Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
27 Reviews

Write A Review

Great experience!

5 on June 09, 2013

An absolutely lovely time and two amazing hosts.


Worth checking out

3.8 on May 24, 2013

Hosts were nice and welcoming, a fun couple to talk to. Breakfast was really good... fresh cut fruits, waffles, blueberry preserves... yum. Room was nice... we upgraded to the African room which had it's own ensuite bathroom. The Asian room had a less private bathroom. The B&B is on a really nice stretch of road that overlooks the river. We spent a wonderful hour walking down the stretch, connecting, and checking out the houses. The place itself is also nice and picturesque. There's not much in terms of dinner options around the area (if you're staying there the evening, and planning to eat out, and not wanting chain restaurants aka fast food). The one place in Selkirk that we went to - Barney Gargles - was pretty good. Selkirk Park offers a nice option for a day outing.


Supberb B&B

4.4 on May 23, 2013

Stayed a few nights in October 2012 before travelling to Churchill to see Polar Bears. We were made very welcome and had a beautiful room. Breakfast was freshly cooked every morning and was delicious.Would certainly stay again if we were in this area. Laurel &Rob are very knowledgable about the area and are always available for a chat.


Great place to stay.great people

4.6 on February 25, 2013

Stayed here many times.


Serene and Special

5 on October 25, 2012

We stayed with Laurel and Rob while attending a wedding in St. Andrews, about 10 km from Evergreen Gate. The accommodations and grounds allow you to relax and enjoy every moment of your stay. Breakfast was delicious and healthy with lots of choices. We would not hesitate to recommend this B & B to anyone with expectations of a first class lodging experience.


High school reunion

4.0 on July 26, 2012

We enjoyed staying at the Evergreen B&B which we shared with friends. Laurel and Rob are warm and welcoming hosts and their breakfasts were fabulous. Thanks for a great experience. Bill and Linda


Been here twice and will be back :)

4.6 on June 10, 2012

Beautiful place to stay that is close to Lockport and Birds Hill Park where we like to bike. The hosts are warm and welcoming and we always have interesting conversations. Nice to have some common areas (on the main floor and downstairs ) to relax and the lovely rooms with comfortable beds. Been here before and are sure we will be back.


valentine's get-away!

5 on April 03, 2012

i took my husband on a surprise valentine's get-away to evergreen b&b. it was perfect! they even booked our 5-star dinner at the maple tree restaurant so i didn't have to do that! the hot tub outside under the stars in the shadows of the pines was magical!! definitely a MUST for anyone!


Trip to Selkirk Manitoba, August 2011

4.6 on October 31, 2011

My husband and I and daughter stayed at the Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast on a trip out to Selkirk Manitoba, August 2011. The purpose of the trip was to bury my Dad's ashes with my Mother at the St. Clements Cemetery in Selkirk. Laurel and Rob made our stay so enjoyable. It had been 23 years since we had been to Selkirk. The bed and breakfast is located a short distance to my old home on River Road. The breakfasts were so delicious and presented so well. Our daughter, being a teacher had alot to talk about with former teacher Rob. Laurel recommended Papa Carlo Pizzeria in Lockport, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Thanks so much Laurel and Rob! Pat, Rod and Kerry


Classy + Relaxing + High Quality

4.4 on October 27, 2011

Although I've been there before, I'm still amazed with the attention to details. It is a B & B that offers everything from ample parking at your arrival. A continuous comfort with spacious grounds, relaxing hot tub, an incredibly inviting back yard, lots of areas to work, play, visit or relax, homey and elegant rooms. Rob and Laurel are dedicated to accommodating their quests. Their hospitality is above expectations.


There for a family function

5 on September 10, 2011

We filled Evergreen gate while there for a family function. It was very enjoyable and Laurel & Rob's only concerns were the quality of our stay. The home afforded us space to get together and strategize until the wee hours without disturbing our sleepier family members and a soak in the hot tub before bed was just heaven. It was also nice to wake up to the smells of Belgian Waffles & fruit for breakfast and the soundds of Rob singing in the kitchen. All in all, a wonderful visit. Thanks, Laurel & Rob.


Our second stay and we will be back

4.8 on August 21, 2011

Sumptuous accommodation and a beautiful setting! You are such gracious hosts -- intellectually stimulating, knowledgeable about the Selkirk area and its history, and willing to accommodate special requests. We loved exploring the yard, the hot tub and the high tech swing. Next time I will curl up with a favourite book and a glass of refreshment and stay put longer. What a wonderful way to de-stress! Thank you, Laurel and Rob, for a wonderful stay!


Wonderful intimate Wedding

4.6 on March 22, 2011

When my now Husband and I were looking for a place in Manitoba to have a small Wedding. I searched online and found Evergreen Gate B&B. We contacted the owners and made an appointment to see the venue. As we found it a beautiful setting for an outdoor Wedding and reception we booked the entire B&B for the weekend event. The Sarginson's are wonderful hosts , Laurel help with catering suggestions and helped make our day truly special. Our family and friends are still taking about the weekend in August we spent at Evergreen gate. If you want to feel at home in a well cared for home and beautiful gardens this is the place to come. Bev Haystead Ginter


A B&B Gem

5 on March 17, 2011

A one night stay at the Evergreen Gate was my gift to my mother for her 82nd birthday. "The best birthday present I have ever had" was what she wrote in their B&B journal. The fireplaces in the bedroom and ensuite warmed us immediately on that cold February night as did the whirlpool tub. We appreciated the rec room facilities for our late night snack and the multiple choices of movies, books and games. The bed was awesome and the home was very quiet so we had a great sleep. The blueberry french toast was delicious and conversation with Laurel and Rob and the other guests made the over two hour breakfast a most enjoyable end to a most enjoyable experience. Thanks again for sharing your beautiful home.


Home away from home

3.8 on November 02, 2010

We have stayed at the Evergreen Gate B&B several time while visiting family in Selkirk. Laurel and Rob make the stay enjoyable. They are very flexible on meeting any special requests. This B&B offers the best valued accommmodations in the area. I recommend Evergreen Gate to anyone looking for comfortable accommodations with the feel of home.


You guys were GREAT

5 on October 27, 2010

We wanted to try something new so tried a b&b and it was a way nicer experience than a hotel. More personal and meal in the morning was amazing. The property was beautiful our hosts were great 2 thumbs up!!


Fantastic breakfasts and conversations

4.8 on October 26, 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed my 3 nights at Evergreen Gate. The breakfasts were excellent and my stay was enhanced will informative and lively conversation. I would like to return to Selkirk, not only to visit family which was the purpose of my stay, but to visit Rob and Laurel. They were absolutely marvellous hosts and wonderful people. Anne Campbell, Paradise, NS


Evergreen Gate was a Highlight during our time in Winnipeg!

5 on August 15, 2010

Staying at Evergreen Gate was one of the highlights of our recent trip to Winnipeg. Upon driving up to the house we were greeted by a tranquil setting-bright flowerbeds set amidst a lush green lawn. Our bedroom was very comfortable and well appointed. Rob and Laurel were gracious and knowledgeable hosts giving us a background on Winnipeg as well as ideas of what to see and do in the area. (Be sure and ask them about the Maple Tree Restaurant.) Sitting at the breakfast table each morning was a delight-the food was delicious and the company of Rob, Laurel and other guests made for an enjoyable and informative start to the day. We highly recommend this B&B and hope to get up to Winnipeg for a return visit!!


Great Job!

5 on July 14, 2010

I've been to this bed and breakfast twice now and I can honestly say that it one of the best in MB. The rooms are wonderful, very comfortable beds, and interesting themes as well. The breakfasts are fantastic as well, the blue berry french toast is to die for. But one of the things that really sets this place apart is the beautiful grounds. You have to go and see it!


Evergreen Gate will surely please the most discriminating traveller.

5 on June 28, 2010

I have had the pleasure of staying at Evergreen Gate B & B on at least a fourth time on my annual visit with family in Selkirk, the latest being June of this year. The accommodations are fantastic, the hospitality warm and friendly and the breakfasts are superb. Evergreen Gate is nestled in a wooded estate like surrounding with total privacy, peace and serenity. I don't think it gets any better and I have no hesitation recommending these accommodations.


Unexpected pleasure

4.6 on March 26, 2010

I stayed at Evergreen Gate for two weeks, and was very pleasantly surprised to find such a delightful B&B in the area. Hosts Rob and Laurel went out of their way to make me feel at home, and succeeded. I was made to feel like one of the family, and amazing value. I would highly reccommend Evergreen Gate to anybody staying in the Selkirk area. Bob Ward, Newport, Oregon, US


Attention all scrapbookers!

4.8 on February 24, 2010

I highly recomment Evergreengates to all scrapbookers who want a get-away to scrapbook and be totally spoilt while doing it. My girlfriends and I spent a weekend scrapbooking and were treated with fantastic hospitality. The food was amazing, the outdoor hottub a treat and lots of space to work on projects. The weekend exceeded my expectations and look forward to another weekend there.


Fabulous get a way

4.8 on February 24, 2010

4 of us girls booked into the Scrapbooking package and received far more than we had even hoped for. The space and lighting were very adequate. The food was absolutely delicious. Laurel and Rob were so thoughtful, even bringing us a drink when we ventured out to the hot tub. We loved it and are looking forward to going back.


Wonderful

4.8 on February 23, 2010

I have never stayed in a B&B before and I was not sure what to expect. My friends and I stayed for 2 nights with the scrapbook package and we had a fabulous time. The rooms were great, a very comfortable bed and we had 2 bathrooms to share between the 4 of us. We loved the hot tub! We enjoyed the food, the famous blueberry french toast for one breakfast and waffles and blueberries for the second. Laurel brought our lunch and supper down for us on Saturday as we were so engrossed in our projects. Our hosts were friendly and we had some great conversations over breakfast. I would definitely recommend the Evergreen Gate B&B.


Superb

5 on November 16, 2009

This B&B gets top marks in all areas. Our room was the perfect juxtaposition of spa amenities (hot tub) delivered within a home-like atmosphere. I was pleased and surprised to see that Evergreen Gate uses the same brand of organic shampoo that I have at home. Excellent provision of high quality toiletries-everything that you might need was provided. We arrived late (very late) in order to attend a local wedding the following morning. Despite our late arrival, Laurel waited up for us and greeted us with a friendly smile. The food was beyond amazing-to my disbelief, they were able to accommodate my special dietary needs safely and with a smile! As I have Celiac Disease and require a gluten free diet, as well as anaphylaxis to milk protein (casein, whey), it is next to impossible to eat outside my home. Rob and Laurel made me one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. Amazing. If you have Celiac and/or food allergies, this is your B&B. Thank you for the wonderful experience and wonderful food. Very interesting people, warm hospitality, and beautiful home. So glad we did not stay at a hotel! Check it out for yourself.


Home away from home

4.4 on October 09, 2009

As a business traveller, it's good to have a quiet, comfortable place to stay at the end of the day, a place that feels like home. That's what I found at Evergreen Gate, and I stay there whenever I am in the area. The rooms are superb, and the house and surrounding grounds are marvellous. Great location by the river, with easy access to Winnipeg.


Evergreen Bed and Breakfast

4.4 on October 08, 2009

This is an outstanding B&B, both visually and in terms of the amenities offered. The house has huge windows on every side, overlooking trees, gardens, decks and hot tub. The rooms are tastefully decorated, with many extras provided. The meals are attractive and tasteful, and Laurel and Rob are great hosts, and interesting to talk to.


Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $CAD 115 - $CAD 129
  • Reviews (27) 4.7
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2044826248

Visit Website »

View details

Top