

5 on September 07, 2015

Wonderful and relaxing b&b with great cottages in perfect location. Great breakfast.


Great place to stay

5 on September 03, 2015

all to perfection, no complaints, room is excellent and breakfast is out of this world. this was our second stay and we plan to go again.


A lovely return stay...we'll be back!

5 on August 30, 2015

It's great to see owners who take pride in their inn, keep it in pristine condition, make yearly improvements and are dedicated to the comfort of their guests.


Best B and B we've ever been to!

5 on August 27, 2015

Friendly and generous staff, divine breakfast, beautiful setting. We can't wait to return! The owners even remembered my name, and used it in all of our conversations!


Outstanding

5 on August 27, 2015

The stay was absolutely lovely and we felt very welcome and at home. Very amazing breakfast and cookies. Would 100% go back and recommend to anyone looking to stay in Kennebunkport


very nice b&b

4.0 on August 24, 2015

everything was very nice; located within walking distance of town center


Our wonderful stay in Kennebunkport

5 on August 19, 2015

The Maine Stay Inn exceeded our expectations. The cottage was clean and wonderful.Their location is quiet but a short walk to Dock Square. I would definitely recommend the Maine Stay Inn.


One of the Best Breakfasts I Have Eaten!

5 on August 19, 2015

We were greeted by Judi who made us a dinner reservation right away. We went to Bandaloop which she recommended and it was delicious! Our cottage was very tidy and they had a nice plate of cheese and grapes for us. The breakfast the next morning was out of this world. A baked egg dish with spinach, homemade bread and homemade sweet potato hash. Everything is homemade there. The place is immaculate. They told us what beach to go to and gave us towels, too! We will be back.


Kennebuckport - an Awesome B&B

4.0 on August 18, 2015

The Maine Stay was a wonderful inn near the center of Kennebunkport. Our first floor room had a separate entrance from the outside and a large deck with chairs, table and umbrella. Judi and her staff provided everything we needed and great suggestions on dining.


Loved it!

5 on August 17, 2015

I love how spotless clean this B and B is. The hosts are very gracious.


Book a room here ASAP

5 on August 16, 2015

We adore the Maine Stay. We stayed their during our wedding weekend a few weeks ago and it was the best wedding planning choice we could have made. Johanna, Judi and Walter are the sweetest people and they will make sure your stay is comfortable, memorable, and delicious, with lots of special touches. The cottage was spotless, beautifully decorated, and attention to detail is always paid (rubber ducky in the bathtub, anyone?). The grounds are immaculate and the brightly colored Adirondack chairs (some child sized!) really complete the view from your cottage. Breakfast (delivery included if desired) will totally blow your mind, with savory and sweet choices daily. Don't miss out on a truly Maine experience.


Honeymoon at the Mainstay Inne

5 on July 28, 2015

My husband and I spent part of our honeymoon at the Mainstay Inn and we had an wonderful experience. The staff is incredibly welcoming, helpful, and friendly. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable. We look forward to staying at the Mainstay Inn again.


Peaceful and relaxing!

5 on June 11, 2015

The Inn is conveniently located...within walking distance to Dock Square. Nice walk along tree-lined streets, manicured lawns, and gorgeous homes. The staff are very accommodating and friendly...trying to meet your every need. The room was tastefully decorated, and equipped with everything needed. The units were very sound proof as well; even with the windows opened! The grounds are lovely, and breakfast was great. Loved the option of eating in the main home, or having it delivered to our room. Nice touch!


Maine Stay

5 on June 04, 2015

Excellent experience. Clean, quite rooms. Exceptional location in the heart of the historic district and walking distance to shops and restaurants. A pleasant get away.


Maine Stay Inn Review

4.8 on June 02, 2015

Stay at Maine Stay Inn was great as we expected having stayed many times at the inn.


Great place to stay!

5 on May 31, 2015

Everyone is very friendly, and the service is excellent. We stayed in the house and loved it!


Maine Stay Inn

4.8 on May 28, 2015

Judi and Walter were fabulous and made every aspect of our stay excellent. Breakfasts were great and the main house, where we stayed, was lovely.


A wonderful stay

4.4 on May 27, 2015

What a delight to stay in such a well maintained, beautiful 'home'. The overall stay couldn't have been better. We thank Judi and Walter for their warm hospitality. We thank the staff for just being like friends.


Best B&B For Us

5 on May 16, 2015

We just returned from our stay. We've stayed in a dozen or so B&B's and loved this the most. We stayed in a cottage, and enjoyed the private space which had an extra couch, TV, fridge, Kuerig, separate from Bedroom. Nice to relax and 2 separate TV areas. So many details that they thought of, from jacuzzi tub, phone charger, bedding and bed were super nice, everything was clean, and it was located walking distance to restaurants and shops. Everything we wanted and more.


Warm and cozy and close to town.

5 on May 11, 2015

We came up for a few days after being in Boston for 1.5 weeks for a conference. It was such a nice retreat. This time of year was not too crowded. The location of the Inn is so close to town and we enjoyed walking around. We stayed in cottage #7 which was very comfortable and spacious. Having breakfast in the Inn was great and we met two lovely couples. Innkeeper Judi was very helpful and all the staff very accomodating, especially if you have food sensitivities or allergies. My husband wanted me to make sure I said that the bed was very comfortable! We had good sleep and a restful time at the Maine Stay Inn and Cottages and look forward to coming back again some day when we can stay longer.


April post marathon trip

4.8 on May 09, 2015

Travelled from AZ to see our girls run the Boston Marathon. Reseerved this Beautiful inn a couple months in advance. Stayed in one of the "cabins" behind the main house. Very easy to access with parking directly outside the door, lots of space in bedroom, small but adequate bathroom, and nice kitchen with Keurig coffee maker! some dishes, etc. we had breakfast brought to our room in the AM....excellent and hot! The only negative was the slightly musty smell to the "cabin"..it probably hadn't been aired out since fall. Would highly recommend this lovely facility which was very convenient to shopping, etc.


Cool house in a great location, minor issue.

3.0 on April 30, 2015

Cool old house with several out buildings in a great location within walking distance to downtown Kennebunkport. The room was just renovated, the staff attentive, and the food good, but I felt overall there was a poor attention to detail. For example the TV in the just renovated room was new, not name brand, undersized, and not programmed right. The breakfast overall was great, but the breakfast meat lackluster.

Innkeeper Response
We try to see every guest comment as a learning experience and an opportunity to enhance the stay for all of our guests. Each year we renovate many rooms to make sure that they are in top notch condition and meet the expectations of style, comfort, and luxury for our visitors. This year was no exception. Unfortunately, from this review I can't identify which room we have a problem in. All of the rooms and suites recently renovated have 32" or larger HDTVs, which is a size that we feel looks appropriate without overtaking the design of the room. I can't comment on the brand, because in most cases they were purchased based on our experience in the store! If these visitors had alerted us to a programming problem, we would have worked on it immediately. Based on the timing of this review, it is likely that these guests visited recently when we were testing out a new locally produced bacon and sausage. Honestly, we didn't like either option as well as our previous varieties, but felt committed to exploring Maine-made products. While we were experimenting, we asked as many visitors as we could for feedback on the meat selection (which is always served as a small side and not the main feature at breakfast), but must have missed surveying these folks. Rest assured, we have gone back to our previous suppliers of breakfast meats!


We will be back!

4.8 on April 22, 2015

We enjoyed the hospitality, decor, service and outstanding breakfast and Maine Stay Inn and Cottages. We stayed in one of the cottages. So relaxing and peaceful! We wish we stayed longer. We will be back.


Best weekend EVER.

5 on February 06, 2015

I booked my boyfriend and I to stay at the Maine Stay for the weekend of his birthday. Neither one of us had ever been to Kennebunkport before, and I knew he would like a nice relaxing time away. I booked Cottage #1 for us to stay in, and judging from the pictures, I could already tell it was going to be a wonderful experience. The website suggested that anyone with a food allergy email the Innkeepers and let them know, and since I have celiac disease, I did just that. The Inn was great at responding back and even suggested places for us to go for dinner during our stay. Upon arrival at the Inn, we were brought into the cottage. There were 2 pieces of Gluten Free chocolate torte on the counter, surrounded by chocolate covered strawberries. There was also a cheese and cracker plate set out, with a piece of biscotti wrapped up so that it didn't touch anything that was gluten free :) The staff had set out birthday balloons for my boyfriend, and there were rose petals on the bed. The fire place was amazing and we could just push a button and WHOOSH, there it was (it doesn't take much to surprise me). From the king sized bed, to the double whirlpool tub...this place was exactly what my boyfriend wanted for a birthday away. We walked around downtown Kennebunkport the next day, and spoke with many of the shop owners who were by far the sweetest people I had ever met. The town was getting ready to be decked out in red in hopes to make them the most romantic town in all of the US, for the month of February. My boyfriend never stopped saying how fantastic the room was, how clean everything remained, and just how wonderful the staff and Innkeepers were. We will definitely be back, and since there are more than the one cottage on the property, we definitely have to treat ourselves to experience the others!! Thank you so very much Judi and Walter....you made this gluten free girl so amazingly happy, and her boyfriend even happier. Thank you so much.

Innkeeper Response
We made you two happy and this review made me even happier. It is always wonderful when guests recognize our attention to details. See you again. Judi


wonderful B&B

4.2 on January 21, 2015

Everything was wonderful, this was our second time there and we hope to go back again soon!


George and Mame Houck

5 on January 04, 2015

Judy and Walter are fabulous hosts. This was our second visit since September. Great place to spend New years eve.

Innkeeper Response
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you. We look forward to your return when the warm weather returns. Happy New Year!


Wonderful Stay

4.6 on December 14, 2014

Had a wonderful two night stay in one of the cottages, which was especially cozy with the fireplace in the room. The innkeepers went out of their way to make us feel welcome and even though we had to leave early in the mornings they still made sure we had a delicious homemade breakfast. Easy to walk to center of town.


Magnificent Maine

3.8 on December 04, 2014

Just returned from spending two nights at the Maine Stay Inn & Cottages. The Hauers are a warm, friendly, and gracious family who truly enjoy being innkeepers. Their recommendations for restaurants and things to do were perfect for a relaxing getaway. It's a lovely inn and exceptionally clean and uncluttered. The breakfasts are delicious with interesting combinations and flavors and presented like a picture in a magazine. It's a close walk to Dock Square where there are great shops and restaurants. I would highly recommend this inn to anyone. We plan on returning in the near future.


Awesome Stay

5 on November 30, 2014

Great place to stay in Kennebunkport... Walt and his wife were great. Definitely will stay there again on my next visit out East.


Fall Weekend Getaway

5 on November 03, 2014

The Maine Stay was a great getaway retreat in Kennebunkport. Our room in the Inn was comfortable and beautifully furnished. Breakfasts were delicious and so enjoyable. The staff and owners were accommodating and very personable. The relaxed atmosphere made for a great weekend away.


outstanding and well-recommended

4.4 on October 28, 2014

We stayed for a night. A few weeks prior to arriving, we called and added a second night in the same room. When we arrived, we were greeted and shown a list of things to do in the area. They offered to carry our luggage to our room. When we got to the room, it was much better than expected! The room was clean and there was an iPhone dock playing music. They also had homemade cookies :-) the bathroom was a bit small for someone who is 6"4'. Breakfast the next morning was at a community table with the other guests. The food was simply amazing. Check-out was at 11, but since we were staying an extra night, we made our way to Portland for some sight seeing. While in Portland, they called us and asked why we had not yet checked out. We mentioned that we added a second night. They had no record of this but immediately offered to transfer us to another room and charge us the price of our original room. We ended up being upgraded to a better room. Breakfast the next morning was even better. While the error should not have happened in the first place, they went above and beyond to correct it. This place is highly recommended and we will be staying again in the future.


Highly Recomend

5 on October 25, 2014

Great Inn all the way around!!


Maine Stay Inn

4.0 on October 25, 2014

Great private cottage. Comfortable bed. Breakfast was delicious. Was a little more spendy then others in the area.


25th Wedding Anniversary

4.2 on October 22, 2014

Our stay was wonderful. Our cottage looked just like the website photos. Judith and Walter were extremely friendly and helpful. The home has so much charm and character. Our only complaint was the breakfast that was served. It was good, but we were hoping for something using "foods" from the New England Coast. We were hoping to enjoy hot pancakes with MAINE blueberries covered in hot MAPLE syrup from Vermont. I would recommend this property to my friends.


What an amazing place!

5 on October 16, 2014

When my wife and I arrived to this bed and breakfast we have to say the service, the breakfast and the room were all amazing! We had the best stay and even had a wonderful conversation with the 2 owners. I left my iphone charger at home and when I asked Walter he was more than happy to let me borrow his for the 2 days we were there. When we go back to Kennebunkport I am definitely staying here again. This was one of the best places I have been to and I travel quite a bit for work. Thank you!


Loved Our Stay

5 on September 29, 2014

We wanted to stay here just by the pictures alone until we met the owners Judi and Walter. They are such nice people and so accommodating. What a fabulous 3 days we spent here! The rooms are very, very nice and well appointed right down to the smallest of details (the caramels placed in your room are so good). The grounds were beautiful and well kept. The breakfast each morning was delicious and the service was spectacular. We cannot say enough about the time we spent here and we are already planning another getaway to Maine Stay Inn very soon!


Lovely home

4.0 on September 29, 2014

Room was not quite ready upon our arrival at 3:00. Room was also smaller than expected. We had to crane our necks to view the TV from the seating in the room. Very nice touch with the cheese and dessert trays, and the breakfast was outstanding.


Great Stay at Maine Stay Inn & Cottages

5 on September 16, 2014

Judi, Walter and their exemplary staff make your stay at this beautiful Inn like staying with family. The Inn and our room was beautiful and so comfortable. I did get a peek at cottage #6...gorgeous, we will probably pick a cottage next time because of the nature of our buying trips. This is a first class establishment...elegant but not pretentious. We had such a wonderful time and a perfect place for a honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic trip. We will definitely be staying here again. It is in walking distance to restaurants and shops...my favorite thing to do:) Thanks Judi for all your help. Paul and Linda...McKinney, Texas


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast

5 on September 05, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Maine Stay Inn. It was very clean and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was very delicious!!


Beautiful Inn

4.4 on September 05, 2014

My husband and I stayed over Labor Day weekend 2014. Great location and lovely setting. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable. Judi and Walter were very welcoming and breakfast rivaled any 4 star restaurant. Will definitely go back next time we plan a trip to Southern Maine.


The Best Inn ever!

5 on September 05, 2014

This was a wonderful place to stay. The Hauers are excellent hosts and their staff is friendly and courteous and all were helpful from making reservations and advising us on getting around the area. The breakfasts were superb! We loved being within walking distance of the town. The living room and the porch were nice and comfortable places to sit and relax after a long day of sight-seeing with coffee and cookies always available! We will definitely plan to stay here again!


Definitly stay here!

4.6 on September 02, 2014

My husband and I only stayed one night but we would definitly stay again. From the time we walked in we felt comfortable. The staff sat down with us and gave us the run down of all the area restaurants and their recommendations, including a map. They showed us the room and told us what we needed to know. The room was comfortable and super clean, and the breakfast the next day was delivered to our room and was delicious! We wish we were able to stay longer! We totally recommend it!


Amazing weekend at Kennebunkport

5 on September 01, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time. The Inn is beautiful and lovely porch and property. We found the service to be very nice and friendly. Cottage 5 was great has it was super clean and very comfy amenities.


Uniquely Maine

4.2 on August 31, 2014

The Maine Stay Inn is an excellent choice. Very clean, very good service from the Owners and Staff. The breakfasts on the porch are a great experience. Kennebunkport has many of the traditional Maine activities within a reasonable range and the Maine Stay Inn is a great home base.


A charming villa in Kennenbunkport

4.6 on August 26, 2014

We stayed in one of the cottages: very nice the room and kitchen, a little too small the bathroom. The main house instead is really beautifull. Excellent the service: Ann the person that was in charge of us was really kind and helpfull with always a smile on her face. Wonderful hospitality from the owner. The only negative thing is the price, just a little over correct price.


Great location, great property

4.6 on August 20, 2014

An old house that doesn't feel old at all. Ultra-clean and comfortable room, comfortable mattress, well-maintained home and property. Felt more like a 4-star hotel than a B&B. Highly recommend.


Fabulous!

5 on August 16, 2014

Fabulous stay in every way! We enjoyed the beautiful yard and quiet. A great location! Judy, Walter, Johanna and staff could not have been any nicer or more accommodating. Thank you for teaching us a new card game. Can't wait to return!


maine landing destination!

4.8 on August 10, 2014

We drove for 12 hours from our Maryland home to land at this quiet comfortable haven ; just in time to walk to our dinner reservations a block away. Returned to a peaceful cottage and wonderful restful night. Breakfast was fabulous! Beautiful morning of exploring the town with a bonus of a library book sale down the street. Totally good vibes here, the staff were the happiest - happy staff and most satisfied travelers!


Wonderful retreat

4.4 on August 03, 2014

We recently enjoyed three relaxing days at Maine Stay Inn and Cottages. Fabulous breakfasts, gracious hosts and pampered accommodations. The Inn offers a great location for walking to town and beaches.


a nice indulgence

3.8 on July 17, 2014

My husband, adult daughter and I stayed in one of the cottages. It was very comfortable, and spacious enough for three-- for a short stay. We really appreciated the little details like freshly baked cookies when we arrived! My only suggestion is that it would be nice to have hooks in the bathroom-- there was no place to hang a robe and towels 'in use'.


Antiquity with Luxury, Style, and Efficiency

4.8 on July 15, 2014

Our stay at the Maine Stay Inn & Cottages during the first week of July, 2014, was truly wonderful in so many ways. While the “big house,” a beautiful, historic home, was very charming in every way, the amenities provided, methods of fixing and presenting the excellent meals, numerous types of information available, and superb service all provided the important elements of a great hotel to its guests. We stayed in one of the very nice cottages, where, again, so many conveniences were very thoughtfully provided. The bed was great; having an a/c unit was helpful for the warmer time of the year; yet all around us, from the grounds to the trees, was exactly what we hoped it would – our long-awaited visit to the beauty of the northeast, and especially the lush green of Maine. I highly recommend the Maine Stay Inn for your accommodations while in Kennebunkport.


outstanding experience.

5 on July 15, 2014

The rooms are very clean and very comfy. The gourmet breakfast is definitely something to look forward to. The owner and the staff are so friendly and pleasant. They do anything they can for you to make your stay enjoyable. I would definitely stay here again. Wonderful.


Great Place to Stay

4.6 on July 15, 2014

Lovely place, friendly atmosphere, very convenient to town, and amazing breakfasts -- best at any inn ever.


Delightful!

5 on July 01, 2014

Our stay here was wonderful. The room was large and comfortable. The setting was so relaxing and the owners, Judy and Walter were a delight to meet. The location was walking distance to many restaurants and the main street. The breakfast was very good and our second morning we had an early flight in Portland. They prepared a cold breakfast and had our table set for us. I would highly recommend this inn to anyone visiting Kennebunkport.


A quick get-away

4.6 on June 26, 2014

This was a brief stay in Kennebunkport - have been there many times and stayed several other places, but found the Maine Stay to be exceptional. From Judi's greeting and her offer to recommend places to dine, etc., to the lovely breakfast on the porch, the spacious cottage (#5) - all made for a very pleasant few days in Maine.


Romantic Engagement

4.8 on June 23, 2014

Went up to Maine to get engaged last week. I was greeted by a great staff with drinks and snacks waiting. Personally walked to my cottage which was cozy, and very clean. Breakfast in the morning was great. Room was cleaned daily. Inn keepers found out I had gotten engaged, and put cakes and balloons in the refrigerator as a surprise. Everything about the stay was great. Would go back in a heart beat.


Relaxing B&B

4.6 on June 19, 2014

We were very impressed with our room and the hospitality shown to us by all that worked at the Maine Stay Inn & Cottages. Breakfast was delicious! Thank you for accommodating my various food allergies.


Wonderful Weekend

4.8 on June 19, 2014

My husband and I loved our stay. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic. The hosts friendly and very accommodating to your needs. It was a truly relaxing weekend. We will be returning to enjoy another stay.


Always First Rate.

5 on June 16, 2014

It is a tribute to Judi and Walter that we have stayed there for five of the last six years. The stay is always delightful, delicious and deserving of the best of ratings !


Quick Stay, Friendly Staff

5 on June 11, 2014

We stayed at the Maine Stay Inn & Cottages one night in June. It was a really quick stay, but our interaction with the staff was great. We called to let them know we would be showing up after check-in time (7:00pm) on Sunday, and we would have to leave before breakfast on Monday. They set up our cottage with maps, information about the area, and general welcome goodies. They also place a breakfast in our cottage so we could eat before heading to the airport. We didn't get to eat the hot prepared breakfast, but our granola, yogurt, fresh fruit, homemade muffins, orange juice, and milk were delicious and very thoughtful. We will be staying there again!


Lovely Inn, great hosts

3.2 on June 09, 2014

Lovely Inn and the hosts are very welcoming. Location is perfect with easy access to the shops and restaurants. Definitely recommend to others.


Beautiful, Clean and Lovely

4.4 on April 30, 2014

Our stay was short but it was wonderful! The cottage was beautiful and extremely clean and the owners and staff were super friendly and kind to us. Overall, this place is awesome and I can't wait to go back!


soooo nice :)

4.0 on April 09, 2014

We only stayed one night, but thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it! The owner, Walt, checked us in and showed us to our cottage, which couldn't have been cuter, and showed us where everything was. He was very sweet and genuinely wanted to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The bed was super comfy, the fireplace was lovely, the mini kitchen was convenient, we had a little trouble trying to figure out how to turn the heating unit down but that was most likely due to our own lack of paying attention when Walt explained it to us when we got there! I'd wholeheartedly recommend this place for a romantic getaway and would absolutely return. If I had to pick something to complain about, and it'd be nitpicking because this place was just so nice, the complimentary soaps and shampoos in the bathroom weren't the best...but obviously, like I said, that's definitely nitpicking!! We loved our room, had a wonderful experience and would love to visit again.


We can't wait to go back!

4.8 on April 02, 2014

Our stay at the Maine Stay Inn was amazing! We were looking for a luxurious yet quiet weekend away, and we got exactly what we wanted. Judi and Walter were so sweet, along with everyone else on the staff. We stayed in one of the cottages in the back and it was more than we could have even hoped for. It was so spacious and clean, and they really do think of everything you could possibly need. Not just the jacuzzi tub and the fireplace, but wine glasses and a coffee maker! They gave us dining recommendations and cookies when we checked in, and brought delicious breakfast right to our room in the morning. Everything about our stay was amazing and we will definitely be back!


The Perfect Weekend

5 on February 21, 2014

It was our first time in a Bed and Breakfast. We were comfortable, welcomed and were really impressed with this beautiful home. The breakfast was delicious and just what we needed to get back on the road to Connecticut.


Wonderful Stay at the Maine Stay, Kennebunkport

4.8 on January 20, 2014

This was our first stay at the Maine Stay Inn, Kennebunkport. The inn, which is a quintessential large New England seaport house, has a casual, neat and relaxed atmosphere. Walter, one of the owners, was particularly friendly and always ready for conversation. Location is perfect for visitors – just a short walk to the “downtown” shopping area of town. For those who haven’t been to Kennebunkport, most of the local things to do - shopping, beach, ocean side sitting areas and restaurants are all compacted in a small area such that it is just a few minutes drive between all. Our upstairs room in main house was very nicely decorated, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast quality and service were excellent and relaxed, with two seatings. The expansive front porch looked inviting, though it was a bit chilly while we were there in November to enjoy it. The common room in the entrance areas was neat and comfortable, and can accommodate around five people seated. The dining area has two large tables that were available for informal gathering and conversation. Overall, an enjoyable stay. Trade the large hotels for a friendly, comfortable “home away from home” and Stay at the Maine Stay Inn.


Keurig & Comfort!

4.8 on May 31, 2013

The breakfast was the best I've had in a while - started my day right! I stayed in the Abbie’s Retreat Room with a king bed. It was comforting after a long trip. The bed was very cozy with many pillows and great for my height – 6’2. The room was pleasant with the nice added benefits of my own personal Keurig machine, which came in handy after watching NBA playoffs on the flatscreen the night before. The bathroom was also equipped with a nice size jetted Jacuzzi tub that I didn’t get the chance to try, but will the next time.


Great weekend away

3.6 on October 29, 2012

This is one of the few B&Bs that had an option of having a room with two beds. I was traveling with my mother so the cottage we stayed in was perfect. It had a bathroom and a small kitchen. The two people that were on duty when we arrived were kind and friendly. We enjoyed some tea and cookies before venturing out for an afternoon of shopping. We opted to have breakfast in our cottage. The food was delicious.


Absolute charm

4.0 on September 26, 2012

My cousin and I needed a "girls weekend" and we couldn't have been happier with the Maine Stay Inn. Great location, lovely room and delicious breakfast. The cottage was perfect, clean and staff incredibly helpful. Would definitely stay here again.


Exceeded Our Expectations

5 on September 16, 2012

I loved my first bed & breakfast in Kennebunkport 25 years ago and I loved this one also. While our standards have changed substantially over the years, I wasn't sure what to expect. Maine Stay exceeded all of our expectations - The Inn was fabulous as well as the hosts, Judi & Walter; To our surprise, the other guests were fabulous also! : ).


Excellent service and perfect location

4.4 on September 05, 2012

Excellent location and terrific service from Walt, Judi and their staff! During check-in, they thoroughly go over information and the map of Kennebunkport with you and answer all your questions, which is extremely helpful in helping you get your bearings. Beach passes and beach gear (umbrellas, chairs, etc) are made available to all guests. Walt even jumpstarted our car when we accidentally left the lights on! We had a terrific visit to Kennebunkport and highly recommend staying at Maine Stay Inn & Cottages.


Midweek spring get-a-way 3/27/2012

5 on March 31, 2012

We stayed two nights in this marvelous house! Judy and Walter are terrific innkeepers. The breakfasts were sumptuous compared to other places, and Judy is a great morning hostess. The rooms were pristine, comfortable, and well appointed. For an older home in an historic area there was no disturbing noises at any time during our stay. It was fun to walk into town and visit along Dock Square and go off on a couple of day trips, always returning to the warmth and charm of the Maine Stay. We encourage you to relax, rejuvenate, and get away to the Maine Stay Inn!!!!


New Year's Surprise

4.0 on March 26, 2012

We welcomed in 2012 with a special evening hosted by owners Walter & Judy & their lovely daughter. We met some wonderful visitors, and I hope to return same time next year!


Maine Stay Inn

5 on March 16, 2012

Wonderful accommodations -- beautiful setting, clean, quiet. Excellent service. Highly recommend.


Celebrating our 50th anniversary

5 on February 01, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. Everyone was warm and made us comfortable. The room was beautiful.


Perfect!

5 on November 18, 2011

Outstanding B&B in every way. Immaculate rooms, great location, and delicious breakfast. We can't wait to go back!


Great, as always

4.0 on October 31, 2011

My family and I love to visit the Kennebunks at least once a year. This is the only place we will stay. We love the owners and all the staff...they make it feel like home each and evey time.


Outstanding Visit

5 on August 16, 2011

My wife and I have visited many very fine B&Bs from Savannah to Bar Harbor and the Maine Stay provided us with maybe our best experience. The breakfast, staff, rooms and location exceeded our expectations. The key to their success is the fact that the owners, Judi and Walter, are actively involved in the operations. Not only are they exceedingly pleasant people, but they also know how to run a B&B perfectly. We will no doubt return in the near future.


Maine Stay Inn

4.0 on August 06, 2011

Charming bed and breakfast in the heart of Kennebunkport within walking distance to shops. Beautiful decor, delicious breakfasts. Innkeepers very friendly and knowledgeable of area.


Lovely

4.0 on July 24, 2011

What a great place! The staff were friendly, accomodating and breakfast was incredible. I will definitely return at some point!


Maine Stay Inn & Cottages Recommended

4.8 on June 01, 2011

It was a pleasure to stay at The Maine Stay Inn & Cottages. The cottage was attractive and the grounds well maintained. Breakfast was delicious and accomodated our need to eat gluten-free. (seven day notice) We walked downtown for dinner at Bandaloop Restaurant. Our stay was much enjoyed!


Excellent Stay

4.2 on April 08, 2011

We had a great overnight stay! The rooms were exceptionally well done and clean and everyone who worked there couldn't have been nicer. Would definitely recommend and would stay again!


Best Birthday Escape Ever

5 on April 06, 2011

What a treat to getaway for one night...wish I had more! Upon arrival at this lovely Historic Maine home, I was warmly greeted by Johanna who instantly put the tea kettle on for a cup of tea (and coffee for my husband) as I toured her lovely inn and got acquainted with the area. I was looking for a bit of pampering on my Birthday escape...and found Judy, Walt, and Johanna had thought of everything. They arranged a romantic dinner for us in town at Grissini's. We had a table right in front of a massive fire you could curl up in!! And the food was FABULOUS! Our room was in one of their guest houses, an amazing suite (#2)! There wasn't a single detail overlooked in the style and comfort of this fabulous suite...from our King bed, dressed in the softest of linens complete with a perfect view of our lovely fireplace, lamps on dimmers for perfect lighting, and a relaxing whirlpool jacuzzi tub we had everything we wanted! The innkeepers truly have thought of everything...soft fluffy robes, refrigerator, Keurg coffee on demand, bar sink, and speaking of sinks...you've got to check out the bathroom sink made of all glass and shelves of modern design...it was fabulous! And Breakfast!!! Delivered to our room. Does it get any better than that? Well, taste and see! I had a lovely savory parmesan French toast with eggs, presented beautifully on china, with sauteed apples and fresh squeezed orange juice...YUM ( I ate every bite)! In the morning we had a leisurely walk to the village, very close by and enjoyed the amazing architecture of this beautiful coastal village. Our only complaint was that we could only stay one night.


New Year's weekend 2011

4.2 on January 12, 2011

Our hosts went way beyond our expectations on New Year's Eve by hosting a get-together with appetizers and beverages before dinner, playing games for guests who did not watn to venture out and sharing dessert after dinner for those guests who did go out to dinner.


Best Romantic Cottages in Kennebunkport

5 on December 07, 2010

This is no ordinary B&B. It stands head & shoulders above the rest. It is located within easy walking distance to the many unique town shops and restaurants, and a short drive to the beaches. It is a short drive to The Bush family compound with beautiful sea vistas on Walkers Point and Cape Porpoise with its picturesque pier, Goose Rocks Beach & Nunans Lobster Hut, known far & wide as the best place for casual dining on lobster that you will ever find. This is a gem of an updated, historical Inn with beautifully appointed private cottages – it’s a real find. As expected, it’s all due to the care & attention to detail by the hard working owners, Judi & Walter Hauer. Having stayed there 3 times, I can’t comment on all of the cottages & rooms, all are different and beautifully appointed but I’ve seen most and have watched their meticulous renovations over a period of time. Each one shows the tremendous pride of ownership and love of catering to the needs & wishes of frequently returning guests. From the top quality hot breakfast that you may wish delivered to you cottage, down to the softest bathrobes and beautifully folded towels, to the rubber ducks and bath beads at the side of the whirlpool baths, every detail to make you feel pampered and cared for is considered. The beds are first rate and the location is beautifully quiet & tranquil. You will leave that city stress behind in no time – trust me! But above all when you have owners that really know how to make you feel at home, it can easily become your favorite vacation destination and your home away from home. I hope you will enjoy the Maine Stay Inn and the Hauer family hospitality as much as I have.


Nice property in a Great Location

3.0 on November 12, 2010

The cottages were clean and the room was furnished nicely, but the room smelled musty until it was heated up properly. I missed the lack of fireplace in the room. I checked out a DVD to play in the room, but the DVD player didn't work. The breakfast was delivered to the room which was a big plus and the food tasty and hot. I am not a fan of the gluten free muffins, however.


Wonderful stay

4.2 on September 19, 2010

Just got home from a great girls/sisters weekend at the Maine Stay Inn. Perfect location, perfect cottage and quite delicious breakfasts both days! We had a group of 8 and had wine and munchies outside each afternoon which was delightful! We definitely plan to return as it was perfect in every way.


The Maine Stay felt like "home".

5 on July 30, 2010

My friend and I came to Kennebunkport last week. I was anxious about this trip (my first time to fly) and so to my surprise the Maine Stay felt like being at home. Judi, Walter, and Johanna were so friendly, helpful, and made me feel so at ease. I woke up every morning (excited) about what we were having for breakfast!! We walked to town for shopping, dining, or activities. My friend and I truly enjoyed every minute of our stay, and will definitely recommend the Maine Stay to all our friends and family. Loved every minute at the Maine Stay!


Charming B&B with friendly innkeepers

4.0 on July 01, 2010

Located walking distance to the main street in Dock Square, shops and restaurants in Kennebunkeport. We had a wonderful time at our first B&B at Maine Stay! The staff were very friendly and helpful, giving us suggestions and directions on things to do in town, even offering us beach towels, beach chairs to borrow for the day. Each room is decorated differently with its own unique charm and amenities (ranging from fireplaces, tub, to french bistro patio). The hot breakfasts were home-cooked, delicious, and different each day! And after a day of sightseeing, come back and catch your breath with their afternoon tea and home-baked cookies...and if you miss it, they leave cookies and tea out all night by the fireplace for you :) We loved the personal touches from a personal note we were left for our late check-in, to chocolates on the pillows. A delightful place to stay!


Excellent for families

5 on June 24, 2010

We always love staying here. We have stayed here as a couple and with our 2 girls. The innkeepers are VERY accommodating to families. Breakfast is great and cereal is always included just in case the girls balk at the more sophisticated dish. The cottages are well kept and spacious. My daughters LOVE the little playground and short walk to Dock Square, but the friendly service keeps us coming back.


A-List Establishment

5 on November 18, 2009

My wife and I enjoyed three nights at the very end of October. It was our third time as guests of the inn. We always take note of the extreme cleanliness of the place. We have viewed most of the accommodations and find them to be outstanding. The breakfast that is served is at least four star (by my high standards) and of the gourmet category. Everyone at the table makes a favorable comment Our hosts are always convivial and do whatever they can to make people feel at home and satisfied. The staff is super well trained and they execute professionally. All in all, a delightful long weekend (as were the others).


Terrible Surprise

1.8 on October 27, 2009

I booked one of the rooms in the mansion and they checked us in knowing we had a 6month old child. There was no mention of the 3rd guest's age in any of the correspondence. Yet when we returned from a great dinner in the neighborhood we had the uncomfortable experience of feeling unwanted with an unprofessional note stuck on the door... "please see the front desk". We were given few options but were repeatedly told that they do not accommodate for young children. We were up front with them the entire time and never even went to the breakfasts, we snuck in and out unnoticed and very quietly yet called out as being a bad guest somehow based on their past experiences. We were finally banished to one of the small awful sheds they call rooms in the back parking lot. We would not recommend this B&B based on their poor customer service skills... it could have been handle much better.

Innkeeper Response
This family arrived and spoke to a new staff member that did not know how to handle a rule violation. We do not have children in the main house, as those rooms are inappropriate for kids under 12. This is on our website and in e-mails to all guests. These guests booked online, where they agreed to our bolded child policy. They accepted, knowing they were violating this rule. Guests must also indicate the number in their party. They cannot add extra children in the main house and clearly indicated three ADULTS were coming. When I returned from grocery shopping and learned of the situation, I wrote a note, asking them to see the front desk to discuss our options. The guests said they were here for a romantic weekend and would not sacrifice a fireplace. By this point, all romantic cottages safe for a baby were occupied. They spent the night in the house but in the morning told us the baby cried so much that they wanted to see a cottage. We showed them a popular classic cottage, at the rear of the property that is family friendly. With a kitchen to prepare bottles and large sitting area without antiques or sharp corners, it is one of our most popular rooms for families. The "shed" they wanted to move to (I obviously take great offense, as it is very popular, inviting, and just remodeled) was not right for a romantic weekend, but we had no other option at the time. We rarely have guests who deliberately violate our few, but firm, rules. We were astounded at their disrespect, particularly after going out of our way to ensure their second night was not anxiety-laden like the first. Had they been honest about having a child, we could have met their needs. We never have children in the main house - by necessity, as it is filled with antiques, sharp corners, and steep stairs - but we have plenty of other options for a romantic weekend with baby in tow. We are disappointed by the dishonesty of these guests, as well as their negative impression, as we love having children.


Lovely inn

4.2 on August 11, 2009

Weekend get away. Lovely cottage with all the amenities. Close to everything. Great breakfast. TV in room which my husband must have if he is to be happy and not in a main sitting room only. Pristine everywhere. Will stay there whenever we are in the area


From Belmont, MA

4.0 on April 06, 2009

This trip was a weekend getaway. Owner of Inn, Judy and Walter were serving the food and you can have a nice interaction at tea time as well. We really enjoyed and two daughters had a wonderful time. This is from my daughter "Thank you for renting us a cottage. I really had a good time and it was wonderful. I really like the house and the rooms. Our day at Maine Stay was comfy and cozy. I had a wounderful time. We will return."


Wow!

5 on May 30, 2008

The new innkeepers of the Maine Stay Inn and Cottages, Judi and Walter, are absolutely lovely! It was so refreshing to see them there all the time. Both were there cooking and serving breakfast, which was truly excellent, and were there when we came in from a lovely dinner out. Our stay was nothing short of delightful and we hope to return again soon!


Warm and Friendly!

5 on June 30, 2007

We went to the Maine Stay for our 1st wedding anniversary in April. The owners were exceptional and very accommodating. Our cottage room was perfect - loved the fireplace. The breakfasts included were homemade and delish! We had a great time.


Great Place

5 on February 12, 2007

The Inn gets outstanding marks for every thing including a great breakfast with a friendly inn keeper and great conversation.


Maine Stay Inn & Cottages

Details

  • Nightly Rate $149 - $469
  • Reviews (125) 4.6
  • Rooms 17
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2079672117
  • Toll free 1-8009502117

Visit Website »

View details

Top