Antrim 1844 Country House Hotel Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
56 Reviews

Write A Review

A Fabulous Reunion!

4.8 on April 08, 2013

My husband and I met close friends (three other couples) at Antrim 1844 during the 2012 Christmas holidays for a reunion, and we all had an absolutely fabulous experience! Our objectives were to relax, visit, and catch up on lives in a stress-free, elegant environment, and those objectives were more than achieved. The manor is spectacular at the holidays with festive, gorgeous decorations, our rooms were spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated, the staff pampered us at every turn, and the dining experience was first rate. We all plan to return again this year, and would recommend Antrim 1844 to anyone who enjoys elegance, fine dining and beautiful surroundings.


love to stay here!

4.8 on February 05, 2013

This is a truly special place to spend an evening eating spectacular food in a warm, inviting atmosphere. The rooms are charming and the staff is attentive. It is a wonderful getaway and we can't wait to come back!


Romantic Getaway that is exceptional....

4.6 on November 07, 2011

We stay here once a year as a romantic getaway, no phones, no interruptions just quality time together. The grounds are beautiful, love sitting by the fireplace in our room, having a glass of wine/Champagne and talking/laughing, just catching up from our busy lives. Love to dress up and make it special, the service is outstanding and so is the food, pricey but worth it as a treat. Visit during the holiday time and enjoy all the Christmas decorations through the house, amazingly beautiful. We've stayed in many rooms/buildings and loved each one, booked for New Year's Eve this year....expecting a fabulous time!


Skeptical..but then Amazed

4.0 on October 27, 2011

I actually had my reservations about going because in the area that it was located in but we were welcomed and made to feel at home. The service was impeccable! I would truly recommend Antrim 1844 for a nice B&B anytime of the year. Bring back the romance in your life! Definitely worth every dime!


I'd like to share our experience.....

1.2 on June 23, 2011

From the arrival to the attempt to notify the general mgr of the problems following the stay.... all has been extremely disappointing. I have to say I could not possibly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone with standards and expectations of class.


Attention to Detail

4.0 on March 16, 2011

Friendly & accomadating staff. We were upgraded to the our 1st choice due to cancellation. Afternoon tea & dinner very nice. The long stem rose at turndown was a nice touch. The morning tray outside the room in am of coffee, fruit & fresh muffins was great befor heading off for the yummy full couse breakfast.


Our 24th Anniversary

5 on March 03, 2011

This was a first visit to Antrim 1844 for my husband and me. We went to celebrate our 24th wedding anniversary. What a glorious inn! The attention to detail - from the room decor, dining experience and, of course, the service of the staff - was far beyond our expectations. The food was a gourmet's delight! We would highly recommend this great inn!


Wonderful Getaway!

4.8 on October 15, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Elizabeth Suite to celebrate our 10-year anniversary! The room was awesome! The bed was extremely comfortable. Probably the best bed I have ever slept in. The jacuzzi tub was a nice addition to relax in the evening! We also had dinner here. The staff was very attentive and friendly. It was a very unique experience and very tasty meal! The turn down service was also a neat service that the Inn provided. We will definitely be back again to try a different room! I would highly recommend the Antrim to anyone looking for a nice romantic get-away spot!


Luxurious Get-Away

5 on June 01, 2010

Over the weekend we stayed at Antrim 1844 to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary. This place makes you feel special like no place else I've ever stayed. The service is excellent, the staff really makes you feel like they are there for you. They go out of their way to be accommodating. The grounds are beautifully maintained, it is wonderful to just take a stroll through the gardens and around the property. The location is close to Gettysburg and things to do - but once I was at Antrim, I didn't want to leave! It's a great little get away, even for one night. Dinner at the Smokehouse is extraordinary. Every course is delicious, with beautiful plating, and great options. Make sure to leave room for dessert! We also enjoyed tea and breakfast, and of course the hors d'oeuvres before dinner. Every bit of our stay was enjoyable, there isn't a thing I'd change. I can hardly wait to go again.


Second time around

5 on March 17, 2010

Our second visit was even more special than the first. We felt right at home in our elegant room - very relaxing just to lie in bed and read and talk. The innkeepers thought of every comfort imaginable both in our room and in the rest of the property. The dinner menu offered a nice selection. Portions were just right for us and service was attentive without being overpowering. Breakfast was cheery and relaxed, overlooking the gardens on an early spring day. I'm sure you'll be delighted with this charming place.


A fantastic romantic getaway!

5 on February 19, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Antrim 1844 tremendously. So much so that we decided to get married there! The setting is lovely and there are lots of interesting things to do in the area. The service is second-to-none and the restaurant is a great value and a true fine dining experience. We love Antrim 1844 and can't wait to get married there!


Best Overnight we've stayed at - ever!

5 on February 15, 2010

Brought boyfriend here to celebrate his birthday after spending the day at Gettysburg battlefields. Highly recommend Antrim 1844, only a half hour drive south of Gettysburg. Room, service, and especially the dining was unmatched. This is what we would expect to find at someplace like the Inn at Little Washington, but without spending $1000 per night!


Simply the Best!

5 on February 10, 2010

My husband and I were married at Antrim 1844 in December 1995, and we have made many return visits over the past 14 years. The staff is attentive and friendly, the service is flawless, the rooms are stunning, and the food is spectacular. Even though the atmosphere is formal and elegant, it is also warm and welcoming. We especially love the pub and the smokehouse!


Taney Suite

4.8 on November 22, 2009

The nicest Bed and Breakfast we have stayed in. Our every need was met and staff went out of their way to anticipate that need. The afternoon tea, appetizers, wine, choc covered strawberries, breakfast, and the outstanding dinner was unbelievable. The room was conducive to a romantic getaway. Highly recommend.


What an awesome place!!

4.6 on November 05, 2009

Some of my (and my wife's) best memories have occurred at Antrim- I have even referred numerous friends and relatives here (something I normally don't do)- a truly wonderful place to stay- we have been coming here for years.....


A wonderful experience

5 on October 06, 2009

We spent our 37th wedding anniversary at the Antrim 1844. The suite was magnificent, and the atmosphere superb. Our 6 course dinner, which followed the afternoon tea, was elegantly served and simply delicious. We truly enjoyed the company of the other guests. We thank our son and daughter-in-law for the gift. It was truly a remarkable and wonderful experience.


Grand and beautiful B&B

5 on August 24, 2009

Absolutely beautiful manor on beautiful grounds. Rose garden and black-bottom pool. Superb gourmet cuisine. Historic and grand. If these are things you are looking at for your B&B stay, look no further. The location is nestled in a very quiet town. You won't find much to do nearby other than golf and Gettysburg, but if a romantic getaway with your partner is what you are looking for, this is perfect. I highly recommend having dinner at Antrim 1844 as well. It is worth every penny! Plus, there aren't very many other upscale food options around.


Weekend to Remember

4.8 on August 18, 2009

This was our third stay at Antrim 1844. It keeps getting better and better. I can't imagine a better place to "get away" with the woman I love. The mansion is beautiful and the food is fantastic.


Antrim 1844

4.6 on August 04, 2009

The atmosphere, both inside and out, was fabulous. Nestled away in the little town of Taneytown, Antrim 1844 was just what we needed to forsake the city life for a couple of days and become anonymous.


a step back in time

5 on June 05, 2009

The comfortable elegance envelopes you right from the start. The food and service is unsurpassed, a true dinine experience. We've taken several couples and everyone has fallen in love with the Antrim 1844.


Fabulously Romantic!

4.2 on May 06, 2009

The atmosphere was so pleasant and romantic. The staff was exceptional with all the little details and everyone was very responsive and genuinely concerned for our needs. We would stay again in a heart beat. Worth every penny.


anniversary trip

4.8 on April 16, 2009

Amazing visit. we were here seven years ago, but this time we brought our friends!


Outstanding Dining & Lodging

4.4 on April 15, 2009

I may have had the best dinner of my life while staying at the Antrim 1844. A six-course meal with appropriate portions and fabulous presentation. I had no idea that Rockfish Filets and how the oysters were prepared could taste so magnificent. My wife's birthday present will keep me in good graces for at least another year. To top it all off, the price for our stay in the Loft and fine dining was half of what I expected.


The Perfect Place to celebrate a 60th birthday Party with the Girls.

4.0 on February 24, 2009

Our 60th Birthday Party celebration at THe Antrim 1844 Inn was just perfect! Everything exceeded our expectations. The staff, rooms, dining, service, was just great. Thank you very much.


Antrim 1844

4.8 on February 23, 2009

Most beautiful room I have ever stayed in. The 6 course dinner was outstanding plus a great value this time of year (Feb.). Well worth the trip.


One of a kind experience

4.6 on February 12, 2009

What an amazing weekend. Wonderful food, lovely room and amazing attention to detail. We can't wait to go to the Antrim again.


peacefull

4.8 on February 12, 2009

A great Inn to relax and unwind. The food is outstanding and the service will not be forgotten.


Our stay at Antrim

5 on February 10, 2009

Each year we plan a trip to Antrim around Valentines Day and we have never been disappointed with their service, hospitality and food.


Lovely B&B with adjoining restaurant

4.6 on January 26, 2009

Check the web page to review the rooms prior to booking so you can have some idea of your options when you are booking. The staff will help guide you through the wonderful choices. Don't miss the 6 course dinner offered in the Smokehouse Restaurant nor the fireplace in the Pickwick Pub. The Antrim staff will go out of their way to make your stay an enjoyable one. Don't miss this one!


Exceptional

5 on January 20, 2009

Every stay at Antrim 1844 is exceptional. My husband and I have been 5 times now, and stayed in a different room each time. Each room has its own unique charm, but is equal in its beautiful antique furnishings/decor. The service is always impeccable, and dinner in the Smokehouse restaurant is amazing.


Quick Get Away

3.6 on December 11, 2008

With the holidays fast approaching my husband and I needed a relaxing break. We packed a bag Saturday morning called the Antrim and booked a room for that night which was nice because most places have a two day requirement. We were greeted by a great staff and shown to our room. The fireplace and big tub were just what we needed on a snowy day. We ate the six course dinner which was good but felt the wine was a little pricey. The bed was a little hard and lumpy but slept okay. Breakfast was delicious and we liked the paper and tea delivered to our room. We would recommend this beautiful B & B to everyone. Close to Gettysburg which was a nice stop on the way home.


Wine dinner and overnight stay

4.6 on December 10, 2008

Decorated for Christmas-fabulous! An amazing wine presentation and dinner followed by an overnight stay in a beautiful, well-appointed suite. Breakfast in the Smokehouse was delicious!


Tom & Nikki

5 on November 12, 2008

We had our wedding and reception at Antrim 1844 in May 2008. Every person that we came in contact with was impressive. The planner, Keith, exceeded our expectations from the first day we toured Antrim through the day after our wedding. The chef, Michael Gettier, is a true artist and master of his craft. The best description of Antrim 1844 is flawless.


Antrim 1844 Excellence

5 on November 10, 2008

We went to a wedding and stayed here. Everything from service, room, food, event was outstanding. highly recommend


Fall Getaway

4.8 on November 05, 2008

Elegant suite in the mansion with all the comforts of home plus more. Wine, cheese, and fruit in the room for our arrival. Wonderful culinary creations matched with a wine pairing made our dining experience superb. Nice touches with a long stem rose at our doorway when we returned from dinner. A PLUS in our book.


Just what we were looking for!

4.6 on September 23, 2008

This Country House's atmosphere was luxurious without being ostentatious. The staff was always ready to fill any needs, with every one being anticipated before hand. I was particularly surprised by the tray of fruit, pastries, coffe, and tea that was left outside the room in the moring in addition to the formal breakfast served in the dining room. It allowed us to take our time and indulge ourselves in the moring without which we would have had to get up and dressed and to the dining room to avoid hunger and coffee withdrawl! (Where's the relaxation in any of that?) I think it was a TERRIFIC experience for the price as we have stayed in comparably priced b&b's before without such pampering. We plan on going back again and again!


An Outstanding Experience

4.4 on August 27, 2008

The words awesome, superlative, excellent and outstanding describe our dining and room at the Antrim 1844. Great care was taken by staff from afternoon tea, to hors d'oeuves dinner to make this a memorable anniversary.


Antrim 1844 - Review

4.8 on August 27, 2008

Antrim envelopes you in luxury from the moment you arrive. The property is beautiful -- both inside and out. Beautifully decorated rooms and out buildings and lovely gardens abound, reflecting a more gentile place in time. A special treat is the very "comfy" beds, and some accommodations even provide jetted tubs for two. The small, intimate, outdoor pool is small and relaxing. It's black bottom makes you feel like you're swimming in a tiny lake. The staff is thoughtful and accommodating. They go out of their way to do the extras that make for a pleasant stay. On on visit, they brought us Champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries to the pool. Antrim's chef, Michael Gettier, prepares an outstanding six-course meal every evening; and the continental and formal sit-down breakfasts (yes, you get both each morning) couldn't be better. Antrim's outstanding wine selection is award winning. All four seasons are worth a visit. The holidays are an especially beautiful time. I can't think of anything I don't like about Antrim. This is why we are return guests, time and time again.


Wonderful Anniversary

4.4 on August 25, 2008

We celebrated our 34th anniversary at Antrim 1844. We had a beautiful room and delicious 6 course dinner. We found the staff very friendly, and gracious. Their manners were flawless. The grounds were very well kwpt and we felt "special".


Antrim 1844

5 on August 20, 2008

The attention to detail in everyway was exceptional! Dinner and breakfast outstanding!


Great getaway

5 on August 18, 2008

I was married here three years ago and my husband and I make the trip back yearly for the overnight stay and a few times during the year just for dinner. The food is amazing along with the service. I recommend this place to friends and family all the time for a twist on a romantic dinner.


Smell ruined our experience

2.8 on August 12, 2008

An overwhelming odor of what smelled like cat urine i he entrance to our room permeated the entire dwelling on the warm August day we stayed at Antrim. Informed front desk but no solution. Mentioned again upon check-out, but received a somewhat chilly reply. Too bad, as everything else was lovely.


Antrim 1844

4.8 on August 12, 2008

We felt so relaxed and welcome. The staff is tremendous and treated us like rolalty but very down to earth. The rooms were great and the grounds spectacular and beautiful!


WOW!

4.4 on August 08, 2008

The service was the best I've ever had... from the suited door openers to friendly wait staff. The grounds were spectacular. The pool amenities included cold bottled water and cozy beach towels


Service Extraordinary

4.6 on July 25, 2008

The service was unbelievable!! It was too good to be true!


A Taste of Original Grandeur

4.4 on July 24, 2008

We were delighted to have the opportunity to stay at a former plantation so elegantly restored and to get a feel for a lifestyle long gone.


Beautiful Inn in Maryland

4.2 on July 17, 2008

The inn is beautifully decorated - the are is phenomenal. The dining room is great, but service at breakfast was slow. Be sure to check out the Pub!


The Best Place to Stay!

5 on July 08, 2008

Antrim 1844 is a charming escape not far from the hectic Baltimore city. My husband and I were married there, and have returned for anniversaries. The staff is always outstanding, leaving you feel pampered and important. The rooms are incredibly luxurious while still being warm and welcoming. And the meals are to die for! It is so completely relaxing and wonderful to be there, the local attractions never seem worth leaving for!


Anniversary Dinner

4.8 on June 23, 2008

This place is gorgeous. We came for dinner with our friends and found ourselves in a different world from the minute we stepped in the beautiful gardens. Reception rooms are decorated with great taste and the service is outstanding. I haven't seen such a great service before. Dinner was perfect and crowned the most memorable evening. We will be back there soon.


Mother's Day

3.4 on May 12, 2008

The ambiance and service were excellent! The food was fair. Appetizers in living room area were yummy! When we got to our table the food was unsatisfactory. Appetizers plain and the salad "Mrs. Reed" salad was awful and had no flavor. The entrees, ok. The lobster entree had the same salmon mousse as the appitizer around it. All in all, we enjoyed the country road drive here, the B&B is gorgeous, service was great, wine fantastic but the food was poor.


Great Bed, Fantastic Dinner, Awful Breakfast

3.6 on April 13, 2008

The dinner was fantastic...lots of food, tasted great, wonderful presentation. Host very knowledgeable about wine. You wait in main room for appetizers at 7 PM. Then, you are seated for dinner. Service was professional and timely. They have 2 breakfasts. The first is continental (coffee, fruit, muffin) brought to your room. That was great! The second breakfast is served later in the main house. I was disappointed and did not have the hot breakfast on the 2nd morning. The food tasted pre-prepared (scrambled eggs, bacon, and potatoes) as though it came from a steam/buffet table. It was cold. I expected a better breakfast considering the price to stay here...on the expensive side. Afterall, it's a B&B, not a B&D (dinner). Our bathroom looked clean, but failed the smell test. Housecleaning was quick to clean it again. I wish they would put as much effort into the breakfast as the dinner.


More Than Fabulous

5 on March 31, 2008

We took advantage of a winter special rate and went in not really knowing what to expect. It was sensational. The rooms were large and comfortable. The food was amazing and it was a really outstanding value. I really have no complaints whatsoever. Great place.


Perfect Wedding Memories!

5 on February 04, 2008

My husband and I were married in December and celebrated our reception at Antrim 1844. Our menu was superb and our guests were entirely impressed! Chef Gettier had many wonderful ideas and personally helped us select the courses. The servers did a fabulous job setting up the ballroom, and I was very thankful for their kind and patient assistance with my elderly grandparents during the event too. Service was impeccable. Keith, our coordinator, was top-notch from the first day we met with him through the end of the reception. The vendors Keith recommended to us were fabulous and well worth every penny spent. The complimentary bridal suite, complete with champagne and roses, was the perfect way to end our perfect day.


The perfect evening

5 on December 03, 2007

My husband and I had the pleasure of hosting our wedding at Antrim 1844. However, prior to the big day we booked an evening in the Inn to actually enjoy the property with out 100 of our friends and relatives. The grounds will not disappoint and the staff was very friendly and helpful. You will not need to leave the Inn to have a perfect escape!


Great anniversary

4.6 on June 22, 2007

My husband and I stayed in the Ice House to celebrate our anniversary. The grounds at the Antrim are gorgeous and the black bottom pool is fantastic. We missed the hors d'oeuvre reception in favor of the swim but truly enjoyed the fabulous dinner and breakfast the next morning. The Antrim is a wonderful spot to rejevenate--just far enough away to feel relaxed and away from it all, but not too far a drive for one night. We'll be back!


A delightful, romantic get away

5 on April 18, 2007

We stayed a a large suite with a private porch and huge jaquissi tub. It was a truly delightful weekend. A feeling of privacy, but the staff is always available to assist. The breakfasts were excellent and the on site restaurant was beautiful! Plan a stay - you won't regret it!


Antrim 1844 Country House Hotel

Details

  • Nightly Rate $165 - $400
  • Reviews (56) 4.6
  • Rooms 40
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4107561028
  • Phone 1-4107566812
  • Fax 1-4107562744
  • Toll free 1-8008581844

Visit Website »

View details

Top