The Carlisle House Inn Reviews

Overall
4.0

View details

  • Guest room3.8
  • Service4.3
  • Value3.6
  • Cleanliness4.3
  • Dining3.9

Score Breakdown based on
39 Reviews

Write A Review

Warm & welcome

4.8 on August 19, 2012

It was a very busy and eventful week. Having stayed at the Carlisle House took the edge of the hustle and bustle and gave me a calm place to retire to. I will recommend them to all my friends as the best house for your money to stay at when in Nantucket. Thank you for a wonderful time. .


You should stay here

4.4 on June 08, 2012

Heather was wonderful. Couldn't have enjoyed our stay more. The Inn is conveniently located, has a nice courtyard and the ambiance is inviting. The island is a great place to visit and the Inn is a great place to stay.


fabulous getaway, the cape at its finest

4.6 on May 16, 2012

absolutely loved nantucket, our first trip there. the carlisle house was wonderful, wide plank floors, old salty charm, and heather, the owner was above and beyond our expectations, she was frequently visible, always with a smile, and willing to chat, but never intrusive. the breakfasts (both house made and local eateries) were perfect, not too much, but enough to get your busy day going. the inn is close to the ferry, beaches, town, dining, and anything else you coud possible want. could not have been happier with our stay. would recommend to anyone and would most definitely go back again. great little sitting area in the garden for relaxing alone or sharing company. thanks sooooo much heather.


December visit

3.2 on January 23, 2012

Finding dining options can be a challenge in the off season but once you start to get oriented to downtown, the places are easy to find.


Very enjoyable Visit, November 2011

4.2 on November 28, 2011

We have a lovely visit of a few days in November of 2011. The room was quite nice, in an old Captain's home. It included a small sitting room with a cable tv. The breakfast offerings were fantastic - Heather is an excellent baker. Overall we could not have been happier with our stay, and will gladly return.


Charming and quiet

4.0 on October 19, 2011

Le compteur de mon cozymètre est resté coincé à très haut pendant tout le temps de mon séjour. Je recommande vivement.


nice nantucket place to stay

3.6 on October 14, 2011

clean, pleasant, nice furnishings. Easy walking distance from the Ferry and all downtown activities. Breakfast area a little cramped, would have preferred one large table.


Lovely wedding weekend on Nantucket

3.4 on October 13, 2011

The Carlisle House was a lovely place to stay for the three nights we were on the island for a wedding. The location is ideal, the rooms are great, and the innkeeper was very friendly and accommodating! (We especially appreciate her willingness to put up with our small children; we realize that the "under 6 set" is not the typical B&B guest!)


Carlisle House

3.0 on October 10, 2011

Innkeeper was very friendly and helpful. Homemade breakfast goodies were very tasty. Site might mention the steep stairs (outside and inside) - definitely not good for anyone who is not very mobile.


Visit to Carlisle House Inn - Nantucket

3.0 on September 21, 2011

A nice house dating back to the 18th century with all the quirks that go with old houses. The innkeeper was very pleasant and baked delicious treats for breakfast. Everything we needed was in walking distance. Good value.


A wonderful stay at the Carlisle House

4.6 on September 16, 2011

It was a great getaway. Our room at the Carlisle House was beautiful. Heather makes you feel right at home in a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. We really enjoyed the continental-plus breakfast. We look forward to our next stay.


Brant Point

4.0 on September 14, 2011

We were very happy with our stay at the Carlisle House Inn. Heather was a wonderful host and was very helpful. The only minor issue was with the room being a bit stuffy so we asked that the AC be left on to assist with that and that was done. it may not be a problem with a person who didnt have allergies!


August 2011

3.2 on September 13, 2011

My stay on Nantucket came about unexpectedly and was just one night so I was pleased to come across the Carlisle Inn through a search engine. The inn is in an 'in town' location within easy walk of the main shopping area and just a three minute walk of a bus stop. Overall I was pleased with the ease of reservation and the accomodations given the short notice and short stay. One thing I thought was odd was that the shared bath did not contain any complimentary soap or towels to use for hand-washing. One had to carry one's own hand-towel and soap from the room just to use the toilet. I thought that was a little odd. But other than this small detail, the room was clean, albeit quite small, for the price. I guess the going rates on Nantucket are so high that this was room was a 'bargain' for over $200/night. One suggestion would be to bring along earplugs for the cobblestones were quite loud in the evening.


Nantucket in august

4.0 on September 08, 2011

This was our second visit to the Carlisle house. It was just as nice as the first visit. The rooms are charming. Very clean with lots of the original unique features that you expect in a guest house. Location is perfect for walking to town, beach or bus stops for transportation around the island. The owner Heather is very pleasant. She makes you feel like you truly are a welcomed guest in her home.


A return trip to the Carlisle!

4.0 on August 31, 2011

My husband and I returned to Nantucket after 26 years and stayed in the same Inn. The Carlisle, is located central to town and provides easy access to sights and services. Our first trip was a very brief "overnight". Our return trip a bit more extended, our Inn Keeper was most helpful with making tour arrangements making our visit meaningful and fun!


joe & rod

4.2 on August 25, 2011

We really appreciated the wonderful assortment of breakfast goodies and the wine and cheese tasting before heading out to dinner!


Loved our stay!

4.0 on August 25, 2011

Inn keeper Heather was so pleasant and went out of her way to chat, give her advice, and help in whatever way she could to make our stay pleasurable, which it was!


Nantucket B & B

5 on August 20, 2011

Celebrated my wife's birthday week with 3.5 days on Nantucket. Our stay at the Carlisle House was perfect on all points


Carlisle House Inn

4.0 on August 15, 2011

A very pleasant experience. Heather was a great hostess. The location of the house was very convenient. We plan on returning.


We loved the Carlisle House!

4.2 on August 03, 2011

We loved our stay at the Carlisle House Inn! Heather was helpful whether we needed beach towels or restaurant recommendations. The Cisco Room was pretty and clean with soft sheets and plump pillows-and an added bonus of central air for great sleeping. We enjoyed the "expanded continental breakfast" (delicious cherry coffee cake!) and loved eating outside in the garden. We would return to the Carlisle House on our next trip!


A wonderful experience.

5 on July 26, 2011

We have stayed her several times. We love the place and it is always first on our list when we go to Nantucket.


Lovely house, overpriced for lodging and breakfast

2.6 on July 19, 2011

We were very happy with our room and even the quirks of an 18th century bathroom. However at the price paid, we were extremely disappointed with the dining experience. Breakfast was skimpy (continental only) - one morning there was only 1 piece of melon for four guests and still 2 hours left in the breakfast "hours". This bed and breakfast needs to focus much more on the breakfast. The grounds are lovely and the owner was pleasant.

Innkeeper Response
We are delighted that these guests enjoyed the inn and its grounds, but disappointed that they were not pleased with our continental plus breakfast, which is served from 8:30 until 10:00 each day. Our breakfast always includes home-baked items such as coffeecake, scones, popovers and breads, along with fresh fruit or fruit salad (with berries, pineapple, melons, kiwi, peaches), yogurts, hot and cold cereals, breads, bagels and english muffins, juice, coffee, tea, and cocoa. Guests who are under the impression that we serve a full breakfast (even though our website and our guest confirmations specify what we serve) would not see the eggs and pancakes they might expect. We routinely ask guests whether they are finding everything they want, and we are conscientious about refilling items as they are depleted. Most of our reviews have very nice things to say about our continental plus breakfast. We value all feedback from guests, particularly when they offer it to us directly as well (which unfortunately these guests did not).


Very nice place!

4.0 on July 09, 2011

Heather is a great Innkeeper, and the place is very nice. Close to all the downtown shops and restaurants, and very convenient to Jetties Beach. Really enjoyed our stay in Nantucket! If you want a big hot breakfast, not the place for you but we were fine with a Continental, and knew what we were getting going in.


My husband's birthday trip

4.6 on July 02, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful time. The room was very cozy and we felt right at home. I would highly recommend the inn.


Excellent Value and Charming Inn

4.4 on June 29, 2011

Inn Keeper went out of her way to ensure guests were comfortable. Breakfast was first rate with special items baked each morning. The rooms were clean and well appointed.


Lovely inn at a great rate!

3.8 on June 27, 2011

The staff couldn't have been friendlier, and the breakfast exceeded my expectations. The walls are a bit thin, as you'd probably expect from most historic inns, but otherwise, we had a lovely stay!


Fine for a Place to Sleep

3.2 on June 15, 2011

The room was small, but fine if you just need a place to sleep. Breakfast was standard, but get there early because when the good stuff is gone, there is no more coming out! Service is prompt and courteous.


Carlisle House Inn

4.4 on June 08, 2011

The innkeeper was attentive and friendly. The location of the property was ideal. Wonderful stay!


Very much enjoyed the stay

3.8 on June 07, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - the rooms were clean and comfortable. It reminded me why it is always beter to stay at an independent inn than at a chain when the inn is clean and comfortable.


Pleasant trip, lovely inn

3.8 on June 06, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Carlisle House Inn for a long weekend and had a lovely time. Heather is very welcoming and serves a delicious breakfast in the morning (the pop-overs were wonderful). We stayed in one of the smaller rooms on the 3rd floor and it was all that we needed. The Inn is very close to town and we could easily walk back and forth. There is also a cute little garden in the side/back yard that was very enjoyable. We'd definitely stay again.


Lovely Stay

4.6 on May 04, 2011

Enjoyed the hospitality of The Carlisle House Inn. Heather, the Innkeeper, is very gracious. Stayed in the Tom Nevers Room and it was very comfortable as well a nicely decorated. I highly recommend the Carlisle House for your Nantucket getaway


Great Location and Hospitality

3.6 on April 05, 2011

Great location in downtown Nantucket! We were able to walk to everything around town. The room we were in was very cute and had a fireplace. We were there in the off season, so there was plenty of parking and the rates were exceptional. They offer a continental breakfast in the morning, which consisted of yogurt, fruit, toast, bagels, cereal, coffee, and tea. It was the perfect amount. The Innkeeper was wonderful and offered tons of advice on the island! I would definitely recommend to everyone and stay here for our next visit!


Birthday on Nantucket

5 on April 05, 2011

The Inn was comfortable and Heather's hospitality made it even better.


Great B&B right downtown

3.8 on January 03, 2011

Very nice stay with Heather at the Carlisle. Would recomeend and stay again next time we come out!


Our stay at The Carlisle House Inn

4.2 on December 30, 2010

The inn was within walking distance to town. Our innkeeper was very friendly and helpful. The fireplace in our room was a treat as were the breakfasts.


Nantucket Stroll 2010

3.4 on December 19, 2010

It was the first Nantucket Stroll my husband and I attended and we loved our stay at the Carlisle House Inn. The innkeeper was warm and welcoming and very informative when asked questions. We would definitely go back and stay again.


Carlisle House stay

3.4 on October 20, 2010

A very lovely inn run by a charming, eager to please woman.


2010 vacation

3.6 on August 14, 2010

Well situated,minutes walking to shops and dining


Wonderful Place to Stay

4.8 on June 20, 2008

My wife and I recently stayed at the Carlisle House Inn and had a wonderful time. Just steps away from the ferry, we quickly arrived where we were warmly welcomed by the Innkeeper and staff who throughout our stay, were extremely accommodating despite being fully booked. From making dinner reservations to telling us about local hot spots, we were really well taken care of. We were also greeted by the staff each morning and asked if we were enjoying our stay. Our room had wide pine floors, a large working fire place, and a view of the garden. It was impeccably clean and charming. We also enjoyed the wide selection of complimentary breakfast items including delicious homemade baked scones and pumpkin bread. I read the bad review of the Carlisle House Inn and couldn’t disagree more. We loved our stay and are planning on returning to the Inn next year. I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone who is looking for a wonderful yet affordable stay in Nantucket.


The Carlisle House Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $95 - $425
  • Reviews (39) 4.0
  • Rooms 13
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5082280720
  • Fax 1-5082286074

Visit Website »

View details

Top