Harborside House Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
57 Reviews

Write A Review

Gorgeous!

5 on December 17, 2013

Susan Livingston is the most gracious hostess and keeps a wonderful, gorgeous B&B!!


Home!

4.8 on December 13, 2013

The minute we got here I kicked off my shoes & felt at home. Susan made us feel so welcome!


Harborside House

5 on December 12, 2013

Susan is a excellent host. Her breakfast is wonderful. We enjoyed stay at this place to the fullest.


Harborside House

5 on December 12, 2013

Excellent B&B: -beautiful house and location -great rooms and breakfast -warm and friendly host -highly recommended!


Harborside House

5 on December 12, 2013

Susan is an excellent host. The accommodation is absolutely perfect. Rooms are clean and tidy. Breakfast is top notch. We felt at home away from home. It could not have been any better.


Splendid Hospitality at Historic Harborside House

4.4 on November 25, 2013

Good bed, great value, fine breakfast. Our 2-night stay here will remain in our memories forever. A truly wonderful experience - warm welcome - arrived as guests, departed as friends. Our "hostess" cared for us in every way. Marblehead is a beautiful and fascinating place - so glad we visited.


Marblehead Forever

5 on October 09, 2013

New England at its BEST. 5 star home, house, sleep, and exquisite breakfast, fruit and grain. A view of the Ocean on the little porch.


Perfect Vacation

5 on August 23, 2013

Charming, perfect vacation, gracious hostess. Peaceful!


An Outstanding B&B

5 on August 21, 2013

The Harborside House in Marblehead, MA was truly outstanding. Our hostess was gracious and helpful, the breakfast excellent, and the house and room lovely.


Feels like home

4.2 on August 09, 2013

What a wonderful and welcoming home. Susan is the most gracious hostess. Wonderful location and sea views/breezes.


Very comfortable

3.6 on August 09, 2013

Great location. Great people. Very comfortable.


Not one thing was bad

4.8 on August 03, 2013

I've stayed in a good few B&Bs and this was by far the best. I was there to break from a lot of work travel and everything was great, lovely breakfast and rooms and overall just fantastic.


Lovely

5 on June 14, 2013

Lovely home, wonderful hosts, great location -- super value!!


Harborside House

5 on January 08, 2013

Susan is amazing. A home overlooking the harbor view. Breakfasts are simple but delicious. I'll be back.


Harborside House

5 on October 08, 2012

Wonderful, comfortable home, gracious hostess & delicious breakfast! Can't wait to come back again!


Nice

3.0 on October 06, 2012

A comfortable place with lovely innkeeper -- nice "large" continental breakfast. Comfy beds & bedroom.


Like Staying at my Aunt's House

4.8 on September 28, 2012

I'm a solo traveler and I stayed here for one night on my New England Road Trip in September. I stayed in the single room upstairs. What really made this inn so great was the owner, Susan. When I arrived she was working in her garden, but gladly stopped what she was doing to help me carry my bags upstairs to my room and show me around. She recommended a wonderful walk along the water, (which I took) and a great place to eat dinner. It was truly her attention to details that made my one-night stay so welcoming - the mint in the small bowl by my bed, the journal that she encouraged guests to write in, the copious amounts of toiletries available for guest use. The breakfast the next morning was just perfect - a selection of fruit, cheeses and bread accompanied with coffee and juice. Basically, I felt like I was staying at my cool Aunt's house for the night.


Excellent B&B in New England

5 on September 08, 2012

From the moment I saw the house I stayed in for 4 nights I fell in love with it. The exterior and interior details were lovely and charming. Everything was there and everything fitted the house and the guest. I was transported into a dream house.


I fell in love with New England

5 on September 07, 2012

It was love at first sight. The location, the views, the exterior and interior design (charming details of books and wallpaper) creamed on the top by a sophisticated, kind and hospitable proprietor.


Beautiful Marblehead

4.8 on September 03, 2012

Looking out from the porch & seeing the harbor full of boats -- coming & going all day long is a breathtaking experience. No need to go far to have a great vacation.


Sweetest Inn Ever!

5 on March 25, 2012

This inn felt like home and I thought I was in a gorgeous movie set. Susan is the sweetest and best ever innkeeper and provides everything for rest and more! Highly recommended!


Marblehead Treasure

5 on February 28, 2012

Outstanding on all counts from rooms, to food & even a fully-stocked bathroom cabinet to cover all eventualities. Fantastic hostess & beautiful house & surroundings. A must for Marblehead.


home away from home

4.2 on January 17, 2011

The best thing about Harborside House is the Innkeeper, Susan Livingston......She is an elegant and charming woman..........attentive, but not intrusive. My visit was in cold December and I felt warm and comfy.......(beds are wonderful) There is a lovely view of the harbor.............and one is able to explore the charming shops of "old town" by foot.


Marblehead's Finest B&B

4.6 on September 14, 2010

Lovely; Homey; Wonderful location for walking around town provides lots of info about the area. Provides very nice breakfast in an attractive setting. Comfortable beds.


Beautiful house and garden.

4.4 on September 10, 2010

Large comfortable room with water view. Ample delicious breakfast. Charming and helpful hostess.


Location, Location, Location!

5 on August 30, 2010

This B&B sits in the heart of town, with water views and a stones throw away from the Boston Yaught Club. You can walk to your nearby locations for eating or sight-seeing. Our host has been there so long that she has made wonderful contacts for your convenience. The breakfast is delightful along with Susan.


A wonderful, relaxing stay.

5 on August 28, 2010

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and substantial. Susan was wonderful about pointing us in the direction of where to eat and what to see. She even provided printed driving directions to help us reach various locations. Her home is charming and in a quiet, lovely location. We wish we could have spent more time there. We both highly recommend Harborside House.


Great B&B

5 on August 03, 2010

A great place to stay, wonderful host, clean and welcoming home, strongly recommended Maggie and Clayton..NL, Canada


Love the Harborside House

4.0 on June 06, 2010

Susan Livingston is a warm and gracious host. She provides a wonderful service to her guests and made us feel at home.


Charming and Warm

4.2 on April 30, 2010

Susan was very welcoming. We felt at home and loved the antiques. It was well decorated, but not stuffy. We really didn't want to leave.


Harborside House

5 on April 26, 2010

What a wonderful way to see Marblehead. Susan's B&B matches the charm and history of the old village. We loved both. It felt like we were at home in the comfortable house and our hostess couldn't have been more pleasant or accomodating. She had all the information we needed to make our stay fun and interesting.


Harborside House

5 on January 29, 2010

Comfortable & warm (thank heavens) room. Breakfast and coffee were delicious.


Harborside House

4.8 on December 14, 2009

Lovely home across from ocean. Charming & welcoming hostess. Comfortable and met all our needs-good breakfasts.


Charming and Tranquil

5 on December 06, 2009

Susan and John are gracious hosts. Everything was perfect. The quarters were immaculate and peaceful. Will tell all my friends.


Gorgeous & Gracious

4.6 on November 24, 2009

Beautiful house, spectacular view, wonderful hostess and delicious food!


Warm, welcoming, wonderful

4.6 on October 21, 2009

After a long flight, we immediately felt perfectly at home in this beautiful place. Great hospitality! Good beds, love the sound of the waves throught the window at night!


Harborside House

5 on October 01, 2009

A lovely, quiet stay. Beautiful view in a beautiful, historic city.


Harborside House

5 on September 25, 2009

We felt this was a beautiful B&B. It was a gift from our children and it was great. The rooms were beautiful, clean and the owner was kind and sweet. I would say overall it's an A+.


Great reception and service

4.4 on September 10, 2009

Very healthy breakfast and good recommendations for daytrips and restaurants; very friendly and caring!


Harborside House

4.4 on August 19, 2009

A very pleasant B&B, excellent value forthe price with view of the harbor and close to old part of town. Hostess very helpful with information about area and navigating to & from Boston.


Lisa Marie Crane

5 on August 13, 2009

Relaxing, personal, delightful! From Susan's warm welcome to the charming town, to the cool harbor breezes, the inn is the ideal getaway!


Charming stay in Marblehead, MA

5 on August 13, 2009

Hostess Susan thinks of everything! Clean, comfortable. Lovely breakfast on deck facing harbor


very nice

4.8 on July 02, 2009

We had a very nice stay. Everything was perfect and Susan is a perfect host. Great breakfast, great value, great service! I guess one of the best B&B's in the Boston region.


Harborside House is five stars and much more!

5 on July 01, 2009

Harborside House is a beautiful B&B with all the amenities of home, plus a much finer cup of coffee! Susan and John's hospitality is the finest we have experienced and we greatly look forward to our next visit.


In the midst of everything

5 on June 18, 2009

Park your car, walk everywhere, enjoy Susan's gracious hospitality. Enjoy a harbor view, and return time after time to your home away from home.


Harborside House

5 on June 03, 2009

My wife and I have stayed at a few B&B's and for the most part, all have been pleasant, and at the time time, unique! Harborside has been the best of the best and we plan to stay in the not-too-distant future!!


The most amazing weekend!

5 on February 23, 2009

We had the most amazing weekend in Marble Head and our stay was outstanding. Susan and John were so delightful and we both felt like we were at home. A must stay!! The Cape Ann area is a wonderful place to visit. Thank you, Kim & Tim


Harborside House

4.8 on October 22, 2008

The breakfast is the best one we have had during our stay in the USA


Marvelous stay in Marblehead

4.8 on September 25, 2008

My boyfriend and I where weary from traveling, and looking for a place to stay the night. After passing a lot of no-vacancy signs, our navigation took us to lovely Harborside House. Susan welcomed us with open arms. When we were feeling a bit lost, she made us feel right at home. Our stay was wonderful. We relaxed in here cozy room and a comfortable bathroom with the fluffiest towels I ever felt. Even here bathrobes are amazingly soft and comfy. Breakfast was lovely in the sun on the porch, overlooking the harbor. Susan baked delicious banana bread and rhubarb bread with rhubarbs from here own garden. If you decide to explore Marblehead (you should, because it is charming) ask Susan for advice, because she knows the best places to visit and to eat. If you are looking for a comfortable, relaxing picture perfect stay, you can’t miss at Harborside House. We will never forget this fairytale hideaway with Susan as a fairy godmother making sure you’re stay will be unforgettable.


Wonderful haven in Marblehead

5 on June 17, 2008

Lovely breakfasts, and every detail was attended to for our maximum comfort and ease. We were made to feel very welcome and very much at home. Loved our stay at Harborside House.


"A Spot by the Sea."

5 on June 06, 2008

Match your breathing to the faint sounds of the breaking waves as you quietly rest and then dream while in the sheltered patio. Enjoying a delicious breakfast with warm breads and plum marmelaid while watching the circling gulls.


Thanksgiving Visit 2007

4.6 on November 28, 2007

We visited Marblehead the other week and stayed at Harborside House for four nights. We absolutely loved the place. Susan is a warm and welcoming host. Every morning we went out and walked all over the town of Marblehead. The area is charming, friendly and relaxing. We would recommend Susan's Harborside House to anyone. In fact, we already have!


Harborside House.

5 on November 20, 2007

Gracious and attentive hostess, welcomed us into her delightful and comfortable home.


Harborside House

5 on October 26, 2007

Friendly, helpful, gracious, excellent breakfast, beautiful setting.


A hidden gem!

4.8 on October 23, 2007

An exceptionally well maintained, gorgeous B&B in a delightful setting with a gracious & accommodating hostess!


Harborside House

5 on October 22, 2007

Simply the best!


a taste of old new england -- harborside house

5 on July 22, 2007

If you are going to Salem or anywhere north of Boston, you must experience the heavenly little harbor town of Marblehead. And to get the true flavor of the place, stay at Susan Livingston's Harborside House. Salem town is a loud and harsh tourist destination. But Marblehead--just 15 minutes east--is a sweet and gentle neighborhood of gorgeous New England cottages drenched in flowers. It's meant for walking and picture taking. Susan's Harborside House sits right in the middle of it all with a lovely view of sailboats in the harbor right across the street. Susan's house is truly her home. I arrived from Oklahoma along with my daughter in law Anne-Lena from Mainz, Germany. "Leni" was doing research for her master's degree on Salem Trials. Susan was so gracious to let us sneak in after midnight on the first night. The next morning she had the most magnificent breakfast for us, and wonderful conversation. I felt like I was eating in Hawthorne's dining room! Her home decor is 100% New England wherever you turn, and we so enjoyed that. Even tho it is a historic home, I was struck by the extensive modernization in small conveniences--the bathrooms and showers for example. Also, it was soooo spotless. Susan, how do you do that? And make it all look so effortless. Each morning at breakfast we enjoyed a new bouquet of fresh flowers from her garden, which I have pictures to prove! And amazing treats for breakfast. We became addicted to her whole grain sesame bread and blueberry muffins. Susan is a world traveler and sooo much fun to talk to. She is and classy and gracious woman who matches her home. We hugged and shed a tear when we left three days later. These three days at Harborside House turned out to be our happiest memories, above 14 other days in Cambridge, Hyannis, Martha's Vineyard and Provincetown!


Harborside House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $90 - $125
  • Reviews (57) 4.8
  • Rooms 2

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7816311032

Visit Website »

View details

Top