Blue Harbor House - A Village Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
62 Reviews

Write A Review

Cute b&b

3.8 on October 03, 2014

Cute place. Blueberry pancakes were great!!


Enjoyable

4.6 on September 25, 2014

Great location within walking distance of all the town restaurants and attractions. Owners were lovely. Superb breakfast.


Wonderful breakfasts!

3.6 on September 24, 2014

Annette's breakfasts were highlight of stay. Creative and delicious. House location has pluses and minuses. Proximity to Camden Harbor, shops, restaurants is plus. Elm Street is US Highway 1. Front rooms are next to road which is busy with trucks all night. Rooms have ear plugs and sound music machines for a reason. When all 11 bedrooms are occupied, common areas can be busy. Terry and Annette do well to handle as many as 20 guests.


More Than A Cup of Tea

4.2 on September 01, 2014

In fact, much more than a proper cup... sugar, cream, home made cookies too in the afternoons! Our stay at the Blue Harbor House in August 2014 was pretty flawless actually. We have stayed at a number of B&B style Inns of many varieties. Terry and Anne know how to provide for their guests at a high quality level of service and amenities. The room we had boasted a seating area, fire place full tub, and shower stall, turkish towels and robes, sound machine, ( might be needful as it is on main road) air conditioning, etc. Nice bed linens and very clean. Decor still managed to be somewhat in keeping with the historic home that is Blue Harbor House. You really wanted for nothing as far as comfort goes. Very well thought out! Some rooms do require climbing a set of stairs. We did not find that to be a problem for us.The side porch is a lovely place to sit with your own glass of wine in the evenings with other guests, or daytime admiring the flowers in all the boxes and containers. I don't know where they find the time for all of that in addition to running an Inn! Blue Harbor Inn is easy walking distance to shops and all manner of dining in the town of Camden. The breakfasts each morning were textbook perfect- and again, we have stayed at a many places. Soft music in the morning, hot tea and coffee, china table settings, fresh fruit and beautifully presented food..what's not to like? Our hosts were very pleasant and knowledgeable about the area and were very willing to give information if you wanted it.Parking at the Inn was adequate. Great stay-highly recommended.


Would stay again

4.4 on August 21, 2014

We stayed in Crow's Nest: a small room but big enough for the two of us + luggage. Also, the bathroom is small but has a nice, hot and spacious shower. This room has everything you need for a great time on the coast of Maine. What made this B&B especially great was the friendliness and hositality of its owners: Annette and Terry. They made us feel welcome and at home, had great advice about activities for the day and restaurant tips in the evening. Also, they always had time for a small chat, finding a perfect balance in showing interest and keeping a professional distance. Terry and Annette seem to enjoy hosting their guests and do an outstanding job at it. I would love to come back and stay with them again! In the meantime, I'll try to recreate some of their delicious breakfasts at home!


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast

5 on June 16, 2014

We had a perfect stay here, Terry and Annett were very welcoming and gracious. The breakfasts that Annett prepared were perfect! We hope to stay here again on our next visit to beautiful Camden .


Early October 2013 - great people to stay with

4.8 on October 25, 2013

This is an outstanding Bed & Breakfast. We really enjoyed the spacious room and the great hospitality. Terry and Annette are such nice people and the service at breakfast was outstanding. The food was great but what really topped off the meal was the fantastic service provided by Terry and Annette. Willard & Patty, Colorado


Hospitality is the key to Blue Harbor House

4.6 on October 03, 2013

From the greeting when we arrived to the hugs when we left, the Innkeepers, Terry & Annette, were wonderful. There were fresh coconut macaroons and assorted teas in the afternoon when we arrived. Knowlege of the areas restaurants was very helpful. Breakfast was one of the best we have ever had in a b&b. The only downside was the size of the room and bathroom. The location is within walking distance of downtown, a nice feature. Convenient parking was available.


Amazing Breakfasts!

3.8 on August 25, 2013

This inn is conveniently located just a couple blocks from the main dining and shopping action in Camden. The innkeepers are very personable and gave us several good ideas of things to do in the area. Best of all, the breakfasts were amazing...arguably the best we've had in 30 years of travel throughout the world.


Awesome B and B

5 on August 14, 2013

This was a great B and B. The owner's were very friendly and gave us great recommendations for local restaurants. Breakfast was also fantastic, a poached pear in vanilla cream and blueberry pancakes with blueberry butter and sausage. The rooms were also quiet and comfortable. We would definitely go back.


Great Getaway Weekend

5 on August 10, 2013

The Blue Harbor made for a very wonderful getaway weekend. Super location close to downtown Camden and wonder suite of rooms and pleasant innkeepers. The breakfasts were extraordinary.


Great Place

4.2 on April 25, 2013

The staff waited up for a late check-in. The breakfast is excellent. The rooms are nice but the structure is old and some tripping hazards are present.


Great place to stay

4.6 on March 29, 2013

Nice large room, sitting area, kitchenette. Food was fantastic. Innkeepers friendly and accommodating. We would go back.


An outstanding treat for the discriminationg auto traveller.

5 on October 31, 2011

Gracious hosts provide exciting innovative gourmet breakfasts knowledgeable tour information and excellent suggestions for auto tours of the area. A totally grand recommendation for B&B travel.


B&B with a Gourmet Breakfast

5 on October 31, 2011

Wonderful hosts, exceptional food, comfortable beds, walking distance to town, close to restaurants and a porch to rock on! What more could you want!


Loved it!

5 on October 30, 2011

We had a wonderful stay here, from the delightful hosts, incredible gourmet breakfasts & comfortable beds. Very clean. The location is ideal to walk to stores & the harbor.


Blue Harbor Inn

4.6 on August 02, 2011

The hosts were most gracious. They were knowledgeable of the area. The room was tastefully decorated and very clean. Breakfast was flavorful.


lovely base of operations for Camden and vicinity

4.4 on July 23, 2011

Innkeepers very knowledgeable and accessible. Annette a wonderful cook whose breakfasts were delicious and she easily accommodated (and then anticipated) some of our dietary idiosyncrasies. Room (Captain's quarters) was clean, spacious for a 4-night stay that allowed us to spread out a bit. The room also had a small fridge, with a cooktop, coffeemaker and some dishes and silverware. Inn a very short walk to the middle of Camden, and it's on the main road to Rockland and Rockport to the south.


Outstanding in every respect

4.6 on September 17, 2010

Our stay at the Blue Harbor house was among our very best B&B experiences. The innkeepers were superb, warm, welcoming and helpful in every way. The location of the inn was ideal walking distance to town so we didn’t have to use the car, plus easy access to biking, hiking and kayaking areas, Food was outstanding. Everything was perfect.


Unforgettable Breakfasts in a delightful inn.

4.4 on August 29, 2010

Annette and Terry are delightful innkeepers. We enjoyed spending three nights in the Captain's Quarters Suite, where we slept so well on the very comfortable king bed. The breakfasts were out of this world and the service was impeccable. Even managed to leave with Annette's recipe for French Toast, which was one amazing delight!


Blue Harbor House was a highlight of our trip to Maine

5 on August 14, 2010

What a wonderful twos day at the Blue Harbor House. Our hosts were great, always willing to help out with any of our requests. We are still talking about the gourmet breakfasts, incredible!! The rooms have all the amenities you could ever need and are beautiful. We would definitely encourage anyone to stay with Annette & Terry when visiting Camden. Susie & Gary


Wonderful stay and awesome hosts

4.8 on August 11, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this B & B....on August 4, 2010.......and what a great time we had there. Terry and Annette were just wonderful and very friendly. The breakfast was out of this world.........we so enjoyed the pancakes....along with everything else that was served. We hated to leave but had to move on to other places. We hope to get back to stay again another year. A big thanks to you both, Terry and Annette.....you made our stay so enjoyable. We felt right at home.


Great Vacation Place

5 on July 29, 2010

We were impressed with: the friendliness and helpfulness of Terry, the innkeeper; wonderful breakfasts prepared by Annette; beautiful room and sitting room we had; location - near the harbor and restaurants.


Romantic and Scenic

4.4 on July 26, 2010

We celebrated our 20th anniversary in July 2010. Terry and Annette provided a great atmosphere with wonderful breakfasts. Inn is quaint and a nice walk from the harbor and shops.


Quality at an affordable price

4.8 on July 21, 2010

We had a wonderful experience at Blue Harbor House in Camden, and the price was quite a value. Our room was nicely decorated, cozy yet spacious, clean with a huge bathroom to boot. We found the location of the inn to be within walking distance from downtown Camden as well as many attractions. The breakfasts were fantastic - from the fruit dishes to the main entrees, each course was absolutely delicious. It was obvious that much time was put into the planning and preparation of the out-of-this-world breakfasts. The host/hostess, Terry and Annette, are passionate about what they do, as the kindness and hospitality afforded us while their guests were genuine. They go above and beyond what is expected at a B & B - believe me, we stay in many B & Bs and know the difference. We will surely stay at Blue Harbor House again when we return to Maine.


A good traditional inn...run by folk who care.

4.2 on July 20, 2010

We stayed here for one night and Terry & Annette the innkeepers could not have been more helpful. We should come clean and state we also run an inn, so we do have very high standards. These were certainly met, in all but one small and we think important area. Having said that the area in question is a very subjective observation. We like to find inns and B & B's that reflect the owners, and we felt Blue Harbour house reflected a previous owner of business when it came to the bedroom & bathroom. Our room was spotlessly clean but we felt it was dated. The fixtures and light fittings etc did not have a wow factor about them, and the decor was not reflective of our taste, but we must stress we do like a 'WOW" when it comes to decor! The breakfast was a simple affair, and as we are not partial to pancakes....well we are British, a very enjoyable omlette was offered and delicious it was too. The inn has a homely feel to it and we think it was us and not the inn, that was not quiet right for our tastes. See told you it was a subjective comment..... Nowt wrong with the place if you don't mind traditional New England, and in Camden there are many competitors all doing that style...which we think does create an opportunity for a competitor to undercut the overpriced Camden Harbour Inn.....at about $400.00 a night you'd think they would have proper air conditioning at the C.H.I. rather than cheap window units!


Return to Camden

5 on July 06, 2010

As a child, I spent my summers in Camden and it was great to "come home" after many years away. Terry and Annette make you feel at home in their B&B. The breakfasts are incredibly delicious; Annette is a superb chef and Terry an attentive waiter. Looking forward to another visit.


weekend escape

4.0 on June 01, 2010

Ran away to one of our most favorite places for Memorial Day weekend. Had another fabulous stay at the Blue Harbor House, hosted by Annette and Terry Hazard. As always, atmosphere, food and hospitality abound. We TRULY RELAX when we stay here, and love Annette & Terry, they make it worthwhile every time. Can't wait for our next chance to escape to Blue Harbor House, Camden, ME


The Blue Harbor House - a great stay no matter what the season!

5 on April 26, 2010

The Blue Harbor House is a quaint and cozy B & B an easy walk to the center of Camden. Comfortable rooms, lovely grounds, delicious breakfasts and welcoming attentive hosts make this a place we will revisit. Spring in Maine can be chilly but with an afternoon tea and goodies to eat and a warm gas fireplace in our room to look forward to in the evenings, the weather was never an issue. There is a lot to do in the area... hiking, sailing, shopping and wonderful museums close by that will keep any visitor occupied. This B & B is a find and will please no matter what the season!


Wonderful

5 on February 19, 2010

Our weekend getaway was complete thanks to our stay at the Blue Harbor House. The hosts were so considerate regarding my food allergies and made it really special. We would like to come back. Thank you.


Lovely refuge in a wintry Camden

5 on February 07, 2010

We stayed one night at the Blue Harbor House, but wished it had been a longer visit. The room was delightful- cozy fireplace, 2 wing chairs to read or knit in, claw foot tub, cute pocket doors. Overall the room was very special. Breakfast was outstanding! Poached pears in raspberries, poached eggs florentine. Our hosts were attentive but not clingy. We would definitely recommend this Inn and hope to visit again!


Best B&B breakfast ever

4.8 on November 03, 2009

Great location, lovely rooms and caring owners.


great the second time around

5 on October 05, 2009

My husband and I recently visited the coast of New England after 4 years. Our second stay at Blue Harbor House was as wonderful as our first time 4 yrs. earlier.Blue Harbor House made us feel welcome again and right at home. Our original plans changed due to my unexpected illness. Annette and Terry Hazzard, the inkeepers, worked with us to reschedule our trip. They went out of their way to accomodate us. The Blue Harbor House is a very special place. The accomodations were top notch and the breakfast feast each morning was unuque and exciting. Annette even gave me the recipe for her "apricots in ginger" . Can't wait to make it at home, although it will never be as good as hers!! I would highly recommed The Blue Harbor House to anyone traveling to New England. Located in one of our favorite Maine locations, Camden. If you happen to have the pleasure of staying with Annette and Terry in the future....tell them Richard and Susan Morgan say hello.


Northern hospitality

4.6 on September 30, 2009

As soon as I saw this place on the website, I knew I wanted to stay there. Great accommodations and location -- fabulous food and hospitality. I must return here sometime!


Lovely Inn, great location, deightful innkeepers

5 on September 16, 2009

Our room was perfect and just as inviting as the photos on the website. Wonderfully comfortable king bed, large sitting area, flat screen TV and DVD. Only a short walk to the harbor, which was perfect. Terry advised great cycle routes for us and was very helpful in dinner recommendations and things to do in the area. There is a large mature garden at the back of the Inn with umbrella, table and chairs, just so peaceful to sit with a glass of wine and book (which I did!). The breakfasts were inventive and delicious. We enjoyed our stay very much and would highly recommend this lovely Inn, in the most beautiful town of Camden.


Wonderful breakfast

3.6 on September 06, 2009

Nice innkeeper, but rather withdrawn. The room was small but adequate. Breakfast was a delight, I even asked recipes! It was great to be able to walk to everything


Wonderful visit but too short!

4.6 on August 31, 2009

Annette & Terry were wonderful and very helpful in giving honest information about things to do in town. The Inn could not have been better -- quaint room, great location near downtown, excellent food. We highly recommend the Blue Harbor House. -- Tim and Patty Miller


Charming B&B

4.8 on August 04, 2009

Lovely B&B in a perfect location to walk into Camden. Our hosts, Terry & Annette were charming hosts. Our breakfasts were delicious. A perfect place to stay for my college women's reunion.


charming, comfortable, friendly B&B

4.0 on July 20, 2009

Excellent service, great breakfasts, charming and comfortable rooms.


Excellent Value (Four Night Stay in July 2009)

4.6 on July 16, 2009

Terry and Annette (the proprietors) spent a good number of years in the service industry (cruise lines) and it certainly shows! Breakfast was always phenomenal and beyond expectations. Overall, in addition to being an excellent value, we've made some good friends. We will be staying there again next year! --Lou B.


Charming Inn with Fabulous Food!

5 on July 02, 2009

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Blue Harbor House. The location is perfect with walking distance to fun little shops in town and to the beautiful harbor. My room was nicely decorated, clean and bright with lots of special touches. Breakfast was outstanding (evrey day!) and the innkeepers Annette and Terry are the nicest I've ever met! Everything about the Inn made my visit to Camden a pleasant and memorable experience.


Friendly Comfort - Blue Harbor House

4.8 on July 02, 2009

The hosts treated everyone as very special. Their service was outstanding and we enjoyed their jovial and friendly manner. The breakfasts were gourmet! I highly recommend staying here when visiting Maine.


check the little things

4.8 on June 18, 2009

1. Bathroom towel rod was loose. 2. TV clicker held together with elastic-no battery. Lovely B&B though. Would recommend to family and friendly. Close to Camden Center.


Best Breakfast!

5 on June 11, 2009

What a cozy place! Our room was lovely, and Terry and Annette provided a warm welcome. The breakfasts, however, were the best we had on our recent trip to Maine. The food was beautifully presented and delicious. Kudos to you, Annette!


Charmed

5 on June 07, 2009

During our roadtrip North with family we had planned to stay only one nite at the Inn. Found the town to be charming, and the innkeepers to be so warm and welcoming we decided to stay a second nite. Perhaps it was the decadent breakfast that swayed us. Thank you Annette and Terry for your gracious hospitality. Would love the opportunity to return someday.


A wonderful and restful stay

4.4 on June 04, 2009

We stayed here in 2003 and returned in late spring of 2009 for five days of exploring the Penobscot Bay region. The innkeepers, both veterans of the hospitality business, were extremely attentive to our needs and served up some fabulous and filling breakfasts. Value was terrific and the location is perfect for rambling around the exquisite sea coast town or jumping on Rte. 1 and exploring neighboring communities.


Great Hosts, Great Breakfasts

3.8 on October 14, 2008

We had a very nice, warm welcome on a grey and rainy day in Camden from the Scottish owners, Terry and Annette. The accommodation was comfortable and the breakfasts outstanding!


Thumbs up!

4.8 on October 13, 2008

Thumbs up for the Blue Harbor House and the innkeepers, couldn't think of a better way of spending our 41st Anniversary. Congratulations, Miguel & Carmen.


A New Experience

5 on October 06, 2008

Since this was our first experience staying at a bed and breakfast we were a bit apprehensive. We were so pleased with the Inn that we hope to return there next year. Beautiful surroundings, excellent breakfast, and a relaxed atmosphere! Terry and Annette were very gracious hosts. What a beautiful little town!


great place to stay in Camden

5 on September 21, 2008

A short walk to downtown, a great breakfast and nice afternoon tea and snack all make this place a receommended place to stay in wonderful Camden Maine


Nice Surprise

5 on August 01, 2008

We booked online. The price and location right. Discovered that it w as across the street from a place we had previuosly stayed at. The service, food and hospitality, generous and excellent. A true value.


EXCELLENT CAMDEN B&B

3.8 on July 31, 2008

Friendly and unpretentious B&B. Good selection of rooms to meet individual preferences. Good value and definitely recommended. Excellent website. Excellent breakfast.


Delightful stay with delicious food.

5 on July 31, 2008

Lovely room in a great location in Camden. Delicious and inventive breakfasts. Hosts were very friendly and helpful without being pushy. Would definitely return.


First

4.6 on July 25, 2008

Our first experience with a B&B. first, we were given a sweet suite. The our first breakfast with poached pears. Our hosts put us first! So friendly.


Blue Harbor House

5 on July 24, 2008

Annette & Terry made our stay in Camden, ME a special one. I highly recommend Blue Harbor House!


Best B&B of all time!

5 on July 23, 2008

Since our arrival to the end of our story the inn keepers and staff were there for anything we needed, ready to help with smiles on their faces!


A Touch of Ireland in Camden, Maine

5 on July 17, 2008

Irish hospitality and service in Camden, Maine. A great combination.


Blue Harbor

5 on July 03, 2008

Excellent food, a very quaint inn!


blue harbor house hospitality +

5 on June 16, 2008

we had a wonderful stay at this beautiful, charming, b&b. the room had all the comfort of home. the breakfast was delicious and elegant. we loved it!!


A truly great stay

5 on April 06, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Breakfast was amazing! Lovely cozy room with fireplace and king bed. In town location, close to harbor. We highly recommend this wonderful bed and breakfast.


Great with children

3.8 on December 06, 2007

We're strange people. We visit Maine in the colder months: November-March usually. The Blue Harbor House has served us well, twice in the past year - traveling with a young child. Since it's one of the only inns in Camden that welcomes children under 12, it's likely to get our custom for a few more years. In the midst of a snow storm, they even pulled out old toys to help entertain her. The location is great. Easy walking distance to Camden harbor and its shops and restaurants. While the building and the views are not as scenic as many in the area, they offer quiet tastes of Maine life. Annette's cooking is delicious. My only complaint or warning is to let the water run for a while in order to get hot water. Several minutes seems to do the trick (might only be an issue if you travel in winter).


Treat yourself! This is the BEST place to be!

5 on June 22, 2007

The Inn Keepers, are also the owners! And they are the BEST!!!!!The breakfast WOW - Especially the cream, and fresh fruits, berries, oh the pears...I can't stress how awesome this place is! Treat yourself and you will keep coming back as we are for 11 years!


Blue Harbor House - A Village Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $219
  • Reviews (62) 4.7
  • Rooms 11
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2072363196
  • Fax 1-2072366523

Visit Website »

View details

Top