Coveside Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
133 Reviews

Write A Review

Birthday at Coveside B & B

5 on September 15, 2014

Just a short two night stay, came to have lobster and celebrate my wife's birthday. Carolyn and Tom are wonderful hosts. The breakfasts are spectacular and the lodging even better. Everything clean and spotless. The grounds are beautiful. We will be back next year.


best BNB experience we've ever had

4.4 on September 14, 2014

Superb setting: landscaping, architecture, views, plus outstanding rooms with well maintained, decorated rooms, private porches with water views, refrigerator stocked with complementary wine/beer/soft drinks. Hostess welcoming, well-informed and articulate, with excellent breakfast. Can't ask or hope for more!


Recent Visit

5 on August 31, 2014

Superb in every way. Beautiful, quiet location. Tom and Carolyn very friendly and helpful with information about the area and things to do locally.


Amazing Get-A-Way

4.4 on August 16, 2014

We chose the Coveside B&B as our first get-a-way. It was an amazing weekend, one I will never forget! Romantic! The views of the cove was breath taking, the Inn Keepers, Carolyn & Tom were very friendly and hospitable! The area had several things to see and do. We plan to return every year!!!


Charming B&B

5 on August 14, 2014

What a gem this place is! Beautiful views, immaculate and comfortable accommodations, beautiful gardens and the most wonderful food ever!!! We felt so warmly welcomed and at home here. Carolyn and Tom are such gracious hosts who provided tons of information about things to do, places to see and restaurants to visit. Our favorite was the lobster wharf nearby with the freshest seafood at amazingly affordable prices (an easy walk). We also spend many hours at nearby Reid State Park. This was a wonderful retreat and an experience we will repeat!


Had a wonderful relaxing time

5 on July 31, 2014

Tom and Carolyn have gone all out to provide a wonderful experience. They renovated the Coveside in such a way as to give every room a great view. Their are plenty of outside and covered porch sitting areas to relax in. The breakfasts were very creative and delicious served in their indoor or outdoor dining room overlooking a beautiful view with water and garden flowers. The b&b is close to a great lobster dock eatery and beautiful state park.


Outstanding place to stay

5 on July 23, 2014

The Coveside Inn is an outstanding place to stay. It is beautiful and the food is excellent.


"It doesn't get better than this"

5 on July 20, 2014

Arriving at Coveside one sees at once a most appealing, comfortable, drawing-in setting, with a view of the cove some yards beyond – with two inviting Adirondack chairs by the shore of the cove. I don’t have words to describe the beauty and the sensibility conveyed in the environment and hospitality that is Coveside. What Tom and Carolyn have created and provide is at once an island of welcoming, congenial, quiet energy and unsurpassed beauty – including the multi-course served stunning breakfasts! And if it rains – don’t worry – they have provided for our comfort and pleasure in this as well! There are multiple screened in porches and sitting/relaxing areas over-looking the cove. It rained - so I stretched out on a coach in a screened-in quiet area and read, and felt contented and happy! As the Maine: An Explorer’s Guide said “It doesn’t get better than this.”


Relaxing Mini-Vacation

5 on July 03, 2014

What a wonderful bed and breakfast which far exceeded our expectations. Coveside provided what proved to be a relaxing and peaceful mini-vacation. Impeccably clean accommodations, superior service and cordial hosts. Breakfast was gourmet and snacks were extremely tasty. Definitely looking forward to our next trip to Coveside.


Idyllic stay in Maine B & B

5 on June 11, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed an idyllic stay at Coveside. Carolyn and Tom were wonderful hosts and the breakfasts exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed a wonderful view of the cove from Tom's Room. We appreciated the use of their season pass to Reid State Park at no cost to us and using the canoe to paddle around the cove.


A weekend of serenity and comfort!

5 on June 06, 2014

We loved our weekend at Coveside. From our spacious, comfortable room to the delectable baked goods and imaginative breakfasts, everything was perfect. Also loved being a stone's throw from Five Island Lobster and Reid State Park.


Relaxing Fall Trip

5 on October 16, 2013

Coveside has been reviewed favorably by many and thus it is difficult to come up with anything new to add. This was our second visit and hopefully it will not be our last. We stayed in the Cottage Red Suite is a large room beautifully decorated and furnished. It has also has a generous porch overlooking the cove and we used it to our advantage bringing dinner back to the cove and dinning on the porch. The breakfasts are delicious and the hosts engaging. The other guests which I realize are random are interesting and from widely varying locations. Coveside is far from the tourist locations and that would be its strength and for some its weakness. But it delivers what is promised and provides a fond memory of a delightful stay.


Excellent and special place to stay!

5 on September 30, 2013

Come visit this beautiful quiet cove in Georgetown Maine! Tasty meals, wonderful hosts, and comfortable, beautifully designed rooms and suites. Its so great that it hurts to tell others about it because we might not be able to get in again! But it was a great place to spend our 30th wedding anniversary.


Happy guests!

4.6 on September 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The location was relaxing and secluded. The innkeepers were very accommodating for food allergies at breakfast and provided friendly service.


Two Night Getaway

4.2 on September 13, 2013

This was a wonderful two night stay. Due to existing reservations made before ours, we had two change our room for the second night. We would have preferred the first night room for both nights, but that was not possible. However, the hosts made this change very uneventful. We had a gret time and will return. The breakfasts were wonderful. Walter W. Heleen


an island of tranquility

5 on September 13, 2013

My wife and I spent five days at the Coveside B & B, and even the Maine weather was unsettled, Tom and Carolyn provided us with the perfect getaway from city life. Their hospitality was first class, and the inn was just as beautiful as the pictures on the website.


Never Disappoints

4.8 on September 09, 2013

Always wonderful, warm and welcoming after all these years.


We Keep Coming Back

5 on September 03, 2013

We discovered this beautiful inn last year and came back again this year. Beautiful area, lovely amenities, delicious breakfast, and breathtaking views. What more could you ask for?


Tom & Carolyn are outstanding hosts

4.6 on September 01, 2013

Couldn't have been better we wish it was longer Linda + Phil


Amazing location!

4.6 on August 30, 2013

The setting of this B&B is absolutely amazing! The cove is so beautiful! B&B itself is so comfortable, the owners have thought of everything you could possibly need. Rooms and common areas are decorated so nicely and kept very clean. Besides the grounds, breakfast is the highlight!! Different everyday using the freshest ingredients! We will definitely be back!!


The very BEST B&B in the Northeast!

5 on August 26, 2013

Our most recent visit was our third time at Coveside. It is without a doubt or hesitation the most relaxing venue. While the weather may provide a part of the experience, the B&B provides the crown jewel! The accommodations are comfortable, the location superb and, the breakfasts are simply outstanding!! As we departed, we our reservations for next year!!


Do Not Hesitate Book Now - you will not be disappointed!

5 on August 23, 2013

There are not enough words to describe how special and relaxing Coveside is, we give it a 5 stars PLUS! Just amazing breakfasts from fabulous starters like fruit crisp or scones with home made jams and apple butter then on to your actual breakfasts that are so flavorful and plentiful, you will not leave hungry. The little board outside that harkens what is on the menu the following morning has your taste buds in anticipation. So glad we stayed 3 days in August, wish we had booked longer.The absolute best was laying in bed waking up in Marty's room, looking out to the sun rise over the water, seeing the fishermen get ready, watching them leave, seeing all sizes of boats and kayakers, listening to the sea gulls as they fly over the water - All from the cozy bed without lifting your head - unbelievable! Coveside allows you time to reconnect, the only distraction is the view! My hubby who turns on the tv the minute he is up had to admit that it was so much more relaxing without one. Tom and Carolyn have WiFi so we read the news on our iPad and netbook, one day reading the current paper in the livingroom which over looks the water. Hubby was pleased that he was able to see his Nascar race in the room where there is a tv for viewing and gym equipment. He never wants to miss his race! We explored Bath and on our hosts recommendation ate at Solo Bistro, the food was very good. We have stayed at hotels and bed and breakfasts on the eastern seaboard of Maine as well as our own Maritime provinces in Canada and this one tops them all! This ticks all the boxes, respectful, considerate, tend to every need hosts, beautiful nature setting on water, clean comfortable, fabulous breakfasts, relaxing accommodations with super beds. It was a slight bit higher than we normally pay but so worth it and very glad we did. We could not have asked for more thanks to Tom and Carolyn!


The perfect vacation

5 on August 23, 2013

Wow! Not enough words to describe this lovely B/B set in a beautiful environment. Kudos to our wonderful master chef breakfasts. She should be on TV! Tom was the consummate host.


Maine at it's best!

4.6 on August 19, 2013

Staying with Tom & Carolyn is like staying with family except the guest rooms are better and the breakfast is a million times better. Have been staying there for years. They keep the place in great shape and do everything possible to accommodate your needs and make your vacation enjoyable. The inn has Maine charm and serenity.


Lovely Lodging

5 on August 16, 2013

A two-night stay in the Red Suite was a lovely way to end our trip to Maine. The suite, the buildings, the grounds, the views - and the food were all exceptionally well done. The innkeepers have thought of everything from beautiful rooms to stocked drinks, cookies, comfortable common areas, activities - all in updated comfort - and yes, delicious, gourmet breakfasts!


Outstanding Inn

4.6 on August 12, 2013

The absolute best lodging i have ever been too. I usually spend less on a nights stay but after staying at the coveside it will be hard to settle for less. It was worth every penny.


Best Blood Pressure Medication around!!

5 on August 12, 2013

What a wonderful, relaxing corner of Paradise! The accommodations are first rate and Carolyn and Tom offer warmth and humor as great hosts. the ever-ready, always-ready chocolate chip cookies are good, too. They offer information galore on the possibilities in the area. What a great respite!


Picturesque gem

5 on August 10, 2013

This was only our second trip to Maine, but we definitely prefer this B&B in Georgetown removed from the commercialism and traffic of our stay elsewhere two years ago. As Floridians, Coveside is the "Maine" that we wanted to see. The relaxed setting and unspoiled views were perfect for unwinding, especially sitting in the inviting adirondack chairs with a glass of wine overlooking the cove. Tom and Carolyn are wonderful hosts, and they've thought of everything to make their guests feel welcome and comfortable. One of the draws for booking Coveside was their website descriptions/pictures of breakfast. We weren't disappointed since the food tastes even better than it appears online. We stayed in the Alice room with a remarkable view of the cove. We had just checked into our room when we spotted two deer in the yard and ran downstairs to get a picture. While Georgetown is quiet, there are sites to keep you busy, including the beautiful state parks. We enjoyed the lobster at Five Islands (less than $20 for two whole lobsters) which was more tasty than the expensive meals that we had in Boston the following week. Since we had to leave very early the day we checked out, we missed the last breakfast, but Tom and Carolyn were kind enough to leave muffins, toast and coffee to accommodate our schedule. We will definitely stay at Coveside when we visit Maine again. Thanks to these gracious hosts for a memorable stay.


Perfect Five Islands

5 on August 10, 2013

Carolyn and Tom go out of their way to create a welcoming, relaxing atmosphere. We love staying at Coveside and recommend it highly for anyone looking to enjoy what is one of the last remaining vestiges of unspoiled Maine. Carolyn's breakfasts are superb.


Lovely, lovely, lovely

5 on August 08, 2013

Lovely owners, lovely location, lovely breakfast. Can't wait to stay again. Laid back environment with no detail spared.


Beautiful beyond belief!

5 on August 02, 2013

This is a fantastic B n B in Maine, only one hour from Portland, right at the water. The views are truly to marvel at, the breakfasts are indescribably delicious and ample, the lodgings are lovely, while simple and pleasant. Truly a fantastic B n B experience. I cannot imagine a better one in the USA. One MUST book really early to get in. Definitely a worthy travel destination --for decompressing, kayaking, canoeing, hiking, romantic getaway. Room Tip: All rooms have wonderful view and most have private balcony/porch.


A gem off the beaten path.

4.6 on July 26, 2013

This was our second time staying with Tom and Carolyn and if possible, it was even better than the first. The location is wonderful, the layout welcoming, the breakfasts the best. Our quest on the first visit two years ago was to visit a friend who has a summer home in Georgetown, this time our quest was to stay at Coveside with a great benefit being we could visit our friend as well. Don't pass up the opportunity to relax at Coveside, take a quick trip to the Georgetown Country Store and bring back a great lunch and some wine. Take a trip down the hill to Five Islands Lobster for great food and to just pass the time watching the boats come in and unload. Be sure to ask for dinner recommendations also, they really know their stuff Tom and Carolyn have a great place made better by them being there.


beautiful and relaxing

5 on July 22, 2013

We stayed for 1 night of relaxation in the middle of a fun, but very busy, coastal Maine vacation. We wish we could have stayed longer. It is a beautiful B & B, in a scenic area. We loved reading by the water. We want to return to visit more of the 5 islands area and kayak. Breakfast was wonderful and Tom & Carolyn were wonderful hosts. It was one of my top places to stay!


wonderful stay!

5 on July 18, 2013

After a week of camping it was wonderful to unwind and relax at Coveside. I could not speak more highly of the food, the tasteful and comfortable accommodations, the beautiful grounds, and Tom and Carolyn's helpfulness. Coveside was by far one of the best B&B experiences I've had!


Our Favorite B and B

5 on July 16, 2013

We just returned from our 11th visit to the Coveside in ten years. That in itself speak volumes. We look forward every year to our annual stay with Tom and Carolyn. They have always made us feel welcome. The Coveside feels like a second home. We always enjoy chatting with the other guests over Carolyn's wonderful breakfasts. We especially like her scrambled eggs with herbs and fresh crab cakes. Everything is first rate. - the food, the rooms, the grounds, the views. The cottage, our favorite, has large beautifully decorated rooms on the upper floor with amazing views of the cove and a wonderful screened in porch with rocking chairs. Don't forget to try Carolyn's cookies!


Honeymoon

4.4 on July 08, 2013

We spent 4 days of our honeymoon at coveside and had a wonderful time. Tom and Carolyn were great hosts and we loved the breakfasts. They accommodated my husbands gluten allergy in all the meals! I would recommend coveside to anyone. The views were amazing!


charming B&B

5 on July 03, 2013

best b&b we have ever stayed at. can't go wrong with this place


Perfect in every way

5 on July 03, 2013

We went to Maine for a wedding. The mother of the bride suggested Coveside and it was just perfect. Tom and Carolyn Church go out of their way to make your stay wonderful. The rooms are spotless, the linens delightful and the location is just beautiful...so typical of the rocky coast of Maine. We were just sorry we didn't get to stay longer. Carolyn is a fabulous chef and served the most delicious breakfast. The grounds, the gardens, the view and location were like a little touch of heaven. Plus you are close to Georgetown which is a wonderful town.


A Place to Come Home To

4.6 on July 02, 2013

This B&B is what B&B's should be: Relaxing, restorative, accomodating, beautiful, welcoming, gracious, wonderful.


Charming B&B, very nice owners good service, we will certainly go back!

5 on June 18, 2013

The owners have a beautiful view by the B&B and serve a great breakfast. We will go back if we can. Greatings from Belgium


Wonderful B & B

5 on June 16, 2013

My husband and stayed two nights at Coveside on our anniversary trip to Maine and the B & B was great. Tom & Carolyn were very nice and they provided everything we needed. The breakfast was wonderful and the area around the B & B was very nice and peaceful . Fantastic views everywhere. We stayed in the smaller room but it was very pretty and it was all we needed for our two night stay. Nice size bathroom with big shower. Reid State Park down the road was amazing. We hope to return sometime and recommend Coveside if you want a romantic peaceful a d realxing place to stay.


Coveside stay in October

4.0 on October 17, 2012

Set in a super location with its own jetty in a quiet cove. Perfect for a relaxing holiday. TV located in building nearby along with gym equipment. As with anywhere on this coast, some motoring needed to get around due to ragged coastline. Owners quite willing for evening meal to be brought in and eaten on premises allowing the use of their kitchen.


A bit of paradise

5 on October 16, 2012

A spectacular destination- beautiful spot, gorgeous immaculate rooms and wonderful food. The hosts are delightful.


beutiful place

5 on October 04, 2012

We had a pleasurable stay and the breakfasts were top notch


My first Visit to a B & B

4.2 on October 03, 2012

A great place with great views. Nice big room with fireplace and a very big bathroom. My only problem was that there wasn't a TV in the room. I was not crazy about walking in the rain to an out building to watch a TV. It rained all the time I was there so a TV in the room would have been nice to catch up on the news and sprorts world. All in all this is an excellent B & B.


Coveside

3.8 on September 24, 2012

Our fourth visit to Coveside, so obviously, we love it there. It's really the whole package, the setting is extrordinary, the rooms are so pleasant are comfortable. All are a little different and all have great views. Sunrise over the cove viewed from a warm comfy bed is not to be missed. Carolyn and Tom's breakfasts are also really a cut above. Already looking forward to next time.


Our hosts were wonderful!

5 on September 24, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay! There aren't many good restaurants nearby, unless you want to drive to Bath, but the lodgings were great!


Maine stay

5 on September 21, 2012

Our stay at Coveside was amazing! We loved the view from our room and the breakfasts were so yummy. We would definitely stay there again!


Outstanding B&B at an excellent location

5 on September 17, 2012

We did not plan our visit in advance - searching on visitmaine.com we found this B&B, liked the description of it and saw that one of the rooms is available. So we made a reservation immediately and two days later were there. Everything was great - the room, friendly owners, a picturesque location and many tourist attractions within a short driving distance. This time we stayed at Coveside for just three days, but we are sure we'll go there again next year for a longer period. Alex and Natalia, Montreal.


The best B&B

4.8 on September 03, 2012

Best B&B room we have stayed in. Spectacular view, great food and friendly service. Blueberry muffins to die for.


Never disapoints!

5 on August 24, 2012

Tom and Carol do a great job. Great setting, decor, accomodations and of course great breakfast! We'll be back..... Betsy and Bill Wish


A superb experience

5 on August 23, 2012

We stayed at Coveside for 2 days . Our king bed room was spacious and had a beautiful view of the cove. Breakfast was delicious and different. Tom and Caroliyn are wonderful host....Highly recommend this property an


August, 2012

5 on August 17, 2012

Everything was perfect - beautiful rooms, delicious food!


Great Weekend Retreat

4.6 on August 16, 2012

Coveside Bed and Breakfast is nestled in a small, picturesque cove and is the perfect retreat to unwind. Our hosts could not have been more welcoming and friendly, yet unintrusive. We stayed in Marty's Room, which I believe to be the best room of the property with an expansive fireplaced room and private large bathroom. Awakened each morning to a wonderful view of the cove. Quintessential Maine at its best!


Wished we could have stayed longer!

5 on August 15, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in July and wished we could have stayed longer! Grounds were well-kept, lots of flower beds and bushes, on the water. Our room was on the second floor of the guest cottage with great waterviews. There was a balcony overlooking the water, a spacious bathroom and room for a small seating area in front of the balcony door. The guest cottage itself has a lovely sitting room on the first floor with a refrigerator stocked with beer and soda free of charge. Cookies and tea and coffee are available for snacking in the afternoon or at the end of your evening. The hosts were friendly and helpful. Carolyn's cookies and breakfasts were superb! During our stay we went to the beach at Reid's state park - beautiful, lots of waves, not a lot of people. It was not a far drive to go into Bath and Wiscasset. It was a quiet and relaxing stay, would highly recommenc it!


The Best B&B ever

5 on August 13, 2012

I would rate our room as outstanding. The view of the water was great. The breakfasts were very tasty and the owners were very accommodating.


Wonderful inn!

5 on August 09, 2012

This is a special retreat on a beautiful Maine cove. We were there on our second visit and intend to return each summer.


BEAUTIFUL! Delicious! Memorable

5 on August 06, 2012

We'll go back. That's the best compliment we can give. You will too! Wish we could have stayed longer. Terrific celebration for us! Food nearby, bikes to ride, Kayak, canoe, yummie cookies, cool workout area. view from room to die for.


Summer delight

4.8 on August 04, 2012

This was one of the best bed and breakfasts we have stayed at. The hosts have paid attention to every detail. We felt very comfortable in this elegant setting


A Lovely B&B in the Midst of Lobster Heaven

4.2 on August 04, 2012

This lovely B&B is located in mid-coast Maine, an area justifiably famous for its lobster shacks. We spent three days and four nights here, enjoying the scenery and abundant bird population (herons, osprey, bald eagles, and a variety of gulls). A canoe is available for paddles up and down the nearby coast (Five Islands Lobster shack is only about 20 minutes away by water), and the Churches have two guest passes to the nearby Reid State Park, which features a sandy mile-long beach. Nearby Bath (15 minutes by car) is a small but quaint New England seaside city. We spent an informative and enjoyable morning at the Maine Maritime Museum near the Bath Iron Works. The highlight of our stay, though, were the creative and delicious breakfasts; truly outstanding food. Highly recommended.


Coveside B&B, Five Islands, ME

4.8 on July 30, 2012

Great hosts, excellent company and breakfasts, and not a lot of tourists around, which I value highly. The rooms were a joy to stay in, too. This was our third year there, and we plan on going again.


Wonderful place, wonderful Stay

5 on July 27, 2012

My husband and I were extremely pleased with our recent stay. The owners are very hospitable and their place is beautiful, clean, peaceful and relaxing. Tom was very helpful in providing information about where to go and what to do in the area. We enjoyed the canoe and the water views. Breakfast was very nice and the art work (some of which is the owner's mothers' work) added a nice touch. We have stayed at many B and B's and enjoyed our stays but never committed to coming back. We will be back,. As I had just undergone a serious surgery, we really needed to get away and relax. Tom and Carolyn, we thank you so much for making our stay a wonderful memory!


"Paradise on Gotts Cove"

5 on July 25, 2012

Tom & Carolyn Church have carved out a little bit of paradise overlooking the quiet and picturesque Gotts Cove. They are wonderful hosts. We can't say enough good things about this place - what a find!!! We met several guests who had been coming back year after year - we plan to as well. We stayed in a second floor room of the Cottage, and our room was wonderful. It is obvious that every detail was taken into consideration when the Cottage was built - whether you want to enjoy your own private sun-drenched deck, leisurely rock away hours in the rocking chairs in the screen porch downstairs, or just lie in your bed and enjoy the cove view. Then there are the delicious gourmet breakfasts - what a treat - and worth every calorie! We would highly recommend Coveside. Linda & Walter Rand


Coveside B&B

4.8 on July 25, 2012

great hosts, wonderful breakfasts, nicely decorated room


Coveside B and B

5 on July 25, 2012

We loved our stay there this past weekend. Tom and Carolyn were gracious hosts, the room was beautiful, breakfast was delicious and the grounds were lovely. We had kayaks delivered from SeaSpray kayaking and spent Saturday kayaking around MacMahan island the surroundings. It was a lovely place to kayak and the 8 foot tides were impressive! We would recommend this to anyone who would like a quiet, secluded getaway in pristine surroundings, well away from all the hustle bustle.


Maine B&B Simply the Best

5 on July 11, 2012

What an awesome Bed and Breakfast, The Breakfast served were the best part of the day! The house was fantastic and cozy, The owners Tom & Carolyn were very friendly and helpful at all times. This is by far the best B&B we have ever stayed at. We stayed five nights here and hated to leave at the end of our stay. There were State Park passes available for our use to walk the beaches and hike the trails. The B&B is situated on a cove with Lobster boats moored in the opening, there was a canoe available for our use at no charge. We will be back even though it was a 15 hour drive for us. We fell in Love with the place! Will be going back.


Serene retreat

5 on July 11, 2012

We chose Coveside Inn from the photos and on-line reviews. They were all accurate. But they don't truy convey the loveliness of the inn's setting and how protected it is from the hectic tourist trade that characterizes Maine's summertime coast. As we continued our trip eastward, I was relieved that we had passed on other options in Boothbay, Rockport and Camden. Coveside is the place to be! There's just one problem: you'll be competing with in-th-know regulars who come back every year. So book early.


Our favorite place to stay in Maine

4.2 on July 09, 2012

Amazing breakfasts. Carolyn puts such care and effort into making breakfast special.


A delightful stay.

5 on July 02, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Coveside Bed and Breakfast. The room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were a treat. Tom was on his own for a few days, but did a great job. The inn is located very near the water and well maintained. The gardens are very beautiful. During our stay, we explored the area, but felt very comfortable going back to the inn to read and enjoy the view from our deck.


We keep coming back to Coveside

5 on June 29, 2012

We love Coveside! Tom and Carolyn have become our friends and we have never been disappointed when we stay at Coveside Bed and Breakfast.


Maine getaway

4.0 on June 28, 2012

Nice place to getaway, but not be far away from all that Maine has to offer.


The only place I'll stay in Maine!

5 on June 27, 2012

I have visited Georgetown, Maine for the past 20 years and have stayed in three places in the area. The last few years I've stayed at Coveside and I have found my home away from home. As a solo traveler, it can be awkward to stay in places geared toward couples. Not so at Coveside. Tom and Carolyn make me feel welcome and at home. You may read something about the breakfasts that Carolyn creates. There aren't enough adjectives to describe how creative and wonderful they are -- a great way to start the day. It's quiet -- no phones or TVs in the rooms (wifi is available), which makes it a perfect place to relax and get away from it all. You can sit outside with a cup of coffee or tea in the mornings and listen to the sounds of birds, the wind in the leaves and the occasional lobster boat passing the cove. I could go on -- suffice it to stay, I love this place!


Delightful Retreat

4.4 on June 19, 2012

My husband and I had a very enjoyable six nights at Coveside Bed and Breakfast just after Memorial Day 2012. Tom and Carolyn have created a beautiful environment for relaxing. Our room was just what we were seeking: spacious, beautifully appointed and spotless. The breakfasts were yummy, made with the freshest local ingredients with a gourmet touch. Homemade cookies and hot and/or cold refreshments were available 24 hours a day. Coveside was a terrific home base for exploring the area. We were able to utilize their Reid State Park pass for hiking the Maine coast. They are a excellent source of information for dining and activity suggestions. We will be back!


beautiful place, wonderful people

5 on May 31, 2012

The grounds are beautifully kept and the location is awesome! Every room has water view. Tom and Carolyn were such fun, attentive hosts-and breakfast was delicious every morning. Well done to both of them! This was our first time here but we will definitely recommend it to others and be repeat customers ourselves!


First time at a BnB

4.4 on October 24, 2011

This was our first time at a Bed and Breakfast. My husband and I decided it would be a great adventure for our one year wedding anniversay. This bed and breakfast far exceeded our expectations. It was a slice of quiet heaven in Maine. The view of the sunrise every morning from our bedroom was a wonderful way to start the day. The hosts were wonderful and the breakfasts top notch. Our only concern is that the next time we book a room at a bed and breakfast we might be let down, since our first experience was quite perfect.


Tranquility at the Cove

4.8 on October 20, 2011

One of the finest establishments we have experienced. Tom and Carolyn make you feel like part of the family. Tom's engaging conversation and Carolyn's incredible breakfasts are the bonuses. The star attraction is the setting on this beautiful, picture perfect cove. This is a must stay for anyone vacationing in the 5 islands area.


Excellent accommodations

4.0 on October 19, 2011

We truly enjoyed our stay at Coveside B&B. Tom and Carolyn were very friendly and hospitable. The rooms were clean, cozy and quite comfortable. Loved the sunrise over the cove, homemade cookies and tea by the fireplace in the evening and the breakfasts were phenomenal . . . can't go wrong with waffles and homemade blueberry syrup . . . YUM! So, what was missing . . . hmmm . . . not a thing!


Even better second time around

5 on October 14, 2011

This was our second stay at Coveside. The addition of the barn with the TV made it even better - we could watch the Red Sox, even if they did loose! From the moment we arrived we felt so at home and the peace and quiet is terrific. This was our last stop on this trip over and it set us up for travelling home to London. Rest assured we will be back!


Coveside was the highlight of our trip.

5 on October 13, 2011

Spent five nights in B&Bs in New England. Coveside was, by far, the best.


Great Stay!

4.8 on October 12, 2011

Everything about our stay was excellent! The only minor suggestion I would make would be to offer a continental type breakfast until 10:00AM or so. Breakfast is served from 8-9:00 and some of us like to sleep in! Overall, we loved this place and WILL return!


A FABULOUS B&B

5 on October 10, 2011

Our stay was very comfortable and relaxing!! We met wonderful, interesting people and enjoyed great conversations around the breakfast table. Being from Wisconsin, we were thrilled we could watch the Packer game in the TV room.


Definitely recommend Coveside

4.0 on October 10, 2011

This was our second stay at Coveside and it simply reinforced our initial positive opinion of the place. It's a lovely rural setting with fantastic accommodations and a vey friendly and thoughtful staff.


Maine in the Rain

4.8 on October 06, 2011

Lovely spot even in the puring room - felt warm and welcome when I opened th4e door.


Maine Coast Inn

4.0 on October 03, 2011

Lovely accomodations, beautiful setting, very helpful innkeepers.


Classic home and Maine setting

4.8 on September 28, 2011

We spent 2 days at the Coveside B & B. Absolutely the best setting you could find. Tom & Carolyn have done a fantastic job in expanding the home and turning it into a super B & B. The rooms, the grounds, and the bay views are terrific. The room we stayed in was Alice, on the 2nd floor, with a Q bed. Very bright with a lot of light and tastefully decorated. The breakfasts were creative, fresh and extensive. The only suggestion we would make is to have a King bed in one of the rooms.


Just perfect

4.8 on September 19, 2011

This is one of the most lovely places I've stayed--and I travel a lot. Quiet, beautifully landscaped and decorated...total attention to detail. Breakfasts are fantastic. No other dining is available. But you do have access to a fridge if you need to store anything.


Wonderful Place to Stay. A+++++++++++

5 on September 19, 2011

Our stay at Coveside was so wonderful. This was our second trip to Coveside and I am sure we will be back. The view is spectacular, the breakfasts are amazing and the hospitality is unriveled. I would highly recommend Coveside to anyone wishing to have a great experience!!


What a great get away!

5 on September 15, 2011

Coveside Bed and Breakfast is exceptional is all aspects. The setting, the accomodations, the Innkeepers and their breakfasts were absolutely above par. If you are looking for a place to escape the fast pace of life, this is an oasis!


Beautiful and Serene!

3.2 on September 11, 2011

The view and atmosphere was so calming! I would definitely recommend Coveside Bed and Breakfast!


A Gem!

4.4 on September 09, 2011

A beautiful spot and wonderful accomodations. My husband & I recently stayed with Tom & Carolyn and enjoyed ourselves tremendously. Our stay could not have been better. The breakfasts were fabulous we met such great people. We can't wait to return! Dick & Flo, New Hampshire


Coveside

4.6 on September 04, 2011

Beautiful setting, wonderful breakfasts, interesting people - an ideal get away.


One of the best....

5 on September 01, 2011

Fantastic location on the cove,within walking distance of Five Islands pier and lobster shack, a"must do" on a trip to Maine coast. Reid State Park nearby. Tom and Carolyn are gracious, warm, and helpful with all your needs. We look forward to returning and highly recommend Coveside.


What a charming place to stay!

5 on August 31, 2011

Wonderful location: a hidden corner of Maine, a slice of greenery overlooking the ocean. Ideal place for those who are passing through Bath and for those who want to enjoy a few relaxing days. Amazing and typical home, the feeling is to be "at home". Very nice breakfast in the company of other guests around the same table. Should not be missed for those that wake up early in the morning is the sunrise on the bay in front of B&B.


Four summer nights at Coveside B nd B

5 on August 30, 2011

This place is absolutely phenomenal...great waterside location and facilities, wonderful congenial hosts who are exceptional chefs, and an ambiance that assures total relaxation.


A gem on the coast of Maine

5 on August 30, 2011

The Coveside B&B is a true gem on the coast of Georgetown, ME. We were warmly greeted as soon as we arrived and felt completely at home. Our room had a beautiful view of the cove and our porch was the perfect place to relax after traveling. Breakfast was outstanding, and the endless supply of cookies and tea throughout the day kept us happy. It is definitely a place that we will return to every time we visit Maine.


Loved everything

5 on August 29, 2011

This was our second stay at Coveside. This is an outstanding B&B. The rooms, the owners, the location, the garden.... We will return soon.


The Way Bed and Breakfasts Should Be

4.8 on August 26, 2011

Maine: The Way Life Should Be. Coveside Inn: The Way Bed and Breakfasts Shouild Be. Not a bad room in the place. The owners are wonderful. The meals are superb. The setting is absolutely perfect. A home away from home. Outstanding value; outstanding bed and breakfast.


THIS IS PURE MID-COAST MAINE.

4.2 on August 25, 2011

view from private deck was worth the stay ...breakfast sealed the deal


Truly Amazing

5 on August 24, 2011

A great romantic getaway. Our room looked out on to the water, breakfast was amazing, Carolyn was incredibly nice and helpful. It was my girlfriend's first trip to Maine and she wants to go back after only being home a few days. Considering what we pay for standard boring hotels in most of the places we travel I can't believe the value we got. Less than any hotel I've ever stayed at on the west coast and with far better view and experience.


Fantastic Location

4.0 on August 23, 2011

A superb location and a welcoming host made this trip a pleasure. Views over the cove from the chairs located by the dock were stunning. Walking distance to various must-see establishments near by, including the Five Islands Lobster company - regarded as one of the best Lobster shacks in New England - and the local farm shop. Highly recommended.


Beautiful Bed and Breakfast

3.0 on August 15, 2011

The innkeepers were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. We were able to eat on the patio and the view was spectacular.


A wonderful week at Coveside

5 on August 14, 2011

We found Coveside 11 years ago, staying one night. We vowed we'd return and did so this summer, staying one week. The owners, Tom and Carolyn, love what they do and it shows in every aspect of this gem of a B&B. We have stayed at more than 50 B&B's in here and in Europe and this is by far the best we have experienced. We look forward to our return. Jeff and Myra, Scottsdale AZ


Outstanding Maine Stay

4.8 on August 11, 2011

Our three-night stay at Coveside near the end of July was by far the highlight of our ten-day Maine experience. Superlative is the only way to describe the location, amenities, and the innkeepers of this beautiful, peaceful inn. A hidden gem! Andy and Trudy


Wonderful as always!

4.6 on August 10, 2011

Great respite from hectic daily pace. Comfortable rooms, delicious breakfasts, beautiful gardens and water view. Restful place for contemplation no matter what the weather!


We love it!

5 on August 08, 2011

Beautiful gardens, peace and quiet make Coveside a real gem. We love the upstairs rooms in the cottage - roomy, airy, comfortable and fabulous views of the cove from the private balcony. What could be better than to wake up to the birds calling, watch the lobster boats as they pull out of the cove all from the comfort of your bed. Carolyn's delicious offerings and Tom's friendly and information packed banter make breakfast on the patio a delight. Lobsters at Five Islands a must - great place to experience the coast of Maine and meet people from all over. Coveside keeps drawing us back to Maine.


Return visit

4.4 on August 06, 2011

This is undoubtedly the nicest B&B we have ever stayed in. Everything is perfect, inside and out. Flowers are growing everywhere, and the breakfasts are excellent. We took our kayaks and launched from the dock right on the property. This is a beautiful area for paddlers.


Quiet Elegance in a Beautiful Location

5 on August 02, 2011

My wife and I began our trip through Maine at the Coveside Inn. The accomodations were snuggled within Gott's Cove. It is shaded, and lush with beautiful native plantings. Tom and Carolyn were wonderful hosts to a great mix of very interesting travelers. We met new friends and enjoyed the gourmet cooking and service at breakfast. Carolyn always had the cookie jars stocked with fresh and delicious snacks. The common areas were cool and inviting and the patios lent themselves to a bit of conversation and reflection. The harbor offered easy access to kayaking and canoeing. Don't miss the Five Islands Lobster House. Get the "Big Boy" lobster roll for a feast worthy of a Viking. We loved our stay... you will as well. Great place to plant.


Maine 2011 Vacation

5 on July 26, 2011

The Coveside is a beautiful treasure! it is so peaceful and beautiful. The breakfasts are the best! book a room with a private deck.


Relaxed, friendly, ideal setting

4.8 on July 24, 2011

Already planning our 3rd return stay (for next July) at Coveside! The innkeepers Tom and Carolyn are such gracious hosts. They provide a beautiful and relaxed setting, yummy food, clean rooms, and very helpful recommendations for things to do and even gave us a print out of detailed directions for a special hike near by. They are very generous with the common areas inside and on the grounds of the inn, and they seem to have thought of every detail, so all you have to do is show up and relax!


best b&b i have ever stayed at

5 on July 19, 2011

Best food, best hosts, best view.What a great place to stay at.


East coast escape

4.6 on July 11, 2011

Amazing place to get away from tourist-filled areas and enjoy Maine's natural beauty. The innkeepers are pleasant and full of great tips about the area.We can't wait to go back again, truly rejuvenating.


recent stay

5 on July 11, 2011

This is a wonderful B & B in a beautiful location. The hosts were great as well as the breakfast. The only downside are the mosquitos that are most numerous in the evening and early morning but the porches and screened.


Believe it all - a very special place

4.8 on July 02, 2011

You can safely believe all the reviews – this place is really special. We stayed 3 nights at Coveside and Carolyn and Tom seem to have hit upon a winning formula. Furnishings and fittings throughout the Inn are of the highest standard and taste – it’s immaculately appointed and maintained. The location is perfect – right on the cove. Within our first 10 minutes of arriving we had spotted an osprey perched high up in the trees. There is lots to see and do here – you could spend a day at Reid State Park and the Five Islands village is very pretty. Bath is about a 20 minute drive – great restaurants and shops. We stayed in an upstairs Cottage room which was huge, with a private balcony. What I loved is that the innkeepers have not skimped on the communal areas – there’s plenty of space to chill out and relax; the porches, the sitting room in the main house, the patio and the den in the Cottage. They have thought of everything. You can help yourself to tea / coffee, soda, beer and cookies. You can bring food back if you like. Make sure you read the binder of helpful notes and local insights that’s in your room – I think Tom wrote it. It’s very funny and full of great tips – his patter at breakfast is great too. Tom and Carolyn are natural hosts – her cooking is amazing, the breakfast menus are inspired and well executed. They’re posted the night before on the chance you want to make a special request. Our stay coincided with the Stanley Cup final and while we don’t usually want to watch TV on holiday, it was great to be able to follow the matches comfortably in the garage / barn, far enough away so as not to disturb the other guests.


Beautiful, Serene, Delicious!

5 on June 30, 2011

Just spent a week at Coveside, which was our second visit. It’s on a secluded cove, furnished in simple and uncluttered Arts and Crafts style, kept impeccably clean. Many B&Bs tend to overdo decorative frou-frou, but Coveside has a just few well-chosen things giving it a peaceful atmosphere. Our room had a beautiful view of the cove. Tom and Carolyn are naturally great hosts, easygoing and humorous. They seem to attract interesting people who come back time and again, so the breakfast conversations are always lively. Although they also provide a table for two for those wishing private conversation – that kind of thoughtful detail makes the hospitality here outstanding. And those breakfasts…rhubarb and blueberries from their garden, local eggs and cheeses, freshly baked muffins, homemade preserves…and great coffee! You can walk to Five Islands Farm market which carries a lot of local farmstead products (highly recommend Hahn’s End cheeses and Borealis breads) and the Five Islands Lobster Pound.


A top B&B

5 on June 30, 2011

Tom and Carolyn Church have created an ideal B&B. The location is idyllic, the view becalming, all enhanced by the welcome extended. Carolyn creates an excellent breakfast and is kind to accommodate food restrictions. Tom is the gracious host, personable and with a sense of humor. There is no nickel and diming, coffee, tea, cold beverages, etc. and cookies are provided free at all times. Those who want can kayak in the calm waters off the cove. Good restaurants in the area such as The Robinhood Meetinghouse, Solo Bistro (in Bath) as well as many places for lobster lovers. The small grocery shop virtually around the corner provides excellent cheeses, vegetables and wine for a quiet evening at the B&B. An absolute gem for a peaceful getaway.


One of the true gems of the Mid-Coast

4.0 on June 28, 2011

The rooms are well-appointed, large, and stylish. The grounds are beautiful, and the view down to the water is stunning. the innkeepers are charming hosts, who know a lot about food and travel in general, and the breakfasts are excellent. Plus it is a decent value. I don't think there's a better place to stay, overall, anywhere between Portland and the Camden/Lincolnville area.


Another outstanding visit

5 on June 27, 2011

This was my fifth visit to Coveside and it continues to exceed my expectations. I was looking for quiet ... just the sounds of nature and the sea, and I found it. I have stayed in many of the rooms and each are comfortable with lovely views. The breakfasts were wonderful. Carolyn is such a wonderful chef -- having berry cobbler for breakfast is something I can get used to. She and Tom are a great team, making sure everyone is having a good time. I am a single woman traveler and I have always felt welcome there, even though all other guests are couples. I feel at home at Coveside and I will continue to go back. In fact, I hope to make my reservations for next summer this week.


Wonderful B and B

4.6 on June 18, 2011

If you are looking for a B and B that is off the beaten path, quiet and pristine yet a short walk to a great lobster wharf where you can sit outside and enjoy a seafood meal AND a short drive to Reid State Park, this is the perfect place. The rooms are beautiful, most with a view of the cove and the breakfasts are incredible. The inkeepers are very helpful and friendly. This was our 4th visit and look forward to our next stay.


Our favorite b&b in ME”

5 on June 16, 2011

This was our second time at the Coveside, our first being our honeymoon. Along with an expertly crafted breakfast from the finest pastry chef we know of, you will enjoy the peace and serenity of the Coveside. From every room, you can view the tides rising and falling while the lobster fisherman come and go. After which, you can talk a lovely walk to the 5 island lobster co, and enjoy a fresh Maine lobster. Stayed June 2011, June 2010


Awesome!

4.0 on June 12, 2011

Beautiful location. Great rooms w/ view of cove. Very relaxing. Excellent breakfast. Carolyn and Tom could not have been nicer and so accomodating. Will definitely go back!


Another year, another great stay!

5 on June 12, 2011

Returning for our 5th year, Coveside has become a home away from home - but a lot more restful and relaxing! Tom and Carolyn continue to provide superb accommodations and breakfasts that are out of this world in a picture-perfect spot. Their enthusiasm, friendliness, and knowledge of the area are icing on the cake. Coveside gets our highest recommendation!!


3 days in Maine

4.8 on June 08, 2011

Beautiful- Quiet- Relaxing- Great Breakfasts- Water Views We could not have expected all of the above at one b&b but we found all at Coveside B&B. We also found an easy drive to Bath and the Maine Maritime Museum. Toured Bath Iron Works building ships for the Navy. Drove a little farther to Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens one afternoon.


Great for kayaking

4.0 on June 06, 2011

The inn breakfasts were wonderful. If you kayakers there is a private dock right on the premises.


Perfect in Almost Every way

4.6 on June 02, 2011

Great place if yu want peace and tranquility. Every detail has been well thought although the carraige rooms are somewhat noisy


Pampering at it's best

5 on May 30, 2011

Upon our LATE arrival of 9pm, Tom welcomed us into the B & B with a bright smile and a thorough tour. Carolyn was in the kitchen preparing for the next morning's meal. Our room was awesome and the view, spectacular from the cottage king. The grounds/gardens are well kept and blooming in late May. Breakfasts were original and very tasty, never eating the same meal twice for our week long stay. A "bottomless" jar of HOMEMADE cookies is placed in the dining area for guests. The B&B is less than 5 minutes from Five Island Lobster Co. which is THE best lobster you will get in the area for a fraction of the price in neighboring restaurants. With great proprietors comes great guests which return year after year. You will meet friendly guests and make new friends in this laid back haven! Carolyn and Tom are very accomidating, even going as far as offering a "take away" breakfast for our super early departure (homemade blueberry muffins). We are going to miss this place and it's people but, as soon as possible, we will return to visit again!! Thanks for a Great stay Carolyn and Tom!!!


pristine and lovely

4.6 on May 29, 2011

This bed and breakfast is perfect in every way. The location on the cove, the lovely buildings and gardens, the generous and interesting hosts and the crisp cleanliness of the rooms all lend to a perfect getaway experience.


Waterside comfort

4.6 on October 29, 2010

Tom and Carolyn have maintained a very high level of service. This was our second stay, 7 years apart. They do a wonderful job and have a facility that is outstanding.


Not your ordinary B&B

5 on October 27, 2010

We like to stay at B&Bs, and most have been good to excellent, but Coveside was one of the best! The setting, on a secluded cove, was breathtaking, and very quiet-yet we could walk to a little country market, and to trails, parks, and a lobster dock. Our room was beautiful and immaculate, yet not filled with unnecessary decorative objects. Our hosts were welcoming and helpful; the breakfasts, interesting, well-prepared and delicious; the common areas warm and cozy. (We hope to return in warmer weather sometime to better enjoy the lovely outdoor areas.) All together a wonderful experience! Gary Larson & Virginia Piazza


Great view, great hosts

4.4 on October 15, 2010

The pictures of this B and B do not do it justice. It is ten times more beautiful. The setting is like something out of book. You could stay here for a week and never get tired of it.


Our First Trip To Maine

5 on September 07, 2010

This was the first trip to Maine for me and my wife. Our stay at Coveside was everything we thought Maine might be, beautiful setting, friendly and comfortable accomodations and wonderful food. Upon arrival the hosts, Tom and Carolyn take you in and make you family. Our room, when we were in it, was cozy and well appointed. Breakfast menus are posted the day before and always eagerly awaited and delicious. What a terrific introduction to new part of the country for us. We'll be back!


Great weekend getaway

5 on August 14, 2010

We had a great stay at the Coveside, in the downstairs cottage guest room. It was wonderful, very cozy, with a great atmosphere. Being right on the ocean was wonderful, and the breakfasts were great, especially the griddlecakes! We hope to make our way back to the Coveside sometime in the future. A great getaway, biking distance to the beach, lobster wharfs, and to escape from "real-life" for a little bit.


Kayak Trip

4.0 on August 13, 2010

Loaction, food, rooms and water access are great. Hosts are fun and accomodating. Great place to relax all times of the year.


Delightful Retreat

5 on July 06, 2010

If you are looking for a quiet getaway spot in isolated beautiful surroundings, look no further than the Coveside Inn! Room was beautifully decorated in New England cottage decor, breakfasts were gourmet, picturesque scenery with innkeepers so warm & friendly, you feel like family. We will definitely be making a return visit to this wonderful place!


Coveside Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $145 - $225
  • Reviews (133) 4.8
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8002325490

Visit Website »

View details

Top