The Jesse Harlow House Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
16 Reviews

Write A Review

Fantastic weekend

5 on August 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Jesse Harlow House this past weekend. I chose to make my reservation here due to the friendliness and caring that Kathy showed during my initial phone call to get a quote on pricing. I had called many other locations and she was the only one I talked to that wanted to have a conversation instead of generically giving me numbers. Upon arrival she welcomed us in at the door and showed us around the house. When she said make yourself at home she meant it. She leaves you full range of the K-cup coffee and tea, provides cold drinks in the afternoon (homemade lemonade!), has a tray of snacks (brownies and baked goods), and even has a fridge with wine and beer – making sure you know it’s all up for grabs. The rooms were very clean and well kept. The breakfasts were not what you would call "traditional" such as eggs and bacon but were interesting (in a good way) and tasty. For example, the first day included grapefruit with toasted coconut, blueberry pancakes, sausage, and a salad (with candied nuts and cranberries). I would definitely stay here again and would recommend staying here to anyone who asked.


Perfect

5 on July 20, 2013

This B&B is located perfectly in Plymouth - a few minutes walk to Burial Hill, Plymouth Rock, etc., and a five minute drive will get you to Plimoth Plantation. Kathy greeted us warmly upon arrival and the room was spectacular - the Schooner room on the first floor has a private bath and a queen bed. Several locations in the B&B are readily available for relaxation - down by the koi pond, up on the deck overlooking the Jabez Howland House, or in the living room. The breakfasts were awesome - delicious and comfortably filling; my wife and I found that breakfast and a small snack in the afternoon (homemade cookies or brownies provided by Kathy) kept us going right until dinner. Kathy and Dennis are friendly and personable. Kathy gave us several recommendations, whether we wanted to go to a beach, a restaurant, or see historic locations. No amount of praise would be too much for this B&B.


One of the best Band Bs we have ever encountered!

5 on May 15, 2013

We were delighted to stay with Kathy and Dennis, who were so welcoming, helpful and friendly.Their attention to detail was outstanding and breakfast was out of this world! We were given suggestions for places to eat and things to see in Plymouth and Boston. Kathy and Dennis even drove us to and from the station and bus stop and treated us to a special view of the cranberry bogs.We would happily recommend The Jesse Harlow House to anyone who appreciates friendly but respectful hosts, beautiful, comfortable surroundings and the most delicious breakfasts!


Best one night stay ever

5 on September 20, 2012

Stayed one night after a wedding and would definely go back for longer stay! Greeted by Kathy and Dennis who were so friendly and welcoming. House was beautiful and the service and food were impeccable. Would definitely recommend this B&B to friends and family. Dennis and Kathy made us feel like family!,


Thoroughly enjoyed out stay!

5 on August 28, 2012

This is a beautiful house that is well maintained. In the back it has a covered porch and a small sitting area with a coy pond. Wonderful after a day on the town to come back and relax. Couldn't ask for a better location, downtown is about 5 minutes away walking. If you walk just a few more blocks away you'll see Plymouth rock. Dennis and Kathy are great people! They made for an accommodating and enjoyable stay. Thank YOU!


Great Hosts!

5 on July 20, 2012

Our stay was totally enjoyable! Dennis and Kathy could not have been more hospitable or entertaining. They helped with dinner reservations, and gave great touring advice for our first visit to Plymouth. They were continually doing all the things to make us feel like valued guests. The bed was very comfortable, everthing was clean, and little touches like a remote ceiling fan and snacks in the room were great. The rear deck and lower garden area were beautiful and were a unexpected benefit. Would definitely stay there again.


If this could have been better, I don't know how

4.0 on June 10, 2012

We came from Vermont and stayed one night. Kathy and Dennis were cordial and immensely caring about our comfort in all ways. The room was delightful. Breakfast on the covered porch was an elongated pleasure. The only downside--staying just for one night!


You will be spoiled!!

5 on January 07, 2012

This place is fantastic! Kathy and Dennis are some of the most warm and well-seasoned owners/hosts we have ever stayed with. They provide the perfect amount of interaction while still respecting your privacy. The house is decorated so tastefully and is very clean. Kathy and Dennis really complemented the history of the house with the decor. It was done just how I hoped an historic New England Sea-Port B&B would look. The food was amazing. Kathy really puts the extra effort into her meals and it shows; no boring old muffins and yogurt here! This place is a great alternative to staying in Boston too. Just take the train, its easy. I was traveling with my fiancé and my parents so there were four opinions of the stay and all were stelar. I'm already trying to figure out an excuse to go back! Be forewarned though, you will be spoiled and it might skew your opinions of any places you stay after. By the way, the complementary wine and homemade cookies were appreciated very much so but this is the first and only place I've ever been where I was offered a local beer! Yay


From the french couple of Bordeaux

4.4 on November 06, 2011

First of all, you will be received by Kathy, smiling, gentle and attentionnée (as we say in french). After you will appricate the warm blue room with the wonderfull schooner boat and enjoy a quiet rest. For the breakfast, even in the wind and rain of 2011 Hallooween days, being in the nice dinning room is a great pleasure while talking with Kathy and Dennis. If you authorize the following words; "Better would be useless !" Thank you so mutch Kathy and Dennis from Lys-Ange and Jacues and good luck for ever? Amicalement.


Very good bnb

4.0 on October 05, 2011

Stayed here for work. They are very helpful and friendly. It was like relaxing at home with friend. Just what I need after many long hours on TV shoot. thank you.


Incredible B&B

5 on September 27, 2011

This B&B is a little gem with a great location. My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Jesse Harlow House in Plymouth MA. Kathy, the inn keeper and her husband Dennis we absolutely lovely, helpful and a pleasure to be with. All of their local recommendations were perfect. The house was beautifully decorated;and the Schooner Room very appealing with a very comfortable bed. Kathy served us great breakfasts for the three days we were there and I took home three new recipes to try and duplicate. Fresh baked cookies, hot tea and coffee were always available. The first day we arrived Kathy was making home made granola (yummy). At the back of the house the outside deck was comfortable and inviting as well as the lower back yard with its fish pond. My husband and I would certainly stay here again and would not hesitate in recommending it to other travelers. Sincerely, S. Reilly


Great value

5 on August 20, 2011

This is a good choice of places to stay in Plymouth. It is close to the attractions but not in the crowds. The food was excellent and the owners went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.


What a gem in the heart of our nation's origins!

5 on August 12, 2011

We had a wonderful three night stay at this charming sea captain's home near the water. The home is beautifully maintained by innkeepers Kathy and Dennis Barbato. Breakfasts on the porch with a view to the harbor were scrumptious! Fresh fruits, homemade granola, and grandma's recipes....Yum! The Jesse Harlow House is less than a block from the downtown Plymouth, providing easy walking access to the many restaurants that pepper the main street. It's only a short walk to the Mayflower and Plymouth Rock as well. Plymouth is a delightful place in itself, but with its proximity to Route 3, day trips to all parts of Cape Cod are a breeze. We look forward to our return to the Jesse Harlow House and highly recommend it to others.


A great place to stay!

4.4 on January 11, 2011

This inn is comfortable and attractive (nice beds, easy chair in our room), wonderfully located right near the main street of Plymouth. The breakfasts were lavish and delicious and the hosts very welcoming. Kathy's blueberry buckle is memorable! We will definitely return.


A wonderful weekend getaway

4.0 on January 11, 2011

Kathy made us feel right at home here in Plymouth. The accommodations were lovely, breakfast was wonderful, and she was very flexible with checking out and in to the house. I cannot imagine finding a more homey and comfortable place to enjoy New England. :)


Luxury Fit for a King

5 on October 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Luxury King Suite of the Jesse Harlow House for 2 nights in October, 2010. The accommodations were clean and spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable with luxurious sheets, pillows, and a comforter. The remote control fan provided light and air. Because I like to read in bed, I found the lighting more than adequate. A flat screen TV with lots of cable channels and a DVD player was a plus. The private bathroom included plush towels, a shower stall, a separate tub and a much appreciated hair dryer. The gourmet breakfast was fresh and delicious and home baked cookies plus tea and coffee were provided in the afternoon. The innkeepers, Kathy and Dennis Barbato, were friendly and accommodating. Of the three B&Bs we stayed at during our week long vacation in Massachusetts, the Jesse Harlow House was definitely the best. We had a wonderful time!


The Jesse Harlow House

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5087466877
  • Toll free 1-6036742277

Visit Website »

View details

Top