Somerset House Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
49 Reviews

Write A Review

Great rooms, great service, adorable puppy!

4.6 on May 02, 2014

Thanks so much for an excellent weekend :-)


Great home-y feel

5 on May 22, 2013

Our stay was great! Although we were only able to stay for one night, we had a lovely night of rest and would definitely recommend the inn. The owners were very kind and accommodating, free parking was provided by the inn, the household was very quiet and peaceful, and the rooms were very comfortable and nicely-adorned! The free breakfast provided the following morning was also delicious and made us feel at home. It was a great place to stay for a more personal touch during our Provincetown stay.


love love.....

4.2 on March 29, 2013

We needed a one night gateway out of the city and The Somerset House in the early Spring was perfect.


Wonderful place; perfect in town location; great hosts

4.2 on October 13, 2012

We had always stayed in the West End, but this was a delightful change. it was great to be able to walk to restaurants and shops and still be able to easily bike to the beach. our room was small,but very cozy complete with a fireplace. the decor is tastefully funky and fun and the hosts so nice and helpful in every way. Both breakfast and happy hour treats were also excellent. we will surely return.


perfect place in provincetown

4.6 on April 13, 2012

Had a truly lovely getaway weekend off-season (which I'm now convinced is the best time to go), and staying at the Somerset House Inn could not have been a better choice. We met wonderful people, the food was absolutely mouthwatering, happy hour was the happiest, and our room was so cozy it was difficult to decide to get up out of bed and into town (fireplace!!). It should hardly have been a difficult decision, since you literally walk out the door onto Commercial Street and everything P-town has to offer is at your feet. Will definitely be coming back; I can't think of any reason I would want to stay anywhere else.


Very nice house and great breakfast!

3.4 on August 25, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the somerset house for 5 days and really enjoyed waking up to the great breakfast smells in the house. The view is great as you sit outside to have your breakfast and all the guests were very friendly. The host is very informational but does not intrude on your stay - a very nice balance. We will stay again. :)


Outstanding

4.4 on August 17, 2011

This place is spectacular! Every need was taken care of. All the rooms are individually decorated and nicely appointed. The food was all freshly prepared and delicious. The service couldn't have been better. I felt completely comfortable and at home. I'll definitely be back.


Outstanding service, good location

4.2 on July 28, 2011

The accommodations are very clean and of good quality, not five star but good, and the breakfast excellent. The outstanding service is the high point here.


fun timex

5 on July 24, 2011

My wife and I visited for a few days over the July 7th weekend. Breakfast was great on both mornings. Room was cozy and clean and the hosts couldn't have been nicer. We will definitely visit again


Somerset House Inn Rocks!

4.6 on July 13, 2011

- Very accomodating owners - Great breakfast - Very efficient operation


Wonderful return

5 on June 22, 2011

After a less than enjoyable stay with the previous owners, we returned with some hesitation, but Dan and Bob couldn't have been more accomodating in every way. Perfect location, perfect atmosphere, perfect weekend. Thanks! Matt & Chris


June 2011

4.2 on June 12, 2011

It was a great visit. Staff were friendly, location was great, and the other house guests were of good nature.


you can't go wrong

4.8 on June 12, 2011

my sister and I stayed for 2 nights and wished it was a week. right in the middle of it all, we loved sitting outside on the best patio in P-town sharing the magic with the other guests and the people passing by. the house itself was full of color and charm and great energy from the people working there. the breakfasts were absolutely fabulous giving you lots of variety. even having a happy hour with hot appetizers to enjoy with the other guests. this B&B attracted like minded people-easy to be around and interesting. I'll be back sooner than not.


Great food, drinks, and videos

4.2 on May 19, 2011

A bonus to this centrally located B&B is the complimentary cocktail hour (or two). Since I was in Ptown alone, the cocktail time made it easy for me to meet other people. The breakfast was outstanding because Bob is a great cook and always provided something special, whether it was stuffed french toast or an egg concoction served in ramekins. The Somerset House Inn even has a wonderful selection of videos (complimentary) that guests can play on there in-room video players. I would stay there again.


Great Place

3.6 on May 18, 2011

Great place to stay in the middle of it all in Provincetown. Nice clean rooms, friendly staff. Good breakfast with a hot item each morning and our favorite, social hour between 5 and 6 and our hosts provided wine and an assortment of beers. We'll be back....if there was a negative, I wasn't expecting to park in a lot about 1/4 mile away from the inn, but really, it was not too bad.


A nice souvenir from Provincetown

4.0 on May 17, 2011

Well located, in an old house ,with rooms very well furbished.Good smiling guest and very nice breakfast.We should come back!


Somerset House Stay

4.0 on May 15, 2011

A lovely B & B in Provincetown, very clean and good value for the money! On top of that, Bob was a great host, and also a very good baker~I loved his muffins and quiche, they were to die for! The only thing I have to say is that the pictures of the room on the website look a lot bigger than the room actually is. But I would highly recommend anyone to stay here~it's the best place in P-Town!


Lovely B & B

3.4 on May 12, 2011

I stayed in the Somerset House Inn recently, and found the accommodation fab. There were a couple of issues that let it down 1) Was the lack of double glazing, so when the dustcart came at silly o'clock we were woken up and 2) the breakfast room, was packed and there were no seats for us to sit down and eat due to it raining outside. I am sure when it is sunny the terrace is lovely to sit on, however this was a real shame. If they could sort these two points out it would make a huge difference.


Cosy

3.6 on May 11, 2011

We had a very good stay. Clean and quaint place. I loved the capuccino muffins.


April on the Tip of the Cape

4.6 on April 30, 2011

Our stay was wonderful. a gas fireplace and comfy bed and pillows made for a great refuge from the day of travel. We were greeted warmly and made comfortable. We got great advice for dinner and actvities. Breakfast was hot and yummy. We were very sorry that are schedule only allowed for one night. We will be returning!!


Best in Provincetown

5 on April 26, 2011

It was a lovely stay with everything a vacationer needs including friendly and attentive staff. Be sure to check out the Mews and the Crown and Anchor for wonderful meals.


Beautiful Inn

5 on April 23, 2011

My wife & I went for an off-season overnight. Found The Somerset House online & what a great choice it was! Centrally located, spacious rooms & a beautiful living/dining room area. Our breakfast was amazing, and our hosts, Bob & Dan, were very accommodating. They were very helpful in recommending places to eat, etc. We will definitely stay there again!


review

4.6 on April 14, 2011

Everything was fine. I could have used a little more variety at breakfast.


First stay in P-Town

4.2 on April 10, 2011

Having never been to P-Town we left early in the morning expecting to have lunch and then check into our room. Well we arrived around noon, located the Inn and went in to ask a couple of questions. The room was ready and we were able to check in prior to 3:00, which was fabulous because this gave us time to unpack and then hit the streets for shopping and lunch. The room was cozy and clean and the breakfast the next morning was more than I could ask for! Bob is a great host.


Somerset House

5 on April 06, 2011

Bob & Dan (our "Innkeepers") are the best - truly. My husband and I have stayed there twice in as many monthe ; once in February and again in March. We don't have a lot of expendable income but going to The Somerset House felt both like getting away and coming home. Very relaxing and cozy and Bob & Dan were both very accomodating. To be honest, I can't wait to make our next reservation!


Nice weather

3.6 on April 06, 2011

The room was a little smaller than I expected to be. But otherwise everything was great.


great value!

3.4 on March 31, 2011

Great location, cool house, very comfortable room. I would recommend this B&B. Reasonably priced, which was the best part! :)


Friendly, great location, excellent hosts.

5 on March 29, 2011

Visited the Somerset Inn four times this winter and spring. Bob & Dan are excellent hosts and made us feel very comfortable. They had current info on what was going on and what was open in the off season. Location is ideal. Rooms cozy. Great breakfast and if you have a chance to have one of Bob's martinis don't pass it up! Heading back up in a couple of weeks. Can't wait.


Somerset House is THE place in Provincetown

4.8 on January 05, 2011

I stayed in room 6 which was exceptional with it's fireplace and steam shower bathroom. The Breakfast is incomparable and the "Bobuffins" alone are worth the trip. There is a cocktail hour every evening which makes getting to know others at the Inn enjoyable. Bob and Dan are the perfect hosts! Two thumbs up, fine holiday entertainment!


Great Time at Somerset

4.0 on December 30, 2010

As picky traverlers, we'd return to Somerset in a heartbeat. Its location is right on the main street, putting everything within walking distance. We didn't have to use our car to go anywhere. The morning breakfasts on the porch were a fabulous way to start the day. The hospitality of the owners was unmatched. Since returning, we received a thank you note, as well as a Christmas card from the owners. We stayed in Guest Room 8, and would probably do so again. The room was huge; however, the only downside was the small bathroom in the room. (We may consider booking a smaller room with a larger bathroom next time). The sitting room provided a view of passers-by as well as a glimplse of the inlet. Despite our fall visit, the weather was great, allowing us to open our windows in the morning and enjoy the warm breeze. We took advantage of Somerset's extensive DVD collection on nights we wanted to stay in. And for nights we wanted to go out, Somerset provided an extensive brochure collection of things to do. We plan to stay at Somerset on our next visit.


Very Nice

4.2 on December 11, 2010

Our stay this past Thanksgiving was wonderful. Accommodations were clean and comfy. The location was perfect. The breakfast was delish!


Very nice, and worthwhile.

3.0 on November 30, 2010

Nice B & B. Excellent location. Nice hospitality. Funky old. Would definately go back.


Somerset House P-Town

4.0 on November 28, 2010

Bob and Dan are very friendly. They offered a cocktail hour during our stay and that was very nice. The furnishings are very comfortable. A very enjoyable stay.


Another perfect weekend at Somerset House

5 on November 15, 2010

Thanks again to Dan and Bob for a perfect, relaxing weekend in their gorgeous inn. This was our second time here, and I cannot sing enough praises, from the beautiful, cozy room to the impeccable room service that set us up our second day as pristine as the night we arrived. Even the other guests were lovely - we had so much fun meeting the delightful other couples who came down for cocktail hour! Breakfast was delicious - homemade baked goods and savory egg dishes. Dan and Bob are cordial, friendly hosts who helped guide us in our dining choices and are just so accommodating. I really cannot overstate how much we appreciate the Somerset Inn for a much-needed, relaxing getaway.


A cozy nest to relax in!

4.4 on November 13, 2010

From start to finish the stay was wonderful and the proprietors were kind and attentive. The rooms we had were well appointed and comfortable and the location couldn't be more perfect. I have been recommending Somerset House Inn to all of my friends and look forward to staying there again.


awesome stay !!

4.0 on October 15, 2010

great stay worthed its price, unbeatable location,nice inn keepers and wonderful service !!!


Quiet retreat in the heart of P-town.

4.4 on October 13, 2010

My husband Al and I decided to spend a few days in Provincetown. B&B's are our favorite type of lodging for short stays. I researched our options online and we chose the Somerset House Inn. It couldn't have been a more perfect choice. Right in the heart of P-town, it was a lovely quiet place to stay. Bob, our host, was attentive and great to chat with. The food was amazing and creative and the wine hour homey and relaxing. We loved our stay. Carey & Al De Tota


A Wonderful Stay

5 on September 22, 2010

I have been going to The Cape for over 30 years, this was the best place yet. Great Inn, excellent facility had a wonderful time and cant wait to return next fall with my wife. Thank you Dan & Bob.


Always great b&b

4.0 on September 04, 2010

Everytime we can get a room here, it's a wonderful stay. We should just start booking much earlier.


Great stay. Will come again.

4.6 on September 02, 2010

My wife and I spent our first anniversary at this bed and breakfast. We definitely got the bang for our buck! The room was cozy (Room13), the breakfast was quite tasty, and they even had complimentary cocktails and beer in the afternoon. Bob, the in-keeper, is quite knowledgeable of the going-ons around town, and he is also quite helpful with whatever request we had. Finally, the location is great. It is Commercial St., which is where all the business and the night life goes on. We will definitely be back.


Excellent inn!

5 on August 14, 2010

We definitely come back! it was wonderful and loved the atmosphere!


Best place to stay in town.

5 on September 29, 2009

The rooms are nice and very homey; my wife and I felt like we were staying at a friend’s house and not an inn. The atmosphere was very pleasant and relaxing. The owners, Bob and Dan, were very helpful and took care of our every need: on the day that we were leaving, they took the time to inform us about a few events that were taking place in Cape Cod that they thought we would enjoy on our way home. The complementary breakfast was also great! Every morning we woke up and couldn’t wait to see what they had cooked up for breakfast - one day we got home made French toast, another day it was quiche.


Somerset Bliss

5 on August 16, 2009

Our second visit to the Somerset Inn proved to be even better than the first and that was a hard act to top. As soon as we arrived both Dan and Bob remembered that our youngest son was in Iraq during our last visit to the Somerset. They immediately asked us about his safety as well as the men under him and wondered about their return to society. Unbelieveable! Although the summer was rainy we had perfect sunny, hot weather throughout our stay. As usual, we met really great people some of whom we hope to see in the future in DC. The Somerset Inn is unbeatable when staying in Provincetown and a summer is not complete without a visit with Bob and Dan. Thank you guys for a great week of vacation.


Simply the BEST!

5 on August 16, 2009

We've been staying at the Somerset House Inn for several years. We've stayed at other B&B's in town, but have always been drawn to what makes this place the best place to stay each time...the hospitality from Bob & Dan, the owners. Service, cleanliness, location and great taste in décor of each room makes for a relaxing place to stay while enjoying the many sights and activities that makes Ptown so special. Love Bob's early morning breakfast treats and late afternoon socials_ Thank you Bob, Dan and the rest of the Somerset House Inn team for making our vacations to Ptown consistently enjoyable & relaxing :) M&C _ Connecticut


DIDN'T WANT TO LEAVE!

5 on July 02, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights, 3 days and everything was outstanding, from the cozy rooms, homemade breakfast, cocktail hour, great company, relaxing patio,and the wonderfully friendly service. Dan and Bob.... you both rock!!!! ---Jeanne and Jenn can't wait for next year!!


Wonderfully friendly inn

4.0 on June 03, 2009

Our stay with Bob & Dan ws a real treat. They could not have made us feel more welcome. The inn is lovely and the rooms nicely appointed. I loved the afternoon wine while winding down from our day. The breakfast was scrumptious with homemade muffins as an extra treat with a delicious made to order hot dish. All our PTown get aways will include a stay here.


heartwarming

5 on May 29, 2009

We have spend there for one night only, the appt.(no 11) was very warm, well equipped, very high standarts, Bob was very happy to meet us and award us a warmhearted welcome. Breakfast, then we met Dan, was very tasty and you can see that everything there is coming out of love, and with love. We reccomend with all our heart!!!! yafa&avi berger/ ISRAEL


A Jewel of a Place

5 on May 21, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from our 5th annual visit to Provincetown and stay at the Somerset House Inn. We feel welcomed by Dan and Bob and delight in the delicious breakfasts each morning and wine and beer at 5 PM, as we decide where to eat for dinner. We enjoy being within walking distance to the art galleries, shopping and restaurants. The rooms are spotless, the bedding lush and the company divine. We recommend this Inn to our friends and were joined again by friends who met us there last year. We'll be back every year! Thanks Bob, Dan and Sarah. Mona & Chris


Wonderful House & Hosts

5 on August 31, 2008

I stayed at the Somerset after looking at their web site. The house is very modern and colorful and not the typical Victorian B&B. The guys who own the inn are sweethearts and see that you are well taken care of your entire stay. There attention to detail is 5 stars! They did a hot breakfast each morning and had an evening cocktail hour with beer and wine and appetizers each night. It was a wonderful way to get to know the other guests if you wanted. The rooms were spotless and I especially loved sitting in their front yard watching the people on Commercial St, many of whom I think were envious that I got to stay here!!!! I loved this place and can't wait to return next summer.


Somerset House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $75 - $295
  • Reviews (49) 4.4
  • Rooms 12

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (508) 487-0383

Visit Website »

View details

Top