Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfront Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
28 Reviews

Write A Review

My First B & B Stay

3.8 on August 10, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed for two nights here, and I was happily surprised as I had never experienced a Bed and Breakfast before. The main Innkeeper, Stefanie, could not have been nicer, welcoming and helpful during our stay. Having said that she was away much of the weekend (due to family responsibilities) and the substitute inn keepers varied. One was almost so quiet, i was not sure if she was another guest, while another was a wonderful sub for Stefanie (and provided an excellent breakfast. There seemed to be, from both my personal experience, and from what I heard from others, a little bit of disorganization in the check in system. but not enough to be negative. Instead it added to the quaintness of the place. My only complaint as a "I expect to receive what I pay for" was that there was no wifi available in my room, though it is advertised as such. To get the wifi, I had to walk out of my room, along the outside of the building and into the front parlor of the house. Thus wifi was available, but not in my room as advertised. Having said all of that ,and peeked a bit here and there at other places...when we return, we will most likely do so here!


Harbour Towne Inn combines charm and waterfront views

3.6 on July 26, 2014

We recently stayed at Harbour Towne Inn for a birthday celebration weekend. Our room was cozy and quaint, the setting on the harbor in Boothbay was just what we were looking for, and our hosts were very welcoming. The breakfasts at the Inn were remarkable - they included a wide variety of freshly prepared treats, and we could sit inside or outside on the decks overlooking the water. The only aspect of our stay that was a bit underwhelming was the small bathroom - it appeared to have been converted from a closet, and it was very small. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would return.


Wonderful vacation spot

4.8 on August 08, 2013

My husband and I just returned from 5 days at the Harbour Towne Inn. It was a beautiful, restful place to use as a base of operations for seeing the area. The Inn was very clear and attractive. The host, Stephanie, was pleasant, fun and very helpful, as well as being a fabulous cook. Breakfasts were enormous and delicious and we enjoyed every mouthful. BoothBay Harbour is a walkable area, with many good restaurants. When you want to get away from the crowd, it is easy to drive to a beautiful spot, including the local botanical gardens. We would recommend a visit there.


Love this place!

5 on May 22, 2013

This is a beautiful B and B. I stayed in room #1. It was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The bed was SUPER comfortable and I slept well. The bathroom was cute and clean. It opened onto a small balcony which was nice. The room has a view of the quaint street scape out front. Very nice. The breakfast was superb. Lovely breakfast casseroles and baked items. My favorite was a gruyere, sausage and mushroom bake that was just divine. There are plenty of teas and coffee, etc. The location is nice. Right on one of the main streets of town, you can leave your car and walk anywhere. I highly recommend this B and B.


Cozy, Comfortable and Close

4.4 on June 09, 2012

Our stay at the Harbour Towne Inn was our first experience with BedandBreakfast.com and the Boothbay Harbor area. The Inn was so welcoming with beautifully decorated rooms, one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in and a very hospitable host. Breakfast was excellent with something for everyone. Our Inn keeper suggested activities in the area which made are stay even better and it was so close to the restaurants and stores that we were able to walk everywhere. Such a great place to stay in the Boothbay Harbor area.


Romantic Penthouse Stay!!

5 on April 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfront for our honeymoon. We stayed in the penthouse which is absolutely gorgeous. We had the whole top floor to ourselves with breathtaking views!!! It was our 1st time at a B&B and our 1st visit to Boothbay Harbor, and we were very pleased. We read many on-line B&B reviews and visited dozens of different B&B websites. Our homework definitely paid off. The Harbour Towne Inn surpassed all of our expectations, and we can’t wait to go back, we'be booked the penthouse suite for next year, out one year anniversary!! The Inn is very beautiful, tastefully decorated, and impressively immaculate. Stephanie and Ashley take great pride and put a lot of effort in providing a spotlessly clean and comfortable haven. We enjoyed a peaceful, cozy atmosphere, they really make your feel like friends, not just guests. We felt the Harbour Towne Inn’s location was the best of all the B&B’s in Boothbay Harbor because it is so close to all the restaurants but far enough away from all of the traffic noise, so staying there is peaceful and quiet. Yet, it is within very close walking distance to downtown which is very convenient. It has off-street parking at the back of the building, so we were able to leave our car and kayaks parked and walk everywhere we wanted to go. Every morning, the breakfasts were absolutely delicious (and decadent) and included fresh fruit and sweet bread before the main course. My favorite was the cherry-stuffed French toast. They were very friendly and provided helpful tips on things to see and do in and around the Harbor. We can not wait to go back.


Best B&B in Boothbay Harbor!!!

5 on March 31, 2012

I just wanted to let you know (again) what a wonderful stay I had at your B & B on July 25/26. You promised a great breakfast and delivered. Everything was great and I will certainly recommend your inn to anyone and everyone. Check out www.SelectRegistry.com. This is the book I told you about which has listings of "Distiguished Inns of North America", at least that's what it says on the front. I hope all goes well with you and your future at Harbour Towne Inn. Keep up the good work and you'll do fine.


THIS IS A GREAT PLACE TO STAY!

5 on October 17, 2011

The friendly service could not have been better. The breakfast meals were above all expectations some of the best that we had ever experienced. The room was well furnished and comfortable. The view from the balcony was relaxing, over all it was a great experience!


Wonderful!

4.4 on October 03, 2011

Very clean and enjoyable stay... The breakfast was to die for! Will try to get back very soon. Thank you


Awesome!

5 on July 03, 2011

Awesome is the best way to describe our short weekend stay! Everything (except the weather) was perfect from the penthouse room to the fresh and very filling breakfast. Will definitely return again and again. Thank you very much, Stephanie!


wONDERUL EXPERIENCE

5 on October 02, 2010

I was a guest in June, 2010. I do not have anything negative to say. It was super clean, the staff friendly, I felt comfortable, and truly cared for! The bathroom was clean and had everything I could have wanted. The bed comfortable, and very quiet. Close to shopping and the view of the water, right out the window. Having breakfast ont he deck in the morning (which was delicious) and watching the water was so relaxing. I plan to return and would recommend this to all my friends.


a delight!

5 on September 25, 2010

This home is grand yet perfectly decorated to the finest detail. The breakfast was huge, delicious, and memorable. The innkeeper is gifted in hospitality! You will enjoy your stay!


A night at Harbour Towne Inn

4.0 on September 20, 2010

The Harbour Towne Inn is in a beautiful location and the serene atomosphere continued within the Inn. The rooms were very clean and attractive. The view from the deck just outside of our room was enough to make life's worries disappear if only for a night's stay. The hostess' were warm, friendly, charming and very hands-on in regards to the inn and the daily life of a bed and breakfast. The hostess' were very approachable and very knowledgeble about the area and the sites to see. The atomosphere definitley has a welcome to our Inn feel to it. The breakfast was very fresh and tasty. Due to circumstances we had to leave before breakfast would be served, but the Hostess' accomodated our schedule and served breakfast a bit earlier so we could enjoy breakfast on the deck overlooking the ocean's inlet before we had to leave. I had a wonderful overnight stay and cannot wait to go back again.


very nice overall, great location

4.6 on September 19, 2010

We arrived early before checkin, but unfortunately the inn keeper was not in, so we went down the street and got some lunch. Stay away from the Steak House, which I think is only run by 1 person. When we returned to check in, the inn keeper/owner was very apologetic about not being there earlier, and offered us a discount to upgrade to the penthouse - a fantastic upgrade. The penthouse is wonderful, and if we could have stayed a week there we would have ! It has a full kitchen and lovely sitting room.


Hospitality at it's finast!

5 on August 20, 2010

Stefanie and her daughter enhance the charm of this wonderful Victorian inn on the water. When you wake up in the morning Stefanie and her daughter make a fantastic spread of home made breakfast dishes. You will not start your morning hungry. No need to use your car while in Boothbay Harbor, you are just a short walk to everything. Wonder about where to eat dinner, Stefanie can direct you to some wonderful places in town and give you some insight to what you will find on the menus. After coming in after a long day out, the warm chocolate chip cookies were a wonderful surprise. Two of the nights we spent at the inn, the Opera House across the street had a jazz concert. We sat on our deck and enjoyed the music and the night stars. Our room was very comfortable, in fact with the bed I normally wake up with a sore back, not at the Harbour Towne Inn. You will not be disappointed by staying at Stefanie’s Harbour Towne Inn.


Wonderful stay...wonderful Inn Keeper!

4.0 on June 30, 2010

I had a fabulous stay, wonderful breakfast and lovely Inn Keeper! Thanks ... we will be back!


Wonderful! Wonderful! Wonderful!

4.8 on June 30, 2010

My recent stay at the Harbour Towne Inn made my vacation to Boothbay Harbor perfect. The Inn has such charm and the Innkeeper Stephanie was a wonderful hostess. She has far exceeded the expectations for breakfast at a B&B! Breakfast is all homemade and fresh every morning!! The variety was pleasing to everyone's taste's. My room was comfortable and quiet. The flowers are amazing and so beautiful on the decks. Thank you once again for making my stay a truly wonderful experience.


Location! Location! Welcome!

4.6 on June 11, 2010

Recently my sister and I visited Boothbay and stayed at the Harbour Towne Inn. We've both stayed in Boothbay several times in the past, and this was our favorite accommodation. As a real estate broker, I'm always tuned into location. This was terrific--on the waterfront within walking distance to shops, galleries, restaurants. And curb appeal--charming Victorian with gardens, window boxes, pots and baskets, all healthy and blooming! I have trouble keeping my two urns going every year, so I was impressed. Our innkeeper, Stefanie, was simply the best. She was warm, welcoming and could not do enough for you. She has a joyful enthusiasm that I'm sure she brings to all she does. By the time we left, I felt as if I'd made a new friend. The room rate was very reasonable so I was pleasantly surprised on two counts in particular: 1) two double beds! We usually get stuck with one of us having an inferior bed, or tucked under an eave, and once, out on an enclosed porch! 2) our room had a deck overlooking the water with comfy porch furniture. The beds were super comfy, too-brand new. I subscribe to the "Princess and the Pea" school of bed comfort; no problem here. Plus, it was quiet. Breakfast was great: hot entrees, continental, and any combination of the two are all available. Food was delicious and happily, enhanced by home baked goodies. Cookies showed up in the afternoon, too. Room was clean, sheets were soft, towels were crisp--all good! Stefanie and her sister, Trish, only took over the inn last August, and they have made many upgrades since. They're doing a great job that I'm sure will (somehow!) even get better as they become more accustomed to the work. My sister and I look forward to returning, and we might even bring our husbands sometime!


Sister's getaway

4.4 on June 10, 2010

My sister and I just got back from a very enjoyable stay at the Harbour Towne Inn in Boothbay Harbor, Me. Sometimes it's difficult to find a room suitable for two people who want separate beds in a B&B. Many times we have to settle for a room with twin beds in a less than desirable part of the property. This time we hit the jackpot. We had a lovely room with two double beds and a deck outside our door overlooking the water. The bed was soooo comfy-I didn't want to get up. As a gardener I could appreciate the beauty of all the plantings and containers of flowers and the effort needed to sustain the plants. The breakfasts were quite delicious as well as other goodies during the day such as the blueberry bread, shortbread cookies and chocolate chip cake (not on my Weight Watcher eating plan). The best part of all was our hostess, Stefanie. She could not have been more accommodating and a delight. As it turned out we were kindred spirits as I found out just before we left that we are both hookers (rug hookers that is). I'll be back for sure.


Terrific Hospitality

4.6 on October 05, 2009

3 day weekend was just terrific with Stefanie's hospitality and homemade breads/casseroles in the morning. We enjoyed all the blooming flowers along the front walkway and on the decks during this late September visit. Very easy stroll to restaurants/shops/post office. We loved the area and would love to return to Harbour Towne Inn.


Southern hospitality on the Maine Coast

5 on October 01, 2009

A wonderful visit. A must place to stay on your next trip to Boothbay Harbor. Home made breakfast. Very friendly and helpful during our visit. Very romantic with floral presentations inside and out. John & Susan


Outstanding Place to Stay!!!

5 on September 25, 2009

I recently stayed at the Harbor Towne Inn, in Boothbay Harbor. The Inn Keeper was extremelt nice, friendly, and accessible. I went to see the Irish folk band, Gaelic Storm, who was playing at the Boothbay Opera House. The Opera House is literally right across the street. I didn't have to pay for parking or anything else. The Inn has a spectacular view of the HArbor and is 2-3 minute walk from fine dining and McSeigal's Pub. I highly reccomend this Inn.


Best Ever Bed & Breakfast!

4.0 on September 14, 2009

Me and my 2 sisters booked a room, this past weekend (9/12), and had seen the picture in a magazine one of us had. It looked gorgeous! We got there, and the flowers and plants were stunning! They took my breath away! However, my sister who booked the room never asked which floor our room was on, and when we got there and realized it was on the 3rd floor, and there are a lot of stairs, we were quite upset, as our younger sister has to use a cane, and has bad knees, and we thought, oh no! We can't stay! And it's so beautiful! My older sister explained the situation to the owner, Stephanie, and we could not believe how wonderful she was! She actually had one room left, on the 2nd floor, and said for us to take it, for our sister who has to use a cane, and never charged us for it! Amazing! I didn't know there were people this kind still out there! The room was chaming, with beautiful lamps and pictures, as was ours, on the third floor. Then, the next morning, for breakfast, I've never seen such wonderful food, and so many choices! All cooked/baked fresh that morning, by the owner! She served 2 Quiches/blueberry bread/lemon poppy bread/biscuits/and a baked french toast dish to die for! as well as coffee/tea/OJ/fruit/yogurts/and several cereals--it was a 'feast'! She couldn't have been more gracious and sweet! I'd give it 5+ stars! We can't wait to go back, in the spring!


Beautiful Victorian Inn

4.2 on July 26, 2009

This was our first visit to Boothbay Harbor and we loved it. We already made a reservation to come back next year! Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable!!


Was just okay!

4.0 on July 23, 2009

For the one chance I was able to go on a mini vacation by myself, this B&B DID NOT impress me! The room was clean and neat, was not particularly welcomed upon check-in in a friendly manner. They were pleasant until the bill was paid. Breakfast was a complete diappointment!! Will never stay here again! It was hard to over look the inn next door and see what a LOVELY breakfast they had and I got nothing but a stale bagel and a banana!


So so

2.8 on October 20, 2008

We spent one night here and felt that it was so so. The room was tastefully decorated and clean, but breakfast was just okay. We didn't like the fact that we had to eat using a TV tray rather than at a table. We think this inn has seen better days.


OK stay

3.8 on July 11, 2007

This was our first B&B getaway. The Inn was nice and the rooms were OK. The penthouse was a nice size. My concern is that when we booked we did not get what we asked for. Overall the Inn itself was nice, but I was extremely unhappy by the way we were treated checking in.


Best in Boothbay Harbor

5 on June 12, 2007

Stayed 4 nights and had a wonderful time. This is the GEm of the Harbor and the Innkeeper is really a joy


Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfront

Details

  • Nightly Rate $155 - $275
  • Reviews (28) 4.5
  • Rooms 12
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2076334300

Visit Website »

View details

Top