Emerson Inn By The Sea Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Services4.5
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
51 Reviews

Write A Review

Emerson Inn By The Sea

5 on December 19, 2013

Lovely surrounding. Great staff.


BEST EVER!

5 on December 18, 2013

After being burned at The Bates Hotel, called the Ocean View Inn, we found this little historic gem- Emerson Inn. Beautiful- Historic- CLEAN- Great Food- FREE Bkfst & Great Help! "Simply the best we had stayed at"


New favorite place to stay in Rockport

3.6 on September 18, 2013

This was our first stay at the Emerson Inn and it wont be our last. The seaside setting is magnificant and the old inn takes you back to a bygone era. There is a sense of peace and calm that prevades the entire property inside and out. The amenities throughout make this a place where you can do it all without leaving the property. Was particularily impressed with exceptional cleanlienss of the rooms and inn in general.


So Relaxing!

5 on August 13, 2013

The decor, service, amenities, music, spa tub and overall tone of the Inn relaxes you from the minute you arrive and the ocean views only help!


EXCEPTIONAL

5 on June 17, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Emerson Inn at Rockport, Mass.on June 4th and 5th, 2013 after booking a room for my sister and I, and a room for two of our friends. We could not have been more pleased! The rooms were small, but delightful. And, extremely clean - with plenty of towels. We had a room on the second floor, and our friends were on the first floor, due to physical disabilities. Every member of the staff could not have been more accommodating, in every capacity. We were first greeted by Carol who couldn't have been more pleasant, and welcoming. We were made to feel at home in every circumstance. The Grand Cafe ( which I do not hesitate to give 5 stars) was wonderful! We ate there the first night, and had originally thought we might try some place different on the second night, but it was so delicious and the staff so friendly, we had to go back again on the second night. It did not disappoint. It was absolutely fabulous. The Maitre d' was exceptional in his kindness to us, and his efficiency. He monitored the dining room staff with great skill. The complimentary breakfasts were not the normal muffins and cereal., (although there was that). At the Emerson Inn you received fluffy pancakes, egg & ham sandwiches, home fries bacon, etc. etc. The chefs, both in The Grand Cafe and at the breakfast buffet, are so talented. The food was wonderful. To highlight our little vacation, when we left to go back home, I asked Carol if she would have someone bring our bags out to the car, and as always she pleasantly contacted someone to do so. When I attempted to tip the gentleman, he smiled and said that it wasn't necessary. To my surprise, he was the owner of the property! Now I understand why everything was so perfect. We can't wait to go back.


Wonderful

5 on September 18, 2012

My wife and I spent the first night of our honeymoon at this beautiful Inn along the sea. Turns out there was a wedding taking place that day. We checked in around 3 p.m. and enjoyed the most beautiful afternoon in the sun by the sea swimming in the heated pool. Later we came down for a lovely dinner in the screened in porch, with views of the sea. Later yet we strolled down to the rocky coast and watched the sea life and sunset. The next morning we were served a great breakfast buffet with so many choices. Another swim in the pool before checking out and heading to our next location as we were doing a East Coast crawl up to Bar Harbor.


Wonderful

4.8 on August 20, 2012

It was a wonderful experience even though it rained. The breakfast was amazing and the service was superb. We loved it and will return next year.


Wonderful Hospitality With An Ocean View

4.8 on August 12, 2012

We have been staying at The Emerson By The Sea every summer for six years now and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. The owner and the staff are exceptionally helpful and personable... always available to answer questions, offer touring suggestions, help with any situation...and in six years we have had a few while touring the many fascinating historical and beautiful scenic sites on Cape Ann. Owner Bruce Coates and his staff have never let us down. Accomodations are beautiful with sweet touches of home. Plenty of spacious and restful sitting areas for conversation and reading in the comfortable parlor, the front porch where rocking chairs wait, and the large back veranda where you can sit overlooking the grounds, gardens, and an unbelievable ocean view. Talk about serenity! My favorite activity was scampering along the rocky seacoast only yards away from the Inn or sitting on the porch and just gazing at the lobster boats and sailboats dotting the ocean. The food was scrumptious: delicious breakfasts and the evening dinners were as good or better than restaurants in Chicago...delicious!


Beautiful Wedding & Stay

4.4 on August 12, 2012

The Emerson Inn by the Sea provided the perfect venue for our July wedding and reception. Melissa Hobbs and the Inn staff made it all happen. The food was delicious, the rooms were clean, and the scenery was perfect. Melissa is meticulous in her planning and had every detailed covered. it is important to have someone watching out for the details and keeping everyone moving, and Melissa conducted herself with the utmost professionalism. Lastly, the Inn and the surrounding backdrop were provided for an emotional, fun, and unforgettable experience, both for those who had been and for those firs timers to Rockport.


Destination and Wedding and Reception at the Emerson Inn

5 on August 07, 2012

We live in Maryland. Our prospective Son-in-Law is from Massachusetts and our daughter wanted to be married in New England. After a visit to Rockport, they chose the Emerson Inn for their wedding and reception. What a wonderful choice! During the preparation for the wedding, Melissa Hobbs, the Emerson Inn Special Events Coordinator, was absolutely terrific in helping us plan. When we arrived, Melissa and the staff of the Emerson Inn welcomed us as if we had been old friends. Their hospitality was superb all around, and Melissa had everything completely covered for the wedding. On a beautiful July day, our daughter and now son-in-law were married on the perfectly groomed green of the Emerson Inn before the majestic backdrop of the rocky coast of Cape Ann and the Atlantic Ocean. The Inn itself was comfortable, clean and accommodating. The dining room service and food were superb as well. For us and our family, we have found a new place for a quiet, classy, friendly and comfortable getaway. With sincere appreciation, John and Kathleen, Annapolis, MD.


Too short a stay!

3.6 on August 04, 2012

Love, love, loved the inn! the view and place itself were amazing. Staff was awesome as well as food!


A gem of a hotel

5 on July 16, 2012

The rooms are beautiful, the grounds offer peace and tranquility, and the dining is as good-if not better-than some top-rated restaurants in NY City. Every member of the staff is helpful and truly cares about your satisfaction.


A Great Inn for Wedding Guests

4.0 on June 07, 2012

We were recently married up in Gloucester on April 29, 2012. We had a number of out of town guests and wanted to offer a few suggestions of places where we suggest they stay. In addition, we lived an hour outside of Gloucester and needed a nice space in which to get ready. The Emerson Inn was a great spot! Our guests loved the beautiful, historic rooms. The breakfast was great. The charm of the place was breathtaking. For the most part, the staff was very responsive as I constantly had to check in about who has reserved rooms so I had an accurate number for welcome bags etc. On a few occassions, guests were misinformed about the negotiated room rate. The Emerson Inn was apologetic for the mistakes and immediately made things right. They also did a great job delivering our welcome gift boxes to guests. our guests raved about the unique inn. A special thanks to Melissa--the coordinator. She has a wonderful, calm attitude and was great to work with! She offered us use of the Pigeon Cove room in which to get ready before the church ceremony. It was perfect!! She also made sure we had mirrors, light for makeup, tables, chairs, and helped me order snacks and drinks for the wedding party. Everything was very well done. Our room was lovely, though upon returning from our reception we were not greeted with any note, rose petals, wine--any of the stuff that maybe would have been a nice touch (stuff you see in the movies maybe?). Overall, I would certainly recommend this place. It is just beautiful, calming, and peaceful. I'm very glad it will forever be a part of our wedding day and hope to return in years to come.


Enjoyable

5 on April 22, 2012

Our experience was thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing. The service and ambience was outstanding.


Keeper

5 on April 08, 2012

Outstanding -- people, inn & furnishings & grounds, clean / spotless, food -- the best.


great get away

4.4 on February 28, 2012

Emerson Inn is a wonderful place for a quiet get-away in the off season months, as when we visited. Wonderful, friendly staff and very helpful. Accommodations were very good, the continental breakfast included was bountiful and good variety. View from our ocean facing room was spectacular and the glassed in balcony was worth the extra money, especially during colder months! We highly recommend the Emerson Inn.


Wonderful stay

4.0 on February 26, 2012

We felt welcomed by the staff from the moment we checked in. The owner and staff were very accomodating when we needed to reschedule a day later due to illness and even upgraded the room. The continental breakfast was tasty and generous. They have kept a historic feel for the hotel, but also upgraded where it counts in the bedroom and bathrooms. The shower was very invirogating. We would stay there again.


Offseason breakfast awful!

3.2 on November 07, 2011

We just stayed here and the continental breakfast was pitiful- better food at a Hampton Inn! Toast, bagels, dried pastries, had to ask for a yogurt, when I complained they said it was how they get the offseason rates so low, but for the prices, the room was very small and the food not even close to the value, was not worth the trip! Go during the season and maybe worth the price. And they chrged our credit card for thefull rate an entire month before we stayed, when I complained about that they said it was policy. Lousy policy!!


Five stars from former innkeepers

4.8 on August 29, 2011

As former inn owners we are more critical than the average guest. We stayed 2 nites/3 days and never left the beauty of this gracious, old-world inn. We can honestly say that EVERYTHING, dining, rooms, waitresses (thanks Shannon!), front desk, as well as maintenance personnel were so full of warm hospitality that we felt more like friends than guests. The music of Joseph Blanchard on Friday night "sent me into the stratisphere" while, Bob Allison on Saturday night brought my husband back to days of old as he sang along with the oldies. The menu is delightful, tasty and healthful and beautifully presented. The views spectacular even as we watched Hurricane Irene approach. I just can't say enough . . . Trust that we will be back!


Breathtaking

4.0 on August 12, 2011

We spent 2 lovely nights and just sat on the porch in rocking chairs enjoying the view for much of the time. The room was small but adequate because of the rest of the Inn.was so enjoyable. We even did dinner there for both nights. Truly a relaxing experience.


Mother daughter getaway

4.8 on August 02, 2011

We came up from the Boston area for a one-night getaway. Emerson Inn by the Sea offered a beautiful setting, comfort without pretense, and warm, welcoming staff. We'll be back!


A jewel along the sea

4.8 on July 18, 2011

We celebrated our 5oth wedding anniversary at the Inn. It exceeded all our expectations; beautiful location, delicious food & attentive staff. We look forward to a return visit.


"A great place on the ocean"

5 on June 23, 2011

We were welcomed promptly and efficiently when we arrived. We had a street view room but it was what we ordered and did have a refrigerator. The pool overlooks the ocean and is a great spot to read, relax and swim. The food and service in the restaurant was great and the breakfast which was included was fantastic. We would love to return there again.


great memorial weekend

3.8 on June 06, 2011

The room was great people very helpful and friendly the food was good not great little disappointed in stuffed lobster we were served dry had to ask for butter stuffing more bread than anything else very dry


Great place near Boston

4.4 on March 03, 2011

We stayed for a few days in the very early part of the season and so the restaurant was not open the first night, but we were given an excellent recommendation by the staff for a place in Gloucester. After the resaurant opened though we were never tempted to go anywhere else - great food, wine and service. Really friendly welcoming place and a great base to explore nearby and Boston. When we go back to New England we will be staying here again.


Long Our Rockport MA Favorite

5 on December 18, 2010

Though one of us first stayed here in the early 80's under other owners, we have now enjoyed the Coates' Emerson Inn by the Sea over a dozen times in the last few years. Winter or summer, we enjoy the quiet ambiance, the great cookies and coffee when we check in in the afternoon, the beautiful views of the ocean from the porch or the rooftop terrace, and our favorite room -- as it happens the one in blue with the canopy bed that you can see online! It's a cozy room and just right for us. In season, the full breakfasts on the terrace are delicious, either from the breakfast bar or special ordered. And off season, though the selection is less, the waffles, fruit, granola, yogurt, etc., etc. are certainly enough to please us. And the service is top notch -- we're now treated like family and we keep going back! We've stayed at other B&Bs in Rockport and Newburyport a few times, but this remains our favorite.


Great Place, great area!

5 on December 03, 2010

The Inn is gorgeous as is the guest house. But it's really the people that made it a great vacation. From the cook to the server to the desk they all make you feel like you are treated better then at home. They are all caring individuals that make this a great place to enjoy the comforts of home with a great view of the ocean and close by to many attractions. Thanks for a great stay.


Home Away From Home

5 on July 01, 2010

We felt so at home! Staff was warm and welcoming. Room very clean, bed comfortable. View is amazing! Best breakfast ever!


Completely OVERPRICED AND OVERRATED!

2.0 on June 26, 2010

The Emerson Inn ruined our first family beach vacation with our one-year old daughter! Our family was forced to leave the Inn and we returned today completely crushed and disappointed. We booked a king balcony room ($359/night) and upon arrival were sent to a king, non-balcony room. The staff informed me that it was a misunderstanding and I should have read my confirmation email. The king non-balcony room that we were put in for the first night was practically too small for our one year old's portable crib and the bathroom door would not close, making any privacy and romance completely impossible. On our second night, and because of the Inn's reservation mistake, we had to repack all of our family things and move to the queen balcony room. This room had an air conditioner that literally smelled of a wet hamster cage, completely disgusting! The bed was backbreaking and equivalent to something you might find at an Econolodge and we tried sleeping without the air conditioner to relieve the odor, but the weather was 90 degrees this week and left all of us without sleep, including our baby who is typically a great sleeper. We were up all night in this awful bed while listening to our neighbor snore since there is no soundproofing between rooms, completely miserable!! The staff had planned to have us move for the THIRD time because of their booking mistake (which they condescendingly blamed on us) to another room today, but we were all so sleep-deprived and disgusted by the odor and condition of the rooms that we left at 7am this morning after again informing the staff of our great disappointment. Moving rooms three times is also quite an ordeal with a baby! We were told that we would not have to pay for tonight, but since we didn't leave early yesterday, they probably wouldn't be able to book the room for tonight and we were charged for three completely miserable nights!


Great place for a wedding

5 on June 06, 2010

We had our wedding here in June of 09. It was more than we could ask for. A perfect day! The staff was amazing and everyone still talks about the food. There was no stress and everyone felt at home. It was a day and a weekend I will never forget, thanks to The Emerson and Melissa for all her help.


Fantastic Hotel and Outstanding Restaurant

4.6 on January 16, 2010

The location of this hotel provides fantastic views of the Atlantic Ocean and coastline. The only thing better then the service is the food in the Grand Cafe. Starting with the sweet & spicy calamari to the pumpkin ravioli and bacon wrapped filet mignon, finishing with the lava cake... in a word, "Amazing"!.


Weekend Getaway

4.8 on January 14, 2010

Our trip to the Emerson Inn By the Sea exceeded our expectations by far. We had a wonderful stay in the King Suite room, which had a lovely view of the ocean, a fabulous spa tub and inviting decor. The Inn was a great mix of feeling like a cozy Bed and Breakfast without feeling like we were invading someone's personal living space. The restaurant was a wonderful surprise given that it was the first weekend in January and almost no restaurants were open in Rockport. In no way did we feel like we were "settling" by eating dinner at the Emerson instead of going out. Our dinner was wonderful, clam chowder, calamari, two lobster dinners and fresh berries for dessert. The waitress was very personable and attentive and the dining room was lovely. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the staff at the Emerson couldn't have been nicer. This was my first trip to Rockport and I will definitely be back, due in large part to the Emerson.


Romantic weekend

5 on October 08, 2009

We had a lovely romantic weekend that my husband arranged all on his own for us. Food was fabulous, service was outstanding.


Wonderful

5 on August 18, 2009

Favorite thing is to sit on the front porch rocking and enjoying the view of the atlantic ocean. Lovely hotel with a great staff and delicious food.


A perfect stay

4.6 on July 20, 2009

A lovely old inn on a quiet street north of the scenic town of Rockport, MA. Ideal for families as there are several rooms with 2 beds and an ocean side pool. Wonderful neighborhood for walking and trail nearby with rock our croppings on the ocean. Very clean!


staff very thoughtful!

5 on July 20, 2009

we travel extensively and were very very impressed by the inn in every way! The setting was gorgeous, food positively superb! Rooms a tad too small.


Quality All Around

4.8 on May 17, 2009

What a delightful little place! We stayed in the King Balcony room, and although it was a little pricey, it was worth every penny! What a view! You can't find a more comfortable, or romantic little inn anywhere on the North Shore. And the dining was exquisite. Chef prepared us a wonderful Salmon and the waitstaff was very helpful. The wine selection was unparalleled as well! We will definitely be returning next year, and we will recommend this spot to all of our friends looking to visit the North Shore. Beautiful pool, too, wish it had been open! (They said around June 1st)


horrific

1.2 on April 27, 2009

Looks and descriptions on-line are fully deceiving.


Simply outstanding

4.6 on April 23, 2009

This inn is simply outstanding. The food and the service were impeccable and the setting is breathtaking. The inn is beautifully appointed as well. Our room was a bit cramped, but still cozy. We are looking forward to returning.


A wonderful weekend by the sea

4.4 on April 21, 2009

We celebrated my Mom's 80th birthday at the Emerson Inn. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. We had a great time in a beautiful setting. The hospitality was wonderful. The whole family felt right at home.


Romantic Retreat

5 on December 01, 2008

Loved it!! Cozy,clean, lots of character, beautiful ocean views, loved quotes from Emerson!


Great Inn

4.4 on September 06, 2008

We had a wonderful vacation at the Emerson Inn and will definitely be returning there again. It's in a beautiful setting and there was lots to do and see nearby. The breakfasts were really good and substantive. They serve the most delicious whit and dark chocoalte dipped homemade cookies at tea time. Our room was very small, but we managed well enough. There is no elevator so pack lightly!


awesome hostess

4.2 on August 20, 2008

Great! Especially the hostess. She was greatly hospitable.


Inn with a view

4.8 on July 29, 2008

Great time Hospitality, food and acommodations -wonderful - would visit again-


We recommend to everyone!

5 on July 28, 2008

The Emerson was outstanding. Food and lodging superb!! Will recommend to everyone.


Enjoyable stay

4.2 on July 28, 2008

The people (staff) as charming as the location. Friendly, helpful, and made our stay enjoyable.


Fun!!

4.2 on July 28, 2008

The most fun this year. The staff was very, very accomodating.


Beautiful old Hotel

4.2 on July 21, 2008

There aren't too many well maintained old ocean front hotels left that not only the wealthy can afford. This is one.


great

3.4 on June 13, 2008

great view, food, and experience


VERY NICE INN!!

4.8 on August 31, 2007

We stayed there 2 nights with my mother (2 rooms) and it was EXCELLENT! The breakfasts were very good, we did not get a chance to eat dinner there.The employees were very nice and helpful! We would go back.


Historic and Stately

4.6 on March 01, 2007

This inn has a fabulous setting - literally located about 50 feet from wide open ocean. Sit on the porch on wonderful green rockers and take in a fabulous view across the veranda to the ocean. The Grand Cafe dining room is lovely - great food and now that they can serve alcohol (Rockport was a dry town for 75 years) they have a great wine list too. Be sure to splurge on the ocean view rooms - the view is worth it.


Emerson Inn By The Sea

Details

  • Nightly Rate $95 - $369
  • Reviews (51) 4.5
  • Rooms 36
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9785466321
  • Fax 1-9785467043
  • Toll free 1-8009645550

Visit Website »

View details

Top