Thornhedge Inn Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.0

Score Breakdown based on
108 Reviews

Write A Review

Best B&B ever!!!

5 on March 02, 2014

I stayed at the charming Thornhedge Inn last July for 10 days and 9 nights. From the second I stepped foot in the foyer I was transported back in time. The interior beauty of the house took my breath away. Not only was it exquisitely furnished, but the grounds and wrap around porch were pristine. The breakfasts were beautifully prepared and I felt like royalty sitting in the magnificent dining room. I have to say that I ate like a lumber jack!! (just ask Andy!!) I've stayed at approximately 18 B&B's during my travels, yet the breakfasts at the Thornhege Inn were the best I've ever had! The quality of the food and presentation was superior. I was pleasantly surprised!! Now, let me tell you about Andy. He has a heart of gold and single-handedly graciously runs the Thornhedge with the quality and care like it's his child. No question goes unanswered, and no request goes denied. Thank you Andy for such a lovely vacation! I will be back!!!!


More than just a room!

4.6 on October 31, 2013

We enjoyed another wonderful stay at the Thornhedge Inn. Since the first stay at the Inn during our annual Acadia trip we return each year. We feel like we are staying in a museum much like the early Bar Harbor residences must have been. The Inn offers sitting rooms and a spacious front porch to enjoy quiet time or to meet other guests. We have very much enjoyed meeting guests from around the U.S. as well as other countries. The five o'clock wine and cheese for all house guests results in great conversation. The addition of a hot dish for breakfast was a particularly nice addition to the normal breads, cereals, fruit and other goodies Andrew prepares. It is nice to leave the car and easily walk to anywhere downtown. Andrew interacts with his guests making it a very warm and informational B & B. Can not say enough about our excellent experience. Be back again next year!


August 2013

5 on October 29, 2013

This was our first visit to Thornehedge We found it to be superbly situated, within reasonable walking distance to the Bar Harbor attractions. The room was spacious and filled with character. Andrew was a friendly and energetic host, always available to chat or provide information and recommendations regarding area attractions and restaurants. Wine and cheese in the afternoons provided excellent opportunities to meet and chat with the other guests. The inn with its eclectic decor offered excellent and varied breakfast each morning. Would definitely to come back !


Very pleasant experience all around.

4.0 on October 23, 2013

Andrew is a very accommodating host. The rooms are well taken care of and the breakfast is very nice. He has good advice about restaurants and attractions in the town as well. And cute dog!


Comfort and Elegance with Fantastic Breakfasts!

4.8 on October 21, 2013

We were more than pleased with the beautiful Queen Anne style inn and its large gracious living room, hall with grand staircase, and dining room. It felt like being a guest in someone's home 100 years ago. Our basement room was large with a nice sitting area and more light than one would expect. Gourmet breakfasts served by the host were outstanding, and the walk to town very short. We plan to come again.


A great get-away

5 on October 21, 2013

During a government shutdown, and off-season - this place was a great getaway, with great tips and ideas given by Andy, great food and one of the most beautiful B&B's you'll ever find.


Fall spectacular in Bar Harbor

5 on October 21, 2013

I stayed three nights at Thornhedge Inn and wished I could have stayed longer. This was my first b&b experience and now I'm excited for more. Even coming at the end of the season, Andrew was very friendly and helpful. He offered suggestions for dining that were all excellent. He is very knowledgeable about the area. The morning breakfasts were delicious and always very eye appealing! His staff was friendly and made you feel welcome. I am already thinking of my return stay.


Thornhedge Inn

4.8 on October 20, 2013

The Inn is beautiful, breakfast deliclous and a relaxing afternoon tea. It was our first time in Bar Habor at the same time as the government shut down Andrew and the other guest shared what we could do to see Acadia National Park. Andrew also told us about all the history behind Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island. We will return again to visit Andrew and see the rest of the island. Jean & Ken Vander Heiden


Honeymoon Stay in October

5 on October 18, 2013

We stayed for our honeymoon at Thornhedge Inn. It was wonderful! Andrew was amazing and gracious; very knowledgeable of the area. The inn itself is beautiful. We were amazed at all of the antiques. Our stay was very comfortable and relaxed and each day started with a wonderful meal prepared by Andrew himself. We'll definetly be back! Debbie and Marcel


Outstanding experience!

5 on October 15, 2013

We had such a great experience staying at Thornhedge. The room was large and clean and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was amazing, with a different entree every day. Andrew was very helpful in planning our day since the National Park was closed and with directing us where toget good food for our picnic lunch. If you're looking for a comfortable place to stay during your time away from home, Thornhedge is that place!


Great vacation!!

5 on October 12, 2013

We stayed here late September. The house is so unique and takes you back to the days when Bar Harbor was a vacation spot for wealthy families from New England. The innkeeper, Andrew, is a wealth of knowledge not only about this house but also about Bar Harbor, Acadia National Park, etc.. He is very accommodating and friendly. We will stay here when we visit Bar Harbor again.


convenient to Bar Harbor shops

4.4 on October 09, 2013

Just a short 3 minute walk to the main street of Bar Harbor shops and bus tours to Acadia, yet so quiet and restful. Andy was an outstanding host, serving great breakfasts, with plenty of food. He was always ready with suggestions for things to do, and his advice was spot on.


Fantastic!

5 on October 08, 2013

Loved the Thornhedge Inn! Would not hesitate to stay there again. Clean, comfortable, friendly and delish breakfast!


Conveniently located, Charming B&B

5 on October 08, 2013

Conveniently located, charming B&B! Andrew is a perfect host - and the breakfast is a delicious way to start your day in Bar Harbor!


Loved the historical home.

4.2 on October 07, 2013

The Thornhedge Inn was a great historical home and Andrew was a great host. He is an amazing cook and was very interactive with all his guessts. We had a third floor room which was very comfortable and had all the necessary amenities. The bathroom was very spacious but needed a little work as the floor was coming up and the lighting wasn't the best. The history of the home was amazing. We would definitely stay again.


Very Nice

4.0 on October 07, 2013

This is a very nice and nicely managed B&B in a great location. Our room was comfortable, the common areas were very nice, and the breakfasts were superb. Andrew, the owner is very nice and friendly.


Thank you, Andrew!

4.8 on October 07, 2013

This was such an enjoyable two night stay on a tour of Maine, Acadia National Park, Prince Edwards Island, and Nova Scotia. Our stay could be compared to staying in a dear friend's home!! Andrew met us at the front door and is such a gentleman! We were in the lovely Blair Eyrie master suite. Wine and cheese hour was such a delight, especially for the entertaining conversations with interesting people from all over the states. It's such a small world....we ran into a couple that lives in a neighboring town in Mississippi and another couple that know mutual friends! The gourmet breakfasts were delicious.....coffee, juice, fruit cups, quiche, blueberry French toast, artisan breads served in the home's dining room. Andrew was also helpful with suggestions for dinner and lunch in Bar Harbour (loved the "Cafe This Way" that he recommended). This home was originally Andrew's grandparents and what a tribute to them that he is carrying on their plans for the home.


Thornhedge Inn, Bar Harbor Maine

5 on September 27, 2013

Beautiful property, well-cared for. Our host Andrew was knowledgeable about the town, restaurants and interesting places to visit in Bar Harbor. I would highly recommend Thornhedge Inn.


Great Fall Getaway

4.4 on September 24, 2013

We were looking for a comfortable and convenient B&B for a quick fall getaway, and got more than we expected. The breakfasts were excellent, and service outstanding. Located 1 block walk to most of downtown Bar Harbor makes it super convenient to local eateries and shopping. Innkeeper Andrew worked to gets us anything needed.


A fine overnight

5 on September 20, 2013

Breakfast was over the top, and enough to keep us fueled throughout the lovely ride on the carriage trails.


enjoyable b&b

3.6 on September 17, 2013

it was situated in a great location. walking distance to downtown Bar Harbor. decided to stay an extra night last minute and Andrew made it happen for us. definitely recommend the strawberry room


Great Bar Harbor Inn

4.6 on September 12, 2013

Our stay in Bar Harbor was fantastic. Half the reason it was so great was staying at the Thornhedge. The house is beautiful with a large wrap around porch and plenty comfortable seating. The house itself is large, spacious and comfortable. We stayed in the Greenway Court, a very large room with two beds. The room was very clean and charming. Andrew, the inn keeper, was delightful, very knowledgable of the area and a great cook. Every breakfast was delicious, however, the creme brûlée French Toast is to die for. Bribe him to cook it if you have to!!! It was a wonderful trip and loved Bar Harbor. I am definitely coming back and will stay at Thornhedge.


Awesome Stay

5 on September 05, 2013

Much appreciated hospitality afforded us during our stay at Thornhedge. Andrew and his staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Benjamin! Definitely plan on returning again, and have told many friends of this home away from home!


Good Value Option

4.6 on September 04, 2013

A quality B&B, good food. Apparently they only started having a full breakfast recently, but the food was quite good and there was a lot of variety from day to day. The owner was friendly and helpful with recommendations for dinner, hiking, etc. Maybe not the fanciest B&B in town, but certainly one of the best values.


Terrific Inn

4.8 on September 03, 2013

What a terrific stay in Bar Harbor thanks to Andrew our host at his Thornhedge Inn. The inn is super homey and comfortable. Our room was large, decorated nicely and keep spotless everyday. The breakfast was "5 star" every morning. It was a short walk to the center of town. I would definitely return again and again!


A truely great place to stay in Bar Harbor

4.8 on August 23, 2013

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary in Bar Harbor. And for quality of accommodations, walking distance to downtown Bar Harbor, and an excellent breakfast each day, the Thornhedge Inn cannot be beat. I highly recommend the Thornhedge Inn.


Perfect location

5 on August 19, 2013

Our stay exceeded our expectations by far. The inn was cozy and everyone was so friendly and accommodating. The innkeeper went out of his way to make you feel welcome. Will return!


Great Stay in Bar Harbor

5 on August 19, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Thornhedge so much. Andrew is a wonderful host. The property is beautiful and cozy. Thanks for making our the beginning of our trip great. I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone heading to Bar Harbor.


Lovely spacious home (stairs, stairs, stairs)

3.6 on August 15, 2013

What a gorgeous house! So convent to downtown, the harbor and shops. The host/owner Andy is very welcoming and provides a lovely breakfast with superb recipes! I was downstairs in a lovely room called the Talleyrand. Spacious and clean and very inviting. My only complaint were the stairs to my room which were incredibly narrow and steep. Offers of assistance with bags would be my only recommendation for improvement.


A Delightful Visit in Maine

5 on August 13, 2013

This was our first experience at a Bed and Breakfast; I guess we picked the best place for quality and friendliness. My wife and I enjoyed visiting with everyone during a delightful breakfast.


Wonderful service, well-appointed rooms

4.6 on August 08, 2013

Originally scheduled to stay only two days at Thornhedge, Andy accommodated us for two more nights because we were enjoying ourselves so much. We moved rooms twice because of our own indecisiveness and got to experience three different parts of the house, all of which were very clean, very quiet and very comfortable. I'll break it down in pretty simple terms. Pros: -Conveniently located -Competitively priced -Very Comfortable -Breakfast was delicious -Service was friendly and very courteous -Many different room choices Cons: -Bright rooms don't have curtains to block out morning light -Bathrooms can be dark in the evenings -Funny smell in annex bedroom All said, pretty minor gripes for what ended up being a very enjoyable stay. We're looking forward to returning soon.


Simply Outstanding

5 on August 06, 2013

The location, the room, the service, the breakfast, the wine and cheese, and the value all contributed to a top quality experience.


Beautiful B&B

4.8 on August 04, 2013

This was our first B&B experience and it was great, Andy was a terrific host, with info on tourist attractions and dining. The fresh blueberry french toast and muffins were delicious and we would love to visit again. Our stay was more than enjoyable.


Great b&b in Bar Harbor

5 on July 31, 2013

Stayed in the Strawberry Hill room. Very cute and homey! Was served gourmet breakfast with great homebaked muffins and breads. Great stay, great host. Highly recommend it.


Excellent stay!

4.6 on July 26, 2013

I would recommend this Inn for anyone. My husband and I stayed for three nights. During that time we felt welcome, enjoyed a beautiful room, and gourmet breakfasts. This was a lovely time and we can't wait to return.


We had a fantastic stay

5 on July 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed a week at the Thornhedge Inn and everything exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the recently remodeled lower level of the Inn and it was very beautiful and comfortable. It will definitely be our Inn of choice during our next visit to Bar Harbor. Thanks again to Andrew and the others that made the stay there unforgettable.


Wonderful!

5 on July 17, 2013

We are regulars at Thornhedge and it is a wonderful place to stay. Andrew is a great host, and historic building is a reminder of Bar Harbor days gone by.


top shelf

4.8 on June 30, 2013

Best b/b we ever stayed in, would never stay any where eles in barharbor but the thornhedge inn very nice,5 star B;B Al ;Rose


Great B&B if you want to be right in Bar Harbor!

4.8 on June 05, 2013

We've been staying at Thornhedge for several years now, and we've always been very satisfied with both the accommodations and the service that Andrew provides. Afternoon wine and cheese along with the conversations that take place are added perks. Andrew goes out of his way to meet your needs, and insure your stay is top notch.


More than a B&B

3.6 on December 01, 2012

It was our first time in Bar Harbour and we were extremely impressed with the calibre of Thornhedge. It was in a good location, just a short stroll into the main town and right on the edge of the Acadia NP. Our room was decorated in traditional style, very comfortable and clean. The hosts were very accommodating and provided cheese and wine each evening for guests to sit and socialise which was a lovely touch. Our only slight disappointment was breakfast, although there was plenty to help yourself to it was fairly limited unless you eat lots of cake for breakfast! Overall it was a lovely stay and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.


Our stay in Bar Harbor

4.4 on October 22, 2012

We loved the location, everything was within walking distance. Andrew was a fine host and he knew all the great places to dine. We will definitely stay here again.


Thornhedge Bed & Breakfast

4.6 on October 18, 2012

Great location. Town was 2 minutes away. Breakfast was above Continental Style. Room was clean as-well-as the bathroom. Staff was polite and very helpful.


I will be returning again next year!

4.6 on October 17, 2012

I have been returning to the Thornhedge Inn for years. I have stayed at other B & Bs over the 21 years that I have returned to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. The Thornhedge has been by far my favorite. I will be returning again next year. Andrew has been a wonderful host. The Thornhedge not only has a selection of beautiful rooms, but offers museum like parlors for sitting, reading, and meeting others at the 5pm daily wine and cheese hour courtesy of Andrew. Andrew interacts with his guests sharing ideas for dining, Acadia attractions, hiking, and other activities to make certain his guests stay is memorable. Unlike many B & B operators, Andrew is easily approachable, especially during breakfast hours. I have met many interesting guests during my stays at the Thornhedge. It is wonderful inn for a short or longer term visit to a most beautiful area of our country.


Thornhedge

3.4 on October 11, 2012

The B&B was lovely, clean, and well maintained. The host was gracious and helpful with points of interest in the area. The wine and cheese at 5:00 p.m. was a fine feature that we've not experienced at any other B&B. The breakfasts were not what we had expected.


Very Charming Inn

4.6 on October 11, 2012

My husband and I had a pleasure to stay in Thornhedge Inn at the end of September. The Inn was very well maintained and beautifully decorated inside. It's located in a heart of Bar Harbor, just a block away from Main Street and a minute walk from all the great restaurants and stores. The owner Andy is very nice and welcoming. It's only 5 minutes away from the entrance to beautiful Acadia National Park! We highly recommend Thornhedge Inn!


September Getaway

4.0 on October 08, 2012

This B&B is right in town. Andrew, the owner goes to great lengths to make everyones stay a memorable one. He sits with the group during the wine and cheese daily get together which is in the afternoon. The house is a treasure of collectibles and antiques. We have been to this B&B several times and have never been disappointed.


The Thornhedge

4.2 on October 07, 2012

The rooms were very comfortable. The whole decore was furnished with period furniture... almost a museum in itself. The place was extremely well kept and the atmosphere was congenial. I would recommend Thornhedge to anyone staying in the Bar Harbor, ME area.


beautiful Home and great location

4.6 on October 05, 2012

We loved the house and our room at Thornhedge. It was very comfortable, and the location is only a few blocks from shopping and dining. Andrew was very helpful when planning our activities. We would definitely stay again and would highly recommend it to others.


wonderful weekend in Bar Harbor, Maine

5 on September 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Thornhedge Inn. It reminded me of spending the night at my Grandma's. Andrew was a wonderful host with great suggestions on things to do in the area. The beds were comfortable and the rooms spotless. Thank you for a wonderful weekend.


A God Place to Stay

4.2 on September 17, 2012

Very nice social atmosphere created by daily 5-6 PM wine and cheese. host helpful re things to do, activities.


Great place to stay!

4.6 on September 16, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Thornhedge Inn. It really exceded our expectations. We stayed in the Blair Eyrie which was beuatifully decorated wtih modern comforts with a grand victorian feel.The entire house is just lovely to be in . We enjoyed generous breakfasts, which were relaxed and lesiurely, while served in the elegant dining room with delicious coffee, assorted juices and selection of other breakfast items and home made muffins and breads! Our gracious host Andrew answered questions and directed us toeverything from dinner in town to hiking and exploring Mount desert Island. We are hoping to return soon. Highly recommend this Inn .


still beautiful 23 years later!

5 on September 11, 2012

Rooms were beautiful! Very nice atmosphere, dining was breakfast, awesome breads. Owner was very knowledgable of restaurants and activities in area.


Great stay in Maine!

4.2 on September 11, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this great location in Bar Harbor over the Labor Day weekend! Highly recommended.


bar harbor

4.4 on August 31, 2012

Needed more lighting in room. Amazing details. Great location.


Thornhedge Inn Review

5 on August 29, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our honeymoon at the Thornhedge Inn, and it was, by far, the best hotel experience we've ever had.


Thornhedge inn

4.8 on August 29, 2012

The owner, Andy, was personable and very friendly. He sat with us at breakfast and we felt clearly as if we were in his personal home. It is a lovely inn, within walking distance to Bar Harbor sites. A very enjoyable weekend.


Two day stay

3.8 on August 27, 2012

We recently had a two day stay at eh Thonnhedge Inn. The rooms were fantastic!!! Had a great night sleep. House is beautiful!!! Owner is very nice and is always available to assist and offer tour advice. The breakfast was satisfactory and if we had any suggestion it would be to enhance the breakfast portion of the bed and breakfast stay. I would like to see an expanded selection of food in the morning. We would definitely stay there again and recommend to anyone to stay here. Very close to all.


Excellent experience

5 on August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Thornhedge for four nights in July /August 2012. It was just what you want in a b&b - charming, friendly, warm, clean, well situated, and it had an abundance of lovely antique decorating touches that make this charming b&b feel like the elegant home it was meant to be.


Just Great !

4.8 on August 20, 2012

We had a great time. Thanks to Andrew who is charming and always helpful. It's like a trip in time with all this history and furniture. Rooms are perfect. Breakfast always good. Service A+


Delightful B&B

4.6 on August 14, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Thornhedge. The personnel were exceptionally helpful and friendly and the rooms were beautifully decorated . When our traveling companions and I sat down at the end of our two week adventure, we decided that staying at The Thornhedge was one of the highpoints of our trip. We would definitely recommend it to our friends.


wonderful stay, dont change a thing

4.8 on August 12, 2012

Awesome stay wish we could have soaked up the rich history of the inn more, but the innkeeper was polite and respectful....breakfast was delicious. Grounds were well kept also. Best location in my opinion with a 3 minute walk to the center of town.


Excellent "home base" for Bar Harbor vacation

4.8 on August 10, 2012

Location excellent - minutes from Explorer free buses and village green, easy walk to many restaurants, waterfront. While we had perfect weather and didn't need a rainy day option, it is across the street from the Abbe Museum (Native American) and a short block to the Bar Harbor Historical Society. Room - very large, two 3/4 beds, sitting area, full bath. Also very quiet and private with easy access to back parking lot. AC and television (we were there during Olympics, this was important!). Daily housekeeping seemed to happen like magic while we were at breakfast. Breakfast - many choices, including two kinds of muffins, fresh fruit and excellent coffee. Innkeeper present at breakfast, excellent facilitator for conversations as well as local resource. Inn keeper - a local man who seems to know everything! Amenities - wine and cheese in the afternoon, television, games and magazines in public spaces on first floor. Computer access.


Great location and service!

4.2 on August 08, 2012

Upon arriving to Thornhedge Inn late Friday evening, I was taken back by its prime location and excellent staff. My boyfriend and I were immediately met by Andrew, the owner, who made me feel right at home. He was ready to help us with anything and everything, without being overbearing; he was very sincere. When I woke up on Saturday, I was ready for a good meal before a long day of hiking in Acadia. I could smell the fresh out-of-the-oven muffins as I came up the stairs - a nice treat that made me feel at home. There was great conversation amongst the guests, and I even sat outside on the porch with a few afterwards, taking in the morning sunshine. After arriving back at the Inn after hiking, there was wine, cheese, crackers, and fruit in the parlor. It was to have good conversation over a snack after a long day of hiking in Acadia. His grandmother, the original owner of the house, was also able to join in, which made me feel even more welcome. When we were done with our snack, we took a walk through the harbor. Talk about a great location! Just two blocks up the road and you were at the little park square. There was music, a bus stop, and tons of shops literally around the corner. Oh, and the house! It was full of lots of antique items from his grandmother's time, which added a great touch. I loved the porch outside as it sat lots of people and was great for the mornings or evenings. My room met my expectations, but actually sparked my boyfriend's allergies. While the house was not incredibly dusty, he is just allergic to even the slightest amount of dust. Definitely stay at Thornhedge!


Close to downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia

3.2 on July 31, 2012

The location was fantastic! Andrew the innkeeper was very friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable. I recommend the Thornhedge Inn.


Loved the Thornhedge, we will be back!

5 on July 25, 2012

My wife and I discovered the Thornhedge on a recent trip to Maine and boy were we happy to have found it. Typically we stay in lower quality hotels/motels in the Ellsworth area however this time we really wanted to do the Bed and Breakfast thing. The Thornhedge is everything you could want in a getaway and more. The house is stunning and the antiques inside are just amazing, you almost feel like you're visiting a museum. The room we stayed in was so comfortable, and it was just nice waking up in the morning and feeling like you're at home. Andrew, the innkeeper, knows everything about the town and gives really great pointers on where to go in the area. His hospitality was great and took care of all our needs. The wine and cheese hour was a nice surprise after a day of adventure. Just relaxing with a glass of white wine and some crackers and meeting new people was a highlight. We are looking forward to coming back next Summer!


centrally located

4.4 on July 24, 2012

Andrew is very welcoming and helpful - a home away from home.


wonderful stay in Bar Harbor,ME

4.6 on July 23, 2012

Rooms are charming, and have delightful variety in this large home. Excellent service; warm welcome by owners and staff


Will definitely return

4.0 on July 18, 2012

We fully enjoyed our stay at the Thornhedge. The home itself is beautiful and our room was very comfortable, albeit ready for a few updates. Andy, the owner, was incredibly welcoming and accommodating- and the location was fantastic. It truly felt as though we were staying at a friend's home, and we can't wait to return next year.


Very nice B & B!

4.2 on July 14, 2012

Very convenient, room was VERY spacious and combortable, Andrew, our host was very nice and helpful. We never felt comfortable in a B & B until this experience. The next time we're in Bar Harbor we will definately stay here again.


Best B&B experience ever!!

5 on July 11, 2012

The place is absolutely gorgeous, very comfortable and incredibly clean! A perfect, central location, close to everything in Bar Harbor, especially Acadia National Park. The water was hot with excellent water pressure for an older home, the room and bed were very comfortable and Andrew was a truly gracious host, very courteous and helpful, yet discrete. Had 2 very restful nights, since everyone else was so quiet. Breakfast was delicious and wine and cheese at 5 was a nice surprise. I highly recommend Thornhedge and we will definitely be back again.


Great location, walking distance to everything!

3.4 on June 25, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and was pleased with my stay. Although considered still spring season, still thought the cost was a bit high, but I guess that is the price you pay for convenience to everything. Lots of parking, breakfast was continental so that is what we expected. The offer of bottled water or even coffee or tea upon arrival would have been nice, as well as the expected weather forecast for the a day or two. Being on the run, there is not always time to check the news. Wine and cheese at 5 was nice, Should have been a choice of red as well as white. The rooms were very clean, beds were comfy and the location was quiet.


Lovely large room

3.6 on June 18, 2012

Great room, clean and quiet. Breakfast was adequate but a little disappointing. The wine and cheese were a lovely surprise.


Thornhedge Review

3.0 on June 01, 2012

Owner gave great hiking and biking ideas. Delicious breakfast - slightly repetitive. No curtains in the bedroom or bathroom.


We Would Return

4.6 on October 18, 2011

Great location. Loved our room. Within walking distance to everything in downtown Bar Harbor. We appreciated Andrew's help in choosing what to see and where to eat while visiting. One day, we hope to stay at Thornhedge again. I definitely recommend.


Our 1st visit to a Bed & Breakfast

4.6 on October 10, 2011

This being our first B&B experience we don't have a lot to compare. We loved the house, the location was great and it was very comfortable. Andrew, the owner, was great to work with, very friendly and available at all times. Breakfast was great and the afternoon wine & cheese social hour was the greatest. Would be happy to return and stay there again sometime.


excellent

3.8 on October 07, 2011

Special thanks to Andrew, a wonderfull host. The Inn is like a little museum and the room was very comfortable. Exchange with the other guests, either at breakfast or at the daily "wine and cheese" was very pleasant.


maine trip

3.0 on October 04, 2011

The room was large and comfortable. The owner was friendly and informative. The breakfast was adequate. I would stay there again.


Great Week in Bar Harbour

3.6 on September 28, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Thornhedge. It is ideally located and the Inn is delightful. Our host was most helpful in every way.


Happy Customer

3.6 on September 20, 2011

This was our first visit to Bar Harbor and Thornhedge Inn provided a nice location away from cruise ships and busy shopping yet within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. The owner and host was gracious, greeting us as we arrived and ensuring our room was comfortable for us. Wifi connection was smooth. Full continental breakfast was highlighted with sweet breads and muffins baked by the owner. All in all, a delightful stay in a nice accommodation.


Labor Day Weekend

3.6 on September 12, 2011

Great stay at Thornhedge, very convenient to walking downtown, great size rooms. Breakfast was the only thing lacking, just standard bagels, toast, muffins etc.


Great place to stay!

4.0 on September 04, 2011

The Inn is centrally located but quiet and decorated beautifully. The innkeeper Andrew was very helpful and friendly. We stay at Bed and breakfast's everytime we travel so speaking from experience, this place is surely not to be passed up! We will be back again and again.


ok

4.2 on August 30, 2011

really a nice place to stay, and only few minutes by walk to downtown


Wonderful bed and breakfast

5 on August 29, 2011

The Thornhedge Inn is beautiful inside and out, which when combined with its prime location and gracious host (thank you Andrew), really makes it one of the best places to stay when touring Maine's coast, Acadia National Park and the town of Bar Harbor!


great stay!

4.6 on August 28, 2011

Our stay at Thornhedge was delightful! The location was excellent for walking around Bar Harbor. Breakfast was very nice with delicious fresh baked breads and muffins. It was also a great time to visit with the other guests. Andrew was full of good information for sightseeing, restaurants and history of the area.


Great place to stay!

4.4 on August 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Thonhedge for 1 week and had a great experience. Having never stayed at a B&B we found the atmosphere pleasant and inviting. Our host, Andrew, was very accommodating and very knowledgeable about the area attractions and great dining locations. The rooms were clean but dated for those looking for more modern surroundings - I thought it added to the charm, however. Being a modest person, I felt that our bathroom could have used blinds on the windows. Our room was on the 3rd floor and is the only room at the inn without an attached bathroom. It didn't bother us to go down the hall to the bathroom however, because of the discounted price and the fact it was private. Breakfasts were good - homemade muffins, juice, coffee, fruit, cereal, yogurt. Also, the wine and cheese gatherings in the afternoon allowed us to meet other guests. I would recommend Thornhedge to friends and family. We'll definitely be back for another stay.


2011 Bar Harbor

3.8 on August 17, 2011

Pleasant Our stay at the Inn was pleasant. The breakfast was a disappointment. The breakfast was "continental" at best.


satisfied

4.8 on August 10, 2011

it was great!


A great Time!

3.0 on August 06, 2011

Everything was perfect, as expected. We had a great Time and Will certainley be back. Place was beatiful, the service was great , breakfast very. Thank you, and see you probably next year.


A friendly inn in a great location

4.0 on August 05, 2011

The host and staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. The inn is very clean and well-kept. The inn is in a great location, just two blocks from the main businesses and island shuttle stop. A great value. This is definitely a place we will stay on future visits. The only negative comment we have is that the bathrooms could be updated. But, that did not detract from our pleasant stay there.


a charming and welcoming place

2.8 on July 31, 2011

the bathroom needs to be updated-more light and bigger mirror, better shower head.


Great find in Bar Harbor

4.6 on July 29, 2011

Excellent location near the center of town. Room was very comfortable and as shown in the web photo. Andrew is a most congenial host.


Thornhedge 7/2011 35th wedding anniversary stay

5 on July 25, 2011

This was our first stay in Thornhedge, beautiful home, well kept. Excellent host,great breakfast & wine with cheese near dinner time. Will stay again in the future.


Perfect location

3.8 on July 24, 2011

This beautiful old house is at just the perfect location in Bar Harbor. Easy to get to by car. Great for walking to many restaurants and the town. Close to Acadia National park. The house has all the charm of an antique and is clean and comfortable. Breakfast is plentiful if uninspired. Coffee, Tea, juice, quick breads and muffins. Cold cereals, toast or bagels.Yogurt and fresh fruits. The owner is very friendly and amiable. We would be glad to stay there again.


Summer Stay

4.6 on July 22, 2011

Andrew is a very knowledgeable and friendly innkeeper, and he runs a lovely inn in a wonderful location! The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable and the rest of the house is just beautiful. The breakfast is continental only but we're not big breakfast people anyway!


Great Place

4.8 on July 04, 2011

The Inn is an an elaborately furnished old mansion. Andrew is a very gracious and helpful host. Don't miss the afternoon wine and cheese break. It is now our favorite B&B. John & Donna


Relaxing in Bar Harbor

4.4 on June 26, 2011

Great location. Leave your car at Thornhedge and walk to the shops and restaurants in downtown Bar Harbor. Andrew was very helpful with restaurant suggestions.


Great weekend

4.0 on November 02, 2010

B&B location was ideally situated...the home was well kept,clean and tastefully decorated...the bedroom was very nice and the bath was spacious. All and all it was really such a pleasant time there....I'm sure we will probably return....


Thornhedge a bit thorny

2.4 on October 15, 2010

Property is in an ideal location; within comfortable walking distance to Main Street, shops, restaurants. Wine & cheese are offered in late afternoon; has buffet breakfast but no hot items like eggs, pancakes, etc. so if you are anticipating a hearty hot breakfast just be advised that is not offered. Rooms are cleaned property but carpets are stained, there are water leaks in some ceilings; the property in general needs quite a bit of simple maintenance such as windows cleaned; yard work, etc. which would tidy things up a bit.


A Wonderful Experience

5 on October 14, 2010

My friend and I had a wonderful experience at Thornhedge and would gladly return some day. The room was large and well appointed and the bathroom was huge. The inn itself was filled with beautiful antiques and tastefully decorated throughout. The home made muffins and breads were very tasty and we enjoyed wine and cheese in the afternoon with other guests. But, the best part of the inn was the innkeeper, Andrew. He grew up in the area and couldn't have been more knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly. He made reservations, advised us on hiking and biking trails, and was just a really nice guy. He was the quintessential host.


October 2010

3.2 on October 11, 2010

Lovely home with Victorian atmosphere. Pleasant host. Clean and spacious room. Great location for walking in town. Breakfast was good, but would have liked more variety and substance. All in all a good experience and would definitely go back again.


Nice stay

3.8 on October 07, 2010

Nice room, breakfast did not exceed my expectation.


Thornhedge Inn best B&B to stay in Bar Harbor

5 on September 27, 2010

The most beautiful inn, wonderful personalized service, clean rooms -- just a wonderful place to stay.


Would definitely stay again

3.6 on September 22, 2010

Third floor room was small and my hairdryer blew a fuse, but the place is truly fantastic, especially if you love to be surrounded by antiques. Andrew, the innkeeper, is a very interesting fellow & spent a lot of time with the guests, which was unexpected but very nice. All the breakfast breads are made on premises.


Great choice in Bar Harbor!

3.0 on September 09, 2010

A very personable B&B; excellent service; available all the time; wonderful cheese and wine at the end of the day when you want to unwind and share experiences. Excellent location - 2 blocks from downtown. On a main road, so occasionally noisy with cars at night.


No thorns in the hedge

3.2 on September 08, 2010

Thornhedge is terrific, lots of interesting people to talk to at breakfast, great to offer wine and cheese at 5 PM. Definitely a step back in time... decorations include button collections. Great muffins and sweetbreads at breakfast, assorted cereals... I had come to expect amazing fritattas...


Beautiful B&B

2.8 on August 27, 2010

The house is very nice and welcoming. It lacked a little variety at breakfast (muffins, cereals and fruit only). By cons, the berry muffins were delicious. The innkeeper is present to respond to our requests A good place.


Outstanding!!

5 on August 25, 2010

Our stay at Thornhedge was absolutely delightful. The rooms were beautiful and very clean. Andrew is a very personable innkeeper and made our stay very pleasant. I highly recommend it for anyone trying to decide where to stay!


Ideal accommodations & location

4.6 on September 27, 2009

Thornhedge is beautiful outside and inside. We loved the common rooms as well as the bedrooms and many antique accessories throughout the house. Our host, Andy, was friendly, available and helpful. Wine & cheese in the afternoon provided the opportunity for lively gatherings. On our next trip to Bar Harbor we'll definitely plan to stay at Thornhedge.


Thornhedge Inn

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2072885398
  • Toll free 1-8772885398

Visit Website »

View details

Top