167 Water Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
56 Reviews

Write A Review

Sweet, Lovely, Comfortable, Friendly

4.0 on November 26, 2013

167 is a 5-10 minute walk from the downtown, and closer to a great birdwatching spot. Chuck and Anne are great hosts, interesting and fun to talk with. These review stars are sort of odd. If I expected a place to be really terrific and it is, is that "met expectations", exceeded expectations", or "outstanding"? This place is great!


Lovely

5 on November 02, 2013

The house/room are very comfortable. The best though, I think, was the breakfast! There were lots of lovely options! And it is clear that Anne and Chuck have enjoyed their travels, the decor reflects that. It was a lovely stay!


Wonderful stay

4.6 on October 16, 2013

We had a wonderful visit in our cozy room and a great time experiencing Newburyport.


Perfect

5 on August 30, 2013

Chuck and Anne were fantastic hosts. The room and location is fantastic and we can't wait to come visit again. Perfect!!


Great stay

5 on August 30, 2013

Comfy bed, great breakfast - A very cozy stay.


Very friendly owners

4.4 on August 29, 2013

Very friendly, cozy place to stay. Adorable couple - great traveling tips - go and meet Chuck and Ann - lovely!


Thoughtful hosts, comfortable stay

4.2 on August 26, 2013

Our hosts were friendly and conversational but left us comfortable on our own. They also went above and beyond to provide vegan and gluten-free breakfast items. We loved our time there and will hope to return on our next visit.


Nice room, nice people

5 on August 23, 2013

Chuck and Anne were very knowledgable about the travel, info around Newburyport.


Feels like home

4.4 on August 22, 2013

Near a very nice town. Had nice time.


Great stay

5 on August 21, 2013

So wonderful, clean, warm, convenient to town and beach in walking distance. Lovely owners and a great relaxing stay.


A positive surprise

5 on August 16, 2013

Imagine going to an 1840s B&B on the water in Mass. and finding yourself surrounded by an African and Mexican museum! The Kennedy's are well travelled, well spoken, knowledgeable and perfect hosts.


Charming B&B, great location

4.6 on August 09, 2013

My mother, husband and I spent a few nights here and really enjoyed our stay. The house is very charming and conveniently located, walking distance from downtown Newburyport. The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. Ann and Chuck were very welcoming and helpful with recommendations. For breakfast we had a selection of nice breads and jams, cereals, hard boiled eggs and different fresh, summer fruit cups each day. It was all in all a wonderful place and we would highly recommend it.


We'll Be Back

5 on July 25, 2013

Excellent B and B. The owners could not have been anymore accommodating. They knew the area well and every dinner recommendation was spot on! We felt very at home here and would definitely stay here on our next visit to Newburyport. Tom and Gerri


A Texas Traveler's delight

4.8 on July 12, 2013

Definitely enjoyed my time with Chuck and Anne. The room was nice and cozy after a day long exploration of Newburyport! I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone. (; will be back


bellissimo

5 on July 03, 2013

Siamo stati in questo bellissimo B&B in occasione di un recentissimo viaggio negli USA e abbiamo scoperto la grandissima cortesia e squisita ospitalità dei proprietari Chuck e Anzie. La casa è molto accogliente e la stanza ,in particolare wuella affacciata sul fiume assicura una vista splendida. eccellente colazione


un posto splendido

5 on July 03, 2013

Un posto splendido in un borgo tranquillo, affacciato sul fiume. I proprietari sono cortesi,affabili e simpatici. la colazione, servita in una sala molto intima e familiare è di prima qualità. Vorremmo ritornarci


Great time

4.4 on June 30, 2013

Thanks Ann and Chuck! What a wonderful place you have. The rooms were spacious and the bed comfortable. I loved the bathroom sink. The bowl from Mexico is lovely. I loved the atmosphere of your home its warm and had a old world charm. I plan to return next year!


Lovely B&B

4.4 on June 17, 2013

We had a great stay at 167 Water on our visit to the US from Australia. Anne and Chuck were fantstic hosts and gave us some very helpful tips for the rest of our trip around the New England area. They were also happy to accommodate my food allergies for our lovely breakfast!


Cute Place, Lovely Couple.

4.6 on May 24, 2013

Chuck and Anne are a very nice couple with a charming home. I would highly recommend to anyone visiting Newburyport.


Comfy...felt like we were with family

5 on October 24, 2012

This is the only B&B I will ever stay at in Newburyport. I wanted ambiance, and that's exactly what I got. Chuck and Ann are gracious hosts and really made us feel welcome. The bed was so comfortable...wish I could take it home with me! I also love the fact that there are only 2 rooms (and the other room was vacant during our stay) so we had total privacy. Just enough of a walk from the shops and restaurants to walk off dinner makes 167 Water Street the total package! E komo mai...welcome


167 Water Street

3.4 on October 03, 2012

Very nice B&B, owners were super nice & friendly. I will definitely stay there again when I visit family.


Wonderful B&B

4.8 on September 24, 2012

This is a lovely B&B in the center of lovely Newburyport, MA. Very conveniently located, close to Plum Island. Chuck & Anne are wonderful hosts!


Meet Anne and Chuck

4.8 on September 04, 2012

Anne and Chuck are the owners of "167 Water St." and will provide a wonderful stay at this little B&B tucked away on the waterfront in downtown Newburyport.


GREAT AND COMFORTABLE B & b

4.2 on September 13, 2011

Anne and Chuck were great hosts from when we arrived with Chuck helping us with our luggage up the flight of stairs to when we left this quaint and nice B & B. Our room was nice and comfortable, and air-conditioned, and breakfast was nice too. We will definitely consider staying here again when we travel back to Newburyport. Thank you very much Anne and Chuck from Karen and Mike in Dallas, Texas.


167 Water

5 on August 07, 2011

Great!


Beautiful room, magic city

4.6 on August 03, 2011

Newburyport is an amazing town and 167 Water Street is a pleasant walk to all of it. The hosts were absolutely wonderful: helpful, fun and great hosts. An additional plus is proximity to Plum Island where there is a national wildlife preserve plus wonderful recreational beaches.


Awesome stay in Newburyport

4.6 on July 23, 2011

For a trip to the north along the coast we were looking for a family run B&B with close contact to the owners -- and we really found what we were looking for: helpful friendly owners, big breakfast and a lot of interesting stories and many good tips on what to do in the area.


An Excellent Place

3.0 on October 14, 2009

I highly recommend this bed & breakfast. Hosts were friendly and knowledgeable; room was clean and attractive; location was great. I will definitely be back.


A coastal treasure

4.6 on September 03, 2009

Newburyport is an energetic, historical city at the junction of the Merrimack River and the Atlantic Ocean. Situated near the center of the city and near the beaches of Plum Island, this B&B is a treasure, brought to a brilliant shine by its hosts, Anne & Chuck.


A terrific find

4.6 on July 19, 2009

The art and general historical interest of this intimate and charming little row house b and b make it a "must-stay" for intelligent travellers. The innkeeper couple truly have the "mine host" spirit and are deeply knowledgeable about the area.


Visit during our way up to Maine

5 on June 15, 2009

It was just outstanding & a pleaasure to stay at B&B 167 Water Street Neburyport MA we may highly recomand this one. Best Service & Hospitality 2 German guests from "sunshine State Baden"


Felt at home

4.6 on June 09, 2009

If you want a real B& B experience, try 167 Water. A real lived -in home with gracious hosts who work at making your stay comfortable. A wealth of knowledge about the local scene which is huge. Great breakfast. Enjoyed the sunrise from the bedroom over the river. Newburyport is a great location for seeing Boston and the North Shore. Interesting decor from around the world.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your nice words. Come back and see us!!


We felt at home!

4.6 on June 03, 2009

We felt at home! Anne and Chuck are fun, friendly and helpful. They accommodated my no wheat, dairy or sugar request by graciously finding soy milk, rice crackers, quinoa and parsley. We enjoyed the colorful artwork and the river view. The beds are comfortable and it is so nice to wake up with a sunrise water view. We loved walking downtown and meeting interesting people who were staying in the other bedroom.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your nice words. Come back and see us!!


Great value, location, and hosts

5 on November 12, 2008

Anne and Chuck are sweet and accommodating; not to mention they have the best price in town. I'm sure that we'll be back again.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you. We hope to see you again.


would not stay again

1.6 on September 10, 2008

Innkeepers are nice but the inn is another matter. Smell of mold all downstairs, bathroom tub not cleaned from last guests, and location is fair at best. I am also shocked with rave reviews concerning breakfast since it consisted of granola, fruit and toast each morning. I was very disappointed to read all the great reviews and find what I did.

Innkeeper Response
We are very surprised by your email since no one has ever given us such comments while they were at our B&B or written them in our guest book. I am sorry that you did not speak to us at the time (July - it is now the end of September) as we would have done everything in our power to ensure you had a wonderful stay. Please feel free to write us so we can talk with you and see how we can incorporate any of your feedback.


Perfect Weekend

5 on July 21, 2008

Great place with an international flair and best breakfast ever had at a B&B

Innkeeper Response
Thank you. We hope to see you again.


Wonderful place to stay

4.6 on July 11, 2008

We really enjoyed our visit at 167 Water. Chuck and Anne are lovely hosts and their place has an ideal location--walking distance from downtown and easily accessible to Plum Island. Highly recommended.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for the nice review. We hope to see you again.


very nice

5 on June 13, 2008

very comfortable and warm, wonderful home.i will return

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your nice review. Hope you will come back and see us soon!


Amazing Hosts!

4.6 on June 11, 2008

Great value that came with priceless hosts! Extremely friendly couple greeted us and took good care of us during our stay.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your nice review. Hope you will come back and see us soon!


167 Water

4.6 on June 11, 2008

Wonderful home, wonderful hosts! Can't wait to come back and see them again.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your nice review. Hope you will come back and see us soon!


167 Water

4.8 on June 09, 2008

Warm and friendly family. Clean, comfortable and very nicley appointed with many treasures aquired world wide.


loved it

5 on June 04, 2008

this was a very nice place to stay and had lots of things to do

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your nice review. Come back and see us!


great experience

5 on June 04, 2008

nice view, quiet place, near downtown, heartwarming services. we greatly appreciate the experience of this b&b. thank you very much

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the nice review. Came back and see us!


Excellent Place to Stay

5 on June 03, 2008

My fiance and I took a mini-break to Newbury port and stayed at this inn. It was beyond beautiful. The breakfast was excellent and the owners were very nice. We'll definitely come again.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the nice review. Come back and see us! Anne & Chuck


May 2008

4.8 on May 29, 2008

The rooms, service, value, cleanliness, and dining were outstanding.

Innkeeper Response
Hi. Thank you for the nice review. Come back and see us! Anne & Chuck


a lovely b&b

4.2 on May 04, 2008

Chuck and Anne are kind and gracious hosts. I would recommend this b&b to anyone who is looking for a comfortable and peaceful trip to Newburyport.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for the nice review. Come back and see us!


167 Water St B&B

4.8 on April 25, 2008

I cannot say enough about my stay with Chuck and Anne. "They" made the stay in Newburyport. Their warmth and hospitality was so gracious. Location is fabulous and the value totally exceeded what I have found elsewhere. I brought my parents back at Christmas time for an overnight to share in the enjoyable company and surroundings. Thanks Chuck and Anne.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for the great review! Come back and visit!


Friendly Hosts

3.6 on October 18, 2007

Very friendly and helpful B&B. Welcoming and comfortable.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your nice comment and review. So as we can provide the best service possible, can you tell us why you ranked service and dining as a 3? We welcome feedback as we'd like to be your favorite B&B in Newburyport! Anne & Chuck


Beautiful B&B

5 on October 18, 2007

Beautiful place to enjoy Newburyport. Great water view, relaxing atmosphere and friendly hosts.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your great review. We hope we will see you again in our beautiful town of Newburyport. Anne & Chuck


Peaceful

4.0 on October 18, 2007

Not only was this a peaceful, quiet stay, but acquired a real sense of Newburyport from our hosts. Chuck and Ann were friendly and fun!


Sept 2007

4.0 on October 15, 2007

The combination of central location and quiet setting and considerate and hospitable hosts is only surpassed by the hosts knowledge of the area. Relaxing anf fun.


09/14/07

4.0 on October 15, 2007

Location, decoration accomodation all first rate


Wonderful little surprise.

4.8 on September 28, 2007

We were passing through the area and had the fortune of finding 167 Water. Lovely home with generous hosts and comfortable beds. Next time we'll stay longer.


167 Water

4.0 on September 21, 2007

This property well exceeded our expectations. We'll be back!


Lovely art everywhere

4.8 on September 02, 2007

Noy only was this a great B&B with a great location near town, but the house is filled with wonerful art from around the world - especially textiles. The hosts were very helpful and the breakfast was filling. A great place in a beautiful town.


Warm and lovely home away from home

4.0 on August 24, 2007

We stayed in the river view room (Sorrento) and watched an amazing sunrise. Then had a huge breakfast with fruit, cereal, things to toast, hard boiled eggs and more. The evening we arrived, the owners invited us for wine and cheese, and conversation about ewburyport and their travels. The house is filled with wonderful textiles and African sculpture. An easy walk to town and restaurants. We'll certainly come back.


167 Water

Details

  • Nightly Rate $90 - $105
  • Reviews (56) 4.5
  • Rooms 2

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9782552386

Visit Website »

View details

Top