Century House Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
39 Reviews

Write A Review

Anniversary weekend

4.6 on September 28, 2013

My wife and I had a long weekend getaway to celebrate our 2nd year anniversary in mid-September and we made reservations after doing some research on-line. We had a wonderful time, and really enjoyed our experience at the Century House. The owner and her husband ate breakfast with ourselves and the other couples every morning which was a nice touch. They were able to give very good recommendations on where to eat and what to see in addition to providing some excellent history and stories about the island. The bed and breakfast was very charming and the bed was plenty comfortable which was very important seeing my wife was 6 months pregnant!! To top it all off, I left my phone and a computer assessorory in the room and realized it when on the boat. The staff kindly went to the post office that day and over-nighted them, which I got the next morning!! Many thanks to the Century House!! P.S. – this is the 1st on-line review I have ever posted……so it really left an impression on me


Amazing getaway once again

5 on October 28, 2009

We chose Century House for the third time and can say again that we made a good choice. We travel to Europe every year and have visited many countries and places; and Nantucket Island is one of our favorite destinations! Century House is beautiful, private, and most of all relaxing. Our room, White Narcisus was spotless. Always nice to see innkeeper Gerry! He has great suggestions for restaurants and things to do. Don't forget the chocolate chip cookies when you're there.


Daylily

4.2 on October 08, 2009

Our room - Daylily -shared a very thin wall with the room next door. Normal conversations were heard, "into the night." We choose this room at the recommendation of the person taking out initial phone call: We would have paid more for a more private room. Breakfast was excellent. Staff was friendly and attentive. Emailed questions were never replied to. You must call to get answers.


A sunny room on a rainy day

5 on July 05, 2009

My wonderful room filled with the most beautiful appointments in shades of yellow made a rainy day in Nantucket a lovely experience. The warmth of the innkeepers and the friendly artists in residence all added " sunshine" whenever I got back.


Recommending it to family and friends

5 on May 25, 2009

Gorgeous boutique hotel on the island of Nantucket, healthy breakfast, perfect quiet location. It's a great place to just go and relax. Rooms are superb! We will highly recommend this place to all our family and friends.


Beautiful B and B

5 on May 20, 2009

Century House is a beautiful b and b. We love art so the collection of wall paintings hanging all over the inn was impressive. Location wise it was very accessible to the town area and restaurants. Our getaway was everything we had hoped for . We were mainly looking to have a relaxing time away. It rained, but we enjoyed our king-sized room. Comfortable bed, cheerful decor, and open windows where we could hear the rain drops. It was fun laying around, watching movies, drinking hot chocolate and having too many cookies- a perfect snack every afternoon. Although we had wished for less rain, we had a chance to relax. We still fell in love with the charming ambiance of the Century House and the island and we'll definitely return. Donald and Elizabeth


Looking forward to Summer 09

5 on April 29, 2009

It was our first time visiting Nantucket and certainly it will not be our last. Fell in love with the island and the Century House bed and breakfast. The weather was absolutely gorgeous at the end of August and we had an amazing vacation. I convinced my husband to go back this summer and I am soo excited. Century House is a beautiful large BB in a prime spot on Nantucket. We put our comfy shoes on and walked to many places including the beautiful lighthouse, downtown and a couple beaches in the area. What great beaches!!! Our room was perfect: cozy, spotless and tastefully decorated. We're not big breakfast people but we just had to come down. It was buffet style served in the kitchen and it was excellent. Fresh berries and great coffee! Looking forward to July. Wish it get here faster.


A magnificent place

5 on April 20, 2009

We stayed twice so far and plan to go back very soon. Our friends joined us for a couple days and they loved it too. Century House is the perfect balance of a B&B and complete privacy. Innkeepers have put a lot of effort in making the inn a unique place to stay and one that completes the experience of the island. Prime location, more secluded area but near everything, the beach, bike path, restaurants, shopping, and downtown Nantucket. The rooms are well-appointed, beautiful and classy, each room having a different flair. The innkeepers have decorated every inch of the inn with lovely attention to details. The entire property is magnificent!


The place to stay in Nantucket...

5 on March 30, 2009

This has been the place to go away on vacation for me and my wife for several years. Great location! Central to everything...the beach, the restaurants, and the downtown. We would highly recommend it because all the rooms we stayed in so far were very nice, quiet and large with comfortable beds. One room in particular, the Red Dhalia is great. The king size bed was probably the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. The rooms have AC and although most days we don't need it, when we did, it worked great! The bathrooms are a good size with nice showers. The floors are restored and like new. Each morning coffee is available around 6 am. I am in charge of bringing a cup of fresh coffee to our room and that's how my wife and I start the morning. We go down for breakfast around 8:30 am and normally we sit out on the porch having Gerrys delicious granola and fruit. The staff is always helpful and friendly. Overall we love the bed and breakfast atmosphere. We go back home very relaxed. And we look forward to our vacation this year.


Can't forget this B&B

5 on March 06, 2009

Classy, elegant, and so convenient. Our rooms was quiet and very comfortable...not confining at all. We stayed a couple nights in October and had a great time. Amazing fresh fruit breakfast, snacks, complimentary soda drinks, brewed coffee and tea all included in the stay. A great unforgetable island and and B & B.


Spectacular inn

5 on March 04, 2009

We love this inn, we chose it because our friends highly recommended it to us. It was our anniversary and we made vacation out of it. We typically stay at B and B’s and stayed on Nantucket a few years ago. Our experience before was just ok. However, after staying at the Century House we would not stay anywhere else from now on. When we first walked in we were greeted and helped to our room. The stairs were a little steep but we knew this would be typical for an old house. Once we entered the room we were surprised to find a champagne bottle and glasses and some chocolates and a small note…we felt very welcomed and that it was a nice gesture. They had included it at no cost. The rooms are kept crisp and impeccable. We needed suggestions for restaurants and they were happy to assist with the best choice. In the room there were some beach towels that we used and when we needed extra ice my husband asked for it and they were happy to serve us. They did not intrude at all. The breakfast is great with many healthy choices. We were very impressed with this inn and will also recommend it to others.


Fell in love with this inn

5 on February 18, 2009

Love Nantucket and bbs. Stayed at The Century House last year and will be going back this May. The inn is nicely renovated, quiet, clean with beautiful art; very good free breakfast. We didn’t know what to expect since we stayed at other old inns before and the walls were so thin you could hear people snore. Very frustrating. But surprisingly the inn was very well built; The old wooden floors were redone and absolutely gorgeous, the décor is unique and very beautiful; and you couldn’t hear the noise in the room next to ours. Also, we were on the first floor right by the front door we weren’t disturbed. Oh, and the location perfect, close to town and the beach.


This is what it really means to be in Nantucket

5 on February 04, 2009

We're returning guests and just wanted to let others know that this is a very special place to us. We honeymooned here, came back for our 10th and 20th and are coming back this year now that we have a little more time. Some things have changed and some are the same. It was great to see all the renovations, but we fell in love with the original Nantucket and are happy to see that the inn remained true to its roots: same innkeepers making guests feel like they're family, laid-back charming ambiance, a great breakfast in the kitchen area every morning and non-stuffy or commercialized which is what it really means to be in Nantucket. We had an excellent time last year walking around the island, riding our bikes like old times and just spending time at our most favorite places. We're so happy to be coming back this year.


Met all our expectations!

5 on January 21, 2009

We vacationed in Nantucket last July. We travel around the world and I have to say this was a great vacation for seven nights in the Deluxe Black Orchid Room. We didn’t want the typical hotel atmosphere so we looked for a bed and breakfast. I was looking for Zagat rated places to stay and found The Century House on the Zagat site. So I booked this inn, and we anxiously looked forward to our stay. I have to say that the inn definitely met our expectations: a very quiet relaxing vacation in a luxurious place, with old charm, more private, and clean kept. The rooms had been recently renovated and they were very elegant. The inn served fresh coffee all day, drinks, snacks, and warm baked cookies. We both love to read, so we were surprised when we found all these books in the room and all over the inn. It made our room homier rather than that typical commercial feel. The quiet atmosphere was a must for our choice of a place to stay, and indeed even though we were on the first floor we never heard any noise while there. The inn is within walking distance to town instead of right in-town so we enjoyed brisk walks to the stores and the restaurants. The beach just up the road was beautiful and we loved walking to it. Overall our vacation was great and we plan to come back hopefully soon.


Our favorite

5 on January 16, 2009

This hotel inn is great in every way. Clean, comfortable, beautiful rooms (our was Red Dahlia), perfect location and an amazing breakfast! Our vacation to Nantucket was close to perfect. The weather was gorgeous, except it rained one day; but even so, we didn’t mind, the innkeeper suggested that we see the Whaling Museum. We were there for five days and had an incredible relaxing time: rode bikes, rented scooters for one day, checked-out most beaches, walked around downtown and had some delicious meals. Nantucket is our favorite place to be and now Century House. We look forward to coming back this summer again.


Wonderful week vacation here

5 on January 05, 2009

We were here for a week last August and we had an excellent vacation. We want to recommend this beautiful inn in Nantucket to others. We are planning to return this summer in August. Even though it is a busy time for the island, we love the location and wouldn't stay anywhere else. We stayed in Crocus Room and absolutely love it. The room has its own entrance, opening into the a patio area. It's comfortable, luxurious, quiet, and beautifully decorated; and it also has a little refrigerator. The inn is very charming with a lot of history. The innkeepers treat you as if you are part of their family and area always very helpful and welcoming. Looking forward to another vacation here.


Beautiful in the fall

5 on December 04, 2008

We were looking for a place to get away for a couple days. loved Nantucket and Century House. We didn’t know if it was a good idea to come in October or not but we had a wonderful time. The island is breathtaking at that time. We loved the location which is in the residential high-end part of Nantucket with gorgeous old mansions surrounding it and walking distance to town and the beach. We love art and appreciated all the paintings on the wall and let me tell you, they can have an art gallery on their own.


Best Inns on Nantucket

5 on December 01, 2008

I would have to say this is one of the top inns on Nantucket ! We have been spending time here for over ten years. We prefer this inn: very unique, beautiful architecture, well-designed rooms that emphasizes comfort and that Nantucket feeling of charm. Great staff and one of the best breakfasts I’ve ever had.


Summer memories

5 on November 24, 2008

Being the only Zagat rated bed and breakfast on Nantucket, we decided to try it out this summer. I can say we were not disappointed. From the moment you walk in this inn exudes charm and luxury combined with a historic, quaint atmosphere; and very romantic. We had a memorable experience worth every $. The breakfast is delicious with healthy choices. The room was super clean and fresh. Everyone is friendly and welcoming. It’s more like staying at your grandma’s house rather than a hotel. We rented bikes and enjoyed the Nantucket beauty. The weather was perfect. The beaches are close by, as well as the downtown. The location couldn't be better. It’s a must lodging choice for Nantucket!


Fantastic Stay at The Century House

5 on November 21, 2008

This is an intimate, quiet destination. The bed and breakfast is quite large, but we love it. We no longer own a home on Nantucket but visit every year and this is the place where we always stay for about a week or so. I just love the hospitality. They also always provide for my needs: no feather pillows, extra towels, etc. I like rooms with a lot of light and this one is perfect for me and my husband. We've stayed before on the first and second floor but we now prefer Crocus Room which has a private entrance from the patio area. It's crisp and it has a comfortable bed, a refrigerator and a small couch. It also has a nice walk-in shower. Most of all we love the privacy! We have our own table on the patio that we use. The breakfast of course is excellent! I dream about the granola all year. Can't wait to return!


We enjoyed ourselves

5 on November 18, 2008

I would have to say that this is by far the best place to stay in Nantucket Island. This summer we really enjoyed ourselves. Having stayed at some of the other places I can now say we love this bb the most. Everything is renovated and updated, and we are as comfortable as we are in our own home. My wife and I wanted more of a bed and breakfast experience. In fact, this is the Nantucket experience we were looking for, away from the crowds. We are not complicated; however, we prefer more of a quiet, secluded place. We love to read, so we were impressed with the book collection Gerry has in the inn. We also like walking to the beach close by and downtown. Every day we go to the sandwich place up the road from the inn. We absolutely love Nantucket and we are happy to have found this inn.


We spent our honeymoon here!

5 on November 17, 2008

This is a special place for my husband and I. We met on Nantucket Island while on vacation. We spent our honeymoon here ten years ago and visited again five years later. We were here this past summer, and convinced my husband to come back next summer for our 10th. We have so many memories here! Unfortunately the room we stayed in (Rosebud) had been completely redone, but we have a new favorite one now The White Narcissus. The decor is simply breathtaking, like out of a magazine. The colors are very soft and soothing. The book collection is great since my husband loves to read. We did not watch TV, but it was nice to have it during a rainy day. It's always quiet and relaxing, so we really enjoy it. The inn is a great, charming place for couples who want to spend a romantic weekend on Nantucket. The innkeepers are very friendly and always helps us get into our favorite restaurants like The Galley. Although Nantucket has changed some in the past couple years the inn still keeps its' original, Nantucket-like ambiance. This past summer they had completed major renovations to the rooms and the patio area. We love sitting outside and smelling the flowers off the veranda. The location is perfect; close to the beach, walking distance to the beach and Main St. We love riding our bikes to Madaket and around the island. The beach are spectacular. There is some traffic, but nothing like downtown. We love the history, the decor, the fabulous service. There is no place like Nantucket, and this is the only place to stay!


Fun with family

5 on November 07, 2008

Our family stayed here this summer, when we celebrated our parents' 50th wedding anniversary. My brothers and sister also came. We booked the entire 2nd floor months in advance; loved having everyone in the same location. We decided on this inn mainly because of the reviews, and because it was Zagat rated. Also we wanted the classic B & B experience. Nantucket was our parents' dream vacation. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. When we asked for extra things such as towels and pillows they were delivered to our room immediately, with a smile. They also didn't invade our space, but were available when we had questions. The rooms are crisp and beautiful and were cleaned every day; the beds extra comfortable. The innkeeper Gerry was very accommodating; we appreciated his restaurant recommendations. There was something for everyone to do. We all ate breakfast together outside on the veranda. The breakfast is as good as they say it is. Fresh fruits, organic yogurt and milk, and the best granola ever. What a way to start the day! During the day we went to a different beach, came home, had the fresh baked cookies, and got ready for dinner. Planning a trip for that many people was not easy, but everyone was very happy and pleased with the choice, especially our parents. We highly recommend this place to anyone looking for an unforgettable experience in Nantucket. In my opinion this is the best way to enjoy Nantucket Island.


Beautiful INN...

5 on October 28, 2008

My husband and I love to travel a lot when we have time and Nantucket had been on our list for a while. First impression when we arrived here was "Wow! What a charming beautiful place!" We booked our vacation months in advance, but we didn't know what to expect. Well, I have to say that it was even better than we expected. I felt I was in the comfort of my own home. The inn is very charming; it has a quaint feel to it, yet it's renovated. The room we stayed in was so luxurious: The White Narcissus. It had plenty of natural light, unique decor, with absolutely amazing wood work. We were in awe of the renovation done to the room that a hundred plus year sold. We also loved that it had a refrigerator. There wasn't a picture of the room when we booked, but we were glad we took our chance. The inn is cozy without that hotel-like commercial feeling; it was more like you stepped back in time and you were guests in someone's mansion. We had fun going up the steep flight of stairs. The breakfast was everything they say it is. They had snacks and coffee and tea all day; and beach towels for the beach. In my humble opinion this is the way to experience what Nantucket truly is like.


Great!

5 on September 27, 2008

This was the first time visiting Nantucket and I had a memorable experience. I stayed here during the 4th of July. The island was packed however the location of this B and B was just perfect; walking distance into town and a more secluded beach, minus the crowds. The inn was relaxing and homey. The innkeeper Gerry was friendly and helpful. He recommended some good restaurants. I most of all looked forward to the chocolate chip cookies baked fresh every afternoon. One day we rented scooters, and rode to Sconset and back; and even though it got a little foggy the scenery was breathtaking.


Surprised my wife!

5 on July 02, 2008

I chose the bed and breakfast because of the reviews I have been reading. I wanted to surprise my wife with a vacation to Nantucket. She's been wanting to vacation on the island and this year we were able to make it. I mainly booked because the staff was very helpful, courteous and knowledgeable about the island. Well, our expectations were high when we arrived and I can say they were all met. We're history buffs, so we prefer historic b and b's instead of hotels. We had the Partridge Berry room, with a king size comfortable bed. Our first choice Black Orchid with the private porch was not available. Instead we spent a lot of time out on the patio area. One night we were fogged in so we decided to stay in and watch movies from their movie collection. I felt like a teenager again. All in all this was a great trip for us. And I made my wife happy. We will be back more often.


What a charming inn!!!

5 on June 27, 2008

We celebrated our 5th year anniversary here and had a fantastic time. They surprised us with a champagne in the room. This is the perfect quiet place to get away. The inn is charming and classy. Our room White Narcissus was newly redesigned very cozy and quiet. There are plenty of books for some of us bookworms. We loved the atmosphere and the restaurants recommended to us: Oran Mor, Water Street, Chanticleer. We will return again!


A great place to celebrate our anniversary!

5 on June 19, 2008

The Century House is a little gem on Nantucket Island, comfortable, quiet, luxurious, with lots of charm and history. We spent our anniversary here which was very relaxing. We loved the location, the breakfast and our room White Narcissus which was completely renovated this year. There were no pictures of this room on the website but we took a chance and booked it. We were pleasantly surprised with the new décor and the comfortable bed. This is a corner room, bright, quiet, and true Nantucket feel. We will definitely return here.


We keep coming back

5 on May 30, 2008

We've been here several times well over twelve or so years ago and came back this past may for a five day stay. We used to come more often in the eighties. After having kids it was more difficult to just pack and go. We decided to come back to Nantucket and didn't want to leave. May is always our favorite time to come because the crowds are non-existent unlike the high season. Some things have changed, some not. We chuckled when we walked in because the same smell of freshly baked cookies greeted us. Sadly most of the room names and the rooms themselves were changed. All rooms were completely renovated and the kitchen area where we have so many memories looked different. I guess change is not that bad if it reflects upgrading. The Tulip Room was nice and bright and very quiet. We stayed before in Lilac, Rosebud, and Cranberry. Some things remained the same: the friendliness, the comfortable homey atmosphere, the hospitality, and the breakfast. We keep returning here mainly because we're always comfortable and welcomed. And it feels like home.


Major Let Down

1.0 on May 30, 2008

Do yourself a favor and stay away from the Century House. We e-mailed a request for a "Deluxe Room" for 3 nights and soon thereafter received an e-mail letting us know that the Black Orchid Room was available at $350 per night. When we called, we were initially told it was $390 per night but when we explained that the e-mail has said $350 per night, the innkeeper relented and agreed to give us that "great price". Not so much. We arrived on a Friday afternoon and were given a key by the surly innkeeper to our "Deluxe Room". More like a closet with the smallest, softest, most uncomfortable Queen Sized Bed we have ever seen. The room smelled of highly perfumed detergent. The bathroom door was so poorly mounted on its hinges that it did not fully close and it creaked (the next morning I asked the innkeeper to oil it and he was initially incredulous but did oil it so that was fixed). The private verandah consisted of a corner of the house's verandah cordoned off by a dog leash with 2 chairs and a filthy table. The bathtub was very big and the TV worked so, not all was completely lost. Let me tell you about "Gerry's Berry Buffet Breakfast". It consists of a half dozen bowls of fruit and nuts from the local Stop & Shop, a bowl of Granola, some packaged cream and some store bought breads, muffins and bagels still in the bags all lined up on the kitchen counter for self help. We have been to many B&B's and all of them have had some sort of a hot breakfast. As bad as some of them have been, nothing comes close to this. On days 2 and 3 we ate out for breakfast. Afternoon cookies were always chocolate chip and were fresh on Friday and Sunday - stale on Saturday. We can only assume that if there are leftovers, from the day before, they are served instead of making fresh cookies. If not for the weather and the beautiful island, this would have been a miserable experience.


Free cookies!

5 on May 28, 2008

The best part of staying here was the homey feeling and the chocolate chip cookies that were out everyday. I felt like stealing them all. The place was clean and the breakfast was amazing. The breakfast had lots of fresh fruit and great granola. Hydrangea was the room I stayed in and it was perfect for me. It was small, but it was great for a single person. The innkeeper told me things to do while in Nantucket that I wouldn't have known. I will definitely be coming back to the Century House on my next visit to Nantucket.


Excellent in every way!

5 on May 28, 2008

We were here for the first weekend they opened. What a wonderful bed and breakfast! We especially were impressed with the breakfast spread; most enjoyed the fresh berries and the special recipe granola and organic milk. The inn has a luxury feel to it, a quiet atmosphere and a superb décor, a mix of old and new. The location is great as well. We walked to downtown for some shopping and great food. Thanks to the innkeeper Gerry we had a delicious dinner. Anytime we asked any questions we were assisted immediately. Will love to return soon again.


Home-like

5 on May 26, 2008

We found this inn to be blissful, comforting, quiet and home-like place to stay. The rooms exude luxury and comfort; each decorated in its own unique style. The breakfast is delicious...loved the organic milk. We rented scooters for the day and toured the island, a very pleasurable experience. The innkeeper helped us with choices of restaurants. Highly suggest the Lobster Trap and Languedoc. Will happily return here.


Looking forward to another stay here!

5 on April 17, 2008

My husband and I look forward to another stay at The Century House. We can't wait to return to this lovely inn. We travel a lot now that we are retired. Yet all I talk about is Nantucket. We couldn't make it last year but I am so happy we finalized our plans. We prefer bed and breakfasts to hotels. And we recommend this place because our experience here was better than we expected. Although it was very expensive in comparison to other vacations we take, it was worth it. The inn seems to reflect more of what Nantucket truly is: very intimate, relaxing, friendly, secluded, comfortable, and homey. They also served fresh baked chocolate chip cookies every afternoon which we looked forward to every day. The inn is quite large and quiet. Our room, the Partridge Berry, although on the first floor, was nicely decorated and had a luxury feel to it. The king bed was comfortable. The inn also has a porch where we ate our breakfast and relaxed in the afternoons. My husband loves to read and one day I found him in the garden area sitting by himself, basking in the sun. The book he was reading was from the collection of books that the inn has. We also loved walking downtown, through different streets so we could look at the houses and the beautiful flowers. We also walked to the beach. The location was perfect. The staff was always helpful. And the breakfast was such a treat!!!


Great Vacation

5 on December 05, 2007

We finally made it to this faraway island...perfect weather during our October getaway, a six day bliss. We stayed here (Century House), a luxury bed and breakfast on Cliff Road, a beautiful historic building from the 1800's, cobblestone streets surrounded with great views. What a pleasant, breathtaking fall destination!!! The rooms are decorated with paintings of Nantucket, antique furniture and plenty of books. We even met some of the artists painting there. The location is great for walking or simply sitting on the porch to relax. On foggy days we loved the homemade baked chocolate chip cookies. Fantastic staff and an awesome breakfast! Highly recommended.


Perfect Getaway

5 on December 05, 2007

I've been told that Nantucket Island is the perfect getaway; however, now I know that the Century House is the only place to stay while visiting. This magnificent B&B is located on a picturesque corner near the downtown shopping area on Main St., which was wonderful because I did not pick up a set of car keys during the entire trip! Upon entering the living area, I could smell the sweet aroma of freshly baked cookies and soon received a warm welcome from the staff. After eating a delicious snack, I was taken up to the Beach Blossom room on the third floor and to my amazement, I had a clear, distant view of the harbor. The room itself was enchanting with antique furniture, floral decor, and modern amenities. The neighboring area was quiet and the wraparound porch inviting. I can't wait to return next summer and highly recommend staying at this lovely bed and breakfast!


Best Place to Stay on Nantucket Island

5 on October 17, 2007

We found this jewel and can't wait to return next season. We were looking for a historic, renovated, quiet, luxury bb...a nicer place to stay. The location is perfect. You will not run into the crowds, especially in high season. The rooms are large with refrigerators, perfect for longer stays. This inn is quiet with lots of charm. It has a large veranda which is always cool in the summer. The breakfast and the homemade cookies were delicious. Everyone was helpful. We received wonderful ideas about things to do on the island. We fell in love with it. It exceeded our expectations. The stairs can be steep, but it is a historic home. Other than that it was one of the best getaways we ever had.


Best destination for art lovers!!!!

5 on October 13, 2007

For years Nantucket has been a favorite painting destination. Now, for a second year, staying at the Century House has enhanced this experience with the warmth of its host and staff, the scrumptious breakfast and painters pasta dinners and the ambiance of its beautiful rooms. It was a delight on a rainy day to stay indoors and paint the lovely salon.


Best Bed and Breakfast - Charming Place to Stay on Nantucket Island

5 on February 12, 2007

In my humble opinion, the only REAL way to have a true island experience is to stay at the Century House, haven for the world weary. The rooms are not only charming and beautifully designed but wonderfully comfortable. Each room is unique, decorated with its own island colors, original art, Persian rugs, comfortable seating areas and the most divine sheets!! Thick fluffy towels, a full compliment of bath products and dressing gown were set carefully in my bathroom by their impeccable staff. This…is a proper quest house with all of the amenities that are expected… and then some. The truly delightful couple, shower guests with their warm yet never overbearing indulgence of virtually every whim. You want to have a spectacular dinner at sunset…ask Jean and Gerry…the best cab on the Island, best art, tickets to an event, ferry schedules, unique shopping…ask away. I was impressed with their in-depth knowledge of everything Nantucket. Gerry’s famous “Berry Breakfast” eaten in the comfy kitchen with other guests or on the marvelous wrap around porch, (complete with chirping birds) is an early riser’s dream. This is no ordinary guesthouse fare. Berries of every imaginable color and shape served with crème fresh or yogurt, “baked this morning” pastries, healthy granola, perfectly ripened fruit and the best coffee this side of Starbucks….set me up for a day pristine beaches. When I returned in the afternoon I found chocolate, homemade cookies, and a “spot of tea” waiting for me… heavenly!! ...I was impressed with the vast collection of original art, found in every conceivable spot throughout the inn. The Century House is the place to stay while on Nantucket. I can’t wait to see that familiar porch coming into view on my yearly pilgrimage….I always return home, rested, inspired and a little miffed that my “berry breakfast” is not awaiting me each morning. Julia O’Malley-Keyes- ---


Century House

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5082280530

Visit Website »

View details

Top