The Inn at Herrington Harbour Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.4
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.1

Score Breakdown based on
31 Reviews

Write A Review

...reminds me of Cuba in the 1940's

4.4 on August 27, 2013

I stumbled upon this place by mistake. My neighbor stayed here because she was stranded. When she came home, she told me how wonderful it was and how it felt like Cuba in the '40's. I came for a stay and have been totally enamored ever since. The staff is tremendously gracious and they make you feel good. I love Herrington Harbor!!


Gorgeous and Secluded Family Vacation, August 2012

4.6 on June 23, 2013

We scheduled a last-minute, 4-day stay at Herrington Harbour, with our 3 kids. We had a hot-tub room, which we all loved The beach and included activities were just amazing! We had coffee on the beach every morning, joined by a huge number of extremely friendly ducks and geese. It was just charming! We felt like we were at a tropical resort, nowhere near Maryland. We're returning this August, staying in the Bay Breeze suite. We can't wait!


stayed for a wedding

4.0 on November 01, 2011

my husband and i stayed for a wedding. due to the high cost of the inn, i was surprised at the lack of quality. because of the rain, we had a huge puddle by the front door. the bed was less than adequate. however, the view was nice (the next day when it stopped raining).


Extremely Pleased

4.4 on October 18, 2011

I was extremely pleased as well as very impressed with my stay at Herrington Harbour Inn. The facility was very nice and clean and has a beautiful setting. I had no idea that there was a private beach this close to DC and Maryland. I will definitely recommend it for a nice getaway or for a family stay. I plan to visit this Inn more often. Thanks Again!


Great place to get married!!!

4.2 on October 05, 2011

I had 90% my wedding party stay at the Inn and everything went perfect! From the initial room reservations about 12 months prior to the wedding to changing rooms at the last minute, the Inn and all other properties were accomodating to no end! The scenery is absolutely stunning- quiet, romantic, dreamy! The entire staff was helpful and very accomodating and made everything an overall perfect experience. I can only recommend it!


great time

4.4 on August 31, 2011

My husband and I went to the Inn as guess at a wedding and we could not have been more impressed by these great accommodations. It was clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. we had a junior suit and the hot tube was such a special treat. It was walled in for complete privacy and the wall had a beautiful mural drawn on it. Every day the staff checked the chemicals in the pool. the beaches in the area were fun as was the cute little town. We could not have had a better time.


Love This Area

3.8 on August 29, 2011

If you're looking for a cheap place to stay, this isn't it. We attended a wedding at the harbour and wanted to stay at the Inn rather than go to a nearby hotel. We got a standard room that had 2 double beds. Though small, the room was cozy and had everything you needed. The landscaping and surrounding area were very nice. The continental breakfast was quick and easy and we loved that we could use the kayaks as well. I would stay here again if I'm out at the harbour.


Gorgeous views; good value

3.6 on August 22, 2011

An hour or less from Washington DC suburbs, a quiet getaway with beautiful views and grounds. Small but pleasant beach and Olympic sized pool adjacent to bar/restaurant. A good value.


Amazing place to stay!

4.6 on August 20, 2011

My girlfriend and I decided we needed a mini vacation to get away from everything. So while traveling for would I found The inn at Herrington Harbour. We arrived at check-in a little early and our room was ready. The front desk staff greeted with a warm smile. The room and location was a lot like being on a tropical island. Tooms were clean, well stocked with linens, and had a great atmosphere to it. We would recommend to anyone looking for a great place to stay.... This is it. Thanks to everyone there who made our trip the best one yet.


A great escape by the bay!

4.2 on August 18, 2011

I wrote an more detailed post on my personal blog: http://www.mommy2k.com/2011/08/destination-local-inn-at-herrington.html Overall, our family's stay was great. The area is calm, quiet, and inviting. There really is no reason to leave the property. All the amenities you need are right there. We love Mango's! The food is delicious. The staff was super friendly and constantly made sure we were taken care of. Everyone was like family. Conversation was casual and fun. Even when we checked out the next day, the housekeeper spoke to us in a cheery voice. That doesn't happen often. Ann, the innkeeper, was so generous. She answered all my questions. She even suggested we get a view of the beautiful sunset. If I had one suggestion, it would be to upgrade the rooms a bit. For the most part they were fine, just some of the furniture seemed a bit outdated. The bathrooms were clean. The hot tub was a great addition. The landscaping and scenery were beautiful. The pool atmosphere was great, being that it was right next to the inn's on-site restaurant, Mango's. Great music, tasty food and specialty drinks made it that much more fun. I liked that the check-in time was 2 pm. Some places are as late as 4 pm. The front desk staff was nice as well. Smiling faces always greeted us at the inn. If you're looking for a place to visit that feels like home and is inviting, The Inn at Herrington Harbour is a great choice. Don't forget to consider this location for your wedding, party, or corporate events.


Little slice of Paradise...

4.6 on August 17, 2011

We stayed here for only 3 days, but I wish it was longer. This place is so clean and well maintained, I thought I was staying at some expensive resort in the Bahamas. The nice private beach, beautiful pool, nice gardens, - for the price, the Herrington can't be beat. We ate at the resturant Mango's once, and the food was excellent. We weren't able to book our entire trip at Herrington, so we also stayed at the 'Other' marina resort in town for 3 days, and I have to say Herrington has them beat hands down.


Great Place and time

4.0 on August 17, 2011

I recently spent a weekend at the Inn with another family. The new Chesapeake Suite is amazing. The entire staff at the inn was very helpful, friendly and completely made our family feel at home. The pool and beech allowed the kids to have fun in an safe area and allowed the adults to relax and enjoy. We look forward to going back next year


A very pleasant stay...

4.0 on August 10, 2011

My husband and I were attending a wedding being held here and debated about staying overnight, and finally our desire NOT to make the long drive back to NY at night won over. And I'm so glad it did! We checked in on the day of the wedding which allowed us to get ready in the room beforehand. My hard to please in-laws also came to the room to dress as well and really liked it. The room was bright, clean and well appointed. We did not get to use the pool, because time did not allow it. However, the grounds were very well kept, quiet and peaceful. This New Yorker totally could've used some more time gazing out on the bay and enjoying the peacefulness. We wish we could have stayed longer than one night, and we will be back for a longer stay. Thanks so much!


The Great Herrington Inn

4.2 on August 02, 2011

Always the "true jewel" on the Chesapeake! Thank You Stewart for everything you do! From the Desk Staff to Housekeeping, everything is as it should be! With 25 years watching this "true jewel" evolve into what it is today, always putting guests first! The great addition of Anna's Honey's Harvest Deli/Market is wonderful!! Thank You All, Ron and Sue Morrison of West Virginia.


Love Herrington Harbour!

4.4 on August 01, 2011

Had a great stay-cation at HH and wanted to go back the next week but duty called. I had a great time and cannot wait to go back! I want to tell my friends about it, but I don't want to share the secret. :). The only thing I didn't like was Mango's, the closest restaurant. It's basically the only option and the two staff members encountered seemed more interested in convincing me that I should leave than stay and have a bite. Won't be going there again, although the other patrons seemed to be having a great time.


Fantastic Stay!

4.6 on August 01, 2011

We stayed in the Shoreline Suite for a wedding at Herrington Harbour and it was fantastic! It was beautiful with a view of the bay and everything was up to date and brand new! We didn't want to leave!


Wonderful place, highly recommended!

4.4 on July 26, 2011

We stayed here for a week with our little baby daughter during a heat wave (over 100F). We flew over from Germany for a wedding, and staying here was truly the best choice! I fully agree with all the other reviews, the staff at reception and the cleaning staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The rooms are great (we stayed in the Horizon suite) and clean. The whole harbour is beautiful, we enjoyed both the beach and the swimming pool (including a kids pool). I highly recommend this place for anyone with small children. If we ever return to the DC area, we will surely come back to Herrington Harbour!


We love this place!

4.8 on July 18, 2011

The staff and amenities for Herrington Harbour are exceptional. We have stayed here 4 times in the past 3 years and cannot wait to go back! Beautiful views, plenty of low keyed activities- truly a hidden treasure!


Bay Breeze Stay July 2011

5 on July 15, 2011

My family and I stayed for a few days in the Bay Breeze which is the 2 bedroom with kitchen and patio/hot tub. It was 3 adults and a 13 year old. The room was great, a tv in every room, nicely decorated and clean with plenty of room. There was kayaking, paddleboats, the pool and just laying on the beach which kept all of us entertained. Everyone was so friendly and helpful there and the landscaping was absolutely beautiful, peaceful and couldn't have been more relaxing. The restaraunt had great food. We'll definitely return soon.


Lots to do do at Herrington

4.0 on July 14, 2011

The rooms were nice, nothing special. We did enjoy the private hot tub and outdoor seating - the mural was kitschy. We didn't hear any of our neighbors when we were in the room. Breakfast was nothing to write about, but the view inside and out was beautiful. Everyone was very nice. We enjoyed the pool and were pleasantly surprised by the offerings of the adjoining restaurant. The grounds were gorgeous and the beach was very nice. We especially enjoyed the free use of the kayaks. Nice get away.


review

3.8 on July 11, 2011

All the staff is wonderful & so friendly, especially housekeeping staff! After going there for 25 years, it is like our second home!


I love this place!

4.0 on May 31, 2011

I have stayed here for years now. It is my family's favorite getaway. My grand daughter loves it so much that she wants to be married here. I will guarantee she will. Michelle and Nancy are just great and so is t he head of the cleaning staff. Again, I will always come back here.


lovely stay

3.6 on May 10, 2011

We stayed here for a wedding and it was just beautiful. The room was wonderful and the cleaning staff was very accommodating to us having a baby in the room. I would recommend this Inn to anyone staying in the area.


Great Stay

4.0 on May 03, 2011

Room was great very comfortable and had all the amenities one would need in the kitchen. office staff was great, very friendly made you feel right at home. I have stayed here before, a few years ago and the upgrades that have been made are beautiful.


BigWater Adventures TV

5 on May 02, 2011

BigWater Adventures travels all over the world and we see all kinds of lodging. I can tell you the Inn at Herrington Harbour is a beautiful, well landscaped property with a spectacular view. The rooms are clean and spacious, the beds are comfortable, close parking, great hot showers, and the TV's are BIG (I'm a TV in evening guy)!! Whether you're vacationing in Chesapeake Beach or fishing in Chesapeake Bay, The Inn at Herrington Harbour is the place to stay!! Mark Davis / BigWater Adventures TV


great hospitality

4.0 on April 29, 2011

great stay, probably the friendliest staff I've encountered anywhere during my world travels

Innkeeper Response
The staff was overjoyed with your comment! Thank You


Service is exceptional

4.6 on April 12, 2011

I have stayed at the Inn often over the last 5 years. It is transforming from a 1960s style motor inn to a small gem of an Inn with an upgrade in decor and landscaping. I always enjoy eating breakfast with the freshly baked goodies while I watch the birds and the Bay. I can't say enough about the service. When my husband needed a hoyer lift to get in and out of bed, the staff changed the foundation of the bed to accommodate the legs of the hoyer. It made our stay easier and more pleasant. I have also stayed in the Heron Suite. It is very private with wonderful views of the docks and boats and with a tree shaded yard. It's like having your own vacation place.

Innkeeper Response
We are glad you enjoy our "Secret by the Bay". It is a special place and with all of our new changes it has become even more unique. Glad you have enjoyed our Blue Heron Suite overlooking the Marina. Our goal is to offer you the best service available. Thank you for being a returning guest.


Always a wonderful time at the Inn

4.4 on March 29, 2011

We are frequent visitors at the Inn and each time the staff meets or exceeds their own high standards. We've stayed during snow storms, extreme heat, rain and anything Mother Nature hands out but weather has never been an excuse for the staff to decrease their level of service. The standard rooms are comfortable and clean and are constantly being improved. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. We'll be back again soon!

Innkeeper Response
Our staff really appreciated your kind words. We strive to offer our guests an enjoyale experience. Since you are returning guests, we feel we have succeeded! Looking forward to your next visit.


Dinner and Overnight Stay at the Inn

4.0 on February 01, 2011

Dining experience was better than expected and very well organized and catered. Dining service and attention to customer needs was well done and efficient, even though dinner was buffet style. Food preparation was excellent and not over cooked. Rooms were immaculate and clean. All utilities operated as expected.

Innkeeper Response
I am glad your stay was enjoyable - it sounds like you were at a catered event. We hope that your next visit will be even better!


GREAT GETAWAY

4.0 on January 24, 2011

Loved it. Stayed in one of the private hot tub rooms and had everything we needed without being too fancy. The beach was beautiful, the hot tub was warm (I stayed in January), and the breakfast was nice. It felt very private and relaxing. Definitely convenient to the city but far enough away to let go. Will definitely be staying again (when it's warmer!).

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for writing such a nice review for The Inn at Herrington Harbour. We are so glad that you enjoyed yourself, especially in January. I hope that your next visit will be when it's a little warmer and all of our landscaping is alive. I was wondering what we could have done to have offered you better service and also what we could do to make your visit with us even better. If possible, I would really appreciate your comments. Thanks, again


Great Place

4.2 on January 04, 2011

I stayed at Herrington Harbor on New Year's Eve and it was spectacular. The rooms are very clean. We had a hot tub room which was great. I accidently left my brand new pendant in the room. The office called to let me know it was turned in by housekeeping so I could pick it up. I will definitely return here in the future. They are honest people which is so hard to find these days.


The Inn at Herrington Harbour

Details

  • Nightly Rate $100 - $460
  • Reviews (31) 4.3
  • Rooms 30

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4107415100x100
  • Phone 1-8002139438x100
Top