Maine Stay Inn & Cottages Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
71 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful Stay

4.6 on December 14, 2014

Had a wonderful two night stay in one of the cottages, which was especially cozy with the fireplace in the room. The innkeepers went out of their way to make us feel welcome and even though we had to leave early in the mornings they still made sure we had a delicious homemade breakfast. Easy to walk to center of town.


Magnificent Maine

3.8 on December 04, 2014

Just returned from spending two nights at the Maine Stay Inn & Cottages. The Hauers are a warm, friendly, and gracious family who truly enjoy being innkeepers. Their recommendations for restaurants and things to do were perfect for a relaxing getaway. It's a lovely inn and exceptionally clean and uncluttered. The breakfasts are delicious with interesting combinations and flavors and presented like a picture in a magazine. It's a close walk to Dock Square where there are great shops and restaurants. I would highly recommend this inn to anyone. We plan on returning in the near future.


Awesome Stay

5 on November 30, 2014

Great place to stay in Kennebunkport... Walt and his wife were great. Definitely will stay there again on my next visit out East.


Fall Weekend Getaway

5 on November 03, 2014

The Maine Stay was a great getaway retreat in Kennebunkport. Our room in the Inn was comfortable and beautifully furnished. Breakfasts were delicious and so enjoyable. The staff and owners were accommodating and very personable. The relaxed atmosphere made for a great weekend away.


outstanding and well-recommended

4.4 on October 28, 2014

We stayed for a night. A few weeks prior to arriving, we called and added a second night in the same room. When we arrived, we were greeted and shown a list of things to do in the area. They offered to carry our luggage to our room. When we got to the room, it was much better than expected! The room was clean and there was an iPhone dock playing music. They also had homemade cookies :-) the bathroom was a bit small for someone who is 6"4'. Breakfast the next morning was at a community table with the other guests. The food was simply amazing. Check-out was at 11, but since we were staying an extra night, we made our way to Portland for some sight seeing. While in Portland, they called us and asked why we had not yet checked out. We mentioned that we added a second night. They had no record of this but immediately offered to transfer us to another room and charge us the price of our original room. We ended up being upgraded to a better room. Breakfast the next morning was even better. While the error should not have happened in the first place, they went above and beyond to correct it. This place is highly recommended and we will be staying again in the future.


Highly Recomend

5 on October 25, 2014

Great Inn all the way around!!


Maine Stay Inn

4.0 on October 25, 2014

Great private cottage. Comfortable bed. Breakfast was delicious. Was a little more spendy then others in the area.


25th Wedding Anniversary

4.2 on October 22, 2014

Our stay was wonderful. Our cottage looked just like the website photos. Judith and Walter were extremely friendly and helpful. The home has so much charm and character. Our only complaint was the breakfast that was served. It was good, but we were hoping for something using "foods" from the New England Coast. We were hoping to enjoy hot pancakes with MAINE blueberries covered in hot MAPLE syrup from Vermont. I would recommend this property to my friends.


What an amazing place!

5 on October 16, 2014

When my wife and I arrived to this bed and breakfast we have to say the service, the breakfast and the room were all amazing! We had the best stay and even had a wonderful conversation with the 2 owners. I left my iphone charger at home and when I asked Walter he was more than happy to let me borrow his for the 2 days we were there. When we go back to Kennebunkport I am definitely staying here again. This was one of the best places I have been to and I travel quite a bit for work. Thank you!


Loved Our Stay

5 on September 29, 2014

We wanted to stay here just by the pictures alone until we met the owners Judi and Walter. They are such nice people and so accommodating. What a fabulous 3 days we spent here! The rooms are very, very nice and well appointed right down to the smallest of details (the caramels placed in your room are so good). The grounds were beautiful and well kept. The breakfast each morning was delicious and the service was spectacular. We cannot say enough about the time we spent here and we are already planning another getaway to Maine Stay Inn very soon!


Lovely home

4.0 on September 29, 2014

Room was not quite ready upon our arrival at 3:00. Room was also smaller than expected. We had to crane our necks to view the TV from the seating in the room. Very nice touch with the cheese and dessert trays, and the breakfast was outstanding.


Great Stay at Maine Stay Inn & Cottages

5 on September 16, 2014

Judi, Walter and their exemplary staff make your stay at this beautiful Inn like staying with family. The Inn and our room was beautiful and so comfortable. I did get a peek at cottage #6...gorgeous, we will probably pick a cottage next time because of the nature of our buying trips. This is a first class establishment...elegant but not pretentious. We had such a wonderful time and a perfect place for a honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic trip. We will definitely be staying here again. It is in walking distance to restaurants and shops...my favorite thing to do:) Thanks Judi for all your help. Paul and Linda...McKinney, Texas


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast

5 on September 05, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Maine Stay Inn. It was very clean and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was very delicious!!


Beautiful Inn

4.4 on September 05, 2014

My husband and I stayed over Labor Day weekend 2014. Great location and lovely setting. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable. Judi and Walter were very welcoming and breakfast rivaled any 4 star restaurant. Will definitely go back next time we plan a trip to Southern Maine.


The Best Inn ever!

5 on September 05, 2014

This was a wonderful place to stay. The Hauers are excellent hosts and their staff is friendly and courteous and all were helpful from making reservations and advising us on getting around the area. The breakfasts were superb! We loved being within walking distance of the town. The living room and the porch were nice and comfortable places to sit and relax after a long day of sight-seeing with coffee and cookies always available! We will definitely plan to stay here again!


Definitly stay here!

4.6 on September 02, 2014

My husband and I only stayed one night but we would definitly stay again. From the time we walked in we felt comfortable. The staff sat down with us and gave us the run down of all the area restaurants and their recommendations, including a map. They showed us the room and told us what we needed to know. The room was comfortable and super clean, and the breakfast the next day was delivered to our room and was delicious! We wish we were able to stay longer! We totally recommend it!


Amazing weekend at Kennebunkport

5 on September 01, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time. The Inn is beautiful and lovely porch and property. We found the service to be very nice and friendly. Cottage 5 was great has it was super clean and very comfy amenities.


Uniquely Maine

4.2 on August 31, 2014

The Maine Stay Inn is an excellent choice. Very clean, very good service from the Owners and Staff. The breakfasts on the porch are a great experience. Kennebunkport has many of the traditional Maine activities within a reasonable range and the Maine Stay Inn is a great home base.


A charming villa in Kennenbunkport

4.6 on August 26, 2014

We stayed in one of the cottages: very nice the room and kitchen, a little too small the bathroom. The main house instead is really beautifull. Excellent the service: Ann the person that was in charge of us was really kind and helpfull with always a smile on her face. Wonderful hospitality from the owner. The only negative thing is the price, just a little over correct price.


Great location, great property

4.6 on August 20, 2014

An old house that doesn't feel old at all. Ultra-clean and comfortable room, comfortable mattress, well-maintained home and property. Felt more like a 4-star hotel than a B&B. Highly recommend.


Fabulous!

5 on August 16, 2014

Fabulous stay in every way! We enjoyed the beautiful yard and quiet. A great location! Judy, Walter, Johanna and staff could not have been any nicer or more accommodating. Thank you for teaching us a new card game. Can't wait to return!


maine landing destination!

4.8 on August 10, 2014

We drove for 12 hours from our Maryland home to land at this quiet comfortable haven ; just in time to walk to our dinner reservations a block away. Returned to a peaceful cottage and wonderful restful night. Breakfast was fabulous! Beautiful morning of exploring the town with a bonus of a library book sale down the street. Totally good vibes here, the staff were the happiest - happy staff and most satisfied travelers!


Wonderful retreat

4.4 on August 03, 2014

We recently enjoyed three relaxing days at Maine Stay Inn and Cottages. Fabulous breakfasts, gracious hosts and pampered accommodations. The Inn offers a great location for walking to town and beaches.


a nice indulgence

3.8 on July 17, 2014

My husband, adult daughter and I stayed in one of the cottages. It was very comfortable, and spacious enough for three-- for a short stay. We really appreciated the little details like freshly baked cookies when we arrived! My only suggestion is that it would be nice to have hooks in the bathroom-- there was no place to hang a robe and towels 'in use'.


Antiquity with Luxury, Style, and Efficiency

4.8 on July 15, 2014

Our stay at the Maine Stay Inn & Cottages during the first week of July, 2014, was truly wonderful in so many ways. While the “big house,” a beautiful, historic home, was very charming in every way, the amenities provided, methods of fixing and presenting the excellent meals, numerous types of information available, and superb service all provided the important elements of a great hotel to its guests. We stayed in one of the very nice cottages, where, again, so many conveniences were very thoughtfully provided. The bed was great; having an a/c unit was helpful for the warmer time of the year; yet all around us, from the grounds to the trees, was exactly what we hoped it would – our long-awaited visit to the beauty of the northeast, and especially the lush green of Maine. I highly recommend the Maine Stay Inn for your accommodations while in Kennebunkport.


outstanding experience.

5 on July 15, 2014

The rooms are very clean and very comfy. The gourmet breakfast is definitely something to look forward to. The owner and the staff are so friendly and pleasant. They do anything they can for you to make your stay enjoyable. I would definitely stay here again. Wonderful.


Great Place to Stay

4.6 on July 15, 2014

Lovely place, friendly atmosphere, very convenient to town, and amazing breakfasts -- best at any inn ever.


Delightful!

5 on July 01, 2014

Our stay here was wonderful. The room was large and comfortable. The setting was so relaxing and the owners, Judy and Walter were a delight to meet. The location was walking distance to many restaurants and the main street. The breakfast was very good and our second morning we had an early flight in Portland. They prepared a cold breakfast and had our table set for us. I would highly recommend this inn to anyone visiting Kennebunkport.


A quick get-away

4.6 on June 26, 2014

This was a brief stay in Kennebunkport - have been there many times and stayed several other places, but found the Maine Stay to be exceptional. From Judi's greeting and her offer to recommend places to dine, etc., to the lovely breakfast on the porch, the spacious cottage (#5) - all made for a very pleasant few days in Maine.


Romantic Engagement

4.8 on June 23, 2014

Went up to Maine to get engaged last week. I was greeted by a great staff with drinks and snacks waiting. Personally walked to my cottage which was cozy, and very clean. Breakfast in the morning was great. Room was cleaned daily. Inn keepers found out I had gotten engaged, and put cakes and balloons in the refrigerator as a surprise. Everything about the stay was great. Would go back in a heart beat.


Relaxing B&B

4.6 on June 19, 2014

We were very impressed with our room and the hospitality shown to us by all that worked at the Maine Stay Inn & Cottages. Breakfast was delicious! Thank you for accommodating my various food allergies.


Wonderful Weekend

4.8 on June 19, 2014

My husband and I loved our stay. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic. The hosts friendly and very accommodating to your needs. It was a truly relaxing weekend. We will be returning to enjoy another stay.


Always First Rate.

5 on June 16, 2014

It is a tribute to Judi and Walter that we have stayed there for five of the last six years. The stay is always delightful, delicious and deserving of the best of ratings !


Quick Stay, Friendly Staff

5 on June 11, 2014

We stayed at the Maine Stay Inn & Cottages one night in June. It was a really quick stay, but our interaction with the staff was great. We called to let them know we would be showing up after check-in time (7:00pm) on Sunday, and we would have to leave before breakfast on Monday. They set up our cottage with maps, information about the area, and general welcome goodies. They also place a breakfast in our cottage so we could eat before heading to the airport. We didn't get to eat the hot prepared breakfast, but our granola, yogurt, fresh fruit, homemade muffins, orange juice, and milk were delicious and very thoughtful. We will be staying there again!


Lovely Inn, great hosts

3.2 on June 09, 2014

Lovely Inn and the hosts are very welcoming. Location is perfect with easy access to the shops and restaurants. Definitely recommend to others.


Beautiful, Clean and Lovely

4.4 on April 30, 2014

Our stay was short but it was wonderful! The cottage was beautiful and extremely clean and the owners and staff were super friendly and kind to us. Overall, this place is awesome and I can't wait to go back!


soooo nice :)

4.0 on April 09, 2014

We only stayed one night, but thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it! The owner, Walt, checked us in and showed us to our cottage, which couldn't have been cuter, and showed us where everything was. He was very sweet and genuinely wanted to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The bed was super comfy, the fireplace was lovely, the mini kitchen was convenient, we had a little trouble trying to figure out how to turn the heating unit down but that was most likely due to our own lack of paying attention when Walt explained it to us when we got there! I'd wholeheartedly recommend this place for a romantic getaway and would absolutely return. If I had to pick something to complain about, and it'd be nitpicking because this place was just so nice, the complimentary soaps and shampoos in the bathroom weren't the best...but obviously, like I said, that's definitely nitpicking!! We loved our room, had a wonderful experience and would love to visit again.


We can't wait to go back!

4.8 on April 02, 2014

Our stay at the Maine Stay Inn was amazing! We were looking for a luxurious yet quiet weekend away, and we got exactly what we wanted. Judi and Walter were so sweet, along with everyone else on the staff. We stayed in one of the cottages in the back and it was more than we could have even hoped for. It was so spacious and clean, and they really do think of everything you could possibly need. Not just the jacuzzi tub and the fireplace, but wine glasses and a coffee maker! They gave us dining recommendations and cookies when we checked in, and brought delicious breakfast right to our room in the morning. Everything about our stay was amazing and we will definitely be back!


The Perfect Weekend

5 on February 21, 2014

It was our first time in a Bed and Breakfast. We were comfortable, welcomed and were really impressed with this beautiful home. The breakfast was delicious and just what we needed to get back on the road to Connecticut.


Wonderful Stay at the Maine Stay, Kennebunkport

4.8 on January 20, 2014

This was our first stay at the Maine Stay Inn, Kennebunkport. The inn, which is a quintessential large New England seaport house, has a casual, neat and relaxed atmosphere. Walter, one of the owners, was particularly friendly and always ready for conversation. Location is perfect for visitors – just a short walk to the “downtown” shopping area of town. For those who haven’t been to Kennebunkport, most of the local things to do - shopping, beach, ocean side sitting areas and restaurants are all compacted in a small area such that it is just a few minutes drive between all. Our upstairs room in main house was very nicely decorated, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast quality and service were excellent and relaxed, with two seatings. The expansive front porch looked inviting, though it was a bit chilly while we were there in November to enjoy it. The common room in the entrance areas was neat and comfortable, and can accommodate around five people seated. The dining area has two large tables that were available for informal gathering and conversation. Overall, an enjoyable stay. Trade the large hotels for a friendly, comfortable “home away from home” and Stay at the Maine Stay Inn.


Keurig & Comfort!

4.8 on May 31, 2013

The breakfast was the best I've had in a while - started my day right! I stayed in the Abbie’s Retreat Room with a king bed. It was comforting after a long trip. The bed was very cozy with many pillows and great for my height – 6’2. The room was pleasant with the nice added benefits of my own personal Keurig machine, which came in handy after watching NBA playoffs on the flatscreen the night before. The bathroom was also equipped with a nice size jetted Jacuzzi tub that I didn’t get the chance to try, but will the next time.


Great weekend away

3.6 on October 29, 2012

This is one of the few B&Bs that had an option of having a room with two beds. I was traveling with my mother so the cottage we stayed in was perfect. It had a bathroom and a small kitchen. The two people that were on duty when we arrived were kind and friendly. We enjoyed some tea and cookies before venturing out for an afternoon of shopping. We opted to have breakfast in our cottage. The food was delicious.


Absolute charm

4.0 on September 26, 2012

My cousin and I needed a "girls weekend" and we couldn't have been happier with the Maine Stay Inn. Great location, lovely room and delicious breakfast. The cottage was perfect, clean and staff incredibly helpful. Would definitely stay here again.


Exceeded Our Expectations

5 on September 16, 2012

I loved my first bed & breakfast in Kennebunkport 25 years ago and I loved this one also. While our standards have changed substantially over the years, I wasn't sure what to expect. Maine Stay exceeded all of our expectations - The Inn was fabulous as well as the hosts, Judi & Walter; To our surprise, the other guests were fabulous also! : ).


Excellent service and perfect location

4.4 on September 05, 2012

Excellent location and terrific service from Walt, Judi and their staff! During check-in, they thoroughly go over information and the map of Kennebunkport with you and answer all your questions, which is extremely helpful in helping you get your bearings. Beach passes and beach gear (umbrellas, chairs, etc) are made available to all guests. Walt even jumpstarted our car when we accidentally left the lights on! We had a terrific visit to Kennebunkport and highly recommend staying at Maine Stay Inn & Cottages.


Midweek spring get-a-way 3/27/2012

5 on March 31, 2012

We stayed two nights in this marvelous house! Judy and Walter are terrific innkeepers. The breakfasts were sumptuous compared to other places, and Judy is a great morning hostess. The rooms were pristine, comfortable, and well appointed. For an older home in an historic area there was no disturbing noises at any time during our stay. It was fun to walk into town and visit along Dock Square and go off on a couple of day trips, always returning to the warmth and charm of the Maine Stay. We encourage you to relax, rejuvenate, and get away to the Maine Stay Inn!!!!


New Year's Surprise

4.0 on March 26, 2012

We welcomed in 2012 with a special evening hosted by owners Walter & Judy & their lovely daughter. We met some wonderful visitors, and I hope to return same time next year!


Maine Stay Inn

5 on March 16, 2012

Wonderful accommodations -- beautiful setting, clean, quiet. Excellent service. Highly recommend.


Celebrating our 50th anniversary

5 on February 01, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. Everyone was warm and made us comfortable. The room was beautiful.


Perfect!

5 on November 18, 2011

Outstanding B&B in every way. Immaculate rooms, great location, and delicious breakfast. We can't wait to go back!


Great, as always

4.0 on October 31, 2011

My family and I love to visit the Kennebunks at least once a year. This is the only place we will stay. We love the owners and all the staff...they make it feel like home each and evey time.


Outstanding Visit

5 on August 16, 2011

My wife and I have visited many very fine B&Bs from Savannah to Bar Harbor and the Maine Stay provided us with maybe our best experience. The breakfast, staff, rooms and location exceeded our expectations. The key to their success is the fact that the owners, Judi and Walter, are actively involved in the operations. Not only are they exceedingly pleasant people, but they also know how to run a B&B perfectly. We will no doubt return in the near future.


Maine Stay Inn

4.0 on August 06, 2011

Charming bed and breakfast in the heart of Kennebunkport within walking distance to shops. Beautiful decor, delicious breakfasts. Innkeepers very friendly and knowledgeable of area.


Lovely

4.0 on July 24, 2011

What a great place! The staff were friendly, accomodating and breakfast was incredible. I will definitely return at some point!


Maine Stay Inn & Cottages Recommended

4.8 on June 01, 2011

It was a pleasure to stay at The Maine Stay Inn & Cottages. The cottage was attractive and the grounds well maintained. Breakfast was delicious and accomodated our need to eat gluten-free. (seven day notice) We walked downtown for dinner at Bandaloop Restaurant. Our stay was much enjoyed!


Excellent Stay

4.2 on April 08, 2011

We had a great overnight stay! The rooms were exceptionally well done and clean and everyone who worked there couldn't have been nicer. Would definitely recommend and would stay again!


Best Birthday Escape Ever

5 on April 06, 2011

What a treat to getaway for one night...wish I had more! Upon arrival at this lovely Historic Maine home, I was warmly greeted by Johanna who instantly put the tea kettle on for a cup of tea (and coffee for my husband) as I toured her lovely inn and got acquainted with the area. I was looking for a bit of pampering on my Birthday escape...and found Judy, Walt, and Johanna had thought of everything. They arranged a romantic dinner for us in town at Grissini's. We had a table right in front of a massive fire you could curl up in!! And the food was FABULOUS! Our room was in one of their guest houses, an amazing suite (#2)! There wasn't a single detail overlooked in the style and comfort of this fabulous suite...from our King bed, dressed in the softest of linens complete with a perfect view of our lovely fireplace, lamps on dimmers for perfect lighting, and a relaxing whirlpool jacuzzi tub we had everything we wanted! The innkeepers truly have thought of everything...soft fluffy robes, refrigerator, Keurg coffee on demand, bar sink, and speaking of sinks...you've got to check out the bathroom sink made of all glass and shelves of modern design...it was fabulous! And Breakfast!!! Delivered to our room. Does it get any better than that? Well, taste and see! I had a lovely savory parmesan French toast with eggs, presented beautifully on china, with sauteed apples and fresh squeezed orange juice...YUM ( I ate every bite)! In the morning we had a leisurely walk to the village, very close by and enjoyed the amazing architecture of this beautiful coastal village. Our only complaint was that we could only stay one night.


New Year's weekend 2011

4.2 on January 12, 2011

Our hosts went way beyond our expectations on New Year's Eve by hosting a get-together with appetizers and beverages before dinner, playing games for guests who did not watn to venture out and sharing dessert after dinner for those guests who did go out to dinner.


Best Romantic Cottages in Kennebunkport

5 on December 07, 2010

This is no ordinary B&B. It stands head & shoulders above the rest. It is located within easy walking distance to the many unique town shops and restaurants, and a short drive to the beaches. It is a short drive to The Bush family compound with beautiful sea vistas on Walkers Point and Cape Porpoise with its picturesque pier, Goose Rocks Beach & Nunans Lobster Hut, known far & wide as the best place for casual dining on lobster that you will ever find. This is a gem of an updated, historical Inn with beautifully appointed private cottages – it’s a real find. As expected, it’s all due to the care & attention to detail by the hard working owners, Judi & Walter Hauer. Having stayed there 3 times, I can’t comment on all of the cottages & rooms, all are different and beautifully appointed but I’ve seen most and have watched their meticulous renovations over a period of time. Each one shows the tremendous pride of ownership and love of catering to the needs & wishes of frequently returning guests. From the top quality hot breakfast that you may wish delivered to you cottage, down to the softest bathrobes and beautifully folded towels, to the rubber ducks and bath beads at the side of the whirlpool baths, every detail to make you feel pampered and cared for is considered. The beds are first rate and the location is beautifully quiet & tranquil. You will leave that city stress behind in no time – trust me! But above all when you have owners that really know how to make you feel at home, it can easily become your favorite vacation destination and your home away from home. I hope you will enjoy the Maine Stay Inn and the Hauer family hospitality as much as I have.


Nice property in a Great Location

3.0 on November 12, 2010

The cottages were clean and the room was furnished nicely, but the room smelled musty until it was heated up properly. I missed the lack of fireplace in the room. I checked out a DVD to play in the room, but the DVD player didn't work. The breakfast was delivered to the room which was a big plus and the food tasty and hot. I am not a fan of the gluten free muffins, however.


Wonderful stay

4.2 on September 19, 2010

Just got home from a great girls/sisters weekend at the Maine Stay Inn. Perfect location, perfect cottage and quite delicious breakfasts both days! We had a group of 8 and had wine and munchies outside each afternoon which was delightful! We definitely plan to return as it was perfect in every way.


The Maine Stay felt like "home".

5 on July 30, 2010

My friend and I came to Kennebunkport last week. I was anxious about this trip (my first time to fly) and so to my surprise the Maine Stay felt like being at home. Judi, Walter, and Johanna were so friendly, helpful, and made me feel so at ease. I woke up every morning (excited) about what we were having for breakfast!! We walked to town for shopping, dining, or activities. My friend and I truly enjoyed every minute of our stay, and will definitely recommend the Maine Stay to all our friends and family. Loved every minute at the Maine Stay!


Charming B&B with friendly innkeepers

4.0 on July 01, 2010

Located walking distance to the main street in Dock Square, shops and restaurants in Kennebunkeport. We had a wonderful time at our first B&B at Maine Stay! The staff were very friendly and helpful, giving us suggestions and directions on things to do in town, even offering us beach towels, beach chairs to borrow for the day. Each room is decorated differently with its own unique charm and amenities (ranging from fireplaces, tub, to french bistro patio). The hot breakfasts were home-cooked, delicious, and different each day! And after a day of sightseeing, come back and catch your breath with their afternoon tea and home-baked cookies...and if you miss it, they leave cookies and tea out all night by the fireplace for you :) We loved the personal touches from a personal note we were left for our late check-in, to chocolates on the pillows. A delightful place to stay!


Excellent for families

5 on June 24, 2010

We always love staying here. We have stayed here as a couple and with our 2 girls. The innkeepers are VERY accommodating to families. Breakfast is great and cereal is always included just in case the girls balk at the more sophisticated dish. The cottages are well kept and spacious. My daughters LOVE the little playground and short walk to Dock Square, but the friendly service keeps us coming back.


A-List Establishment

5 on November 18, 2009

My wife and I enjoyed three nights at the very end of October. It was our third time as guests of the inn. We always take note of the extreme cleanliness of the place. We have viewed most of the accommodations and find them to be outstanding. The breakfast that is served is at least four star (by my high standards) and of the gourmet category. Everyone at the table makes a favorable comment Our hosts are always convivial and do whatever they can to make people feel at home and satisfied. The staff is super well trained and they execute professionally. All in all, a delightful long weekend (as were the others).


Terrible Surprise

1.8 on October 27, 2009

I booked one of the rooms in the mansion and they checked us in knowing we had a 6month old child. There was no mention of the 3rd guest's age in any of the correspondence. Yet when we returned from a great dinner in the neighborhood we had the uncomfortable experience of feeling unwanted with an unprofessional note stuck on the door... "please see the front desk". We were given few options but were repeatedly told that they do not accommodate for young children. We were up front with them the entire time and never even went to the breakfasts, we snuck in and out unnoticed and very quietly yet called out as being a bad guest somehow based on their past experiences. We were finally banished to one of the small awful sheds they call rooms in the back parking lot. We would not recommend this B&B based on their poor customer service skills... it could have been handle much better.

Innkeeper Response
This family arrived and spoke to a new staff member that did not know how to handle a rule violation. We do not have children in the main house, as those rooms are inappropriate for kids under 12. This is on our website and in e-mails to all guests. These guests booked online, where they agreed to our bolded child policy. They accepted, knowing they were violating this rule. Guests must also indicate the number in their party. They cannot add extra children in the main house and clearly indicated three ADULTS were coming. When I returned from grocery shopping and learned of the situation, I wrote a note, asking them to see the front desk to discuss our options. The guests said they were here for a romantic weekend and would not sacrifice a fireplace. By this point, all romantic cottages safe for a baby were occupied. They spent the night in the house but in the morning told us the baby cried so much that they wanted to see a cottage. We showed them a popular classic cottage, at the rear of the property that is family friendly. With a kitchen to prepare bottles and large sitting area without antiques or sharp corners, it is one of our most popular rooms for families. The "shed" they wanted to move to (I obviously take great offense, as it is very popular, inviting, and just remodeled) was not right for a romantic weekend, but we had no other option at the time. We rarely have guests who deliberately violate our few, but firm, rules. We were astounded at their disrespect, particularly after going out of our way to ensure their second night was not anxiety-laden like the first. Had they been honest about having a child, we could have met their needs. We never have children in the main house - by necessity, as it is filled with antiques, sharp corners, and steep stairs - but we have plenty of other options for a romantic weekend with baby in tow. We are disappointed by the dishonesty of these guests, as well as their negative impression, as we love having children.


Lovely inn

4.2 on August 11, 2009

Weekend get away. Lovely cottage with all the amenities. Close to everything. Great breakfast. TV in room which my husband must have if he is to be happy and not in a main sitting room only. Pristine everywhere. Will stay there whenever we are in the area


From Belmont, MA

4.0 on April 06, 2009

This trip was a weekend getaway. Owner of Inn, Judy and Walter were serving the food and you can have a nice interaction at tea time as well. We really enjoyed and two daughters had a wonderful time. This is from my daughter "Thank you for renting us a cottage. I really had a good time and it was wonderful. I really like the house and the rooms. Our day at Maine Stay was comfy and cozy. I had a wounderful time. We will return."


Wow!

5 on May 30, 2008

The new innkeepers of the Maine Stay Inn and Cottages, Judi and Walter, are absolutely lovely! It was so refreshing to see them there all the time. Both were there cooking and serving breakfast, which was truly excellent, and were there when we came in from a lovely dinner out. Our stay was nothing short of delightful and we hope to return again soon!


Warm and Friendly!

5 on June 30, 2007

We went to the Maine Stay for our 1st wedding anniversary in April. The owners were exceptional and very accommodating. Our cottage room was perfect - loved the fireplace. The breakfasts included were homemade and delish! We had a great time.


Great Place

5 on February 12, 2007

The Inn gets outstanding marks for every thing including a great breakfast with a friendly inn keeper and great conversation.


Maine Stay Inn & Cottages

Details

  • Nightly Rate $149 - $439
  • Reviews (71) 4.5
  • Rooms 17
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2079672117
  • Toll free 1-8009502117

Visit Website »

View details

Top