Above the Bay at Thornton Adams House Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
136 Reviews

Write A Review

Perfect Weekend!!

5 on May 12, 2014

The back yard is so relaxing and romantic! At night you can sit on the porch with a glass of wine, and the lights on the porch set the mood and make it so much more enjoyable! Sandy is very accommodating and such a great person. She always has the most friendliest guests to have breakfast with. We are glad to continue to come here. Thank you Sandy !! K&J -Newly engaged couple right from Sandy's own beautiful back yard-


Wonderful place to stay

4.8 on March 23, 2014

Just spent one night here. Sandy is a thoughtful, warm and welcoming host. She spends time getting to know each guest and provides great suggestions for local eateries and things to see. She provides a wonderful breakfast (even asking your diet restrictions when you reserve your room) in an elegant setting. Our room was cozy and comfortable with a good size private bath. We couldn't have been more pleased with our choice to stay here. And as a bonus the inn is across the street from the ocean, with views from most (maybe all) bedrooms. The grounds are lovely, too. All in all, it's a lovely b&b. Don't hesitate to stay here.


Relaxing time at the see

4.6 on March 03, 2014

After a longer journey through the USA we spend some days at this wonderful bed & breakfast to enjoy a very relaxing time with our kids. The very personal and kind welcome and service - especially the marvellous breakfasts - was just the right thing and we would have loved to stay a bit longer. But work was calling. The place of the house is great for a lot of attractions in the vicinity and for evening visits to Plymouth. We can highly recommend a stay with Sandy at her wonderful decorated home - lovely scotish touch. Nikolai. Berlin, Germany


One of a Kind Inn!

5 on January 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this Inn for a celebration of life. Sandy went out of her way to make certain our stay was a memorable one - and it was. Our room was absolutely perfect, very beautifully decorated, and very comfortable bedding. The baked pancakes and homemade breads for breakfast were to die for - absolutely delicious. Since we were unfamiliar with the area, Sandy offered wonderful suggestions as to what to do and where to eat. We will certainly return for another visit to this lovely inn. Cheryl & David Hanington


Outstanding!

5 on December 25, 2013

Grace, hospitality, warmth, fine food and good conversation. Sandy was the perfect hostess to make our historic trip to Plymouth a memory we will treasure for the rest of our lives! Alan & Vanessa, Alexandria, VA


Un grand merci!

4.2 on November 20, 2013

Un grand merci à Sandy pour son hospitalité et sa gentillesse. Notre voiture étant en panne, nous avons dû passer une nuit non prévue à Plymouth. L'auberge de Ron et Sandy a été un havre de repos fort accueillant. De plus, Sandy nous a rendu un grand service en nous conduisant à 2 reprises dans la ville. Nous recommandons hautement ce gîte!


The Best of the Best

5 on October 05, 2013

In all of my years of travel around the world, this is the best place I've ever stayed for many reasons. First, Sandy and Ron are fantastic hosts, always greeting each guest with a smile. Sandy went out of her way to make everyone feel at ease, cook homemade meals, and much more. I was so happy to have made their bed and breakfast my home base for ten days and take day trips touring the foundations of our nation, and such sites as Martha's Vineyard and Cape Cod. And although I ran out of time, Vermont and Maine are also day trips from Plymouth. It was wonderful to return to my home away from home at Thornton Adams each night where I felt so comfortable. I highly recommend everyone to stay here.


Short stay but was excellent

5 on October 03, 2013

Travis and Jenn from Wva Ron and Sandy were great. We stayed 2 nights on Labor day weekend and chose this bed and breakfast. Have no regrets of picking this bed and breakfast as our first one we ever stayed in.She always went out of her way to make sure we had great food and also helped with picking things to do in the area. Will stay there again if in the area. Thank you Sandy for everything!! We highly recommend staying here!!


Charming B & B

4.4 on September 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here two nights. We were asked if we had any special diet that needed to be followed for breakfast. We had great home made items for breakfast both days and more then enough. Sandy know all the places in the area and was a pleasure to talk to. The rooms and bathroom were very clean and very inviting. If we are ever in the area again we are sure to stay there again!


JUST LIKE HOME, BUT BETTER!

3.8 on July 04, 2013

Sandy was an outstanding hostess! She was more than eager to please us! Her breakfasts were delicious and she was very receptive to our special dietary requests and met all our needs.


Best B&B in Mass

5 on June 04, 2013

Let me start by saying that Sandy is the most gracious hostess there is. Her attention to detail and her ability to make you feel at home is above and beyond. Her home is beautiful. I have stayed here twice for business. The rooms are lovely and well cared for. On my second trip my husband traveled with me and he loved the inn as much as I did. Sandy knows all the best restaurants and the best local places to visit. I would not stay anywhere else in Plymouth!


Best B&B in Mass

5 on May 21, 2013

The Inn Keeper (Sandy) at Thornton Adams House is wonderful. She is warm and friendly and knows all the best places to visit in the area. To top it off she is an amazing cook. The spinach & feta omelet is to die for. The rooms in this B&B are very comfortable. Sandy goes out of her way to make her guests feel at home. She has a great eye for detail. I could not imagine staying anywhere else while visiting the area. Thank you so much Sandy!


Above and Beyond

5 on May 10, 2013

Could not recommend this lovely B&B enough! Sandy was warm, welcoming, gracious, and friendly. The room was beautiful and the bed especially comfortable. Sitting at the dining table or on the deck allows for a view of their beautiful yard and garden. Very nice to have breakfast while watching the hummingbirds and butterflies flitting about!


A wonderful B&B experience

5 on January 22, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend at the Thornton Adams House B&B and we had an absolutely wonderful experience. We got the jacuzzi room (highly recommend this room) that was so cozy and neat. The entire place was so welcoming. Sandy was incredibly welcoming and looked after us well - yummy breakfasts in the morning with some treats followed by helpful advice regarding the area and local restaurants/must-see's. We're definitely coming back to stay here again!


This is the place to stay

5 on November 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during Thanksgiving week. It was fabulous in every regard. You will not go wrong by staying here. We hope to return to Plymouth again some time, and we will stay at Thornton Adams when we do.


Relaxing week-end

5 on November 12, 2012

We had a wonderful week-end at the Thornton Adams House. Our room was lovely and cozy with a view of the ocean. Breakfasts were delicious and were served a little later than usual at our request. Sandy was very knowledgeable about where to go and what to see in the area. She recommended a couple of restaurants that were yummy. Would definitely go back.


Excellent

5 on November 03, 2012

We had a wonderful time with Sandy. She welcomed us with tea and self-made cake. She gave us a lot of information about sightseeing, shopping and restaurants. The rooms are comfortable and lovely. The breakfast was fresh prepared and delicious. Renate, Sylvia und Peter from Thun (Switzerland)


Would definitely return

3.8 on October 03, 2012

We stayed two nights at Above the Bay in late August. Sandy was a wonderful host and breakfasts were impressive. She inquired about and was very accomodating with particular food requests. She was a wealth of knowledge about the area and provided numerous suggestions on restaurants, attractions and even routes to make our motorcyle ride even better. Plymouth and cities in the Cape should thank her for not only promoting the Cape, but taking such pride in wanting her guests to enjoy their time there as well. We really enjoyed talking with the other guests, including two couples from the UK. Would definitely make a return visit.


Great Experience!

5 on September 09, 2012

We were so fortunate to be in such a beautiful area for a holdiay weekend, which was definitely highlighted by our stay here. The house was beautiful, Sandy was so warm, welcoming and gracious, and her breakfasts were outstanding!


Outstanding, everything was perfect!

5 on August 27, 2012

Wonderful first time experience at a B&B. Sandy is a wonderful hostess with the biggest heart you will every find. Good directions on things to do; beach is within walking distance and close to town. Love it will return. Awesome breakfast cake ;)


Lovely

5 on August 26, 2012

Nicely located a bit outside the downtown area, so it's quieter. There is a sidewalk on one side of the road all the way into town. It's a nice 30 minute walk. The rooms were very nice and clean; the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, and Sandy was a pleasant hostess. I highly recommend this B&B.


Great B&B!

4.4 on July 05, 2012

Fantastic B&B! The house is lovely and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. Would definitely visit again and recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Plymouth. Sandy is lovely and a really great cook and we loved Madison the dog! Thanks for a great stay.


WONDERFUL STAY OUTSIDE OF BOSTON

5 on June 25, 2012

We recently stayed here on a family road trip that covered stays from Maine to Mass. Sandy was a wonderful host --my kids actually thought I might have known her prior to our visit b/c she was so easy to talk with. The home was beautiful and the large upstairs suite was very spacious for our family of four. The home location was terrific..very close to the main drag but not too close that it was noisy. We loved Plymouth and even ended up spending more time in Plymouth itself than originally planned. Oh..the parking area for the car was a great bonus.


Romantic Getaway

4.4 on May 29, 2012

A charming place with a very friendly, generous host. Highly recommended for couples!


AMAZING! can not wait to go back :)

5 on March 31, 2012

Wow! This bed and breakfast was amazing! From the moment we pulled into the driveway we were greeted with kindness and warmth from the innkeeper Sandy. She made the entire stay phenomenal! she is so generous and make the stay very relaxing and a true vacation! When we first arrived she encouraged us to go down to the beach on low tide and even made sure we were warm enough by letting us borrow her and her husband’s winter clothes! Even her friend that stopped by for a visit was wonderfully kind. Breakfast was spectacular! Everything she made was a treat and was a perfect start to the day. The room was perfect and had a lovely view of the water and its own private bath. This was my first experience staying at a B and B and it was truly an amazing one! I cannot wait to come back and would highly recommend this place to anyone!


Perfection in Plymouth

5 on March 31, 2012

Above the Bay is an amazing B&B. My girlfriend and I took a New England road trip and found Plymouth to be the best city we stop at. Above the Bay was a great deal with buy one night get one FREE! I think we could have stayed a whole week! Everything about this place is awesome: the rooms are clean, the location is great, the food is WONDERFUL, and Sandy the owner is simply AMAZING and has a wealth of knowledge about Plymouth that makes Google seem archaic. My girlfriend and I want to visit again in the summer because this area is so nice and Above the Bay is a great place to stay and feel right at home.


AMAZING! can not wait to go back :)

5 on March 28, 2012

Wow! This bed and breakfast was amazing! From the moment we pulled into the driveway we were greeted with kindness and warmth from the innkeeper sandy. She made the entire stay phenomenal! When we first arrived she encouraged us to go down to the beach on low tide and even made sure we were warm enough by letting us borrow her and her husband’s winter clothes! Even her friend that stopped by for a visit was wonderfully kind. Breakfast was spectacular! Everything she made was a treat and was a perfect start to the day. The room was perfect and had a lovely view of the water and its own private bath. This was my first experience staying at a B and B and it was truly an amazing one! I cannot wait to come back and would highly recommend this place to anyone!!


Perfection in Plymouth

5 on March 23, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a couple of nights (buy one get one!) on our spring break and we did not want to leave. Our goal was to go all around New England and see everything we could, but Plymouth was the one place we really wanted more time in. If the history, downtown, food, and water do not make you want to stay, Sandy will! Who is Sandy?!? Sandy is the amazing hostess that will make you feel right at home because she is simply amazing. There is no need to even look up places on the internet because Sandy is way better than Google could every be, trust me. Breakfast is AMAZING, the rooms are very clean, the house is beautiful, and in a nice setting. I can honestly say I felt as comfortable at Above the Bay as I do in my own home. If you are looking to get a great Plymouth experience please go here! Also Boston is an hour away, New Port, RI is less than an hour away and so is Providence I believe. If you want to explore New England or just Plymouth again stay HERE!


Warm and welcoming...

4.8 on March 07, 2012

This was my husband's and my first stay at a bed and breakfast and Sandy made this a wonderful experience for us. From the spacious, cozy rooms to the decadent breakfast.... everything was great. Sandy welcomed us like old friends. She is comfortable and so knowledgeable about the surrounding area of Plymouth as well. We'll certainly stay at other Bed & Breakfasts, but I doubt others can compare.


Beyond Wonderful!

5 on February 27, 2012

From your welcome on arrival until your departure, your stay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast will be memorable. Sandy is the most gracious, generous host I have ever met (and I have stayed at over a hundred B and B's). Just ask and she will advise: where to jog, or find the best pizza, sandwich, or elegant meal in Plymouth, or where best to shop or sightsee. Follow her advice and you won't be disappointed. She will do everything and more to make your stay perfect. Breakfast is served at 8:30, but should you require an early start, coffee will be available when you need it in the gorgeously appointed dining area. Speaking of which, there is a small refrigerator—stocked with juice, milk, and jams—and microwave available for guests' use, an electric teakettle, and a large variety of teas. Should you want to sleep late, Sandy will leave a baked treat for you. The rooms, several of which have a view of the bay, are spacious, bright, appealingly decorated and comfortable. Having stayed twice, in two different rooms, I can attest to the comfort of the beds. The bathrooms have tub and shower. When you make a reservation, ask for cranberry cake pie or Welsh tea cakes for breakfast. They are delicious. Sandy has many other specialties, which I hope to try on subsequent visits.


Fabulous Bed and Breakfast

5 on February 26, 2012

The Thornton Adams is a beautifully decoated, immaculate, comfortable bed and breakfast with a beautiful view of the water from the second and third floors. Sandy, who owns the bed and breakfast is wonderful. She is extremely helpful, and she makes a great cranberry cake for breakfast. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast.


Great place to stay

4.2 on February 01, 2012

The room was very nice. Sandy was very helpful. I would go back again.


Home away from Home

4.8 on February 01, 2012

While originally looking for convenience as well as comfort because of family business in the area when I first stayed in August of 2011, I discovered I'd hit the jackpot for a B&B: not only a great bed, along with convenience, comfort, ambiance, charming and accommodating hosts in Sandy and Ron, but also...fantastic breakfasts by Sandy. I'd brought my running shoes so was able to work off some of those scones, eggs, waffles etc by running down and along the beach, which is close by. I have since been there several more times in the fall and most recently January 2012. My children and brother also have enjoyed their stays. We all appreciate Sandy and Ron's local knowledge and contacts as well as the peacefulness of having a quiet cup of coffee on the back deck in the morning while watching all the birds coming to the feeders in the lovely garden. I have stayed in several of the rooms at this point, and each has been charming with a great view of Plymouth Bay. The B&B is located along a stretch of Warren Ave that has many lovely historic homes.


Great place to stay in Plymouth

5 on December 31, 2011

Our party of four stayed in the top floor apartment with our own bathroom and magnificent views of the ocean. Pros: free Internet, great breakfast (I still wish I had the recipe for the almond tart!), spacious rooms with beautiful furnishing, lovely innkeeper (thank you Sandy for your help with dinner and the useful hints what to do) Cons: you need to go back there :-)


Great place and great service

4.0 on December 13, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Thornton Adams House last evening and today. The hospitality and atmosphere was great and Sandy even woke up early to make me breakfast before my big meeting today, thank you Sandy! We will definitely be staying there again in our travels. Luke


Plymouth, MA Bed & Breakfast

5 on November 06, 2011

My wife and I had a marvelous time at Above the Bay at Thornton Adams House. We have stayed at a few B&B's over the years but this was, by far, the best experience we have had. The house was quaint and we had a view of Plymouth bay from our window. Breakfast was outstanding starting with hot tea or coffee and juice followed by the main course. The table setting was exquisite with a view into her back yard garden where we saw wild turkeys, rabbits, squirrels and birds. The best part of our experience, however, was meeting Sandy. We were there for 7 days and each day was outstanding. My wife loved it so much she wants to sell everything and move to Plymouth! If you have never stayed in a B&B before, you should know that much of the experience depends on the person(s) running it. In all of our B&B experiences we have never met anyone more gracious than Sandy. She was dedicated to ensuring that our visit was enjoyable and memorable. When in the New England area, we will not stay anywhere else.


Best Anniversary Trip Ever

5 on October 20, 2011

Sandy does this line of work from her heart. It shows in how she takes care of her quests and her home which I might add is spotless. The little things she does which were too many to tell here really made the trip so special. She is a kind person what I call a people person. You know there are things in life that people are called to do, I think Sandy and Ron have truly found their calling. If you have a chance to go to this area, I urge you to call and make plans with Sandy at the Above the Bay at Thornton Adams House. You will not regret making that call. I hope that my husband and I can go back there again. It is a place that I would love to visit again and again. God bless you on your trip and Sandy, thanks for all you did for us. It is a great memory for us and as I said a new lease on life. Hugs and love.


Fantastic B&B great hospitality

4.0 on October 18, 2011

We have had a very nice stay with the family at Above the Bay B&B! Sandy is a great hostess, she knows what hospitality is about! The rooms are big, clean and very nice decorated! The breakfast is the best in town and the location is grea for going either to the harbour or beach. When we go back to Plymouth we definitely go back here and we recommend it to everyone! Family from Maastricht / Netherlands


If you want all the positives!! This is the place for you!

5 on October 11, 2011

We just spent three wonderful days with our gracious host, owner and operator of the Thornton Adams House, Sandy Stuart. This is a beautifully appointed colonial tucked back amongst the foliage with birds flitting about preparing their homes for winter. The birds actually smile because they live on the grounds. There are wonderful views of the ocean across the street and the beach is just a short drive or bike ride away. Sandy made our stay relaxing,filled with wonderful conversation and delicious gourmet breakfasts!! She is very knowledgeable of the area and will suggest ways to enhance your visit,such as, special events,museums,walks, tours,art exhibits,entertainment and provide maps to direct you there. We found the diamond in the rough!!


The warmest welcome of any B&B ever!

4.4 on August 29, 2011

Sandy is the warmest friendliest B&B hostess ever! She makes you feel completely at home! The rooms are just lovely - beautifully decorated and very clean. But the nicest thing is the warmth of the welcome. We'll definitely be back!!


Great Place to Stay

4.0 on August 11, 2011

We spent three nights and they were great. The room was attractive, clean and bright. Sandy is a wonderful host, very friendly, and serves great homemade breakfasts. She had lots of good advice on attractions in the area and restaurants for supper. She even had a discount card we used for the nearby Plimouth Plantation. We'd have no hesitation staying again or recommending Thornton Adams to others.


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast; very charming!

5 on August 08, 2011

Beautiful, charming home; great location. We truly felt like we were staying with friends, Sandy is delightful and so accommodating. She certainly makes her guests feel welcome and at home. She was so helpful and a very good resource for restaurant recommendations. Sandy make a delicious breakfast and servers it beautifully. The first morning we were there my husband had to leave very early for a business meeting in Duxbury and Sandy had coffee and a pastry waiting for him before he left. She certainly goes above and beyond! We tole her the only thing that we were disappointed in during our stay was that we did no meet her husband. A totally delightful stay!


Fantastic host and breakfast!

4.8 on August 08, 2011

We stayed here with our 16yr old daughter in July on the top floor of the house. The rooms were spacious and very clean. Sandy was a great host and very knowledgable about the local area. She also supplied a fantastic breakfast where nothing was too much trouble. She gave a very good discount voucher to vist the Plimouth Plantation and Mayflower 2 which are well worth a visit. We would love to stay again!


Wonderful Stay in Plymouth

5 on July 10, 2011

Our stay at Above the Bay at Thornton Adams House in Plymouth Mass was a wonderful experience. The house was lovely, comfortable and well maintained with beautiful rooms that overlook the ocean. Sandy and Ron were excellent hosts and made us feel like friends visiting for the weekend. Sandy is an excellent cook. I am on a gluten-free diet and Sandy went out of her way to accommodate my diet, while trying new recipes to make sure I had "treats" for the weekend. We plan to visit Plymouth again within the year and will stay with Sandy and Ron.


Second to None!

4.0 on July 08, 2011

A bit of heaven, plus some, and hosts that are not angels, but almost! Sandi and Ron Stuart made our four day visit to Plymouth and Cape Cod enjoyable and unforgettable. Sandi without a doubt made the most creative and BEST tasting breakfast we have ever encountered at ANY B&B. Every morning was a new experience and great taste treat. The conversations in the dining room with the other guests and Sandi were very informative with lots of laughs. We look forward to future visits and highly recommend a stay at the Inn. The views from the rooms are spectacular. Tom & Anneliese Ferri 4th July weekend 2011


Excellent Bed and Breakfast

5 on June 30, 2011

Amazing Bed and Breakfast in Plymouth, Ma. Beautiful rooms with private bathrooms, gas fireplace in livingroom, and outanding breakfast! The owners, Ron & Sandy are so friendly and welcoming and make you feel right at home. All the bedrooms have ocean views, and the location is close to the beach, town, and great restaurants. I highly recommend this B & B!


It's a super place!

4.0 on June 30, 2011

We "landed" in Ron&Sandy's hose just by chance, coming from Boston. Stayed there only one night, but it was simply superb. Sandy is a very friendly person, who made everything to make as feel as in our own home. During breakfast we had a nice conversation too, together with other guests from NH. It was outstanding, hope we can come back again, even it's a little far from our home (Valdivia, Chile). Thanks for all your attentions, Sandy. Greetings, Peter & Sylvia


Exceded Expectations

5 on May 30, 2011

If you are looking for a place to stay in Plymouth, this is it. It is a beautiful three story house overlooking the water, beautifully decorated and very comfortable, spacious rooms. Sandy, the owner, prepared a delicious, full breakfast on time every morning, keeping in mind some food allergys in our group. She had set a beautiful table and had coffee and tea waiting for us when we got up. Sandy also helped by telling us of the best places to visit and best restaurants for dinner. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and look forward to staying there again.


Great escape from Boston!

4.8 on April 27, 2011

Gorgeous house and a very pleasant weekend getaway from Boston. Sandy was terrific


Great stay

5 on February 12, 2011

Excellent B&B. Just spent 2 days there and found it to be very nice in all ways. We stay at B&Bs frequently when we travel and this is, definitely, one of our favorites and the one we will return to when we are in the Plymouth area. The rooms are very comfortable and clean, and breakfast was great. Sandy and Ron, the owner/innkeepers, are delightful and very accommodating with any “concierge” request. They know the area well and all their recommendations were right on the mark. The building was built to be a B&B so we were a little concerned that it might be a little institutional, but that was definitely not the case. It is nicely functional while at the same time it is quite charming. And the views of Cape Cod Bay across the road are spectacular. Give Sandy and Ron a try I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.


New Years Eve

4.8 on January 02, 2011

Wonderful evening. Great conversation with other guests at brunch the following morning. Rooms where clean and nicely appointed.


Home away from home

5 on December 30, 2010

I travel for work and Hotels are not the best for a long assignment This place is not like any other B&B I have stayed in. Sandy the Inn Keeper goes the extra mile on everything. The INN is warm and pleasant and has all that a working traveler would need Full Home made breakfast Wireless Free Internet In Suite BR Large A view of the Ocean from every room Best B&B I have ever stayed at I tell everyone this is the place to go when in Plymout Thanks for the hospitlality From a greatful traveler


Best B&B Experience Ever

5 on December 30, 2010

We stayed at the Thornton Adams House over Christmas and it was a wonderful experience - even though we got snowed-in for an extra 2 days! The house and grounds were beautiful - just like a post card - with all of the Christmas decorations and snow. Sandy upgraded us to the jacuzzi room as a special Christmas treat, and it was very pretty and clean and had everything we needed to be warm and comfortable. In fact, the bed was so comfortable that it was hard to make ourselves get out of it in the mornings. Sandy's breakfasts were a highlight and I left with so many recipes. I especially liked the New England Cranberry Cake Pie recipe - but don't ask for that recipe, it's a secret. Sandy and Ron are the perfect B&B hosts and made us feel welcome and right at home - like we were staying with a favorite cousin or aunt and uncle. When our flight was cancelled for the 2nd day in a row, Sandy was concerned we would run out of clean clothes and even offered to do a load of laundry for us. Really, they went above and beyond and we cannot recommend their B&B more highly. We're looking forward to staying there again this summer. Thank you, Sandy and Ron! Tracy and Dave from Virginia Beach, VA


Thanksgiving Visit

5 on November 29, 2010

Everything that you will read about the charming rooms and wonderful food is absolutely true but what struck me most was Sandy's ability to make you feel like a friend who just popped in for a visit. Breakfast was relaxed and cheerful with all the guests chatting together and Sandy keeping an eye on everything like a mother hen. The atmosphere felt homey with interesting books everywhere and a comfortable living room where it is tempting to spend some time reading them. I've already made a plan to stay with Sandy again in a couple of months.


Favourite B&B

5 on October 20, 2010

We stayed here during our New England trip from the UK. Sandy was friendly, helpful and the pancakes, quiche and eccles cakes were delicious for breakfast. We stayed in Erin's room which was very peaceful with two comfy chairs with good lighting for reading, the room also has a sea view. Sandy recommended a whale watching trip which we thoroughly enjoyed. We will definitely be staying with Sandy again on our next trip to New England. Andrew & Shirley - UK


1st time bed and breakfast

4.0 on September 28, 2010

Es war wunderschön. Sandy hat uns datu überredet 2 Nächte zu bleiben und doch den Zug nach Boston zu nehmen. Dieses war eine super Tip. Keine Parkplatzprobleme und direkt ind er City von Boston auststeigen ohen Stress. Einfach klasse. Frühstück war super. Empfehlungen für Dinner wasren auch gut. Thank you Sandy. The german couple from Meckenheim /Bonn


Felt Like family

4.0 on September 03, 2010

From the minute we arrived we were greeted with a warm smile and felt so very welcome. The inn was immaculate. The decor beautiful! The Breakfast was delicious! you could feel and see the love that Sandy put into this elegant B&B a most pleasant experience!


bed and breakfast stay

4.0 on August 08, 2010

I thought it was a little closer to town but it was very nice. Beautiful view and the room was very clean.


LOVED IT!

5 on July 26, 2010

Me and my sister stayed at the Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast over the fourth of July weekend. It was the best place ever! The owner Sandy was a wonderful person and an amazing chef as well. (Go out and buy her cookbook when she gets it published but first stay here so the real cook can make your food) She helped us with everything we needed including where to visit, telling us places to eat and the fun sites to visit in Plymouth. The rooms were extremely neat and super comfortable. My sister and I didn't want to get out of bed but the gorgeous bay view from our window and delicious breakfast woke us up. This is a one of a kind place that you will just have to stay at to see how fabulous it really is!


Outstanding

5 on July 21, 2010

Very friendly hostess, yummy breakfasts - nice and cozy rooms.


Home Away From Home

4.2 on July 17, 2010

Superb!! You need to stay at Above the Bay because it is a charming house and Sandy is the best!!! She is so welcoming and friendly!! I loved being in Plymouth because of her!! She was willing to make us what we wanted for breakfast to help lower my sugar. She was extremely helpful with telling us the spots to visit and the spots not to visit!! Her dining recommendations were perfect!! She went way above the call of her duty!! She is so friendly and kind that even the windshield repair place knew who she was and said that she was sooo nice. I'm glad we left the Marblehead early (due to a bad BnB) and stayed with Sandy for 3 days!! She even told us where to catch the ferry to get to Martha's Vineyard. We loved everything about the Above the Bay!! We well let everyone know to stay with Sandy!!


A Most Amazing and Restful Place

5 on July 08, 2010

I have traveled throughout the U.S. and Europe and love staying at inns and frequently do. This one is in the top tier of inns in which I have stayed. Not only are the rooms and bathrooms beautifully appointed and really clean, but the warmth and accommodating innkeeper, Sandy, made our stay one of the most enjoyable and restful mini-vacations we have had in a very long time. The breakfasts were notable proof of her excellent culinary skills, and coffee and tea were available even before breakfast. Cute, helpful signage helped us help ourselves, but Sandy's presence was always there to get whatever we needed. She treated us like royalty. She was there with great suggestions for local activities, and guidance on how to best get around with all of the July 4th celebrations. I did not want to leave.


Great location, delicious breakfast, loads of local info...

4.8 on June 25, 2010

Sandy is a great source for fun things to do all around the area. She knows all the best places for dinner too! Love her breakfast and our beds were very comfy. Thanks for a great 3 nights!


The Thornton Adams B&B

4.8 on June 24, 2010

delightful host and hostess; gorgeous views and the best breakfast with a special item as a treat. Close to good shopping, good restaurants and history galore. The gardens are a delight - the perfect place for two or (as with us) 8 lifetime friends to meet and enjoy!


Wonderful Time

5 on June 24, 2010

We enjoyed our few days at Thornton Adams House. We had excellent accommodations, delicious breakfasts, and the innkeepers Sandy & Ron made us feel right at home. It's a place to stay if you are visiting historic Plymouth.


wonderful getaway

4.6 on April 29, 2010

We had a wonderful mini-vacation: great location, fabulous breakfast, lovely house. Sandy, the owner, was warm and funny and so charming, it made it a wonderful place to stay.


"We keep coming back"

5 on April 21, 2010

Our first stay was four years ago and we keep coming back every year. Ron and Sandy are very warm and gracious hosts. The breakfasts are always delicious, the room and bed very comfortable and the information about the area very knowledgeable. As always, Sandy was very attentive in making our stay as comfortable as possible.


Perfect Beantown Getaway

3.6 on April 16, 2010

The Thornton Adams B&B provides a perfect getaway for the stressed out Bostonian. Great value is nothing compared to the uber-friendly personality of Sandy, the innkeeper, and cute pooch Angus! Her recommendations were spot on.


Wonderful!

5 on March 23, 2010

From Brazil. The place is very near the sea, the view is very nice, the house is very nice! The owner is very kindly and does a wonderful breakfast!


R&R at B&B

3.4 on February 25, 2010

I was able to accomplish just what I set out to do.... relax! The Inn was quiet and roomy. The innkeeper - "Sandy" extremely hospitable. Will definitely return!


The best we've ever enjoyed

4.8 on January 09, 2010

Ron & Sandy were hosts beyond expectation. Sandy went above and beyond to accommodate special food requests for breakfast. Rooms are immaculate and beautifully decorated. We went at Christmas time and the holiday accents were adorable. Wonderful place, wonderful hosts, wonderful stay.


A bril time

5 on December 07, 2009

My husband & i stayed with Ron & Sandy for 3 wonderful days. They were very welcoming and made us feel soooo much at home. Sandy's cooking is out of this world, we often talked about various recipes and have swopped some too! Plenty of info was given to us as to what to do, where to go etc We had a wonderful time in Plymouth, would have loved to stay longer...but we had flights to catch to Bermuda. We would recommend this B&B to anyone. S


Beautiful, comfortable, welcoming!

4.6 on October 30, 2009

A day of touring can take its toll on you. You could use a pleasant, comfortable retreat by the end of the day. This spot is for you! The hostess is gracious and accommodating. The rooms are meticulously clean and well appointed. The breakfast is tasty and served graciously. Ahhh! A place for rest and rejuvenation.


Exceeded my expectations

5 on October 26, 2009

The stay exceeded my expectations. Accommodations were spacious, comfortable, super- clean and had all the comforts of home. The food (made especially for me due to a food allergy) was abundant and in the gourmet style. The hostess, Sandy Stuart, was available, attentive, helpful and professional. I’m looking for a reason to return to Plymouth soon, just to stay at this lovely Bed and Breakfast once again.


Wonderful!

4.8 on October 15, 2009

Ron & Sandy are perfect B&Bers. Spotless home, comfort for a queen & king and wonderful breakfast.


Best in country

5 on October 13, 2009

The most beautiful and friendly B&B we've been to. Rooms were immaculate with a beautiful view of the bay. Sandy's breakfast was unbelievable as was the time she and Ron spent with us. Truly worth the drive from Texas.


wonderful visit

4.0 on October 04, 2009

This is a lovely B&B with charm, elegance, and great innkeepers. Breakfast is terrific and the setting with the ocean view is superb. Highly recommended. Would definitely return. Fran in Los Angeles


Amazing Place

5 on September 29, 2009

Thornton Adams House B&B is the most wonderful Bed and Breakfast nestled in green foliage on the coast of Massachusetts near Plymouth Rock. The ocean view is extraordinary from the windows of the B&B, and each room has its own unique personality. The owner, Sandy, gives everything a special touch, from all the amenities to the glorious breakfast, which is a culinary delight that your taste buds won’t want to miss. Don’t miss this experience! We would go again in a heart beat!


SURPRISE SURPRISE

5 on September 26, 2009

Ron and Sandy extend the warmest of welcomes. The house, and rooms, are fabulous. The food is home made at breakfast and super. You will want to return again as we do. Value for money excellent. Best wishes to you all James and Jenny, UK


thonton stay

5 on September 21, 2009

we arrived and were warmly greeted, we had a ocean view in a clean nicely decorated room with a private bath, wonderful breakfast, stayed 2 nights, will be going back soon, plymouth is a 2 mile walk past beautiful homes with a spectacular bay view. pam and bruce tooker


Our home for family reunion

5 on August 27, 2009

We spent a wonderful 4 night stay at the Above the Bay B & B in Plymouth, MA as our base for a family reunion in Aug. 2009. Sandy & Ron were great hosts. The home was very comfortable. We had the 3rd floor suite to ourselves. Sandy's hot breakfasts were all very delicious. The table was set with beautiful glass dishes and silverware. Their gardens attracted many birds, including hummingbirds - were maticulously maintained. We would certainly recommend their home to others and would definitely stay there again. Many thanks Sandy and Ron for making our trip most memorable! - Scott & Laura, Canton, Ohio


Friendly, Fantasic Food & Unforgetable

5 on August 09, 2009

There is no better getaway than to enjoy the courtesy, care and love that Sandy provides. The restful sleep is in a cozy lovely room and to wake up to a beautiful breakfast of meticulous detail cannot be beat. We loved this experience!!


remember september 2008

5 on August 02, 2009

Hallo Sandy and Ron, we remember the time in september 2008 as we stayed at the loveliest and also harmonic place in plymouth. The room was so sweet like "north and south in the 19th century". It was a pleasure and also privilege to be your guest for a week. Thanks for a unforgettable moment in plymouth. Best Regards from Gernany, Steffen and Sandra. God bless you...


Wonderful Stay

4.8 on August 01, 2009

Stayed 8 nights. Excellent place to stay, fantastic breakfast, excellent location, Sandy and Ron are just wonderful hosts.


Heaven on the Road!!!

5 on July 06, 2009

We spent one night here and I wish we had stayed longer. The bed was the best I had ever slept on when away from home. Even the pillows were perfect. The shower in the downstairs room has enough room for three people and the shower head works great. The entire house is very clean and the food excellent. I could only wish to cook that well. The spirit in the house is very comfortable and the Innkeepers are very kind and supportive. I cant recommend this Bed & Breakfast enough! Good location as well. Guests can walk to some of the local attractions. My husband enjoyed photographing the little critters that came to the deck to steal what food they could. He really enjoyed himself, which is very rare! Wonderful experience...You wont have to invite me twice! I am already on my way!


great smile

4.8 on June 19, 2009

Sandy is a delight with a grand smile in the morning. The rooms are impeccable, clean, and not overly fussy, You will be quite satisfied.


Charming place

4.4 on April 13, 2009

The stay was wonderful at this extremely well-run B&B. Sandy, the host, was a wealth of information and the breakfast and rooms were superb!


warm and wonderful!

5 on April 10, 2009

Great food- helpful travel/tourist info- cozy and clean. Terrific breakfasts with take away goodies for snacking!


A wonderful experience

4.6 on April 09, 2009

Sandy is a wonderful hostess and made us feel right at home. the breakfasts were really delicious. I highly recommend this place and will be back!


Feb 2009

5 on March 27, 2009

Lovely B&B, friendly innkeepers (very helpful regarding local sites), excellent breakfast, comfortable bed, peaceful night. Highly recommended.


Sandy

5 on March 27, 2009

The stay was very relaxing. To wake up to the breath-taking view was fantastic!


Like nothing you'd ever expect!

4.8 on January 12, 2009

When you come stay here, you're coming to a home you haven't yet known. When you leave, a little piece comes with you!


A vacation of a lifetime.

5 on January 05, 2009

We stayed here a week in Sept. Had a very wonderful trip, Sandy and Ron couldn't have been more helpfull in all ways. Everything exceeded our expectations. Breakfast was a 5-6 star every morning. She catered to our every need. You will love your stay. I highly recommend you to stay with them. Couldn't have been any better. Jim and Darlene


Thanks & Giving Review

4.8 on December 28, 2008

Great Food!!! Warm hospitality for my family of 6. Educated us on the places to go in Plymouth, on the Cape, as well as in and around downtown Boston. One of the top B&B's we have stayed at.


Amazing!!!

3.8 on December 20, 2008

This was my first time ever staying at this type of establishment. Sandy and Ron are two very amazing people and will do anything to take care of you. There isn't much of an ocean view from the jacuzzi suite but it is an amazing area and so close to everything. This is a perfect place to stay for a nice romantic weekend or getaway from home.


great breakfast

3.6 on December 09, 2008

We had a great time and got plenty of tips for what to do and where to eat that made our trip more enjoyable.


clean and quiet

3.4 on November 21, 2008

the inn was perfect for a weekend getaway


Awesome place to stay!

5 on November 09, 2008

Beautiful home, delicious breakfasts and very gracious hosts who knew the area and was able to give us directions. Would definately go again! Thanks Ron & Sandy! Blessings from Mike & Karen


cozy, beautiful, wonderful

5 on October 31, 2008

Darrell called and talked to Sandy. He told her we're getting married and wanted to do something other than hotel/motel. Lovely room, lovely home, lovely people! I would go back in a minute. 1st anniversary perhaps?!?


Wonderful visit

4.6 on October 29, 2008

Well managed, beautiful B&B. innkeeper prepared breakfast to go when we could not attend breakfast. Very helpful on shops and restaurants. Thoroughly enjoyable.


Thorton Adams

3.8 on October 27, 2008

great service, friendly hosts, good food.


wonderful weekend stay

5 on October 27, 2008

Our room was beautiful with a fabulous view. Breakfast was great and the innkeeper (Sandy)couldn't be nicer. She gave us many helpful suggestions on what to do and where to eat. I only wish we could have stayed longer - we will be back!


Above the Bay at Thorton Adams

3.6 on October 24, 2008

homey, friendly, helpful, and fun!


Girls 60th Birthday Getaway

5 on October 18, 2008

6 of us girls (or should I say women) whom have been friends since Junior High School, went on our 10 year trip (we celebrate the big ones) and decided to go to the New England area. One of the girls had stayed here before and highly recommended it. What an incredible B & B. It was very well decorated, clean, warm friendly atmosphere and the breakfast was delicious. We stayed there for 5 nights and had a wonderful time. Ron and Sandy are excellent hosts. Sandy gave us many ideas on what to see and where to go which just made our trip that more wonderful. If you are ever in that area, definetly check out their B & B, you won't be sorry. Thank you very much for your warm friendly hospitality. If I am ever in that area again I will definetly be a guest. JB


we had a lovely time

4.6 on October 12, 2008

The large room was beautifully decorated,clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, and our hosts were so friendly and helpful. We only wish that our stay was longer!


A perfect visit

5 on September 17, 2008

We loved our stay. The room was beautiful - location convenient and the food excellent. We will come again.


A wonderful weekend in Plymouth

4.4 on September 09, 2008

We arrived in Plymouth very late (around 10:30PM) on the Friday evening of Labor Day weekend. We were met with a warm welcome from the innkeeper, Sandy. The rest of the weekend was no different. Ron and Sandy were very hospitable and treated us like we were close friends. We really enjoyed the gourmet breakfasts each morning (we usually didn't need lunch!) We stayed in Erin's Boudoir, the cozy room in the front corner of the house with the beautiful ocean view. Sandy was very helpful in making sure we were comfortable and by orienting us to the area. She even called ahead to make reservations at Cafe Strega and there was a great table by the window reserved for us when we got there. The Thornton Adams House is very centrally located with a lot of sights nearby (Plimoth Plantation, whale watching, deep sea fishing, Martha's Vineyard, Plymouth Rock, Mayflower II, museums, galleries, etc.) Thank you Ron and Sandy for a lovely weekend. We hope to return soon!


Great stay above the Bay

4.4 on September 01, 2008

The hosts were very friendly and helpful in pointing out local area attractions. The location is great (near the Plimoth Plantation, near the beach, a short drive to downtown and the Miles Standish park.) Breakfast was wonderful! We had a really nice time and would recommend this place to others.


Above the Bay at Thornton Adams House

4.6 on August 20, 2008

A perfect location with an ocean view, but away from the hustle and bustle. Sandy went out of her way to accomidate my special diet and help us in our home away from home. Would return.


A Delightful Story

4.6 on August 19, 2008

My husband and i took a quick trip to Plymouth and found ourselves at this lovely B&B. Lovely rooms, greta view of ocean, Close to great resturants and activities. Our hotess was delightful and the food was fabulous. We'll be back!


An Outstanding B & B

5 on August 19, 2008

A wonderful place to stay!


An Excellent B&B.

4.6 on August 19, 2008

Excellent room. Great food. Fantastic company. Just the place to stay.


our 2 night stay

5 on August 19, 2008

Absolutely wonderful visit. Our hosts were very accomidating and helpful. Great conversation and commaradarie.


The best BB

4.8 on August 12, 2008

Everything was perfect; nice room, very good breakfasts and Sandy was so nice with all of us and helpful to plan our visit.


"....this rates top notch".

5 on July 31, 2008

Absolutely wonderful - of all the B&B's we have stayed in across the US, this rates top notch.


Absolutely Wonderful

5 on July 28, 2008

The Inn and the Innkeepers are absolutely wonderful. I will be returning and highly recommend it to everyone for an exceptional stay!


Summer in Plymouth

5 on July 25, 2008

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at "Above The Bay at Thornton Adams House": Comfortable, clean, luxurious, very friendly, great location, outstanding breakfasts.


Above the Bay

3.4 on July 24, 2008

Nice Innkeeper, Great breakfast


Thornton Adams House

3.8 on July 15, 2008

Very hospitable, great food, great location.


"A lovely Stay"

3.8 on July 13, 2008

Our recent stay at the Thornton Adams House was delightful. It is a well appointed, spotlessly clean Inn. The owners are informative and friendly, breakfast was delicious, and we were just minutes from everywhere we wanted to go.


above the rest

4.6 on June 26, 2008

the Thornton Adams is not only above the bay, it is above the rest when it comes to hospitality, accommodations, amenities, views and location. the hot breakfast was wonderful.


Perfection in Plymouth

5 on June 20, 2008

This is the perfect base for exploring all the wonderful places from Boston to Cape Cod & Rhode Island. The accommodation is only surpassed by the amazing freshly cooked breakfasts served by the hostess Sandy. I spend a week here...


great stay!

4.8 on June 20, 2008

exceptionally clean inn.excellent gourmet breakfasts. great location close to Plymouth with ocean news. friendly hosts


the best!

5 on June 18, 2008

awesome breakfasts and amazing hospitality!


B & B's are the best.

5 on June 10, 2008

We had reservations at a local hotel, but at the last minute changed it to this B&B-we knew we'd be more comfortable and we were right. Lovely company, beautiful room, grounds, and home, and delicious, nutritious breakfasts. It made our trip perfect.


A Wonderful Stay by the Bay

5 on December 18, 2007

In October, we were fortunate to have found a wonderful B&B called "Above the Bay at Thornton Adams" on the south edge of Plymouth MA and very near to the Plimouth Plantation which is a MUST see for anyone going near there. The beautiful grounds and building overlooking Plymouth Harbor is a great match with the proud owners who could not do enough for us during our four day stay. The furnishings are done in excellent taste and the rooms contain a wonderful mix of the old and new. We enjoyed visiting with the other guests, several from outside the U. S., during the delicious breakfasts that were prepared from scratch each morning. Our host and hostess provided many good suggestions on what to see and how to find numerous sights to visit.


Above the Bay at Thornton Adams.

5 on October 17, 2007

Our room was spacious and immaculate. Each breakfast was delicious, obviously well planned. Our hostess was very delightful and made our stay special.


Friendly Hospitality

4.8 on October 16, 2007

I rate the Thornton Adams among the best B&Bs we’ve stayed at. Sandy and Ron are very friendly and attended to our every need. The room was spotless and very comfortable. The full breakfast was consistently delicious. A wonderful stay!


Unbelievable beautiful

4.6 on October 15, 2007

My girlfriend and me enjoyed our stay at this gorgeous place in Plymouth. Every single detail is just perfect - and with a view on the ocean from your bedroom it is unbeatable. Which we could have stayed longer!! - F&A


Thornton Adams.

4.4 on October 08, 2007

Excellent breakfast. Lovely company.


Great Place to Stay

5 on October 01, 2007

My wife and I enjoyed our trip very much. I came up for a 10K race in town and I'm very happy we chose to stay here. Sandy was very helpful with recommendations on where to eat and what to see in Plymouth. The breakfasts were spectacular and we particularly enjoyed the blackberries from Sandy's backyard. Very clean rooms, great hospitality, I would recommend the Thornton Adams House to everyone.


wonderful B&B

5 on September 26, 2007

A beautful view of the water, just far enough outside of town to be tranquil at night, fantastic breakfasts, and very friendly hosts. This is what a B& B should "B"!


Above the Bay at Thornton Adams.

4.6 on September 21, 2007

Dining oustanding. Great inn.


Delightful!

5 on September 14, 2007

Beautifully furnished, wonderful hospitality, delicious food. All in all a delightful place to stay!


The Best Hospitality

5 on September 14, 2007

Beautiful home, wonderful breakfast and the best hospitality anywhere!!


The final stop on my journey

4.6 on July 19, 2007

What a great place for the last two nights of my 15 day trip around New England. My room and bathroom were fabulous and spacious; the location was much better than I had originally thought (it's hard to know when you've never been to an area before), Ron and Sandy were gracious hosts, and I loved the camaraderie around the breakfast table--with everyone sharing where they had gone the day before and plans for the idea. It was easy to get good ideas from the other guests as well as from the hosts. I wished I had been able to stay and extra day.


Above the Bay at Thornton Adams House

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5088301849
  • Fax 1-5087472202
  • Toll free 1-8887479700

Visit Website »

View details

Top