The Colonial House Inn Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room3.8
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness3.9
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
15 Reviews

Write A Review

Love this inn!

5 on December 08, 2013

This was our second time staying with "Mac" and we LOVED it both times. The staff makes you feel like family! Sonny, our waiter, was fabulous, and the food is wonderful (We recommend the London broil), You are treated so happily to any request by anyone. Only negative we didn't have more time for a longer stay. Thank You for great memories, hope to be back soon. Tim & Alice


Canadian Visit

4.8 on August 21, 2013

We stayed in this delightful inn for three midweek nights. Our room with a queen bed was cozy,clean and reminded us of ''grandma's place''. We enjoyed the meals and the wine was not overpriced as can happen. Mac and company were very polite, interesting to talk with and informative regarding sights in Cape Cod. Some people may not appreciate the homelike environment- they should stay at a Best Western...


Every time I'm in New England, I visit this place!

5 on April 09, 2013

Every time I visit New England, I find tme to spend a few days at the Colonial House Inn. It's like staying in your Grandmother's or Great Aunt's home, not new and modern, but homey, clean and decorated lovingly; and the staff makes you feel like family. The rooms are "elegantly old-fashioned" and the meals are out of this world. Mac Perna, the innkeeper was a History major in college, and really makes the local and family history part of the ambiance. I get my fill of my favorite New England foods while I'm there like Indian Pudding and fresh fish. Evenings in the "Pub room" is fun, a favorite libation and meeting other guests. Mac has an encyclopedic knowledge of local history, and can help his guests find places all over Cape Cod. Before her final illness and passing, it was one of my mother's favorite places. My late college roommate loved the place, and when she was on dialysis, they accommodated her needs. I have a girlfriend who goes with me now, every time I'm in New England. Some rooms are "pet friendly" with advanced notice. Other rooms are never occupied by pets to accommodate those with allergies. Go mid-week during the season, and four days are like two weeks rest. There are special event weekends for holidays, and other special off-season events like "History Weekends," "Mystery Weekends," and an educational "So You Want to be an Innkeeper Weekends." Also, it's located next to the Edward Gorey House and Museum. (The late Edward Gorey was a frequent diner.) Open to the public for lunch and dinner. Betty Cordoza, Sonora, CA.


Great Deal

3.6 on July 31, 2012

We have been going here for many years now. Colonial House Inn is a great deal, has great food and the staff is very frendly and accommodating.


What Is It You Want?

4.4 on September 01, 2011

Our 3rd floor bedroom had a King bed and a sloping floor! This was a wonderful place to step back in time and imagine what life was like a century ago. The dinner meals were quite delicious. A great location, near to all of Cape Cod's touristy places.


Anniversary Weekend!

4.0 on March 31, 2011

The room was cozy! The dinners and breakfasts were outstanding. Our waitress for both dinners was efficient and friendly.


Such a great place!

5 on July 12, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at this Lovely Inn this past weekend. Rooms were fresh & clean.The grounds were beautiful and very well kept. Staff super. But I can't say enough about Dinner . From the really fresh chilled garden salad (included with the meal) to the decadent Chocolate browning pudding, everything was perfect. My girl had the blackened fresh salmon & I had the steak au poivre. Both were perfect! The waitperson was very attentive but not pushy. We both agreed to put this Inn & restaurant on our must return list!!!


You have to see it to believe it!

1.4 on February 21, 2009

We read all the reviews and thought we did our homework before booking our stay for valentines weekend... Ivan and Greta are excellent people and are doing what they can with limited means. We never met the owner but I don't think he would ever sleep on the 30 year old mattresses!! The room was dirty and smelled moldy.. The canopys for the beds looked as if they have never been washed since the revamp in the 80's. Old blankets that are very worn and the mattresses have many stains and some even have holes in them! The TV and perks they say come with the room are crazy. The TV is maybe a 13" with a vcr and is only capable of getting 13 channels (weather permitting) Don't waste your hard earned money on this place... We talked to many other B&B's that had horror stories of people who walked out of this place and trying to find somewhere else to sleep. The owner must not care about this place... it was probally nice when these pictures were taken but that must have been years ago. It should be condemed by the health dept.


Wonderful Stay

4.0 on June 04, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed this charming inn. The staff were extremely courteous, friendly, and professional. The building and grounds were lovely. The food was quite good. We'd recommend this inn, particularly to friends who travel with pets, and would not hesitate to return to the Colonial House Inn.


Perfect Inn at a perfect price

4.6 on May 18, 2008

My wife and I stayed here 2 nights in May 2008. This place is a gem. An eighteenth century inn, centrally located on Cape Cod, definitely surpassed our expectations in every way. The entire staff were the warmest, most cordial and caring of any B&B we have ever stayed in (and we have stayed in many). The room we stayed in was spacious and quiet. The inn provides a simple continental type breakfast, but also includes dinner entire as part of the advertised room rate. It was a great getaway ... one we plan to repeat many times in the future.


We loved it!

4.6 on May 13, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a couple of nights and we had a blast. The rooms was clean and comfortable. The staff is great and it feels more like a big family then employees. It's like coming home after years of absence. Dinners were wonderful and tasty. Good job Mac! You run a great place.


great gift

4.0 on April 28, 2008

my son gave a a nights stay here as a gift. Very charming inn. The people were very friendly. The food was excellent. Great atmosphere. Beautiful area. Close to everything.


Great time for the whole family

4.6 on February 04, 2008

My family stayed at the Inn July. Out room was bright quite large and had been just redone. We were surprised that for a 200 year old house it was really quite nice. The food was GREAT . The staff was always willing to answer questions and the Innkeeper was very helpful and knew lots of places that we would be interested in seeing. The indoor pool and hot tub were quiet areas where I could unwind from the kids when my husband took them to play miniature golf in Hyannis, which was a few minutes away. All in all we had a wonderful vacation. I am planning to go back this winter without the kids for a three day get-a-way during one of the mystery weekends. a great place to relax.


Fun Mystery Weekend

4.6 on December 29, 2007

In November I gave my Husband a gift certificate to a Mystery Weekend At this Charming Inn on Cape Cod. Although we did receive a Mystery Brochure in advance, neither of us knew exactly what to expect. Well it was excellent. From the time we arrived on Friday through check-out on Sunday, we had a ball. The hors d'ourves at the social Hour on Friday evening(scene 1), Then dinner (great selection) through the dessert Party (scene 2) all were excellent. Saturday evening was a repeat of Friday, with different food selections but just as delicious. We were amazed as the total price for the entire weekend including the room, parties,dinners and mystery fees was only $330.00 for the two of us. We met many other couples who were in our Mystery and had a great weekend. We will definitely do it again next year.


Best Deal on Cape Cod

4.2 on December 21, 2007

My wife and I spent 4 days at this very Centrally located Inn. We were greeted very warmly (and with a quite a lot of humor) and were given a tour of a deceivingly large Inn. (who knew it had a heated indoor pool?). Our room though not large (They have larger ones but not on the 1st floor, which we needed), was nicely done and had all the essentials and more. (even free wireless). Dinners each night, which are included, were some of the best meals we have ever enjoyed. Breakfast, also included, though no eggs, did have a verity of excellent inn made breads, muffins, French toast, and Quiche. The servers both at breakfast and Dinner were excellent. The Innkeeper, Mac, was extremely helpful too all the guests, with great knowledgeable tips on touring the Cape and all it's beautiful natural attractions. The inns central location made his daytrip excursions just enough. It was particularly nice after a day of touring & walking the beaches to know a great meal, with out going out, would end the day. We definitely will be back this Summer.


The Colonial House Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $80 - $160
  • Reviews (15) 4.3
  • Rooms 21
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5083624348
  • Fax 1-5083628034
  • Toll free 1-8009993416

Visit Website »

View details

Top